DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-12 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. Claim 1 was amended to recite the physical modifying a surface of a chamber component before using the chamber component in a process chamber. This amendment necessitated the introduction of the prior art of Popiolkowski et al (US 2004/0056211) where in [0082] recites that the cleaning process is completed after all the texturizing process steps have been completed, but prior to the step of placing the component in a process chamber. New claims 26-30 were also introduced with the step that the physical modifying a surface of a chamber component before using the chamber component in a process chamber.
Applicant argues that the prior art of SK Siltron does not determine the film thickness based on the measured parameter. Note that the prior art of SK Siltron measures the temperature of the wafer and the susceptor (heated pedestal due to heater 600) using the pyrometer 700. According to SK Siltron the RPM or rotation speed of the heated pedestal is also determined and the RPM is used to determine the film thickness see Figs. 5b and 6b of Sk Siltron. SK Siltron also teaches that the quality of the cleaning and the quality of the Si film is determined. Applicant also argues that the prior art of SK Siltron and Lin fail to teach modifying the surface of the chamber component by changing the surface area in different regions of the surface. Note that bead blasting is performed in the prior art of Lin to various regions along the surface of the chamber component see Figs. 1A-1E of Lin.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-9, 11, 12 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-12 and 37-41 of copending Application No. 16/718, 029 (reference application) in view of Popiokowski et al (US 2004/0056211).
Regarding claim 1: See claim 1 of the reference application where the step of measuring a parameter of a reference substrate or a heated pedestal using one or more sensors and modifying a surface of a chamber component (texturizing the surface of a chamber component) based on the measured parameter. The reference application (claim 1) also claims the step of determining deposition film thickness non-uniformities or thermal non-uniformities across the reference substrate or the heated pedestal based on the measured parameter; and physically modifying a surface of a chamber component physically based on the determined deposition film thickness non-uniformities or thermal non-uniformities.
The reference application fails to claim that the physical modifying a surface of a chamber component before using the chamber component in a process chamber.
The prior art of Popiolkowski et al teaches a method of surface texturizing a wafer and chamber components. See [0082] of Popiolkowski et al where it is recited that the cleaning process and texturizing steps are completed, but prior to the step of placing the component in a process chamber. The motivation to modify the method of the reference application with the step of physical modifying (texturizing) a surface of a chamber component before using the chamber component in a process chamber ensures that the contamination of chamber is minimized by ensuring foreign matter does not accumulate as any detached or flaked off materials has been texturized/modified away as suggested by Popiolkowski et al. Thus, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the method of the reference application with the step of physical modifying (texturizing) a surface of a chamber component before using the chamber component in a process chamber ensures that the contamination of chamber is minimized by ensuring foreign matter does not accumulate as any detached or flaked off materials has been texturized/modified away as suggested by Popiolkowski et al.
Regarding claim 2: See the recitation of different emissivity in claim 1 of the reference application.
Regarding claim 3: See claim 4 of the reference application where the chamber component is texturized (modifying) via laser, water jetting, bead blasting, or chemical texturing.
Regarding claim 4: See claims 5 and 23 of the reference application.
Regarding claim 5: See claims 1 and 6 of the reference application.
Regarding claim 6: See claim 7 of the reference application.
Regarding claim 7: See claim 8 of the reference application.
Regarding claim 8: See claims 1 and 9 of the reference application.
Regarding claim 9: See claims 10 and 22 of the reference application.
Regarding claim 11: See claim 11 of the reference application.
Regarding claim 12: See claim 12 of the reference application.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claim 10 and 26-30 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-12 and 37-41 of copending Application No. 16/718, 029 (reference application) in view of Popiokowski et al (US 2004/0056211), as applied to claims 1-9, 11, 12 above, and in further view of Lin et al (US 2005/0089699).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Regarding claim 10: The claims of the reference application as modified by the prior art of Popiolkowski et al were discussed above. The modification fails to claim the step of processing a substrate using the modified chamber component and reapplying the protective coating after processing the substrate.
