DETAILED ACTION
Summary
This action is responsive to the Request for Continued Examination filed on 11/25/2025. Applicant has submitted Claims 1-3, 5-12, and 14-22 for examination.
Examiner finds the following: 1) Claims 1-3, 5-12, and 14-22 are rejected; 2) no claims are objected to; and 3) no claims allowable.
Request for Continued Examination
Receipt is acknowledged of a Request for Continued Examination under 37 CFR 1.114, including the fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(e) and a submission, filed on 11/25/2025.
Response to Arguments and Remarks
Examiner respectfully acknowledges Applicant' s arguments, remarks, and amendments.
First, regarding Claim 1, Applicant argues that Timans does not perform measurements of a contamination percentage on the substrate for configuring the radiation device to provide adjusted radiation to the substate. Examiner is not persuaded.
As previously cited regarding the contamination percentage data, Timans discusses this in [0199]:
When the temperature cycle varies throughout the heating cycle, the total diffusion length of impurities may be estimated by integrating the rate of diffusion throughout the complete heating cycle to obtain a total diffusion length.
Additionally, in [0299]:
The optical absorption is also affected by the presence of defects in the crystal structure or by impurities.
As disclosed, Examiner understands Timans to detect impurities and the effect of those impurities on the absorption. Examiner grants that Timans does not explicitly disclose measuring contamination as a percentage, but understands that any PHOSITA would be able to take the detected impurities and change to optical absorption and be able to express such information as a percentage.
Additionally, from Timans [0189], the setting are modified based on the measured information. Under the broadest reasonable interpretation, Examiner understands Timans to disclose the above. As such, Examiner maintains the rejection.
Second, regarding Claims 11 and 17, Applicant argues that Timans does not perform measurements of a dopant concentration on the substrate, for in response to a difference between a reference dopant concentration level and the measured dopant concentration level being above another predetermined threshold, receiving, by the radiation device, an other adjustment in the radiation setting. Examiner is not persuaded.
Examiner directs Applicant to the above regarding detecting concentrations and changing the light depending on the incoming datum.
Regarding the second part, specifically a “predetermined threshold,” Examiner agrees that Timans does not discuss that. That is why Examiner relies on Kuhns. As such, Examiner maintains the rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Determining the scope and contents of the prior art.
Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue.
Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art.
Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or non-obviousness.
Claims 1-3, 5-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Timans (US20060228897A1) in further view of Kuhns (US20200253813Al).
Regarding Claim 1, Timans discloses:
A method, comprising:
sending a first setting (Timans, FIG. 3, [0167], “The light from laser 202 may be manipulated to form the desired beam to be incident on the wafer. For example, the beam size and shape, beam divergence, angle of incidence, plane or state of polarization, location at which the beam contacts the wafer and scanning speed may all be controlled by using optical arrangement 206”) to configure a radiation device (Timans, FIG. 3, [0166], laser 202) to provide radiation to a substrate (Timans, FIG. 3, [0166], wafer 102) undergoing a cleaning operation (Timans, FIG. 3, [0167], “The components within optical arrangement 206 should be carefully controlled, since it is particularly important to keep the optical characteristics of the laser beam constant during thermal processing, although the high power of the laser beam in thermal processing applications makes this task more difficult than in low-power laser applications,” and FIG. 22, [0318], “The coating on the wafer is then etched and/or cleaned in a step 1014, then the etched wafer is analyzed in an etched wafer metrology step 1016 before being removed from the process flow in a step 1018”) in a process chamber of the radiation device (Timans, FIG.3, [0167], “wafer 102 is contained in process chamber 106 while laser 202 and optical arrangement 206 are separated from the process chamber by top window 124”);
measuring a contamination level on the substrate (Timans, [0296], “a dopant concentration of at least 10.sup.18/cm.sup.3 should be used, although the exact value of suitable dopant concentration depends on the thickness of the energy transfer layer,” and [0199], “When the temperature cycle varies throughout the heating cycle, the total diffusion length of impurities may be estimated by integrating the rate of diffusion throughout the complete heating cycle to obtain a total diffusion length,” and [0299], “The optical absorption is also affected by the presence of defects in the crystal structure or by impurities”);
