DETAILED ACTION
Claim Identifier
The claim identifier for claim 21 is incorrect since the claim is not withdrawn but previously presented. Correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5, 20, and 31 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Korony et al., US 2006/0158300 in view of Liu et al., US 2009/0146755.
With respect to independent claim 1, Korony et al. shows the invention substantially as claimed including a radio frequency filter comprising: a dielectric layer 240; and a first inductor comprising a first input 124/140, a first coil 120/220 being a single coil and disposed directly on a first side of the dielectric layer and connected to the first input, a second coil 130/230 being a single coil and disposed directly on a second side of the dielectric layer opposite the first side, wherein the first coil and the second coil are planar, such that windings of the first coil are in a first layer and windings of the second coil are in a second layer, wherein the first coil overlaps and is connected in series with the second coil, a first via extending through the dielectric layer and between the first side and the second side of the dielectric layer and connected to the first coil and the second coil (see, for example, paragraphs 0032 and 0039), and a first output 138/142 connected to the second coil; (see, for example, Figs. 1-3 and their descriptions, Figs. 1 and 2 are shown below).
With respect to the first coil, the dielectric layer and the second coil collectively providing a capacitance of the radio frequency filter, it should be noted that since the first and second coils overlap with the dielectric layer interposed therebetween, distributed capacitance is inevitably formed because conductor/dielectric/conductor is the basic structure of a capacitor. This notwithstanding, Liu et al. discloses top and bottom coils disposed on opposite sides of a dielectric and discloses that these two windings are electrically represented as two inductances with a capacitive component between them (see, for example, paragraph 0036), and further discloses that the distributed capacitance generated in the planar spiral windings, together with the planar capacitor, contributes to the overall differential mode filtering (see, for example, paragraph 0042). Therefore, in view of this disclosure, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention that capacitance is formed between coils disposed opposite each other with a dielectric layer interposed therebetween, and that such distributed capacitance is used as a capacitance of a filter.
Regarding claim 2, Korony et al. discloses the use of a dielectric between the coils and further discloses changing the material and thickness of the dielectric according to the intended design (see, for example, paragraphs 0033-0034, and 0039). Also, Liu et al. discloses that the capacitance component is generated between two coils separated by a dielectric, and that the dielectric constant and are/thickness of dielectric determine the capacitance (see, for example, paragraphs 0036, 0039, and 0041). Therefore, in view of these disclosures, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to optimize the capacitance of the filter (through the material and size/area/thickness of the dielectric) during routine experimentation depending upon, for example, the desired filter characteristic, and such limitation would not lend patentability to the instant application absent the showing of unexpected results.
Concerning claim 3, it should be noted that Korony et al. discloses that the first coil is wound in one of a clockwise direction or a counterclockwise direction from an input of the first coil to an output of the first coil; and the second coil is wound in a same one of the clockwise direction or the counterclockwise direction, as the first coil, from an input of the second coil to an output of the second coil.
With respect to claims 4-5, it should be noted that the specification of the instant claimed invention discloses that the inputs and outputs of the coils may be adjacent to each other, across from each other and/or in other location (see, for example, paragraph 0049). Therefore, it would have been an obvious choice of design for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to position the first input and the first output as claimed since there is no evidence that the choice of a particular location of the inputs and outputs of the first and second coils would significantly affect the overall performance of the filter. Furthermore, Korony et al. shows that the first input is disposed adjacent to and on a same end of the radio frequency filter as the first output (see, for example, Fig. 1 above), and further discloses that it is possible to one of ordinary skill in the art to readily adapt/change the position of the input and output within the area formed with the coil turns (see, for example, paragraph 0047). Therefore, in view of this disclosure, it would have been an obvious choice of design to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to position the input and out as claimed because the choice/selection of the locations does not change the electrical function of the apparatus.
With respect to claim 20, it should be notices that the first via is the only via connecting the first coil to the second coil.
Regarding claim 31, it should be noted that the first coil has a first end connected to the first input of the first inductor; the first via is connected to a second end of the first coil and a first end of the second coil; the first output of the first inductor is connected to a second end of the second coil; and the first coil and the second coil are connected in series by the first via between the first input and the first output.
Claim(s) 6, 12-16, and 21-26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Korony et al., US 2006/0158300 in view of Liu et al., US 2009/0146755, as applied to claims 1-5, 20 and 31 above, and further in view of Okamoto et al., US 6,438,000.
