DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Species A4 and Species B7 in the reply filed on 11/12/2025 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Claims 7-10 and 17-18 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The limitation “a first capacitance patch connected to of the first coil” in claim 6-line 2 is confusing since it is not clear to what part of the first coil the first capacitance patch is connected. It should be noted that it appears that a term/limitation is missing between the “to” and the “of” words. Clarification and/or correction are/is required.
The limitation “a second capacitance patch connected to of the second coil” in claim 6-line 3 is confusing since it is not clear to what part of the second coil the second capacitance patch is connected. It should be noted that it appears that a term/limitation is missing between the “to” and the “of” words. Clarification and/or correction are/is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6, 12-16, and 20-26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Okamoto et al., US 6,438,000.
Okamoto et al. shows the invention substantially as claimed including a filter comprising: a dielectric layer 3/4; and a first inductor 50 comprising a first input 1ac, a first coil 1a disposed on a first side of the dielectric layer and connected to the first input, a second coil 2a disposed on a second side of the dielectric layer opposite the first side, wherein the first coil and the second coil are planar, such that windings of the first coil are in a first layer and windings of the second coil are in a second layer, wherein the first coil overlaps, and wherein the first coil, the dielectric layer and the second coil collectively provide a capacitance of the radio frequency filter, and a first output 2ac connected to the second coil; (see, for example, figs. 1-3, and their descriptions, especially, col. 2, lines 11-17; col. 4, lines 63-67; col. 5, lines 3-62; Fig. 3 is shown below).
With respect to the first coil being connected in series with the second coil, and a first via extending through the dielectric layer and connected to the first coil and the second coil, it should be noted that Okamoto et al. discloses in, for example, col. 4-line 63 to col. 5-line 12, that “The innermost end of the spiral coil 1a is an area 1an, which is used for connecting to a spiral coil of another main circuit”, and “An innermost end of the spiral coil 2a is an area 2an, which is used for connecting to a spiral coil of another earth circuit”. Additionally, Okamoto et al. discloses that the composite members 50 and 60 are bonded together at the terminals inside both composite members (terminals 1an and 1bn by the use of a metal piece or the like (see, for example, col. 5-line 66 to col. 6-line 8). Therefore, in view of this disclosure, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention that the first coil and the second coil are connected in series through a via connected to the first and second coil since the first and second coils are electrically connected to each other through an electrical connection that extends from the area 1an in the innermost end of the spiral coil 1a to the area 2an of the innermost end of the spiral coil 2a.
With respect to claim 2, it should be noted that Okamoto et al. discloses that “The dielectric chip 3 is preferably made of material having a large capacitance, e.g. ferroelectric ceramics such as BaTiO3, SrTiO3 and lead zirconate titanate (PZT). The thickness of the dielectric chip 3 is between 50 Fm and 2 mm, and more preferably between 100 Fm and 1mm” (col. 5, lines 13-24). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to optimize the capacitance of the filter (through the material and size/area/thickness of the dielectric) during routine experimentation depending upon, for example, the desired filter characteristic, and such limitation would not lend patentability to the instant application absent the showing of unexpected results.
Concerning claims 3-4, it should be noted that Okamoto et al. discloses that the first coil is wound in one of a clockwise direction or a counterclockwise direction from an input of the first coil to an output of the first coil; and the second coil is wound in a same one of the clockwise direction or the counterclockwise direction, as the first coil, from an input of the second coil to an output of the second coil; and wherein the first input is disposed across from and on an opposite end of the radio frequency filter than the first output; (see, for example, Figs. 1-3, Fig. 1 is shown below).
Regarding claim 5, it should be noted that the specification of the instant claimed invention discloses that the inputs and outputs of the coils may be adjacent to each other, across from each other and/or in other location (see, for example, paragraph 0049). Therefore, it would have been an obvious choice of design for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to position the first input and the first output as claimed since there is no evidence that the choice of a particular location of the inputs and outputs of the first and second coils would significantly affect the overall performance of the filter.
