DETAILED ACTION
This Office action is in response to the request for continued examination filed on September 1st, 2026. Claims 1-12 and 14-21 are pending, with claim 21 being new.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “aberration correctors configured to reduce one or more aberrations in the sub-beams” in claims 1-14 and 16-20 and “field curvature correctors configured to reduce field curvature” in claims 1-14 and 17.
Based on the specification, it appears that “aberration correctors configured to reduce one or more aberrations in the sub-beams” corresponds to a deflecting element (described in connection with elements 124,125 and comprising a programmable deflector or multipole deflector) or field curvature correcto. A “field curvature corrector configured to reduce field curvature” comprising an aperture pattern of varying dimensions, also called a passive corrector by applicants (described in reference to element 126) or a electrostatic lens, also called an active corrector by applicants. Applicant also discloses that the “field curvature corrector” can take an “active form”, but does not disclose the structure of such an active form except to imply that electrodes are involved (‘The correction applied by each active corrector may be controlled by controlling the potential of each of one or more electrodes of the active corrector.’). Examiner initially thought this was an additional deflector, but after further consideration she suspects it more likely refers to the electrodes of the objective lens itself. It may also take an entirely different form not apparent to examiner.
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “step for,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses functional language without reciting sufficient acts to perform the recited. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “(step for) reducing one or more aberrations in the sub-beams by aberration correctors, at least a sub-set of the aberration correctors positioned in, or directly adjacent to a respective one of the intermediate foci” and “(step for) reducing field curvature by the curvature correctors” in claim 15.
Based on the specification, it appears that “(step for) reducing one or more aberrations in the sub-beams by aberration correctors, … (at or near) one of the intermediate foci” corresponds to deflecting the sub-beams, and “(step for) reducing field curvature by the curvature correctors” corresponds to passing the sub-beams through a set of apertures of varying dimensions or applying voltages to the electrodes of an objective lens.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 6-17 and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2017/0243717 (Kruit) in view of US 2008/0023643 (Kruit et al.) and US 2021/0272770 (Sohda et al.)
Regarding claim 1, Kruit discloses a charged particle assessment tool, comprising:
a condenser lens array configured to divide a beam of charged particles into a plurality of sub-beams and to focus each of the sub-beams to a respective intermediate focus (fig. 5A, element 84);
a plurality of objective lenses downstream from the intermediate foci, each objective lens configured to project a sub-beam from a corresponding condenser lens in the condenser lens array onto a sample (fig. 5A, element 87); and
aberration correctors configured to reduce one or more aberrations in the sub-beams, the aberration correctors comprising a second subset comprising one or more aberration correctors (fig. 5A, element 88, wherein ‘By providing an electro-magnetic deflection unit, any deviation or drift between the alignment between the first and second multi-aperture plate can be corrected by the electro-magnetic deflection unit.’) positioned in, or directly adjacent to, a respective one of the intermediate foci (‘the first focus plane is arranged in or near the collimator lens unit 26,’ where element 88 is located directly adjacent of the collimator lens as shown in fig. 5A wherein collimator lens unit is 86); and
an electron detection device configured to detect either or both of secondary electrons and backscattered electrons from the sample (fig. 2, element 28, note that fig. 5A is discloses as being 'an example of electron-optical components for the primary electron beams comprising a deflector subsystem for use in any one of the examples shown in FIGS. 2, 3 and 4;' P 84).
Kruit does not disclose a first subset of aberration correctors comprising a plurality of field curvature correctors configured to reduce field curvature. Kruit et al. discloses a charged particle tool including field curvature correctors configured to reduce field curvature (fig. 8, wherein ‘In FIG. 8, the 3-electrode lens array is shown with lens radius increasing for off-axial lenses, so as to correct field curvature.’ P 49). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to modify the charged particle assessment tool of Kruit to include the field curvature correctors of Kruit et al. in the objective lens array so that the collimator lens could be removed, which would reduce the sources of aberrations and simplify the system.
Kruit also does not disclose an electron detection device located at, or between the sample and, the plurality of objective lenses. Sohda et al. discloses a charged particle assessment tool including an electron detection device configured to detect backscattered electrons from the sample, the electron detection device located at, or between the sample and, the objective lens (multiple figures, element 1023). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to modify Kruit in view of Kruit et al. to include the backscattered electron detector of Sohda et al. to more easily detect high aspect structures, because secondary electron detectors such as the one in Kruit have difficulty detecting these, as discussed in Sohda et al. (“This is because it is difficult for the secondary electrons having low energy to escape from the deep groove or the deep hole, whereas the backscattered electrons having high energy can escape from the deep groove or the deep hole from a bottom of the groove or the hole. Therefore, in order to detect the backscattered electrons, the backscattered electron detector 1023 is provided directly above the sample.” P 21).