The prior art of Lin et al teaches cleaning and refurbishing chamber components. Where [0003], [0019], [0030], and [0037]. Lin et al suggested that cleaning the chamber component and reapplied the coating to ensure that the chamber component is amply protected and not exposed to the chemical and physical stress of the manufacturing process. Thus, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the claimed invention to clean the chamber component and reapplied the coating to ensure that the chamber component of the reference application as modified by Popiolkowski et al that is amply protected as suggested by the prior art of Lin et al.
Regarding claim 26: See claim 1 of the reference application where the step of measuring a parameter of a reference substrate or a heated pedestal using one or more sensors and modifying a surface of a chamber component (texturizing the surface of a chamber component) based on the measured parameter. The reference application (claim 1) also claims the step of determining deposition film thickness non-uniformities or thermal non-uniformities across the reference substrate or the heated pedestal based on the measured parameter; and physically modifying a surface of a chamber component physically based on the determined deposition film thickness non-uniformities or thermal non-uniformities.
The reference application fails to claim that the surface comprises a bulk material of a chamber component..
The prior art of Lin et al teaches cleaning and refurbishing chamber components, where component made of the bulk material is interpreted as the material provided to the chamber when processing begins there is an original material when the component is previously unused and when it has been refurbished so that the component will be reused is has been texturized to refurbish it.
See also [0003], [0019], [0030], and [0037] of Lin et al. Lin et al suggested that cleaning the chamber component and reapplied the coating to ensure that the chamber component is amply protected and not exposed to the chemical and physical stress of the manufacturing process. Thus, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the claimed invention to clean the chamber component and reapplied the coating to ensure that the chamber component of the reference application is amply protected as suggested by the prior art of Lin et al.
The combined teachings of the reference application and Lin et al fail to specifically claim that the physical modifying a surface of a chamber component before using the chamber component in a process chamber.
The prior art of Popiolkowski et al teaches a method of surface texturizing a wafer and chamber components. See [0082] of Popiolkowski et al where it is recited that the cleaning process and texturizing steps are completed, but prior to the step of placing the component in a process chamber. The motivation to modify the method of the reference application and Lin et al with the step of physical modifying (texturizing) a surface of a chamber component made from bulk material before using the chamber component in a process chamber ensures that the contamination of chamber is minimized by ensuring foreign matter does not accumulate as any detached or flaked off materials has been texturized/modified away as suggested by Popiolkowski et al. Thus, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the method of the reference application with the step of physical modifying (texturizing) a surface of a chamber component before using the chamber component in a process chamber ensures that the contamination of chamber is minimized by ensuring foreign matter does not accumulate as any detached or flaked off materials has been texturized/modified away as suggested by Popiolkowski et al.
Regarding claim 27: See claims 1 and 5-9 of the reference application.
Regarding claim 28: See claims 10-12 of the reference application.
Regarding claim 29: See claim 23 of the reference application.
Regarding claim 30: See claims 1 and 9 of the reference application.
Claim 25 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-12 and 37-41 of copending Application No. 16/718, 029 (reference application) in view of Popiokowski et al (US 2004/0056211), as applied to claims 1-9, 11, 12 above, and in further view of Rajagopalan et al (US 2006/0093756).
The claims of the reference application as modified by the prior art of Popiolkowski et al were discussed above. The modification fails to suggest the protective coating specifically comprises a silicon oxide (SiO), silicon nitride (SiN), silicon carbon nitride (SiCN), or a combination thereof.
The prior art of Rajagopalan et al teaches a high-power dielectric seasoning where the walls and chamber components of the chamber are densely coating (physical modifying). See [0035] of Rajagopalan et al suggests the following materials to coat the walls and chamber components such as SiO, SiN as they are typically materials used to construct the substrate and prevents other materials from adhering to the chamber components and walls see [0015] Rajagopalan et al. Thus, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the claims and resulting apparatus from the claims of the reference application as modified by the prior art of Popiolkowski et al to provide coatings constructed of materials suggested by the prior art of Rajagopalan et al to prevent other materials from adhering to those components and/or wall to prevent contamination or peel off onto the substrates.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5, 26, and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SK Siltron (KR 20190009533 using the Machine Generated English Translation provided by applicant in the IDS dated 1/5/2004) in view of Popiokowski et al (US 2004/0056211).
