DETAILED ACTION
Status
The filing on 01/27/2026 amended claims 1, 4 and 16. Claims 1-20 are pending and rejected.
Claim Rejections - AIA 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 6, 7, 9-16, 18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoshikawa ‘317 (US 20180088317 A1) in view of Yamagishi (US 20200089092 A1) and in further view of Yoshikawa “314 (US 20190146314 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Yoshikawa ‘317 teaches a laser reflection unit for a laser phosphor projector (100), comprising a housing (11) and a wheel (13) rotatably drivably received in the housing (11), the wheel (13) having a top side provided with a phosphor layer (13a) for converting an incident laser light beam into a reflected light beam, the wheel (13) further having a bottom side opposite to the top side, the bottom side being provided with cooling fins (13b) inducing an air flow flowing in a radial outward direction (Fig. 8A and 8B; [0102], [0108]), wherein the cooling fins (13b) are provided at a radial outward annular portion from a center axis of the wheel (13; Fig. 8A and 8B), the laser reflection unit further comprising a heat exchanger (21) received in the housing (11; Fig. 5 and 10) for cooling the air flow flowing from the wheel (13), the heat exchanger (21) extending along a mainly circumferential contour coaxial with the center axis of the wheel (13; Fig. 4A, 4B, 5 and 10), the heat exchanger (21) further including heat absorber fins (21a); wherein an inner surface of the housing (11) is shaped for guiding the air flow from the cooling fins in the radial outward direction axially downwardly into and through the absorber fins (21a; Fig. 5 and 10); wherein the inner surface of the housing (11) includes curved corner sections (11e) that are configured in a way to provide the air flow a circular air path, in a cross sectional view of the laser reflection unit.
Yoshikawa ‘317 does not explicitly teach the cooling fins are directly placed underneath the phosphor layer.
Yamagishi teaches the cooling fins are directly placed underneath the phosphor layer (Fig. 4-5). On the other hand, Yoshikawa ‘314 teaches the air flow being guided through the bottom side of the phosphor wheel (Fig. 5).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skills in the art at the time of the invention to combine Yoshikawa ‘317 with Yamagishi and Yoshikawa ‘314; because improved air flow on the bottom surface of the phosphor wheel.
Neither Yoshikawa ‘317, Yamagishi nor Yoshikawa ‘314 teaches the housing chamber having a curved corner sections on an outer peripheral portion of the housing chamber.
Having a curved corner sections on an outer peripheral portion of the housing chamber does not necessarily affect the air flow within the housing chamber. A small radius of curvature has no affect on the air flow, but the large radius of curvature would have an affect on the air flow.
Lacking criticality to the functionality of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skills in the art at the time of the invention; because it is a matter of design choice. Furthermore, it has been held that change in shape that does not affect the functionality of the reference device is prima facie obvious. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966) (The court held that the configuration of the claimed disposable plastic nursing container was a matter of choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration of the claimed container was significant.).
Regarding claim 2, Yoshikawa ‘317 further teaches the housing inner surface defines a composed chamber structure having a radial center portion receiving a central portion of the wheel (13), and a radial outer annular portion receiving the heat exchanger (21).
Regarding claim 3, Yoshikawa ‘317 further teaches the radial outer annular portion of the chamber has a mainly toroidal shape (Fig. 2, 3, 5, 6A, 6B, 10, 11, 12A, 12B).
Regarding claims 4 and 16, Yoshikawa ‘317 further teaches the housing inner surface defines a ceiling (11a), a radial outer side wall (11b), and a floor (11d) of the radial outer annular chamber portion to form the outer peripheral portion of the housing chamber (Fig. 2, 3, 5, 6A, 6B, 10, 11, 12A, 12B).
Regarding claim 6, Yoshikawa ‘317 further teaches the housing inner surface defines a smooth wall contour at a radial outward portion of the housing (11; Fig. 6A and 6B).
Regarding claims 7 and 18, Yoshikawa ‘317 further teaches the housing inner surface has a central inwardly depressed portion (11e) defining a raised floor (11d) of the radial center chamber portion (Fig. 5 and 10).
Regarding claims 9 and 20, Yoshikawa ‘317 further teaches the wheel (13) is located at an upper part of the radial center chamber portion such that the cooling fins (13b) extend into the radial outer annular chamber portion (Fig. 5 and 10).
Regarding claim 10, Yoshikawa ‘317 further teaches the housing inner surface and the cooling fins (13b) are arranged for generating an air flow circulating in a cross sectional view of the radial outer annular chamber portion (Fig. 5, 8A, 8B, and 10).
Regarding claim 11, Yoshikawa ‘317 further teaches the wheel (13) is the only air flow inducing element (Fig. 10-11; [0133]).
Regarding claim 12, Yoshikawa ‘317 further teaches the heat exchanger (21) includes a tubing (24) provided with a fluid input port and a fluid output port ([0078]), the heat exchanger (21) further including the heat absorber fins (21a) attached to the tubing (24) and extending in a mainly transverse direction to a local tubing (24) body axis (Fig. 4A, 4B).
Regarding claim 13, Yoshikawa ‘317 further teaches the housing (11) is mainly coaxial with the wheel (13; Fig. 2, 5, 10 and 11).
