DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed 09/08/2026 has been entered. Claims 1-4, 7-8, 11-16, and 18-23 remain pending in the application. Claims 11-16 and 18-21 remain withdrawn. Claims 1-4, 7-8, and 22-23 remain rejected. Applicant’s amendments to the Claims have overcome each and every 112(b) rejection previously set forth in the Final Office Action mailed 06/08/2026, except where otherwise stated.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim(s) 22 and 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 22, the Applicant’s Specification fails to provide support for “the edible sheet has an elasticity in a range of 0.7 to 2.0”. The Specification only uses units of seconds for elasticity, and the claimed range, found in Paragraph 0078 of the Specification, has units of seconds. There is not a written description of elasticity as a unitless quantity. Additionally, changing the units of a range of values necessitates a change in numerical value unless the units are identical in meaning. For example, 1,800 seconds is equivalent to 0.5 hours, not 1,800 hours. Therefore, an identical range of elasticity values with different units to those shown in the Specification would require different numerical values to be supported by the Applicant’s Disclosure. Consequently, claim 22 is rejected for failing to comply with the written description requirement.
Claim 23 is rejected as a result of depending upon rejected claim 22.
Claims 22-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Also, regarding claim 22, it is unclear how elasticity can be a unitless quantity, and the Applicant’s Specification fails to demonstrate how a unitless value representing elasticity is determined. Therefore, it is unclear what the claimed elasticity in a range of 0.7 to 2.0 actually represents, and claim 22 is rejected as indefinite.
Claim 23 is rejected as indefinite as a result of depending upon indefinite claim 22.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chung (US 20140170291 A1) in view of Shay (US 20150237895 A1), Schultz (US 20190364937 A1), Inoue (WO 2015170631 A1), Tutuncu (US 20030118628 A1), Vander (WO 2010103483 A2), Miyake (JP H02100645 A), Karwowski (US 20060246195 A1), Horie (JP S62134070 A), Choi (KR 20180010518 A), and Trinh (US 20160066587 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Chung teaches (Paragraph 0003, 0021-0025) novel laver (seaweed) snacks produced by using cereal sheets, wherein a bonding solution is applied to a cereal sheet (grain sheet), a laver (seaweed) sheet is applied to the cereal sheet with the bonding solution, the cereal sheet and the laver sheet are pressed together to prepare a double-layer sheet, and oil (moisture barrier layer comprising a moisture barrier material) is applied on the double-layer sheet (where the oil applied to the double-layer sheet must necessarily be applied on at least one side of the bonded sheet). Chung further teaches (Paragraph 0041) the oil (moisture barrier layer) may be any oil permitted for food preparation (edible oil).
Chung is silent on the moisture barrier layer comprising the moisture barrier material being formed on one surface of a bonding portion where the grain sheet and the seaweed sheet are bonded or both sides of the bonded sheet. Also, Chung is silent on the edible oil and fat comprising at least one selected from the group consisting of hydrogenated palm kernel oil, and palm olein oil. Chung is further silent on the edible sheet having a moisture content of 0.5 wt% or higher and less than 3.0 wt% per 1 g of the edible sheet 60 days immediately after freezing. Additionally, Chung is silent on the grain sheeting having a thickness in a range of 0.1 mm to 0.6 mm.
Shay teaches (Paragraph 0004, 0052) an edible paper-like sheet, wherein both sides of the sheet may be coated with the food grade oil (moisture barrier layer).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Chung as modified above to form the moisture barrier layer on both sides of the bonded sheet in view of Shay since both are directed to edible sheet food products with an oil moisture barrier layer since an edible sheet with an oil moisture barrier layer on both sides is known in the art as shown by Shay, since the coatings of oil enhance the moisture barrier (Shay, Paragraph 0052) so providing the oil on both sides of the bonded sheet would ensure that neither the grain nor the seaweed absorbs undesired moisture, and since the coatings of oil preserve the integrity of the sheet when it comes in contact with other materials (Shay, Paragraph 0052) so providing the oil/moisture barrier layer on both sides would preserve the integrity of both the grain and seaweed sheets.
