DETAILED ACTION
General Remarks
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed on 06/30/2026 has been entered. Claims 10-11, 14 and 21-22 are canceled by Applicant. Claim 25 is new. Claims 1-9,12-13,15-20 and 23-25 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments "Applicant Arguments/Remarks Made in an Amendment" with the
"Amendment/Req. Reconsideration-After Non-Final Reject" filed on 06/30/2026, have been fully considered, the arguments related to claim 8 are not persuasive because Eid (US 20190214328 A1) discloses a thermal interface material that can be made of a solder material in [0041], then Lin (US 2016/0322330 A1) looking to improve the heat dissipation and including electrical connection with a top RDL structure may select the solder material from Eid, then the combination is proper and results in “at least one thermal through via is electrically connected to the first die through the conductive paste”.
The Applicant’s amendments of claim 1 are moot because do not apply to new ground of rejections with reference, US 20170005074 A1 to Chen.
The Applicant’s amendments of claim 15 are moot because do not apply to new ground of rejections with new reference, US 20160307871 A1 to Tsai, being used in the current rejection, see detail below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7 is/are rejected under AIA 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin et al. (US 2016/0322330 A1, hereinafter Lin, of the record) in view of Eid et al. (US 20190214328 A1, hereinafter Eid, of the record) and further in view of Chen (US 20170005074 A1, hereinafter Chen, of the record).
Re: Independent Claim 1, Lin discloses a method of forming a semiconductor package, comprising:
Lin’s Figure 5-Annotated.
forming a conductive structure (108C-C a conductive feature included in 108C, “forming conductive features in and/or on the patterned dielectric layers” in [0029], Fig. 5-Annotated) over a dielectric layer (108C-D a dielectric layer included in 108C in [0029], Fig. 5-Annotated), the conductive structure (108C-C) comprising a conductive pattern (a portion of 108C-C in [0029]) on the dielectric layer (108C-D) and a paste (118 glue layer in [0021], Fig. 5-Annotated) on the conductive pattern (a portion of 108C-C);
forming a first die (104 die in [0030], Fig. 4) on the conductive structure (108C-C) over the dielectric layer (108C-D);
forming a redistribution layer structure (108B RDLs in [0032], Fig. 5) over the first die (104, Fig. 5), wherein the redistribution layer structure (108B) is electrically connected to the first die (104);
forming an insulating layer (124-2 molding compound in 101B-2 in [0013], wherein 124-2 is formed over 108C, in [0022], Fig. 5-Annotated) on the dielectric layer (108C-D) over the first die (104) and the redistribution layer structure (108B), wherein the insulating layer (124-2) and the redistribution layer structure (108B) are disposed on opposite sides of the first die (104) and the conductive structure (108C-C) is disposed between and interfacing with the dielectric layer (108C-D) and the first die (104);
forming at least one thermal through via (TIVs-2 in 101B-2, wherein additional fan-out tiers and/or interconnect features are formed over RDLs 108C in [0022], Fig. 5-Annotated),
Lin does not expressly disclose wherein the paste (118) is a conductive paste, forming at least one opening in the insulating layer and the dielectric layer, to expose the conductive pattern and after forming the redistribution layer structure and the insulating layer, forming at least one thermal through via in the at least one opening of the insulating layer and the dielectric layer, wherein the at least one thermal through via extends from a topmost surface of the insulating layer to a bottommost surface of the dielectric layer.
However, in the same semiconductor device field of endeavor, Eid discloses a conductive paste (416 a thermal interface material layer in [0033], Fig. 6).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the current invention to make the Lin’s paste layer a conductive paste layer, wherein the conductive paste extends from a sidewall of the first die to a sidewall of the dummy die according to Eid’s method to improve the conveyance of heat from the electrical components ([0034], Eid).
