DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Interpretation
The term “predetermined range” was recited in claims 2, 5, 6, 16, 19, and 20. Predetermined range according to the original specification [0084] and [0085] describes a range of the CTE or coefficient of thermal expansion, for example. 6-12. It is further noted that the CTE is a property of a specific material of construction thus when a material of construction is used and chosen CTE has also been predetermined and is inherent to the chosen material of construction. For the purposes of examination when the prior art teaches the claimed material of construction, for example aluminum for the metal, silicon carbide for the non-metal and the ceramic is alumina or yttria these materials also inherently meet the claimed CTE range.
The term “contiguous” is used to describe the layer coating. That term is interpreted according the definition found in Webster’s Dictionary is taken to mean“ sharing a common border”; touching or “next or together in sequence.
Response to Arguments
Claims 1 and 15 were amended to recited a layer coating top and side surfaces of the first component. This amendment necessitated the introduction of the prior art of Nakamura Tsunehiko (JP2005150370 using the Machine Generated English Translation provided herewith).
Claim 12 is amended to clarify that the second layer made of a second material disposed on the layer coating the top and side surfaces of the first component was necessitated by the prior art of Lubomirsky et al (US 2020/0185203).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 8 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The terms ”about 8” and “about 11” as recited in claims 8 and 22 feature a relative term “about” which renders the claim indefinite. The term “about” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. It is noted that the original specification [0084] and [0085] recites (provided below):
[0084] For example, the predetermined range (e.g., 6-12) has a first value (e.g., 6) and a second value (e.g., 12) that is greater than the first value. The first CTE has a value (e.g., 11) within the predetermined range (e.g., 6-12). The second CTE has a value (e.g., 8) within the predetermined range (e.g., 6-12). For example, the second CTE is less than the first CTE. For example, the first CTE (e.g., 11) is closer to the second value (e.g., 12) of the predetermined range (e.g., 6-12) than to the first value (e.g., 8) of the predetermined range (e.g., 6-12). For example, the second CTE (e.g., 8) is closer to the first value (e.g., 6) of the predetermined range (e.g., 6-12) than to the second value (e.g., 12) of the predetermined range (e.g., 6-12). At 454, the method450 includes using the coated baseplate (e.g., the baseplate400 shown in FIGS. 4 and 5) in a processing chamber.
[0085] Of course, any other materials with CTEs in the range 6-12 may be used to manufacture the baseplates. That is, any materials with CTEs in the range 6-12 can be used as the substrate and the coating material of the baseplate. Further, in some implementations, so long as the CTEs are in the range of 6-12, the second CTE of the coating material can also be greater than the first CTE of the substrate material.
For the purposes of examination, “about 11” and “about 8” are interpreted as 11 and 8.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6, 8, 9, 11, 15-20, 22, 23, and 25-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nakamura Tsunehiko (JP2005150370 using the Machine Generated English Translation provided herewith.
Regarding claim 1: A baseplate of a substrate support assembly (electrostatic chuck 21) for supporting a semiconductor substrate in a processing chamber, the baseplate (conductive base 23/24) comprising: a first component made of a first material including a metal and a nonmetal (base is made of ceramic and metal) see page 5 second paragraph of the prior art of Nakamura Tsunehiko, the first material having a first coefficient of thermal expansion; and a layer (amorphous aluminum oxide layer 22/ aluminum anodic oxide film 26) coating top and side surfaces of the first component and made of a ceramic material (see Figs. 5 and 6 of the prior art of Nakamura Tsunehiko), the ceramic second material having a second coefficient of thermal expansion; wherein the first and second coefficients of thermal expansion are different (see paragraph 1 of page 6); and wherein a thickness of the layer of the ceramic material is between 30µm and 2mm. (see the last line on page 7 where the insulating film is made of uniform amorphous ceramic with the thickness of 10-100 micrometers).
Figs. 5 and 6 of Nakamura Tsunehiko (JP2005150370)
Regarding claim 2: The baseplate of claim 1 wherein the first and second coefficients of thermal expansion are within a predetermined range. According to [0084] of the original specification, the pre-determined range of the CTE or coefficient of thermal expansion of 6-12. It is noted that the CTE is a property of a specific material of construction. For the purposes of examination when the prior art teaches the claimed material of construction that material of construction is interpreted to inherently meet the claimed CTE range. In this case, see page 8, paragraph three of the prior art of Nakamura Tsunehiko where the conductive substrate is composed of aluminum or aluminum alloy and one ceramic such as silicon carbide or aluminum nitride. See page 8, paragraph two of the prior art of Nakamura Tsunehiko where alumina, rare earth oxide (yttria).