Regarding claim 1: SK Siltron teaches a method, comprising: measuring a parameter of a reference substrate (wafer W) or a heated pedestal (susceptor 200) using one or more sensors (see the use of pyrometer 700 which includes upper pyrometer 710 and lower pyrometer 720) to measure the temperature of the wafer and or heated pedestal; determining deposition film thickness (see the discussion of the film thickness of Si coating) non-uniformities or thermal non-uniformities across the reference substrate or the heated pedestal based on the measured parameter via the controller 900 (see discussion of the pyrometer determines the film thickness and how, when, and duration of cleaning); and physically modifying a surface of a chamber component (chamber cleaning) based on the determined deposition film thickness non-uniformities or thermal non-uniformities. See abstract, page 1 paragraph 9/background of the invention, discussing the pyrometers determining whether to coat the chamber. See also page 2 paragraphs 2 and 3, page 4 paragraphs 4 and 13, and pages 5 and 6 of the description of the KR patent. Note that the prior art of SK Siltron measures the temperature of the wafer and the susceptor (heated pedestal due to heater 600) using the pyrometer 700. According to SK Siltron the RPM or rotation speed of the heated pedestal is also determined and the RPM is used to determine the film thickness see Figs. 5b and 6b of Sk Siltron. SK Siltron also teaches that the quality of the cleaning and the quality of the Si film is determined.
The prior art of SK Siltron fails to claim that the physical modifying a surface of a chamber component before using the chamber component in a process chamber.
The prior art of Popiolkowski et al teaches a method of surface texturizing a wafer and chamber components. See [0082] of Popiolkowski et al where it is recited that the cleaning process and texturizing steps are completed, but prior to the step of placing the component in a process chamber. Bead blasting treatment is discussed in [0066] and [0067] of Popiolkowski et al. According to the prior art of Popiolkowski et al the bead blasting treatment also removes any loosely adhered material such as protuberances formed by the texturization process. The motivation to modify the method of the reference application with the step of physical modifying (texturizing) a surface of a chamber component before using the chamber component in a process chamber ensures that the contamination of chamber is minimized by ensuring foreign matter does not accumulate as any detached or flaked off materials has been texturized/modified away as suggested by Popiolkowski et al. Thus, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the method of SK Siltron with the step of physical modifying (texturizing) a surface of a chamber component before using the chamber component in a process chamber ensures that the contamination of chamber is minimized by ensuring foreign matter does not accumulate as any detached or flaked off materials has been texturized/modified away as suggested by Popiolkowski et al.
Regarding claim 2: The method of Siltron fails to teach a) providing the chamber component with a surface finish having regions of different emissivity and b) that modifying the surface of the component by changing a surface area in different regions of the surface.
Recall the teachings of Popiolkowski et al. Popiolkowski et al teaches the modification of the surface of the chamber component comprise providing the chamber component with bead blasting see [0008], [0031], [0036], [0080] of the workpiece and chamber component/process kit see [0081]. The surface of the wafer/chamber component having regions of different emissivity as the emissivity is an inherent property of the material of construction of the coating and/or chamber component the emissivity is affected by the topography or thickness of the material in each region. Emissivity is the measure of a material’s effectiveness in emitting energy as thermal radiation the emissivity is affected by many variables including material of construction, topography, and thickness. Bead blasting changes the surface in different regions and the result will be uneven topography especially when refurbishing. The motivation to further modify the cleaning of the chamber/chamber components in the method of SK Siltron with the step of physical modifying (texturizing) a surface of a chamber component before using the chamber component in a process chamber ensures that the contamination of chamber is minimized by ensuring foreign matter does not accumulate as any detached or flaked off materials has been texturized/modified away as suggested by Popiolkowski et al. Noting that combining the teachings of Siltron and Popiolkowski et al with refurbishing the chamber components which would result in regions of different emissivity and changing the surface of the component as needed in different regions as suggested by the prior art of Popiolkowski et al.
Regarding claim 3: The prior art of SK Siltron teaches cleaning the chamber but fails to teach the recited methods of cleaning. The surface of the chamber component modifying by bead blasting see abstract, see [see [0008], [0031], [0036], [0080] of Popiolkowski et al.