Lin modified by Eid does not expressly disclose forming at least one opening in the insulating layer and the dielectric layer, to expose the conductive pattern and after forming the redistribution layer structure and the insulating layer, forming at least one thermal through via in the at least one opening of the insulating layer and the dielectric layer, wherein the at least one thermal through via extends from a topmost surface of the insulating layer to a bottommost surface of the dielectric layer.
However, in the same semiconductor device field of endeavor, Chen discloses forming at least one opening (60 openings formed in the dielectric layer 58 in [0025, 0028], Fig. 9) in the insulating layer (58 dielectric layer in [0025, 0028], Fig. 9) and the dielectric layer (56 passivation layer in [0028], Fig. 9), to expose the conductive pattern (54 pad in [0028], Fig. 9) and after forming the redistribution layer structure (RDL includes 48A,48B and 48C conductive patterns in [0021], Fig. 12-Annotated) and the insulating layer (58), forming at least one thermal through via (66B pad in [0030], Fig. 10) in the at least one opening (60) of the insulating layer (58) and the dielectric layer (56), wherein the at least one thermal through via (66B) extends (Fig. 12) from a topmost surface of the insulating layer (58) to a bottommost surface of the dielectric layer (56).
Chen’s Figure 12-Annotated.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to include the method of forming at least one opening in the insulating layer and the dielectric layer, to expose the conductive pattern and after forming the redistribution layer structure and the insulating layer, forming at least one thermal through via in the at least one opening of the insulating layer and the dielectric layer, wherein the at least one thermal through via extends from a topmost surface of the insulating layer to a bottommost surface of the dielectric layer since the selection of any order of performing process steps is prima facie obvious in the absence of new or unexpected results to simplify and improve the accuracy of the manufacture of the thermal vias. In re Burhans, 154 F.2d 690, 69 USPQ 330 (CCPA 1946); In re Gibson, 39 F.2d 975, 5 USPQ 230 (CCPA 1930). See MPEP § 2144.04.
Regarding claim 2, Lin modified by Eid and Chen discloses the method as claimed in claim 1, further comprising forming a dummy die (106, [0015], Lin) aside the first die (104, Lin), wherein the dummy die (106, Lin) is electrically connected (106 connected to 104 through 108B, Fig. 5, Lin) to the first die (104, Lin) through the redistribution layer structure (108B, Lin).
Regarding claim 3, Lin modified by Eid and Chen discloses the method as claimed in claim 1, further comprising forming at least one through via (126 a TIVs via extending through molding compound 124 in 101B in [0013], Fig. 5, Lin) aside the first die (104, Lin) between (126 between 108B and TIVs, Fig. 5, Lin) the redistribution layer structure (108B, Lin) and the at least one thermal through via (TIVs-2 in 101B-2, Lin).
Regarding claim 4, Lin modified by Eid and Chen discloses the method as claimed in claim 1, further comprising forming connectors (120 external connectors in [0020], Fig. 5, Lin) over the redistribution layer structure (108B, Lin).
Regarding claim 5, Lin modified by Eid and Chen discloses the method as claimed in claim 4, further comprising forming a dummy die (106, [0015], Lin) aside the first die (104, Lin).
Lin modified by Eid and Chen does not disclose wherein the first die is disposed in a first region, the dummy die is disposed in a second region, a density of the connectors in the first region is equal to the number of the connectors in the first region divided by an area of the first region, a density of the connectors in the second region is equal to the number of the connectors in the second region divided by an area of the second region, and the density of the connectors in the second region is larger than the density of the connectors in the first region.
However, the Applicant has not presented persuasive evidence that the claimed
“density of the connectors in the second region larger than the density of the connectors in the first region” is for a particular purpose that is critical to the overall claimed invention (i.e. the invention would not work without the specific claimed density of the connectors in the second region larger than the density of the connectors in the first region). Also, the applicant has not shown that the claimed “difference of density of the connectors in the second region respect to the density of the connectors in the first region” produces a result that was new or unexpected enough to patentably distinguish the claimed invention over the cited prior art. At meantime, Lin discloses “a density of the connectors in the second region similar to the density of the connectors in the first region”, Fig. 4, therefore, the density is a result effective variable. It has been held that is not inventive to discover the optimum density of the connectors in the second region respect to the density of the connectors in the first region by routine experimentation (In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955), MPEP 2144.05 II). Thus, it would have been obvious to add the density of the connectors in the second region is larger than the density of the connectors in the first region to include more electronic devices.
