DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 03/30/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding claim 1, Applicant argues Hirata (JP2011233624A, hereinafter Hirata ‘624) teaches conductive particles are only in the center regions and not on the structure. Applicant respectfully disagrees. As shown in the 35 USC § 102 rejection below, it is shown that Hirata ‘624 discloses conductive particles are present on the connecting bump structures.
Regarding claim 2, Applicant argues Hirata ‘624 in view of Schmid et al. (US 11,949,054 B2, hereinafter Schmid ‘054) teaches away from the invention of Hirata ‘624. Examiner respectfully disagrees. As shown in the 35 USC § 103 rejection of Claim 2 below, the Examiner is referencing the teaching of Schmid ‘054 that the pitch and depth of uneven shapes can be modified to control the movement of the conductive particles. This teaching, not the entire invention of Schmid ‘054, is incorporated in the device of Hirata ‘624 as described below.
Regarding claim 3, Applicant argues Kimura (JP 2006041413 A, hereinafter Kimura ‘413) in view of Yang et al. (US 2018/0033755 A1, hereinafter Yang ‘755) teaches away from the invention of Kimura ‘413. Examiner respectfully disagrees. As shown in the 35 USC § 103 rejection of Claim 8 below Examiner is incorporating Yang ‘755’s teaching of said first connecting bump including a plurality of first protruding parts and a first recess part located on a side surface of said first connecting bump, said first recess part located between said first protruding parts, another of said first protruding parts into Kimura ‘413’s device. Kimura ‘413 discloses a bump structure of a chip disposed on a chip shaped to improve electrical conductivity between the bumps and a connecting ACF. Kimura ‘413 discloses the shapes of Fig 3-5 as possible shapes for the connecting bump structures. Kimura ‘413 further discloses in Para [0013], “…shape of the bump 5…may be any shape as long as it can block the flow of the anisotropic conductive particles…”. So, Kimura ‘413 does not teach away from using other connecting bump shapes, rather Kimura ‘413 provides evidence to the person of ordinary skill in the art that other connecting bump shapes that can block flow of anisotropic conductive particles are within the ability of the person having ordinary skill in the art. Yang ‘755 teaches a chip bump structure shape used in a device with anisotropic films (Para [0004 – 0005]). The operating requirements between the two devices may be different, but that being said, Yang ‘755 teaches a connecting bump shape and using that connecting bump shape is within the disclosed scope of the invention of Kimura ‘413. The ordinary artisan would have a reasonable expectation of success to modify Kimura ‘413 with the shape of the connecting bump structure of Yang ‘755, because Yang ‘755 presents a shape (EP in Fig 4 of Yang ‘755) with multiple of the recesses and protrusions disclosed by Kimura ‘413 in Fig 3. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated, then, to modify Kimura ‘413 in the manner set forth above, at least, because the shape taught by Yang ‘755 provides a shape that can increase the impact the protrusions and recesses on the ACF of Kimura ‘413 which, the person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize, would improve the operation of the device of Kimura ‘413. The secondary reference, Yang ‘755, therefore is used only for the teaching a shape that can be used in Kimura ‘413.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 8 recites the limitation "the width of said flow channel" in the 28th line of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For purposes of examination, Examiner interprets “the width of said flow channel” as “a width of said flow channel”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hirata (JP2011233624A, hereinafter Hirata ‘624).