measuring radiation energy data (Timans, FIG. 3, [0158], “Top detector 142 is configured to capture a reflected portion 148 (indicated by an arrow) of test radiation 146 reflected by the top surface of wafer 102”) measured at a plurality of locations of the process chamber (Timans, FIG. 3, [0158], “Top detector 142 is configured to capture a reflected portion 148 (indicated by an arrow) of test radiation 146 reflected by the top surface of wafer 102. Bottom detector 144 is configured to detect a transmitted portion 150 (indicated by an arrow) of test radiation 146 transmitted through wafer 102”); …
…sending a second setting to configure the radiation device to provide radiation to the substrate (Timans, [0189], “For example, with a scanning laser system, the power delivery to any point on the wafer may be modulated such that the power absorption across the wafer is equalized. The scan speed or the spot size or shape may also be modulated to achieve a desired power absorption distribution across the wafer. Such methods may also be applied in real-time through sensing of the power reflected, scattered or absorbed by the wafer”); and
applying radiation to the substrate based on the second setting (Timans, [0189], “For example, with a scanning laser system, the power delivery to any point on the wafer may be modulated such that the power absorption across the wafer is equalized. The scan speed or the spot size or shape may also be modulated to achieve a desired power absorption distribution across the wafer. Such methods may also be applied in real-time through sensing of the power reflected, scattered or absorbed by the wafer,” and [0199], “When the temperature cycle varies throughout the heating cycle, the total diffusion length of impurities may be estimated by integrating the rate of diffusion throughout the complete heating cycle to obtain a total diffusion length,” and [0299], “The optical absorption is also affected by the presence of defects in the crystal structure or by impurities”).
Timans discloses the above but does not explicitly disclose:
…in response to a variance of the radiation energy data being above a first predetermined threshold and in response to a difference between reference contamination level and measured contamination level being above a second predetermined threshold, …
However, Kuhns, in a similar field of endeavor (Photobiomodulation (PBM) or Low-level light therapy (LLLT) involves the application of laser and light-emitting diode (LED) light to living tissue to create a photobiostimulation effect), discloses:
…in response to a variance of the radiation energy data being above a first predetermined threshold and in response to a difference between contamination level and measured contamination level being above a second predetermined threshold (Kuhns, [0019], “wherein the controller adjusts the intensity or duration of the light in response to a thickness.” Examiner notes that Timans [0296] ties thickness and dopant concentration), …
It would have been obvious to PHOSITA before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Timans with the adjustments based on the measured data and thresholds of Kuhns. PHOSITA would have known about the uses of adjustments based on the measured data and thresholds as disclosed by Kuhns and how to use them to modify Timans. PHOSITA would have been motivated to do this as a use of known technique to improve similar devices in the same way (See MPEP § 2143 (I)(C)), specifically the use of adjustments based on the measured data and thresholds to better track and maintain proper laser intensity.
Regarding Claim 2, the combination of Timans and Kuhns discloses Claim 1, and Timans further discloses:
…receiving another contamination level measured on the substrate after the substrate completes the cleaning operation (Timans, FIG. 22, [0318], “incoming wafer metrology step 1004 may measure the optical properties of the incoming wafer,” [0321], “Coated wafer metrology step 1008 may measure the optical properties of the wafer in order to ensure that the absorptivity of the film is as desired for the thermal processing operation,” [0322], “Post-thermal process metrology step 1012 may assess whether the thermal process achieved a desired objective”, and [0318], “the etched wafer is analyzed in an etched wafer metrology step 1016 before being removed from the process flow in a step 1018”); and
in response to another difference between another reference contamination level and the other measured contamination level being above a third predetermined threshold, sending a third setting to configure the radiation device to provide radiation to another substrate that has yet to undergo the cleaning operation (Timans, [0189], “with a scanning laser system, the power delivery to any point on the wafer may be modulated such that the power absorption across the wafer is equalized. The scan speed or the spot size or shape may also be modulated to achieve a desired power absorption distribution across the wafer. Such methods may also be applied in real-time through sensing of the power reflected, scattered or absorbed by the wafer”).
Regarding Claim 3, the combination of Timans and Kuhns discloses Claim 1, and Timans further discloses:
…wherein the measurement data comprises one or more of optical metrology data, optical inspection data, spectrometry data, electrochemical impedance spectroscopy (EIS) data, scanning electron microscopy (SEM) data, transmission electron microscopy (TEM) data, and a combination thereof (Timans, FIG. 22, [0318], “incoming wafer metrology step 1004 may measure the optical properties of the incoming wafer”).
