DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to the Amendment and Request for Reconsideration filed January 2, 2026. Claims 1, 2, 5, 6, 8, 9, 11, 21, and 24 have been amended.
Claims 1-15, 17, and 21-24 are currently pending.
Response to Amendment
The amendments to the claims filed January 2, 2026 have been entered. Applicant's amendments to the claims have failed to overcome each and every rejection set forth in the previous Office Action filed September 18, 2025.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed January 2, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to applicant's arguments on pages 10-14 against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). Note that the rejections set forth in the previous Office Action are based on combinations of the Woo, Maki, Chao, Choi, and Kinoshita references, and not any one reference individually.
Applicant argues on page 10 that Woo fails to teach or suggest “moving the semiconductor die and the collector element to a location underneath a bonder element,” as recited in amended claims 1 and 21. Applicant asserts on page 10 that Woo clearly discloses that during the alignment process of the bond head 302/bond head collet 304 (being interpreted as the claimed bonder element by the Examiner) and the flip head 308 (being interpreted as the claimed collector element by the Examiner), the bond head 302 moves rather than the flip head 308, which is fixed. This argument is not persuasive because the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., that at least one of the bonder element or the collector element is fixed) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). Applicant’s claimed “moving the semiconductor die and the collector element to a location underneath a bonder element,” is sufficiently broad so as to encompass moving the collector element while the bonder element remains stationary or, alternatively, any movement of the collector element and/or the bonder element relative to one another, such as moving the bonder element relative to a stationary collector element. The claims do not specify which of the bonder element or the collector element remains fixed. Applicant’s specification states that “a bonder element 650 is provided and placed over the semiconductor die 200 for picking the semiconductor die 200 from the collector element 150,” [0040]; each of the collector element and the bonder element may be connected to a moving mechanism (see [0039; 0044]); and that the position of at least one of the collector element and the bonder element is adjusted, i.e., moved, until the center of the bonder element is aligned with the center of the semiconductor die (see [0045]). Therefore it can be understood that the claimed “moving the semiconductor die” occurs relative to the other claimed features. Therefore, this argument is not persuasive. This rejection may be overcome by amending the claim(s) to recite additional limitations that clearly state which of the claimed features move and which remain fixed.
Applicant argues on pages 11-14 that: Choi fails to disclose that the misalignment is caused by the chip being lifted upward during ejection … and that the misalignment between the chip and the needle in Choi cannot be caused by the chip being lifted upward during ejection [emphasis in original]. This argument is not persuasive because, as explained in the previous Office Action, and again in the rejection of claims below, Choi teaches “performing a misalignment [a die shift]… between a chip ejected from a wafer [the semiconductor die] and a needle unit of an ejector [the ejector element] before picking up the chip [lifting the semiconductor die],” (Choi, see Abstract). Choi teaches that misalignment [die shift] between the chip [the semiconductor die] and the needle [the ejector element] can prevent damage to the chip during the pickup operation (Choi, see FIG. 3 and associated text). Choi further discloses that alignment is inspected and corrected both before and after the chip is lifted upward by the ejector:
before the pick-up of the chip, the chip [the semiconductor die] on the wafer is inspected by the lower vision of the upper and lower cyan vision of the flipper module [the collector element], and the T-direction between the chip and the needle of the ejection module is checked. Alignment is performed to eliminate angular misalignment. After pick-up, the upper vision of the upper and lower cyan vision of the flipper module recognizes the center of the chip or the solder ball, and finds the center [performing an alignment check to the semiconductor die to determine a first process tolerance between a center of the collector element and a center of the semiconductor die resulting from the die shift]. By doing this has a useful effect that can be delivered to the head pressing tool [the bonder element] in the correct position [moving the semiconductor die and the collector element to a location underneath a bonder element based on the alignment check].
Choi therefore teaches that the misalignment is caused by the chip being lifted upward by the needle during ejection, and the movement of the semiconductor die relative to the bonder element is adjusted to correct for this misalignment.
In response to applicant's argument on page 13 that the misalignment disclosed by Choi is “an angular misalignment”, Examiner notes an angular misalignment also includes a horizontal component, i.e., a lateral offset, and Choi teaches means for measuring and correcting angular misalignment in addition to correcting for lateral offset. The fact that the inventor has recognized another advantage which would flow naturally from following the suggestion of the prior art cannot be the basis for patentability when the differences would otherwise be obvious. See Ex parte Obiaya, 227 USPQ 58, 60 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1985). Furthermore, Applicant’s argument on page 13 is not persuasive because the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., that the claimed lateral offset [the misalignment] does not include any angular misalignment) are not recited in the rejected claim(s).