Regarding claim 2, Kruit in view of Kruit et al. and Sohda et al. discloses the tool of claim 1, wherein each of one or more field curvature correctors of the plurality of field curvature correctors is integrated with, or directly adjacent to, one or more of the objective lenses (Kruit et al., fig. 8).
Regarding claim 3, Kruit in view of Kruit et al. and Sohda et al. discloses the tool of claim 1, wherein a path of each sub-beam is substantially a straight line from each condenser lens to the corresponding objective lens (Kruit et al., fig. 8, this will be true of Kruit once collimator lens is removed).
Regarding claim 6, Kruit in view of Kruit et al. and Sohda et al. discloses the tool of claim 1, wherein the condenser lens array comprises a plurality of beam apertures for the dividing of the beam of charged particles into a corresponding plurality of sub-beams (fig. 5A, element 84).
Regarding claim 7, Kruit in view of Kruit et al. and Sohda et al. discloses the tool of claim 1, wherein the condenser lens array comprises a plurality of condenser lenses, each condenser lens configured to focus a different one of the sub-beams to the respective intermediate focus (fig. 2, elements 31 & 32, wherein ‘In addition, the beam splitter 24 comprises first electrodes 32 which together with the first multi-aperture plate 31 provides a first electrostatic lens array, wherein substantially each aperture of said first multi-aperture plate 31 in use comprises an electrostatic lens which focuses the electron beam which is created by said aperture. The electrostatic lenses of the first electrostatic lens array of the beam splitter 24 are arranged to focus the multiple primary electron beams 25 in a first focus plane.’ P 99, note that fig. 5A is discloses as being ‘an example of electron-optical components for the primary electron beams comprising a deflector subsystem for use in any one of the examples shown in FIGS. 2, 3 and 4;’ P 84).
Regarding claim 8, Kruit in view of Kruit et al. and Sohda et al. discloses the tool of claim 7, wherein:
each condenser lens comprises a condenser multi-electrode lens, the condenser multi-electrode lens comprising an entry electrode through which charged particles enter the condenser multi-electrode lens, an exit electrode through which charged particles exit the condenser multi-electrode lens, and at least one further electrode between the entry electrode and the exit electrode of the condenser multi-electrode lens (fig. 2, electrodes 32 and 31, note that fig. 5A is discloses as being ‘an example of electron-optical components for the primary electron beams comprising a deflector subsystem for use in any one of the examples shown in FIGS. 2, 3 and 4;’ P 84).
Kruit in view of Kruit et al. does not specifically disclose the tool is configured to control electric potentials of electrodes of each condenser multi-electrode lens such that there is substantially no difference in energy between particles entering and exiting the condenser multi-electrode lens. Controllers for controlling electric potentials of lenses are well known in the art and it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to modify the tool of Kruit in view of Kruit et al. to include such a controller to ensure that the desired foci and energies are achieved.
Regarding claim 9, Kruit in view of Kruit et al. and Sohda et al. discloses the tool of claim 8, wherein:
each objective lens comprises an objective multi-electrode lens, the objective multi-electrode lens comprising an entry electrode through which charged particles enter the objective multi-electrode lens, an exit electrode through which charged particles exit the objective multi-electrode lens, and at least one further electrode between the entry electrode and the exit electrode of the objective multi-electrode lens (fig. 2, elements 33 & 34, see also Kruit et al., fig. 8).
Kruit in view of Kruit et al. does not specifically disclose the tool is configured to control electric potentials of electrodes of each objective multi-electrode lens such that there is substantially no difference in energy between particles entering and exiting the objective multi-electrode lens. Controllers for controlling electric potentials of lenses are well known in the art and it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to modify the tool of Kruit in view of Kruit et al. to include such a controller to ensure that the desired foci and energies are achieved.
Regarding claims 10 & 11, these claims refer to setting the potentials of electrodes to achieve aims, which amount to intended use. The claims are met as long as the electrode arrangements and controller for setting the potentials are present, which is addressed in the parent claims.
Regarding claim 12, Kruit in view of Kruit et al. and Sohda et al. discloses the claimed invention except it does not specify whether a separation between the entry electrode and the exit electrode of each condenser multi-electrode lens is larger than a separation between the entry electrode and the exit electrode of the corresponding objective multi-electrode lens. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to use a wider separation distance for the condenser lens than the objective lenses because the condenser lens is focusing a more divergent beam and requires a longer time in the electric field to achieve adequate focusing.
