Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 6-9, 11-15, 22, 24-29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maydan; Dan et al. (US 5746875 A) in view of Hsu; Yung-Shun et al. (US 20190385816 A1). Maydan teaches a gas distribution assembly (Figure 7B,7D,7F) for a substrate processing system (Figure 8), the gas distribution assembly (Figure 7B,7D,7F) comprising: a top plate (137; Figure 7B,7D,7F; stainless steeel-Applicant’s 802; Figure 8); and a gas distribution plate (72 of “gas distribution apparatus”; Figure 7B,7D,7F-Applicant’s 804; Figure 8) comprising an outer ring (145 of “gas distribution apparatus”; Figure 7B,7D,7F) including an inner stepped interface (inner stepped interface of 74a,74b,72a,72b,75; Figure 7B,7D,7F) on a radially inner surface thereof; N inner rings (74a,74b,72a,72b of “gas distribution apparatus”; Figure 7F; N=4; 348,336’,336,310,346,330’; Figure 18, N=6), wherein: N is an integer greater than zero, at least one of the N inner rings (74a,74b,72a,72b of “gas distribution apparatus”; Figure 7F; N=4; 348,336’,336,310,346,330’; Figure 18, N=6) includes an inner stepped interface (inner stepped interface of 74a,74b,72a,72b,75; Figure 7B,7D,7F) and an outer stepped interface (outer stepped interface of 74a,74b,72a,72b,75; Figure 7F; N=4), and the outer stepped interface (outer stepped interface of 74a,74b,72a,72b,75; Figure 7F; N=4) of a radially outer one of the N inner rings (74a,74b,72a,72b of “gas distribution apparatus”; Figure 7F; N=4; 348,336’,336,310,346,330’; Figure 18, N=6) is configured to rest on and mate with the inner stepped interface (inner stepped interface of 74a,74b,72a,72b,75; Figure 7B,7D,7F) of the outer ring (145 of “gas distribution apparatus”; Figure 7B,7D,7F); and a center portion (75 of “gas distribution apparatus”; Figure 7B,7D,7F) including an outer stepped interface (outer stepped interface of 74a,74b,72a,72b,75; Figure 7F; N=4) on a radially outer surface thereof that is configured to rest on and mate with the inner stepped interface (inner stepped interface of 74a,74b,72a,72b,75; Figure 7B,7D,7F) of a radially inner one of the N inner rings (74a,74b,72a,72b of “gas distribution apparatus”; Figure 7F; N=4; 348,336’,336,310,346,330’; Figure 18, N=6), wherein the gas distribution plate (72 of “gas distribution apparatus”; Figure 7B,7D,7F-Applicant’s 804; Figure 8) is a dielectric window (“gas distribution apparatus, liner 40, disk 50..alumina, sapphire, aluminum nitride, silicon nitride, or various glass-ceramic materials..”; column 6; lines 15-25), the top plate (137; Figure 7B,7D,7F; stainless steeel-Applicant’s 802; Figure 8) is disposed on the gas distribution plate (72 of “gas distribution apparatus”; Figure 7B,7D,7F-Applicant’s 804; Figure 8), and a gap (170; Figure 7B,7D,7F) exists between the top plate (137; Figure 7B,7D,7F; stainless steeel-Applicant’s 802; Figure 8) and the gas distribution plate (72 of “gas distribution apparatus”; Figure 7B,7D,7F-Applicant’s 804; Figure 8) for passage of gas to a plurality of gas through holes (84,90,80; Figure 7B,7D,7F; 324,346,346’; Figure 18) in one or more of the N inner rings (74a,74b,72a,72b of “gas distribution apparatus”; Figure 7F; N=4; 348,336’,336,310,346,330’; Figure 18, N=6) - claim 1
Maydan further teaches:
