DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, 7-10, and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Lin et al. (US 2021/0098376).
With regard to claim 1, Lin teaches, in Figs 4-11C, a method, comprising: forming a first conductive feature (282B) over a substrate (210), the first conductive feature comprising a conductive fill material (286); forming an etch stop layer (294) on the conductive fill material; forming an intermetallization dielectric (292) on the etch stop layer; forming an opening (300B at Fig 6) in the etch stop layer and the intermetallization dielectric to expose a portion of the conductive fill material; forming a recess in the exposed portion of the conductive fill material, wherein the opening and the recess together form a rivet-shaped space (300B at Figs 7A-7C); forming a second conductive feature (330) in the rivet-shaped space, wherein the second conductive feature is rivet-shaped (Fig 8C); forming a metal nitride layer (335) over the intermetallization dielectric and the second conductive feature, comprising: depositing the metal nitride layer; and treating the metal nitride layer with a plasma treatment process ([0043]-[0044]); and performing a planarization process to remove the metal nitride layer ([0046]-[0047]).
With regard to claim 2, Lin teaches, in Figs 4-11C, forming a metal layer on the intermetallization dielectric and the second conductive feature, wherein the metal nitride layer is formed on the metal layer ([0044]).
With regard to claim 3, Lin teaches, in Figs 4-11C, that the metal layer comprises titanium and the metal nitride layer comprises titanium nitride ([0044]).
With regard to claim 4, Lin teaches, in Figs 4-11C, that the depositing the metal nitride layer is performed by a plasma enhanced chemical vapor deposition process ([0044]).
With regard to claim 5, Lin teaches, in Figs 4-11C, that the plasma enhanced chemical vapor deposition process comprises introducing a titanium-containing precursor and a nitrogen- containing precursor into the processing chamber and forming a first plasma in a processing chamber ([0044]).
With regard to claim 7, Lin teaches, in Figs 4-11C, that the planarization process is a chemical mechanical planarization process ([0046]).
With regard to claim 8, Lin teaches, in Figs 4-11C, that a portion of the intermetallization dielectric is removed by the planarization process ([0046]-[0047]).
With regard to claim 9, Lin teaches, in Figs 4-11C, a method, comprising: forming a first conductive feature (282B) in an active region over a substrate (210), the first conductive feature comprising a conductive fill material (286); forming a resistor layer (282A) in a resistor region over a substrate; forming an etch stop layer (294) on the conductive fill material and the resistor layer; forming an intermetallization dielectric (292) on the etch stop layer; forming a first opening (300B) in the etch stop layer and the intermetallization dielectric to expose a portion of the conductive fill material; forming a second opening (300A) in the etch stop layer and the intermetallization dielectric to expose a portion of the resistor layer; forming a second conductive feature (330) in the first opening, wherein the second conductive feature extends over a top surface of the intermetallization dielectric (see Fig 8A); forming a metal nitride layer (335) over the intermetallization dielectric and the second conductive feature and in the second opening (see Fig 9A), comprising: depositing the metal nitride layer; and treating the metal nitride layer with a plasma treatment process to increase a nitrogen concentration in a top portion of the metal nitride layer ([0043]-[0044]); and performing a planarization process to remove portions of the metal nitride layer disposed over the intermetallization dielectric and a portion of the second conductive feature ([0046]-[0047]).
With regard to claim 10, Lin teaches, in Figs 4-11C, forming a mask layer (284) in the second opening before forming the second conductive feature in the first opening.
With regard to claim 14, Lin teaches, in Figs 4-11C, forming a metal layer on the intermetallization dielectric and the second conductive feature and in the second opening, wherein the metal nitride layer is formed on the metal layer ([0043]-[0044]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin et al. (US 2021/0098376) in view of Kuratomi et al. (US 2020/0211852).
With regard to claim 6, Lin teaches most of the limitations of this claim, as set forth above with regard to claim 5.
Lin does not explicitly teach that the plasma treatment process comprises introducing a nitrogen gas and a hydrogen gas into the processing chamber and forming a second plasma in the processing chamber.
