DETAILED ACTION
RESPONSE TO ARGUMENTS
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-2, 4-10 and 21 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
I. REJECTIONS BASED ON PRIOR ART
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4-10, and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jacobsen et al. (RIFFA 2.1 from IDS dated 8/9/2022) in view of Zhao et al. (US Pub.: 2020/0304426) and YI (US Pub.: 2017/0123974).
As per claim 1, Jacobsen teaches/suggests a method for data communication between applications of a host computer and partitions of resources of an FPGA, each partition being configured to serve a respective one of the applications (e.g. associated with communication channels between software threads on the CPU and the user cores on the FPGA: Fig. 3; Fig. 7-8; Section 2 on pages 22:3 to 22:4), and the host computer being configured to run the applications (e.g. associated with user application in Fig. 3), the method being performed by the host computer, the method comprising: communicating, over a PCIe interface provided between the host computer and the FPGA (e.g. associated with PCI Express Link on Fig. 3), data between the applications and the partitions of resources (e.g. associated with architecture running in both upstream and downstream directions: Section 3 on pages 22:9), wherein the communicating comprises: concatenating data from two or more of the applications into a single fixed-size PCIe data transaction (e.g. associated with simultaneously accessing the cores by the software threads on the CPU via a single cycle over 128-bit interface that contains different PCIe transactions : Section 2 on page 22:3 and Section 3.1 on pages 22:9 to 22:10); and transmitting the single fixed-size PCIe data transaction over the PCIe interface in a data transfer cycle (e.g. associated with communicating data from two different PCIe transaction via a single cycle on 128-bit interface: Section 3.1 on pages 22:9 to 22:10); wherein each application share of bandwidth resources of the PCIe interface, and bandwidth resources of the PCIe interface are distributed between the applications (Fig. 3; Fig. 7-8; Section 2 on pages 22:3 to 22:4; Section 2.2 on pages 22:6 to 22:7; Section 3 to 3.1.3 on pages 22:9 to 22:11; and Section 3.2 to 3.2.2 on pages 22:15 to 22:18).
Jacobsen does not teach the method comprising
writing start and end offsets of data into a register file, the start and end offsets indicating locations; and
being allocated its own configured, and all bandwidth resources of the PCIe interface are operating according to all the configured shares of bandwidth resources when the data is communicated.
Zhao teaches/suggests a method comprising: having corresponding location (e.g. associated with lane buffer (123) in Fig. 2); being allocated its own configured (e.g. associated with dynamic allocation of bandwidth for accelerator: [0044]), and all bandwidth resources of the PCIe interface are operating according to all the configured shares of bandwidth resources when the data is communicated (e.g. associated with bandwidth in root-interconnect communication channel (121) being equally shared by endpoints: [0022]-[0023]; and [0031]) (Fig. 2-3; [0019]-[0033]; [0038]; [0044]; and [0051]-[0055]).
YI teaches/suggests a method comprising: writing start and end offsets of data into a register file, the start and end offsets indicating locations (e.g. equate to register storing information on the allocated area of the buffer memory: [0130]-[0132])
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in this art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to include Zhao’s dynamic bandwidth allocation and YI’s buffer management into Jacobsen’s method for the benefit of providing quality of service support on memory communication for accelerators (Zhao, [0025]), and securing the integrity of data being transferred (YI, [0130]) to obtain the invention as specified in claim 1.
As per claim 2, Jacobsen, Zhao and YI teach/suggest all the claimed features of claim 1 above, where Jacobsen and Zhao further teach/suggest the method further comprising: allocating the bandwidth resources of the PCIe interface to the applications according to the configured shares of bandwidth resources before the data is communicated (e.g. associated with Fig. 6, ref. 1060 of Zhao); wherein the data, per each data transfer cycle, is either communicated from the host computer to the FPGA or from the FPGA to the host computer (e.g. associated with communication in both upstream and downstream directions: Section 3 on page 22:9 of Jacobsen) (Jacobsen, Fig. 3; Fig. 7-8; Section 2 on pages 22:3 to 22:4; Section 2.2 on pages 22:6 to 22:7; Section 3 to 3.1.3 on pages 22:9 to 22:11; Section 3.2.1 to 3.2.2 on pages 22:16 to 22:18; and Zhao, Fig. 2-3; Fig. 6; [0019]-[0033]; [0038]; [0044]; [0051]-[0055]).