The gas distribution assembly (Figure 7B,7D,7F) of claim 1, wherein, when nested together, the outer ring (145 of “gas distribution apparatus”; Figure 7B,7D,7F), the N inner rings (74a,74b,72a,72b of “gas distribution apparatus”; Figure 7F; N=4; 348,336’,336,310,346,330’; Figure 18, N=6) and the center portion (75 of “gas distribution apparatus”; Figure 7B,7D,7F) define planar upper and lower surfaces, as claimed by claim 3
The gas distribution assembly (Figure 7B,7D,7F) of claim 1, wherein the outer ring (145 of “gas distribution apparatus”; Figure 7B,7D,7F), the N inner rings (74a,74b,72a,72b of “gas distribution apparatus”; Figure 7F; N=4; 348,336’,336,310,346,330’; Figure 18, N=6), and the center portion (75 of “gas distribution apparatus”; Figure 7B,7D,7F) are made of a material that is RF transparent (“gas distribution apparatus, liner 40, disk 50..alumina, sapphire, aluminum nitride, silicon nitride, or various glass-ceramic materials..”; column 6; lines 15-25), as claimed by claim 11
The gas distribution assembly (Figure 7B,7D,7F) of claim 1, wherein the outer ring (145 of “gas distribution apparatus”; Figure 7B,7D,7F), the N inner rings (74a,74b,72a,72b of “gas distribution apparatus”; Figure 7F; N=4; 348,336’,336,310,346,330’; Figure 18, N=6), and the center portion (75 of “gas distribution apparatus”; Figure 7B,7D,7F) are made of alumina (“gas distribution apparatus, liner 40, disk 50..alumina, sapphire, aluminum nitride, silicon nitride, or various glass-ceramic materials..”; column 6; lines 15-25), as claimed by claim 12
The gas distribution assembly (Figure 7B,7D,7F) of claim 1, wherein the outer ring (145 of “gas distribution apparatus”; Figure 7B,7D,7F), the N inner rings (74a,74b,72a,72b of “gas distribution apparatus”; Figure 7F; N=4; 348,336’,336,310,346,330’; Figure 18, N=6), and the center portion (75 of “gas distribution apparatus”; Figure 7B,7D,7F) are made of aluminum nitride (“gas distribution apparatus, liner 40, disk 50..alumina, sapphire, aluminum nitride, silicon nitride, or various glass-ceramic materials..”; column 6; lines 15-25), as claimed by claim 13
The gas distribution assembly (Figure 7B,7D,7F) of claim 1, wherein: the outer ring (145 of “gas distribution apparatus”; Figure 7B,7D,7F) is made of alumina; and the N inner rings (74a,74b,72a,72b of “gas distribution apparatus”; Figure 7F; N=4; 348,336’,336,310,346,330’; Figure 18, N=6) and the center portion (75 of “gas distribution apparatus”; Figure 7B,7D,7F) are made of aluminum nitride (“gas distribution apparatus, liner 40, disk 50..alumina, sapphire, aluminum nitride, silicon nitride, or various glass-ceramic materials..”; column 6; lines 15-25), as claimed by claim 14
The gas distribution assembly (Figure 7B,7D,7F) of claim 1, wherein interfacing surfaces of the outer ring (145 of “gas distribution apparatus”; Figure 7B,7D,7F), the N inner rings (74a,74b,72a,72b of “gas distribution apparatus”; Figure 7F; N=4; 348,336’,336,310,346,330’; Figure 18, N=6) and the center portion (75 of “gas distribution apparatus”; Figure 7B,7D,7F) are polished (summary), as claimed by claim 15
The gas distribution assembly (Figure 7B,7D,7F) comprising of claim 1, wherein the outer ring (145 of “gas distribution apparatus”; Figure 7B,7D,7F), the N inner rings (74a,74b,72a,72b of “gas distribution apparatus”; Figure 7F; N=4; 348,336’,336,310,346,330’; Figure 18, N=6), and the center portion (75 of “gas distribution apparatus”; Figure 7B,7D,7F) are formed of dielectric material (“gas distribution apparatus, liner 40, disk 50..alumina, sapphire, aluminum nitride, silicon nitride, or various glass-ceramic materials..”; column 6; lines 15-25), as claimed by claim 22