In response to Applicant’s argument on pages 11 and 14 that the dependent claims are patentably distinct over the prior art, and are also allowable based at least on their dependency from the independent claims 1, 11, and 21, as amended, see the rejections of the claims below.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 11, and 21 were objected to in the previous Office Action due to informalities. Applicant’s amendments to claims 1, 11, and 21, filed January 2, 2026 have overcome the objections, therefore the objections to claims 1, 11, and 21 have been withdrawn.
Double Patenting
In the previous Office Action, filed September 18, 2025, claim 1 was provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 3, 25, and 28 of copending Application No. 17/819,987 (reference application). Applicant’s amendment to claim 1, filed January 2, 2026, has overcome this rejection, therefore it has been withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, and 5-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Woo et al., US 2018/0126718 A1 (hereinafter Woo) in view of Maki et al., US 2008/0318346 A1 (hereinafter Maki) and further in view of Choi et al., WO 2015/072593 A1 (hereinafter Choi).
Regarding claim 1, as amended, Woo, in the same field of endeavor, teaches: a flip-chip bonding method, comprising: in a flip-chip bonding apparatus (Woo, FIG. 3, bonding apparatus 300, [0027]), providing a wafer with multiple semiconductor dies (Woo, FIG. 1, dies 110 shown on wafer 112) (Woo, FIG. 3, flip head collet 310, [0041]); flip-chipping the semiconductor die with the collector element (Woo, FIG. 3, flip head collet 310 inverted after retrieving die from wafer, [0041]); performing an alignment check to the semiconductor die to determine a first process tolerance between a center of the collector element and a center of the semiconductor die resulting from the die shift (Woo, to compensate for picking errors, i.e., from the die shift, offset [the first process tolerance] of center of electrical component [the semiconductor die] relative to center of flip head 308 [the collector element] is determined, [0055]), (Woo, see FIG. 1, [0002]) based on the first process tolerance of the alignment check (Woo, FIG. 1 shows “bond head 302 is then moved to a position at which the center of the bond head collet 304 [the bonder element] is aligned with the center of the electrical component [the semiconductor die],” i.e., moving the semiconductor die and the collector element to a location underneath a bonder element based on the first process tolerance of the alignment check, [0055]); picking the semiconductor die up from the collector element by the bonder element (Woo, FIG. 3, electrical component [the semiconductor die] transferred from flip head collet 310 [the collector element] to bond head collet 304 [the bonder element], [0041]); and bonding the semiconductor die to a carrier by the bonder element (Woo, “When the bond head 302 is at the alignment position, the electrical component [the semiconductor die] is transferred from the bond head collet 304 [the bonder element] onto the bonding pad 606 [the carrier] and is then bonded to the bonding pad 606,” [0051]).
Woo does not explicitly teach: wherein the alignment check comprises detection of an intensity of light reflection of an alignment mark on the semiconductor die when the semiconductor die is on the collector element. However, Woo teaches determining the offset of the center of the electrical component [the die] relative to the center of the flip head [the collector element] by analyzing an image [i.e., detection of an intensity of light reflection], see para [0055]. Although Woo is silent regarding an alignment mark on the semiconductor die, Applicant’s definition of an alignment mark is sufficiently broad so as to encompass the use of the center of the die as an alignment mark (see paragraphs 030, 038, and 046 of Applicant’s specification, stating “the edge or border of the semiconductor die 200 functions as the alignment mark for the semiconductor die 200,” it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art that the use of the center of the die as an alignment mark, as taught by Woo, is referenced from the edge or border of the die).
