DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: claim 1, 31 and 39 “area enlarging elements” have been interpreted as illustrated in Figs. 2a-h and the accompanying paras. 39-45 of the specification and equivalents thereto; claim 5 “heating element” which has been interpreted as an electrical heat source, a furnace, and infrared heat source, a heat tape and equivalents thereto as set forth at para. 34 of the specification; claim 7 computing system has been interpreted as including a processor, memory, machine learning module, communication component and a data storage service as set forth in para. 55 of the specification (and equivalents thereto).
This application includes one or more claim limitations that use the word “means” or “step” but are nonetheless not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph because the claim limitation(s) recite(s) sufficient structure, materials, or acts to entirely perform the recited function. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: precursor control unit in claim 6 which also recites the additional structures that make up the same.
If applicant intends to have this/these limitation(s) interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, applicant may: (1) amend the claim limitation(s) to remove the structure, materials, or acts that performs the claimed function; or (2) present a sufficient showing that the claim limitation(s) does/do not recite sufficient structure, materials, or acts to perform the claimed function.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-10 and 31-40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Any claim not specifically mentioned is rejected based on its dependence.
Claims 1, 31 and 39 recite the limitation “the top wall, the bottom wall, and the side wall are built as one piece”. It is unclear what this particular limitation is meant to include and/or exclude. Based on BRI, Examiner has assumed that “built as one piece” is at least inclusive of putting pieces together to form one overall piece. None of Applicant’s disclosure, claims or arguments state or suggest exactly what the “process” for “building” actually entails, nor do they provide any support as to why building to form one piece with connections is necessarily excluded. Additionally, none of Applicant’s disclosure, claim or arguments suggest exactly what the “structure” for “one piece” actually entails or does not entail, nor do they provide support as to why building to form one piece with connections is necessarily excluded. It is also noted that the language at least suggests that the limitation is a product by process limitation. Again, this is not clear since the process is not discussed. All patent examination procedures regarding product-by-process limitations are also assumed to be applicable to the claim language.
Claim 32 recites “the plurality of first area enlarging elements are built as one piece with the top wall, the bottom wall and the side wall” the same issues set forth above with respect to language “built as one piece” apply to this claim as well.
Clarification and/or correction is requested.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5, 8, 10, 31-35 and 39 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2020/0056283 to Shero et al.
Regarding claim 1: In Figs. 12 and 14, e.g., Shero et al. disclose a precursor supply system for thin film deposition substantially as claimed, the precursor supply system comprising a precursor source container, wherein the precursor source container comprises: a top wall (306); a bottom wall (340); a side wall (310) circumferentially connecting the top wall and the bottom wall, wherein the bottom wall has a plurality of area enlarging elements (364) protruding from an interior surface thereof configured to enlarge the total contact area with a solid precursor stored thereon to enhance heat transfer to the solid precursor source; an inlet (384) configured to allow introduction of a carrier gas into the precursor source container; and an outlet (388) configured to allow exit of a precursor vapor generated in the precursor source container. See, e.g., paras. 34 and 44 and 75-87.
Shero et al. disclose the system substantially as claimed and as set forth above.
However, the embodiment of Shero et al. relied upon above fails to disclose the top wall, the bottom wall and the side wall are built as one piece.
In other embodiments Shero et al., building the top wall, bottom wall and side wall as one piece (i.e., constructing so as to form a final product of one piece) using mechanical attachment in order to provide gas-tightness (see, e.g., paras. 34).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before Applicant’s invention was effectively filed to have provided in other embodiments of Shero et al., the top wall, bottom wall and side wall built as one piece (e.g., using mechanical attachment) in order to provide gas-tightness as taught by Shero et al.
Additionally, it is not exactly clear how built as one piece is meant to be interpreted based on the original disclosure. See above. As mentioned above, it seems to be plausible that “built as one piece” represents a product-by process-recitation. Assuming the limitation is meant to be a product-by-process limitation, Examiner submits that the precursor source container (product) produced by Applicant’s “process” is substantially the same as the precursor source container as described above of Shero et al. See MPEP 2113.
With respect to claim 2, in modified Shero et al., Shero et al. teach the bottom wall may have a second plurality of are enlarging elements (see, e.g., Fig. 14 wherein at least 4 enlarging elements (i.e. two pluralities).
With respect to claim 3, in modified Shero et al., Shero et al. teach the plurality of area enlarging elements (364) configured to enlarge a total contact area of the interior surface of the precursor source container with a precursor source stored therein.
With respect to claim 5, in modified Shero et al., Shero et al., the precursor supply system may further comprise a heating element (362) in proximity or contact with the precursor source container, the heating element configured to heat the precursor source container and evaporate a precursor source place therein.
With respect to claim 8, in modified Shero et al., Shero et al. teach the supply system may further comprise a carrier gas source (not illustrated but necessarily provided, see, e.g., para. 81) in gas communication with the inlet of the precursor source container, the carrier gas source configured to supply the carrier gas into the precursor source container, wherein the carrier gas is mixed with the evaporated precursor source to generate a precursor vapor in the precursor source container.