Inoue teaches (Page 1, 7) an oil and fat composition for coating seaweed, wherein the type of fat or oil that may be used for coating the laver includes palm kernel oil, and the processed oils and fats may be hydrogenated.
Schultz teaches (Paragraph 0012, 0032, 0049, 0051) coating a cereal piece in a composition comprising an acid component and an oil component, wherein the oil component comprises one or more edible oils/fats including hydrogenated palm kernel oil, and wherein the cereal piece comprises a grain-based core that may be rice in some embodiments.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Chung to use or include hydrogenated palm kernel oil in the edible oil and fat in view of Schultz and Inoue, since each of Chung, Schultz, and Inoue is directed to a seaweed and or grain product treated with oil and fat, since Chung teaches (Paragraph 0041) the oil (moisture barrier layer) may be any oil permitted for food preparation (edible oil), since coating seaweed with hydrogenated palm kernel oil is known in the art from Inoue, since coating grains including rice with hydrogenated palm kernel oil is known in the art from Schultz, since an oil and fat composition that may be hydrogenated palm kernel oil can improve the flavor of the laver, even after storage, enhance saltiness while using less salt and raw materials, improve the umami, and enhance spiciness (Inoue, Page 8), since hydrogenated palm kernel oil is known as a particularly preferred food ingredient for oral comfort, e.g., lubricate, coat and/or moisten, the oral cavity (Tutuncu, Paragraph 0033, 0034), and since hydrogenated palm kernel oil is a preferred coating for a food product since such fats function as a moisture barrier, which minimizes the risk for intrusion of moisture into the food product, but fully melts in the mouth (Vander, Page 13, lines 22-30).
Furthermore, providing hydrogenated palm kernel oil as a moisture barrier for a bonded sheet would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, since selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use is prima facie obvious (See MPEP 2144.07), and hydrogenated palm kernel oil is a known coating material for seaweed and grain food products as demonstrated above by Schultz and Inoue.
Miyake teaches (Page 1, lines 13-15; Page 2, lines 90-82; Page 3, lines 107-109) a frozen mochi processed product, wherein mochi made from 100% glutinous rice (grain) may be used, and, in certain embodiments, the mochi may be wrapped in seaweed and quickly frozen and stored in a frozen state.
Karwowski teaches (Paragraph 0035, 0099) a whole grain, shredded chip-like snack having a substantially uniform shredded net-like appearance and a crisp, shredded texture obtained by substantially compressing a laminate of net-like sheets of the shredded whole grain pellets, wherein products of the present invention may have a moisture content of less than about 5% by weight, preferably about 0.5 to about 3 weight percent.
Horie teaches (Page 2, lines 65-66, 75-77) a laver (seaweed) made by applying oil uniformly and heating with a moisture content of about 2%.
Choi teaches (Paragraph 0001, 0023) a method for producing kelp powder tea by mixing red yeast germinated brown rice powder and kelp powder, wherein fermented germinated brown rice is subjected to freeze-drying so that the moisture content becomes 1.3 to 1.5%, and then the rice is stored frozen, prior to crushing to powder. Choi further teaches (Paragraph 0029) cut kelp (seaweed) is subjected to freeze-drying so that the moisture content becomes 1.3 to 1.5%, and then the kelp is stored frozen, prior to crushing to powder.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Chung to make the edible sheet a frozen edible sheet with a moisture content of 0.5 wt% or higher and less than 3.0 wt% in view of Miyake, Karwowski, Horie, and Choi since each of Chung, Miyake, Karwowski, Horie, and Choi are directed to food products comprising grains and/or seaweed, since grains and seaweed, the two moisture containing components of the bonded sheet, are known to be prepared with moisture contents of 0.5 wt% or higher and less than 3.0 wt% as shown by Karwowski and Horie, since storing frozen grain and frozen seaweed with moisture contents of 0.5 wt% or higher and less than 3.0 wt% is known in the art as shown by Choi, since freezing a food product comprising grains and seaweed is known in the art as shown by Miyake, since both freezing and reduction of moisture content are well known methods of preservation that will extend the shelf life of the edible sheet and allow for transportation for distribution, so that a consumer may eat the edible sheet at a preferred time and location, since the original color, taste, and aroma of the germinated brown rice are not lost under the freeze-drying conditions of a moisture content of 1.3 to 1.5% (Choi, Paragraph 0023), and since the original color, taste, and aroma of kelp are not lost under the freeze-drying conditions of a moisture content of 1.3 to 1.5% (Choi, Paragraph 0029).