Although Woo teaches providing a wafer with multiple semiconductor dies, Woo is silent regarding providing the multiple semiconductor dies on an adhesive film held by a frame element; lifting a semiconductor die up from the wafer by an ejector element resulting in a die shift of the semiconductor die
However, Maki, in the same field of endeavor, teaches: providing a wafer with multiple semiconductor dies (Maki, FIGs. 5-7, wafer 1A shown with multiple chips 1) on an adhesive film held by a frame element (Maki, FIGs. 3-7, dicing tape 4 [the adhesive film] held by wafer ring 5 [the frame element], [0408]); lifting a semiconductor die up from the wafer by an ejector element (Maki, FIG. 30 shows block 110c of chucking piece 102 [the ejector element] lifting up chip 1 [the semiconductor die] from wafer arranged on dicing tape 4).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Woo with the multiple semiconductor dies on an adhesive film held by a frame element; lifting a semiconductor die up from the wafer by an ejector element as taught by Maki, arriving at Applicant’s claimed invention with predictable results and without undue experimentation. The motivation for doing so would be, as expressly recognized by Maki, to apply tension to the adhesive film by means of the frame element, thereby improving peeling of the chip from the dicing tape when the chucking piece [ejector element] pushes up on the die, resulting in faster manufacturing speed.
Although Woo in view of Maki teaches lifting a semiconductor die up from the wafer by an ejector element, Woo and Maki are silent regarding this process resulting in a die shift of the semiconductor die.
However, Choi, in the same field of endeavor, teaches “performing a misalignment [a die shift]… between a chip ejected from a wafer [the semiconductor die] and a needle unit of an ejector [the ejector element] before picking up the chip [lifting the semiconductor die],” (Choi, see Abstract). Choi teaches that misalignment [die shift] between the chip [the semiconductor die] and the needle [the ejector element] can prevent damage to the chip during the pickup operation (Choi, see FIG. 3 and associated text). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Woo in view of Maki with the teachings of Choi, arriving at Applicant’s claimed invention with predictable results and without undue experimentation. The motivation for doing so would be, as expressly recognized by Choi, to avoid damage to the chip during the pickup operation, thereby improving manufacturing throughput and device reliability.
Regarding claim 2, Woo in view of Maki and further in view of Choi teaches: The method of claim 1, wherein the moving process of the semiconductor die and the collector element is optimized (Woo, FIG. 4, steps 420, 422, [0055-0056]; “By repeating these sub-steps on every electrical component, a runtime update of the handover position can be achieved to compensate for the picking errors,” [0055]) until a center of the bonder element is substantially aligned with the center of the semiconductor die (Woo, “bond head 302 is then moved to a position at which the center of the bond head collet 304 [the bonder element] is aligned with the center of the electrical component [the semiconductor die],” [0055]; see also [0044], i.e. the moving process of the semiconductor die and the collector element is optimized until a center of the bonder element is substantially aligned with the center of the semiconductor die).
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Woo in view of Maki and further in view Choi and further in view of Chao et al., US 2017/0256501 A1 (hereinafter Chao).
Regarding claim 3, Woo in view of Maki and further in view of Choi teaches every element of claim 3 except: wherein the alignment check comprises detection of the intensity of light reflection of the alignment mark on the semiconductor die by an optical microscope.
However, Chao, in the same field of endeavor, teaches the use of an imaging system including an optical microscope to detect contrast, i.e., intensity of light reflection, of alignment marks on a semiconductor die in order to check alignment and compensate for misregistration by transmitting correction values to a pick-and-place tool (Chao, 0047; 0061]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Woo in view of Maki and further in view of Choi with the detection of the intensity of light reflection of the alignment mark on the semiconductor die by an optical microscope as taught by Chao, arriving at Applicant’s claimed invention with predictable results and without undue experimentation. The motivation for doing so would be, as expressly recognized by Chao, to measure and correct for misregistration during manufacturing, resulting in higher manufacturing tolerances and improved device reliability.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Woo in view of Maki and further in view of Choi and further in view of Kinoshita et al., JP2004022995A (hereinafter Kinoshita).
Regarding claim 4, Woo in view of Maki and further in view of Choi teaches nearly every element of claim 4 but is silent regarding: wherein the bonder element comprises three pieces with curved surfaces and having vacuum channels between the pieces.
However, Kinoshita, in the same field of endeavor, teaches: wherein the bonder element (Kinoshita, FIG. 1, fixture 2, including suction member 6, fixture body 8, and ventilation holes 11, [0023-0025]) comprises three pieces with curved surfaces (Kinoshita, see FIG. 1, “suction member 6 [the bonder element] has a suction surface 9 which is outwardly convex,” [0023]) and having vacuum channels between the pieces (Kinoshita, FIG. 1, ventilation holes 11 shown between the pieces of suction member 6, [0022-0023]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Woo in view of Maki and further in view of Choi with the teachings of Kinoshita, arriving at Applicant’s claimed invention with predictable results and without undue experimentation. The motivation for doing so would be, as expressly recognized by Kinoshita, to deform the semiconductor die into a downwardly convex shape during the bonding process, thereby reducing the potential for void formation during the bonding and reflow process, resulting in improved device reliability.