Regarding Claim 5, the combination of Timans and Kuhns discloses Claim 1, and Timans further discloses:
…wherein sending the second setting comprises adjusting a tilt angle of a radiation element of the radiation device (Timans, FIG. 3, [0169], “In this case, information regarding the wafer height and/or tilt may be fed back to a controller 230 that adjusts the optics of the laser beam, or its position, in a manner that keeps the heating conditions at the wafer surface in a specified range”).
Regarding Claim 6, the combination of Timans and Kuhns discloses Claim 1, and Timans further discloses:
…wherein sending the second setting comprises adjusting a resistance of a radiation element of the radiation device (Timans, [0158], “Also, these sensors may be used to determine the amount of radiation that is produced by the lamps, is reflected from the wafer surface or is transmitted through the wafer. Such information may be useful for adjusting the lamp intensity in order to take into account changes in the lamps as they age or as other processing chamber components change their optical characteristics overtime”).
Regarding Claim 7, the combination of Timans and Kuhns discloses Claim 1, and Timans further discloses:
…wherein sending the second setting comprises sending an instruction to replace a radiation element of the radiation device (Timans, [0158], “Also, these sensors may be used to determine the amount of radiation that is produced by the lamps, is reflected from the wafer surface or is transmitted through the wafer. Such information may be useful for adjusting the lamp intensity in order to take into account changes in the lamps as they age or as other processing chamber components change their optical characteristics over time”).
Regarding Claim 8, the combination of Timans and Kuhns discloses Claim 1, and Timans further discloses:
…wherein the radiation energy data is measured by a detection device comprising an optical fiber (Timans, FIG 2, [0167], “Optical arrangement 206 may include lenses, mirrors (both planar and curved), filters, beam splitters, apertures, polarizers, compensators, half-wave or quarter-wave plates, prisms, light pipes, optical fibers, holographic optics, gratings, and other optical components”) and a photodetector (Timans, FIG. 2, [0159] “Top detector 142 and bottom detector 144 may be configured to capture light”).
Regarding Claim 9, the combination of Timans and Kuhns discloses Claim 1, and Timans further discloses:
…wherein the first setting is based on measurement data measured on a test substrate that has completed the cleaning operation before the substrate (Timans, [0141] “For repeatable and uniform processing in a manufacturing environment, the coating thickness should be accurately controlled. One approach in such a regard is to perform measurements of the energy transfer layer thickness before the reaction is induced so as to maintain the repeatability and uniformity of processing”).
Regarding Claim 10, the combination of Timans and Kuhns discloses Claim 1, and Timans further discloses:
…wherein the first setting is based on temperature data measured on a test substrate (Timans, [0140], “the thermal processes induced, vary across the surface of the wafer. Various regions of the wafer may then be analyzed to determine the location of the best results, and the appropriate energy transfer layer thickness may be selected accordingly. Alternatively, discrete regions on a test wafer with different energy transfer layer thicknesses may be formed for the same purpose”), wherein the test substrate comprises a plurality of thermal sensors (Timans, [0157], “For instance, bottom pyrometer 118 and top pyrometer 128 provide temperature readings of the top and bottom surfaces of wafer 102 throughout the thermal processing cycle,” and [0060], “a pyrometer that senses radiation at the given wavelength may be conveniently used to determine the wafer temperature”).
Regarding Claim 21, the combination of Timans and Kuhns discloses Claim 8, and Timans further discloses:
… further comprising cooling the detection device (Timans, FIG. 3, [0167], “Optical arrangement 206 may includef,or instance, a cooling fluid circulating around the optical elements contained therein to keep them clean and cool”).
Claims 11, 14-16, and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Timans (US20060228897A1), in view of Kuhns (US20200253813Al), and in further view of Renau (US20040077149A1).