Furthermore, the claimed moisture content of 0.5 wt% or higher and less than 3.0 wt% per 1 g of the edible sheet 60 days immediately after freezing would have been used during the course of normal experimentation and optimization procedures in the method of Chung based upon factors such as the intended texture of the edible sheet (where less moisture will make the sheet harder and more brittle while more moisture will make the sheet softer), the type of seaweed and grain used to produce the edible sheet, the structural integrity of the edible sheet (where too little moisture will make the sheet brittle while excess moisture will make the sheet soft and unrigid), consumer preferences in moisture content, desired storage life (where excess moisture can allow bacteria to grow), the intended storage period (where lowering the temperature below freezing and removing moisture will extend the shelf life of the product), etc. Furthermore, the Applicant does not appear to have identified any unique or unexpected benefit from the claimed moisture content of 0.5 wt% or higher and less than 3.0 wt% per 1 g of the edible sheet 60 days immediately after freezing that would render it non-obvious.
Trinh teaches (Paragraph 0012, 0013) a wrapped salad comprising an edible wrapper enclosing one or more salad ingredients, wherein the edible wrapper is preferably rice paper (grain sheet). Trinh further teaches (Paragraph 0083) the rice papers can have a thickness of about 0.4 mm to about 0.9 mm (which overlaps with the claimed range of 0.1 mm to 0.6 mm).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Chung, as modified above, to configure the grain sheet with a thickness in a range of 0.1 mm to 0.6 mm in view of Trinh since both are directed to food products comprising grain sheets that may be made of rice, since a grain sheet with a thickness of 0.4 mm to about 0.9 mm (which overlaps with the claimed range of 0.1 mm to 0.6 mm) is known in the art as shown by Trinh, since compared with another type of processed wrapper (grain sheet), such as wheat-based and corn-based tortilla sheets, that typically has a thickness greater than 1 mm, the rice paper does not unnecessarily add extra caloric content and bulkiness to the food product (Trinh, Paragraph 0081), since the rice paper is resilient, somewhat stretchable, and fairly sticky which helps the salad portion held together well, the rice paper is also translucent, and thus allows the salad ingredients to be partially visible to increase their taste appeal (Trinh, Paragraph 0081), and since some consumers will prefer grain sheets with a thickness in a range of 0.1 mm to 0.6 mm due to preferences and needs in portion size and calorie content.
Regarding claim 2, Chung teaches (Paragraph 0032) the term "cereal sheet" refers to a thin sheet of any shape that is prepared by using cereals such as rice powder and/or starch, and water.
Regarding claim 3, as shown above, Chung teaches (Paragraph 0023) preparing the bonded sheet using a laver sheet.
Regarding claim 4, Chung teaches (Paragraph 0036) the cereal sheet may be attached to the laver sheet by using a bonding solution selected from alternatives including water, salt water, and starch water.
Regarding claim 8, Chung is silent on the edible sheet being a frozen edible sheet.
Miyake teaches (Page 1, lines 13-15; Page 2, lines 90-82; Page 3, lines 107-109) a frozen mochi processed product, wherein mochi made from 100% glutinous rice (grain) may be used, and, in certain embodiments, the mochi may be wrapped in seaweed and quickly frozen and stored in a frozen state.
