DETAILED ACTION
Remarks
The 03/13/2026 amendments of claims 1, 10 and 16 has been noted and entered.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks pages 11-23, filed 03/13/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-20 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Cheng et al, US 20210210658 A1 (Cheng).
New Grounds for Rejection
New grounds for rejection, prior art reference Cheng et al, US 20210210658 A1 (Cheng), appears below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 10 and 13-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shin et al, US 20190288043 A1 (Shin) in view of Cheng et al, US 20210210658 A1 (Cheng) in further view of Park, US 20200212112 A1 (Park).
Regarding claim 1; Shin teaches a display device (Shin: Fig (5): DP) comprising:
a base substrate (SUB);
a pixel defining film (PDL) which is disposed on the base substrate (SUB) and in which an opening is defined (OH);
a first electrode (EL1) disposed on the base substrate (SUB) and including a first surface facing the base substrate (SUB) and a second surface opposite to the first surface and exposed in the opening (OH);
a light-emitting layer (EML) disposed on the first electrode (EL1) in the opening (OH);
a hole transport region (HTR) disposed between the first electrode (EL1) and the light- emitting layer (EML);
an electron transport region (ETR) disposed on the light-emitting layer (EML);
a second electrode (EL2) disposed on the electron transport region (ETR) and disposed extending above the pixel defining film (PDL);
a first auxiliary electrode disposed on a first surface of the second electrode which is opposite to a second surface of the second electrode facing the base substrate, the first auxiliary electrode non-contacting the first electrode, non-overlapping the light-emitting layer and having a lower resistivity than a resistivity of the second electrode;
and an encapsulation layer directly disposed on a first surface of the first auxiliary electrode which is opposite to a second surface of the first auxiliary electrode facing the base substrate.
Shin does not teach a first auxiliary electrode disposed on a first surface of the second electrode which is opposite to a second surface of the second electrode facing the base substrate, the first auxiliary electrode non-contacting the first electrode, non-overlapping the light-emitting layer and having a lower resistivity than a resistivity of the second electrode; and an encapsulation layer directly disposed on a first surface of the first auxiliary electrode which is opposite to a second surface of the first auxiliary electrode facing the base substrate.
Cheng teaches a first auxiliary electrode (Cheng: Annotated Fig (1) shared in this OA: 310) disposed on a first surface of the second electrode (230) which is opposite to a second surface of the second electrode (230) facing the base substrate (700), the first auxiliary electrode (310) non-contacting the first electrode (210), non-overlapping the light-emitting layer (220) and having a lower resistivity than a resistivity of the second electrode; and an encapsulation layer (500) directly disposed on a first surface of the first auxiliary electrode (310) which is opposite to a second surface of the first auxiliary electrode (310) facing the base substrate (700).
Shin and Cheng are considered analogous art. Thus, it would have been obvious, prior to the effective filing date of the instant application, to a person having ordinary skill in the art, to modify Shin by using an auxiliary electrode as disclosed in Cheng to make establishing electrical connections within the device easier thus leading to minimizing possible connection errors within the device leading to a more reliable device.
Shin in view of Cheng teach a display deice and the design and layout of the different components of light emitting elements and their electrical connections but fails to disclose the relationship between the different resistivities of the electrodes. Thus, Shin in view of Cheng fails to teach the first auxiliary electrode having a lower resistivity than a resistivity of the second electrode.
Park teaches the first auxiliary electrode (Park: Fig (6): AE) having a lower resistivity than a resistivity of the second electrode (E1; [0134]).
Shin in view of Cheng and Park are considered analogous art. Thus, it would have been obvious, prior to the effective filing date of the instant application, to a person having ordinary skill in the art, to modify Shin in view of Cheng by using the auxiliary electrode of lower resistivity than the electrode as disclosed in Park to reduce the total impedance of the electrode and thus decrease the electric potential drop across the electrode when the device is operating leading to better efficiency of the device.
Regarding claim 2; Shin in view of Cheng in further view of Park teach all the limitations of claim 1.
However, Shin does not teach wherein the first auxiliary electrode has a resistivity greater than about 0 ohm centimeter and equal to or less than about 4.4x10-6 ohm centimeter.