Regarding claim 6, Lin modified by Eid and Chen discloses the method as claimed in claim 1, wherein the at least one thermal through via (TIVs-2 in 101B-2, Lin) is electrically connected to the redistribution layer structure (108B, Lin) through the conductive structure (108C-C, Lin).
Regarding claim 7, Lin modified by Eid and Chen discloses the method as claimed in claim 4,
Lin modified by Eid and Chen does not disclose wherein the first die is disposed in a first region, the dummy die is disposed in a second region, a density of the at least one thermal through via in the first region is equal to the number of the at least one thermal through via in the first region divided by an area of the first region, a density of the at least one thermal through via in the second region is equal to the number of the at least one thermal through via in the second region divided by an area of the second region, and the density of the at least one thermal through via in the first region is larger than the density of the at least one thermal through via in the second region.
However, the Applicant has not presented persuasive evidence that the claimed
“density of the at least one thermal through via in the first region larger than the density of the at least one thermal through via in the second region” is for a particular purpose that is critical to the overall claimed invention (i.e. the invention would not work without the specific claimed density of the at least one thermal through via in the first region larger than the density of the at least one thermal through via in the second region). Also, the applicant has not shown that the claimed “difference of density of the at least one thermal through via in the first region respect to the density of the at least one thermal through via in the second region” produces a result that was new or unexpected enough to patentably distinguish the claimed invention over the cited prior art. At meantime, Lin discloses “a density of thermal through via in 101B”, Fig. 4-Annotated, therefore, the density is a result effective variable. It has been held that is not inventive to discover the optimum density of the at least one thermal through via in the first region respect to the density of the at least one thermal through via in the second region by routine experimentation (In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955), MPEP 2144.05 II). Thus, it would have been obvious to add density of the at least one thermal through via in the first region larger than the density of the at least one thermal through via in the second region to include more electronic devices.
Claims 8-9 and 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin et al. (US 2016/0322330 A1, hereinafter Lin, of the record), in view of Eid et al. (US 20190214328 A1, hereinafter Eid, of the record) and further in view of Liang (US 20150108635 A1, hereinafter Liang, of the record).
Regarding Independent Claim 8, Lin discloses a method of forming a semiconductor package, comprising:
providing a first die (102 a die in [0013], Fig. 4) and a dummy die (106 a dummy die in [0016], Fig. 4) with a paste (118 glue layer in [0021], Fig. 4-Annotated) thereon;
forming a redistribution layer structure (108A RDLs in [0021, 0022], Fig. 4) over the first die (102) and the paste (118) and electrically connected (Fig. 4) to the first die (102);
after forming the redistribution layer structure (108A, Fig. 4), forming an insulating layer (124-2 molding compound in 101B-2 in [0013], wherein 124-2 is formed over 108C, in [0022], Fig. 4-Annotated) over the redistribution layer structure (108A).
Lin does not expressly disclose wherein the paste (118) is a conductive paste and after forming the insulating layer, forming at least one thermal through via (TIVs-2 in 101B-2, wherein additional fan-out tiers 101B and interconnect features are formed over RDLs 108C in [0022], Fig. 4-Annotated) in the insulating layer over the first die and the conductive paste, wherein the conductive paste is disposed between the first die and the at least one thermal through via, and the at least one thermal through via is electrically connected to the first die through the conductive paste.
Eid’s Figure 6-Annotated.
