Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Kasai, Shigeru (US 20040144770 A1) in view of, if necessary, Matsuzawa; Yutaka et al.(US 20070095799 A1) in view of Robertson; Robert et al. (US 5366585 A). Kasai teaches a control system (24,26; Figure 1), comprising: a processing chamber (4; Figure 1) to perform a process including a plurality of deposition and etching steps ([0010],[0017],claim 5; “etching processes”; [0059]; “processing time”; throughout); and a controller (26, 24; Figure 1; [0019]-[0021]) programmed to: determine (“host computer”; not shown; [0022], [0040]) an amount of accumulation (Dt; Figure 1; [0022], [0023], [0040]-”thickness meter”) of material on inner surfaces of the processing chamber (4; Figure 1) during at least one of a deposition step ([0010],[0017],Claim 5) and an etching step (“etching processes”; [0059]; “processing time”; throughout) performed in the processing chamber (4; Figure 1) during the process; adjust a set point (“target values”, rt - [0022], [0023], [0040], [0031]) for a control parameter (“controlled parameter”, “processing conditions...processing pressure..processing time”; [0022], [0023], [0040]) for a subsequent one of the deposition step ([0010],[0017],Claim 5) and the etching step (“etching processes”; [0059]; “processing time”; throughout) based on (“on the basis of the set film thickness Dt”; Figure 1; [0023]) the amount (rt expression (1) of previous processing cycle n-1,n-2,...; [0031]) of accumulation (Dt; Figure 1; [0022], [0023], [0040]-”thickness meter”) of material on the wafer (not claimed) processing chamber (4; Figure 1); determine (“host computer”; not shown; [0022], [0040]) a correlation (ARMA; [0025]) between the adjustment to the set point (“target values”, rt - [0022], [0023], [0040], [0031]) for the control parameter (“controlled parameter”, “processing conditions...processing pressure..processing time”; [0022], [0023], [0040]) and the amount (rt expression (1) of previous processing cycle n-1,n-2,...; [0031]) of accumulation (Dt; Figure 1; [0022], [0023], [0040]-”thickness meter”) of material on the wafer (not claimed); and adjust the control parameter (“controlled parameter”, “processing conditions...processing pressure..processing time”; [0022], [0023], [0040]) by an adjustment amount (rt expression (1) of previous processing cycle n-1,n-2,...; [0031]) for a next one of the deposition step ([0010],[0017],Claim 5) and the etching step (“etching processes”; [0059]; “processing time”; throughout) based on (“on the basis of the set film thickness Dt”; Figure 1; [0023]) the correlation (ARMA; [0025]), wherein the adjustment amount (rt expression (1) of previous processing cycle n-1,n-2,...; [0031]) compensates for a current amount (rt expression (1) of previous processing cycle n-1,n-2,...; [0031]) of accumulation (Dt; Figure 1; [0022], [0023], [0040]-”thickness meter”) of material on the wafer (not claimed) - claim 1.
Kasai further teaches:
The controller (26, 24; Figure 1; [0019]-[0021]) of claim 1, wherein the control parameter (“controlled parameter”, “processing conditions...processing pressure..processing time”; [0022], [0023], [0040]) is an amount of pressure within the processing chamber (4; Figure 1), and wherein the controller (26, 24; Figure 1; [0019]-[0021]) is programmed to determine (“host computer”; not shown; [0022], [0040]) the adjustment amount (rt expression (1) of previous processing cycle n-1,n-2,...; [0031]) using stored data (ARMA; [0025]) and adjust the amount of the pressure (“controller parameter”; [0022], [0023], [0040]) in accordance with the adjustment amount (rt expression (1) of previous processing cycle n-1,n-2,...; [0031]), as claimed by claim 2
The controller (26, 24; Figure 1; [0019]-[0021]) of claim 2, wherein the stored data (ARMA; [0025]) is a polynomial correlating accumulation (Dt; Figure 1; [0022], [0023], [0040]-”thickness meter”) amounts (rt expression (1) of previous processing cycle n-1,n-2,...; [0031]) to respective adjustment amounts (rt expression (1) of previous processing cycle n-1,n-2,...; [0031]), as claimed by claim 3
The controller (26, 24; Figure 1; [0019]-[0021]) of claim 2, wherein the adjustment amount (rt expression (1) of previous processing cycle n-1,n-2,...; [0031]) is a ratio (A(Z-1)/B(Z-1); [0029], [0030]) of (i) an amount of pressure required to compensate for the amount (rt expression (1) of previous processing cycle n-1,n-2,...; [0031]) of accumulation (Dt; Figure 1; [0022], [0023], [0040]-”thickness meter”) to (ii) a setpoint pressure (rt expression (1) for processing cycles (Figure 2) n; [0031]), as claimed by claim 4. Replace controlled parameter “temperature” with controlled parameter “pressure” in [0039]. See also [0056].