Claims 5-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Woo in view of Maki and further in view of Choi, as applied to claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 5, Woo in view of Maki and further in view of Choi teaches: The method of claim 1, further comprising, before lifting the semiconductor die up from the wafer by the ejector element (Maki, FIG. 30 shows block 110c of chucking piece 102 [the ejector element] lifting up chip 1 [the semiconductor die] from wafer arranged on dicing tape 4), performing an alignment check to determine a position of the semiconductor die so as to determine a second process tolerance between the center of the semiconductor die and a center of the ejector element (Maki, FIG. 68 shows center of die 1a [the semiconductor die] aligned [i.e., within process tolerance] with center of block 110c of chucking piece 102 [the ejector element], [0421]; “alignment is made so that the chip 1 [the semiconductor die] … is positioned centrally of … chucking piece (lower base) 102 [the center of the ejector element,” [0565]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Woo and Choi with the performing an alignment check to determine a position of the semiconductor die so as to determine a second process tolerance between the center of the semiconductor die and a center of the ejector element as taught by Maki, arriving at Applicant’s claimed invention with predictable results and without undue experimentation. The motivation for doing so would be, as expressly recognized by Maki, to peel the chip evenly to avoid causing cracking or chipping of the chip, thereby improving manufacturing yield, device performance and reliability.
Regarding claim 6, Woo in view of Maki and further in view of Choi teaches: The method of claim 5, further comprising adjusting a position of the frame element or the ejector element if the second process tolerance fails the specification or standard (Maki, FIG. 12, “central portion of chucking piece 102 [the ejector element] is moved to the position just under one chip 1 [the semiconductor die]”, [0421]; “alignment is made so that the chip 1 [the semiconductor die] … is positioned centrally of … chucking piece (lower base) 102 [the center of the ejector element,” [0565]; i.e., the position of the ejector element is adjusted if it is not positioned centrally beneath the semiconductor die [i.e., if the second process tolerance fails the specification or standard]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Woo and Choi with the adjusting a position of the frame element or the ejector element if the second process tolerance fails the specification or standard as taught by Maki, arriving at Applicant’s claimed invention with predictable results and without undue experimentation. The motivation for doing so would be, as expressly recognized by Maki, to peel the chip evenly to avoid causing cracking or chipping of the chip, thereby improving manufacturing yield, device performance and reliability.
Additionally, note that the broadest reasonable interpretation of a method claim having contingent limitations requires only those steps that must be performed and does not include steps that are not required to be performed because the condition(s) precedent are not met. If the claimed invention may be practiced without either the first or second condition happening, then neither step A or B is required by the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim. Here, the method step B, “adjusting a position of the frame element or the ejector element,” is not required to be performed if step A does not occur, i.e., if the second process tolerance passes the specification or standard. The Examiner does not need to present evidence of the obviousness of the method steps that are not required to be performed under a broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim. See MPEP 2111.04 (II).
Regarding claim 7, Woo in view of Maki and further in view of Choi teaches: The method of claim 5, wherein the ejector element comprises lifting pins (Maki, FIG. 9 shows blocks 110b, 110c [lifting pins] of chucking piece 102 [the ejector element], [0415]), and lifting the semiconductor die up by the ejector element comprises moving the lifting pins upwards to push up the semiconductor die (Maki, FIG. 30 shows blocks 110b, 110c [lifting pins] of chucking piece 102 [the ejector element] moving upwards to push up the chip 1 [the semiconductor die] from wafer arranged on dicing tape 4, [0423-0424]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Woo and Choi with the method of lifting the semiconductor die up by moving the lifting pins upwards to push up the semiconductor die as taught by Maki, arriving at Applicant’s claimed invention with predictable results and without undue experimentation. The motivation for doing so would be, as expressly recognized by Maki, to concentrate a peeling stress on the interface between the chip and the dicing tape by means of blocks 110b, 110c [lifting pins] of chucking piece 102 [the ejector element], thereby improving peeling of the chip from the dicing tape when the chucking piece [ejector element] pushes up on the die, resulting in faster manufacturing speed.