A gas distribution assembly (Figure 7B,7D,7F) for a substrate processing system (Figure 8), the gas distribution assembly (Figure 7B,7D,7F) comprising: a top plate (137; Figure 7B,7D,7F; stainless steeel-Applicant’s 802; Figure 8); and a gas distribution plate (72 of “gas distribution apparatus”; Figure 7B,7D,7F-Applicant’s 804; Figure 8) comprising an outer ring (145 of “gas distribution apparatus”; Figure 7B,7D,7F) including a stepped interface (inner stepped interface of 74a,74b,72a,72b,75; Figure 7B,7D,7F) on a radially inner surface of the outer ring (145 of “gas distribution apparatus”; Figure 7B,7D,7F); and at least one segment (74a,74b,72a,72b,75; Figure 7B,7D,7F) comprising a radially outer surface and a plurality of gas through holes (84,90,80; Figure 7B,7D,7F; 324,346,346’; Figure 18), wherein the radially outer surface of the at least one segment (74a,74b,72a,72b,75; Figure 7B,7D,7F) is configured to rest on and mate with the stepped interface (inner stepped interface of 74a,74b,72a,72b,75; Figure 7B,7D,7F) of the outer ring (145 of “gas distribution apparatus”; Figure 7B,7D,7F), the gas distribution plate (72 of “gas distribution apparatus”; Figure 7B,7D,7F-Applicant’s 804; Figure 8) is a dielectric window (“gas distribution apparatus, liner 40, disk 50..alumina, sapphire, aluminum nitride, silicon nitride, or various glass-ceramic materials..”; column 6; lines 15-25), the top plate (137; Figure 7B,7D,7F; stainless steeel-Applicant’s 802; Figure 8) is disposed on the gas distribution plate (72 of “gas distribution apparatus”; Figure 7B,7D,7F-Applicant’s 804; Figure 8), and a gap (170; Figure 7B,7D,7F) exists between the top plate (137; Figure 7B,7D,7F; stainless steeel-Applicant’s 802; Figure 8) and the gas distribution plate (72 of “gas distribution apparatus”; Figure 7B,7D,7F-Applicant’s 804; Figure 8) for passage of gas to the plurality of gas through holes (84,90,80; Figure 7B,7D,7F; 324,346,346’; Figure 18) in the at least one segment (74a,74b,72a,72b,75; Figure 7B,7D,7F) - claim 24
Maydan only teaches a portion of Maydan’s gas distribution plate (72 of “gas distribution apparatus”; Figure 7B,7D,7F-Applicant’s 804; Figure 8) is a dielectric window (“gas distribution apparatus, liner 40, disk 50..alumina, sapphire, aluminum nitride, silicon nitride, or various glass-ceramic materials..”; column 6; lines 15-25) in Maydan’s inductively coupled plasma reactor (Figure 8).
As a result, Mayden does not teach wherein Mayden’s top plate (137; Figure 7B,7D,7F; stainless steeel-Applicant’s 802; Figure 8) is a dielectric window (“gas distribution apparatus, liner 40, disk 50..alumina, sapphire, aluminum nitride, silicon nitride, or various glass-ceramic materials..”; column 6; lines 15-25) – claim 1, 24
Mayden further does not teach Mayden’s rings (74a,74b,72a,72b of “gas distribution apparatus”; Figure 7F; N=4; 348,336’,336,310,346,330’; Figure 18, N=6) are circumferentially segmented:
at least one of the N inner rings (74a,74b,72a,72b of “gas distribution apparatus”; Figure 7F; N=4; 348,336’,336,310,346,330’; Figure 18, N=6) is circumferentially segmented – claim 1
