DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 18-19, 22, and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bao (U.S. PGPub 2023/0261074) in view of Yang (U.S. PGPub 2022/0254640).
Regarding claim 18, Bao teaches a method for manufacturing a semiconductor structure, comprising: forming two patterned structures which include two channel layers, respectively, forming two interfacial layers respectively on the two channel layers, each of the two interfacial layers including an insulating material, forming two gate dielectric layers respectively over the two interfacial layers, forming two gate electrodes respectively on the two gate dielectric layers (Fig. 11, Fig. 14, channel layer 115, interfacial layer 120, gate dielectric 125, [0035], [0045], gate electrode 240, [0048]), and before forming the two gate electrodes, introducing dipole elements into the two interfacial layers so as to permit a first atomic concentration of the dipole elements in one of the two interfacial layers to be different from a second atomic concentration of the dipole elements in another one of the two interfacial layers ([0045]-[0046]).
Bao does not explicitly teach wherein the dipole elements include zinc.
Yang teaches introducing a dipole element into a gate dielectric layer, where the dipole element may be zinc ([0024], [0041], [0049]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filing date to combine the teachings of Yang with Bao such that the dipole elements include zinc because the prior art teaches an element which differs from the claim by substitution with a different element, the claimed element is known in the art, a person of ordinary skill could have substituted one known element for another, and the combination would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of the invention. See MPEP 2143.I.B.
Regarding claim 19, the combination of Bao and Yang teaches wherein the two gate electrodes are formed simultaneously and have a same thickness (Bao, Fig. 14, [0048], [0034]). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to further combine the teachings of Bao and Yang for the reasons set forth in the rejection of claim 18.
Regarding claim 22, the combination of Bao and Yang teaches wherein the two gate electrodes have a same material (Bao, [0048]). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to further combine the teachings of Bao and Yang for the reasons set forth in the rejection of claim 18.
Regarding claim 29, the combination of Bao and Yang teaches forming first gate dielectric layers respectively on the first interfacial layers, forming second gate dielectric layers respectively on the second interfacial layers (Bao, Fig. 2, structures D2/D3/D4, channel layers 115, interfacial layers 120, gate dielectrics 125, [0035], [0045]), forming a first gate electrode on the first gate dielectric layers to fill a space between two adjacent ones of the first channel layers, forming a second gate electrode on the second gate dielectric layers to fill a space between two adjacent ones of the second channel layers (Bao, Fig. 14, gate electrodes 240, [0048]). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to further combine the teachings of Bao and Yang for the reasons set forth in the rejection of claim 18.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6-7, 9-12, 14-15, 23, 25-28, and 30-31 are allowed.
Reasons for allowance can be found in the Office action dated 11/28/25 and remain valid.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
U.S. PGPub 2016/0148846 teaches where zinc is used as a dipole element ([0117]).
/ALIA SABUR/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2812