DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 18 December 2023 was filed after the mailing date of the final rejection on May 28, 2025. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 116, 119-120, 121-122, 124-125, 126, 127, 128, 130, 131, and 132 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 116, 120-122, 124-126, 128, and 130-132 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fouet (US 2018/0312640 A1) and further in view of Antkowiak (US 2020/0010989 A1).
Regarding claim 116, Fouet teaches a liquid-based encapsulation system comprising
an electronic material (4),
a coating material (3) conformally surrounding the electronic material, wherein the coating material comprises a polymer (3 is a polyorganosiloxine resin; see ¶ 0002) comprising a polymer matrix (¶ 0053: “Component C1… chloroplatinic acid, chloroplatinic acid hexahydrate, platinum dichloride and complexes of these compounds with organopolysiloxanes of low molecular weight or microencapsulated platinum compounds in a matrix”; ¶ 0028-0058: coating material 3 is made of three parts A, B, and C).
However, Fouet does not teach:
an encapsulating liquid infused into the polymer matrix to prevent diffusion of water past the encapsulating liquid or the coating material and to protect the electronic material from water.
Antkowiak, in the same field of invention, teaches an encapsulating system for an electronic device (Fig. 3, ¶ 0073) comprising
an encapsulating liquid (A; see abstract; ¶ 0066: “fibrous fabric 1 thus obtained is wetted (cf. photograph D of FIG. 2B) with a wetting liquid A (in this case water)”) infused into the polymer matrix (2; see ¶ 0064: polymer solution 2 made into fibrous fabric 1 consisting of nanofibers; ¶ 0043-¶ 0044: polymer-inorganic network formed between polymer materials and SiO2, TiO2, Fe2O3) to prevent diffusion of water past the encapsulating liquid or the coating material (¶ 0075: “a droplet of water falling onto the glass does not attach thereto"; also see ¶ 0076-¶ 0078) and to protect the electronic material from water (Fouet in view of Antkowiak teaches this; also see ¶0073 where Antkowiak teaches using this encapsulating liquid with electronic devices ).
A person of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective date of the claimed invention, will find it obvious to combine the teachings of Antkowiak into the device of Fouet to infuse an encapsulating liquid into the polymer matrix to prevent diffusion of water past the encapsulating liquid or the coating material and to protect the electronic material from water. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Fouet in the manner set forth above for at least the purpose of improving the encapsulating system for protecting electronic devices from mechanical stress and fatigue by making said devices stretchable (¶ 0073) and for the further purpose of having a self-cleaning surface (¶ 0074).
Regarding claim 120, the liquid-based encapsulation system of claim 116, wherein the polymer is selected from the group consisting of fluoropolymers (Antkowiak ¶ 0045: polyvinylidene fluoride-co-hexafluoropropylene; ¶ 0049: polyvinylidene fluoride ), butyl rubbers, silicones, polyethylene (¶ 0048: polyethylene oxide ), polystyrene, polyvinyl chloride, and combinations thereof.
Regarding claim 121, the liquid-based encapsulation system of claim 116, wherein the electronic material, the polymer, and the encapsulating liquid are disposed within a container (2; see Fouet Fig. 1 and ¶ 0062; note: Fouet in view of Antkowiak teaches replacing polymer 3 of Fouet with the polymer-infused liquid of Antkowiak).
Regarding claim 122, the liquid-based encapsulation system of claim 121, wherein the container is flexible (Antkowiak ¶ 0024, ¶ 0073: stretchable electronic circuit; also see ¶ 0018 )
Regarding claim 124, the liquid-based encapsulation system of claim 116, wherein the encapsulating liquid forms an overlayer (¶ 0067: A/B interface; plain meaning of overlay: to cover the surface of something) over the polymer (Antkowiak ¶ 0066-¶ 0067: fibrous fabric 1 is wetted, i.e., covered with a wetting liquid A and then immersed in fluid B, which is immiscible with the wetting liquid A, creating an A/B interface; ).
Regarding claim 125, the liquid-based encapsulation system of claim 124, wherein the overlayer protects the electronic material from water droplets and debris (Antkowiak ¶ 0075, ¶ 0077, ¶ 0078).
Regarding claim 126, the liquid-based encapsulation system of claim 124, wherein the polymer and overlayer are transparent (see Antkowiak Fig. 4: glasses with SLIPS (avec SLIPs) and without SLIPS (sans SLIPs) are both transparent ).
Regarding claim 128, the liquid-based encapsulation system of claim 116, wherein the coating material is a porous material (Antkowiak ¶ 0024: “Slippery Liquid-Infused Porous Surfaces”).
Regarding claim 130, the liquid-based encapsulation system of claim 116, wherein the electronic material is disposed within a container (2; see Fouet Fig. 1 and ¶ 0062).