Cheng teaches wherein the first auxiliary electrode has a resistivity greater than about 0 ohm centimeter and equal to or less than about 4.4x10-6 ohm centimeter (Cheng: [0025] discusses the possibility of constructing the auxiliary electrodes from copper (Cu). The resistivity of Cu is reported to be 1.68 x 10-6 Ω.cm which falls within the range of resistivity reported in the instant application).
Shin and Cheng are considered analogous art. Thus, it would have been obvious, prior to the effective filing date of the instant application, to a person having ordinary skill in the art, to modify Shin by making the auxiliary electrode out of copper as disclosed in Cheng to reduce the resistivity of the electrode of the light-emitting device improving the operation of the device and its efficiency.
Regarding claim 3; Shin in view of Cheng in further view of Park teach all the limitations of claim 2.
However, Shin does not teach wherein the first auxiliary electrode comprises silver (Ag) or copper (Cu).
Cheng teaches wherein the first auxiliary electrode comprises silver (Ag) or copper (Cu) (Cheng: [0025]).
Shin and Cheng are considered analogous art. Thus, it would have been obvious, prior to the effective filing date of the instant application, to a person having ordinary skill in the art, to modify Shin by making the auxiliary electrode out of copper as disclosed in Cheng to reduce the resistivity of the electrode of the light-emitting device improving the operation of the device and its efficiency.
Regarding claim 4; Shin in view of Cheng in further view of Park teaches all the limitations of the display device of claim 1.
Further, Shin teaches wherein the hole transport region (Shin: Fig (5): HTR) and the electron transport region (ETR) are disposed extending above the pixel defining film (PDL).
Regarding claim 10; Shin teaches a display device (Shin: Fig (3): DP) including a plurality of pixel groups (PXA-R; PXA-G;PXA-B) which are arranged in a first direction (DR1) and separated from each other, and each of which includes a plurality of light-emitting regions (PXA) arranged in a second direction (DR2) perpendicular to the first direction (DR1), the display device (DP) comprising:
a base substrate (SUB);
a pixel defining film (PDL) which is disposed on the base substrate (SUB) and in which an opening (OH) corresponding to each of the plurality of light-emitting regions (PXA) is defined;
a first electrode (EL1) disposed on the base substrate (SUB) and patterned corresponding to each of the plurality of light-emitting regions (PXA) and exposed in the opening (OH);
a light-emitting layer (EML) disposed on the first electrode (EL1) substrate and patterned corresponding to each of the plurality of light-emitting regions (PXA);
a hole transport region (HTR) disposed between the first electrode (EL1) and the light- emitting layer (EML);
an electron transport region (ETR) disposed on the light-emitting layer (EML);
a second electrode (EL2) disposed on the electron transport region (ETR) and disposed extending above the pixel defining film (PDL);
at least one first auxiliary electrode disposed on a first surface of the second electrode which is opposite to a second surface of the second electrode facing the base substrate, the at least one first auxiliary electrode non-contacting the first electrode, non-overlapping the light-emitting layer and having a lower resistivity than a resistivity of the second electrode; and
an encapsulation layer disposed on a first surface of the first auxiliary electrode which is opposite to a second surface of the first auxiliary electrode facing the base substrate.
Shin does not teach at least one first auxiliary electrode disposed on a first surface of the second electrode which is opposite to a second surface of the second electrode facing the base substrate, the at least one first auxiliary electrode non-contacting the first electrode, non-overlapping the light-emitting layer and having a lower resistivity than a resistivity of the second electrode; and an encapsulation layer directly disposed on a first surface of the at least one first auxiliary electrode which is opposite to a second surface of the at least first auxiliary electrode facing the base substrate.
Cheng teaches at least one first auxiliary electrode (Cheng: Annotated Fig (1) shared in this OA: 310) disposed on a first surface of the second electrode (230) which is opposite to a second surface of the second electrode (230) facing the base substrate (700), the at least one first auxiliary electrode (310) non-contacting the first electrode (210), non-overlapping the light-emitting layer (220) and having a lower resistivity than a resistivity of the second electrode; and an encapsulation layer (500) disposed on a first surface of the at least one first auxiliary electrode (310) which is opposite to a second surface of the at least one first auxiliary electrode (310) facing the base substrate (700).