With respect to claim 10, in modified Shero et al., Shero et al., teach a gas box (recesses between filter 396 and solid portions of 374) may be in gas communication with the outlet of the precursor source container, the gas box configured to be capable of stabilizing, purifying and homogenizing the precursor vapor transferred therein.
Regarding claim 31: In Figs. 12 and 14, e.g., Shero et al. disclose a precursor supply system for thin film deposition substantially as claimed, the precursor supply system comprising a precursor source container, wherein the precursor source container comprises: a top wall (306); a bottom wall (340); a side wall (310) circumferentially connecting the top wall and the bottom wall, and wherein a plurality of first area enlarging elements (364) are located on and protruding from an interior surface of the bottom wall, the plurality of first area enlarging elements configured to enlarge a total contact area with a solid precursor source stored thereon to enhance heat transfer to the solid precursor source; an inlet (384) configured to allow introduction of a carrier gas into the precursor source container; and an outlet (388) configured to allow exit of a precursor vapor generated in the precursor source container. See, e.g., paras. 34 and 44 and 75-87.
Shero et al. disclose the system substantially as claimed and as set forth above.
However, the embodiment of Shero et al. relied upon above fails to disclose the top wall, the bottom wall and the side wall are built as one piece.
In other embodiments Shero et al., building the top wall, bottom wall and side wall as one piece (i.e., constructing so as to form a final product of one piece) using mechanical attachment in order to provide gas-tightness (see, e.g., paras. 34).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before Applicant’s invention was effectively filed to have provided in other embodiments of Shero et al., the top wall, bottom wall and side wall built as one piece (e.g., using mechanical attachment) in order to provide gas-tightness as taught by Shero et al.
Additionally, it is not exactly clear how built as one piece is meant to be interpreted based on the original disclosure. See above. As mentioned above, it seems to be plausible that “built as one piece” represents a product-by process-recitation. Assuming the limitation is meant to be a product-by-process limitation, Examiner submits that the precursor source container (product) produced by Applicant’s “process” is substantially the same as the precursor source container as described above of Shero et al. See MPEP 2113.
With respect to claim 32: Modified Shero et al. disclose the system substantially as claimed and as set forth above.
However, Shero et al. fail to explicitly disclose the first plurality of first area enlarging elements are built as one piece with the top wall, the bottom wall and the side wall. However, as detailed above, elsewhere in Shero et al. it is taught to build elements as one piece for the purpose of providing a gas-tight structure, wherein the courts have ruled the courts have ruled that the test for obviousness is not whether the features of a secondary reference may be bodily incorporated into the structure of the primary reference; nor is it that the claimed invention must be expressly suggested in any one or all of the references. Rather, the test is what the combined teachings of the references would have suggested to those of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before Applicant’s invention was effectively filed to have provided in Shero et al. the plurality of first area enlarging elements are built as one piece with the top wall, the bottom wall and the side wall in order to provide a precursor source container design with, inter alia, a gas-tight structure as taught by Shero et al.
With respect to claim 33, in modified Shero et al., Shero et al. disclose that the plurality of first area enlarging elements are separate from each other in a direction substantially orthogonal to their linear portions. See, e.g., Figs. 12 and 14.
With respect to claim 34, in modified Shero et al., Shero et al. disclose each of the plurality of first area enlarging elements (i.e. the linear portions thereof) may be arranged in parallel to each other in a first horizontal direction. See, e.g., inner portions in Fig. 12.
With respect to claim 35, in modified Shero et al., Shero et al., the first plurality of area enlarging elements is characterized by a cross-sectional shape in a direction perpendicular to the interior surface that is substantially rectangular (see solid portions formed by 364 in Fig. 12.).
Regarding claims 39: In Figs. 12 and 14, e.g., Shero et al. disclose a precursor supply system for thin film deposition substantially as claimed, the precursor supply system comprising a precursor source container, wherein the precursor source container comprises: a top wall (306); a bottom wall (340); a side wall (310) circumferentially connecting the top wall and the bottom wall, and wherein a plurality of first area enlarging elements (364) are located on and protruding from an interior surface of the bottom wall and an interior surface of the side wall (not shown, see, e.g., paras. 88-90), the plurality of first area enlarging elements are configured to enlarge a total contact area with a solid precursor source stored thereon to enhance heat transfer to the solid precursor source; an inlet (384) configured to allow introduction of a carrier gas into the precursor source container; and an outlet (388) configured to allow exit of a precursor vapor generated in the precursor source container. See, e.g., paras. 34 and 44 and 75-87.
Shero et al. disclose the system substantially as claimed and as set forth above.
However, the embodiment of Shero et al. relied upon above fails to disclose the top wall, the bottom wall and the side wall are built as one piece.
In other embodiments Shero et al., building the top wall, bottom wall and side wall as one piece (i.e., constructing so as to form a final product of one piece) using mechanical attachment in order to provide gas-tightness (see, e.g., paras. 34).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before Applicant’s invention was effectively filed to have provided in other embodiments of Shero et al., the top wall, bottom wall and side wall built as one piece (e.g., using mechanical attachment) in order to provide gas-tightness as taught by Shero et al.