The motivation further modify the cleaning of the chamber/chamber components in the method of SK Siltron by bead blasting as suggested by Popiolkowski et al is that the bead blasting offer an fast effective method of cleaning the chamber/components and provides for modifying in a non-uniform manner to effect the surface roughness of the chamber/components to ensure the unwanted particles are less likely to adhere and thus limits contamination by unwanted particles/deposits. Thus, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to further modify the cleaning of the chamber/chamber components in the method of SK Siltron by bead blasting as suggested by Popiolkowski et al.
Regarding claim 5: SK Siltron teaches a method with a step of modifying the surface of the chamber component is performed in a non-uniform manner. SK Siltron teaches the non-uniform coating of the wall/ see page 3 last paragraph and the discussion of debris coating) and thus the need to clean those surfaces that have been undesirably coated/non-uniformly coated in a non-uniform manner.
Regarding claim 26: K Siltron teaches a method, comprising: measuring a parameter of a reference substrate (wafer W) or a heated pedestal (susceptor 200) using one or more sensors (see the use of pyrometer 700 which includes upper pyrometer 710 and lower pyrometer 720) to measure the temperature of the wafer and or heated pedestal; determining deposition film thickness (see the discussion of the film thickness of Si coating) non-uniformities or thermal non-uniformities across the reference substrate or the heated pedestal based on the measured parameter via the controller 900 (see discussion of the pyrometer determines the film thickness and how, when, and duration of cleaning); and physically modifying a surface of a chamber component (chamber cleaning) based on the determined deposition film thickness non-uniformities or thermal non-uniformities. See abstract, page 1 paragraph 9/background of the invention, discussing the pyrometers determining whether to coat the chamber. See also page 2 paragraphs 2 and 3, page 4 paragraphs 4 and 13, and pages 5 and 6 of the description of the KR patent.
The prior art of SK Siltron et al fails to teach that the surface comprises a bulk material of a chamber component.
The prior art of Popiolkowski et al teaches texturizing the wafer and/or chamber components, where component made of the bulk material is interpreted as the material provided to the chamber when processing begins there is an original material when the component is previously unused and when it has been refurbished so that the component will be reused is has been texturized to refurbish it. See [0082] of Popiolkowski et al where it is recited that the cleaning process and texturizing steps are completed, but prior to the step of placing the component in a process chamber. The motivation to modify the method of the reference application and Lin et al with the step of physical modifying (texturizing) a surface of a chamber component made from bulk material before using the chamber component in a process chamber ensures that the contamination of chamber is minimized by ensuring foreign matter does not accumulate as any detached or flaked off materials has been texturized/modified away as suggested by Popiolkowski et al. Thus, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the method of the reference application with the step of physical modifying (texturizing) a surface of a chamber component before using the chamber component in a process chamber ensures that the contamination of chamber is minimized by ensuring foreign matter does not accumulate as any detached or flaked off materials has been texturized/modified away as suggested by Popiolkowski et al.
Regarding claim 30: The method of Siltron fails to teach a) providing the chamber component with a surface finish having regions of different emissivity and b) that modifying the surface of the component by changing a surface area in different regions of the surface. The non-uniform emissivity profile is the different emissivity over different regions of the wafer surface.
Recall the teachings of Popiolkowski et al. Popiolkowski et al teaches the modification of the surface of the chamber component comprise providing the chamber component with bead blasting see [0008], [0031], [0036], [0080] of the workpiece and chamber component/process kit see [0081]. The surface of the wafer/chamber component having regions of different emissivity as the emissivity is an inherent property of the material of construction of the coating and/or chamber component the emissivity is affected by the topography or thickness of the material in each region. Emissivity is the measure of a material’s effectiveness in emitting energy as thermal radiation the emissivity is affected by many variables including material of construction, topography, and thickness. Bead blasting changes the surface in different regions and the result will be uneven topography especially when refurbishing. The motivation to further modify the cleaning of the chamber/chamber components in the method of SK Siltron with the step of physical modifying (texturizing) a surface of a chamber component before using the chamber component in a process chamber ensures that the contamination of chamber is minimized by ensuring foreign matter does not accumulate as any detached or flaked off materials has been texturized/modified away as suggested by Popiolkowski et al. Noting that combining the teachings of Siltron and Popiolkowski et al with refurbishing the chamber components which would result in regions of different emissivity and changing the surface of the component as needed in different regions as suggested by the prior art of Popiolkowski et al.