Regarding claim 3: The baseplate of claim 1 wherein the first coefficient of thermal expansion is greater than the second coefficient of thermal expansion. According to [0084] of the original specification, the pre-determined range of the CTE or coefficient of thermal expansion of 6-12. It is noted that the CTE is a property of a specific material of construction. For the purposes of examination when the prior art teaches the claimed material of construction that material of construction is interpreted to inherently meet the claimed CTE range. In this case, see page 8, paragraph three of the prior art of Nakamura Tsunehiko where the conductive substrate is composed of aluminum or aluminum alloy and one ceramic such as silicon carbide or aluminum nitride. See page 8, paragraph two of the prior art of Nakamura Tsunehiko where alumina, rare earth oxide (yttria).
Regarding claim 4: The baseplate of claim 1 wherein the first coefficient of thermal expansion is less than a coefficient of thermal expansion of the metal. According to [0084] of the original specification, the pre-determined range of the CTE or coefficient of thermal expansion of 6-12. It is noted that the CTE is a property of a specific material of construction. For the purposes of examination when the prior art teaches the claimed material of construction that material of construction is interpreted to inherently meet the claimed CTE range. In this case, see page 8, paragraph three of the prior art of Nakamura Tsunehiko where the conductive substrate is composed of aluminum or aluminum alloy and one ceramic such as silicon carbide or aluminum nitride. See page 8, paragraph two of the prior art of Nakamura Tsunehiko where alumina, rare earth oxide (yttria).
Regarding claim 5: The baseplate of claim 2 wherein: the predetermined range is between first and second values, the second value being greater than the first value; the first coefficient of thermal expansion is closer to the second value than the first value; and the second coefficient of thermal expansion is closer to the first value than the second value. According to [0084] of the original specification, the pre-determined range of the CTE or coefficient of thermal expansion of 6-12. It is noted that the CTE is a property of a specific material of construction. For the purposes of examination when the prior art teaches the claimed material of construction that material of construction is interpreted to inherently meet the claimed CTE range. In this case, see page 8, paragraph three of the prior art of Nakamura Tsunehiko where the conductive substrate is composed of aluminum or aluminum alloy and one ceramic such as silicon carbide or aluminum nitride. See page 8, paragraph two of the prior art of Nakamura Tsunehiko where alumina, rare earth oxide (yttria).
Regarding claim 6: The baseplate of claim 2 wherein the predetermined range is between 6 and 12. According to [0084] of the original specification, the pre-determined range of the CTE or coefficient of thermal expansion of 6-12. It is noted that the CTE is a property of a specific material of construction. For the purposes of examination when the prior art teaches the claimed material of construction that material of construction is interpreted to inherently meet the claimed CTE range. In this case, see page 8, paragraph three of the prior art of Nakamura Tsunehiko where the conductive substrate is composed of aluminum or aluminum alloy and one ceramic such as silicon carbide or aluminum nitride. See page 8, paragraph two of the prior art of Nakamura Tsunehiko where alumina, rare earth oxide (yttria).
Regarding claim 8: The baseplate of claim 1 wherein: the first coefficient of thermal expansion is about 11; and the second coefficient of thermal expansion is about 8. According to [0084] of the original specification, the pre-determined range of the CTE or coefficient of thermal expansion of 6-12. It is noted that the CTE is a property of a specific material of construction. For the purposes of examination when the prior art teaches the claimed material of construction that material of construction is interpreted to inherently meet the claimed CTE range. In this case, see page 8, paragraph three of the prior art of Nakamura Tsunehiko where the conductive substrate is composed of aluminum or aluminum alloy and one ceramic such as silicon carbide or aluminum nitride. See page 8, paragraph two of the prior art of Nakamura Tsunehiko where alumina, rare earth oxide (yttria).
Regarding claim 9: The baseplate of claim 1 wherein: the metal is aluminum; and the nonmetal is silicon carbide. See page 8, paragraph three of the prior art of Nakamura Tsunehiko where the conductive substrate is composed of aluminum or aluminum alloy and one ceramic such as silicon carbide or aluminum nitride.
Regarding claim 11: The baseplate of claim 1 wherein the ceramic material is alumina or yttria. See page 8, paragraph two of the prior art of Nakamura Tsunehiko where alumina, rare earth oxide (yttria).
Regarding claim 15: A method for manufacturing a baseplate of a substrate support assembly for supporting a semiconductor substrate in a processing chamber, the method comprising: manufacturing a first component of the baseplate using a first material including a metal and a nonmetal, the first material having a first coefficient of thermal expansion; and coating top and side surfaces of the first component of the baseplate with a layer of a ceramic material having a second coefficient of thermal expansion; wherein the first and second coefficients of thermal expansion are different; and wherein a thickness of the layer of the ceramic material is between 30µm and 2mm. See the rejection of claim 1.