Choi teaches (Paragraph 0001, 0023) a method for producing kelp powder tea by mixing red yeast germinated brown rice powder and kelp powder, wherein fermented germinated brown rice is subjected to freeze-drying so that the moisture content becomes 1.3 to 1.5%, and then the rice is stored frozen, prior to crushing to powder. Choi further teaches (Paragraph 0029) cut kelp (seaweed) is subjected to freeze-drying so that the moisture content becomes 1.3 to 1.5%, and then the kelp is stored frozen, prior to crushing to powder.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Chung to make the edible sheet a frozen edible sheet in view of Miyake and Choi since each of Chung, Miyake, and Choi are directed to food products comprising grains and/or seaweed, since storing frozen grain and frozen seaweed is known in the art as shown by Choi, since freezing a food product comprising grains and seaweed is known in the art as shown by Miyake, since both freezing and reduction of moisture content are well known methods of preservation that will extend the shelf life of the edible sheet and allow for transportation for distribution, so that a consumer may eat the edible sheet at a preferred time and location, since the original color, taste, and aroma of the germinated brown rice are not lost under the freeze-drying conditions of a moisture content of 1.3 to 1.5% (Choi, Paragraph 0023), and since the original color, taste, and aroma of kelp are not lost under the freeze-drying conditions of a moisture content of 1.3 to 1.5% (Choi, Paragraph 0029).
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chung (US 20140170291 A1) in view of Shay (US 20150237895 A1), Schultz (US 20190364937 A1), Inoue (WO 2015170631 A1), Tutuncu (US 20030118628 A1), Vander (WO 2010103483 A2), Miyake (JP H02100645 A), Karwowski (US 20060246195 A1), Horie (JP S62134070 A), Choi (KR 20180010518 A), and Trinh (US 20160066587 A1), and further in view of Palm kernel Safety Data Sheet.
Regarding claim 7, Chung is silent on the edible oil and fat being in a solid or semi-solid state at room temperature.
As shown above, It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Chung to use hydrogenated palm kernel oil as the edible oil and fat for the reasons stated above with regard to claim 1.
Furthermore, it is known in the art that hydrogenated palm kernel oil is a solid at room temperature.
For example, Palm kernel Safety Data Sheet teaches (Section 3, 9) Hydrogenated Palm Kernel Oil is soft solid with a melting point of 110°F (above room temperature).
Claim(s) 22-23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chung (US 20140170291 A1) in view of Shay (US 20150237895 A1), Schultz (US 20190364937 A1), Inoue (WO 2015170631 A1), Tutuncu (US 20030118628 A1), Vander (WO 2010103483 A2), Miyake (JP H02100645 A), Karwowski (US 20060246195 A1), Horie (JP S62134070 A), Choi (KR 20180010518 A), and Trinh (US 20160066587 A1), and further in view of Villagran (US 20120021113 A1).
Regarding claim 22, Chung does not explicitly state that the edible sheet has a hardness in a range of 500 gf to 800 gf, and an elasticity in a range of 0.7 to 2.0.
However, Chung, as modified above, teaches the claimed bonded sheet, and therefore, the bonded sheet of the prior art would be expected to possess the same properties, including hardness and elasticity, as that of the claimed invention.
Additionally, the claimed hardness in a range of 500 gf to 800 gf and elasticity in a range of 0.7 to 2.0 would have been used during the course of normal experimentation and optimization procedures in producing the product of Chung, as modified above, based upon factors such as the type of seaweed and grain used (where different seaweeds and grains would have different structural and texture properties that would affect the hardness and elasticity), the relative amounts of seaweed sheet, grains sheet, and oil used to prepared the bonded sheet, the extent and type of treatment of the bonded sheet (where heating and/or cooling can affect the hardness and elasticity of the bonded sheet), the serving temperature of the edible sheet, the moisture content of the edible sheet, the desired mouthfeel of the edible sheet, etc. Furthermore, the Applicant has neither demonstrated the criticality nor identified any unique or unexpected benefit of the claimed hardness in a range of 500 gf to 800 gf and elasticity in a range of 0.7 to 2.0 that would render it non-obvious.