However, in the same semiconductor device field of endeavor, Eid discloses a conductive paste (416 a thermal interface material layer in [0033], Fig. 6).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the current invention to make the Lin’s paste layer a conductive paste layer, wherein the conductive paste extends from a sidewall of the first die to a sidewall of the dummy die according to Eid’s method to improve the conveyance of heat from the electrical components ([0034], Eid).
Lin modified by Eid does not expressly disclose after forming the insulating layer, forming at least one thermal through via in the insulating layer over the first die and the conductive paste, wherein the conductive paste is disposed between the first die and the at least one thermal through via, and the at least one thermal through via is electrically connected to the first die through the conductive paste.
However, in the same semiconductor device field of endeavor, Liang discloses after forming (after the dielectric layer 152, 158-159 are formed in [0044], Figs. 6G-6H-Annotated)) the insulating layer (152 dielectric layer in [0044], Figs. 6G-6H-Annotated), forming at least one thermal through via (158-159 metal structures filled into the openings of 152 in [0045], Figs. 6G-6H-Annotated) in the insulating layer (152).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to include the method of after forming the insulating layer, forming at least one thermal through via in the insulating layer since the selection of any order of performing process steps is prima facie obvious in the absence of new or unexpected results to simplify and improve the accuracy of the manufacture of the thermal vias. In re Burhans, 154 F.2d 690, 69 USPQ 330 (CCPA 1946); In re Gibson, 39 F.2d 975, 5 USPQ 230 (CCPA 1930). See MPEP § 2144.04.
The combination of Lin, Eid and Liang results in after forming the insulating layer, forming at least one thermal through via in the insulating layer over the first die and the conductive paste, wherein the conductive paste is disposed between the first die and the at least one thermal through via, and the at least one thermal through via is electrically connected to the first die through the conductive paste.
Regarding claim 9, Lin modified by Eid and Liang discloses the method as claimed in claim 8, wherein the conductive paste (118’s Lin after applied Eid) is in direct contact (as showed in Fig. 4, Lin) with the first die (102, Lin).
Regarding claim 12, Lin modified by Eid and Liang discloses the method as claimed in claim 8, wherein the redistribution layer structure (108A, Lin) and the at least one thermal through via (TIVs-2, Lin) are disposed at opposite sides (as showed in Fig. 4-Annotated, Lin) of the first die (102, Lin).
Regarding claim 13, Lin modified by Eid and Liang discloses the method as claimed in claim 12, before forming the insulating layer (124-2, Fig. 4-Annotated, Lin), further comprising forming a plurality of connectors (120 external connectors in [0020], Fig. 4, Lin) on an outermost surface of the redistribution layer structure (108A, Lin), wherein the connectors (120, Lin) and the first die (102, Lin) are disposed on opposite sides of the redistribution layer structure (108A, Lin), and the redistribution layer structure (108A, Lin) is disposed between the connectors (120, Lin) and the first die (102, Lin).
Claim(s) 15-20 and 25 is/are rejected under AIA 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin in view of Eid et al. (US 20190214328 A1, hereinafter Eid, of the record), in view of Tsai et al. (US 20160307871 A1, hereinafter Tsai) and further in view of Liang (US 20150108635 A1, hereinafter Liang, of the record).
Regarding independent claim 15, Lin teaches a method of forming a semiconductor package, comprising:
forming a first dielectric layer ([0018,0029]) of a redistribution layer structure (108B, C RDLs in [0021, 0022], Fig. 4) over a carrier (carrier a carrier over 108C in [0029]);
after forming the redistribution layer structure (108B, C), forming at least one first through via (126 a TIVs via extending through molding compound 124 in 101A in [0017], Fig. 4) and a paste (118 glue layer in [0021], Fig. 4-Annotated),
encapsulating (124 TIVs via extending through molding compound 124 in [0017], Fig. 3F) the at least one first through via (126) and the paste (118) with an encapsulant (124-101A Fig. 4) over the carrier (carrier);
after forming the at least one first through via (126), forming an insulating layer (124-2 molding compound in 101B-2 in [0013], wherein 124-2 is formed over 108C, in [0022], Fig. 4-Annotated) over the redistribution layer structure (108B, C);
Lin does not expressly disclose wherein the paste is a conductive paste and forming at least a conductive paste to penetrate through portions of the first dielectric layer of the redistribution layer structure; forming at least one opening in the insulating layer; and after forming the insulating layer, forming at least one thermal through via in the at least one opening, wherein the redistribution layer structure is electrically connected to the at least one first through via and the at least one thermal through via.