Additionally, it is not exactly clear how built as one piece is meant to be interpreted based on the original disclosure. See above. As mentioned above, it seems to be plausible that “built as one piece” represents a product-by process-recitation. Assuming the limitation is meant to be a product-by-process limitation, Examiner submits that the precursor source container (product) produced by Applicant’s “process” is substantially the same as the precursor source container as described above of Shero et al. See MPEP 2113.
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over modified Shero et al. as applied to claims 1-3, 5, 8, 10, 31-35 and 39 above in view of U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2003/0111014 to Donatucci et al.
Modified Shero et al. disclose the system substantially as claimed and as described above, including the use of the enlarging elements to aid in transferring heat directly to precursor material (see, e.g., para. 27).
However, modified Shero et al. fail to explicitly disclose optimization of the same such that the area enlarging elements increase a total area of the interior surface by at least 10%, or at least 10%, or at least 20%, or at least 30%, or at least 40%, or at least 50%, or at least 100%, or at least 150%, or at least 200%, or at least 500%, or at least 1,000%, relative to the interior surface without the area enlarging elements.
Donatucci et al. teach (see, e.g., paras. 2, 19, 35, 47) increasing surface area for the purpose of effectively contacting source material (i.e., a precursor) and yielding increased amounts of vaporized source to a downstream system. Additionally, it is noted that the court have ruled that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before Applicant’s invention was effectively filed to have provided the enlarging elements with optimized (and increased) surface area in modified Shero et al. in order to effectively contact source material (i.e., a precursor) and yield increased amounts of vaporized source to a downstream system as taught by Donatucci et al.
Claim(s) 6-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over modified Shero et al. as applied to claims 1-3, 5, 8, 10, 31-35 and 39 above in view of U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2023/0257878 to Chandrasekharan et al. and U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2011/0171383 to Woelk et al.
Regarding claim 6: modified Shero et al. disclose the system substantially as claimed and as described above.
However, modified Shero et al. fail to explicitly disclose a precursor control unit operably connected to the precursor source container, the precursor control unit comprising: a concentration sensor configured to detect and monitor a real-time precursor vapor concentration in the precursor container; a temperature sensor configured to detect and monitor a real-time temperature of the precursor source container; a mass sensor configured to detect and monitor a real-time unconsumed quantity of the precursor source remaining in the precursor source container; wherein the precursor control unit is configured to control the heating element and adjust the temperature of the precursor in situ during operation.
Chandrasekharan et al. disclose the provision of a concentration sensor (see, e.g., Fig. 4A-F, 432; paras. 54, 101) configured to detect and monitor a real-time precursor vapor concentration. Note: the concentration of the precursor vapor is considered to be reflective of the precursor vapor concentration in the precursor source.
Woelk et al. disclose a mass sensor configured to detect and monitor a real-time unconsumed quantity of the precursor source remaining in the precursor source container for the purpose of continuously controlling the flux of precursor into the precursor source container to maintain a constant precursor level therein (see, e.g., para. 53); and a temperature sensor (312) configured to detect and monitor a real-time temperature of the precursor, and wherein the precursor control unit is configured to control a heating element and adjust the temperature of the precursor source in situ during operation in combination with a computing system (i.e. controller, computer, cpu) (see also, e.g., para. 51).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before Applicant’s invention was effectively filed to have provided a precursor control unit operably connected to the precursor source container, the precursor control unit comprising: a concentration sensor, a temperature sensor, and a mass sensor with connecting circuitry as part of the precursor control unit in order to effectively control operations thereof as taught and detailed above by Shero et al., Chandrasekharan et al. and Woelk et al.
Regarding claim 7, in modified Shero et al, as detailed above (see, e.g., paras. 5-7, 33, 62, 65, 100, 104) of Woelk et al. and (see, e.g., paras. 149-151) of Chandrasekharan et al., the parts of the precursor control system and computing system in real-time communication with each other (i.e., transmitting and receiving information with respect to one another) (paras. 149-151), such that real time-time temperature, concentration of the precursor vapor, and/or unconsumed quantity of the precursor source is transmitted in-situ to the computing system; and receive an instruction from the computing system, the instruction having a real-time temperature adjustment signal based on a pre-established operation model for a target range of the precursor vapor concentration; and control the heating element in-situ based on the instruction to maintain the precursor vapor concentration in the target range.
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shero et al. as applied to claims 1-3, 5, 8, 10, 31-35 and 39 above in view of U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2014/0209022 to Inoue et al.
Modified Shero et al. disclose the system substantially as claimed and as described above.
However, modified Shero et al. fail to explicitly disclose a mass flow controller in gas communication with the carrier gas source and the inlet of the precursor source container, the mass flow controller configured to control flow rate and pressure of the carrier gas to be introduced into the precursor source container.