With respect to claim 6, it should be noted that Okamoto et al. discloses that “The dielectric chip 3 connects to the spiral coils 1a and 2a to compose a capacitor” and “The required number of dielectric chips 3 are put tightly at regular intervals between the spiral coils 1a and 2a, and they are bonded together. This constructs the first spiral LC composite member 50 serving as the one-layer inductor and capacitor”; (see, for example, col. 5, lines 13-30). Furthermore, Figs. 1 and 2, show that the first and second capacitance patches can be disposed opposite of each other.
Concerning claim 12, Okamoto et al. further discloses the use of a second filter 60 having similar characteristics as the first filter 50 (see, for example Figs. 2-3). The second filter 60 comprising a second input 1bc, a third coil 1b disposed on the first side of the dielectric layer and connected to the second input, a fourth coil 2b disposed of the second side of the dielectric layer opposite the first side, wherein the third coil and the fourth coil are planar, such that windings of the third coil are in the first layer and windings of the fourth coil are in the second layer, wherein the third coil overlaps, and wherein the third coil, the dielectric layer and the fourth coil collectively provide a second capacitance of the radio frequency filter, and a second output 2bc connected to the fourth coil; (see, for example, figs. 1-3, and their descriptions, especially, col. 2, lines 11-17; col. 4, lines 63-67; col. 5, lines 3-62; Figs. 2 is shown below and Fig. 3 is shown above). It should be noted that, as in the first filter 50, the third coil and fourth coils of the second filter 60 would be connected in series through a second via connected to the third and fourth coils since the third and fourth coils are electrically connected to each other through an electrical connection that extends from the area 1bn in the innermost end of the spiral coil 2a to the area 2bn of the innermost end of the spiral coil 2b.
Concerning claims 13-14, it should be noted that the third coil and the fourth coil are wound in a same direction as the first coil and the second coil (see, for example, Fig. 2); and the first input is adjacent to the second input; and the first output is adjacent to the second output (see, for example, Figs. 2-3 above, and col. 5-line 53 to col. 6-line 13).
Regarding claim 15, it should be noted that the specification of the instant claimed invention discloses that the inputs and outputs of the coils may be adjacent to each other, across from each other and/or in other location (see, for example, paragraph 0049). Therefore, it would have been an obvious choice of design for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to position the first input, the second input, the first output, and the second output, as claimed since there is no evidence that the choice of a particular location of the inputs and outputs of the first and second coils would significantly affect the overall performance of the filter.
With respect to claim 16, it should be noted that, as stated above with respect to claim 6, Okamoto et al. discloses first and second capacitance patches, and that the first and second capacitance patches can be disposed opposite of each other.
Regarding claims 20-22 and 26, it should be noted that the first via is the only via connecting the first coil to the second coil; the first capacitance and the second capacitance patches can be disposed in a center of the first coil and the second coil, respectively; the first coil extends parallel to the third coil; the second coil extends parallel to the fourth coil; and the second via is the only via connecting the third coil to the fourth coil.
With respect to claims 23-24, it should be noted that the first coil is wound in a same vertical plane as the third coil; and the second coil is wound in a same vertical plane as the fourth coil; each of the first coil and the third coil comprise a plurality of windings wound in a first plane; each of the second coil and the fourth coil comprise a plurality of windings wound in a second plane; and the second plane is parallel to the first plane.
Regarding claim 25, it should be noted that Okamoto et al. teaches in the embodiment of Fig. 4, that the first coil and the third coil wind in a same direction from inputs of the first coil and the third coil to outputs of the first coil and the third coil; and the second coil and the fourth coil wind in a same direction from inputs of the second coil and the fourth coil to outputs of the second coil and the fourth coil. Additionally, it would have been an obvious choice of design for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have the coils wind in the same direction as claimed since there is no evidence that the choice of a particular wind direction would significantly affect the overall performance of the filter.
Claim(s) 11, 19, and 27-30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over, Okunishi, US 2019/0348263 in view of Okamoto et al., US 6,438,000.
Okunishi discloses the invention substantially as claimed including a substrate processing system comprising a substrate support 14 comprising a heating element HT, a radio frequency filter FD connected to one of an input or an output of the heating element, and a power source supplying power to the input of the heating element through one of the radio frequency filter; (see, for example, Figs. 1-3 and their descriptions, especially paragraphs 0039, and 0045-0049; Figs. 1-2 are shown below).