Shin and Cheng are considered analogous art. Thus, it would have been obvious, prior to the effective filing date of the instant application, to a person having ordinary skill in the art, to modify Shin by using an auxiliary electrode as disclosed in Cheng to make establishing electrical connections within the device easier thus leading to minimizing possible connection errors within the device leading to a more reliable device.
Shin in view of Cheng teach a display deice and the design and layout of the different components of light emitting elements and their electrical connections but fails to disclose the relationship between the different resistivities of the electrodes. Thus, Shin in view of Cheng fails to teach the first auxiliary electrode having a lower resistivity than a resistivity of the second electrode.
Park teaches the first auxiliary electrode (Park: Fig (6): AE) having a lower resistivity than a resistivity of the second electrode (E1; [0134]).
Shin in view of Cheng and Park are considered analogous art. Thus, it would have been obvious, prior to the effective filing date of the instant application, to a person having ordinary skill in the art, to modify Shin in view of Cheng by using the auxiliary electrode of lower resistivity than the electrode as disclosed in Park to reduce the total impedance of the electrode and thus decrease the electric potential drop across the electrode when the device is operating leading to better efficiency of the device.
Regarding claim 13, Shin in view of Cheng in further view of Park teach all the limitations of the display device of claim 10.
However, Shin in view of Cheng does not teach wherein the at least one first auxiliary electrode is provided in plural, and in a plan view, a plurality of first auxiliary electrodes is separated in the first direction with at least one of the plurality of pixel groups disposed therebetween.
Park teaches wherein the at least one first auxiliary electrode (Park: Fig(4B): AE1) is provided in plural (AE1), and in a plan view, a plurality of first auxiliary electrodes (AE1) is separated in the first direction (Third direction) with at least one of the plurality of pixel groups (OLED) disposed therebetween.
Shin in view of Cheng and Park are considered analogous art. Thus, it would have been obvious, prior to the effective filing date of the instant application, to a person having ordinary skill in the art, to modify Shin in view of Cheng by placing the plurality of auxiliary electrodes between the plurality of pixel regions as disclosed in Park to maximize the amount of light emitted by the pixels without intercepting it with the auxiliary electrode.
Regarding claim 14; Shin in view of Cheng in further view of Park teach all the limitations of the display device of claim 10.
Further, Shin teaches wherein the plurality of light-emitting regions (Shin: Fig (5): PXA) comprise: a first light-emitting region (PXA-R) which emits first light; a second light-emitting region which emits second light (PXA-B) having a wavelength different from a wavelength of the first light ([0044]); and a third light-emitting region (PXA-G) which emits third light having a wavelength different from the wavelengths of the first light and the second light ([0044]), the plurality of light-emitting regions (PXA) being alternately arranged in an order of the first light-emitting region to the third light-emitting region (Fig (2): PXA-R; PXA-B; PXA-G) in respective pixel groups of the plurality of pixel groups.
Regarding claim 15; Shin in view of Cheng in further view of Park teach all the limitations of the display device of claim 10.
Further, Shin teaches wherein the plurality of pixel groups (Shin: Fig (5): PXA) each comprises light-emitting regions (PXA) of the plurality of light-emitting regions (PXA) and a non-light-emitting region (NPXA) disposed between the light-emitting regions (PXA), and the hole transport region (HTR), the electron transport region (ETR) and the second electrode (EL2) are disposed as a common layer in the light-emitting regions (PXA) and the non- light-emitting region (NPXA).
Regarding claim 16; Shin teaches a display device (Shin: Fig (5): DP) including a plurality of light- emitting regions (PXA) and a non-light-emitting region (NPXA) disposed between the light-emitting regions (PXA), the display device (DP) comprising:
a base substrate (SUB);
a pixel defining film (PDL) which is disposed on the base substrate (SUB) and in which an opening (OH) corresponding to each of the plurality of light-emitting regions (PXA) is defined;
a first electrode (EL1) disposed on the base substrate (SUB) by being patterned corresponding to each of plurality of light-emitting regions (PXA) and including a first surface facing the base substrate (SUB) and a second surface opposite to the first surface and exposed in the opening (OH);
a light-emitting layer (EML) disposed on the first electrode (EL1) substrate;
a hole transport region (HTR) disposed between the first electrode (EL1) and the light- emitting layer (EML);
an electron transport region (ETR) disposed on the light-emitting layer (EML);
a second electrode (EL2) disposed as a common layer in the plurality of light- emitting region (PXA) and the non-light-emitting region (NPXA) and disposed extending above the pixel defining film (PDL), the second electrode (EL2) being larger than the first electrode (EL1);
a first auxiliary electrode disposed on a first surface of the second electrode which is opposite to a second surface of the second electrode facing the base substrate in the non-light-emitting region, the first auxiliary electrode non-contacting the first electrode and having a lower resistivity than a resistivity of the second electrode; and
an encapsulation layer disposed on a first surface of the first auxiliary electrode which is opposite to a second surface of the first auxiliary electrode facing the base substrate.