With respect to claim 6, Korony et al. and Liu et al. are applied as above but do not expressly disclose the claimed configuration. Okamoto et al. discloses a filter 50 comprising coils 1a and 2a and dielectric chips 3, and further discloses “The dielectric chip 3 connects to the spiral coils 1a and 2a to compose a capacitor” and “The required number of dielectric chips 3 are put tightly at regular intervals between the spiral coils 1a and 2a, and they are bonded together. This constructs the first spiral LC composite member 50 serving as the one-layer inductor and capacitor”; (see, for example, Figs. 1-3, and their descriptions, especially col. 5, lines 13-30, Fig. 3 is shown below). Furthermore, Figs. 1 and 2, show that the first and second capacitance patches can be disposed opposite of each other.
Therefore, in view of this disclosure, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the apparatus of Korony et al. and Liu et al. as to comprise the claimed configuration because such configuration is known and used in the art in order to increase the capacitance between the coils.
Regarding claim 12, it should be noted that Korony et al. further discloses a filter embodiment wherein multiple coils 330/332/334 are positioned adjacent each other on insulating substrate, wherein the coils have the same characteristics of the coils of Fig. 1 (see, for example, Fig. 3 and its description, Fig. 3 shown below).
Additionally, and this notwithstanding, Okamoto et al. discloses the use of a first filter 50 and a second filter 60 having similar characteristics as the first filter 50 (see, for example Figs. 2-3, Figs. 2-3 are shown below). The second filter 60 comprising a second input 1bc, a third coil 1b disposed on the first side of the dielectric layer and connected to the second input, a fourth coil 2b disposed of the second side of the dielectric layer opposite the first side, wherein the third coil and the fourth coil are planar, such that windings of the third coil are in the first layer and windings of the fourth coil are in the second layer, wherein the third coil overlaps, and wherein the third coil, the dielectric layer and the fourth coil collectively provide a second capacitance of the radio frequency filter, and a second output 2bc connected to the fourth coil; (see, for example, figs. 1-3, and their descriptions, especially, col. 2, lines 11-17; col. 4, lines 63-67; col. 5, lines 3-62; Figs. 2 is shown below and Fig. 3 is shown above). It should be noted that, as in the first filter 50, the third coil and fourth coils of the second filter 60 would be connected in series through a second via connected to the third and fourth coils since the third and fourth coils are electrically connected to each other through an electrical connection that extends from the area 1bn in the innermost end of the spiral coil 2a to the area 2bn of the innermost end of the spiral coil 2b.
Therefore, in view of this disclosure, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to comprise a second filter structure because such configuration is known and used in the art as a suitable configuration for effectively and efficiently optimizing the filter assembly capability.
Concerning claims 13-16, it should be noted that in the filter assembly of Korony et al. modified by Liu et al. and Okamoto et al., the third coil and the fourth coil would be wound in a same direction as the first coil and the second coil, the first input would be adjacent to the second input, the first output would be adjacent to the second output, the filter assembly would comprise the second capacitance patch, and the first and second capacitance patches would increase the capacitance of the respective coils. Additionally, it should be noted that the specification of the instant claimed invention discloses that the inputs and outputs of the coils may be adjacent to each other, across from each other and/or in other location (see, for example, paragraph 0049). Therefore, it would have been an obvious choice of design for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to position the first input, the second input, the first output, and the second output, as claimed since there is no evidence that the choice of a particular location of the inputs and outputs of the first and second coils would significantly affect the overall performance of the filter.
With respect to claims 21-23 and 26, it should be noted that the first capacitance and the second capacitance patches of the apparatus of Korony et al. modified by Liu et al. and Okamoto et al. can be disposed in a center of the first coil and the second coil, respectively; the first coil would extend parallel to the third coil; and the second coil would extend parallel to the fourth coil; the first coil is wound in a same plane as the third coil; and the second coil is wound in a same plane as the fourth coil; the first coil and the third coil would wind in a same direction from inputs of the first coil and the third coil to outputs of the first coil and the third coil; the second coil and the fourth coil would wind in a same direction from inputs of the second coil and the fourth coil to outputs of the second coil and the fourth coil; and the second via is the only via connecting the third coil to the fourth coil.
Regarding claim 24, Korony et al. clearly discloses that the coils can comprise plurality of windings (see, for example, paragraph 0031). Therefore, in the apparatus of Korony et al. modified by Liu et al. and Okamoto et al. each of the first coil and the third coil can comprise a plurality of windings wound in a first plane, and each of the second coil and the fourth coil can comprise a plurality of windings wound in a second plane, wherein the second plane is parallel to the first plane.