Claims 9-12, 25, 28, and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SK Siltron (KR 20190009533) in view of Popiokowski et al (US 2004/0056211), as applied to claims 1-3, 5, 26, and 30 , and in further view of Lin et al (US 2005/0089699).
The teachings of SK Siltron as modified by Popiolkowski et al were discussed above as applied to claims 1-5, and 8.
The teachings of SK Siltron as modified by Popiolkowski et al were discussed above.
Regarding claims 9-11: The teachings of SK Siltron as modified by Popiolkowski et al fails to teach the step of providing a protective coating before or after the physical modifying of the chamber component/wall.
Regarding claim 9: The prior art of Lin et al teaches coating the chamber component with a protective coating before and after the modifying/texturizing of the chamber component. See [0003], [0006], [0019].
Regarding claim 10: The prior art of Lin et al teaches cleaning and refurbishing chamber components. See Lin et al [0003], [0019], [0030], and [0037].
Regarding claim 11: The prior art SK Siltron refers to a chamber insinuating a single chamber. See Fig. 3 of Lin et al which illustrates a single process chamber where the chamber component is coated with a protecting coating, then modifying the surface of the chamber component, and coating the chamber component is a single which is interpreted as the same process chamber.
The motivation to provide a protective coating as suggested by Lin et al in the method of SK Siltron is that can prevent damage to the chamber component(s). Thus, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the method of SK Siltron to provide a protective coating as suggested by Lin et al.
Claims 6 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SK Siltron (KR 20190009533A) in view of Popiokowski et al (US 2004/0056211), as applied to claims 1-3, 5, 26, and 30, and in further view of Sata (US 2004/0266222).
The teachings of SK Siltron as modified by Popiolkowski et al were discussed above.
The method resulting from the combined teachings of SK Siltron and Popiolkowski et al fails to
teach:
Regarding claim 6: The method of claim 1, further comprising applying a transfer function to the measured parameter of the reference substrate or the heated pedestal to generate a target pattern and modifying the surface of the chamber component based on the target pattern.
Regarding claim 7: The method of claim 1, further comprising generating a thermal map (interpreted as monitoring points along the component or at specific zones/ regions) based on the measured parameter and modifying the surface of the chamber component based on the thermal map.
The prior art of Sata teaches heat treatment apparatus and heat treatment method where the temperature of the heated pedestal (hot plate 3) is monitored via temperature sensors 32a-32csee Figs. 1 and 3 of Sata and [0038] of Sata where the temperature is measured and controlled at the left, center, and right to create thermal map. The data received from the temperature control and monitoring in forms the modification necessary on the future process regime. See [0030] – [0080] of Sata. In [0048] it is discussed that the measured temperature could be the substrate temperature and/or pedestal/stage temperature. The further modification of the method of SK Siltron with the teaching of Sata is to enhance process control by providing more qualitative analysis of the chamber component which would give indirect temperature monitoring of the substrate and/or direct substrate temperature to help achieve the optimal process result. Thus, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the claimed invention to further modify the process resulting from the combined teachings of SK Siltron and Popiolkowski et al to provide the teaching of Sata is to enhance process control by providing more qualitative analysis of the chamber component which would give indirect temperature monitoring of the substrate and/or direct substrate temperature to help achieve the optimal process result.
Claims 9-12 and 25 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SK Siltron (KR 20190009533) in view of Popiokowski et al (US 2004/0056211), as applied to claims 1-3, 5, 26, and 30, and in further view of Rajagopalan et al (US 2006/0093756).
The teachings of the prior art of SK Siltron as modified by Popiolkowski et al were discussed above.
The method resulting from the combined teachings of SK Siltron and Popiolkowski et al fails to
teach the step of providing a protective coating as recited in claims 9-11. Also, the method resulting from the combined teachings of SK Siltron and Popiolkowski et al fails to teach that the protective coating is provided to multiple chambers. Furthermore, the combined teachings of SK Siltron and Popiolkowski et al to teach that the protective coating specifically comprises a silicon oxide (SiO), silicon nitride (SiN), silicon carbon nitride (SiCN), or a combination thereof as recited in claim 25.
