DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
3. This action is in response to Applicant’s Request for Reconsideration dated 12/18/2025.
4. Claims 1-2, 6-12, and 15-18 are currently pending.
5. Claims 1, 7-12, and 15-16 have been amended.
6. Claims 3-5 and 13-14 have been cancelled.
7. Claim 18 has been added.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
9. Claim(s) 1-2, 6-12, 15, and 17-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hirose et al (US 2004/0149214) in view of Sun et al (US 2010/0119843), Kim et al (US 2014/0090783), and Kim et al (US 2008/0054194).
Regarding claim 1:
Hirose teaches a plasma processing apparatus (vacuum processing apparatus) [fig 6 & 0051] comprising: a plasma processing chamber (processing chamber, 41) whose wall has a structure (deposit shield, 50) [fig 6-7 & 0056]; a loading/unloading port (carrier port, 47) disposed on the wall of the plasma processing chamber (41) to load/unload a substrate (46) into/from the plasma processing chamber (41) [fig 6 & 0054]; and a substrate support (stage, 45) disposed in the plasma processing chamber (41) fig 6 & 0053].
Hirose does not specifically teach the structure being a multi-layer structure; wherein the multi-layer structure includes a plasma resistant layer, a second layer, a third layer, and an anodic oxide film in that order from inside to outside of the plasma processing chamber.
Sun teaches a multi-layer structure (413/integral surface coating) [fig 4A & 0030, 0040]; wherein the multi-layer structure includes a plasma resistant layer (plasma resistant coating, 315), a second layer (first intermediate layer of 412), a third layer (second intermediate layer of 412), and an anodic oxide film (integral surface coating aluminum oxide formed by anodizing the substrate) in that order from inside to outside of the plasma processing chamber (see fig 4A) [fig 4A & 0030, 0040].
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date to modify the structure of Hirose (wall) to be a multi-layer structure, as in Sun, to allow for an intermediate layer(s) to provide one or more advantageous characteristics (e.g., high conductivity, high resistance, UV protection, etc.) while also providing for plasma resistance [Kim – 0040].
Hirose modified by Sun does not specifically disclose the second layer being made of a material having a permeability higher than a permeability of aluminum.
Kim’783 teaches a layer (710) made of a material having a permeability higher than a permeability of aluminum (formed of a material including any one of permalloy, Mu-metal, and iron) [fig 1 & 0058].
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date to modify the second layer (i.e. the first intermediate layer of 412 in Sun) of modified Hirose to be made of a material having a permeability higher than a permeability of aluminum, as in Kim’783, to shield the electromagnetic field from moving to the outside through a side surface of the plasma processing chamber [Kim’783 – 0073].
Hirose modified by Sun and Kim’783 does not specifically disclose the third layer being a layer made of an aluminum-containing material.
Kim’194 teaches an intermediate layer being a layer made of an aluminum-containing material (liner 142a may be formed from aluminum) [fig 3 & 0048].
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date to modify the third layer (i.e. the second intermediate layer of 412 in Sun) of modified Hirose to be made of an aluminum-containing material, as in Kim’194, because an aluminum intermediate layer in combination with a plasma resistant layer is effective to prevent etching in the presence of one or more fluorine gases [Kim’ 194 – 0047-0048].
Regarding claims 2 and 18:
Hirose teaches the loading/unloading port (carrier port, 47) is provided with a shutter (49) configured to open/close the loading/unloading port (47) [fig 6 & 0054, 0058].
Hirose does not specifically teach the shutter having a multi-layer structure; and the multi-layer structure of the shutter has a same layer structure as the multi-layer structure of the wall of the plasma processing chamber.
Sun teaches a component having a multi-layer structure (413/integral surface coating may be formed on plasma chamber components exposed to plasma) [fig 4A & 0007, 0030, 0040]; wherein the multi-layer structure includes a plasma resistant layer (plasma resistant coating, 315), a second layer (first intermediate layer of 412), a third layer (second intermediate layer of 412), and an anodic oxide film (integral surface coating aluminum oxide formed by anodizing the substrate) in that order from inside to outside of the plasma processing chamber (see fig 4A) [fig 4A & 0030, 0040].
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date to modify the structure of Hirose (shutter) to be a multi-layer structure, as in Sun, to allow for an intermediate layer(s) to provide one or more advantageous characteristics (e.g., high conductivity, high resistance, UV protection, etc.) while also providing for plasma resistance [Kim – 0040].
Hirose modified by Sun does not specifically disclose the second layer being made of a material having a permeability higher than a permeability of aluminum.
Kim’783 teaches a layer (710) made of a material having a permeability higher than a permeability of aluminum (formed of a material including any one of permalloy, Mu-metal, and iron) [fig 1 & 0058].
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date to modify the second layer (i.e. the first intermediate layer of 412 in Sun) of modified Hirose to be made of a material having a permeability higher than a permeability of aluminum, as in Kim’783, to shield the electromagnetic field from moving to the outside through a side surface of the plasma processing chamber [Kim’783 – 0073].
Hirose modified by Sun and Kim’783 does not specifically disclose the third layer being a layer made of an aluminum-containing material.
Kim’194 teaches an intermediate layer being a layer made of an aluminum-containing material (liner 142a may be formed from aluminum) [fig 3 & 0048].
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date to modify the third layer (i.e. the second intermediate layer of 412 in Sun) of modified Hirose to be made of an aluminum-containing material, as in Kim’194, because an aluminum intermediate layer in combination with a plasma resistant layer is effective to prevent etching in the presence of one or more fluorine gases [Kim’ 194 – 0047-0048].