Regarding claim 8, Woo in view of Maki and further in view of Choi teaches: The method of claim 1, further comprising, before bonding the semiconductor die to the carrier, performing an alignment check to determine a position of the semiconductor die so as to determine a third process tolerance between the center of the semiconductor die and the center of the desired region of the carrier. (Woo, FIGs. 6(a) – 6(c), avoid misalignment [i.e., determine a third process tolerance] between centers of the electrical component [the semiconductor die] and the bonding position [the desired region of the carrier], [0044-0050]; “the bond head 302 is moved to the alignment position at which the center of the bond head collet 304 [the bonder element] is aligned with the center of the bonding position [the desired region of the carrier],” [0051], i.e., the position of the semiconductor die is determined).
Regarding claim 9, Woo in view of Maki and further in view of Choi teaches: The method of claim 8, further comprising adjusting a position of the carrier or the bonder element if the third process tolerance fails the specification or standard (Woo, FIGs. 6(a) – 6(c), “the bond head 302 is moved [i.e., adjusting the position of the bonder element] to the alignment position at which the center of the bond head collet 304 [the bonder element] is aligned with the center of the bonding position [the desired region of the carrier],” [0051]; “align a position of the bond head collet with a position of the bonding position based on an offset [i.e., a third process tolerance] that is determined from the images of the bonding position, bond head collet and reference marker,” [0017]).
Additionally, note that the broadest reasonable interpretation of a method claim having contingent limitations requires only those steps that must be performed and does not include steps that are not required to be performed because the condition(s) precedent are not met. If the claimed invention may be practiced without either the first or second condition happening, then neither step A or B is required by the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim. Here, the method step B, “adjusting a position of the carrier or the bonder element,” is not required to be performed if step A does not occur, i.e., if the third process tolerance passes the specification or standard. See MPEP 2111.04 (II).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Woo in view of Maki and further in
view of Choi and further in view of Kinoshita, as applied to claim 4 above.
Regarding claim 10, Woo in view of Maki and further in view of Choi teaches nearly every element of claim 10 but is silent regarding: wherein the bonder element has a curved surface.
However, as discussed above regarding claim 4, Kinoshita teaches: wherein the bonder element has a curved surface (Kinoshita, see FIG. 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Woo in view of Maki and further in view of Choi with the teachings of Kinoshita, arriving at Applicant’s claimed invention with predictable results and without undue experimentation. The motivation for the bonder element having a curved surface would be, as expressly recognized by Kinoshita, to deform the semiconductor die into a downwardly convex shape during the bonding process, thereby reducing the potential for void formation during the bonding and reflow process, resulting in improved device reliability.
Claims 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Woo in view of Choi.
Regarding claim 11, as amended, Woo discloses: A flip-chip bonding method, comprising: in a flip-chip bonding apparatus (Woo, FIG. 3, bonding apparatus 300, [0027]), providing a wafer with multiple semiconductor dies (Woo, FIG. 1, dies 110 shown on wafer 112); (Woo, FIG. 3, flip head collet 310, [0041]) and flip-chipping the semiconductor die by the collector element (Woo, FIG. 3, flip head collet 310 inverted after retrieving die from wafer, [0041]); transferring the semiconductor die from the collector element to a bonder element (Woo, FIG. 3, electrical component [the semiconductor die] transferred from flip head collet 310 [the collector element] to bond head collet 304 [the bonder element], [0041]); and before the transferring operation, performing a checking operation to the semiconductor die, so as to determine whether a misalignment is present between the center of the semiconductor die and a center of the collector element resulting from the die shift (Woo, to compensate for picking errors, i.e., the die shift, offset [misalignment] of center of electrical component [the semiconductor die] relative to center of flip head 308 [the collector element] is determined, i.e., performing a checking operation to determine whether a misalignment is present between the center of the semiconductor die and a center of the collector element resulting from the die shift, [0055]),
Woo does not explicitly teach: wherein the checking operation comprises detection of an intensity of light reflection of an alignment mark on the semiconductor die when the semiconductor die is on the collector element. However, Woo teaches determining the offset of the center of the electrical component [the die] relative to the center of the flip head [the collector element] by analyzing an image [i.e., detection of an intensity of light reflection], see para [0055]. Although Woo is silent regarding an alignment mark on the semiconductor die, Applicant’s definition of an alignment mark is sufficiently broad so as to encompass the use of the center of the die as an alignment mark (see paragraphs 030, 038, and 046 of Applicant’s specification, stating “the edge or border of the semiconductor die 200 functions as the alignment mark for the semiconductor die 200,” it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art that the use of the center of the die as an alignment mark, as taught by Woo, is referenced from the edge or border of the die).
