DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claims 1, 3-17, 19 and 20 are currently pending.
Response to Amendment
The amendments to the claims filed June 6, 2025 have been entered. Applicant’s amendments to the claims have failed to overcome each and every rejection set forth in the Office Action of April 8, 2025.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed June 6, 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues on page 8 that the second bonding pad in the present invention -- namely, its expanded surface area and dual-stud configuration -- is not disclosed or suggested in the prior art and plays a critical role in enabling effective electrical interconnection in dense packaging environments. This argument is not persuasive because, as explained in the rejection of claims below, Applicant’s claimed configuration is clearly suggested by the previously cited prior art. For example, the previously cited Chen reference explicitly teaches the advantages of a pad with adequate surface area for accommodating two bonding wires at the same time, i.e., the dual-stud configuration; Chen teaches that this surface area is approximately twice as large as that of a bond pad with only a single bonding wire attached (Chen, [0018]). Furthermore, Chen teaches that this configuration solves the problem of adjacent bonding wires shorting one another in a dense fine pitch integrated circuit layout environment (see Chen, [0004]).
Applicant argues on pages 7-8 that pad 160 in Yang cannot be reasonably construed as including two physically separated studs capable of supporting two independent bonding wires as required by the present claim. This argument is not persuasive because one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). As explained in the previous Office Action, and again in the rejection of claims below, the claims are unpatentable over the combination of references, not any one reference individually.
In response to Applicant’s argument on page 8 that the dependent claims are patentably distinct over the prior art, and are also allowable based at least on their dependency from the independent claims 1 and 15, as amended, see the rejections of the claims below.
Claim Objections
Claim 6, and claims 7-14 and 19-20 dependent therefrom, are objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 6 recites the limitation "a first bonding finger", however this limitation was introduced in claim 1, from which claim 6 depends. This objection can be overcome by amending claim 6 to recite “the first bonding finger”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 6 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen, US 2011/0084374 A1 (hereinafter Chen) in view of Yang, US 2021/0098413 A1 (hereinafter Yang).
Regarding claim 1, as amended, Chen teaches: A method of manufacturing a window ball grid array (WBGA) package (Chen, FIG. 2B, “package shown in FIG. 2A and FIG. 2B is also known as window BGA or wBGA package,” [0021]), comprising: providing a carrier (Chen, FIG. 2B, carrier substrate 10) having a first surface (Chen, FIG. 2B, lower surface of carrier substrate 10) and a second surface opposite to the first surface of the carrier (Chen, FIG. 2B, upper surface of carrier substrate 10), wherein the carrier has a through hole extending between the first surface and the second surface of the carrier (Chen, FIGs. 2A, 2B, slot 10a, [0021]); disposing an electronic component on the second surface of the carrier (Chen, FIG. 2B, lower die 200b, [0022]), wherein the electronic component includes a first bonding pad (Chen, FIG. 2B, bonding pad 222a, [0022]) and a second bonding pad (Chen, FIG. 2B, bond pad 222b, [0022]) disposed in the through hole (Chen, see FIG. 2B),
Chen does not explicitly teach: wherein a surface area of the second bonding pad is greater than a surface area of the first bonding pad, and wherein the second bonding pad includes a first stud and a second stud, which are positioned within the surface area of the second bonding pad and separated apart from each other; electrically connecting the first bonding pad and the first stud of the second bonding pad through a first bonding wire; and electrically connecting the second stud of the second bonding pad and a first bonding finger on the first surface of the carrier through a second bonding wire.
However, in describing the fabrication process, Chen teaches that “each of the dummy bond pads 112 a-112 d and 114 a-114 d [analogous to the second bonding pad] has an adequate surface area for accommodating and bonding two bonding wires [i.e., a first stud and a second stud] at the same time,” the surface area of the bond pads with two wires is described as being approximately twice that of the bond pads with only a single wire, (Chen, [0018]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to arrive at Applicant’s claimed wherein a surface area of the second bonding pad is greater than a surface area of the first bonding pad because, as expressly recognized by Chen, doing so provides for adequate surface area for accommodating two wires simultaneously.
