DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-8 and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Where applicant acts as his or her own lexicographer to specifically define a term of a claim contrary to its ordinary meaning, the written description must clearly redefine the claim term and set forth the uncommon definition so as to put one reasonably skilled in the art on notice that the applicant intended to so redefine that claim term. Process Control Corp. v. HydReclaim Corp., 190 F.3d 1350, 1357, 52 USPQ2d 1029, 1033 (Fed. Cir. 1999). The term “plasma generator” in claim 1 is used by the claim to mean “plasma structure that is connected to an RF power supply (i.e. electrode or coil),” while the accepted meaning is “RF power supply.” The term is indefinite because the specification does not clearly redefine the term.
Additionally, on paragraph [0052], the specification indicates that the first RF power supply 62 serves as an exemplary plasma generator. Hence, it’s unclear in claim 1 how a first radio-frequency power supply is configured to supply a first radio-frequency power to a plasma generator (i.e. first RF power supply).
For purpose of examination, a plasma generator is an upper electrode 30 (par.[0030]).
In light of the above, dependent claims 2-8 and 18-19 are also rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) at least due to dependency to rejected claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-8 and 18-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hudson et al. (U.S. 2020/0066540) in view of Katsunuma (U.S. 2019/0362984) or Yokoyama et al. (U.S. 2021/0143017).
Referring to Figures 1-2 and paragraphs [0017]-[0032]), Hudson et al. disclose a plasma processing apparatus comprising: a plasma processing chamber 249 having at least one gas inlet (Fig. 2, par.[0018]); a substrate holder 208, 234 located in the plasma processing chamber (Fig. 2, par.[0018]); a plasma generator 206 located above the substrate holder (Fig. 2, par.[0018]); a first radio-frequency power supply 230 configured to supply a first radio-frequency power to the substrate holder or the plasma generator (Fig. 2, par.[0018]); a second radio-frequency power supply 230 configured to supply a second radio-frequency power to the substrate holder (Fig. 2, par.[0018]); and circuitry 235, 300 (Fig. 2, pars.[0018]-[0021]) configured to: perform control so that a substrate is placed on the substrate holder (Fig. 2); perform control so that to form a protective layer 112, 424 on a surface of a side wall defining a recess in a layer of the substrate (Figs. 1, 4D, par.[0025]), the protective layer containing phosphorus (par.[0032]), and perform control to etch the layer to increase a depth of the recess after the protective layer is formed (Fig. 4F, par.[0029]).
Hudson et al. is silent of the layer of the substrate includes an organic layer.
Referring to paragraphs [0035]-[0036], Katsunuma teach a plasma processing apparatus wherein it is conventionally known in the art for the layer EF of the substrate W includes an organic layer since it is conventionally known material used for a substrate for an electronic device. Referring to paragraphs [0067], Yokoyama et al. teach a plasma processing apparatus wherein it is conventionally known in the art for the layer MK of the substrate W includes an organic layer since it is conventionally known material used for a substrate for an electronic device. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the substrate of Hudson et al. such that the layer of the substrate includes an organic layer as taught by Katsunuma or Yokoyama et al. since it is a conventionally known material used for a substrate for an electronic device. Additionally, the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supported a prima facie obviousness determination (MPEP 2144.07).
With respect to claim 2, the plasma processing apparatus of Hudson et al. further includes wherein during the forming of the protective layer 112, 424: a precursor layer is formed on the surface of the side wall with a first gas 116 (Fig. 1, par.[0017]), and the protective layer is formed from the precursor layer with a second gas 120 (Fig. 1, par.[0017]), wherein the first gas or the second gas contains phosphorus (oar.[0032]).
With respect to claim 3, the plasma processing apparatus of Hudson et al. further includes wherein a plurality of layer deposition cycles, each including the forming of the precursor layer and the forming of the protective layer from the precursor layer, are performed sequentially (Fig. 1, par.[0025]).
With respect to claim 4, the plasma processing apparatus of Hudson et al. further includes wherein the plurality of layer deposition cycles include at least one layer deposition cycle in which the forming of the precursor layer (i.e. priming layer) is performed under a condition different from a condition under which at least another one of the plurality of layer deposition cycles (i.e. priming layer) is performed (pars.[0024]-[0025], i.e. different reactants [0031]-[0034]).
With respect to claim 5, the plasma processing apparatus of Hudson et al. further includes wherein the plurality of layer deposition cycles include at least one layer deposition cycle in which the forming of the protective layer from the precursor layer (i.e. by plasmaless process) is performed under a condition different than in which at least another one of the plurality of layer deposition cycles (i.e. priming layer by plasma) is performed (pars.[0024]-[0025], i.e. different reactants [0031]-[0034]).
With respect to claim 6, the plasma processing apparatus of Hudson et al. further includes wherein the circuitry 235, 300 is configured to sequentially perform a plurality of cycles that include the forming of the protective layer and the etching of the layer (Fig. 1, pars. [0025], [0029]).
With respect to claim 7, the plasma processing apparatus of Hudson et al. further includes wherein the plurality of cycles include at least one cycle in which the forming of the protective layer is performed under a condition (i.e. temperature) different from a condition under which at least another one of the plurality of cycles is performed (par.[0037]).
With respect to claim 8, the plasma processing apparatus of Hudson et al. further includes wherein the plurality of cycles include at least one cycle in which the etching of the layer is performed under a condition (i.e. temperature) different than in which at least another one of the plurality of cycles is performed (par.[0037]).
With respect to claim 18, the plasma processing apparatus of Hudson et al. further includes wherein the protective layer is formed by chemical vapor deposition or atomic layer deposition (pars.[0024], [0031]).