Shin does not teach a first auxiliary electrode disposed on a first surface of the second electrode which is opposite to a second surface of the second electrode facing the base substrate, the first auxiliary electrode non-contacting the first electrode, non-overlapping the light-emitting layer and having a lower resistivity than a resistivity of the second electrode; and an encapsulation layer directly disposed on a first surface of the first auxiliary electrode which is opposite to a second surface of the first auxiliary electrode facing the base substrate.
Cheng teaches a first auxiliary electrode (Cheng: Annotated Fig (1) shared in this OA: 310) disposed on a first surface of the second electrode (230) which is opposite to a second surface of the second electrode (230) facing the base substrate (700) in the non-light-emitting region (Non-light-emitting Region), the first auxiliary electrode (310) non-contacting the first electrode (210), non-overlapping the light-emitting layer (220) and having a lower resistivity than a resistivity of the second electrode; and an encapsulation layer (500) directly disposed on a first surface of the first auxiliary electrode (310) which is opposite to a second surface of the first auxiliary electrode (310) facing the base substrate (700).
Shin and Cheng are considered analogous art. Thus, it would have been obvious, prior to the effective filing date of the instant application, to a person having ordinary skill in the art, to modify Shin by using an auxiliary electrode as disclosed in Cheng to make establishing electrical connections within the device easier thus leading to minimizing possible connection errors within the device leading to a more reliable device.
Shin in view of Cheng teach a display deice and the design and layout of the different components of light emitting elements and their electrical connections but fails to disclose the relationship between the different resistivities of the electrodes. Thus, Shin in view of Cheng fails to teach the first auxiliary electrode having a lower resistivity than a resistivity of the second electrode.
Park teaches the first auxiliary electrode (Park: Fig (6): AE) having a lower resistivity than a resistivity of the second electrode (E1; [0134]).
Shin in view of Cheng and Park are considered analogous art. Thus, it would have been obvious, prior to the effective filing date of the instant application, to a person having ordinary skill in the art, to modify Shin in view of Cheng by using the auxiliary electrode of lower resistivity than the electrode as disclosed in Park to reduce the total impedance of the electrode and thus decrease the electric potential drop across the electrode when the device is operating leading to better efficiency of the device.
Regarding claim 17; Shin in view of Cheng in further view of Park teaches all the limitations of the display device of claim 16.
Further, Shin teaches wherein the hole transport region (Shin: Fig (5): HTR) and the electron transport region (ETR) are disposed as a common layer in the plurality of light- emitting regions (PXA) and the non-light-emitting region (NPXA).
Regarding claim 18; Shin in view of Cheng in further view of Park teaches all the limitations of the display device of claim 16.
However, Shin in view of Cheng does not teach further comprising a second auxiliary electrode separated from the first electrode on the base substrate and disposed in a same layer as a layer in which the first electrode is disposed.
Park teaches further comprising a second auxiliary electrode (Park: Fig (4B): AE2) separated from the first electrode (AE1) on the base substrate (Fig (5): SUB) and disposed in a same layer as a layer in which the first electrode (E1) is disposed.
Shin in view of Cheng and Park are considered analogous art. Thus, it would have been obvious, prior to the effective filing date of the instant application, to a person having ordinary skill in the art, to modify Shin in view of Cheng by structuring the second auxiliary electrode being separate from the first electrode and in the same layer as the first electrode is disposed as disclosed in Park to make the connection to these electrodes easier thus making the fabrication process of the device easier.
Claims 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shin et al, US 20190288043 A1 (Shin) in view of Cheng et al, US 20210210658 A1 (Cheng) in further view of Park, US 20200212112 A1 (Park) in view of Yamaguchi et al, US 20190363279 A1 (Yamaguchi).