As per claim 4, Jacobsen, Zhao and YI teach/suggest all the claimed features of claim 2 above, where Jacobsen and Zhao further teach/suggest the method comprising: wherein one fixed-size PCIe data transaction is communicated per each data transfer cycle (e.g. associated with particular/fixed format of data is used when communicating in accordance to PCIe protocol form one cycle to the next cycle: Jacobsen, Section 3.1 on pages 22:9 to 22:10) (Jacobsen, Fig. 3; Fig. 7-8; Section 2 on pages 22:3 to 22:4; Section 2.2 on pages 22:6 to 22:7; Section 3 to 3.1.3 on pages 22:9 to 22:11; Section 3.2.1 to 3.2.2 on pages 22:16 to 22:18; and Zhao, Fig. 2-3; Fig. 6; [0019]-[0033]; [0038]; [0044]; [0051]-[0055]).
As per claim 5, Jacobsen, Zhao and YI teach/suggest all the claimed features of claim 2 above, where Jacobsen and Zhao further teach/suggest the method comprising: wherein all bandwidth resources of the PCIe interface, per data transfer cycle, collectively define the fixed-size PCIe data transaction, and wherein each configured share of bandwidth resources is by the host computer translated to read/write offsets within the fixed-size PCIe data transaction (Jacobsen, Fig. 3; Fig. 7-8; Section 2 to 2.1.1 on pages 22:3 to 22:5; Section 2.2 on pages 22:6 to 22:7; Section 3 to 3.1.3 on pages 22:9 to 22:11; Section 3.2 to 3.2.2 on pages 22:15 to 22:18; and Zhao, Fig. 2-3; Fig. 6; [0019]-[0033]; [0038]; [0044]; [0051]-[0055]).
As per claim 6, Jacobsen, Zhao and YI teach/suggest all the claimed features of claim 5 above, where Jacobsen and Zhao further teach/suggest the method comprising: wherein the read/write offsets are communicated from the host computer to the FPGA (Jacobsen, Fig. 3; Fig. 7-8; Section 2 to 2.1.1 on pages 22:3 to 22:5; Section 2.2 on pages 22:6 to 22:7; Section 3 to 3.1.3 on pages 22:9 to 22:11; Section 3.2 to 3.2.2 on pages 22:15 to 22:18; and Zhao, Fig. 2-3; Fig. 6; [0019]-[0033]; [0038]; [0044]; [0051]-[0055]).
As per claim 7, Jacobsen, Zhao and YI teach/suggest all the claimed features of claim 4 above, where Jacobsen and Zhao further teach/suggest the method comprising: wherein communicating the data, between the host computer and the FPGA, comprises converting one fixed-size PCIe data transaction per each data transfer cycle into at least two direct memory access requests (Jacobsen, Fig. 3; Fig. 7-8; Section 2 to 2.1.1 on pages 22:3 to 22:5; Section 2.2 on pages 22:6 to 22:7; Section 3 to 3.1.3 on pages 22:9 to 22:11; Section 3.2 to 3.2.2 on pages 22:15 to 22:18; and Zhao, Fig. 2-3; Fig. 6; [0019]-[0033]; [0038]; [0044]; [0051]-[0055]), wherein it would have been obvious design choice to one of ordinary skilled in the art to further implement the above claimed features as data is communicated over the PCI interface.
As per claim 8, Jacobsen, Zhao and YI teach/suggest all the claimed features of claim 7 above, where Jacobsen and Zhao further teach/suggest the method comprising: wherein the PCIe interface is composed of direct memory access channels, and wherein there are at least as many direct memory access requests as there are direct memory access channels (Jacobsen, Fig. 3; Fig. 7-8; Section 2 to 2.1.1 on pages 22:3 to 22:5; Section 2.2 on pages 22:6 to 22:7; Section 3 to 3.1.3 on pages 22:9 to 22:11; Section 3.2 to 3.2.2 on pages 22:15 to 22:18; and Zhao, Fig. 2-3; Fig. 6; [0019]-[0033]; [0038]; [0044]; [0051]-[0055]), wherein it would have been obvious design choice to one of ordinary skilled in the art to further implement the above claimed features as data is communicated over the PCI interface.