With respect to Claim 1 Hirata ‘624 discloses (Figs 3-6) a bump structure of chip (7, Fig 3, Para [0015]), disposed on a surface (lower surface of 6 as disclosed in Fig 3) of a chip (6, Fig 3, Para [0015]), and comprising a plurality of connecting-bump sets (set of side by side bumps 7 as disclosed in Fig 4, hereinafter CBS), each of said connecting-bump sets (CBS) including a first connecting bump (left bump of CBS as shown in annotated Fig 4 of Hirata ‘624, hereinafter 1CB) and a second connecting bump (right bump of CBS as shown in annotated Fig 4 of Hirata ‘624, hereinafter 2CB), said first connecting bump (1CB) and said second connecting bump (2CB) being spaced (annotated Fig 4 of Hirata ‘624 discloses space between the bumps), said first connecting bump (1CB) including a plurality (Fig 4 and 5 disclose a plurality of bumps 31 in 1CB) of first protruding parts (31 on 1CB, Fig 5, Para [0022]) located on a side surface (right side of 1CB as shown in annotated Fig 4 of Hirata ‘624) of said first connecting bump (1CB), said second connecting bump (2CB) including a plurality (Fig 4 and 5 disclose a plurality of recesses in 2CB) of second recess parts (recesses between 31 of 2CB as shown in annotated Fig 5 of Hirata ‘624) located on a side surface (left side of 2CB as shown in annotated Fig 4 of Hirata ‘624) of said second connecting bump (2CB), and said first protruding parts (31 on 1CB) of said first connecting bump (1CB) and said second recess parts (recesses between 31 on 2CB as shown in annotated Fig 5 of Hirata ‘624) of said second connecting bump (2CB) disposed opposite each other (annotated Fig 4 discloses protruding parts 31 of 1CB disposed opposite recess parts between 31 of 2CB), said side surface (right side) of said first connecting bump (1CB) and said side surface (left side) of said second connecting bump (2CB)(annotated Fig 4 and Fig 5 of Hirata ‘624 discloses protrusions on side of 1CB facing the recesses of 2CB) disposed opposite each other (annotated Fig 4 and Fig 5 of Hirata ‘624 discloses protrusions on side of 1CB disposed opposite the recesses of 2CB);
wherein said first protruding parts (31 on 1CB) and said second recess parts (recesses between 31 of 2CB as shown in annotated Fig 5 of Hirata ‘624) act as blocking structures to block a conductive medium (9, Fig 3, Para [0015], hereinafter ACF) for retarding a flow of said conductive medium (ACF) (Examiner’s Note: the phrase “act as blocking structures to block a conductive medium for retarding a flow of said conductive medium” is intended use therefore it does not differentiate over the prior art as the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987). (MPEP § 2114 (II)), said conductive medium (ACF) comprises a plurality of conductive particles (10, Fig 4, Para [0016]) (Para [0022] and Fig 4 disclose the purpose of the protrusion 31 and recesses between protrusion 31 is to retard flow of a conductive particles in an ACF medium), said conductive medium (ACF) and said conductive particles (10) are located on surfaces of said first connecting bump (1CB) and said second connecting bump (2CB)(Fig 3 and Para [0016] discloses ACF 9 and particles 10 are on surfaces of connecting bumps).
With respect to Claim 4 Hirata ‘624 discloses all limitations of the bump structure of chip of claim 1, wherein a flow channel (space between bumps 7 where by arrows of Fig 4 flow, Para [0010] discloses space between bumps is where particles flow) is formed between said first connecting bump (1CB) and said second connecting bump (2CB); and said flow channel (space between bumps 7) passes by said first protruding parts (31 on 1CB) of said first connecting bump (1CB) and said second recess parts (recesses between 31 on 2CB) of said second connecting bump (2CB).
With respect to Claim 7 Hirata ‘624 discloses all limitations of the bump structure of chip of claim 4, wherein said flow channel (space between bumps 7 where by arrows of Fig 4 flow is not linear (Fig 4 discloses flow path would not be linear as it moves from the second from bottom structures to the bottom structures as the two lines of structures are offset).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-3 are rejected is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hirata ‘624 in view of Schmid et al. (US 11,949,054 B2, hereinafter Schmid ‘054), in view of the following arguments.
