Detailed Action
Attempts were made to reach the attorney of record, Bob Gnuse, for a potential proposed examiner’s amendment, but those attempts were unsuccessful.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Page 6, final paragraph of applicant’s arguments, filed 10/09/2025, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1 and dependent claims under Wei(US 20230215803 A1, hereafter Wei) have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Maekawa et al. (US 20160190145 A1, hereafter Maekawa). The amendments overcome the existing rejection. However, there is still prior art which satisfies the present limitations of claim 1 at hand, as well as some of the dependent claims. New rejections are below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 6, 8, 11, 20-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Maekawa et al.(US 20160190145 A1, hereafter Maekawa).
Regarding Claim 1, Maekawa discloses:
A method of manufacturing a semiconductor device(Figs. 6-22), comprising:
Providing a substrate(Fig. 8 [1]) having an active area(Fig. 8 [4]);
Forming a fuse component(Fig. 19 [AF]) having a bottom electrode(Fig. 19 [4a/EX11]) in the active area(Fig. 19 [4]), a first dielectric layer(Fig. 19 [GI11]) on the active area(Fig. 19 [4]) and a top electrode(Fig. 19 [GE11]) on the first dielectric layer(Fig. 19 [GI11]); and
Forming a nitride layer(Fig. 19 [OF1]) on the active area(Fig. 19 [4]) and surrounding the first dielectric layer(Fig. 19 [GI11]);
Wherein a bottom surface of the nitride layer(Fig. 19 [OF1]) is in contact with a top surface of the bottom electrode(Fig. 19 [4a/EX11]) of the fuse component(Fig. 19 [AF]).
Regarding Claim 2, Maekawa further discloses:
Forming a transistor(Fig. 19 [ST]) coupling a first voltage to the bottom electrode(Fig. 19 [4a/EX11]) of the fuse component(Fig. 19 [AF]).
Regarding Claim 3, Maekawa further discloses:
Forming the transistor(Fig. 19 [ST]) comprises forming a buried conductor(Fig. 19 [EX12]) in the active area(Fig. 19 [4]).
Regarding Claim 6, Maekawa further discloses:
Forming the bottom electrode(Fig. 19 [4a/EX11]) comprises forming a diffusion area(Fig. 19 [SD11]) adjacent to a surface of the active area(Fig. 19 [4]).
Regarding Claim 8, Maekawa further discloses:
A width of the bottom electrode(Fig. 19 [4a/EX11]) is greater than a width of the first dielectric layer(Fig. 19 [GI11]) of the fuse component(Fig. 19 [AF]).
Regarding Claim 11, Maekawa further discloses:
Forming the nitride layer(Fig. 19 [OF1]) comprises forming an opening(Fig. 14 See figure below) and the bottom electrode(Fig 19 [4a/EX11]) is exposed from the opening(Fig. 14 See figure below).
Regarding Claim 20, Maekawa further discloses:
The nitride layer(Fig. 19 [OF1]) comprises silicon nitride(See paragraph 0086).
Regarding Claim 21, Maekawa further discloses:
Nitrides in the nitride layer(Fig. 19 [OF1]) and the dielectric layer(Fig. 19 [GI11]) are different(silicon oxide and silicon nitride, See paragraphs 0080, 0086).
Above: Fig. 14 of Maekawa with opening disclosed by examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maekawa in view of Lin(US 10818592 B1, hereafter Lin).
Regarding Claim 4, Maekawa discloses a fuse component(Fig. 19 [AF]).
Maekawa does not teach or disclose the bottom electrode of the fuse component is configured to receive a first voltage to change a resistivity of the first dielectric layer of the fuse component.
In the same field of endeavor, Lin discloses a bottom electrode(Fig. 1 [46]) of a fuse component(Fig. 1 [46/47/49]) which is configured to receive a first voltage(from control bit line, Fig. 1 [48]) to change a resistivity of the first dielectric layer(Fig. 1 [47]) of the fuse component(Fig. 1 [46/47/49]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application at hand to produce the method of Maekawa along the lines of Lin. In the formation of Maekawa’s anti-fuse cell, Maekawa discloses the programming voltage to come from the Gate electrode of Fig. 19 GE11. However, one of ordinary skill in the art would have also recognized the possibility of a method of forming Maekawa’s device in such a way such that, for example, the source/drain region SD11 is used as the voltage by which to write the anti-fuse cell. Writing the cell would require one of these two options, and one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize this as a potential alternative to forming an anti-fuse cell. Performing this modification would have generated a predictable result in the creation of a method for forming Maekawa’s device with a programmable voltage in the lower electrode of Maekawa’s anti-fuse cell.
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maekawa in view of Ou et al.(US 20210249421 A1, hereafter Ou).
Regarding Claim 12, Maekawa discloses a top electrode(Fig. 19 [GE11]).
Maekawa does not teach or disclose forming the top electrode of the fuse component comprises forming a recessing portion over the first dielectric layer of the fuse component.
In the same field of endeavor, Ou discloses the forming of a recessing portion(Fig. 8C [R]) over the first dielectric layer(Fig. 8C [192]) of a fuse component(Fig. 8C [AF]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application at hand was filed to modify the method disclosed by Maekawa along the lines of Ou. One might have been motivated to apply a recessing part to the top electrode disclosed by Maekawa in order to form an upper contact in Maekawa’s device, as to provide the necessary voltage to program the anti-fuse structure given by Maekawa. Performing this modification would have generated a predictable result in the creation of a method for the formation of Maekawa’s device with a via structure in the upper electrode.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 5 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding Claim 5, the closest prior art of Maekawa discloses a method for forming a device in accordance with the limitations of claim 1(see above rejection). However, while there may exist a motivation as to form the device in such a way to receive a programmable lower electrode, as in claim 4, there exists no limitation or suggestion in the prior art to make the fuse structure programmable from both the top and bottom electrodes, as is claimed by the limitations of claim 5.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Hao et al.(US 20210118797 A1) discloses a fuse embedded in a substrate. Lee et al.(US 20160336332 A1) discloses a fuse structure with a first and a second diffusion area in a substrate. Chang et al.(US 20190131238 A1) discloses a fuse structure.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MARSHALL MU-NUO HATFIELD/Examiner, Art Unit 2897
/FERNANDO L TOLEDO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2897