Regarding claim 16: The method of claim 15 wherein the first and second coefficients of thermal expansion are within a predetermined range. See the rejection of claim 2.
Regarding claim 17: The method of claim 15 wherein the first coefficient of thermal expansion is greater than the second coefficient of thermal expansion. See the rejection of claim 3.
Regarding claim 18: The method of claim 15 wherein the first coefficient of thermal expansion is less than a coefficient of thermal expansion of the metal. See the rejection of claim 4.
Regarding claim 19: The method of claim 16 wherein: the predetermined range is between first and second values, the second value being greater than the first value; the first coefficient of thermal expansion is closer to the second value than the first value; and the second coefficient of thermal expansion is closer to the first value than the second value. See the rejection of claim 5.
Regarding claim 20: The method of claim 16 wherein the predetermined range is between 6 and 12. See the rejection of claim 6.
Regarding claim 22: The method of claim 15 wherein: the first coefficient of thermal expansion is about 11; and the second coefficient of thermal expansion is about 8.
Regarding claim 23: The method of claim 15 further comprising: selecting aluminum as the metal; and selecting silicon carbide as the nonmetal. See page 8, paragraph three of the prior art of Nakamura Tsunehiko where the conductive substrate is composed of aluminum or aluminum alloy and one ceramic such as silicon carbide or aluminum nitride.
Regarding claim 25: The method of claim 15 further comprising selecting alumina or yttria as the ceramic material. See page 8, paragraph two of the prior art of Nakamura Tsunehiko where alumina, rare earth oxide (yttria).
Regarding claim 26: The baseplate of claim 1 wherein the layer coating top and side surfaces of the first component is contiguous. See Fig. 5 of the prior art of Nakamura Tsunehiko.
Regarding claim 27: The baseplate of claim 1 wherein the layer coating top and side surfaces of the first component is uniform. See Fig. 5 of the prior art of Nakamura Tsunehiko and uniform is recited in the last line of page 7.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 12-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakamura Tsunehiko (JP2005150370 using the Machine Generated English Translation provided herewith in view of Lubomirsky et al (US 2020/0185203).
The prior art of Nakamura Tsunehiko was discussed above.
The prior art of Nakamura Tsunehiko fails to teach:
Regarding claim 12: The baseplate of claim 1 further comprising: a second layer made of a third second material disposed on the layer coating the top and side surfaces of the first component; and a third component made of the ceramic material disposed on the second layer.
Regarding claim 13: The baseplate of claim 12 wherein the second layer bonds the third component to the first component.
Regarding claim 14: The baseplate of claim 12 wherein the second layer conducts heat between the third component and the first component and absorbs shearing stress over a predetermined temperature range for a predetermined time period.
The prior art of Lubomirsky et al teaches a substrate support assembly is made of ground shield and a heater where the ground shield is corrosion resistant, see Fig. 2 of Lubomirsky et al. In [0002] of Lubomirsky et al teaches the ground shield is made of aluminum or stainless steel materials are coated with a protecting coating that has a coefficient of thermal expansion (CTE) that is different from a CTE of aluminum or stainless steel. See [0062] – [0087] of Lubomirsky et al where a plurality of protective layers are recited. See first protective layer 222, a second protective layer 224 and a third layer (not shown). These protective layers are ceramic and thus conduct heat. Regarding layers bonding one layer to another, the layer between two layers are between two surfaces is interpreted as a “bonding layer”. Lubomirsky et al teaches in [0079] that though the first and second protective layers are illustrated as covering the upper surface of the plate 204 these layers may additionally cover the edge interior walls 208, the edge upper surface 210, the edge exterior wall 212, shaft interior 215, and/or other surface of the ground shield 200. See also Figs.3D, 4D, 5D, and 5E where protective layers are formed on the upper and side surfaces of the first component (ground shield) Lubomirsky et al suggests that the first layer is made of alumina while the second and third protective layers may be composed yttria or alumina see [0072] and [0082]. The CTEs of each layer are chosen when the material of construction is chosen as the CTE is an inherent property to ensure the layers have optimal properties to withstand the chemical and physical stress of the manufacturing process. Lubomirsky et al teaches that the CTEs of each protective layer is alike or different from the ground shield and/or other protective layers. Thus, it would have been obvious for one ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Nakamura Tsunehiko with additional protective layers as suggested by the prior art of Lubomirsky et al in order to provide oxidation resistance, plasma resistance, and/or seal cracks or pores of the other protective layers.
Fig. 2 of Lubomirsky et al (US 2020/0185203)
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Hara et al (JP 2009084686) see Figs. 1, 7-10, and 14 with a first component and protective coating on the upper surface and side surfaces.
Futakuchiya et al (US 2013/0134147) see Fig. 2 where the first component 110 has an insulating film 119.
/SYLVIA MACARTHUR/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1716