Additionally, Yang, in the same field of endeavor, teaches: electrically connecting the first bonding pad and the second bonding pad through a first bonding wire (Yang, FIGs. 1 and 2 show conductive wire 150 [a first bonding wire] connecting first pad 130 [the first bonding pad] and third pad 160 [the second bonding pad]); and electrically connecting the second stud of the second bonding pad (Yang, FIG. 2, analogous to third pad 160 with stud formed by wire bonding process) and a first bonding finger on the first surface of the carrier (Yang, FIG. 2, second pad 140 is analogous to a first bonding finger on the first surface of the carrier; Chen, FIG. 2B, bond finger 212) through a second bonding wire (Yang, FIG. 2, portion of bonding wire between third pad 160 [the second bonding pad] and second pad 140 [the first bonding finger]). Yang teaches that an advantage of connecting the bonding wire to a dummy pad [i.e., the second bonding pad] would be to improve device reliability by reducing wire-to-wire shorts, “since the conductive wire of the printed circuit board structure has a portion located on the third pad [the second bonding pad] instead of floating above the semiconductor chip, the conductive wire crossing problem and the wire-to-wire short can be solved,” (Yang, [0021]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the window ball grid array package as taught by Chen with the bonding wire routing method as taught by Yang, arriving at Applicant’s claimed invention with predictable results and without undue experimentation. The motivation for doing so would be, as expressly recognized by Yang, to reduce crossed bonding wires, thereby improving device reliability.
Although Chen and Yang are silent regarding: wherein the second bonding pad includes a first stud and a second stud, which are positioned within the surface area of the second bonding pad and separated apart from each other; electrically connecting the first bonding pad and the first stud of the second bonding pad through a first bonding wire, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to electrically connect the first bonding pad and the first stud of the second bonding pad through a first bonding wire because such a person would have pursued the known options within their technical grasp, including the use of a wire bonder tool, which would have resulted in Applicant’s claimed structural arrangement wherein the first and second studs each result from the ball being bonded to the pad through ordinary use of the wire bonder tool when making the electrical connection.
Regarding claim 6, Chen in view of Yang teaches: The method of claim 1, wherein the carrier (Chen, FIG. 2B, carrier substrate 10) comprises a first bonding finger on the first surface of the carrier (Chen, FIG. 2B, bond fingers 214) and a second bonding finger on the first surface of the carrier (Chen, FIG. 2B, bond fingers 212), and the first bonding pad (Chen, FIG. 2B, bonding pad 222a, [0022]) is closer to the first bonding finger than to the second bonding finger (Chen, see FIG. 2B).
Regarding claim 8, Chen in view of Yang teaches: The method of claim 6, wherein the first bonding finger (Chen, FIG. 2B, bond fingers 214) and the second bonding finger (Chen, FIG. 2B, bond fingers 212) are separated by the through hole (Chen, see FIG. 2B).
Claims 3-5, 7, and 9-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen in view of Yang, and further in view of Cheng et al., US 2010/0051341 A1 (hereinafter Cheng).
Regarding claim 3, Chen in view of Yang teaches every element of claim 1 but is silent regarding: electrically connecting the second stud of the first bonding finger to a power node or a grounding node.
However, Cheng, in the same field of endeavor, teaches that it was known in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to electrically connect a bonding finger to a power/ground plane [a power node or a grounding node] in order to provide power/ground to a semiconductor die mounted on a circuit substrate [a carrier] (Cheng, FIG. 2, “The power/ground ball pads 25 are disposed on the power/ground planes 22, and the power/ground planes 22 are electrically connected to the other fingers 23 by the other conductive traces 26. The fingers 23 are electrically connected to a chip (not shown),” [0014]). As discussed above, regarding claim 1, the second stud of the first bonding finger is a result of the wire bonding process.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Chen in view of Yang with the teachings of Cheng, arriving at Applicant’s claimed invention with predictable results and without undue experimentation. The motivation for doing so would be, as expressly recognized by Cheng, to provide an electrical connection between the chip [the electronic component] and the power/ground planes [the power node or the grounding node] thereby supplying the chip with power necessary to function.
Regarding claim 4, Chen in view of Yang and further in view of Cheng teaches: The method of claim 3, further comprising: encapsulating the first bonding wire and the second bonding wire (the first bonding wire, resulting from the combination of Chen in view of Yang, would be located on the lower surface of lower die 200b [the electronic component] shown in Chen, FIG. 2B; the second bonding wire is shown in Chen, FIG. 2B, bonding wire 232) by a first package body (Chen, FIG. 2B, the portion of molding compound 30 below the upper surface of carrier substrate 10 is analogous to the first package body, [0022]).
Regarding claim 5, Chen in view of Yang and further in view of Cheng teaches: The method of claim 4, further comprising: encapsulating the electronic component by a second package body (Chen, FIG. 2B, lower die 200b [the electronic component] shown encapsulated by portion of molding compound 30 above top surface of carrier substrate 10 [the second package body], [0020]).