The gas distribution assembly (Figure 7B,7D,7F) of claim 1, wherein: each of the N inner rings (74a,74b,72a,72b of “gas distribution apparatus”; Figure 7F; N=4; 348,336’,336,310,346,330’; Figure 18, N=6) is segmented includes C circumferential portions (C=2; Figure 7D; C=4; Figure 7F; C=5, Figure 18-see 9/25/25 arguments; 406,440,506...Fig.5-6), where C is an integer greater than one, and each of the C circumferential portions (C=2; Figure 7D; C=4; Figure 7F; C=5, Figure 18-see 9/25/25 arguments; 406,440,506...Fig.5-6) includes a body having a first arcuate1 portion (support surfaces for 145,74a,74b,72a,72b; Figure 7D,7F; 348,336’,336,310,346,330’; Figure 18) and a second ring segment (support surfaces for 145,74a,74b,72a,72b; Figure 7D,7F; 348,336’,336,310,346,330’; Figure 18-Applicant’s 418,518,618), wherein the first ring segment (support surfaces for 145,74a,74b,72a,72b; Figure 7D,7F; 348,336’,336,310,346,330’; Figure 18-Applicant’s 416,516,616; 840, 842, 844, 846, 848, 850, 852, 854; Figure 8) is radially and circumferentially offset relative to the second ring segment (support surfaces for 145,74a,74b,72a,72b; Figure 7D,7F; 348,336’,336,310,346,330’; Figure 18-Applicant’s 418,518,618), as claimed by claim 6
The gas distribution assembly (Figure 7B,7D,7F) of claim 6, wherein C = 2, as claimed by claim 7
The gas distribution assembly (Figure 7B,7D,7F) of claim 6, wherein: the first ring segment (support surfaces for 145,74a,74b,72a,72b; Figure 7D,7F; 348,336’,336,310,346,330’; Figure 18-Applicant’s 416,516,616; 840, 842, 844, 846, 848, 850, 852, 854; Figure 8) has an inner diameter and an outer diameter, the second ring segment (support surfaces for 145,74a,74b,72a,72b; Figure 7D,7F; 348,336’,336,310,346,330’; Figure 18-Applicant’s 418,518,618) has an inner diameter and an outer diameter, and the inner diameter of the first ring segment (support surfaces for 145,74a,74b,72a,72b; Figure 7D,7F; 348,336’,336,310,346,330’; Figure 18-Applicant’s 416,516,616; 840, 842, 844, 846, 848, 850, 852, 854; Figure 8) is greater than the inner diameter of the second ring segment (support surfaces for 145,74a,74b,72a,72b; Figure 7D,7F; 348,336’,336,310,346,330’; Figure 18-Applicant’s 418,518,618) and less than the outer diameter of the second ring segment (support surfaces for 145,74a,74b,72a,72b; Figure 7D,7F; 348,336’,336,310,346,330’; Figure 18-Applicant’s 418,518,618), as claimed by claim 8
The gas distribution assembly (Figure 7B,7D,7F) of claim 6, wherein: the second ring segment (support surfaces for 145,74a,74b,72a,72b; Figure 7D,7F; 348,336’,336,310,346,330’; Figure 18-Applicant’s 418,518,618) of a first one (330’ Figure 18) of the C circumferential portions (C=2; Figure 7D; C=4; Figure 7F; C=5, Figure 18-see 9/25/25 arguments; 406,440,506...Fig.5-6) lies below the first ring segment (support surfaces for 145,74a,74b,72a,72b; Figure 7D,7F; 348,336’,336,310,346,330’; Figure 18-Applicant’s 416,516,616; 840, 842, 844, 846, 848, 850, 852, 854; Figure 8) of the first one (330’ Figure 18) of the C circumferential portions (C=2; Figure 7D; C=4; Figure 7F; C=5, Figure 18-see 9/25/25 arguments; 406,440,506...Fig.5-6), the second ring segment (support surfaces for 145,74a,74b,72a,72b; Figure 7D,7F; 348,336’,336,310,346,330’; Figure 18-Applicant’s 418,518,618) of the first one (330’ Figure 18) of the C circumferential portions (C=2; Figure 7D; C=4; Figure 7F; C=5, Figure 18-see 9/25/25 arguments; 406,440,506...Fig.5-6) includes a slot (340’; Figure 18-Applicant’s 214; Figure 2; 528; Figure 5A) defining a plenum surrounding gas through holes (84,90,80; Figure 7B,7D,7F; 324,346,346’; Figure 18), and the slot (340’; Figure 18-Applicant’s 