Okunishi does not expressly disclose that the filter is the radio frequency filter of claim 1. Okamoto et al. discloses a filter comprising: a dielectric layer 3/4; and a first inductor 50/60 comprising a first input 1ac/1bc, a first coil 1a/1b disposed on a first side of the dielectric layer and connected to the first input, a second coil 2a/2b disposed on a second side of the dielectric layer opposite the first side, wherein the first coil and the second coil are planar, such that windings of the first coil are in a first layer and windings of the second coil are in a second layer, wherein the first coil overlaps, and wherein the first coil, the dielectric layer and the second coil collectively provide a capacitance of the radio frequency filter, and a first output 2ac/2bc connected to the second coil; (see, for example, figs. 1-3, and their descriptions, especially, col. 2, lines 11-17; col. 4, lines 63-67; col. 5, lines 3-62; Fig. 3 is shown below).
Therefore, in view of this disclosure, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the apparatus of Okunishi as to comprise the claimed radio frequency filter because such means is known and used in the art as a suitable means for effectively and efficiently achieve a variety of cut-off frequency, filter noise/radio frequency, and avoid interference and/or damage. It should further be noted that the dielectric of the substrate support of the apparatus of Okunishi can be used as the dielectric layer.
With respect to the first coil being connected in series with the second coil, and a first via extending through the dielectric layer and connected to the first coil and the second coil, it should be noted that Okamoto et al. discloses in, for example, col. 4-line 63 to col. 5-line 12, that “The innermost end of the spiral coil 1a is an area 1an, which is used for connecting to a spiral coil of another main circuit”, and “An innermost end of the spiral coil 2a is an area 2an, which is used for connecting to a spiral coil of another earth circuit”. Additionally, Okamoto et al. discloses that the composite members 50 and 60 are bonded together at the terminals inside both composite members (terminals 1an and 1bn by the use of a metal piece or the like (see, for example, col. 5-line 66 to col. 6-line 8). Therefore, in view of this disclosure, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention that the first coil and the second coil are connected in series through a via connected to the first and second coil since the first and second coils are electrically connected to each other through an electrical connection that extends from the area 1an in the innermost end of the spiral coil 1a to the area 2an of the innermost end of the spiral coil 2a. It should further be noted that Okamoto et al. discloses a first radio frequency filter 50 and a second radio frequency filter 60 (see, for example, Fig. 3).
With respect to claim 19 and 29, it should be noted that Okamoto et al. further discloses the use of a second filter 60 having similar characteristics as the first filter 50 (see, for example Figs. 2-3). The second filter 60 comprising a second input 1bc, a third coil 1b disposed on the first side of the dielectric layer and connected to the second input, a fourth coil 2b disposed of the second side of the dielectric layer opposite the first side, wherein the third coil and the fourth coil are planar, such that windings of the third coil are in the first layer and windings of the fourth coil are in the second layer, wherein the third coil overlaps, and wherein the third coil, the dielectric layer and the fourth coil collectively provide a second capacitance of the radio frequency filter, and a second output 2bc connected to the fourth coil; (see, for example, figs. 1-3, and their descriptions, especially, col. 2, lines 11-17; col. 4, lines 63-67; col. 5, lines 3-62; Figs. 2 is shown below and Fig. 3 is shown above). It should be noted that, as in the first filter 50, the third coil and fourth coils of the second filter 60 would be connected in series through a second via connected to the third and fourth coils since the third and fourth coils are electrically connected to each other through an electrical connection that extends from the area 1bn in the innermost end of the spiral coil 2a to the area 2bn of the innermost end of the spiral coil 2b.
Therefore, in view of this disclosure, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the apparatus of Okunishi as to comprise the claimed radio frequency filter because such means is known and used in the art as a suitable means for effectively and efficiently achieve a variety of cut-off frequency, filter noise/radio frequency, and avoid interference and/or damage. It should further be noted that the dielectric of the substrate support of the apparatus of Okunishi can be used as the dielectric layer.
With respect to claim 30, it should be noted that the radio frequency filter of the apparatus of Okunishi modified by Okamoto et al. is embedded in the substrate support.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Higashiura et al. (US 2004/0255863) is cited for its teachings of a substrate processing apparatus comprising a substrate support having a heater and a filter connected to the heater.
/LUZ L ALEJANDRO MULERO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1716
January 9, 2026