Nevertheless, the same is well-known in the art, Inoue et al. teach providing a mass flow controller in gas communication with a carrier gas source and an inlet of the precursor source container, the mass flow controller configured to control flow rate (and indirectly pressure) of the carrier gas to be introduced into the precursor source container (see, e.g., Fig. 8, 42; paras. 29-30).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before Applicant’s invention was effectively filed to have provided in modified Shero et al. a mass flow controller in gas communication with the carrier gas source and the inlet of the precursor source container, the mass flow controller configured to control flow rate and pressure of the carrier gas to be introduced into the precursor source container as taught by Inoue et al.
Claim(s) 36-37 and 40 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over modified Shero et al. as applied to claims 1-3, 5, 8, 10, 31-35 and 39 above in view of U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2005/003979794 to Birtcher et al. (referred to as Birtcher II).
With respect to claim 36, modified Shero et al. disclose the system substantially as claimed and as described above.
However, modified Shero et al. fail to disclose the first plurality of area enlarging elements is a first portion of a three-dimensional (3D) pattern, and the 3D pattern further includes a second portion comprising a plurality of second area enlarging elements located on and protruding from an interior surface of the side wall.
In Figs. 7 and 7a-7g, Birtcher II disclose a precursor source container (104) comprising a first plurality of area enlarging elements (101) comprising a first portion of a three-dimensional pattern and the 3D pattern further includes a second portion comprising a plurality of second area enlarging elements located on and protruding from an interior surface of the side (see, esp. Figs. 7E-7G) for the purpose of aiding in transferring heat directly into a precursor material (see, e.g., abstract and paras. 27, 37-42 and 46). Making the arrangement of Birtcher II a known alternative arrangement for a plurality of area enlarging elements providing the same function as in Shero et al.
The courts have ruled that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955); the courts have held that selections of shape are a matter of choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art will find obvious absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration of the claimed shape was significant. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966); and an express suggestion to substitute one equivalent component or process for another is not necessary to render such substitution obvious. In re Fout, 675 F.2d 297, 213 USPQ 532 (CCPA 1982).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before Applicant’s invention was effectively filed to have provided in modified Shero et al. comprising a first plurality of area enlarging elements comprising a first portion of a three-dimensional pattern locating on and protruding from the bottom surface of the bottom wall and the 3D pattern further includes a second portion comprising a plurality of second area enlarging elements located on and protruding from an interior surface of the side in order to aid in transferring heat directly into a precursor material as taught by Birtcher II.
With respect to claim 37, in modified Shero et al., as set forth in Birtcher II, the first portion of the 3D pattern and the second portion of the 3D pattern are continuously connected, e.g., by the inner wall and the bottom wall.
With respect to claim 40, modified Shero et al. disclose the system substantially as claimed and as described above.
However, modified Shero et al. fail to disclose the plurality of area enlarging elements are arranged in an array comprising multiple rows and multiple columns.
In Figs. 7 and 7a-7g, Birtcher II disclose a precursor source container (104) comprising a plurality of area enlarging elements (101) located on and protruding from an interior surface of a bottom wall and an interior surface of a side wall of the precursor source container, the plurality of area enlarging elements arranged in an array comprising multiple rows and multiple columns (see, esp. Figs. 7E-7G) for the purpose of aiding in transferring heat directly into a precursor material (see, e.g., abstract and paras. 27, 37-42 and 46). Making the arrangement of Birtcher II a known alternative arrangement for a plurality of area enlarging elements providing the same function as in Shero et al.
The courts have ruled that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955); the courts have held that selections of shape are a matter of choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art will find obvious absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration of the claimed shape was significant. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966); and an express suggestion to substitute one equivalent component or process for another is not necessary to render such substitution obvious. In re Fout, 675 F.2d 297, 213 USPQ 532 (CCPA 1982).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before Applicant’s invention was effectively filed to have provided in modified Shero et al. the plurality of area enlarging elements arranged in an array comprising multiple rows and multiple columns in order to aid in transferring heat directly into a precursor material as taught by Birtcher II.
Claim(s) 38 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over modified Shero et al. as applied to claims 1-3, 5, 8, 10, 31-35 and 39 above in view of U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2006/0219168 to Brcka.
Modified Shero et al. disclose the system substantially as claimed and as described above.
However, modified Shero et al. fail to disclose the plurality of area enlarging elements is characterized by a cross-sectional shape that is arranged in multiple concentric circles.
Brcka teach providing area enlarging elements arranged in multiple concentric circles for the purpose of providing a constant surface area as solid precursor is consumed (see, e.g., abstract).
Additionally, the courts have ruled that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955); the courts have held that selections of shape are a matter of choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art will find obvious absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration of the claimed shape was significant. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966); and an express suggestion to substitute one equivalent component or process for another is not necessary to render such substitution obvious. In re Fout, 675 F.2d 297, 213 USPQ 532 (CCPA 1982).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before Applicant’s invention was effectively filed to have provided the area enlarging elements as multiple concentric circles or as other suitably shaped alternatives in order to provide a substantially constant surface area as solid precursor is consumed as taught by Brcka.