With respect to Claim 2 Hirata ‘624 discloses all limitations of the bump structure of chip of claim 1, and Hirata ‘624 further discloses wherein said first connecting bump (1CB) includes a plurality (annotated Fig 5 of Hirata ‘624 discloses a plurality of recesses on 1CB) of first recess part parts (recesses on 1CB between protrusions 31 as shown in annotated Fig 5 of Hirata ‘624) located on said side surface (right side) of said first connecting bump (1CB) and said second connecting bump (2CB) includes a plurality (annotated Fig 5 of Hirata ‘624 discloses a plurality of protruding parts 31 on 2CB) of second protruding parts (protrusion 31 on 2CB as shown in annotated Fig 5 of Hirata ‘624, Para [0022]) located on said side surface (left side) of said second connecting bump (2CB); and said first recess parts (recesses on 1CB between protrusions 31 as shown in annotated Fig 5 of Hirata ‘624) and said second protruding parts (protrusions 31 on 2CB as shown in annotated Fig 5 of Hirata ‘624, Para [0022]) are disposed opposite to each other (Fig 4 and Fig 5 disclose recesses on 1CB and protruding portions 31 of 2CB are disposed opposite each other),
Hirata ‘624 fails to explicitly disclose said first protruding part extends parts extend into said second recess part parts and said second protruding part extends parts extend into said first recess part parts.
Nevertheless, in a related endeavor (Fig 1B of Schmid ‘054), Schmid ‘054 teaches said first protruding parts (115b, Fig 1B of Schmid ‘054, Col 7, Lines 20-27) extend into said second recess parts (space between elements 110b of 110 as shown in Fig 1B of Schmid ‘054, Col 7, Lines 23-25) and said second protruding parts (110b, Fig 1B of Schmid ‘054, Col 7, Lines 20-27) extend into said first recess parts (space between elements 115b of 115 as shown in Fig 1B of Schmid ‘054, Col 7, Lines 23-25).
In view of the teachings of Schmid ‘054 it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to apply the teachings of Schmid ‘054 to Hirata ‘624 at the time the application was filed to change the shape of Hirata ‘624 with the shape taught by Schmid ‘054. Schmid ‘054 teaches a protruding part of one bump structure extending into a recess of a second bump structure to retard the flow of conductive particles. Hirata ‘624 discloses, in Para [0027], that the pitch and depth of uneven shape 31 can be modified to control the movement of the conductive particles. Therefore it would be motivating to use the shape of Schmid ‘054 as it teaches a well-known interdigitated bump shape with a protrusion of the first pad extending into a recess of the second shape that creates a path between the two structures that would effectively capture particles. In addition the shape improves mechanical stability and thermal connections. (Col 7, Lines 27-29 of Schmid ‘054).
As incorporated, the shape taught by Schmid ‘054 (115/110) would be used in the connection bumps (1CB/2CB) of Hirata ‘624.
With respect to Claim 3 Hirata ‘624 as modified by Schmid ‘054 disclose all limitations of the bump structure of chip of claim 2, and Hirata ‘624 further discloses wherein a flow channel (denoted by arrows of Fig 4, Para [0023]) is formed between said first connecting bump (1CB) and said second connecting bump (2CB); and said flow channel (denoted by arrows of Fig 4, Para [0023]) passes by said first protruding parts (31) of said first connecting bump (1CB), said second recess parts (recesses between 31 of 2CB as shown in annotated Fig 5 of Hirata ‘624) of said second connecting bump (2CB), said first recess parts (recesses between 31 of 1CB as shown in annotated Fig 5 of Hirata ‘624) of said first connecting bump (1CB), and said second protruding parts (protrusions 31 on 2CB as shown in annotated Fig 5 of Hirata ‘624) of said second connecting bump (2CB)(Fig 4 discloses flow path between 1CB and 2CB, passing the recesses and protrusions of each bump structure).
Claims 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hirata ‘624 in view of Fujita (US 2008/0123041 A1, hereinafter Fujita ‘041), in view of the following arguments.
With respect to Claim 5 Hirata ‘624 discloses all limitations of the bump structure of chip of claim 4, but Hirata ‘624 fails to explicitly disclose wherein a width of said flow channel is between 0.1 micrometer and 8 micrometers, and a space of said flow channel is limited by said width to retard said flow of said conductive medium.