214; Figure 2; 528; Figure 5A) is located on a cantilevered section of the second ring segment (support surfaces for 145,74a,74b,72a,72b; Figure 7D,7F; 348,336’,336,310,346,330’; Figure 18-Applicant’s 418,518,618) extending from the second ring segment (support surfaces for 145,74a,74b,72a,72b; Figure 7D,7F; 348,336’,336,310,346,330’; Figure 18-Applicant’s 418,518,618) of the first one (330’ Figure 18) of the C circumferential portions (C=2; Figure 7D; C=4; Figure 7F; C=5, Figure 18-see 9/25/25 arguments; 406,440,506...Fig.5-6); and the cantilevered section of the second ring segment (support surfaces for 145,74a,74b,72a,72b; Figure 7D,7F; 348,336’,336,310,346,330’; Figure 18-Applicant’s 418,518,618) of a first one of the C circumferential portions (C=2; Figure 7D; C=4; Figure 7F; C=5, Figure 18-see 9/25/25 arguments; 406,440,506...Fig.5-6) overlaps azimuthally with a third ring segment (support surfaces for 145,74a,74b,72a,72b; Figure 7D,7F; 348,336’,336,310,346,330’; Figure 18-Applicant’s 416,516,616; 840, 842, 844, 846, 848, 850, 852, 854; Figure 8) of a second one of the C circumferential portions (C=2; Figure 7D; C=4; Figure 7F; C=5, Figure 18-see 9/25/25 arguments; 406,440,506...Fig.5-6), as claimed by claim 9
The gas distribution assembly of claim 1, wherein the top plate (137; Figure 7B,7D,7F; stainless steeel-Applicant’s 802; Figure 8) comprises at least one of alumina and aluminum nitride, as claimed by claim 25
The gas distribution assembly of claim 1, wherein: one of the N inner rings (74a,74b,72a,72b of “gas distribution apparatus”; Figure 7F; N=4; 348,336’,336,310,346,330’; Figure 18, N=6) is segmented and comprises a plurality of distinct segments; and the plurality of distinct segments of the one of the N inner rings (74a,74b,72a,72b of “gas distribution apparatus”; Figure 7F; N=4; 348,336’,336,310,346,330’; Figure 18, N=6) are arranged azimuthally relative to each other to form an annularly-shaped ring, as claimed by claim 26
The gas distribution assembly of claim 1, wherein:each of the N inner rings (74a,74b,72a,72b of “gas distribution apparatus”; Figure 7F; N=4; 348,336’,336,310,346,330’; Figure 18, N=6) is segmented and comprises a plurality of distinct segments; and the plurality of distinct segments of each of the N inner rings (74a,74b,72a,72b of “gas distribution apparatus”; Figure 7F; N=4; 348,336’,336,310,346,330’; Figure 18, N=6) are arranged azimuthally relative to each other to form an annularly-shaped ring, as claimed by claim 27
The gas distribution assembly of claim 6, wherein the first ring segment and the second ring segment are respective half-rings, as claimed by claim 28
The gas distribution assembly of claim 6, wherein the first ring segment and the second ring segment of each of the C circumferential portions has a rectangular-shaped cross-section, as claimed by claim 29
Hsu also teaches an inductively coupled plasma reactor (Figure 1) including a top plate (103; Figure 1; “dielectric window”; [0021]-Applicant’s 802; Figure 8) is a dielectric window (“dielectric window”; [0021]) – claim 1, 24.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for Maydan to add Hsu’s dielectric top plate made from Maydan’s materials and ICP sources (122,124; Figure 1).
Motivation for Maydan to add Hsu’s dielectric top plate made from Maydan’s materials and ICP sources (122,124; Figure 1) is for increased ionization power over Maydan’s ICP source (230, 240; Figure 8).