As per claim 9, Jacobsen, Zhao and YI teach/suggest all the claimed features of claim 8 above, where Jacobsen and Zhao further teach/suggest the method comprising: wherein the at least two direct memory access requests are instantiated in parallel across all the direct memory access channels, and wherein the data is distributed among the direct memory access channels according to the configured shares of bandwidth resources (Jacobsen, Fig. 3; Fig. 7-8; Section 2 to 2.1.1 on pages 22:3 to 22:5; Section 2.2 on pages 22:6 to 22:7; Section 3 to 3.1.3 on pages 22:9 to 22:11; Section 3.2 to 3.2.2 on pages 22:15 to 22:18; and Zhao, Fig. 2-3; Fig. 6; [0019]-[0033]; [0038]; [0044]; [0051]-[0055]), wherein it would have been obvious design choice to one of ordinary skilled in the art to further implement the above claimed features as data is communicated over the PCI interface.
As per claim 10, Jacobsen, Zhao and YI teach/suggest all the claimed features of claim 1 above, where Jacobsen and Zhao further teach/suggest the method comprising: wherein the bandwidth resources of the PCIe interface are given in units of 32 bytes per data transfer cycle, and wherein each configured share of bandwidth resources of the PCIe interface is given as a multiple of 32 bytes (Jacobsen, Fig. 3; Fig. 7-8; Section 2 to 2.1.1 on pages 22:3 to 22:5; Section 2.2 on pages 22:6 to 22:7; Section 3 to 3.1.3 on pages 22:9 to 22:11; Section 3.2 to 3.2.2 on pages 22:15 to 22:18; and Zhao, Fig. 2-3; Fig. 6; [0019]-[0033]; [0038]; [0044]; [0051]-[0055]), wherein it would have been obvious design choice to one of ordinary skilled in the art to further implement the above claimed features as data is communicated over the PCI interface.
As per claim 22, claim 22 is rejected in accordance to the same rational and reasoning as the above rejection of claim 1.
Claims 11, 13-20, and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jacobsen et al. (RIFFA 2.1 from IDS dated 8/9/2022) in view of Zhao et al. (US Pub.: 2020/0304426).
As per claim 11, Jacobsen teaches/suggests a method for data communication between partitions of resources of an FPGA and applications of a host computer, each partition being configured to serve a respective one of the applications (e.g. associated with communication channels between software threads on the CPU and the user cores on the FPGA: Fig. 3; Fig. 7-8; Section 2 on pages 22:3 to 22:4), and the host computer being configured to run the applications (e.g. associated with user application in Fig. 3), the method being performed by the FPGA, the method comprising: communicating, over a PCIe interface provided between the FPGA and the host computer (e.g. associated with PCI Express Link on Fig. 3), data between the applications and the partitions of resources (e.g. associated with architecture running in both upstream and downstream directions: Section 3 on pages 22:9), wherein the communicating comprises: receiving concatenated data from two or more of the applications into a single fixed-size PCIe data transaction (e.g. associated with simultaneously accessing the cores by the software threads on the CPU via a single cycle over 128-bit interface that contains different PCIe transactions: Section 2 on page 22:3 and Section 3.1 on pages 22:9 to 22:10); and receiving the single fixed-size PCIe data transaction over the PCIe interface in a data transfer cycle (e.g. associated with communicating data from two different PCIe transaction via a single cycle on 128-bit interface: Section 3.1 on pages 22:9 to 22:10); wherein each application share of bandwidth resources of the PCIe interface, and bandwidth resources of the PCIe interface are distributed between the applications (Fig. 3; Fig. 7-8; Section 2 on pages 22:3 to 22:4; Section 2.2 on pages 22:6 to 22:7; Section 3 to 3.1.3 on pages 22:9 to 22:11; and Section 3.2 to 3.2.2 on pages 22:15 to 22:18).