Regarding claim 7, Chen in view of Yang teaches every element of claim 7 except: wherein the second bonding finger is electrically connected to a node and the first bonding finger is disconnected from the node, and the node comprises a power node or a grounding node.
However, Cheng, in the same field of endeavor, teaches that it was known in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to electrically connect a bonding finger to a power/ground plane [a node] in order to provide power/ground to a semiconductor die mounted on a circuit substrate [a carrier] (Cheng, FIG. 2, “The power/ground ball pads 25 are disposed on the power/ground planes 22, and the power/ground planes 22 are electrically connected to the other fingers 23 by the other conductive traces 26. The fingers 23 are electrically connected to a chip (not shown),” [0014]). Cheng teaches that other fingers are electrically connected to I/O ball pads and are not connected to the power/ground planes [disconnected from the node] (Cheng, FIG. 2, [0014]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Chen in view of Yang with the teachings of Cheng, arriving at Applicant’s claimed invention with predictable results and without undue experimentation. The motivation for doing so would be, as expressly recognized by Cheng, to provide an electrical connection between the chip [the electronic component] and the power/ground planes [the node] thereby supplying the chip with power necessary to function, while also providing an electrical connection between the chip and the I/O ball pads on the carrier via the bonding finger disconnected from the node.
Regarding claim 9, Chen in view of Yang and further in view of Cheng teaches: The method of claim 6, further comprising: forming a third bonding finger adjacent to the first bonding finger; and forming a fourth bonding finger adjacent to the first bonding finger (Cheng, FIG. 2 shows multiple fingers 13 disposed at periphery of window 21 and adjacent to one another, [0013]) and electrically connected with the third bonding finger (Cheng, FIG. 2, “The I/O ball pads 24 are electrically connected to some of the fingers 23 by some of the conductive traces 26. The power/ground ball pads 25 are disposed on the power/ground planes 22, and the power/ground planes 22 are electrically connected to the other fingers 23 by the other conductive traces 26,” [0014]); wherein the first bonding finger is at least partially surrounded by a conductive line connected between the third bonding finger and the fourth bonding finger. Cheng teaches that the fingers are electrically connected to either power/ground pads or I/O pads via conductive traces on the carrier, as necessary for device functionality, and current path 27 [a conductive line] is shown at least partially surrounding multiple fingers 23. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to arrange the bonding fingers and conductive lines using known methods, as taught by Chen in view of Yang and further in view of Cheng, arriving at Applicant’s claimed invention with predictable results and without undue experimentation.
Regarding claim 10, Chen in view of Yang and further in view of Cheng teaches: The method of claim 6, further comprising: forming a second bonding wire electrically connected between the second bonding pad (Chen, FIG. 2B, bond pad 222b, [0022]) and the second bonding finger (Chen, FIG. 2B, bond fingers 212). As discussed above, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to arrange the bonding pads, bonding fingers, and bonding wires using known methods to optimize circuit layout while reducing wire-to-wire shorts, as taught by Chen in view of Yang and further in view of Cheng, arriving at Applicant’s claimed invention with predictable results and without undue experimentation.
Regarding claim 11, Chen in view of Yang and further in view of Cheng teaches: The method of claim 10, wherein the second bonding wire extends through the through hole (the first bonding wire, resulting from the combination of Chen in view of Yang, and further in view of Cheng, would be located on the lower surface of lower die 200b [the electronic component] shown in Chen, FIG. 2B; the second bonding wire is shown in Chen, FIG. 2B, bonding wire 232 extending through the through hole), and the first bonding wire and the second bonding wire extend from the second bonding pad in opposite direction (Yang, FIG. 2, the first bonding wire is analogous to the portion of conductive wire 150 extending from the third pad 160 [the second bonding pad] to first pad 130; the second bonding wire is analogous to the portion of conductive wire 150 extending in the opposite direction from the third pad 160 [the second bonding pad]).
Regarding claim 12, Chen in view of Yang and further in view of Cheng teaches: The method of claim 10, wherein the first bonding wire and the second bonding wire (the first bonding wire, resulting from the combination of Chen in view of Yang, would be located on the lower surface of lower die 200b [the electronic component] shown in Chen, FIG. 2B; the second bonding wire is shown in Chen, FIG. 2B, bonding wire 232) are encapsulated by a first package body (Chen, FIG. 2B, the portion of molding compound 30 below the upper surface of carrier substrate 10 is analogous to the first package body, [0022]).