Nonetheless, in a related endeavor (Fig 1B and 7 of Fujita ‘041), Fujita ‘041 teaches a flow channel (2, Fig 7 of Fujita ‘041, Para [0067] formed between said connecting bumps (1A, Fig 7 of Fujita ‘041, Para [0067]), (flow direction noted by arrows of Fig 7 of Fujita ‘041), respectively, and one or more width of said flow channel being between 0.1 micrometer and 8 micrometers, (Para [0082] discloses a width of flow channel 2 within bump 1A of 3µm to 7µm) and a space of said flow channel (2) is limited by said width (3µm to 7µm) to retard said flow of said conductive medium (15, Fig 7 of Fujita ‘041)(Para [0088] of Fujita ‘041 discloses flow of conductive medium suppressed by and conductive particles captured in gap 2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Hirata 624’s bump structure of chip with Fujita ‘041’s flow channel width, and thereby, modified Hirata 624’s bump structure of chip will have a flow channel width between connecting bumps of 3µm to 7µm.
The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Hirata 624 in the manner set forth above, at least, because this connecting bump spacing provides a flow path width to slow flow and capture conductive particles from the ACF. (Para [0082] of Fujita ‘041 teaches a gap between connecting bumps smaller than conductive particle size). Capturing conductive particles enables electrical connections between substrate bumps and the chip (Para [0009] of Fujita ‘041).
As incorporated the width of Fujita ‘041 would be incorporated as the width of the flow channel of Hirata ‘624.
With respect to claim 6, Hirata ‘624 as modified by Fujita ‘041 discloses all limitations of the bump structure of chip of claim 5 and Fujita ‘041 further discloses wherein said width (3µm to 7µm) is a width of an inlet or/and an outlet of said flow channel (2, Fig 7 of Fujita ‘041, Para [0082] discloses gap 2 tapering from 7µm at inlet of 1A and 3µm at outlet of 1A).
Claims 8 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kimura (JP 2006041413 A, hereinafter Kimura ‘413) in view of Yang et al. (US 2018/0033755 A1, hereinafter Yang ‘755), in view of the following arguments.
With respect to Claim 8 Kimura ‘413 discloses (Fig 1-5 of Kimura ‘413) a bump structure of chip (5, Fig 3, Para [0011 and 0012]), disposed on a surface of a chip (1, Fig 1, Para [0010]), and comprising a plurality of connecting-bump sets (bump set shown in annotated Fig 3-2 of Kimura ‘413, hereinafter CBS) (Fig 2 discloses a plurality of connecting bump sets), each of said connecting-bump sets (CBS) including a first connecting bump (left most bump of CBS as shown in annotated Fig 3-2 of Kimura ‘413, hereinafter 1CB) and a second connecting bump (right most bump of CBS as shown in annotated Fig 3-2 of Kimura ‘413, hereinafter 2CB), said first connecting bump (1CB) and said second connecting bump (2CB) being spaced (Annotated Fig 3-2 of Kimura ‘413 discloses space between bump pairs),
But Kimura ‘413 fails to explicitly disclose said first connecting bump including a plurality of first protruding parts and a first recess part located on a side surface of said first connecting bump, said first recess part located between said first protruding parts,
Nevertheless, in a related endeavor (Fig 2-5 and 9 of Yang ‘755), Yang ‘755 teaches said first connecting bump (EP, Fig 4 of Yang ‘755, Para [0049]) including a plurality of first protruding parts (plurality of first protruding parts of EP shown in annotated Fig 4 of Yang ‘755, hereinafter PP) and a first recess part (455, shown in annotated Fig 4 of Yang ‘755, Para [0059]) located on a side surface (PP and 455 on a side surface of EP shown in annotated Fig 4 of Yang ‘755) of said first connecting bump (EP), said first recess part (455) located between (455 located between protruding parts PP disclosed in annotated Fig 4 of Yang ‘755) said first protruding parts (PP), another of said first protruding parts (another set of first protruding parts PP shown in annotated Fig 4 of Yang ‘755)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate Yang ‘755’s teaching of said first connecting bump including a plurality of first protruding parts and a first recess part located on a side surface of said first connecting bump, said first recess part located between said first protruding parts, another of said first protruding parts into Kimura ‘413’s device. Kimura ‘413 discloses a bump structure of a chip disposed on a chip shaped to improve electrical conductivity between the bumps and a connecting ACF. Kimura ‘413 discloses the shapes of Fig 3-5 as possible shapes for the connecting bump