Regarding claim 25, it should be noted that Okamoto et al. teaches in the embodiment of Fig. 4, that the first coil and the third coil wind in a same direction from inputs of the first coil and the third coil to outputs of the first coil and the third coil; and the second coil and the fourth coil wind in a same direction from inputs of the second coil and the fourth coil to outputs of the second coil and the fourth coil. Therefore, in the apparatus of Korony et al. modified by Liu et al. and Okamoto et al. the first coil and the third coil would wind in a same direction from inputs of the first coil and the third coil to outputs of the first coil and the third coil; the second coil and the fourth coil would wind in a same direction from inputs of the second coil and the fourth coil to outputs of the second coil and the fourth coil. Additionally, it would have been an obvious choice of design for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have the coils wind in the same direction as claimed since there is no evidence that the choice of a particular wind direction would significantly affect the overall performance of the filter.
Claim(s) 11, 27-28 and 30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over, Okunishi, US 2019/0348263 in view of Korony et al., US 2006/0158300 and Liu et al., US 2009/0146755.
With respect to claims 11 and 27-28, Okunishi discloses the invention substantially as claimed including a substrate processing system comprising a substrate support 14 comprising a heating element HT, a radio frequency filter FD connected to one of an input or an output of the heating element, and a power source supplying power to the input of the heating element through one of the radio frequency filter; (see, for example, Figs. 1-3 and their descriptions, especially paragraphs 0039, and 0045-0049; Figs. 1-2 are shown below).
Okunishi does not expressly disclose that the filter is the radio frequency filter of claim 1. Korony et al. discloses a radio frequency filter comprising: a dielectric layer 240; and a first inductor comprising a first input 124/140, a first coil 120/220 being a single coil and disposed directly on a first side of the dielectric layer and connected to the first input, a second coil 130/230 being a single coil and disposed directly on a second side of the dielectric layer opposite the first side, wherein the first coil and the second coil are planar, such that windings of the first coil are in a first layer and windings of the second coil are in a second layer, wherein the first coil overlaps and is connected in series with the second coil, a first via extending through the dielectric layer and between the first side and the second side of the dielectric layer and connected to the first coil and the second coil (see, for example, paragraphs 0032 and 0039), and a first output 138/142 connected to the second coil; (see, for example, Figs. 1-3 and their descriptions, Figs. 1 and 2 are shown below).
Therefore, in view of this disclosure, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the apparatus of Okunishi as to comprise the claimed radio frequency filter because such means is known and used in the art as a suitable means for effectively and efficiently provide reduction in physical size of the inductive devices, provide improved operational characteristics for such devices, achieve a variety of cut-off frequency, filter noise/radio frequency, and avoid interference and/or damage. It should further be noted that the dielectric of the substrate support of the apparatus of Okunishi can be used as the dielectric layer.
With respect to the first coil, the dielectric layer and the second coil collectively providing a capacitance of the radio frequency filter, it should be noted that since the first and second coils overlap with the dielectric layer interposed therebetween, distributed capacitance is inevitably formed because conductor/dielectric/conductor is the basic structure of a capacitor. This notwithstanding, Liu et al. discloses top and bottom coils disposed on opposite sides of a dielectric and discloses that these two windings are electrically represented as two inductances with a capacitive component between them (see, for example, paragraph 0036), and further discloses that the distributed capacitance generated in the planar spiral windings, together with the planar capacitor, contributes to the overall differential mode filtering (see, for example, paragraph 0042). Therefore, in view of this disclosure, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention that capacitance is formed between coils disposed opposite each other with a dielectric layer interposed therebetween, and that such distributed capacitance is used as a capacitance of a filter.
With respect to claim 30, it should be noted that the radio frequency filter of the apparatus of Okunishi modified by Korony et al. and Liu et al. is embedded in the substrate support.
Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Korony et al., US 2006/0158300 in view of Liu et al., US 2009/0146755 and Okamoto et al., US 6,438,000, as applied to claims 6, 12-16, and 21-26 above, and further in view of Okunishi, US 2019/0348263.