Regarding claim 11; Shin in view of Cheng in further view of Park teach all the limitations of the display device of claim 10.
However, Shin in view of Cheng in further view of Park do not teach wherein, in a plan view, the at least one first auxiliary electrode is disposed between the plurality of pixel groups, and the at least one first auxiliary electrode has a line shape extending in the second direction.
Yamaguchi teaches wherein, in a plan view, the at least one first auxiliary electrode (Yamaguchi: Fig (2): 19) is disposed between the plurality of pixel groups (100G; 100R; 100B), and the at least one first auxiliary electrode (19) has a line shape extending in the second direction (Y).
Shin in view of Cheng in further view of Park and Yamaguchi are considered analogous art. Thus, it would have been obvious, prior to the effective filing date of the instant application, to a person having ordinary skill in the art, to modify Shin in view of Chen in further view of Park by placing the auxiliary electrode between the plurality of pixel regions as disclosed in Yamaguchi to maximize the amount of light emitted by the pixels without intercepting it with the auxiliary electrode.
Regarding claim 12; Shin in view of Cheng in further view of Park disclose all the limitations of the display device of claim 10.
However, Shin in view of Cheng do not teach wherein the at least one first auxiliary electrode is provided in plural, a plurality of first auxiliary electrodes is respectively arranged between the plurality of pixel groups, the plurality of first auxiliary electrodes respectively comprises sub-auxiliary electrodes separated from each other in the second direction, and the plurality of first auxiliary electrodes each has a dot shape.
Park teaches wherein the at least one first auxiliary electrode (Park: Fig (4A): AE1) is provided in plural, a plurality of first auxiliary electrodes (AE) is respectively arranged between the plurality of pixel groups (OELD), the plurality of first auxiliary electrodes (AE1) respectively comprises sub-auxiliary electrodes (AE2) separated from each other in the second direction, and the plurality of first auxiliary electrodes (AE1), and the plurality of first auxiliary electrodes each has a dot shape.
Shin in view of Cheng and Park are considered analogous art. Thus, it would have been obvious, prior to the effective filing date of the instant application, to a person having ordinary skill in the art, to modify Shin in view of Cheng by placing the auxiliary electrode between the plurality of pixel regions as disclosed in Park to maximize the amount of light emitted by the pixels without intercepting it with the auxiliary electrode.
Shin in view Cheng in further view of Park teach the structure and layout of the different layers and electrodes of the display device but fails to disclose the geometric shape of the auxiliary electrode. Thus, Shin in view of Cheng in further view of Park do not teach that the plurality of first auxiliary electrodes each has a dot shape.
While Yamaguchi does not teach the dot shape of the electrode, Yamaguchi teaches the purpose of the first auxiliary electrode (Yamaguchi: Fig (2): 19) is to establish an electrical connection with the second electrode (17; [0011]). Therefore, it would have been obvious, prior to the effective filing date of the instant application, to a person having ordinary skill in the art, to make the first auxiliary electrode dot shaped instead since it has been held that a change in form or shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art, absent any showing of unexpected results (In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966)) and rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art (In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70). However, the resulting dot shape is inconsequential to the crux of the invention. Applicant has not disclosed that the resultant dot shape of the electrodes is critical or for an unobvious reason.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shin et al, US 20190288043 A1 (Shin) in view of Cheng et al, US 20210210658 A1 (Cheng) in further view of Park, US 20200212112 A1 (Park) in view of Yamaguchi et al, US 20190363279 A1 (Yamaguchi) in further view of Oh et al, US 20160211316 A1 (Oh)
Regarding claim 5; Shin in view of Cheng in further view of Park teach all the limitations of the display device of claim 4.
However, Shin in view of Cheng in further view of Park does not teach further comprising a second auxiliary electrode disposed on the base substrate and including a first surface facing the base substrate and a second surface opposite to the first surface and exposed in a contact hole, wherein an auxiliary opening is defined on the pixel defining film to overlap the first auxiliary electrode, and the contact hole is defined by penetrating the hole transport region and the electron transport region extending to an inside of the auxiliary opening..
Yamaguchi teaches further comprising a second auxiliary electrode (Yamaguchi: Fig (17): 191) disposed on the base substrate (11) and including a first surface facing the base substrate (11) and a second surface opposite to the first surface and exposed in a contact hole (The hole surrounding 191).