Although Woo teaches picking the semiconductor die up from the wafer, Woo is silent regarding: lifting a semiconductor die up from the wafer by an ejector element along a Z direction resulting in a die shift of the semiconductor die, such that a lateral offset along a X direction perpendicular to the Z direction is between a center of the ejector element and a center of the semiconductor die.
However, Choi, in the same field of endeavor, teaches “performing a misalignment [a die shift]… between a chip ejected from a wafer [the semiconductor die] and a needle unit of an ejector [the ejector element] before picking up the chip [lifting the semiconductor die],” (Choi, see Abstract). Choi teaches that misalignment [die shift] between the chip [the semiconductor die] and the needle [the ejector element] can prevent damage to the chip during the pickup operation (Choi, see FIG. 3 and associated text, describing lifting a semiconductor die from a wafer by an ejector element along a Z direction resulting in a lateral offset along a X direction between a center of the ejector element and a center of the semiconductor die). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Woo with the teachings of Choi, arriving at Applicant’s claimed lifting a semiconductor die up from the wafer by an ejector element along a Z direction resulting in a die shift of the semiconductor die, such that a lateral offset along a X direction perpendicular to the Z direction is between a center of the ejector element and a center of the semiconductor die with predictable results and without undue experimentation. The motivation for doing so would be, as expressly recognized by Choi, to avoid damage to the chip during the pickup operation, thereby improving manufacturing throughput and device reliability.
Regarding claim 12, Woo in view of Choi teaches: The method of claim 11, further comprising, during the transferring operation (Woo, FIG. 3, electrical component [the semiconductor die] transferred from flip head collet 310 [the collector element] to bond head collet 304 [the bonder element], [0041]), compensating the misalignment if the misalignment is present between the center of the semiconductor die and the center of the collector element (Woo, offset of center of electrical component [the semiconductor die] relative to center of flip head 308 [the collector element] is determined and compensated for, [0055]).
Additionally, note that the broadest reasonable interpretation of a method claim having contingent limitations requires only those steps that must be performed and does not include steps that are not required to be performed because the condition(s) precedent are not met. If the claimed invention may be practiced without either the first or second condition happening, then neither step A or B is required by the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim. Here, the method step B, “compensating the misalignment,” is not required to be performed if step A does not occur, i.e., if the misalignment is not present between the center of the semiconductor die and the center of the collector element. See MPEP 2111.04 (II).
Regarding claim 13, Woo in view of Choi teaches: The method of claim 11, further comprising bonding the semiconductor die to a carrier by the bonder element (Woo, “When the bond head 302 is at the alignment position, the electrical component [the semiconductor die] is transferred from the bond head collet 304 [the bonder element] onto the bonding pad 606 [the carrier] and is then bonded to the bonding pad 606,” [0051]).
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Woo in view of Choi and further in view of Chao.
Regarding claim 14, Woo in view of Choi teaches nearly every element of claim 14 but is silent regarding: wherein the checking operation comprises detection of the intensity of light reflection of the alignment mark on the semiconductor die by an optical microscope.
However, Chao, in the same field of endeavor, teaches the use of an imaging system including an optical microscope to detect contrast, i.e., intensity of light reflection, of alignment marks on a semiconductor die in order to check alignment and compensate for misregistration by transmitting correction values to a pick-and-place tool (Chao, 0047; 0061]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Woo in view of Choi with the detection of the intensity of light reflection of the alignment mark on the semiconductor die by an optical microscope as taught by Chao, arriving at Applicant’s claimed invention with predictable results and without undue experimentation. The motivation for doing so would be, as expressly recognized by Chao, to measure and correct for misregistration during manufacturing, resulting in higher manufacturing tolerances and improved device reliability.
Claims 15, 17, 21, 23 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Woo in view of Choi and further in view of Kinoshita.
Regarding claim 15, Woo in view of Choi teaches nearly every element of claim 15 but is silent regarding: wherein the bonder element comprises three pieces with curved surfaces and having vacuum channels between the pieces.