With respect to claim 19, the plasma processing apparatus of Hudson et al. further includes wherein the process gas contains at least one of O2, CO2, N2,H2, H20, or an inorganic compound with an N-H bond (par.[0032]).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-8 and 18-19 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 17 of U.S. Patent No. 11,355,350 in view of Hudson et al. (U.S. 2020/0066540).
Referring to claims 1 and 17, U.S. Patent No. 11,355,350 teach that a substrate is placed on the substrate holder; to form a protective layer on a surface of a side wall defining a recess in a layer of the substrate, the protective layer containing phosphorus, the layer of the substrate includes an organic layer, to etch the layer to increase a depth of the recess after the protective layer is formed.
U.S. Patent No. 11,355,350 is silent on the conventional apparatus components to perform the plasma process.
Hence, referring to Figures 1-2 and paragraphs [0017]-[0032]), Hudson et al. disclose a plasma processing apparatus comprising: a plasma processing chamber 249 having at least one gas inlet (Fig. 2, par.[0018]); a substrate holder 208, 234 located in the plasma processing chamber (Fig. 2, par.[0018]); a plasma generator 206 located above the substrate holder (Fig. 2, par.[0018]); a first radio-frequency power supply 230 configured to supply a first radio-frequency power to the substrate holder or the plasma generator (Fig. 2, par.[0018]); a second radio-frequency power supply 230 configured to supply a second radio-frequency power to the substrate holder (Fig. 2, par.[0018]); and circuitry 235, 300 (Fig. 2, pars.[0018]-[0021]) configured to: perform an etching process. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the etching method of U.S. Patent No. 11,355,350 with the structural components of a plasma processing chamber having at least one gas inlet; a substrate holder located in the plasma processing chamber; a plasma generator located above the substrate holder; a first radio-frequency power supply configured to supply a first radio-frequency power to the substrate holder or the plasma generator; a second radio-frequency power supply configured to supply a second radio-frequency power to the substrate holder; and circuitry configured to: perform an etching method as taught by Hudson et al. since it is a conventionally known plasma processing apparatus that can be programmed to perform the desired etching method.
With respect to claim 2, the plasma processing apparatus of U.S. Patent No. 11,355,350 in view of Hudson et al. further includes wherein during the forming of the protective layer 112, 424: a precursor layer is formed on the surface of the side wall with a first gas 116 (Hudson et al.- Fig. 1, par.[0017]), and the protective layer is formed from the precursor layer with a second gas 120 (Hudson et al.- Fig. 1, par.[0017]), wherein the first gas or the second gas contains phosphorus (Hudson et al.- par.[0032]).
With respect to claim 3, the plasma processing apparatus of U.S. Patent No. 11,355,350 in view of Hudson et al. further includes wherein a plurality of layer deposition cycles, each including the forming of the precursor layer and the forming of the protective layer from the precursor layer, are performed sequentially (Hudson et al.- Fig. 1, par.[0025]).
With respect to claim 4, the plasma processing apparatus of U.S. Patent No. 11,355,350 in view of Hudson et al. further includes wherein the plurality of layer deposition cycles include at least one layer deposition cycle in which the forming of the precursor layer (i.e. priming layer) is performed under a condition different from a condition under which at least another one of the plurality of layer deposition cycles (i.e. priming layer) is performed (Hudson et al.- pars.[0024]-[0025], i.e. different reactants [0031]-[0034]).
With respect to claim 5, the plasma processing apparatus of U.S. Patent No. 11,355,350 in view of Hudson et al. further includes wherein the plurality of layer deposition cycles include at least one layer deposition cycle in which the forming of the protective layer from the precursor layer (i.e. by plasmaless process) is performed under a condition different than in which at least another one of the plurality of layer deposition cycles (i.e. priming layer by plasma) is performed (Hudson et al.- pars.[0024]-[0025], i.e. different reactants [0031]-[0034]).
With respect to claim 6, the plasma processing apparatus of U.S. Patent No. 11,355,350 in view of Hudson et al. further includes wherein the circuitry 235, 300 is configured to sequentially perform a plurality of cycles that include the forming of the protective layer and the etching of the layer (Hudson et al.- Fig. 1, pars. [0025], [0029]).
With respect to claim 7, the plasma processing apparatus of U.S. Patent No. 11,355,350 in view of Hudson et al. further includes wherein the plurality of cycles include at least one cycle in which the forming of the protective layer is performed under a condition (i.e. temperature) different from a condition under which at least another one of the plurality of cycles is performed (Hudson et al.- par.[0037]).
With respect to claim 8, the plasma processing apparatus of U.S. Patent No. 11,355,350 in view of Hudson et al. further includes wherein the plurality of cycles include at least one cycle in which the etching of the layer is performed under a condition (i.e. temperature) different than in which at least another one of the plurality of cycles is performed (Hudson et al.- par.[0037]).
With respect to claim 18, the plasma processing apparatus of U.S. Patent No. 11,355,350 in view of Hudson et al. further includes wherein the protective layer is formed by chemical vapor deposition or atomic layer deposition (Hudson et al.- pars.[0024], [0031]).
With respect to claim 19, the plasma processing apparatus of U.S. Patent No. 11,355,350 in view of Hudson et al. further includes wherein the process gas contains at least one of O2, CO2, N2,H2, H20, or an inorganic compound with an N-H bond (Hudson et al.- par.[0032]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments have been considered but are moot because the new references Katsunuma’984 or Yokoyama et al.’017 teach a layer of the substrate includes an organic layer.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Ishikawa’260 and Watanabe’415 teach a layer of the substrate includes an organic layer.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Michelle CROWELL/Examiner, Art Unit 1716
/SYLVIA MACARTHUR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1716