With respect to claim 19, Korony et al., Liu et al. and Okamoto et al. are applied as above but do not expressly disclose the filter assembly being used in the claimed substrate processing system. Okunishi discloses a substrate processing system comprising a substrate support 14 comprising a heating element HT, a radio frequency filter FD connected to one of an input or an output of the heating element, and a power source supplying power to the input of the heating element through one of the radio frequency filter; (see, for example, Figs. 1-3 and their descriptions, especially paragraphs 0039, and 0045-0049; Figs. 1-2 are shown below).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the filter assembly Korony et al. modified by Liu et al. and Okamoto et al. in an apparatus such as the apparatus disclosed by Okunishi because such means is known and used in the art as a suitable means for effectively and efficiently provide reduction in physical size of the inductive devices, provide improved operational characteristics for such devices, achieve a variety of cut-off frequency, filter noise/radio frequency, and avoid interference and/or damage. It should further be noted that the dielectric of the substrate support of the apparatus of Okunishi can be used as the dielectric layer.
Claim(s) 29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over, Okunishi, US 2019/0348263 in view of Korony et al., US 2006/0158300 and Liu et al., US 2009/0146755, as applied to claims 11, 27-28 and 30 above, and further in view of Okamoto et al., US 6,438,000.
With respect to claim 29, Okunishi, Korony et al. and Liu et al. are applied as above but does not disclose the claimed second radio frequency filter. Okamoto et al. discloses the use of a first filter 50 and a second filter 60 having similar characteristics as the first filter 50 (see, for example Figs. 2-3). The second filter 60 comprising a second input 1bc, a third coil 1b disposed on the first side of the dielectric layer and connected to the second input, a fourth coil 2b disposed of the second side of the dielectric layer opposite the first side, wherein the third coil and the fourth coil are planar, such that windings of the third coil are in the first layer and windings of the fourth coil are in the second layer, wherein the third coil overlaps, and wherein the third coil, the dielectric layer and the fourth coil collectively provide a second capacitance of the radio frequency filter, and a second output 2bc connected to the fourth coil; (see, for example, figs. 1-3, and their descriptions, especially, col. 2, lines 11-17; col. 4, lines 63-67; col. 5, lines 3-62; Figs. 2 is shown below and Fig. 3 is shown above). It should be noted that, as in the first filter 50, the third coil and fourth coils of the second filter 60 would be connected in series through a second via connected to the third and fourth coils since the third and fourth coils are electrically connected to each other through an electrical connection that extends from the area 1bn in the innermost end of the spiral coil 2a to the area 2bn of the innermost end of the spiral coil 2b.
Therefore, in view of this disclosure, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to comprise a second filter structure because such configuration is known and used in the art as a suitable configuration for effectively and efficiently optimizing the filter assembly capability.
Claim(s) 32-33 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Korony et al., US 2006/0158300 in view of Liu et al., US 2009/0146755 and Okamoto et al., US 6,438,000, as applied to claims 6, 12-16, and 21-26 above, and further in view of O’Brien et al., US 2005/0187482.
With respect to claims 32, Korony et al., Liu et al. and Okamoto et al. are applied as above, and Okamoto et al. discloses that the capacitance patches can be connected at a radially inner portion of a winding of the coil. Therefore, the apparatus of Korony et al. modified by Liu et al. and Okamoto et al. would comprise the claimed first and second capacitance patch configuration. This notwithstanding, O’Brien et al. discloses connecting a capacitance patch to a coil in the middle of the coil (see, for example, paragraph 0018). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to connect the capacitance patch to an inner portion of the coil because such configuration is known and used in the art as a suitable configuration for effectively and efficiently provide additional capacitance. Additionally, it should be noted that the specification of the instant claimed invention discloses that the capacitance patches can be located at different locations including the center (inner portion) or the outer periphery (see, for example, Figs. 13-14 and their descriptions, especially, paragraphs 0091-0092 and 0094-0095). Therefore, it would have been an obvious choice of design for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to position the capacitance patches as claimed since there is no evidence that the choice of a particular location would significantly affect the overall performance of the filter.
Regarding claim 33, O’Brien et al. further discloses the use of a conductive element (wire) to connect the capacitance patch to the coil (see, for example, paragraph 0018). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to connect the first and second capacitance patches to the first and second coils through respective conductive elements because such configuration is known and used in the art as a suitable configuration for effectively and efficiently connect a capacitance patch to a coil to provide additional capacitance.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-6, 11-16, and 19-33 have been considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Higashiura et al. (US 2004/0255863) is cited for its teachings of a substrate processing apparatus comprising a substrate support having a heater and a filter connected to the heater.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LUZ L ALEJANDRO MULERO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1716
October 1, 2026