Claim(s) 1-3, 5, 8, 10, 31-37 and 39 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2020/0056283 to Shero et al. in view of U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2020/0131630 to Birtcher et al.
Regarding claim 1: In Figs. 12 and 14, e.g., Shero et al. disclose a precursor supply system for thin film deposition substantially as claimed, the precursor supply system comprising a precursor source container, wherein the precursor source container comprises: a top wall (306); a bottom wall (340); a side wall (310) circumferentially connecting the top wall and the bottom wall, wherein the bottom wall has a plurality of area enlarging elements (364) protruding from an interior surface thereof configured to enlarge the total contact area with a solid precursor stored thereon to enhance heat transfer to the solid precursor source; an inlet (384) configured to allow introduction of a carrier gas into the precursor source container; and an outlet (388) configured to allow exit of a precursor vapor generated in the precursor source container. See, e.g., paras. 34 and 44 and 75-87.
Shero et al. disclose the system substantially as claimed and as set forth above.
However, Shero et al. fail to disclose the top wall, the bottom wall, and the side wall are built as one piece.
Although, Shero et al. disclose building the top wall, bottom wall and side wall as one piece (i.e., constructing so as to form a final product of one piece) using mechanical attachment in order to provide gas-tightness (see, e.g., paras. 34). The disclosure does not explicitly disclose building the top wall, bottom wall and side wall built as one piece.
Birtcher et al. teach using a 3D printing process (i.e. a single manufacturing step without any disclosed attachments necessary) as a way of providing a precursor source container design with, inter alia, an acceptable deposition rate and without clogging (see, e.g., paras. 4-9 and 84-91).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before Applicant’s invention was effectively filed to have provided in Shero et al. a manufacturing step of building the top wall, bottom wall and side wall as one piece using a single manufacturing step without any mechanical attachments in order to provide a precursor source container design with, inter alia, an acceptable deposition rate and without clogging as taught by Birtcher et al.
Additionally, it is not exactly clear how built as one piece is meant to be interpreted based on the original disclosure. See above. As mentioned above, it seems to be plausible that “built as one piece” represents a product-by process-recitation. Assuming the limitation is meant to be a product-by-process limitation, Examiner submits that the precursor source container (product) produced by Applicant’s “process” is substantially the same as the precursor source container as described above of Shero et al. See MPEP 2113.
With respect to claim 2, in modified Shero et al., Shero et al. teach the bottom wall may have a second plurality of are enlarging elements (see, e.g., Fig. 14 wherein at least 4 enlarging elements (i.e. two pluralities).
With respect to claim 3, in modified Shero et al., Shero et al. teach the plurality of area enlarging elements (364) configured to enlarge a total contact area of the interior surface of the precursor source container with a precursor source stored therein.
With respect to claim 5, in modified Shero et al., Shero et al., the precursor supply system may further comprise a heating element (362) in proximity or contact with the precursor source container, the heating element configured to heat the precursor source container and evaporate a precursor source place therein.
With respect to claim 8, in modified Shero et al., Shero et al. teach the supply system may further comprise a carrier gas source (not illustrated but necessarily provided, see, e.g., para. 81) in gas communication with the inlet of the precursor source container, the carrier gas source configured to supply the carrier gas into the precursor source container, wherein the carrier gas is mixed with the evaporated precursor source to generate a precursor vapor in the precursor source container.
With respect to claim 10, in modified Shero et al., Shero et al., teach a gas box (recesses between filter 396 and solid portions of 374) may be in gas communication with the outlet of the precursor source container, the gas box configured to be capable of stabilizing, purifying and homogenizing the precursor vapor transferred therein.
Regarding claims 31: In Figs. 12 and 14, e.g., Shero et al. disclose a precursor supply system for thin film deposition substantially as claimed, the precursor supply system comprising a precursor source container, wherein the precursor source container comprises: a top wall (306); a bottom wall (340); a side wall (310) circumferentially connecting the top wall and the bottom wall, and wherein a plurality of first area enlarging elements (364) are located on and protruding from an interior surface of the bottom wall, the plurality of first area enlarging elements are configured to enlarge a total contact area with a solid precursor source stored thereon to enhance heat transfer to the solid precursor source; an inlet (384) configured to allow introduction of a carrier gas into the precursor source container; and an outlet (388) configured to allow exit of a precursor vapor generated in the precursor source container. See, e.g., paras. 34 and 44 and 75-87.
Shero et al. disclose the system substantially as claimed and as set forth above.
However, Shero et al. fail to disclose the top wall, the bottom wall, and the side wall are built as one piece.
Although, Shero et al. disclose building the top wall, bottom wall and side wall as one piece (i.e., constructing so as to form a final product of one piece) using mechanical attachment in order to provide gas-tightness (see, e.g., paras. 34). The disclosure does not explicitly disclose building the top wall, bottom wall and side wall built as one piece.