However, in the same semiconductor device field of endeavor, Eid discloses a conductive paste (416 a thermal interface material layer in [0033], Fig. 6).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the current invention to make the Lin’s paste layer a conductive paste layer, wherein the conductive paste extends from a sidewall of the first die to a sidewall of the dummy die according to Eid’s method to improve the conveyance of heat from the electrical components ([0034], Eid).
Lin modified by Eid does not expressly disclose forming at least a conductive paste to penetrate through portions of the first dielectric layer of the redistribution layer structure; forming at least one opening in the insulating layer; and after forming the insulating layer, forming at least one thermal through via in the at least one opening, wherein the redistribution layer structure is electrically connected to the at least one first through via and the at least one thermal through via.
However, in the same semiconductor device field of endeavor, Tsai discloses forming at least a paste (50 a die attach film in [0020], Fig. 15A) to penetrate through portions (Fig. 15A) of the first dielectric layer of (34 a dielectric layer of the redistribution layer including 34,72 and 302 in [0022], Fig. 15A) of the redistribution layer (redistribution layer including 34,72 and 302, Fig. 15A).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the current invention to include the Tsai’s feature wherein forming at least a paste to penetrate through portions of the first dielectric layer of the redistribution layer to the combination of Lin and Eid to adjust the design of the device for achieved the size of opening of the dielectric layer to include a die ([0036], Tsai).
The combination of Lin, Eid, and Tsai results forming at least a conductive paste to penetrate through portions of the first dielectric layer of the redistribution layer structure.
Lin modified by Eid and Tsai does not expressly disclose forming at least one opening in the insulating layer; and after forming the insulating layer, forming at least one thermal through via in the at least one opening, wherein the redistribution layer structure is electrically connected to the at least one first through via and the at least one thermal through via.
However, in the same semiconductor device field of endeavor, Liang discloses forming at least one opening (opening several openings formed in the dielectric layer 152 in [0044], Figs. 6G-6H-Annotated) in the insulating layer (152 dielectric layer in [0044], Figs. 6G-6H-Annotated); and after forming (Figs. 6G-6H-Annotated) the insulating layer (152), forming at least one thermal through via (158-159 metal structures filled into the openings in [0045], Figs. 6G-6H-Annotated) in the at least one opening (opening).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to include the method of forming at least one opening in the insulating layer; and after forming the insulating layer, forming at least one thermal through via in the at least one opening since the selection of any order of performing process steps is prima facie obvious in the absence of new or unexpected results to simplify and improve the accuracy of the manufacture of the thermal vias. In re Burhans, 154 F.2d 690, 69 USPQ 330 (CCPA 1946); In re Gibson, 39 F.2d 975, 5 USPQ 230 (CCPA 1930). See MPEP § 2144.04.
The combination of Lin, Eid, Tsai and Liang results in forming at least one opening in the insulating layer; and after forming the insulating layer, forming at least one thermal through via in the at least one opening, wherein the redistribution layer structure is electrically connected to the at least one first through via and the at least one thermal through via.
Regarding claim 16, Lin modified by Eid, Tsai and Liang discloses the method as claimed in claim 15, further comprising forming a die (102 a die in [0017], Fig. 4, Lin) aside the at least one first through via (126, Lin) in the encapsulant (124-101A, Lin), wherein the at least one thermal through via (TIVs-2, Lin) is electrically connected (TIVs-2 is connected to 102 through 108B, 108A and 126, Fig. 4-Annotated, Lin) to the die (102, Lin) through the at least one first through via (126, Lin).
