DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment to claims 8 and 22 has clarified the first and second coefficient of thermal expansions and thus the 35USC§ 112(b) rejections have been withdrawn.
The amendment to claims 1-6, 8, 9, 11-20, 22, 23, and 25-27 clarifying that the present invention is a support assembly comprising a ceramic plate and a baseplate has necessitated the introduction of Parkhe (US 2019/0341289).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, 8, 9, 11, 15-20, 22, 23, and 25-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Parkhe (US 2019/0341289) in view of Nakamura Tsunehiko (JP 2005150370 using the Machine Generated English Translation provided in the office action mailed January 21, 2026.
Regarding claim 1: The prior art of Parkhe teaches a substrate support assembly 405/510 for supporting a semiconductor substrate in a processing chamber, the baseplate (lower puck 420/520) comprising: a ceramic plate (upper puck plate 415/515) on which a semiconductor substrate is arranged during processing in a processing chamber; and a baseplate on which the ceramic plate is arranged, the baseplate (lower puck 420) comprising: a first component made of a first material MMC metal matrix composite) including a metal (like Al see [0068] and a nonmetal SiC see [0068] and [0069], the first material having a first coefficient of thermal expansion; and a layer coating (see discussion of plasma resistant coating in [0067] and coating 535 as recited in [0087] top and side surfaces of the first component and made of a ceramic material, the ceramic material having a second coefficient of thermal expansion; wherein the first and second coefficients of thermal expansion are different. See Figs. 4A and 5A of Parkhe.
The prior art of Parkhe fails to teach and that a thickness of the layer of the ceramic material is between 30µm and 2mm.
The prior art of Nakamura teaches a baseplate (conductive base 23/24) comprising: a first component made of a first material including a metal and a nonmetal (base is made of ceramic and metal) see page 5 second paragraph of the prior art of Nakamura Tsunehiko, the first material having a first coefficient of thermal expansion; and a layer (amorphous aluminum oxide layer 22/ aluminum anodic oxide film 26) coating top and side surfaces of the first component and made of a ceramic material (see Figs. 5 and 6 of the prior art of Nakamura Tsunehiko), the ceramic second material having a second coefficient of thermal expansion; wherein the first and second coefficients of thermal expansion are different (see paragraph 1 of page 6); and wherein a thickness of the layer of the ceramic material is between 30µm and 2mm. (see the last line on page 7 where the insulating film is made of uniform amorphous ceramic with the thickness of 10-100 micrometers). The motivation to modify the support assembly of Parkhe to provide the thickness of the layer of the ceramic material is to provide optimal plasma resistance as Nakamura suggests. Thus, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to modify the support assembly of Parkhe with the thickness of the layer of the ceramic material as suggested by Nakamura.
Figs. 5 and 6 of Nakamura Tsunehiko (JP2005150370) above
Regarding claim 2: The substrate support assembly of claim 1 wherein the first and second coefficients of thermal expansion are within a predetermined range. Predetermined range according to the original specification [0084] and [0085] describes a range of the CTE or coefficient of thermal expansion, for example. 6-12. It is further noted that the CTE is a property of a specific material of construction thus when a material of construction is used and chosen CTE has also been predetermined and is inherent to the chosen material of construction. For the purposes of examination when the prior art teaches the claimed material of construction, for example aluminum for the metal, silicon carbide for the non-metal and the ceramic is alumina or yttria these materials also inherently meet the claimed CTE range. In the case of Parkhe the baseplate (lower puck 420 see [0068] – [0070] is made of an MMC which includes a metal, aluminum and a nonmetal/reinforcing material SiC, the MMC has a CTE and the protective coating 535 is made of different CTE see [0087] see alumina and yttria are listed.
Regarding claim 3: The substrate support assembly of claim 1 wherein the first coefficient of thermal expansion is greater than the second coefficient of thermal expansion. It is noted that the CTE is a property of a specific material of construction. For the purposes of examination when the prior art teaches the claimed material of construction that material of construction is interpreted to inherently meet the claimed CTE range. In the case of Parkhe the baseplate (lower puck 420 see [0068] – [0070] is made of an MMC which includes a metal, aluminum and a nonmetal/reinforcing material SiC, the MMC has a CTE and the protective coating 535 is made of different CTE see [0087] see alumina and yttria are listed.