Further, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for Maydan to make Maydan’s rings circumferentially segmented
Further, it has been held that it is obvious to make whole elements seperable (In re Dulberg, 289 F.2d 522, 523, 129 USPQ 348, 349 (CCPA 1961) – MPEP 2144.04.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maydan; Dan et al. (US 5746875 A) and Hsu; Yung-Shun et al. (US 20190385816 A1) in view of de la Llera; Anthony et al. (US 9245716 B2). Maydan and Hsu are discussed above. Maydan further teaches Maydan’s gas distribution assembly (Figure 7B,7D,7F) of claim 9, further comprising second gas through holes (84,90,80; Figure 7B,7D,7F; 324,346,346’; Figure 18) on a first ring segment (support surfaces for 145,74a,74b,72a,72b; Figure 7D,7F; 348,336’,336,310,346,330’; Figure 18-Applicant’s 416,516,616; 840, 842, 844, 846, 848, 850, 852, 854; Figure 8) of a second one of Maydan’s C circumferential portions (C=2; Figure 7D; C=4; Figure 7F; C=5, Figure 18-see 9/25/25 arguments; 406,440,506...Fig.5-6) – claim 10
Maydan and Hsu do not teach wherein Maydan’s second gas through holes (84,90,80; Figure 7B,7D,7F; 324,346,346’; Figure 18) of Maydan’s first ring segment (support surfaces for 145,74a,74b,72a,72b; Figure 7D,7F; 348,336’,336,310,346,330’; Figure 18-Applicant’s 416,516,616; 840, 842, 844, 846, 848, 850, 852, 854; Figure 8) of Maydan’s second one of Maydan’s C circumferential portions (C=2; Figure 7D; C=4; Figure 7F; C=5, Figure 18-see 9/25/25 arguments; 406,440,506...Fig.5-6) align with Maydan’s first gas through holes (84,90,80; Figure 7B,7D,7F; 324,346,346’; Figure 18) of Maydan’s second ring segment (support surfaces for 145,74a,74b,72a,72b; Figure 7D,7F; 348,336’,336,310,346,330’; Figure 18-Applicant’s 418,518,618) of Maydan’s first one (330’ Figure 18) of Maydan’s C circumferential portions (C=2; Figure 7D; C=4; Figure 7F; C=5, Figure 18-see 9/25/25 arguments; 406,440,506...Fig.5-6) when assembled – claim 10
de la Llera also teaches a gas distribution assembly (Figure 1A) including plates (140A,120A; Figure 1A) with aligned thoughholes (not numbered).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made for Maydan to add additional aligned through holes to Maydan’s gas distribution assembly as taught by de la Llera.
Motivation for Maydan to add additional aligned through holes to Maydan’s gas distribution assembly is for “uniformly dispersing” processing gas as taught by de la Llera (column 3; lines 29-37).
Claims 4, 5, 17, 19-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maydan; Dan et al. (US 5746875 A) and Hsu; Yung-Shun et al. (US 20190385816 A1), in view of Redeker; Fred C. et al. (US 5800621 A). Maydan and Hsu are discussed above. Maydan further teaches a substrate processing system (Figure 8) comprising: a processing chamber (200; Figure 8) including a substrate support (210; Figure 8); a coil (230; Figure 8) arranged outside of Maydan’s processing chamber (200; Figure 8); and Maydan’s gas distribution assembly (Figure 7B,7D,7F) of claim 1 arranged above Maydan’s processing chamber (200; Figure 8) and Maydan’s coll.
Mayden further teaches:
The substrate processing system (Figure 8) of claim 17, wherein: each of Maydan’s N inner rings (74a,74b,72a,72b of “gas distribution apparatus”; Figure 7F; N=4; 348,336’,336,310,346,330’; Figure 18, N=6) includes C circumferential portions (C=2; Figure 7D; C=4; Figure 7F; C=5, Figure 18-see 9/25/25 arguments; 406,440,506...Fig.5-6), where C is an integer greater than one, and each of Maydan’s C circumferential portions (C=2; Figure 7D; C=4; Figure 7F; C=5, Figure 18-see 9/25/25 arguments; 406,440,506...Fig.5-6) includes a body having a first ring segment (support surfaces for 145,74a,74b,72a,72b; Figure 7D,7F; 348,336’,336,310,346,330’; Figure 18-Applicant’s 416,516,616; 840, 842, 844, 846, 848, 850, 852, 854; Figure 8) and a second ring segment (support surfaces for 145,74a,74b,72a,72b; Figure 7D,7F; 348,336’,336,310,346,330’; Figure 18-Applicant’s 418,518,618), wherein Maydan’s first ring segment (support surfaces for 145,74a,74b,72a,72b; Figure 7D,7F; 348,336’,336,310,346,330’; Figure 18-Applicant’s 416,516,616; 840, 842, 844, 846, 848, 850, 852, 854; Figure 8) is radially and circumferentially offset relative Maydan’s second ring segment (support surfaces for 145,74a,74b,72a,72b; Figure 7D,7F; 348,336’,336,310,346,330’; Figure 18-Applicant’s 418,518,618), as claimed by claim 20
The substrate processing system (Figure 8) of claim 20, wherein C = 2, as claimed by claim 21
Mayden and Hsu do not teach Maydan’s gas distribution assembly (Figure 7B,7D,7F) of claim 1 arranged between Maydan’s processing chamber (200; Figure 8) and Maydan’s coll – claim 17
Mayden further does not teach:
The gas distribution assembly (Figure 7B,7D,7F) of claim 1, wherein N = 2, as claimed by claim 4
The gas distribution assembly (Figure 7B,7D,7F) of claim 1, wherein N = 3, as claimed by claim 5
The substrate processing system (Figure 8) of claim 17, wherein N = 2, as claimed by claim 19
Redeker also teaches an inductive plasma processing apparatus (Figure 1) inlcuding RF antennas above (304,306) and peripherally (42,43).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made for Mayden to add an additional RF antenna above Mayden’s processing chamber (200; Figure 8) as taught by Redeker.