Regarding claim 17, Lin modified by Eid, Tsai and Liang discloses the method as claimed in claim 16, further comprising forming a die attach film (118 a die attach film in [0021], Fig. 4, Lin) between the die (102, Lin) and the at least one thermal through via (TIVs-2, Lin).
Regarding claim 18, Lin modified by Eid, Tsai and Liang discloses the method as claimed in claim 16, wherein the conductive paste (Eid’s 416 applied to Lin’s 118) is disposed between (as showed in Fig. 4, Lin) the die (102, Lin) and the redistribution layer structure (108B, C, Lin), and the redistribution layer structure (108B, C, Lin) exposed by the at least one opening (Liang applied to Lin, vias TIVs-2 formed in 124-2 as vias 126 exposing 108C, Lin) interfaces with the paste (118, Lin) and the at least one thermal through via (TIVs-2, Lin).
Regarding claim 19, Lin modified by Eid, Tsai and Liang discloses the method as claimed in claim 18, wherein the conductive paste (118’s Lin after applied Eid) is in direct contact (118 in direct contact with 108B and 102 as showed in Fig. 4, Lin) with the die (102, Lin) and the redistribution layer structure (108B, C, Fig. 4, Lin).
Regarding claim 20, Lin modified by Eid, Tsai and Liang discloses the method as claimed in claim 15, wherein surfaces of the at least one first through via (126, Lin) and the encapsulant (124-101A, Lin) are substantially coplanar (as showed in Fig. 4, Lin).
Regarding claim 25, Lin modified by Eid, Tsai and Liang discloses the method as claimed in claim 15,
Lin modified by Eid, Tsai and Liang does not expressly disclose wherein the first dielectric layer comprises recessed portions exposing conductive patterns of the redistribution layer structure respectively, and the at least one first through via and the conductive paste are disposed in the recessed portions to interface with the conductive patterns respectively.
However, in the same semiconductor device field of endeavor, Tsai discloses wherein the first dielectric layer (34 a dielectric layer of the redistribution layer including 34,72 and 302 in [0022], Fig. 15A) comprises recessed portions (recessed portions in 34, exposing conductive structures as 70 and vertical vias attached to 70, in Fig. 15A) exposing conductive patterns of the redistribution layer structure (redistribution layer including 34,72 and 302, Fig. 15A) respectively.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the current invention to include the Tsai’s feature wherein the first dielectric layer comprises recessed portions exposing conductive patterns of the redistribution layer structure respectively to the combination of Lin, Eid, Tsai, and Liang to obtain the at least one first through via and the conductive paste are disposed in the recessed portions to interface with the conductive patterns respectively to adjust the design of the device for achieved the size of opening of the dielectric layer to include a die ([0036], Tsai).
Claim 23-24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin, in view of Eid, in view of Tsai, in view of Liang and further in view of Chen et al. (US 20170005074 A1, hereinafter Chen, of the record).
Regarding claim 23, Lin modified by Eid, Tsai and Liang discloses the method as claimed in claim 15,
Lin modified by Eid, Tsai and Liang does not expressly disclose further comprising: forming a dielectric layer between the carrier and the first dielectric layer of the redistribution layer structure; forming a de-bonding layer interfacing with the carrier and the dielectric layer; and debonding the redistribution layer structure from the carrier before forming the insulating layer, wherein the dielectric layer interfaces with the insulating layer and the redistribution layer structure, and the at least one opening is further formed in the dielectric layer to expose the redistribution layer structure.