Regarding claim 4: The substrate support assembly of claim 1 wherein the first coefficient of thermal expansion is less than a coefficient of thermal expansion of the metal. The CTE of the MMC is lower than the CTE of metal since the reinforcing material added to the metal in the MMC is a nonmetal. Recall the lower puck 420 see [0068] – [0070] is made of an MMC which includes a metal, aluminum and a nonmetal/reinforcing material SiC,
Regarding claim 5: The substrate support assembly of claim 2 wherein: the predetermined range is between first and second values, the second value being greater than the first value; the first coefficient of thermal expansion is closer to the second value than the first value; and the second coefficient of thermal expansion is closer to the first value than the second value. Predetermined range according to the original specification [0084] and [0085] describes a range of the CTE or coefficient of thermal expansion, for example. 6-12. It is further noted that the CTE is a property of a specific material of construction thus when a material of construction is used and chosen CTE has also been predetermined and is inherent to the chosen material of construction. For the purposes of examination when the prior art teaches the claimed material of construction, for example aluminum for the metal, silicon carbide for the non-metal and the ceramic is alumina or yttria these materials also inherently meet the claimed CTE range. In the case of Parkhe the baseplate (lower puck 420 see [0068] – [0070] is made of an MMC which includes a metal, aluminum and a nonmetal/reinforcing material SiC, the MMC has a CTE and the protective coating 535 is made of different CTE see [0087] see alumina and yttria are listed.
Regarding claim 6: The substrate support assembly of claim 2 wherein the predetermined range is between 6 and 12. Predetermined range according to the original specification [0084] and [0085] describes a range of the CTE or coefficient of thermal expansion, for example. 6-12. It is further noted that the CTE is a property of a specific material of construction thus when a material of construction is used and chosen CTE has also been predetermined and is inherent to the chosen material of construction. For the purposes of examination when the prior art teaches the claimed material of construction, for example aluminum for the metal, silicon carbide for the non-metal and the ceramic is alumina or yttria these materials also inherently meet the claimed CTE range. In the case of Parkhe the baseplate (lower puck 420 see [0068] – [0070] is made of an MMC which includes a metal, aluminum and a nonmetal/reinforcing material SiC, the MMC has a CTE and the protective coating 535 is made of different CTE see [0087] see alumina and yttria are listed.
Regarding claim 8: The substrate support assembly of claim 1 wherein: the first coefficient of thermal expansion is 11; and the second coefficient of thermal expansion is 8. It is further noted that the CTE is a property of a specific material of construction thus when a material of construction is used and chosen CTE has also been predetermined and is inherent to the chosen material of construction. For the purposes of examination when the prior art teaches the claimed material of construction, for example aluminum for the metal, silicon carbide for the non-metal and the ceramic is alumina or yttria these materials also inherently meet the claimed CTE range. In the case of Parkhe the baseplate (lower puck 420 see [0068] – [0070] is made of an MMC which includes a metal, aluminum and a nonmetal/reinforcing material SiC, the MMC has a CTE and the protective coating 535 is made of different CTE see [0087] see alumina and yttria are listed.
Regarding claim 9: The baseplate of claim 1 wherein: the metal is aluminum; and the nonmetal is silicon carbide. In the case of Parkhe the baseplate (lower puck 420 see [0068] – [0070] is made of an MMC which includes a metal, aluminum and a nonmetal/reinforcing material SiC, the MMC has a CTE and the protective coating 535 is made of different CTE see [0087] see alumina and yttria are listed.
Regarding claim 11: The substrate support assembly of claim 1 wherein the ceramic material is alumina or yttria. In the case of Parkhe the baseplate (lower puck 420 see [0068] – [0070] is made of an MMC which includes a metal, aluminum and a nonmetal/reinforcing material SiC, the MMC has a CTE and the protective coating 535 is made of different CTE see [0087] see alumina and yttria are listed.