Birtcher et al. teach using a 3D printing process (i.e. a single manufacturing step without any disclosed attachments necessary) as a way of providing a precursor source container design with, inter alia, an acceptable deposition rate and without clogging (see, e.g., paras. 4-9 and 84-91).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before Applicant’s invention was effectively filed to have provided in Shero et al. a manufacturing step of building the top wall, bottom wall and side wall as one piece using a single manufacturing step without any mechanical attachments in order to provide a precursor source container design with, inter alia, an acceptable deposition rate and without clogging as taught by Birtcher et al.
Additionally, it is not exactly clear how built as one piece is meant to be interpreted based on the original disclosure. See above. As mentioned above, it seems to be plausible that “built as one piece” represents a product-by process-recitation. Assuming the limitation is meant to be a product-by-process limitation, Examiner submits that the precursor source container (product) produced by Applicant’s “process” is substantially the same as the precursor source container as described above of Shero et al. See MPEP 2113.
With respect to claim 32: Modified Shero et al. disclose the system substantially as claimed and as set forth above.
However, the embodiment fails to disclose the plurality of first area enlarging elements are integrally formed as a unitary monolithic body with the top wall, the bottom wall and the side wall.
Again, Birtcher et al. teach using a 3D printing process (i.e. a single manufacturing step without any disclosed attachments necessary) as a way of providing a precursor source container design with, inter alia, an acceptable deposition rate and without clogging (see, e.g., paras. 4-9 and 84-91).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before Applicant’s invention was effectively filed to have provided in Shero et al. a 3d printing manufacturing step wherein the plurality of first area enlarging elements are built as one piece with the top wall, the bottom wall and the side wall without any mechanical attachments in order to provide a precursor source container design with, inter alia, an acceptable deposition rate and without clogging as taught by Birtcher et al.
Additionally, it is not exactly clear how built as one piece is meant to be interpreted based on the original disclosure. See above. As mentioned above, it seems to be plausible that “built as one piece” represents a product-by process-recitation. Assuming the limitation is meant to be a product-by-process limitation, Examiner submits that the precursor source container (product) produced by Applicant’s “process” is substantially the same as the precursor source container as described above of Shero et al. See MPEP 2113.
With respect to claim 33, in modified Shero et al., Shero et al., Shero et al. disclose that the plurality of first area enlarging elements are separate from each other in a direction substantially orthogonal to their linear portions. See, e.g., Figs. 12 and 14.
With respect to claim 34, in modified Shero et al., Shero et al. disclose each of the plurality of first area enlarging elements (i.e. the linear portions thereof) may be arranged in parallel to each other in a first horizontal direction. See, e.g., inner portions in Fig. 12.
With respect to claim 35, in modified Shero et al., Shero et al., the first plurality of area enlarging elements is characterized by a cross-sectional shape in a direction perpendicular to the interior surface that is substantially rectangular (see solid portions formed by 364 in Fig. 12.).
With respect to claim 36, in modified Shero et al, Shero et al. further disclose the first plurality of area enlarging elements may be a first portion of a three-dimensional (3D) pattern, and the pattern may further include a second portion comprising a plurality of second area enlarging elements located on and protruding from an interior surface of the side wall (not illustrated, see, e.g., paras. 88-90).
With respect to claim 37, modified Shero et al. disclose the precursor supply system substantially as claimed and as described above.
However, Shero et al. fail to explicitly disclose the first portion of the 3D pattern and the second portion of the 3D pattern are continuously connected.
Again, Birtcher et al. teach using a 3D printing process (i.e. a single manufacturing step without any disclosed attachments necessary) as a way of providing a precursor source container design with, inter alia, an acceptable deposition rate and without clogging (see, e.g., paras. 4-9 and 84-91).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before Applicant’s invention was effectively filed to have provided in Shero et al. a 3d printing manufacturing step wherein the plurality of first area enlarging elements (including the first portion and a second portion) are built as one piece and/or continuously connected without any mechanical attachments in order to provide a precursor source container design with, inter alia, an acceptable deposition rate and without clogging as taught by Birtcher et al.
Additionally, it is not exactly clear how continuously connected and/or built as one piece is meant to be interpreted based on the original disclosure. See above. As mentioned above, it seems to be plausible that “built as one piece” represents a product-by process-recitation. Assuming the limitation is meant to be a product-by-process limitation, Examiner submits that the precursor source container (product) produced by Applicant’s “process” is substantially the same as the precursor source container as described above of Shero et al. See MPEP 2113.
Regarding claims 39: In Figs. 12 and 14, e.g., Shero et al. disclose a precursor supply system for thin film deposition substantially as claimed, the precursor supply system comprising a precursor source container, wherein the precursor source container comprises: a top wall (306); a bottom wall (340); a side wall (310) circumferentially connecting the top wall and the bottom wall, and wherein a plurality of area enlarging elements (364) are located on and protruding from an interior surface of the bottom wall and an interior surface of the side wall (not illustrated, see, e.g., paras. 88-90), the plurality of first area enlarging elements are configured to enlarge a total contact area with a solid precursor source stored thereon to enhance heat transfer to the solid precursor source; an inlet (384) configured to allow introduction of a carrier gas into the precursor source container; and an outlet (388) configured to allow exit of a precursor vapor generated in the precursor source container. See, e.g., paras. 34 and 44 and 75-87.