Regarding Claim 11, Timans discloses:
A method, comprising:
receiving, by a radiation device, a radiation setting comprising a tilt angle (Timans, FIG. 3, [0169], “In this case, information regarding the wafer height and/or tilt may be fed back to a controller 230 that adjusts the optics of the laser beam, or its position, in a manner that keeps the heating conditions at the wafer surface in a specified range”) of a radiation element of the radiation device (Timans, FIG. 3, [0166], laser 202), …
…providing radiation, based on the radiation setting, to a first substrate (Timans, FIG. 3, [0166], wafer 102) undergoing a doping operation (Timans, FIGS. 29-31, “Source and drain regions 1202 and 1204, respectively, may be formed, for instance, by a doping process such as ion-implantation”) in a process chamber (Timans, FIG. 3, [0167], “The components within optical arrangement 206 should be carefully controlled, since it is particularly important to keep the optical characteristics of the laser beam constant during thermal processing, although the high power of the laser beam in thermal processing applications makes this task more difficult than in low-power laser applications”) of the radiation device (Timans, FIG.3, [0167], “wafer 102 is contained in process chamber 106 while laser 202 and optical arrangement 206 are separated from the process chamber by top window 124”); …
…wherein the radiation energy data is measured at a plurality of locations of the process chamber (Timans, FIG. 3, [0158], “Top detector 142 is configured to capture a reflected portion 148 (indicated by an arrow) of test radiation 146 reflected by the top surface of wafer 102. Bottom detector 144 is configured to detect a transmitted portion 150 (indicated by an arrow) of test radiation 146 transmitted through wafer 102”);
providing radiation, based on the adjusted radiation setting, to a second substrate that has yet to undergo the doping operation (Timans, FIG. 22, [0318], “incoming wafer metrology step 1004 may measure the optical properties of the incoming wafer,” [0321], “Coated wafer metrology step 1008 may measure the optical properties of the wafer in order to ensure that the absorptivity of the film is as desired for the thermal processing operation,” [0322], “Post-thermal process metrology step 1012 may assess whether the thermal process achieved a desired objective”, and [0318], “the etched wafer is analyzed in an etched wafer metrology step 1016 before being removed from the process flow in a step 1018”);
measuring a dompant concentration level on the second substrate during the doping operation (Timans, FIG. 22, [0318], “incoming wafer metrology step 1004 may measure the optical properties of the incoming wafer”), wherein the measurement data comprises one or more of dopant concentration data and contamination percentage data associated with the substrate; …
… providing radiation to the second substrate based on the other adjustment in the radiation setting (Timans, [0189], “For example, with a scanning laser system, the power delivery to any point on the wafer may be modulated such that the power absorption across the wafer is equalized. The scan speed or the spot size or shape may also be modulated to achieve a desired power absorption distribution across the wafer. Such methods may also be applied in real-time through sensing of the power reflected, scattered or absorbed by the wafer”).
Timans discloses the above but does not explicitly disclose adjustments based on the measured data and thresholds.
…in response to a variance of radiation energy data being above a predetermined threshold, receiving an adjustment in the radiation setting, …
…in response to a difference between a reference dopant concentration level and the measured dopant concentration level being above another predetermined threshold, receiving, by the radiation device, another adjustment in the radiation setting; and …
However, Kuhns, in a similar field of endeavor (Photobiomodulation (PBM) or Low-level light therapy (LLLT) involves the application of laser and light-emitting diode (LED) light to living tissue to create a photobiostimulation effect), discloses:
… in response to a variance of radiation energy data being above a predetermined threshold, receiving an adjustment in the radiation setting (Kuhns, [0019], “wherein the controller adjusts the intensity or duration of the light in response to a thickness.” Examiner notes that Timans [0296] ties thickness and dopant concentration), …
…in response to a difference between a reference dopant concentration level and the measured dopant concentration level being above another predetermined threshold, receiving, by the radiation device, another adjustment in the radiation setting (Kuhns, [0019], “wherein the controller adjusts the intensity or duration of the light in response to a thickness.” Examiner notes that Timans [0296] ties thickness and dopant concentration); and …
It would have been obvious to PHOSITA before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Timans with the adjustments based on the measured data and thresholds of Kuhns. PHOSITA would have known about the uses of adjustments based on the measured data and thresholds as disclosed by Kuhns and how to use them to modify Timans. PHOSITA would have been motivated to do this as a use of known technique to improve similar devices in the same way (See MPEP § 2143 (I)(C)), specifically the use of adjustments based on the measured data and thresholds to better track and maintain proper laser intensity.
The combination of Timans and Kuhns discloses the above but does not explicitly disclose:
… wherein the radiation setting is based on a temperature measurement on a test substrate with a plurality of thermal sensors bonded to a plurality of locations on the test substrate; …
However, Renau, in a similar field of endeavor (annealing of silicon wafers, and more particularly to compensating for anneal non-uniformities), discloses:
… wherein the radiation setting is based on a temperature measurement on a test substrate with a plurality of thermal sensors bonded to a plurality of locations on the test substrate (Renau, [0022], “the temperature variations at the wafer during anneal may be measured directly, e.g., through the use of temperature sensitive coatings on a wafer”); …
It would have been obvious to PHOSITA before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Timans and Kuhns with the bonded thermal sensors of Renau. PHOSITA would have known about the uses of bonded thermal sensors as disclosed by Renau and how to use them to modify the combination of Timans and Kuhns. PHOSITA would have been motivated to do this as a use of known technique to improve similar devices in the same way (See MPEP § 2143 (I)(C)), specifically the use of temperature sensitive coatings to detect variations on the wafer.