Shin in view of Cheng in further view of Park and Yamaguchi are considered analogous art. Thus, it would have been obvious, prior to the effective filing date of the incident application, to a person having ordinary skill in the art, to modify Shin in view of Cheng in further view of Park by introducing the second auxiliary electrode structure disclosed in Yamaguchi to facilitate the establishment of electrical connections in the device making the manufacturing process easier.
Shin in view of Cheng in further view of Park in further view of Yamaguchi teach the structure of an auxiliary electrode and its position in semiconductor structure but fails to disclose details of the auxiliary hole through which the auxiliary electrode is exposed. Thus, Shin in view of Cheng in further view of Park in further view of Yamaguchi fails to disclose wherein an auxiliary opening is defined on the pixel defining film to overlap the first auxiliary electrode, and the contact hole is defined by penetrating the hole transport region and the electron transport region extending to an inside of the auxiliary opening.
Oh teaches wherein an auxiliary opening (Oh: Fig (13): area surrounding element 190) is defined on the pixel defining film (170) to overlap the first auxiliary electrode (160), and the contact hole is defined by penetrating the hole transport region (175) and the electron transport region (185) extending to an inside of the auxiliary opening (area surrounding element 190)
Shin in view of Cheng in further view of Park in further view of Yamaguchi and Oh are considered analogous art. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Shin in view of Cheng in further view of Park in further view of Yamaguchi by introducing the structure disclosed in Oh to facilitate the establishment of electrical connections in the device making the manufacturing process of the device easier.
Claims 6-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shin et al, US 20190288043 A1 (Shin) in view of Cheng et al, US 20210210658 A1 (Cheng) in further view of Park, US 20200212112 A1 (Park) in further view of Yamaguchi et al, US 20190363279 A1 (Yamaguchi) in further view of Oh et al, US 20160211316 A1 (Oh) in further view of Nam et al, US 20170186831 A1 (Nam).
Regarding claim 6; Shin in view of Cheng in further view of Park in further view of Yamaguchi in further view of Oh teach all the limitations of the display device of claim 5.
However, Shin in view of Cheng in further view of Park in further view of Yamaguchi in further view of Oh does not teach wherein the second electrode in the auxiliary opening is disposed directly on the second auxiliary electrode.
Nam teaches wherein the second electrode (Nam: Fig (1): 136) in the auxiliary opening (area on top of which (136) is disposed and in which (160) is disposed) is disposed directly on the second auxiliary electrode (160).
Shin in view of Cheng in further view of Park in further view of Yamaguchi in further view of Oh and Nam are considered analogous art. Thus, it would have been obvious, prior to the effective filing date of the instant application, to a person having ordinary skill in the art, to modify Shin in view of Cheng in further view of Park in further view of Yamaguchi in further view of Oh by making the second electrode in the auxiliary opening disposed directly on the second auxiliary electrode as disclosed in Nam to make establishing the electrical connection between the electrodes easier leading to an easier way of manufacturing the device.
Regarding claim 7; Shin in view of Cheng in further view of Park in further view of Yamaguchi in further view of Oh in further view of Nam teach all the limitations of claim 6.
However, Shin in view of Cheng in further view of Park do not teach wherein the first auxiliary electrode charges the auxiliary opening and reduces a voltage drop in the second electrode.
Yamaguchi teaches wherein the first auxiliary electrode (Yamaguchi: Fig (3): 19) fills the auxiliary opening (opening surrounding the auxiliary electrode (19)) and reduces a voltage drop in the second electrode (17).
Shin in view of Cheng in further view of Park and Oh and Nam and Yamaguchi are considered analogous art. Thus, it would have been obvious, prior to the effective filing date of the instant application, to a person having ordinary skill in the art, to modify Shin in view of Cheng in further view of Park and Oh and Nam by introducing the auxiliary electrodes disclosed in Yamaguchi to establish a robust and secure electrical connection to the second electrode leading to a more reliable device.
Regarding claim 8; Shin in view of Cheng in further view of Park in further view of Yamaguchi in further view of Oh teaches all the limitations of the display device of claim 5.
However, Shin in view of Cheng do not teach the display device of claim 5 further comprising an intermediate auxiliary electrode disposed between the second auxiliary electrode and the second electrode in the auxiliary opening, and having a lower resistivity than the resistivity of the second electrode.