Shero et al. disclose the system substantially as claimed and as set forth above.
However, Shero et al. fail to disclose the top wall, the bottom wall, and the side wall are built as one piece.
Although, Shero et al. disclose building the top wall, bottom wall and side wall as one piece (i.e., constructing so as to form a final product of one piece) using mechanical attachment in order to provide gas-tightness (see, e.g., paras. 34). The disclosure does not explicitly disclose building the top wall, bottom wall and side wall built as one piece.
Birtcher et al. teach using a 3D printing process (i.e. a single manufacturing step without any disclosed attachments necessary) as a way of providing a precursor source container design with, inter alia, an acceptable deposition rate and without clogging (see, e.g., paras. 4-9 and 84-91).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before Applicant’s invention was effectively filed to have provided in Shero et al. a manufacturing step of building the top wall, bottom wall and side wall as one piece using a single manufacturing step without any mechanical attachments in order to provide a precursor source container design with, inter alia, an acceptable deposition rate and without clogging as taught by Birtcher et al.
Additionally, it is not exactly clear how built as one piece is meant to be interpreted based on the original disclosure. See above. As mentioned above, it seems to be plausible that “built as one piece” represents a product-by process-recitation. Assuming the limitation is meant to be a product-by-process limitation, Examiner submits that the precursor source container (product) produced by Applicant’s “process” is substantially the same as the precursor source container as described above of Shero et al. See MPEP 2113.
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over modified Shero et al. as applied to claims 1-3, 5, 8, 10, 31-37 and 39 above in view of U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2003/0111014 to Donatucci et al.
Modified Shero et al. disclose the system substantially as claimed and as described above, including the use of the enlarging elements to aid in transferring heat directly to precursor material (see, e.g., para. 27).
However, modified Shero et al. fail to explicitly disclose optimization of the same such that the area enlarging elements increase a total area of the interior surface by at least 10%, or at least 10%, or at least 20%, or at least 30%, or at least 40%, or at least 50%, or at least 100%, or at least 150%, or at least 200%, or at least 500%, or at least 1,000%, relative to the interior surface without the area enlarging elements.
Donatucci et al. teach (see, e.g., paras. 2, 19, 35, 47) increasing surface area for the purpose of effectively contacting source material (i.e., a precursor) and yielding increased amounts of vaporized source to a downstream system. Additionally, it is noted that the court have ruled that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before Applicant’s invention was effectively filed to have provided the enlarging elements with optimized (and increased) surface area in modified Shero et al. in order to effectively contact source material (i.e., a precursor) and yield increased amounts of vaporized source to a downstream system as taught by Donatucci et al.
Claim(s) 6-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over modified Shero et al. as applied to claims 1-3, 5, 8, 10, 31-37 and 39 above in view of U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2023/0257878 to Chandrasekharan et al. and U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2011/0171383 to Woelk et al.
Regarding claim 6: modified Shero et al. disclose the system substantially as claimed and as described above.
However, modified Shero et al. fail to explicitly disclose a precursor control unit operably connected to the precursor source container, the precursor control unit comprising: a concentration sensor configured to detect and monitor a real-time precursor vapor concentration in the precursor container; a temperature sensor configured to detect and monitor a real-time temperature of the precursor source container; a mass sensor configured to detect and monitor a real-time unconsumed quantity of the precursor source remaining in the precursor source container; wherein the precursor control unit is configured to control the heating element and adjust the temperature of the precursor in situ during operation.
Chandrasekharan et al. disclose the provision of a concentration sensor (see, e.g., Fig. 4A-F, 432; paras. 54, 101) configured to detect and monitor a real-time precursor vapor concentration. Note: the concentration of the precursor vapor is considered to be reflective of the precursor vapor concentration in the precursor source.
Woelk et al. disclose a mass sensor configured to detect and monitor a real-time unconsumed quantity of the precursor source remaining in the precursor source container for the purpose of continuously controlling the flux of precursor into the precursor source container to maintain a constant precursor level therein (see, e.g., para. 53); and a temperature sensor (312) configured to detect and monitor a real-time temperature of the precursor, and wherein the precursor control unit is configured to control a heating element and adjust the temperature of the precursor source in situ during operation in combination with a computing system (i.e. controller, computer, cpu) (see also, e.g., para. 51).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before Applicant’s invention was effectively filed to have provided a precursor control unit operably connected to the precursor source container, the precursor control unit comprising: a concentration sensor, a temperature sensor, and a mass sensor with connecting circuitry as part of the precursor control unit in order to effectively control operations thereof as taught and detailed above by Shero et al., Chandrasekharan et al. and Woelk et al.
Regarding claim 7, in modified Shero et al, as detailed above (see, e.g., paras. 5-7, 33, 62, 65, 100, 104) of Woelk et al. and (see, e.g., paras. 149-151) of Chandrasekharan et al., the parts of the precursor control system and computing system in real-time communication with each other (i.e., transmitting and receiving information with respect to one another) (paras. 149-151), such that real time-time temperature, concentration of the precursor vapor, and/or unconsumed quantity of the precursor source is transmitted in-situ to the computing system; and receive an instruction from the computing system, the instruction having a real-time temperature adjustment signal based on a pre-established operation model for a target range of the precursor vapor concentration; and control the heating element in-situ based on the instruction to maintain the precursor vapor concentration in the target range.