Regarding Claim 14, the combination of Timans, Kuhns, and Renau discloses Claim 11, and Timans further discloses:
…wherein receiving the other adjustment in the radiation setting comprises adjusting a resistance (Timans, FIG. 2, [0158], “these sensors may be used to determine the amount of radiation that is produced by the lamps, is reflected from the wafer surface or is transmitted through the wafer. Such information may be useful for adjusting the lamp intensity in order to take into account changes in the lamps as they age or as other processing chamber components change their optical characteristics over time”) of another radiation element, wherein the other radiation element comprises a halogen lamp (Timans, FIG. 2, [0153], “The preheating lamps may be, for example, an array of arc lamps, flashlamps or tungsten-halogen lamps”).
Regarding Claim 15, the combination of Timans, Kuhns, and Renau discloses Claim 11, and Timans further discloses:
…wherein receiving the other adjustment in the radiation setting comprises receiving an instruction to replace (Timans, [0158], “(“Also, these sensors may be used to determine the amount of radiation that is produced by the lamps, is reflected from the wafer surface or is transmitted through the wafer. Such information may be useful for adjusting the lamp intensity in order to take into account changes in the lamps as they age or as other processing chamber components change their optical characteristics over time”) an other radiation element, wherein the other radiation element comprises a halogen lamp or an ultraviolet (UV) light (Timans, [0161], “Excited species may also be created by irradiating gas with high energy photons, such as UV photons or x-rays, or by irradiation with particles such as electrons or ions”).
Regarding Claim 16, the combination of Timans, Kuhns, and Renau discloses Claim 11, and Timans further discloses:
…wherein receiving the adjustment in the tilt angle comprises measuring the radiation energy data with a detection device comprising an optical fiber (Timans, FIG 2, [0167], “Optical arrangement 206 may include lenses, mirrors (both planar and curved), filters, beam splitters, apertures, polarizers, compensators, half-wave or quarter-wave plates, prisms, light pipes, optical fibers, holographic optics, gratings, and other optical components”) and a photodetector (Timans, FIG. 2, [0159] “Top detector 142 and bottom detector 144 may be configured to capture light”).
Regarding Claim 22, the combination of Timans, Kuhns, and Renau discloses Claim 11, and Timans further discloses:
… further comprising providing adjusted radiation to the substrate based on the second setting in substantially real time (Timans, FIG. 22, [0318], “incoming wafer metrology step 1004 may measure the optical properties of the incoming wafer,” [0321], “Coated wafer metrology step 1008 may measure the optical properties of the wafer in order to ensure that the absorptivity of the film is as desired for the thermal processing operation,” [0322], “Post-thermal process metrology step 1012 may assess whether the thermal process achieved a desired objective”, and [0318], “the etched wafer is analyzed in an etched wafer metrology step 1016 before being removed from the process flow in a step 1018”).
Claims 12 and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Timans (US20060228897A1), in view of Kuhns (US20200253813Al), and in further view of Stecker (US20210402481A1).
Regarding Claim 12, the combination of Timans and Kuhns discloses Claim 11, and Timans further discloses:
… wherein receiving the adjustment in the tilt angle comprises adjusting the tilt angle of the radiation element using an adjustment device (Timans, FIG. 3, [0169], “its position, in a manner that keeps the heating conditions at the wafer surface in a specified range. Controller 230 is connected with various components”) … wherein the radiation element comprises a halogen lamp (Timans, FIG. 2, [0153], “The preheating lamps may be, for example, an array of arc lamps, flashlamps or tungsten-halogen lamps”).