However, Kinoshita, in the same field of endeavor, teaches: wherein the bonder element (Kinoshita, FIG. 1, fixture 2, including suction member 6, fixture body 8, and ventilation holes 11, [0023-0025]) comprises three pieces with curved surfaces (Kinoshita, see FIG. 1, “suction member 6 [the bonder element] has a suction surface 9 which is outwardly convex,” [0023]) and having vacuum channels between the pieces (Kinoshita, FIG. 1, ventilation holes 11 shown between the pieces of suction member 6, [0022-0023]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Woo in view of Choi with the teachings of Kinoshita, arriving at Applicant’s claimed invention with predictable results and without undue experimentation. The motivation for doing so would be, as expressly recognized by Kinoshita, to deform the semiconductor die into a downwardly convex shape during the bonding process, thereby reducing the potential for void formation during the bonding and reflow process, resulting in improved device reliability.
Regarding claim 17, Woo in view of Choi teaches nearly every element of claim 17 but is silent regarding: wherein the bonder element has a curved surface.
However, as discussed above regarding claim 15, Kinoshita teaches: wherein the bonder element has a curved surface (Kinoshita, see FIG. 1).
Regarding claim 21, as amended, Woo teaches: a flip-chip bonding method, comprising: in a flip-chip bonding apparatus (Woo, FIG. 3, bonding apparatus 300, [0027]), (Woo, FIG. 3, flip head collet 310 [the collector element] retrieves die from a wafer, [0041]); flip-chipping the semiconductor die with the collector element (Woo, FIG. 3, flip head collet 310 [the collector element] inverted after retrieving die from wafer, [0041]); performing an alignment check to the semiconductor die, so as to determine whether a misalignment is present between a center of the semiconductor die and a center of the collector element resulting from the die shift (Woo, to compensate for picking errors, i.e., the die shift, offset [i.e., misalignment] of center of electrical component [the semiconductor die] relative to center of flip head 308 [the collector element] is determined, [0055]), (Woo, during handover process “bond head 302 is then moved to a position at which the center of the bond head collet 304 [the bonder element] is aligned with the center of the electrical component [the semiconductor die],” [0055]; i.e., the semiconductor die and the collector element are moved to a location underneath a bonder element based on a result of the alignment check),(Woo, FIG. 3, electrical component [the semiconductor die] transferred from flip head collet 310 [the collector element] to bond head collet 304 [the bonder element], [0041]); and bonding the semiconductor die to a carrier by the bonder element (Woo, “When the bond head 302 is at the alignment position, the electrical component [the semiconductor die] is transferred from the bond head collet 304 [the bonder element] onto the bonding pad 606 [the carrier] and is then bonded to the bonding pad 606,” [0051]).
Woo does not explicitly teach: wherein the alignment check comprises detection of an intensity of light reflection of an alignment mark on the semiconductor die when the semiconductor die is on the collector element. However, Woo teaches determining the offset of the center of the electrical component [the die] relative to the center of the flip head [the collector element] by analyzing an image [i.e., detection of an intensity of light reflection], see para [0055]. Although Woo is silent regarding an alignment mark on the semiconductor die, Applicant’s definition of an alignment mark is sufficiently broad so as to encompass the use of the center of the die as an alignment mark (see paragraphs 030, 038, and 046 of Applicant’s specification, stating “the edge or border of the semiconductor die 200 functions as the alignment mark for the semiconductor die 200,” it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art that the use of the center of the die as an alignment mark, as taught by Woo, is referenced from the edge or border of the die).
Although Woo teaches picking the semiconductor die up with a collector element, Woo is silent regarding: performing a die lifting operation on a semiconductor die by an ejector element resulting in a die shift of the semiconductor die.
However, Choi, in the same field of endeavor, teaches that misalignment is caused by the chip being lifted upward by the needle during ejection, and the movement of the semiconductor die relative to the bonder element is adjusted to correct for this misalignment: “performing a misalignment [a die shift]… between a chip ejected from a wafer [the semiconductor die] and a needle unit of an ejector [the ejector element] before picking up the chip [lifting the semiconductor die],” (Choi, see Abstract). Choi teaches that misalignment [die shift] between the chip [the semiconductor die] and the needle [the ejector element] can prevent damage to the chip during the pickup operation (Choi, see FIG. 3 and associated text). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Woo with the teachings of Choi, arriving at Applicant’s claimed invention with predictable results and without undue experimentation. The motivation for doing so would be, as expressly recognized by Choi, to avoid damage to the chip during the pickup operation, thereby improving manufacturing throughput and device reliability.