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shero et al. as applied to claims 1-3, 5, 8, 10, 31-37 and 39 above in view of U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2014/0209022 to Inoue et al.
Modified Shero et al. disclose the system substantially as claimed and as described above.
However, modified Shero et al. fail to explicitly disclose a mass flow controller in gas communication with the carrier gas source and the inlet of the precursor source container, the mass flow controller configured to control flow rate and pressure of the carrier gas to be introduced into the precursor source container.
Nevertheless, the same is well-known in the art, Inoue et al. teach providing a mass flow controller in gas communication with a carrier gas source and an inlet of the precursor source container, the mass flow controller configured to control flow rate (and indirectly pressure) of the carrier gas to be introduced into the precursor source container (see, e.g., Fig. 8, 42; paras. 29-30).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before Applicant’s invention was effectively filed to have provided in modified Shero et al. a mass flow controller in gas communication with the carrier gas source and the inlet of the precursor source container, the mass flow controller configured to control flow rate and pressure of the carrier gas to be introduced into the precursor source container as taught by Inoue et al.
Claim(s) 38 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over modified Shero et al. as applied to claims 1-3, 5, 8, 10, 31-37 and 39 above in view of U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2006/0219168 to Brcka.
Modified Shero et al. disclose the system substantially as claimed and as described above.
However, modified Shero et al. fail to disclose the plurality of first area enlarging elements is characterized by a cross-sectional shape that is arranged in multiple concentric circles.
Brcka teach providing area enlarging elements arranged in multiple concentric circles for the purpose of providing a constant surface area as solid precursor is consumed (see, e.g., abstract).
Additionally, the courts have ruled that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955); the courts have held that selections of shape are a matter of choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art will find obvious absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration of the claimed shape was significant. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966); and an express suggestion to substitute one equivalent component or process for another is not necessary to render such substitution obvious. In re Fout, 675 F.2d 297, 213 USPQ 532 (CCPA 1982).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before Applicant’s invention was effectively filed to have provided the first plurality of area enlarging elements as multiple concentric circles or as other suitably shaped alternatives in order to provide a substantially constant surface area as solid precursor is consumed as taught by Brcka.
Claim(s) 40 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over modified Shero et al. as applied to claims 1-3, 5, 8, 10, 31-37 and 39 above in view of U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2005/003979794 to Birtcher et al. (referred to as Birtcher II).
Modified Shero et al. disclose the system substantially as claimed and as described above.
However, modified Shero et al. fail to disclose the plurality of area enlarging elements are arranged in an array comprising multiple rows and multiple columns.
In Figs. 7 and 7a-7g, Birtcher II disclose a precursor source container (104) comprising a plurality of area enlarging elements (101) located on and protruding from an interior surface of a bottom wall and an interior surface of a side wall of the precursor source container, the plurality of area enlarging elements arranged in an array comprising multiple rows and multiple columns (see, esp. Figs. 7E-7G) for the purpose of aiding in transferring heat directly into a precursor material (see, e.g., abstract and paras. 27, 37-42 and 46). Making the arrangement of Birtcher II a known alternative arrangement for a plurality of area enlarging elements providing the same function as in Shero et al.
The courts have ruled that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955); the courts have held that selections of shape are a matter of choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art will find obvious absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration of the claimed shape was significant. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966); and an express suggestion to substitute one equivalent component or process for another is not necessary to render such substitution obvious. In re Fout, 675 F.2d 297, 213 USPQ 532 (CCPA 1982).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before Applicant’s invention was effectively filed to have provided in modified Shero et al. the plurality of area enlarging elements arranged in an array comprising multiple rows and multiple columns in order to aid in transferring heat directly into a precursor material as taught by Birtcher II.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-10 and 31-40 gave been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument, except for those addressed below.
Applicant has argued that modifying Shero et al. to include a top wall, bottom wall and side wall built as one piece makes it impossible to install a filter (which Applicant says is required) rendering the primary reference inoperable. Even assuming, arguendo, the filter is required, which has not been proven, Examiner disagrees. To the extent that Applicant’s recitation in the claims and disclosure of “built as one piece” is understood, Examiner notes that it is known in the art of 3D printing to add embedded objects as necessary, such that the argument presented by Applicant is considered unpersuasive.
Conclusion
The art and prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. USP Pub. 2018/0245206 is a disclosure that provides explicit support and a specific definition for how to interpret a one-piece construction with respect to their claimed invention. USP Pub. No. USP 2009/0181168 discloses concentric area enlarging elements. USP Pub. 2024/03484417 discloses thin film deposition with improved control of a precursor. U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2009/0177309 disclose providing embedded objects during 3D printing.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KARLA A MOORE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1716