The combination of Timans and Kuhns discloses the above but does not explicitly disclose:
… an adjustment device comprising a spring, a lever, and a stepper motor, …
However, Stecker, in a similar field of endeavor (additive manufacturing or solid freeform fabrication of articles using an energy emission device and specifically an electron beam energy and a system with a plurality of feed wires and/or using multiple different raster patterns), discloses:
… an adjustment device comprising a spring, a lever, and a stepper motor (Stecker, [0047], discussing the structural attachments. More specifically, “The structural attachment or positioning mechanism may be adjustable. For example, the structural attachment or positioning mechanism may include one or more attachment features (e.g., fasteners or the like) that allow it to be secured in a fixed position and loosened or otherwise released for adjustment or re positioning,” “The positioning mechanism may be connected to or part of an articulating arm,” and “The one or more attachment features may include or be connected to one or more motors. The emission device may be configured for orientating the position of the energy beam relative to the work piece and/or work piece support”), …
It would have been obvious to PHOSITA before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Timans and Kuhns with the spring, lever, and stepper motor of Stecker. PHOSITA would have known about the uses of springs, levers, and stepper motors as disclosed by Kuhns and how to use them to modify the combination of Timans and Kuhns. PHOSITA would have been motivated to do this as a use of known technique to improve similar devices in the same way (See MPEP § 2143 (I)(C)), specifically the use of springs, levers, and stepper motors as means to make tilt adjustments.
Regarding Claim 17, Timans discloses:
A system, comprising:
a computing device (Timans, FIG. 3, [0169], controller 230) configured to generate first, second, and third radiation settings (Timans, [0189], “For example, with a scanning laser system, the power delivery to any point on the wafer may be modulated such that the power absorption across the wafer is equalized. The scan speed or the spot size or shape may also be modulated to achieve a desired power absorption distribution across the wafer. Such methods may also be applied in real-time through sensing of the power reflected, scattered or absorbed by the wafer”);
a radiation device (Timans, FIG. 3, [0166], laser 202) comprising one or more radiation elements (Timans, FIG. 2, [0153], “The preheating lamps may be, for example, an array of arc lamps, flashlamps or tungsten-halogen lamps”) and a process chamber (Timans, FIG.3, [0167], “wafer 102 is contained in process chamber 106 while laser 202 and optical arrangement 206 are separated from the process chamber by top window 124”), the radiation device configured to:
receive the first and second radiation settings (Timans, FIG. 3, [0158], “Top detector 142 is configured to capture a reflected portion 148 (indicated by an arrow) of test radiation 146 reflected by the top surface of wafer 102”); and
provide radiation, based on the first, second, and third radiation settings, to a substrate undergoing a doping operation (Timans, FIGS. 29-31, “Source and drain regions 1202 and 1204, respectively, may be formed, for instance, by a doping process such as ion-implantation”) in the process chamber (Timans, [0189], “For example, with a scanning laser system, the power delivery to any point on the wafer may be modulated such that the power absorption across the wafer is equalized. The scan speed or the spot size or shape may also be modulated to achieve a desired power absorption distribution across the wafer. Such methods may also be applied in real-time through sensing of the power reflected, scattered or absorbed by the wafer”);
a detection device configured to measure radiation energy data (Timans, FIG. 3, [0158], “Top detector 142 is configured to capture a reflected portion 148 (indicated by an arrow) of test radiation 146 reflected by the top surface of wafer 102”) at a plurality of locations of the process chamber, wherein the second radiation setting is based on a variance of the radiation energy data being above a predetermined threshold (Timans, FIG. 3, [0158], “Top detector 142 is configured to capture a reflected portion 148 (indicated by an arrow) of test radiation 146 reflected by the top surface of wafer 102. Bottom detector 144 is configured to detect a transmitted portion 150 (indicated by an arrow) of test radiation 146 transmitted through wafer 102”);
a measurement device configured to measure a dopant concentration level on the substrate (Timans, FIG. 2, [0158], “The processing apparatus of FIG. 2 may also include sensors for measuring the reflectance, transmittance and light scattering qualities of the wafer at one or more wavelengths of interest so as to determine certain characteristics of the wafer during processing. For example, the emissivity of the wafer at a pyrometer wavelength may be deduced from these measurements”), …
…the adjustment device configured to adjust a tilt angle of the one or more radiation elements based on the second radiation setting (Timans, FIG. 3, [0169], “In this case, information regarding the wafer height and/or tilt may be fed back to a controller 230 that adjusts the optics of the laser beam, or its position, in a manner that keeps the heating conditions at the wafer surface in a specified range”).