Regarding claim 131, the liquid-based encapsulation system of claim 116, wherein the encapsulating liquid is selected from a group consisting of polyfluorinated oils, perfluorinated liquids, partially fluorinated liquids, hydrocarbons (Antkowiak ¶ 0016, ¶ 0038: oil, which is known in the art as hydrocarbons), organosilanes, silicone oils (Antkowiak ¶ 0074: silicone oil) , mineral oils, plant oils, and combinations thereof.
Regarding claim 132, the liquid-based encapsulation system of claim 116, wherein the electronic material is selected from a group consisting of photovoltaic cells, perovskite photovoltaic cells, integrated circuits, flexible circuits (Antkowiak ¶ 0073: a stretchable electronic circuit), and combinations thereof.
Claim 119 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fouet (US 2018/0312640 A1) in view of Antkowiak (US 2020/0010989 A1) as applied to claim 121 above, and further in view of Ferrer (US 2009/0032475 A1).
Regarding claim 119, Fouet in view of Antkowiak teaches the liquid-based encapsulation system of claim 116, and further teaches the polymer to be a fluoropolymer (Antkowiak ¶ 0045: polyvinylidene fluoride-co-hexafluoropropylene) fiber (¶ 0064). However, they do not teach: wherein the polymer is crosslinked.
Ferrer, in the same field of invention, teaches the polymer fiber (abstract: a fluoropolymer) that is crosslinked (¶ 0026).
A person of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective date of the claimed invention, will find it obvious to combine the teachings of Ferrer into the liquid-based encapsulation system of Fouet in view of Antkowiak to crosslink the polymer. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Fouet in view of Antkowiak in the manner set forth above for at least the purpose of improving the thermal and dimensional stability of the polymer by crosslinking (Ferrer ¶ 0026).
Claim 123 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fouet (US 2018/0312640 A1) in view of Antkowiak (US 2020/0010989 A1) as applied to claim 121 above, and further in view of Chiu (US 2020/0328139 A1).
Regarding claim 123, Fouet in view of Antkowiak teaches liquid-based encapsulation system of claim 121, but does not teach the device further comprising a water-removal unit fluidically connected to the container by an inlet and an outlet.
Chiu, in the same field of invention, teaches a device further comprising a water-removal unit (242; ¶ 0044: chilled water) fluidically connected to the container (240, 241) by an inlet (208) and an outlet (209).
A person of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective date of the claimed invention, will find it obvious to combine the teachings of Chiu into the liquid-based encapsulation system of Fouet in view of Antkowiak to add a water-removal unit connected to the container by an inlet and an outlet. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Fouet in view of Antkowiak in the manner set forth above for at least the purpose of using the water-removal unit as a pump (Chiu ¶ 0054) that circulates chilled water in a manifold (252; see Chiu ¶ 0047) that is surrounding the electronic material (205a, 205b) for the further purpose of improving heat dissipation (Chiu ¶ 0003).
Claim 127 and 136 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fouet (US 2018/0312640 A1) in view of Antkowiak (US 2020/0010989 A1), as applied to claim 116 above, and further in view of Aizenberg (US 2016/0032074 A1).
Regarding claim 127, Fouet in view of Antkowiak teaches the liquid-based encapsulation system of claim 116, but does not teach: wherein the encapsulating liquid comprises a plurality of encapsulating liquids forming a multi-layered system.
Aizenberg, in the same field of invention, teaches a liquid-based encapsulation system wherein the encapsulating liquid comprises a plurality of encapsulating liquids forming a multi-layered system (¶ 0193).
A person of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective date of the claimed invention, will find it obvious to combine the teachings of Aizenberg into the device of Fouet in view of Antkowiak to have the encapsulating liquid be comprised of a plurality of encapsulating liquids forming a multi-layered system. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Fouet in view of Antkowiak in the manner set forth above for at least the purpose of embodying desired gradient properties, such as non-porous glossy finish (Aizenberg ¶ 0193).
Regarding claim 136, Fouet in view of Antkowiak teaches the liquid-based encapsulation system of claim 116, but does not teach: wherein the encapsulating liquid is configured to be replenishable.
Aizenberg, in the same field of invention, teaches a liquid-based encapsulation system wherein the encapsulating liquid is configured to be replenishable (¶ 0181: “The lubricant-filled pores serve as reservoirs of lubricant to continuously replenish the lubricant at the interface and increase the service life of slippery materials/coatings.”)
A person of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective date of the claimed invention, will find it obvious to combine the teachings of Aizenberg into the device of Fouet in view of Antkowiak to configure the encapsulating liquid to be replenishable. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Fouet in view of Antkowiak in the manner set forth above for at least the purpose of improving the service life and longevity of slipperiness of the encapsulating liquid (Aizenberg ¶ 0181).
Furthermore, configuring the encapsulating liquid to be replenishable renders the claim to a product-by-process claim. Product-By-Process claims are not limited to the manipulations of the recited steps, only the structure implied by the steps. “Even though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process.” In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985) (citations omitted). See MPEP § 2113 (I).
Conclusion
/DOUGLAS YAP/Assistant Examiner, Art Unit 2899
/JOHN M PARKER/Examiner, Art Unit 2899