However, in the same semiconductor device field of endeavor, Chen discloses forming a dielectric layer (34 adhesive layer in [0011], Fig. 13) between the carrier (30 carrier substrate in [0014], Fig. 13) the first dielectric layer (58 dielectric material in [0025], Fig. 13) of the redistribution layer structure (68,70 conductive patterns 68 in dielectric layer 70 in [0032], Fig. 13); forming a de-bonding layer (32 adhesive layer in [0011], Fig. 13) interfacing with the carrier (30) and the dielectric layer (34); and debonding (Figs. 14-16) the redistribution layer structure (68,70) from the carrier (30).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the current invention to include the Chen’s method wherein forming a dielectric layer between the carrier and the first dielectric layer of the redistribution layer structure; forming a de-bonding layer interfacing with the carrier and the dielectric layer; and debonding the redistribution layer structure from the carrier to the combination of Lin, Eid, Tsai, and Liang to improve the integration density of various electronic components (e.g., transistors, diodes, resistors, capacitors, etc.) by continual reductions in minimum feature size, which allow more components to be integrated into a given area ([0002], Chen).
The combination of Lin, Eid, Tsai, Liang and Chen results in debonding (Chen applied to Lin) the redistribution layer structure (108C RDLs in [0021, 0022], Fig. 4, Lin) from the carrier (30 removed, Fig. 16 from Chen applied to Lin) before (120 formed before 124-2, Fig. 4-Annotated, Lin) forming the insulating layer (124-2, Fig. 4-Annotated, Lin), wherein the dielectric layer (Chen’s 34 applied to Lin) interfaces with the insulating layer (124-2, Fig. 4-Annotated, Lin) and the redistribution layer structure (108C RDLs in [0021, 0022], Fig. 4, Lin), and the at least one opening (Liang applied to Lin) is further formed in the dielectric layer (Chen’s 34 applied to Lin) to expose (Liang applied to Lin, vias Lin’s TIVs-2 formed in 124-2 as vias 126 exposing 108C, then the addition dielectric 34 from Chen, results in the exposed 108C’s Lin) the redistribution layer structure (108C RDLs in [0021, 0022], Fig. 4, Lin).
Regarding claim 24, Lin modified by Eid, Tsai and Liang discloses the method as claimed in claim 15, further comprising: forming another redistribution layer structure (108A RDLs in [0021, 0022], Fig. 4, Lin) over the encapsulant (124-101A, Fig. 4, Lin); forming a plurality of connectors (120 external connectors in [0020], Fig. 4, Lin) on an outermost surface of the another redistribution layer structure (108A, Fig. 4, Lin).
Lin modified by Eid, Tsai and Liang does not expressly disclose forming another redistribution layer structure (108A, Fig. 4, Lin) over the carrier and after forming the connectors and before forming the insulating layer, removing the carrier.
However, in the same semiconductor device field of endeavor, Chen discloses forming another redistribution layer structure (68,70 conductive patterns 68 in dielectric layer 70 in [0032], Fig. 13) over the carrier (30 carrier substrate in [0014], Fig. 13) and after (Figs. 14-16) forming the connectors (30 a set of conductive connectors in [0035], Fig. 14), removing (Fig. 16) the carrier (30, Fig. 13).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the current invention to include the Chen’s method wherein forming another redistribution layer structure over the carrier and after forming the connectors, removing the carrier to the combination of Lin, Eid, Tsai, and Liang to improve the integration density of various electronic components (e.g., transistors, diodes, resistors, capacitors, etc.) by continual reductions in minimum feature size, which allow more components to be integrated into a given area ([0002], Chen).
The combination of Lin, Eid, Tsai, Liang and Chen results in after (Chen applied to Lin) forming the connectors (120 Fig. 4, Lin) and before (120 formed before 124-2, Fig. 4-Annotated, Lin) forming the insulating layer (124-2, Fig. 4-Annotated, Lin), removing the carrier (30 removed, Fig. 16 from Chen applied to Lin).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SANDRA MILENA RODRIGUEZ VILLANUEVA/Examiner, Art Unit 2898
/JESSICA S MANNO/SPE, Art Unit 2898