Regarding claim 13, Chen in view of Yang and further in view of Cheng teaches: The method of claim 12, wherein the first bonding pad and the second bonding pad are partially surrounded by the first package body (Chen, FIG. 2B shows the portion of molding compound 30 below the upper surface of carrier substrate 10 [the first package body] surrounding lower surfaces of bonding pads but not upper surfaces [i.e., partially surrounding], [0022]).
Regarding claim 14, Chen in view of Yang and further in view of Cheng teaches: The method of claim 12, wherein the first bonding pad and the second bonding pad are partially surrounded by a second package body (Chen, FIG. 2B shows the portion of molding compound 30 above top surface of carrier substrate 10 [the second package body] above upper surfaces of bonding pads but not below [i.e., partially surrounding], [0022]).
Claims 15-17 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen in view of Cheng and further in view of Yang.
Regarding claim 15, as amended, Chen teaches: A method for manufacturing a window ball grid array (WBGA) package (Chen, FIG. 2B, “package shown in FIG. 2A and FIG. 2B is also known as window BGA or wBGA package,” [0021]), comprising: providing a carrier (Chen, 2B, carrier substrate 10) having a first surface (Chen, FIG. 2B, lower surface of carrier substrate 10) and a second surface opposite to the first surface of the carrier (Chen, FIG. 2B, upper surface of carrier substrate 10), wherein the carrier has a through hole (Chen, FIGs. 2A, 2B, slot 10a, [0021]) filled with a first package body (Chen, FIG. 2B, the portion of molding compound 30 shown filling slot 10a [the through hole] below the upper surface of carrier substrate 10 is analogous to the first package body, [0022]) and extending between the first surface and the second surface of the carrier (Chen, see FIG. 2B); and disposing an electronic component on the second surface of the carrier (Chen, FIG. 2B, lower die 200b, [0022]); wherein the electronic component includes a first bonding pad (Chen, FIG. 2B, bond pad 222a, [0022]) and a second bonding pad (Chen, FIG. 2B, bond pad 222b, [0022]) disposed in the through hole and encapsulated by the first package body (Chen, see FIG. 2B),
Chen does not explicitly teach: wherein a surface area of the second bonding pad is greater than a surface area of the first bonding pad, and wherein the second bonding pad includes a first stud and a second stud, which are positioned within the surface area of the second bonding pad and separated apart from each other, the first bonding pad, the first stud and the second stud of the second bonding pad are electrically connected with a node; wherein the first stud of the second bonding pad is electrically connected with a first bonding wire, the second stud of the second bonding pad is electrically connected with a second bonding wire.
However, in describing the fabrication process, Chen teaches that “each of the dummy bond pads 112 a-112 d and 114 a-114 d [analogous to the second bonding pad] has an adequate surface area for accommodating and bonding two bonding wires [i.e., a first stud and a second stud] at the same time,” the surface area of the bond pads with two wires is described as being approximately twice that of the bond pads with only a single wire, (Chen, [0018]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to arrive at Applicant’s claimed wherein a surface area of the second bonding pad is greater than a surface area of the first bonding pad because, as expressly recognized by Chen, doing so provides for adequate surface area for accommodating two wires simultaneously.
Additionally, Cheng, in the same field of endeavor, teaches that it was known in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to electrically connect a bonding pad on a chip to a power/ground plane [a power node or a grounding node] in order to provide power/ground to a semiconductor die mounted on a circuit substrate [a carrier] (Cheng, FIG. 2, “The power/ground ball pads 25 are disposed on the power/ground planes 22, and the power/ground planes 22 are electrically connected to the other fingers 23 by the other conductive traces 26. The fingers 23 are electrically connected to a chip (not shown),” [0014]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Chen with the teachings of Cheng, arriving at Applicant’s claimed the first bonding pad, the first stud and the second stud of the second bonding pad are electrically connected with a node with predictable results and without undue experimentation. The motivation for doing so would be, as expressly recognized by Cheng, to provide an electrical connection between the chip [the electronic component] and the power/ground planes [the power node or the grounding node] thereby supplying the chip with power necessary to function.
Although Chen in view of Cheng is silent regarding: wherein the second bonding pad includes a first stud and a second stud, which are positioned within the surface area of the second bonding pad and separated apart from each other, the first bonding pad, the first stud and the second stud of the second bonding pad are electrically connected, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to electrically connect the first bonding pad, the first stud and the second stud of the second bonding pad through bonding wire because such a person would have pursued the known options within their technical grasp, including the use of a wire bonder tool, which would have resulted in Applicant’s claimed structural arrangement wherein the first and second studs each result from the ball being bonded to the pad through ordinary use of the wire bonder tool when making the electrical connection.