The controller (26, 24; Figure 1; [0019]-[0021]) of claim 2, wherein the controller (26, 24; Figure 1; [0019]-[0021]) is programmed to multiply a setpoint pressure (rt expression (1) for processing cycles (Figure 2) n; [0031]) by the adjustment amount (rt expression (1) of previous processing cycle n-1,n-2,...; [0031]) to adjust the control parameter (“controlled parameter”, “processing conditions...processing pressure..processing time”; [0022], [0023], [0040]), as claimed by claim 5
The controller (26, 24; Figure 1; [0019]-[0021]) of claim 1, wherein the controller (26, 24; Figure 1; [0019]-[0021]) is configured to determine (“host computer”; not shown; [0022], [0040]) the amount (rt expression (1) of previous processing cycle n-1,n-2,...; [0031]) of accumulation (Dt; Figure 1; [0022], [0023], [0040]-”thickness meter”) based on (“on the basis of the set film thickness Dt”; Figure 1; [0023]) at least one of a number of etching steps (“etching processes”; [0059]; “processing time”; throughout; Figure 2) performed within the processing chamber (4; Figure 1), a number of cycles (Figure 2) of etching steps (“etching processes”; [0059]; “processing time”; throughout; Figure 2) and deposition steps ([0010],[0017],Claim 5) performed within the processing chamber (4; Figure 1), a total duration (“control parameter” rt = “processing time”; [0010], [0022], [0027]) (“N”; [0042]-[0048]) of etching steps (“etching processes”; [0059]; “processing time”; throughout; Figure 2) and deposition steps ([0010],[0017],Claim 5) performed within the processing chamber (4; Figure 1), and a number of substrates processed within the processing chamber (4; Figure 1), as claimed by claim 6
The controller (26, 24; Figure 1; [0019]-[0021]) of claim 1, wherein the control parameter (“controlled parameter”, “processing conditions...processing pressure..processing time”; [0022], [0023], [0040]) is a duration (“control parameter” rt = “processing time”; [0010], [0022], [0027]) of the etching step (“etching processes”; [0059]; “processing time”; throughout), and wherein the controller (26, 24; Figure 1; [0019]-[0021]) is programmed to determine (“host computer”; not shown; [0022], [0040]) the adjustment amount (rt expression (1) of previous processing cycle n-1,n-2,...; [0031]) using stored data (ARMA; [0025]) and adjust a duration (“control parameter” rt = “processing time”; [0010], [0022], [0027]) of the etching step (“etching processes”; [0059]; “processing time”; throughout) in accordance with the adjustment amount (rt expression (1) of previous processing cycle n-1,n-2,...; [0031]), as claimed by claim 7
The controller (26, 24; Figure 1; [0019]-[0021]) of claim 7, wherein the adjustment amount (rt expression (1) of previous processing cycle n-1,n-2,...; [0031]) corresponds to an amount to increase the duration (“control parameter” rt = “processing time”; [0010], [0022], [0027]) of the etching step (“etching processes”; [0059]; “processing time”; throughout) to compensate for the amount of accumulation (Dt; Figure 1; [0022], [0023], [0040]-”thickness meter”), as claimed by claim 8
The controller (26, 24; Figure 1; [0019]-[0021]) of claim 7, wherein the controller (26, 24; Figure 1; [0019]-[0021]) is programmed to multiply the duration (“control parameter” rt = “processing time”; [0010], [0022], [0027]) of the etching step (“etching processes”; [0059]; “processing time”; throughout) by the adjustment amount (rt expression (1) of previous processing cycle n-1,n-2,...; [0031]) to adjust the control parameter (“controlled parameter”, “processing conditions...processing pressure..processing time”; [0022], [0023], [0040]), as claimed by claim 9
Kasai’s “set parameters”, discussed throughout, includes film thickness Dt and appears to be measured “by a thickness meter or the like” ([0040]) only between “processing cycles (Figure 2)” ([0038]; Figure 2). As a result, Kasai’s “set parameter” of an amount of accumulation (Dt; Figure 1; [0022], [0023], [0040]-”thickness meter”) of material on surfaces within the processing chamber (4; Figure 1) is not made during at least one of a deposition step ([0010],[0017],Claim 5) and an etching step (“etching processes”; [0059]; “processing time”; throughout) performed in the processing chamber (4; Figure 1). (Emphasis added).
However, the Examiner believes that a broad interpretation of Kasai’s discrete process of Figure 2 can be considered a single process and thus meet the claimed “during” clause. In the event that a broad interpretation of Kasai’s disclosure is not deemed accepted, then:
Matsuzawa also teaches a deposition apparatus (Figure 1) including “a thickness meter or the like” ([0040]; Kasai) being a “polarization analyzer” (7; Figure 1) for real-time film thickness measurement and process control ([0030],[0040]).