Woo in view of Choi is silent regarding: wherein the bonder element has a curved surface.
However, Kinoshita, in the same field of endeavor, teaches: wherein the bonder element (Kinoshita, FIG. 1, fixture 2, including suction member 6, fixture body 8, and ventilation holes 11, [0023-0025]) has a curved surface (Kinoshita, see FIG. 1, “suction member 6 [the bonder element] has a suction surface 9 which is outwardly convex,” [0023]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Woo in view of Choi with the teachings of Kinoshita, arriving at Applicant’s claimed invention with predictable results and without undue experimentation. The motivation for doing so would be, as expressly recognized by Kinoshita, to deform the semiconductor die into a downwardly convex shape during the bonding process, thereby reducing the potential for void formation during the bonding and reflow process, resulting in improved device reliability.
Claim 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Woo in view of Choi and further in view of Kinoshita and further in view of Chao.
Regarding claim 22, Woo in view of Choi and further in view of Kinoshita teaches nearly every element of claim 22 but is silent regarding: wherein the alignment check comprises detection of the intensity of light reflection of the alignment mark on the semiconductor die by an optical microscope.
However, Chao, in the same field of endeavor, teaches the use of an imaging system including an optical microscope to detect contrast, i.e., intensity of light reflection, of alignment marks on a semiconductor die in order to check alignment and compensate for misregistration by transmitting correction values to a pick-and-place tool (Chao, 0047; 0061]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Woo in view of Kinoshita and further in view of Choi with the detection of the intensity of light reflection of the alignment mark on the semiconductor die by an optical microscope as taught by Chao, arriving at Applicant’s claimed invention with predictable results and without undue experimentation. The motivation for doing so would be, as expressly recognized by Chao, to measure and correct for misregistration during manufacturing, resulting in higher manufacturing tolerances and improved device reliability.
Claims 23 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Woo in view of Choi and further in view of Kinoshita.
Regarding claim 23, Woo in view of Choi and further in view of Kinoshita teaches: The flip-chip bonding method of claim 21, wherein the bonder element (Kinoshita, FIG. 1, fixture 2, including suction member 6, fixture body 8, and ventilation holes 11, [0023-0025]) comprises three pieces with curved surfaces (Kinoshita, see FIG. 1, “suction member 6 [the bonder element] has a suction surface 9 which is outwardly convex,” [0023]) and having vacuum channels between the pieces (Kinoshita, FIG. 1, ventilation holes 11 shown between the pieces of suction member 6, [0022-0023]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Woo in view of Maki and further in view of Choi with the teachings of Kinoshita, arriving at Applicant’s claimed invention with predictable results and without undue experimentation. The motivation for the bonder element comprising three pieces with curved surfaces and having vacuum channels between the pieces would be, as expressly recognized by Kinoshita, to deform the semiconductor die into a downwardly convex shape by vacuum pressure during the bonding process, thereby reducing the potential for void formation during the bonding and reflow process, resulting in improved device reliability.
Regarding claim 24, Woo in view of Choi and further in view of Kinoshita teaches: The flip-chip bonding method of claim 21, wherein during the moving operation of the semiconductor die and the collector element, a position of the bonder element is adjusted based on the result of the alignment check (Woo, FIG. 4, steps 420, 422, [0055-0056]; “By repeating these sub-steps on every electrical component, a runtime update of the handover position can be achieved to compensate for the picking errors,” [0055]), until a center of the bonder element is substantially aligned with the center of the semiconductor die (Woo, “bond head 302 is then moved to a position at which the center of the bond head collet 304 [the bonder element] is aligned with the center of the electrical component [the semiconductor die],” [0055]; see also [0044]).
Additionally, although Examiner has addressed all claim limitations in the rejections above, note that the broadest reasonable interpretation of a method claim having contingent limitations requires only those steps that must be performed and does not include steps that are not required to be performed because the condition(s) precedent are not met. If the claimed invention may be practiced without either the first or second condition happening, then neither step A or B is required by the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim. Here, the method step B, “a position of the bonder element is adjusted,” is not required to be performed if step A does not occur, i.e., if the alignment check of claim 21 determines that no misalignment is present between a center of the semiconductor die and a center of the collector element. See MPEP 2111.04 (II).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/D.L.N./Examiner, Art Unit 2899 /DALE E PAGE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2899