Regarding claim 14, Kruit in view of Kruit et al. and Sohda et al. discloses the tool of claim 1, wherein the electron detection device is configured to face the sample (Sohda et al., multiple figures, element 1023, wherein “The backscattered electron detector 1023 has a tapered hole facing the sample stage 1025, and detects the backscattered electrons 1017 on a tapered surface (inner wall of the hole) and a lower surface thereof.” P 19).
Regarding claim 15, Kruit discloses an inspection method, comprising:
emitting a plurality of sub-beams of charged particles from a condenser lens array and focusing each sub-beam to a respective intermediate focus (‘The electrostatic lenses of the first electrostatic lens array of the beam splitter 24 are arranged to focus the multiple primary electron beams 25 in a first focus plane.’ P 99);
using a plurality of objective lenses downstream from the intermediate foci to project each sub-beam onto a sample (‘objective lens unit 27 for focusing said multiple primary electron beams 25 on said sample 13.’); and
reducing one or more aberrations in the sub-beams by aberration correctors (‘By providing an electro-magnetic deflection unit, any deviation or drift between the alignment between the first and second multi-aperture plate can be corrected by the electro-magnetic deflection unit.’ P 29), at least a first subset of the one or more aberration correctors positioned in, or directly adjacent to a respective one of the intermediate foci (‘the first focus plane is arranged in or near the collimator lens unit 26,’ where deflection unit 88 is located directly adjacent of the collimator lens as shown in fig. 5A wherein collimator lens unit is 86); and
detecting either or both of secondary electrons and backscattered electrons from the sample using an electron detection device (“In this example, the separation of the secondary electron beams 29 at the fluorescent plate 35 is arranged such that, in use, the multi-sensor detector 36 separately detects the intensity of the individual secondary electron beams 29 created by each one of said focused primary electron beams 25 on said sample 13.” P 107).
Kruit does not disclose a second subset of aberration correctors comprising a plurality of field curvature correctors to reduce field curvature, wherein reducing one or more aberrations in the sub-beams comprises reducing field curvature by field curvature correctors. Kruit et al. discloses an inspection method where field curvature is reduced by field curvature correctors (‘In FIG. 8, the 3-electrode lens array is shown with lens radius increasing for off-axial lenses, so as to correct field curvature.’ P 49). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to modify the inspection method of Kruit to include the field curvature correction step of Kruit et al. so that the collimator lens could be removed, which would reduce the sources of aberrations and simplify the system.
Kruit also does not disclose detecting the secondary and/or backscattered electrons using an electron detection device located at, or between the sample and, the plurality of objective lenses. Sohda et al. discloses an inspection method comprising detecting backscattered electrons from the sample using an electron detection device located at, or between the sample and, the objective lens (“The backscattered electron detector 1023 has a tapered hole facing the sample stage 1025, and detects the backscattered electrons 1017 on a tapered surface (inner wall of the hole) and a lower surface thereof.” P 19). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to modify Kruit in view of Kruit et al. to include the backscattered electron detector of Sohda et al. to more easily detect high aspect structures, because secondary electron detectors such as the one in Kruit have difficulty detecting these, as discussed in Sohda et al. (“This is because it is difficult for the secondary electrons having low energy to escape from the deep groove or the deep hole, whereas the backscattered electrons having high energy can escape from the deep groove or the deep hole from a bottom of the groove or the hole. Therefore, in order to detect the backscattered electrons, the backscattered electron detector 1023 is provided directly above the sample.” P 21).
Regarding claim 16, Kruit discloses a charged particle assessment tool, comprising:
a condenser lens array configured to divide a beam of charged particles into a plurality of sub-beams and to focus each of the sub-beams to a respective intermediate focus (fig. 5A, element 84);
a plurality of objective lenses downstream from the intermediate foci, each objective lens configured to project a sub-beam from a corresponding condenser lens in the condenser lens array onto a sample (fig. 5A, element 87); and
one or more aberration correctors configured to reduce one or more aberrations in the sub-beams, and each of at least a subset of the one or more aberration correctors is positioned in, or directly adjacent to, a respective one of the intermediate foci (fig. 5A, element 88); and
an electron detection device configured to detect either or both of secondary and backscattered electrons from the sample (fig. 2, element 28, note that fig. 5A is discloses as being 'an example of electron-optical components for the primary electron beams comprising a deflector subsystem for use in any one of the examples shown in FIGS. 2, 3 and 4;' P 84).