Kasai’s amount (rt expression (1) of previous processing cycle n-1,n-2,...; [0031]) of accumulation (Dt; Figure 1; [0022], [0023], [0040]-”thickness meter”) of material is measured only on Kasai’s wafers ([0004]). As a result, Kasai does not teach Kasai’s adjustment amount (rt expression (1) of previous processing cycle n-1,n-2,...; [0031]) compensates for a current amount (rt expression (1) of previous processing cycle n-1,n-2,...; [0031]) of accumulation (Dt; Figure 1; [0022], [0023], [0040]-”thickness meter”) of material on Kasai’s inner surfaces of Kasai’s processing chamber (4; Figure 1).
Robertson also discusses the problems caused when films accumulate on reactor walls (column 7; lines 5-10).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made for Kasai to use Matsuzawa’s “polarization analyzer” (7; Figure 1) for real-time film thickness measurement and process control as taught by Kasai’s “a thickness meter or the like” ([0040]; Kasai), further, for Kasai to measure Kasai’s inner surfaces of Kasai’s processing chamber (4; Figure 1).
Motivation for Kasai to use Matsuzawa’s “polarization analyzer” (7; Figure 1) for real-time film thickness measurement and process control as taught by Kasai’s “a thickness meter or the like” ([0040]; Kasai) is for “abnormality detection in real time” as taught by Matsuzawa ([0011]).
Motivation for Kasai to measure Kasai’s inner surfaces of Kasai’s processing chamber (4; Figure 1) is for monitoring “cleanliness” as taught by Kasai – “The interior of the processing vessel is cleaned periodically or indeterminately to remove the unnecessary films.” - ([0004]-[0005]) and Robertson – “As previously discussed, this results in the reactor chamber walls having film residue made of aluminum fluoride and other compounds which build up and flake off, causing particulate contamination within the reactor chamber.” (column 7; lines 5-10).
Claims 10 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kasai, Shigeru (US 20040144770 A1) in view of, if necessary, Matsuzawa; Yutaka et al.(US 20070095799 A1) and Robertson; Robert et al. (US 5366585 A) in view of Krivokapic; Zoran et al. (US 6586755 B1). Kasai, Matsuzawa, and Robertson are discussed above. Kasai, Matsuzawa, and Robertson do not teach:
The controller (26, 24; Figure 1; [0019]-[0021]) of claim 7, wherein the etching step (“etching processes”; [0059]; “processing time”; throughout) is a trimming step, as claimed by claim 10.
A system comprising the controller (26, 24; Figure 1; [0019]-[0021]) of claim 10,wherein the controller (26, 24; Figure 1; [0019]-[0021]) is further programmed to perform a spacer layer deposition step ([0010],[0017],Claim 5) within the processing chamber (4; Figure 1) subsequent to the trim step, as claimed by claim 11.
Krivokapic also teaches a semiconductor film manufacturing process (Figure 5B) including a trimming step (542; Figure 5B) prior to a deposition step (547,548; Figure 5B).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made for Kasai to add Krivokapic’s trim and deposition sequence as taught by Krivokapic.
Motivation for Kasai to add Krivokapic’s trim and deposition sequence as taught by Krivokapic is for improving “final yield” as taught by Krivokapic (column 3; lines 24-32).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed July 14, 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant states:
“
However, the thickness of a film formed on a wafer is not the thickness of a film formed "on inner surfaces of the processing chamber" as now claimed, which Kasai does not disclose as explained in previous responses. Therefore, as the Examiner agreed during the interview, claim 1 defines over the cited art for at least these reasons. Dependent claims 2-9 ultimately depend from claim 1 and are therefore allowable for at least similar reasons as claim 1 and further due to the additional distinguishing limitations they recite.
“
In response, the Examiner’s new grounds of rejection applying Kasai, Shigeru (US 20040144770 A1), Matsuzawa; Yutaka et al.(US 20070095799 A1) and not Robertson; Robert et al. (US 5366585 A) is proposed above as a result of the July 14th 2025 amendment.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Process control including US 7201174 B2; US 20180033672 A1; US 20210143037 A1; and US 20020180449 A1 describe similar controllers.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Examiner Rudy Zervigon whose telephone number is (571) 272- 1442. The examiner can normally be reached on a Monday through Thursday schedule from 8am through 6pm EST. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Any Inquiry of a general nature or relating to the status of this application or proceeding should be directed to the Chemical and Materials Engineering art unit receptionist at (571) 272-1700. If the examiner cannot be reached please contact the examiner's supervisor, Parviz Hassanzadeh, at (571) 272- 1435.
/Rudy Zervigon/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1716