Jacobsen does not teach the method comprising being allocated its own configured, and all bandwidth resources of the PCIe interface are operating according to all the configured shares of bandwidth resources when the data is communicated.
Zhao teaches/suggests a method comprising: having corresponding location (e.g. associated with lane buffer (123) in Fig. 2); being allocated its own configured (e.g. associated with dynamic allocation of bandwidth for accelerator: [0044]), and all bandwidth resources of the PCIe interface are operating according to all the configured shares of bandwidth resources when the data is communicated (e.g. associated with bandwidth in root-interconnect communication channel (121) being equally shared by endpoints: [0022]-[0023]; and [0031]) (Fig. 2-3; [0019]-[0033]; [0038]; [0044]; and [0051]-[0055]).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in this art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to include Zhao’s dynamic bandwidth allocation into Jacobsen’s method for the benefit of providing quality of service support on memory communication for accelerators (Zhao, [0025]) to obtain the invention as specified in claim 11.
As per claim 13, Jacobsen and Zhao teach/suggest all the claimed features of claim 11 above, where Jacobsen and Zhao further teach/suggest the method comprising: wherein one fixed-size PCIe data transaction is communicated per each data transfer cycle (e.g. associated with particular/fixed format of data is used when communicating in accordance to PCIe protocol form one cycle to the next cycle: Jacobsen, Section 3.1 on pages 22:9 to 22:10) (Jacobsen, Fig. 3; Fig. 7-8; Section 2 on pages 22:3 to 22:4; Section 2.2 on pages 22:6 to 22:7; Section 3 to 3.1.3 on pages 22:9 to 22:11; Section 3.2.1 to 3.2.2 on pages 22:16 to 22:18; and Zhao, Fig. 2-3; Fig. 6; [0019]-[0033]; [0038]; [0044]; [0051]-[0055]).
As per claim 14, Jacobsen and Zhao teach/suggest all the claimed features of claim 11 above, where Jacobsen and Zhao further teach/suggest the method comprising: wherein all bandwidth resources of the PCIe interface, per data transfer cycle, collectively define the fixed-size PCIe data transaction, and wherein each configured share of bandwidth resources corresponds to read/write offsets within the fixed-size PCIe data transaction (Jacobsen, Fig. 3; Fig. 7-8; Section 2 to 2.1.1 on pages 22:3 to 22:5; Section 2.2 on pages 22:6 to 22:7; Section 3 to 3.1.3 on pages 22:9 to 22:11; Section 3.2 to 3.2.2 on pages 22:15 to 22:18; and Zhao, Fig. 2-3; Fig. 6; [0019]-[0033]; [0038]; [0044]; [0051]-[0055]).
As per claim 15, Jacobsen and Zhao teach/suggest all the claimed features of claim 14 above, where Jacobsen and Zhao further teach/suggest the method comprising: wherein the read/write offsets are communicated to the FPGA from the host computer and written by the FPGA in a register file (Jacobsen, Fig. 3; Fig. 7-8; Section 2 to 2.1.1 on pages 22:3 to 22:5; Section 2.2 on pages 22:6 to 22:7; Section 3 to 3.1.3 on pages 22:9 to 22:11; Section 3.2 to 3.2.2 on pages 22:15 to 22:18; and Zhao, Fig. 2-3; Fig. 6; [0019]-[0033]; [0038]; [0044]; [0051]-[0055]).
As per claim 16, Jacobsen and Zhao teach/suggest all the claimed features of claim 15 above, where Jacobsen and Zhao further teach/suggest the method comprising: wherein, for data communicated from the host computer to the FPGA, the data is distributed to the partitions according to the write offsets in the register file (Jacobsen, Fig. 3; Fig. 7-8; Section 2 to 2.1.1 on pages 22:3 to 22:5; Section 2.2 on pages 22:6 to 22:7; Section 3 to 3.1.3 on pages 22:9 to 22:11; Section 3.2 to 3.2.2 on pages 22:15 to 22:18; and Zhao, Fig. 2-3; Fig. 6; [0019]-[0033]; [0038]; [0044]; [0051]-[0055]), wherein it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art to further implement the above claimed features as data is communicated over the PCI interface.