Regarding claims 6-7:
Modified Hirose teaches the multi-layer structure (413/integral surface coating) further includes a plasma resistant layer formed on a surface which is not exposed to plasma (315 is formed on first intermediate layer of 412) [Sun - fig 4A & 0030, 0040].
The claim limitations “formed on a surface which is not exposed to plasma” are merely intended use and are given weight to the extent that the prior art is capable of performing the intended use. A claim containing a “recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus” if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987). Specifically, any surface is capable of not being exposed to plasma depending on the process to be carried out.
Regarding claim 8:
Modified Hirose teaches the plasma resistant layer (315) is an oxide film (Y2O3) [Sun - fig 4A & 0034].
Regarding claim 9:
Modified Hirose teaches the plasma resistant layer (315) is a silicon-containing film (SiC) [Sun - fig 4A & 0034].
Regarding claim 10:
Modified Hirose teaches the plasma resistant layer (315) is a film of a compound containing one or more of group III elements and lanthanoid-based elements (Y2O3) [Sun - fig 4A & 0034].
Regarding claim 11:
The claim limitations “wherein the plasma resistant layer is a film formed by thermal spraying, chemical vapor deposition (CVD), or physical vapor deposition (PVD)” are merely product-by-process limitations. "[E]ven though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process." In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985)
Regarding claim 12:
Modified Hirose does not specifically disclose the plasma resistant layer is an anodic oxide film.
Kim’194 teaches a plasma resistant layer (142b) is an anodic oxide film (anodized oxide) [fig 3 & 0048].
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date to modify the plasma resistant layer of modified Hirose to be an anodic oxide film, as in Kim’194, because such is a superior etch resistant material [Kim’194 – 0048]. It has been held that selecting a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use involves only routine skill in the art [MPEP 2144.07].
Regarding claim 15:
Modified Hirose teaches the material having the permeability higher than the permeability of aluminum is Permalloy (formed of a material including any one of permalloy, Mu-metal, and iron) [Kim’783 - fig 1 & 0058].
Regarding claim 17:
Modified Hirose does not specifically teach a cover made of a material having a permeability higher than a permeability of aluminum and configured to cover the plasma processing chamber.
Kim’783 teaches a cover (730) made of a material having a permeability higher than a permeability of aluminum (formed of a material including any one of permalloy, Mu-metal, and iron) and configured to cover the plasma processing chamber (see fig 1) [fig 1 & 0058].
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date to modify the apparatus of modified Hirose to further comprise a cover made of a material having a permeability higher than a permeability of aluminum, as in Kim’783, to reduce loss of the electromagnetic field [Kim’783 – 0074].
10. Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hirose et al (US 2004/0149214) in view of Sun et al (US 2010/0119843), Kim et al (US 2008/0054194), and Kim et al (US 2014/0090783) as applied to claims 1-2, 6-12, 15, and 17-18 above, and further in view of Okamura et al (US 5,534,070).
The limitations of claims 1-2, 6-12, 15, and 17-18 have been set forth above.
Regarding claim 16:
Modified Hirose does not specifically teach the material having the permeability higher than the permeability of aluminum is electrical steel.
Okamura teaches a material having a permeability higher than a permeability of aluminum is electrical steel (silicon steel) [fig 11 & col 22-23, lines 24-24].
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date to modify the material having a permeability higher than a permeability of aluminum of modified Hirose to be electrical steel, as in Okamura, because such is a suitable soft magnetic material for use as a shield [Okamura - 23, lines 16-24]. It has been held that selecting a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use involves only routine skill in the art [MPEP 2144.07].
Response to Arguments
11. Applicant's arguments, see Remarks, filed 12/18/2025, with respect to the rejection of claim(s) 1-3, 5-13, and 15-17 under 35 USC 103 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that none of the references teach the added limitations of independent claim 1. Specifically, applicant argues that Sun does not show a four layer structure. Additionally, the office action does not provide reasoning as to why it would be obvious to combined the references to result in a multi-layer structure in the specific order claimed.
In response, it is noted that the fact that Sun does not depict a four layer structure in no way changes the fact that Sun discloses a four layer structure in the written specification. Specifically, Sun discloses a multi-layer structure including a plasma resistant layer (plasma resistant coating, 315) [fig 4A & 0040], a second layer and a third layer (412 may be multiple layers) [fig 4A & 0040], and an anodic oxide film (integral surface coating aluminum oxide formed by anodizing the substrate) in that order from inside to outside of the plasma processing chamber (see fig 4A) [fig 4A & 0030, 0040].
Kim’194 and Kim’783 are relied on to teach materials for use in the intermediate layers of Sun (412 may be multiple layers). It is noted that it would be obvious to use the material of Kim’194 for either of the intermediate layers 412 of Sun. Similarly, it would be obvious to use the material of Kim’783 for either of the intermediate layers 412 of Sun. This results in two different combinations that would be obvious (A-B-C-D and A-C-B-D). It is noted that no modification was made to the plasma resistant layer and anodic oxide film in Sun.
The possibility that combined references could possibly disclose multiple configurations does NOT make any particular combination less obvious. Merck & Co., Inc. v. Biocraft Labs., Inc., 874 F.2d 804, 807 (Fed. Cir. 1989) (holding that the prior art’s disclosure of a multitude of combinations failed to render any particular formulation less obvious).
Conclusion
12. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Parsons et al (US 2003/0084999), O’ Donnell (US 2005/0150866), and Sommers et al (US 2010/0055298) teach a plasma processing chamber whose wall has a multi-layer structure [fig 2, 5, and 2, respectively].
13. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Benjamin Kendall/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2896