Kruit does not disclose wherein a path of each sub-beam is substantially a straight line from each condenser lens to the corresponding objective lens. Kruit et al. discloses a microlens array that can be used as an objective lens array without needing to collimate the sub-beams (fig. 8). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to substitute the micro-lens array of Kruit et al. for the objective lens array of Kruit so that the collimator lens could be removed, which would reduce the sources of aberrations and simplify the system.
Kruit also does not disclose an electron detection device located at, or between the sample and, the plurality of objective lenses. Sohda et al. discloses a charged particle assessment tool including an electron detection device configured to detect backscattered electrons from the sample, the electron detection device located at, or between the sample and, the objective lens (multiple figures, element 1023). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to modify Kruit in view of Kruit et al. to include the backscattered electron detector of Sohda et al. to more easily detect high aspect structures, because secondary electron detectors such as the one in Kruit have difficulty detecting these, as discussed in Sohda et al. (“This is because it is difficult for the secondary electrons having low energy to escape from the deep groove or the deep hole, whereas the backscattered electrons having high energy can escape from the deep groove or the deep hole from a bottom of the groove or the hole. Therefore, in order to detect the backscattered electrons, the backscattered electron detector 1023 is provided directly above the sample.” P 21).
Regarding claim 17, Kruit in view of Kruit et al. and Sohda et al. discloses the tool of claim 16, further comprising a field curvature corrector configured to reduce field curvature (Kruit et al., ‘In FIG. 8, the 3-electrode lens array is shown with lens radius increasing for off-axial lenses, so as to correct field curvature.’).
Regarding claim 20, Kruit in view of Kruit et al. and Sohda et al. discloses the tool of claim 16, wherein the condenser lens array comprises a plurality of condenser lenses, each condenser lens being configured to focus a different one of the sub-beams to the respective intermediate focus and wherein:
each condenser lens comprises a condenser multi-electrode lens, the condenser multi-electrode lens comprising an entry electrode through which charged particles enter the condenser multi-electrode lens, an exit electrode through which charged particles exit the condenser multi-electrode lens, and at least one further electrode between the entry electrode and the exit electrode of the condenser multi-electrode lens (fig. 2, electrodes 32 and 31, note that fig. 5A is discloses as being ‘an example of electron-optical components for the primary electron beams comprising a deflector subsystem for use in any one of the examples shown in FIGS. 2, 3 and 4;’ P 84).
Kruit in view of Kruit et al. does not specifically disclose the tool is configured to control electric potentials of electrodes of each condenser multi-electrode lens such that there is substantially no difference in energy between particles entering and exiting the condenser multi-electrode lens. Controllers for controlling electric potentials of lenses are well known in the art and it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to modify the tool of Kruit in view of Kruit et al. to include such a controller to ensure that the desired foci and energies are achieved.
Regarding claim 21, Kruit in view of Kruit et al. and Sohda et al. discloses the tool of claim 16, wherein the electron detection device is configured to face the sample (Sohda et al., multiple figures, element 1023, wherein “The backscattered electron detector 1023 has a tapered hole facing the sample stage 1025, and detects the backscattered electrons 1017 on a tapered surface (inner wall of the hole) and a lower surface thereof.” P 19).
Claim(s) 4-5 & 18-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kruit in view of Kruit et al. and Sohda et al. as applied to claims 1 & 16 above, and further in view of US 10,176,965 (Breuer).
Regarding claims 4 & 18, Breuer discloses a charged particle tool wherein aberrations contributed by the objective lenses are at least partially compensated by aberrations contributed by the condenser lens array (‘The aberration correction element 210 in combination with the lens array 320 can provide an array of intermediate beamlet crossovers which possess the opposite off-axial aberrations (field curvature, field astigmatism, radial chromatic distortion, etc.) as the common objective lens.’). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to modify the tool of Kruit to include the aberration balancing of Breuer to offset aberrations not caused by beam misalignment or field curvature.
Regarding claims 5 & 19, Breuer discloses a charged particle tool wherein off-axis aberrations contributed by the objective lenses are at least partially compensated by off-axis aberrations contributed by the condenser lens array (‘The aberration correction element 210 in combination with the lens array 320 can provide an array of intermediate beamlet crossovers which possess the opposite off-axial aberrations (field curvature, field astigmatism, radial chromatic distortion, etc.) as the common objective lens.’). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to modify the tool of Kruit to include the aberration balancing of Breuer to offset aberrations not caused by beam misalignment or field curvature.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/ELIZA W OSENBAUGH-STEWART/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2881