Kuratomi teaches that the plasma treatment process comprises introducing a nitrogen gas and a hydrogen gas into the processing chamber and forming a second plasma in the processing chamber ([0007]), “to reduce contact resistance and maximize volume of feature fill material,” ([0003]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to the ordinary artisan at the time of filing to combine the method of Lin with the plasma treatment process of Kuratomi to allow for selective deposition and thus reduce contact resistance and maximize volume of feature fill material.
With regard to claim 15, Lin teaches most of the limitations of this claim, as set forth above with regard to claim 9.
Lin does not explicitly teach that the plasma treatment process comprises introducing a nitrogen-containing gas and a hydrogen-containing gas into a processing chamber and forming a plasma in the processing chamber.
Kuratomi teaches that the plasma treatment process comprises introducing a nitrogen-containing gas and a hydrogen-containing gas into a processing chamber and forming a plasma in the processing chamber ([0007]), “to reduce contact resistance and maximize volume of feature fill material,” ([0003]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to the ordinary artisan at the time of filing to combine the method of Lin with the plasma treatment process of Kuratomi to allow for selective deposition and thus reduce contact resistance and maximize volume of feature fill material.
Claim(s) 21 and 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin et al. (US 2021/0098376) in view of Chen et al. (US 2020/0051858).
With regard to claim 21, Lin teaches, in Figs 4-11C, a method, comprising: depositing a dielectric layer (292) in an active region and a resistor region; forming a first opening (300B) in the dielectric layer to expose a conductive fill material (282B) in the active region; forming a second opening (300A) in the dielectric layer to expose a resistor layer (282A) in the resistor region; forming a conductive feature (330) in the first opening in the active region, wherein the conductive feature extends over a top surface of the dielectric layer; depositing a metal layer (335) over the dielectric layer and the conductive feature in the active region and in the second opening in the resistor region; and performing a planarization process to remove of the metal layer disposed in the active region and to remove a portion of the metal layer disposed in the resistor region ([0046]-[0047]).
Lin does not explicitly teach that the resistor layer and the conductive fill material comprise different materials.
Chen teaches, in Fig 6, that the resistor layer (76) and the conductive fill material (56) comprise different materials ([0020], [0030]) so that, “better interface management and electrical properties may be obtained,” ([0056]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to the ordinary artisan at the effective time of filing to combine the method of Lin with the conductive features of Chen so that better interface management and electrical properties may be obtained.
With regard to claim 22, Lin teaches, in Figs 4-11C, depositing an etch stop layer (294) in the active region and the resistor region, wherein the dielectric layer is deposited on the etch stop layer.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 11-13 and 23-25 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art of record fails to anticipate or render obvious claimed limitations of wherein forming the second conductive feature comprises: forming a first portion in a recess in the conductive fill material; forming a second portion on the first portion, wherein first gaps are formed between the second portion and the etch stop layer; forming a sealing portion around a top portion of the second portion; and forming a third portion on the second portion, wherein second gaps are formed between the third portion and the intermetallization dielectric, as set forth in claim 11, or of wherein forming the conductive feature comprises: depositing a first portion of the conductive feature in the first opening, wherein a first gap is formed between the first portion of the conductive feature and the etch stop layer; forming a sealing portion on the first portion of the conductive feature; and depositing a second portion of the conductive feature to fill the first opening, wherein a second gap is formed between the second portion of the conductive feature and the dielectric layer, as set forth in claim 23, each when taken in concert with all the other limitations of the respective claims, base claims, and any intervening claims. All other objected claims depend from either of these claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 11/12/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The Applicants argue:
the Examiner has not demonstrated how Lin discloses a method comprising treating the metal nitride layer with a plasma treatment process, as recited in claims 1 and 9, and in claims dependent thereon
The Examiner responds:
The process of applying a Nitrogen plasma treatment to the titanium layer to form a titanium nitride layer will necessarily meet the claimed limitation of “treating the metal nitride layer with a plasma treatment process” set forth in claim 1 as during the treatment of the titanium layer, it becomes at least somewhat nitrogenated, allowing it to meet the broadest reasonable interpretation of “the metal nitride layer”. The plasma treatment then continues until desired nitrogenation is achieved. This continuing treatment meets the claimed limitation.
All other arguments have been fully addressed in prior Office Actions or in the rejections set forth above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/RAJ R GUPTA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2893