structures. Kimura ‘413 further discloses in Para [0013], “…shape of the bump 5…may be any shape as long as it can block the flow of the anisotropic conductive particles…”. So, Kimura ‘413 does not teach away from using other connecting bump shapes, rather Kimura ‘413 provides evidence to the person of ordinary skill in the art that other connecting bump shapes that can block flow of anisotropic conductive particles are within the ability of the person having ordinary skill in the art. Yang ‘755 teaches a chip bump structure shape used in a device with anisotropic films (Para [0004 – 0005]). The operating requirements between the two devices may be different, but that being said, Yang ‘755 teaches a connecting bump shape and using that connecting bump shape is within the disclosed scope of the invention of Kimura ‘413. The ordinary artisan would have a reasonable expectation of success to modify Kimura ‘413 with the shape of the connecting bump structure of Yang ‘755, because Yang ‘755 presents a shape (EP in Fig 4 of Yang ‘755) with multiple of the recesses and protrusions disclosed by Kimura ‘413 in Fig 3. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated, then, to modify Kimura ‘413 in the manner set forth above, at least, because the shape taught by Yang ‘755 provides a shape that can increase the impact the protrusions and recesses on the ACF of Kimura ‘413 which, the person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize, would improve the operation of the device of Kimura ‘413.
As incorporated, the connecting bump shape (EP) with a plurality of recess and protrusion parts taught by Yang ‘755 would be used as the shape of the first connecting bump (1CB) and as the shape of the second connecting bump (2CB) of Kimura ‘413.
Kimura ‘413 as modified by Yang ‘755 further discloses said second connecting bump (2CB as modified by Yang ‘755) including a plurality of second protruding parts (PP of Yang ‘755 as incorporated in 2CB above) and a second recess part (455 of Yang ‘755 as incorporated in 2CB above) located on a side surface (PP and 455 on a side surface of EP shown in annotated Fig 4 of Yang ‘755) of said second connecting bump (2CB as modified by Yang ‘755), said second recess part (455 of Yang ‘755 as incorporated in 2CB above) located between (455 located between protruding parts PP disclosed in annotated Fig 4 of Yang ‘755) said second protruding parts (PP of Yang ‘755 as incorporated in 2CB above), said first protruding parts (PP of Yang ‘755 as incorporated in 1CB above) of said first connecting bump (1CB as modified by Yang ‘755) and said second protruding parts (PP of Yang ‘755 as incorporated in 2CB above) of said second connecting bump (2CB as modified by Yang ‘755) disposed opposite to each other (annotated Fig 3-2 of Kimura ‘413 discloses 1CB and 2CB next to each other so 1CB and 2CB as modified by Yang ‘755 have first protruding parts of first connecting bump and second protruding parts disposed opposite to each other); said first recess part (455 of Yang ‘755 as incorporated in 1CB above) of said first connecting bump (1CB as modified by Yang ‘755) and said second recess part (455 of Yang ‘755 as incorporated in 2CB above) of said second connecting bump (2CB as modified by Yang ‘755) disposed opposite to each other (annotated Fig 3-2 of Kimura ‘413 discloses 1CB and 2CB next to each other so 1CB and 2CB as modified by Yang ‘755 have recess parts of first connecting bump and second recess parts disposed opposite to each other), and said side surface (side surface of EP shown in annotated Fig 4 of Yang ‘755) of said first connecting bump (1CB as modified by Yang ‘755) and said side surface (side surface of EP shown in annotated Fig 4 of Yang ‘755) of said second connecting bump (1CB as modified by Yang ‘755) disposed opposite to each other (annotated Fig 3-2 of Kimura ‘413 discloses 1CB and 2CB next to each other so 1CB and 2CB as modified by Yang ‘755 have side surfaces of first connecting bump and second side surfaces disposed opposite to each other); wherein said first protruding parts (PP of Yang ‘755 as incorporated in 1CB above) and said second protruding parts (PP of Yang ‘755 as incorporated in 2CB above) act as blocking structures to block (Para [0012] of Kimura ‘413 discloses that the shape of 5 is intended to block flow of conductive particles) a conductive medium (2, Fig 1 of Kimura ‘413, Para [011]) for retarding a flow (Para [0012] of Kimura ‘413 discloses “the flow of the particles is inhibited by the shape”) of said conductive medium (2) (Examiner’s Note: the phrase “act as blocking