Regarding claim 15: A method for manufacturing a substrate support assembly, the method comprising: manufacturing a first component of a baseplate using a first material including a metal and a nonmetal, the first material having a first coefficient of thermal expansion; and coating top and side surfaces of the first component of the baseplate with a layer of a ceramic material having a second coefficient of thermal expansion; wherein the first and second coefficients of thermal expansion are different; and wherein a thickness of the layer of the ceramic material is between 30µm and 2mm; and arranging a ceramic plate on the baseplate to support a semiconductor substrate on the ceramic plate. See the rejection of claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 16: The method of claim 15 wherein the first and second coefficients of thermal expansion are within a predetermined range. Predetermined range according to the original specification [0084] and [0085] describes a range of the CTE or coefficient of thermal expansion, for example. 6-12. It is further noted that the CTE is a property of a specific material of construction thus when a material of construction is used and chosen CTE has also been predetermined and is inherent to the chosen material of construction. For the purposes of examination when the prior art teaches the claimed material of construction, for example aluminum for the metal, silicon carbide for the non-metal and the ceramic is alumina or yttria these materials also inherently meet the claimed CTE range. In the case of Parkhe the baseplate (lower puck 420 see [0068] – [0070] is made of an MMC which includes a metal, aluminum and a nonmetal/reinforcing material SiC, the MMC has a CTE and the protective coating 535 is made of different CTE see [0087] see alumina and yttria are listed. See the rejection of claim 2 above.
Regarding claim 17: The method of claim 15 wherein the first coefficient of thermal expansion is greater than the second coefficient of thermal expansion. See the rejection of claim 3 above.
Regarding claim 18: The method of claim 15 wherein the first coefficient of thermal expansion is less than a coefficient of thermal expansion of the metal. See the rejection of claim 4 above.
Regarding claim 19: The method of claim 16 wherein: the predetermined range is between first and second values, the second value being greater than the first value; the first coefficient of thermal expansion is closer to the second value than the first value; and the second coefficient of thermal expansion is closer to the first value than the second value. Predetermined range according to the original specification [0084] and [0085] describes a range of the CTE or coefficient of thermal expansion, for example. 6-12. It is further noted that the CTE is a property of a specific material of construction thus when a material of construction is used and chosen CTE has also been predetermined and is inherent to the chosen material of construction. For the purposes of examination when the prior art teaches the claimed material of construction, for example aluminum for the metal, silicon carbide for the non-metal and the ceramic is alumina or yttria these materials also inherently meet the claimed CTE range. In the case of Parkhe the baseplate (lower puck 420 see [0068] – [0070] is made of an MMC which includes a metal, aluminum and a nonmetal/reinforcing material SiC, the MMC has a CTE and the protective coating 535 is made of different CTE see [0087] see alumina and yttria are listed.
Regarding claim 20: The method of claim 16 wherein the predetermined range is between 6 and 12. Predetermined range according to the original specification [0084] and [0085] describes a range of the CTE or coefficient of thermal expansion, for example. 6-12. It is further noted that the CTE is a property of a specific material of construction thus when a material of construction is used and chosen CTE has also been predetermined and is inherent to the chosen material of construction. For the purposes of examination when the prior art teaches the claimed material of construction, for example aluminum for the metal, silicon carbide for the non-metal and the ceramic is alumina or yttria these materials also inherently meet the claimed CTE range. See the rejection of claim 6 above.
Regarding claim 22: The method of claim 15 wherein: the first coefficient of thermal expansion is 11; and the second coefficient of thermal expansion is 8. See the rejection of claim 8 above.
Regarding claim 23: The method of claim 15 further comprising: selecting aluminum as the metal; and selecting silicon carbide as the nonmetal. Parkhe teaches the baseplate (lower puck 420 see [0068] – [0070] is made of an MMC which includes a metal, aluminum and a nonmetal/reinforcing material SiC, the MMC has a CTE and the protective coating 535 is made of different CTE see [0087] see alumina and yttria are listed.