Nam teaches further comprising an intermediate auxiliary electrode (Nam: Fig (1): 164) disposed between the second auxiliary electrode (162) and the second electrode (136) in the auxiliary opening (the opening around the electrode 162), and having a lower resistivity than the resistivity of the second electrode.
Shin in view of Cheng in further view of Park in further view of Yamaguchi in further view of Oh and Nam are considered analogous art. Thus, it would have been obvious, prior to the effective filing date of the instant application, to a person having ordinary skill in the art, to modify Shin in view of Cheng in further view of Park in further view of Yamaguchi in further view of Oh by introducing the structure of the electrodes disclosed in Nam to facilitate the electrical connection of these electrodes leading to the device being easier to manufacture.
Shin in view of Cheng teach the structure of the first auxiliary electrode but fails to disclose details about its resistivity. Thus, Shin in view of Cheng fails to disclose the first auxiliary electrode having a lower resistivity than the resistivity of the second electrode.
Park teaches the first auxiliary electrode (Park: Fig (4A): AE) having a lower resistivity than the resistivity of the second electrode (E1;[0134]).
Shin in view of Cheng and Park are considered analogous art. Thus, it would have been obvious, prior to the effective filing date of the instant application, to a person having ordinary skill in the art, to modify Shin in view of Cheng by using the auxiliary electrode of lower resistivity than the electrode as disclosed in Park to reduce the total impedance of the electrode and thus decrease the electric potential drop across the electrode when the device is operating leading to better efficiency of the device.
Regarding claim 9; Shin in view of Cheng in further view of Park in further view of Yamaguchi in further view of Oh teach all the limitations of the display device of claim 5.
However, Shin in view Cheng does not teach the device further comprising an intermediate auxiliary electrode which fills the auxiliary opening, has a lower resistivity than the resistivity of the second electrode, and reduces a voltage drop in the second electrode, wherein the second electrode is disposed directly on the intermediate auxiliary electrode.
Nam teaches further comprising an intermediate auxiliary electrode (Nam: Fig (1): 160) which fills the auxiliary opening (the opening around the electrode 160), has a lower resistivity than the resistivity of the second electrode, and reduces a voltage drop in the second electrode, wherein the second electrode (136) is disposed directly on the intermediate auxiliary electrode (160).
Shin in view of Cheng in further view of Park in further view of Yamaguchi in further view of Oh and Nam are considered analogous art. Thus, it would have been obvious, prior to the effective filing date of the instant application, to a person having ordinary skill in the art, to modify Shin in view of Cheng in further view of Park in further view of Yamaguchi in further view of Oh by using the electrode structure disclosed in Nam to facilitate the electrical connection of the electrodes to each other leading to an easier process of manufacturing the device.
Shin in view of Cheng and Nam disclose the structure of a intermediate auxiliary electrode but fails to disclose details about its resistivity. Thus, Shin in view of Cheng fails to disclose the intermediate auxiliary electrode has a lower resistivity than the resistivity of the second electrode, and reduces a voltage drop in the second electrode.
Park teaches the intermediate auxiliary electrode (Park: Fig (4A): AE1) having a lower resistivity than the resistivity of the second electrode (E1; [0134]), and reduces a voltage drop in the second electrode ([0134]).
Shin in view of Cheng and Park are considered analogous art. Thus, it would have been obvious, prior to the effective filing date of the instant application, to a person having ordinary skill in the art, to modify Shin in view of Cheng by using the auxiliary electrode of lower resistivity than the electrode as disclosed in Park to reduce the total impedance of the electrode and thus decrease the electric potential drop across the electrode when the device is operating leading to better efficiency of the device.
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shin et al, US 20190288043 A1 (Shin) in view of Cheng et al, US 20210210658 A1 (Cheng) in further view of Park, US 20200212112 A1 (Park) in further view of Oh et al, US 20160211316 A1 (Oh) in further view of Nam et al, US 20170186831 A1 (Nam).
Regarding claim 19; Shin in view of Cheng in further view of Park teach all the limitations of the display device of claim 18.
