DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 10, 11, 12, 16, 17, and 18 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 2, 3, 4, 5, 5, 5, 12, 13, 14, 17, 19, and 18, respectively of U.S. Patent No. 12,094,681 B2 in view of US 2008/0179545 A1 [Perel]. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other. The patented claims fail to teach a second valve in communication with a second gas chamber, or that one of the gas sources might be a halogen gas source. However, the prior art is replete with secondary gas sources and valves attached to ionization chambers, see e.g., Perel Fig. 3b. Further, Perel teaches placing a halogen gas in at least one of said gas chambers. Paras 40, 44. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective time of filing to add the additional gas sources/ valves of Perel to the patent, since this would allow one to control the mixture of gas in the ionization chamber. Furhter, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to make one of the gases of the patent a halogen, since Perel teaches that it is a known dopant gas with recognized benefits in terms of ion source performance and lifetime.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2020/0090916 A1 [Patel].
Regarding Claim 16:
Patel teaches an indirectly heated cathode ion source, comprising:
an arc chamber, comprising a plurality of walls and adapted to contain a solid target (Fig. 1a (101));
an indirectly heated cathode disposed in the arc chamber, wherein the indirectly heated cathode is used to generate a plasma in the arc chamber (Fig. 1a (110));
an insertable target holder to hold a solid dopant material, wherein the solid dopant material is a metal (Fig. 1a (195), paras 32-33);
an actuator to move the target holder from an extended position within the arc chamber to a retracted position outside the arc chamber (Fig. 1a (200));
and
a controller configured to operate the indirectly heated cathode ion source in one of a plurality of modes (Fig. 1a (200)), wherein in a single charge mode, the controller configures the indirectly heated cathode ion source to use a first source of metal in a generation of a plasma, and in a multicharge mode, a second source of metal is used in the generation of a plasma (para 74- the indirectly heated cathode is operable to produce either single charge or a multi-charge ions. Further, paras 75-76 speak to changing metal sources of plasma. As such, Patal shows that the IHC is operatble to produce single or multi-charged ions with a number of metals.).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2020/0090916 A1 [Patel] in view of US 2008/0179545 A1 [Perel].
Regarding Claim 1:
Patel teaches an indirectly heated cathode ion source, comprising:
an arc chamber, comprising a plurality of walls (Fig. 1a (101));
an indirectly heated cathode disposed in the arc chamber (Fig. 1a (110), as described in para 23);
an insertable target holder to hold a solid dopant material (Fig. 1a (195), paras 32-33);
an actuator to move the target holder from an extended position within the arc chamber to a retracted position outside the arc chamber (Figs. 1a, 2 (200));
a first gas source (Fig. 7 (710));
a second gas source (Fig. 7 (750)); and
a controller (Fig. 1a (180) in communication with the actuator (as is evident in operation of Fig. 7), the introduction of the gases so as to operate the indirectly heated cathode ion source in one of a plurality of modes, wherein the plurality of modes comprises a single charge mode to create ions of a species having a single charge and a multicharge mode to create ions of the species having two or more charges (as described in paras 73-74).
However, Patel fails to teach using valves in communication with the arc chamber with each of the gas sources. Perel teaches an ion source (abstract) with a controller (Fig. 3b (250)) using valves to flow different gases into an arc chamber (Fig. 3b (266, 268, 270)). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the multiple valve arrangement of Perel to control the flow of the gases from the gas source of Patel. One would have been motivated to do so since valves are a well understood and easily implemented technique for controlling the ingress of gases.
Regarding Claim 3:
The above modified invention teaches the indirectly heated cathode ion source of claim 1, wherein the species comprises a metal. Patel para 33.
Regarding Claim 7:
The above modified invention teaches the indirectly heated cathode ion source of claim 1, wherein the first gas source contains a halogen containing species. Patel para 61.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8, 9, 13, 14, 15, 19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
WYATT STOFFA
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2881
/WYATT A STOFFA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2881