The prior art of Rajagopalan et al teaches a high-power dielectric seasoning (adding a protecting coating) where the walls and chamber components of the chamber are densely coated (physical modifying). See [0035] of Rajagopalan et al suggests the following materials to coat the walls and chamber components such as SiO, SiN as they are typically materials used to construct the substrate and prevents other materials from adhering to the chamber components and walls see [0015], [0021] and [0037] Rajagopalan et al. The prior art of Rajagopalon et al illustrates in Fig. 1 a cross-sectional view of a chamber 100 with dual stations. This plurality of processing stations within a single chamber is an alternative structure of the conventional plurality multichamber system. The protective coating suggested by Rajagopalon is provided for both stations or alternatively in multiple processing chambers. Throughout prior art of Rajagopalan et al the seasoning step is described as occurring before and after substrate processing so that the components and/or chamber wall can be adequately covered/protected see for example in [0007] Thus, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to further modify the method resulting from the combined teachings of the prior art of SK Siltron and Popiolkowski et al to provide coatings constructed of materials suggested by the prior art of Rajagopalan et al to prevent other materials from adhering to those components and/or wall to prevent contamination or peel off onto the substrates.
Claim 4, 8, and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SK Siltron (KR 20190009533) in view of Popiokowski et al (US 2004/0056211), as applied to claims 1-3, 5, 26, and 30 , and in further view of Chen et al (US 2018/0226304).
The teachings of the prior art of SK Siltron as modified by Popiolkowski et al were discussed above. Specifically, SK Siltron teaches a method with a step of measuring the parameter of the reference substrate and modifying the surface of the chamber component are done in a single process chamber. SK Siltron teaches a reactor (a single process chamber) and measuring the temperature (the parameter) and cleaning the chamber (modifying). See pages 1 and 2 of SK Siltron. See the prior art of Popiolkowski et al where according [0054] the film thickness is measured.
Regarding claims 4 and 27: The method resulting from the combined teachings of SK Siltron and Popiolkowski et al fails to teach that measuring the parameter of specifically a reference substrate.
The prior art of Chen et al teaches a system and method for measuring substrate and film thickness distribution. See in [0003] of Chen et al that interferometry is taught as that multiple regions of the wafer are measured to determined the film thickness. There is a discussion of a bare wafer (interpreted as a reference substrate) and a sample (also interpreted as a reference substrate). The motivation to measure the parameter using a reference substrate is to calibrate the sensor to ensure that the sensor is working properly and that the measurements are accurate as suggested by Chen et al. Thus, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the claimed invention to further modify the method resulting from the combined teachings of SK Siltron and Popiolkowski et al to use a reference substrate to measure the parameter (film thickness in the case of Chen et al) to calibrate the sensor.
Regarding claim 8: The prior art of SK Siltron et al fails to teach that the measuring of the parameter is of the reference substrate and that the parameter is at least one of the substrate film thickness, dielectric constant, or substrate film stress.
See the prior art of Popiolkowski et al where according [0054] the film thickness is measured. The motivation to measure the film thickness as suggested by Popiolkowski et al is that the film thickness can provide qualitative analysis of the efficacy of the chamber component and whether the chamber/chamber components requires further texturing. Thus, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to measure the film thickness of the wafer as and additional qualitative analysis is determining if the chamber and/or chamber component requires texturing to enhance the efficacy of the semiconductor manufacturing process.
The prior art of Chen et al teaches a system and method for measuring substrate and film thickness distribution. See in [0003] of Chen et al that interferometry is taught as that multiple regions of the wafer are measured to determine the film thickness. There is a discussion of a bare wafer (interpreted as a reference substrate) and a sample (also interpreted as a reference substrate). The motivation to measure the parameter using a reference substrate is to calibrate the sensor to ensure that the sensor is working properly and that the measurements are accurate as suggested by Chen et al. Thus, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the claimed invention to further modify the method resulting from the combined teachings of SK Siltron and Popiolkowski et al to use a reference substrate to measure the parameter (film thickness in the case of Chen et al) to calibrate the sensor.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Kava et al US 5,474,649 teaches a plasma processing apparatus with a texturized focus ring (chamber component). Texturizing via bead blasting and a coating is provided on the textured surface.
/SYLVIA MACARTHUR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1716