Chen in view of Cheng is silent regarding: wherein the first stud of the second bonding pad is electrically connected with a first bonding wire, the second stud of the second bonding pad is electrically connected with a second bonding wire.
However, Yang, in the same field of endeavor, teaches: wherein the second bonding pad (Yang, FIG. 2, third pad 160, [0021]) is electrically connected with a first bonding wire (Yang, FIG. 2 shows third pad 160 [the second bonding pad] is electrically connected with portion of conductive wire 150 between third pad 160 [the second bonding pad] and first pad 130) and a second bonding wire (Yang, FIG. 2, portion of bonding wire between third pad 160 [the second bonding pad] and second pad 140).
Yang teaches that an advantage of connecting the bonding wire to a dummy pad [i.e., the second bonding pad] would be to improve device reliability by reducing wire-to-wire shorts, “since the conductive wire of the printed circuit board structure has a portion located on the third pad [the second bonding pad] instead of floating above the semiconductor chip, the conductive wire crossing problem and the wire-to-wire short can be solved,” (Yang, [0021]).
Although Chen, Cheng, and Yang are each silent regarding the first and second studs of the second bonding pad, as discussed above, the first and second studs of the second bonding pad result from the ball being bonded to the pad through ordinary use of the wire bonder tool.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Chen in view of Cheng with the bonding wire routing method as taught by Yang, arriving at Applicant’s claimed wherein the first stud of the second bonding pad is electrically connected with a first bonding wire, the second stud of the second bonding pad is electrically connected with a second bonding wire with predictable results and without undue experimentation. The motivation for doing so would be, as expressly recognized by Yang, to reduce crossed bonding wires, thereby improving device reliability.
Regarding claim 16, Chen in view of Cheng and further in view of Yang teaches: The method of claim 15, wherein the first bonding pad (Chen, FIG. 2B, bond pad 222a, [0022]) and the second bonding pad (Chen, FIG. 2B, bond pad 222b, [0022]) are symmetrically arranged on an active surface of the electronic component (Chen, see FIG. 2B, “bond pads 222a [the first bonding pad] and 222b [the second bonding pad] are provided at the center of the active bonding surface [an active surface] of the lower die 200b,” [0022]), and the node comprises a power node or a grounding node (Cheng, FIG. 2, power/ground planes 22, [0014]).
Regarding claim 17, Chen in view of Cheng and further in view of Yang teaches: The method of claim 15, wherein the first bonding pad and the second bonding pad are electrically connected with a bonding finger on the first surface of the carrier (Chen, FIG. 2B shows bond pad 222a [the first bonding pad] and bond pad 222b [the second bonding pad] electrically connected via bonding wires to corresponding bond fingers 212 and 214 on lower surface [first surface] of carrier substrate 10), and the bonding finger is electrically connected to the node by a conductive line of the carrier (Cheng, FIG. 2, current path 27 is analogous to a conductive line, [0016]).
Regarding claim 19, Chen in view of Cheng and further in view of Yang teaches: The method of claim 15, wherein the first bonding wire locates between the first surface and the second surface of the carrier (Chen, FIG. 2B shows bonding wires 232 and 234 located between the first surface [lower surface] and the second surface [upper surface] of the carrier substrate 10, [0022]).
Regarding claim 20, Chen in view of Cheng and further in view of Yang teaches: The method of claim 19, wherein the second bonding wire extends through the through hole (the first bonding wire, resulting from the combination of Chen in view of Cheng, and further in view of Yang, would be located on the lower surface of lower die 200b [the electronic component] shown in Chen, FIG. 2B; the second bonding wire is shown in Chen, FIG. 2B, bonding wire 232 extending through the through hole), and the first bonding wire and the second bonding wire extend respectively from the first stud and the second stud of the second bonding pad in opposite directions (Yang, FIG. 2, the first bonding wire is analogous to the portion of conductive wire 150 extending from the stud formed by wire bonding process on the third pad 160 [the first stud of the second bonding pad] to first pad 130; the second bonding wire is analogous to the portion of conductive wire 150 extending in the opposite direction from the stud formed by wire bonding process on the third pad 160 [the second stud of the second bonding pad]). As discussed above regarding claim 15, the first and second studs each result from the ball being bonded to the pad through ordinary use of the wire bonder tool when making the electrical connection.
Conclusion
/D.L.N./Examiner, Art Unit 2899
/Brent A. Fairbanks/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2899