Regarding claim 14, Yoshikawa ‘317 further teaches the unit includes a single fan only, for inducing the air flow, the single fan being formed by the wheel (13) rotatably drivably received in the housing (11; Fig. 10-11; [0133]).
Regarding claim 15, Yoshikawa ‘317 further teaches the unit includes a single movable unit only formed by the wheel (13) rotatably drivably received in the housing (11; Fig. 10-11; [0133]).
Claims 5, 8, 17 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoshikawa ‘317 (US 20180088317 A1) in view of Yamagishi (US 20200089092 A1) and Yoshikawa “314 (US 20190146314 A1) and in further view of Kitade (US 20190313065 A1).
Regarding claims 5, 8, 17 and 19, Yoshikawa ‘317 further teaches the curved corner sections are defined as curved edge sections (Fig. 5, 6A, 6B) between the ceiling (11a) and the radial outer side wall (11b) and guiding the air flow from the heat exchanger (21) towards the wheel (13), but does not teach the curved corner sections between the floor (11d) and the radial outer side wall (11b) or the curved corner sections run from the radial outer annular chamber portion floor (11d) via a curved edge section towards the radial center chamber portion (11e).
Kitade teaches having curved corner sections (11c) between the floor and the radial outer side wall or the curved corner sections run from the radial outer annular chamber portion floor via a curved edge section towards the radial center chamber portion (Fig. 13).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skills in the art at the time of the invention to combine Yoshikawa ‘317, Yamagishi and Yoshikawa ‘314 with Kitade; because it improves airflow.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to claim 1 have been considered but are found not persuasive; hence the rejection/s of all pending claims are maintained.
Regarding claim 1, applicant/s argue,
Claim 1 recites, at least in part, that the inner surface of the housing chamber having
curved corner sections on an outer peripheral portion of the housing chamber that is configured in a way to provide the air flow a circular air path, in a cross sectional view of the laser reflection unit.
None of Yoshikawa '317, Yamagishi, Yoshikawa '314, and Kitade, taken alone or in combination, discloses or suggests the same combination of features as recited in claim 1.
While it is suggested on pages 3 and 4 of the Office Action that Yoshikawa '317 teaches curved corner sections referencing the updraft guide l1e, Applicant respectfully disagrees and further submits that Yoshikawa '317 teaches a different structure than recited in claim 1. For example, as shown in the annotated FIG. 1 below, the features recited in claim 1 are at least directed to an inner surface of the housing being shaped for guiding the air flow from the cooling fins in the radial outward direction axially downwardly into and through the absorber fins, in which the inner surface of the housing chamber includes curved corner sections on an outer peripheral portion of the housing chamber that is configured in a way to provide the air flow a circular air path, in a cross sectional view of the laser reflection unit. As such, one having ordinary skill in the art would have understood that a pressurization fan is not required, at least due in part to the structure of the inner surface having the curved corner sections along the outer peripheral of the housing chamber, which causes the pattern of the air flow to be more circular and offers minimum air resistance, e.g., a specific combination of features as recited in claim 1.
On the other hand, Yoshikawa '317 teaches lid portion 1la described as a "substantially quadrangular plate-shaped member" in paragraphs [0087] and outer cylindrical portion 1lb described as a "substantially circular cylindrical member that forms the side surface of casing unit 11" in paragraphs [0092]. Where the quadrangular lid portion 11 a meets the circular cylindrical outer portion 11 b, "corners" are formed at the four points of the cross section where the straight edges of the quadrangular lid intersect with the curved surface of the cylinder. There is no indication in Yoshikawa '317 that the inner surface of the housing chamber having curved corner sections on an outer peripheral portion of the housing chamber that is configured in a way to provide the air flow a circular air path, in a cross sectional view of the laser reflection unit, as recited in claim 1. (Remarks; 7-8).
Examiner respectfully disagrees. As acknowledged above, neither Yoshikawa ‘317, Yamagishi nor Yoshikawa ‘314 teaches the housing chamber having a curved corner sections on an outer peripheral portion of the housing chamber. Having a curved corner sections on an outer peripheral portion of the housing chamber does not necessarily affect the air flow within the housing chamber. A small/insignificant radius of curvature has no effect on the air flow, but the large or large enough radius of curvature would have an effect on the air flow. The claim does not limit the curve portion to a structure that affects the functionality of the housing chamber. Lacking criticality to the functionality of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skills in the art at the time of the invention; because it is a matter of design choice. Furthermore, it has been held that change in shape that does not affect the functionality of the reference device is prima facie obvious. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966) (The court held that the configuration of the claimed disposable plastic nursing container was a matter of choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration of the claimed container was significant.).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Any response to this action should be mailed to:
Commissioner for Patents
P.O. Box 1450
Alexandria, Virginia 22313-1450
Or faxed to:
(571) 273-8300, (for formal communications intended for entry)
Or:
(571) 273-7490, (for informal or draft communications, please label “PROPOSED” or “DRAFT”)
Hand-delivered responses should be brought to:
Customer Service Window
Randolph Building
401 Dulany Street
Alexandria, VA 22314
/BAO-LUAN Q LE/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2882