structures to block a conductive medium for retarding a flow of said conductive medium” is intended use therefore it does not differentiate over the prior art as the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987). (MPEP § 2114 (II)), said conductive medium (2) comprises a plurality of conductive particles (6, Fig 3 of Kimura ‘413, Para [0011]), said conductive medium (2) and said conductive particles (6) are located on surfaces (Fig 3 of Kimura ‘413 discloses 6 on sides of bumps and Fig 1 of Kimura ‘413 discloses 2 in contact with chip and therefore protruding parts) of said first connecting bump (1CB as modified by Yang ‘755) and said second connecting bump (2CB as modified by Yang ‘755), a flow channel (space between 1CB as modified by Yang ‘755 and 2CB as modified by Yang ‘755 and denoted by arrows in annotated Fig 3-2 of Kimura ‘413 and disclosed in Para [0011], hereinafter FC) is formed between said first connecting bump (1CB as modified by Yang ‘755) and said second connecting bump (PP of Yang ‘755 as incorporated in 2CB above); said flow channel (FC) passes by one of said first protruding parts (PP of Yang ‘755 as incorporated in 1CB above) of said first connecting bump (1CB as modified by Yang ‘755), one of said second protruding parts (PP of Yang ‘755 as incorporated in 2CB above) of said second connecting bump (PP of Yang ‘755 as incorporated in 2CB above), said first recess part (455 of Yang ‘755 as incorporated in 1CB above) of said first connecting bump (1CB as modified by Yang ‘755), said second recess part (455 of Yang ‘755 as incorporated in 2CB above) of said second connecting bump (2CB as modified by Yang ‘755), another of said first protruding parts (another set of first protruding parts PP shown in annotated Fig 4 of Yang ‘755 as incorporated in 1CB above), and another of said second protruding parts (another set of first protruding parts PP shown in annotated Fig 4 of Yang ‘755 as incorporated in 2CB above) (annotated Fig 3-2 of Kimura ‘413 discloses 1CB and 2CB next to each other so 1CB and 2CB as modified by Yang ‘755 so the flow channel passes by first protruding parts of 1CB as modified by Yang ‘755 and second protruding parts of 2CB as modified by Yang ‘755, the first recess part of 1CB as modified by Yang ‘755 and the second recess part of 2CB as modified by Yang ‘755 and another of first protruding parts of 1CB as modified by Yang ‘755 and another of second protruding parts of 2CB as modified by Yang ‘755); the width (Note Examiner interpretation of “the width” as “a width) (width of flow channel as shown in annotated Fig 3-2 of Kimura ‘413) of said flow channel (FC) between said first protruding part (PP of Yang ‘755 as incorporated in 1CB above) and said second protruding part (PP of Yang ‘755 as incorporated in 2CB above) is shrunken (annotated Fig 3-2 of Kimura ‘413 discloses 1CB and 2CB next to each other so 1CB and 2CB as modified by Yang ‘755 have first protruding parts of first connecting bump and second protruding parts disposed opposite to each other and therefore the flow channel between those protruding parts would be shrunken (space between opposite protruding parts is less than space between opposite recessed parts)), the width of said flow channel (width of FC) between said first recess part (455 of Yang ‘755 as incorporated in 1CB above) and said second recess part (455 of Yang ‘755 as incorporated in 2CB above) is increased (annotated Fig 3-2 of Kimura ‘413 discloses 1CB and 2CB next to each other so 1CB and 2CB as modified by Yang ‘755 have first recess parts of first connecting bump and second recess parts disposed opposite to each other and therefore the flow channel between those recess parts would be increased (space between opposite recess parts is greater than space between opposite protrusion parts)), and the width of said flow channel (width of FC) between said another first protruding part (another set of first protruding parts PP shown in annotated Fig 4 of Yang ‘755 as incorporated in 1CB above) and said another second protruding part (another set of first protruding parts PP shown in annotated Fig 4 of Yang ‘755 as incorporated in 2CB above) is shrunken (annotated Fig 3-2 of Kimura ‘413 discloses 1CB and 2CB next to each other so 1CB and 2CB as modified by Yang ‘755 have another first protruding parts of first connecting bump and another second protruding parts disposed opposite to each other and therefore the flow channel between those protruding parts would be shrunken (space between opposite protruding parts is less than space between opposite recessed parts)).