Motivation for Mayden to add an additional RF antenna above Mayden’s processing chamber (200; Figure 8) as taught by Redeker is for a “uniform plasma” as taught by Redeker (abstract).
Claim 23 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maydan; Dan et al. (US 5746875 A) and Hsu; Yung-Shun et al. (US 20190385816 A1), in view of Yudovsky; Joseph et al. (US 20070084406 A1). Maydan and Hsu are discussed above. Mayden further teaches using only o-rings for hermetic isolation. As a result, Maydan does not teach the gas distribution assembly (Figure 7B,7D,7F) of claim 1, wherein: Maydan’s gas distribution plate (72 of “gas distribution apparatus”; Figure 7B,7D,7F-Applicant’s 804; Figure 8) is absent O-rings at Maydan’s inner stepped interfaces (inner stepped interface of 74a,74b,72a,72b,75; Figure 7B,7D,7F) and at Maydan’s outer stepped interfaces (inner stepped interface of 74a,74b,72a,72b,75; Figure 7B,7D,7F) of Maydan’s N inner rings (74a,74b,72a,72b of “gas distribution apparatus”; Figure 7F; N=4; 348,336’,336,310,346,330’; Figure 18, N=6); and Maydan’s gas distribution plate (72 of “gas distribution apparatus”; Figure 7B,7D,7F-Applicant’s 804; Figure 8) comprises an O-ring disposed between Maydan’s top plate (137; Figure 7B,7D,7F; stainless steeel-Applicant’s 802; Figure 8) and Maydan’s outer ring (145 of “gas distribution apparatus”; Figure 7B,7D,7F).
Yudovsky also teaches a wafer processing apparatus (Figures 1-3) including welding chamber parts as an alternative to using o-rings ([0037]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made for Mayden to weld Mayden’s chamber parts as an alternative to using o-rings as taught by Yudovsky.
Motivation for Mayden to weld Mayden’s chamber parts as an alternative to using o-rings as taught by Yudovsky is for “reducing o-rings used for vacuum sealing” as taught by Yudovsky ([0037]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 9-13, filed September 25, 2025, with respect to the rejections of claims 1, 3, 6-9, 11-15, 22, and 24 under §102 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new grounds of rejection is made in view of §103 over Maydan; Dan et al. (US 5746875 A) and Hsu; Yung-Shun et al. (US 20190385816 A1).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Segmented gas distribution systems include US 6245192 B1, US 4590042 A, US-20070084408-A1
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Examiner Rudy Zervigon whose telephone number is (571) 272- 1442. The examiner can normally be reached on a Monday through Thursday schedule from 8am through 6pm EST. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Any Inquiry of a general nature or relating to the status of this application or proceeding should be directed to the Chemical and Materials Engineering art unit receptionist at (571) 272-1700. If the examiner cannot be reached please contact the examiner's supervisor, Parviz Hassanzadeh, at (571) 272- 1435.
/Rudy Zervigon/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1716
1 arcuate. adj. 1. Curved like a bow. https://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/arcuate