However, Shin in view of Cheng in further view of Park does not teach wherein an auxiliary opening is defined on the pixel defining film to overlap the first auxiliary electrode, a contact hole is defined to penetrate the hole transport region and the electron transport region extending to an inside of the auxiliary opening, and the second electrode is disposed directly on a first surface of the second auxiliary electrode in the contact hole, the first surface of the second auxiliary electrode facing a second surface of the second auxiliary electrode facing the base substrate.
Oh teaches wherein an auxiliary opening (Oh: Fig (13): opening surrounding element 190) is defined in the pixel defining film (170) to overlap the first auxiliary electrode (160), a contact hole is defined to penetrate the hole transport region (175) and the electron transport region (185) extending to an inside of the auxiliary opening (Opening surrounding element 190), the second electrode is disposed directly on a first surface of the second auxiliary electrode in the contact hole, the first surface of the second auxiliary electrode facing a second surface of the second auxiliary electrode facing the base substrate.
Shin in view of Cheng in further view of Park and Oh are considered analogous art. Thus, it would have been obvious, prior to the effective filing date of the instant application, to a person having ordinary skill in the art, to modify Shin in view of Cheng in further view of Park by introducing the structure disclosed in Oh to facilitate the establishment of electrical connections in the device making the manufacturing process of the device easier.
Shin in view of Cheng in further view of Park in further view of Oh teach the structure and layout of a first auxiliary electrode and the contact hole through which it is connected but fails to disclose a second electrode and a second auxiliary electrode. all the above disclosed subject matter. Thus, Shin in view of Cheng in further view of Park in further view of Oh does not teach the second electrode is disposed directly on a first surface of the second auxiliary electrode in the contact hole, the first surface of the second auxiliary electrode facing a second surface of the second auxiliary electrode facing the base substrate.
Nam teaches the second electrode (Nam: Fig (1): 136) is disposed directly on a first surface of the second auxiliary electrode (160) in the contact hole (the hole where (160) is disposed), the first surface of the second auxiliary electrode (160) facing a second surface of the second auxiliary electrode (160) facing the base substrate (101).
Shin in view of Cheng in further view of Park in further view of Oh and Nam are considered analogous art. Thus, it would have been obvious, prior to the effective filing date of the instant application, to a person having ordinary skill in the art, to modify Shin in view of Cheng in further view of Park in further view of Oh by constructing the auxiliary electrodes as disclosed in Nam to reduce the resistivity of the electrodes of the light-emitting device to make it more efficient.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shin et al, US 20190288043 A1 (Shin) in view of Cheng et al, US 20210210658 A1 (Cheng) in further view of Park, US 20200212112 A1 (Park) in further view of Nam et al, US 20170186831 A1 (Nam).
Regarding claim 20; Shin in view of Cheng in further view of Park teaches all the limitations of the display device of claim 18.
However, Shin in view of Cheng does not teach the display device further comprising an intermediate auxiliary electrode disposed between the second auxiliary electrode and the second electrode, and having a lower resistivity than the resistivity of the second electrode.
Nam teaches further comprising an intermediate auxiliary electrode (Nam: Fig (1): 164) disposed between the second auxiliary electrode (166) and the second electrode (136), and having a lower resistivity than the resistivity of the second electrode.
Shin in view of Cheng in further view of Park and Nam are considered analogous art. Thus, it would have been obvious, prior to the effective filing date of the instant application, to a person having ordinary skill in the art, to modify Shin in view of Cheng in further view of Park by constructing the auxiliary electrodes disclosed in Nam to make establishing electrical connections between the different parts of the device easier and thus make device production process easier.
Shin in view of Cheng and Nam teach an intermediate auxiliary electrode and its layout in the device but fails to disclose details about its resistivity. Thus, Shin in view of Cheng and Nam does not teach intermediate auxiliary electrode having a lower resistivity than the resistivity of the second electrode.
Park teaches intermediate auxiliary electrode (Park: Fig (4A): AE1) having a lower resistivity than the resistivity of the second electrode (E1; [0134]).
Shin in view of Cheng and Park are considered analogous art. Thus, it would have been obvious, prior to the effective filing date of the instant application, to a person having ordinary skill in the art, to modify Shin in view of Cheng by using the auxiliary electrode of lower resistivity than the electrode as disclosed in Park to reduce the total impedance of the electrode and thus decrease the electric potential drop across the electrode when the device is operating leading to better efficiency of the device.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/M.K./Examiner, Art Unit 2817
/Kretelia Graham/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2817