Furthermore, since Chung is silent with regards to hardness in a range of 500 g to 800 g one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to look to the art for suitable hardness values.
Villagran teaches (Paragraph 0013, 0096) a fabricated snack product made from rice flour (grain sheet) with a hardness from about 100 gf to about 750 gf (which overlaps with the claimed range of 500 to 800).
Selection of a known hardness (material property value) based on its suitability for its intended use (grain based food product) supports a prima facie obviousness determination (See MPEP 2144.07).
Regarding claim 23, the claim limitations appear to be directed to a method of sampling or testing product properties, rather than actual processing steps or ingredients in making the claimed composition, and thus hold little weight in the product claims present in this application. Furthermore, the product of Chung, as modified in view of the secondary references, would be expected to exhibit the same material properties as those sampled and tested by the applicant due to the use of the same materials. It is acknowledged that, in some instances, the process of measuring would affect the result. However, as previously stated, the claimed hardness and elasticity would have been used during the course of normal experimentation and optimization procedures in producing the product of Chung, as modified above, for the reasons explained above with regard to claim 22, and, therefore, the method of measuring the hardness and elasticity in claim 23 would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art in view of the prior art.
Response to Arguments
Applicant' s arguments, see pages 5-6, filed 09/08/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 22-23 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) have been fully considered, but are not persuasive.
Regarding the Applicant’s argument that, although time is measured in seconds during the test, the elasticity parameter is calculated from a ratio of measured time values rather than from time itself and therefore has no separate unit, as demonstrated by the determination of Springiness in Exhibit A, "Stable Micro Systems Texture Profile Analysis (TPA)" and the deletion of "seconds" merely clarifies the unitless nature of the recited elasticity parameter and does not alter the claimed numerical range or the manner in which elasticity is determined, the Examiner respectfully disagrees. “Springiness” as described in the cited NPL document does not appear to be the same parameter as the claimed “elasticity”. The closest the NPL comes to saying that elasticity is the same as springiness is (Page 9) "If the test speed is too slow when testing a sample with elastic recovery (springy) the sample may recover quicker than the test speed and the graph will display positive force during this period instead of any expected negative adhesive measurement (if applicable)." However, this does not clearly define elasticity as being the same as springiness, but merely indicates that the two parameters are related. Furthermore, the Applicant's Specification also never uses "springiness" and elasticity appears to only be used with units of time, which suggests that these are not identical parameters. Consequently, the 112(b) rejection is maintained, and a further rejection under 35 USC 112(a) for failing to meet the written description requirement has been made as shown above.
Applicant' s arguments, see pages 6-8, filed 09/08/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, these arguments have been made in view of amendments to the claims, and, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made over Chung (US 20140170291 A1) in view of Shay (US 20150237895 A1), Schultz (US 20190364937 A1), Inoue (WO 2015170631 A1), Tutuncu (US 20030118628 A1), Vander (WO 2010103483 A2), Miyake (JP H02100645 A), Karwowski (US 20060246195 A1), Horie (JP S62134070 A), Choi (KR 20180010518 A), and Trinh (US 20160066587 A1) as shown above.
Regarding the Applicant’s argument that none of the cited references teaches that grain-sheet thickness affects formability, resistance to cracking during long-term distribution or storage, or texture and thus, the cited art provides no basis for reasonably expecting that selecting a grain sheet within the claimed thickness range would provide the combination of physical properties expressly associated with that range in the present application, the fact that the inventor has recognized another advantage which would flow naturally from following the suggestion of the prior art cannot be the basis for patentability when the differences would otherwise be obvious. See Ex parte Obiaya, 227 USPQ 58, 60 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1985).
Therefore, for the reasons stated above, claim 1 and all dependent claims remain rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Ikeda (US 4784864 A) teaches wrapper for wrapping two different foods, such as a mass of compressed rice and a dried seaweed sheet.
/AUSTIN PARKER TAYLOR/Examiner, Art Unit 1792
/VIREN A THAKUR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1792