With respect to claim 14, Kimura ‘413 modified by Yang ‘755 discloses all the features of the bump structure of chip of claim 8 and Kimura ‘413 further discloses wherein said flow channel (FC) is not linear (annotated Fig 3-2 of Kimura ‘413 discloses 1CB and 2CB next to each other so 1CB and 2CB as modified by Yang ‘755 have protruding parts and recess parts disposed opposite each other on their sides, therefore the flow channel FC is not linear (changing space between opposite protruding parts and opposite recessed parts makes for a non-linear channel)).
Claims 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kimura ‘413 in view of Yang ‘755 and in further in view of Fujita ‘041, in view of the following arguments.
With respect to claim 12, Kimura ‘413 modified by Yang ‘755 discloses all limitations of the bump structure of chip of claim 8 but Kimura ‘413 modified by Yang ‘755 fails to explicitly disclose wherein a width of said flow channel is between 0.1 micrometer and 8 micrometers, and a space of said flow channel is limited by said width to retard said flow of said conductive medium.
Nonetheless, in a related endeavor (Fig 1B and 7 of Fujita ‘041), Fujita ‘041 teaches wherein a width (width of 2) of said flow channel (2, Fig 7 of Fujita ‘041, Para [0067] is between 0.1 micrometer and 8 micrometers, (Para [0082] discloses a width of flow channel 2 within bump 1A of 3µm to 7µm) and a space of said flow channel (2) is limited by said width (width of 2) to retard said flow of said conductive medium (15, Fig 7 of Fujita ‘041)(Para [0088] of Fujita ‘041 discloses flow of conductive medium suppressed by and conductive particles captured in gap 2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Kimura ‘413 as modified by Yang ‘755’s bump structure of chip with Fujita ‘041’s flow channel width, and thereby, modified Kimura ‘413 as modified by Yang ‘755’s bump structure of chip will have a flow channel width between connecting bumps of 3µm to 7µm.
The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Fujita ‘041 in the manner set forth above, at least, because this connecting bump spacing provides a flow path width to slow flow and capture conductive particles from the ACF. ((Para 0082) of Fujita ‘041 teaches a gap between connecting bumps smaller than conductive particle size and (Para 0088) discloses that this width is set to suppress conductive medium flow capture conductive particles). Capturing conductive particles enable electrical connections between substrate bumps and the chip ((Para 0009) of Fujita ‘041).
As incorporated the flow channel width of Fujita ‘041 would be used as the flow channel width of Kimura ‘413 as modified by Yang ‘755’s flow channel.
With respect to claim 13, Kimura ‘413 modified by Yang ‘755 and further modified by Fujita ‘041 discloses all limitations of the bump structure of chip of claim 12 and Fujita ‘041 further discloses wherein said width (width of 2) is a width of an inlet or/and an outlet of said flow channel (2, Fig 7 of Fujita ‘041, Para [0082] discloses gap 2 tapering from 7µm at inlet of 1A and 3µm at outlet of 1A).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PAUL A BERRY/Examiner, Art Unit 2898 /JULIO J MALDONADO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2898