As per claim 17, Jacobsen and Zhao teach/suggest all the claimed features of claim 11 above, where Jacobsen and Zhao further teach/suggest the method comprising: wherein the FPGA comprises a double buffer, and wherein the data is reordered in a double buffer (Jacobsen, Fig. 3; Fig. 7-8; Section 2 to 2.1.1 on pages 22:3 to 22:5; Section 2.2 on pages 22:6 to 22:7; Section 3 to 3.1.3 on pages 22:9 to 22:12; Section 3.2 to 3.2.2 on pages 22:15 to 22:18; and Zhao, Fig. 2-3; Fig. 6; [0019]-[0033]; [0038]; [0044]; [0051]-[0055]), wherein it would have been obvious design choice to one of ordinary skilled in the art to further implement the above claimed features as data is communicated over the PCI interface.
As per claim 18, Jacobsen and Zhao teach/suggest all the claimed features of claim 14 above, where Jacobsen and Zhao further teach/suggest the method comprising: wherein, for data communicated from the host computer to the FPGA, the data is reordered according to the write offsets in the register file before being distributed to the partitions (Jacobsen, Fig. 3; Fig. 7-8; Section 2 to 2.1.1 on pages 22:3 to 22:5; Section 2.2 on pages 22:6 to 22:7; Section 3 to 3.1.3 on pages 22:9 to 22:11; Section 3.2 to 3.2.2 on pages 22:15 to 22:18; and Zhao, Fig. 2-3; Fig. 6; [0019]-[0033]; [0038]; [0044]; [0051]-[0055]), wherein it would have been obvious design choice to one of ordinary skilled in the art to further implement the above claimed features as data is communicated over the PCI interface.
As per claim 19, Jacobsen and Zhao teach/suggest all the claimed features of claim 14 above, where Jacobsen and Zhao further teach/suggest the method comprising: wherein, for data communicated from the FPGA to the host computer, the data is reordered according to the read offsets in the register file before being communicated from the FPGA to the host computer (Jacobsen, Fig. 3; Fig. 7-8; Section 2 to 2.1.1 on pages 22:3 to 22:5; Section 2.2 on pages 22:6 to 22:7; Section 3 to 3.1.3 on pages 22:9 to 22:11; Section 3.2 to 3.2.2 on pages 22:15 to 22:18; and Zhao, Fig. 2-3; Fig. 6; [0019]-[0033]; [0038]; [0044]; [0051]-[0055]), wherein it would have been obvious design choice to one of ordinary skilled in the art to further implement the above claimed features as data is communicated over the PCI interface.
As per claim 20, Jacobsen and Zhao teach/suggest all the claimed features of claim 11 above, where Jacobsen and Zhao further teach/suggest the method comprising: wherein the bandwidth resources of the PCIe interface are given in units of 32 bytes per data transfer cycle, and wherein each configured share of bandwidth resources of the PCIe interface is given as a multiple of 32 bytes (Jacobsen, Fig. 3; Fig. 7-8; Section 2 to 2.1.1 on pages 22:3 to 22:5; Section 2.2 on pages 22:6 to 22:7; Section 3 to 3.1.3 on pages 22:9 to 22:11; Section 3.2 to 3.2.2 on pages 22:15 to 22:18; and Zhao, Fig. 2-3; Fig. 6; [0019]-[0033]; [0038]; [0044]; [0051]-[0055]), wherein it would have been obvious design choice to one of ordinary skilled in the art to further implement the above claimed features as data is communicated over the PCI interface.
As per claim 25, claim 25 is rejected in accordance to the same rational and reasoning as the above rejection of claim 11.
II. CLOSING COMMENTS
CONCLUSION
STATUS OF CLAIMS IN THE APPLICATION
The following is a summary of the treatment and status of all claims in the application as recommended by M.P.E.P. 707.07(i):
CLAIMS REJECTED IN THE APPLICATION
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
DIRECTION OF FUTURE CORRESPONDENCES
IMPORTANT NOTE
/CHUN KUAN LEE/Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2181 March 25, 2026