Timans discloses the above but does not explicitly disclose:
…wherein the third radiation setting is based on a difference between a reference dopant concentration level and the measured data being above another predetermined threshold; and …
However, Kuhns, in a similar field of endeavor (Photobiomodulation (PBM) or Low-level light therapy (LLLT) involves the application of laser and light-emitting diode (LED) light to living tissue to create a photobiostimulation effect), discloses:
… wherein the third radiation setting is based on a difference between a reference dopant concentration level and the measured data being above another predetermined threshold (Kuhns, [0019], “wherein the controller adjusts the intensity or duration of the light in response to a thickness.” Examiner notes that Timans [0296] ties thickness and dopant concentration); and …
It would have been obvious to PHOSITA before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Timans with the adjustments based on the measured data and thresholds of Kuhns. PHOSITA would have known about the uses of adjustments based on the measured data and thresholds as disclosed by Kuhns and how to use them to modify Timans. PHOSITA would have been motivated to do this as a use of known technique to improve similar devices in the same way (See MPEP § 2143 (I)(C)), specifically the use of adjustments based on the measured data and thresholds to better track and maintain proper laser intensity.
The combination of Timans and Kuhns discloses the above but does not explicitly disclose:
…an adjustment device comprising a spring, a lever, and a stepper motor, …
However, Stecker, in a similar field of endeavor (additive manufacturing or solid freeform fabrication of articles using an energy emission device and specifically an electron beam energy and a system with a plurality of feed wires and/or using multiple different raster patterns), discloses:
…an adjustment device comprising a spring, a lever, and a stepper motor (Stecker, [0047], discussing the structural attachments. More specifically, “The structural attachment or positioning mechanism may be adjustable. For example, the structural attachment or positioning mechanism may include one or more attachment features (e.g., fasteners or the like) that allow it to be secured in a fixed position and loosened or otherwise released for adjustment or re positioning,” “The positioning mechanism may be connected to or part of an articulating arm,” and “The one or more attachment features may include or be connected to one or more motors. The emission device may be configured for orientating the position of the energy beam relative to the work piece and/or work piece support”), …
It would have been obvious to PHOSITA before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Timans and Kuhns with the spring, lever, and stepper motor of Stecker. PHOSITA would have known about the uses of springs, levers, and stepper motors as disclosed by Kuhns and how to use them to modify the combination of Timans and Kuhns. PHOSITA would have been motivated to do this as a use of known technique to improve similar devices in the same way (See MPEP § 2143 (I)(C)), specifically the use of springs, levers, and stepper motors as means to make tilt adjustments.
Regarding Claim 18, the combination of Timans, Kuhns, and Stecker discloses Claim 17, and Timans further discloses:
… wherein the measurement device is configured to measure the dopant concentration level on the substrate after the substrate completes the doping operation (Timans, FIG. 22, [0318], “incoming wafer metrology step 1004 may measure the optical properties of the incoming wafer,” [0321], “Coated wafer metrology step 1008 may measure the optical properties of the wafer in order to ensure that the absorptivity of the film is as desired for the thermal processing operation,” [0322], “Post-thermal process metrology step 1012 may assess whether the thermal process achieved a desired objective”, and [0318], “the etched wafer is analyzed in an etched wafer metrology step 1016 before being removed from the process flow in a step 1018”).
Regarding Claim 19, the combination of Timans, Kuhns, and Stecker discloses Claim 17, and Timans further discloses:
… wherein the detection device comprises an optical fiber (Timans, FIG 2, [0167], “Optical arrangement 206 may include lenses, mirrors (both planar and curved), filters, beam splitters, apertures, polarizers, compensators, half-wave or quarter-wave plates, prisms, light pipes, optical fibers, holographic optics, gratings, and other optical components”) and a photodetector (Timans, FIG. 2, [0159] “Top detector 142 and bottom detector 144 may be configured to capture light”), and wherein the radiation device further comprises a cooling module that protects the detection device from overheating (Timans, FIG. 3, [0167], “Optical arrangement 206 may includef,or instance, a cooling fluid circulating around the optical elements contained therein to keep them clean and cool”).
Regarding Claim 20, the combination of Timans, Kuhns, and Stecker discloses Claim 17, and Timans further discloses:
… wherein the one or more radiation elements comprise a halogen lamp (Timans, FIG. 2, [0153], “The preheating lamps may be, for example, an array of arc lamps, flashlamps or tungsten-halogen lamps”).
Conclusion
/CHAD ANDREW REVERMAN/Examiner, Art Unit 2877
/Kara E. Geisel/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2877