DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 5 and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Anglerot (US 5,308, 631) in view of Shigeki Suzuki et al (JPH01165365).
In regard to claims 1 and 21, Anglerot discloses:
The process of obtaining a natural beer aromas, consisting of:
(a) bringing into contact an alcoholic beer and a hydrophobic zeolite with an Si:Al ratio higher than 12 to separate said beer into an aqueous eluent phase and an adsorbed product phase;
(b) separating the aqueous eluent phase from the adsorbent;
(c) thermally desorbing the adsorbed products on said adsorbent; and
(d) separating the desorbed phase into an alcoholic distillate phase and an aqueous phase, said aqueous phase constituting the concentrate of natural beer aromas (Claim 10).
Hence, Anglerot discloses flavor composition by decreasing or removing water and ethanol from a strong alcoholic flavor composition, the method comprising the steps of treating the flavor composition by a dehydration process ((b) separating the aqueous eluent phase from the adsorbent) and dealcoholization process ((d) separating the desorbed phase into an alcoholic distillate phase).
Claim 1 has been amended to include the limitations of claims 3 and 6. Claim 1 now includes the limitation of “wherein the strong alcoholic flavor composition comprises ethanol in an amount of at least 40% by weight”. Anglerot discloses production of a flavor/aroma extract from beer In the background of the invention section, Anglerot discloses alcohol content of up to 10 % (Col. 1 lines 25-26). Anglerot does not discloses alcohol content as recited “in an amount of at least 40% by weight”. Shigeki Suzuki et al discloses production of a “nearly uniformly concentrate flavor ingredients of malt whiskey” (Abstract). More specifically, Shigeki Suzuki et al discloses:
More specifically, the present invention relates to a method for efficiently producing whiskey flavor components by treating unprocessed whiskey or its treated liquid with a reverse osmosis membrane.
According to the method of the present invention, the flavor components of whiskey are almost uniformly concentrated and an excellent flavor liquid is obtained, so that by using this, it is possible to impart a rich flavor to alcoholic beverages with various alcohol concentrations.
Shigeki Suzuki et al further discloses the embodiment of unprocessed sake having 59.90% alcohol (see the reference to Fig.1 in machine translation).
Both references disclose production of a flavor/aroma component from alcoholic beverages. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to modify Anglerot in view of Shigeki Suzuki et al and to employ whiskey or unprocessed sake having 59.90% alcohol ( i.e. alcoholic beverages having higher alcoholic concentration) as a raw material for removal of water and alcohol in order to obtain desired flavor/aroma composition.
Further in regard to the concentration recitations, it is noted that:
Generally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235(CCPA 1955) (MPEP 2144.05, II A).
Claim 1 has been amended to include the limitations of claim 6. Claim 1 now includes the limitation of “wherein the amount of water and ethanol from the strong alcoholic flavor composition is reduced in said strong alcoholic flavor composition by a factor of at least 60”.
Anglerot discloses the process of obtaining a natural beer aromas, consisting of:
(a) bringing into contact an alcoholic beer and a hydrophobic zeolite with an Si:Al ratio higher than 12 to separate said beer into an aqueous eluent phase and an adsorbed product phase;
(b) separating the aqueous eluent phase from the adsorbent;
(c) thermally desorbing the adsorbed products on said adsorbent; and
(d) separating the desorbed phase into an alcoholic distillate phase and an aqueous phase, said aqueous phase constituting the concentrate of natural beer aromas (Claim 10).
Hence, Anglerot discloses removal of water fraction from adsorbent and then further separation of alcoholic phase from the aromatic phase.
Further in regard to the recitation of “wherein the amount of water and ethanol from the strong alcoholic flavor composition is reduced in said strong alcoholic flavor composition by a factor of at least 60”, it is noted that although the reference does not specifically disclose every possible quantification or characteristic of its product, these characteristics would have been expected to be as claimed absent any clear and convincing evidence and/or arguments to the contrary. The reference discloses the same starting materials and methods as instantly (both broadly and more specifically) claimed, and thus one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the level of reduction of water and ethanol among many other characteristics of the product obtained by referenced method, would have been an inherent result of the process disclosed therein. The Patent Office does not possess the facilities to make and test the referenced method and product obtain by such method, and as reasonable reading of the teachings of the reference has been applied to establish the case of obviousness, the burden thus shifts to applicant to demonstrate otherwise.
In regard to claim 2, Anglerot discloses aromatic aqueous extract:
This is best shown in FIG. 3 in which the desorption of the alcoholic and aromatic products trapped in the hydrophobic zeolite in column 1 is performed by elution or heating. Elution can be performed with a solvent, but it is then necessary to subsequently separate out this solvent. A good method is comprised of using supercritical CO.sub.2 and recovering the alcohols and aromas by expansion. It is also possible to eluate using a hot gas with the condition, however, that the gas be free from oxygen. It is preferable to perform thermal desorption with carbon dioxide G' at a temperature of circa 150.degree. C. passed into column 1. Upon discharge from column 1, the charged gas passes into a separator 2 from the head of which is discharged the alcohol which is recovered in tank C and from the bottom of which is collected an aromatic aqueous extract which is stored in tank 3. This extract is particularly fragrant and has a characteristic beer smell. It is an aqueous phase that contains, among other substances, light aromas, .beta.-phenylethanol and isoamyl alcohol (Col 3 lines 37-56).