Regarding claim 25: The method of claim 15 further comprising selecting alumina or yttria as the ceramic material. Parkhe the baseplate (lower puck 420 see [0068] – [0070] is made of an MMC which includes a metal, aluminum and a nonmetal/reinforcing material SiC, the MMC has a CTE and the protective coating 535 is made of different CTE see [0087] see alumina and yttria are listed.
Regarding claim 26: The baseplate of claim 1 wherein the layer coating top and side surfaces of the first component is contiguous. The term “contiguous” is used to describe the layer coating. That term is interpreted according the definition found in Webster’s Dictionary is taken to mean“ sharing a common border”; touching or “next or together in sequence. See Fig. 5A of Parkhe.
Regarding claim 27: The baseplate of claim 1 wherein the layer coating top and side surfaces of the first component. See Parkhe teaches that the plasma resistant coating 535 can be used to coat the outer wall of the lower puck plate 520 (baseplate) which includes the top and side surfaces.
Claims 12-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Parkhe (US 2019/0341289) in view of Nakamura Tsunehiko (JP 2005150370 using the Machine Generated English Translation provided in the office action mailed January 21, 2026 as applied to claims 1-6, 8, 9, 11, 15-20, 22, 23, and 25-27 above, and in further view of Lubomirsky et al (US 2020/0185203).
The support assembly resulting from the combined teachings of the prior art of Parkhe and Nakamura Tsunehiko were discussed above.
The support assembly resulting from the combined teachings of the prior art of Parkhe and Nakamura Tsunehiko fails to teach:
Regarding claim 12: The support assembly of claim 1 further comprising: a second layer made of a third second material disposed on the layer coating the top and side surfaces of the first component; and a third component made of the ceramic material disposed on the second layer.
Regarding claim 13: The support assembly of claim 12 wherein the second layer bonds the third component to the first component.
Regarding claim 14: The support assembly o of claim 12 wherein the second layer conducts heat between the third component and the first component and absorbs shearing stress over a predetermined temperature range for a predetermined time period.
The prior art of Lubomirsky et al teaches a substrate support assembly is made of ground shield and a heater where the ground shield is corrosion resistant, see Fig. 2 of Lubomirsky et al. In [0002] of Lubomirsky et al teaches the ground shield is made of aluminum or stainless steel materials are coated with a protecting coating that has a coefficient of thermal expansion (CTE) that is different from a CTE of aluminum or stainless steel. See [0062] – [0087] of Lubomirsky et al where a plurality of protective layers are recited. See first protective layer 222, a second protective layer 224 and a third layer (not shown). These protective layers are ceramic and thus conduct heat. Regarding layers bonding one layer to another, the layer between two layers are between two surfaces is interpreted as a “bonding layer”. Lubomirsky et al teaches in [0079] that though the first and second protective layers are illustrated as covering the upper surface of the plate 204 these layers may additionally cover the edge interior walls 208, the edge upper surface 210, the edge exterior wall 212, shaft interior 215, and/or other surface of the ground shield 200. See also Figs.3D, 4D, 5D, and 5E where protective layers are formed on the upper and side surfaces of the first component (ground shield) Lubomirsky et al suggests that the first layer is made of alumina while the second and third protective layers may be composed yttria or alumina see [0072] and [0082]. The CTEs of each layer are chosen when the material of construction is chosen as the CTE is an inherent property to ensure the layers have optimal properties to withstand the chemical and physical stress of the manufacturing process. Lubomirsky et al teaches that the CTEs of each protective layer is alike or different from the ground shield and/or other protective layers. Thus, it would have been obvious for one ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to modify the support assembly resulting from the combined teachings of the prior art of Parkhe and Nakamura Tsunehiko with additional protective layers as suggested by the prior art of Lubomirsky et al in order to provide oxidation resistance, plasma resistance, and/or seal cracks or pores of the other protective layers.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Singh (US 2013/0021717) teaches an electrostatic chuck (support assembly) with a ceramic layer 10 and baseplate 12 see Figs. 2, 3, and 5.
Futakuchiya et al (US 9,153,463) teaches a support assembly with an insulating film 119/219 (ceramic film see col. 3 lines 60-67) around plate section 110/210. See Figs. 2 and 3.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SYLVIA MACARTHUR/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1716