In regard to claim 5, Anglerot discloses “[t]he process comprises bringing into contact a naturally alcoholic beer with a hydrophobic zeolite, separating the aqueous eluent phase from the adsorbent, thermally desorbing the adsorbed products, recovering the desorbed phase and separating it by distillation into an alcoholate and an aromatized phase” (Abstract). Hence, Anglerot discloses separation of alcohol by distillation, i.e. dealcoholization process is a distillation process.
Claim(s) 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Anglerot (US 5,308, 631) in view of Shigeki Suzuki et al (JPH01165365) as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of dealcoholization.zohosites.com (https://dealcoholization.zohosites.com/dealcoholisation-technologies).
In regard to claim 22, Anglerot discloses separation of alcohol by distillation. Anglerot does not explicitly disclose vacuum distillation. Dealcoholization.zohosites.com discloses vacuum distillation as a suitable technique for alcohol separation in alcoholic beverages:This involves consist in separating the alcohol and the aromas from the product (wine, beer, spirits) by means of a distillation principle.
By evacuating the plant, the boiling point of volatile compounds - such as alcohol or aromas - is lowered, allowing the product to be heated to between 35°C and 50°C only.
A flow of steam from the bottom of the column captures the vaporized volatile compounds and a condenser then cools them down to recover them in a liquid phase. The rest of the product, which is in liquid form, falls to the bottom of the column by gravity and is then recovered, free of its aromas and alcohol.
There is then - depending on the manufacturer - an option to separate the aromas from the alcohol in order to reincorporate them into the dealcoholized product.
Dealcoholization.zohosites.com discloses the following advantages of vacuum distillation:
1. Product quality: with this technology, it is possible to separate alcohol with an alcohol content of up to 95% by volume, without dragging other elements from the initial product and without the addition of external elements. It is also possible to separate the aromas and then put them back into the dealcoholised product.
2. Economical & Ecological: There is no use of water, no oxygen intake and the energy efficiency is very high.
3. Low Maintenance: Maintenance is very low because there are no moving parts and very few consumable parts.
4. Low Losses : Losses are minimal, especially due to alcohol rectification and aroma recovery.
5. Optimized process time: The separation of essences and alcohol is done in a single step and therefore does not affect the process time.
6. Dealcoholisation performance: It is possible to dealcoholise the product up to 0.02% vol. In case of an alcohol adjustment of 2% vol. only 20% of the wine will be treated, which will reduce the process time but also protect the 80% left.
Hence one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to modify Anglerot in view of dealcoholization.zohosites.com and to employ vacuum distillation for alcohol separation based on the multiple advantages as disclosed by dealcoholization.zohosites.com. Vacuum distillation allows for very low temperature heating that avoid boiling out of desired aroma compounds.
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Anglerot (US 5,308, 631) in view of Shigeki Suzuki et al (JPH01165365) as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of Jinming Lu et al (CN 101721920).
In regard to claim 4, Jinming Lu et al discloses method for dehydrating furfural by the pervaporation of a NaA zeolite molecular sieve membrane. Anglerot discloses a method for water removal by contacting al alcoholic beer and a hydrophobic zeolite having Si:Al ratio above 12 to separate the beer into aqueous and eluent phase from adsorbent. Jinming Lu et al discloses a method for pervaporation of NaA zeolite membrane to remove water from furfural, performed with NaA zeolites (Abstract). One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to modify Anglerot in view of Jinming Lu et al and to employ zeolite membrane as a known technique for water removal.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 07/10/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The rejection of claims under 35 U.S.C. 102 has been withdrawn in light of the amendment of claim 1.
In response to Applicant’s argument on page 7 of the Reply, it is noted that Anglerot discloses the process of obtaining a natural beer aromas, consisting of:
(a) bringing into contact an alcoholic beer and a hydrophobic zeolite with an Si:Al ratio higher than 12 to separate said beer into an aqueous eluent phase and an adsorbed product phase;
(b) separating the aqueous eluent phase from the adsorbent;
(c) thermally desorbing the adsorbed products on said adsorbent; and
(d) separating the desorbed phase into an alcoholic distillate phase and an aqueous phase, said aqueous phase constituting the concentrate of natural beer aromas (Claim 10).
Hence, Anglerot discloses removal of water fraction from adsorbent and then further separation of alcoholic phase from the aromatic phase.
Further in regard to the recitation of “wherein the amount of water and ethanol from the strong alcoholic flavor composition is reduced in said strong alcoholic flavor composition by a factor of at least 60”, it is noted that although the reference does not specifically disclose every possible quantification or characteristic of its product, these characteristics would have been expected to be as claimed absent any clear and convincing evidence and/or arguments to the contrary. The reference discloses the same starting materials and methods as instantly (both broadly and more specifically) claimed, and thus one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the level of reduction of water and ethanol among many other characteristics of the product obtained by referenced method, would have been an inherent result of the process disclosed therein. The Patent Office does not possess the facilities to make and test the referenced method and product obtain by such method, and as reasonable reading of the teachings of the reference has been applied to establish the case of obviousness, the burden thus shifts to applicant to demonstrate otherwise.
Applicant has not provided any evidence showing that the process as disclosed by Anglerot does not achieve the claimed result of water and ethanol reduction as claimed.
Applicant’s argument regarding claims 4 and 22 on pages 7-8 of the Reply have been fully considered but they are not persuasive for the reasons as stated above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/VERA STULII/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1791