DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's amendments and arguments filed 9/2/2025 have been fully considered and are persuasive; the office action has been updated to address the newly amended limitations.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 7, 8, and 36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hsiao et al (U.S. Pub #2018/0213312), in view of Chen et al (U.S. Pub #2016/0368760), in view of Dehe (U.S. Pub #2015/0014796).
With respect to claim 1, Hsiao teaches a device, comprising:
a substrate (Fig. 2, 2) having a first surface and a second surface, the first surface extending along a first direction (i.e. horizontal direction);
a first die (Fig. 2, 4 and Paragraph 24) on the substrate between the first surface and the second surface, the first die having a first contact;
a second die (Fig. 2, 3 and Paragraph 23) on the first surface of the substrate and spaced from the first die along a second direction that is transverse the first direction;
a second through opening (Fig. 2, 203) in the substrate from the first surface to the second surface and adjacent to the first die, the second die is in fluid communication with the second through opening of the substrate;
a first conductive layer (Fig. 2, 24 and Paragraph 32) on the first surface of the substrate, on a sidewall of the second opening, and on the second surface of the substrate, the first conductive layer coupled to the first contact of the first die.
Hsiao does not teach that the first die is in the substrate.
Chen teaches a first die (Fig. 1, 120) that is in a substrate (Fig. 1, 110), the first die being adjacent to an opening (Fig. 1, 118). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to provide the first die of Hsiao in the substrate as taught by Chen in order to protect the die (Paragraph 33).
Hsiao does not teach that the second die has a first through opening;
the first through opening of the second die in fluid communication with the second through opening of the substrate.
Dehe teaches a second die (Fig. 12, 1201) has a first through opening (for example, opening 1208, Paragraph 114, and/or perforation in backplate 1221, Paragraph 111);
the first through opening of the second die in fluid communication with the second through opening of the substrate (Fig. 12, 1207).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to provide a first through opening in the second die of Hsiao, in fluid communication with second opening of the substrate, as taught by Dehe in order to mitigate damping (Paragraph 45) and/or adjust pressure levels in the structure (Paragraph 114).
With respect to claim 7, Hsiao teaches that the first die (Fig. 2, 4) includes a second contact (Fig. 2, first and second bump contacts), the first and second contact being closer to the first surface of the substrate than the second surface.
With respect to claim 8, Hsiao teaches that the second die (Fig. 2, 3) includes a third contact that is electrically coupled to the second contact of the first die (Paragraph 24).
With respect to claim 36, Hsiao does not teach that the second die includes a cantilever extending along the first direction.
Dehe teaches that the second die includes a cantilever extending along the first direction.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to provide a cantilever in the second die of Hsiao as taught by Dehe in order to adjust pressure levels in the structure (Paragraph 114).
Claims 2-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hsiao, Chen, and Dehe, in view of Karim et al (U.S. Pub #2010/0127376).
With respect to claim 2, Chen does not teach a second conductive layer on the first surface of the substrate, on the sidewall of the first opening, and on the second surface of the substrate.
Karim teaches multiple conductive layers on a first surface of the substrate, on a sidewall of an opening, and on a second surface of the substrate (Paragraph 21-23).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to provide a second conductive layer on the substrate/opening of Hsiao as taught by Karim in order to achieve the predictable result of providing grounding and/or shielding (Paragraph 21-23).
With respect to claim 3, Hsiao teaches a lid (Fig. 2, 52/58) coupled to the substrate.
With respect to claim 4, Hsiao teaches that the second conductive layer is coupled to the lid at the first surface of the substrate (Fig. 2, coupling at either or both of 54 and 56).
With respect to claim 5, Hsiao does not teach a dielectric layer on the first surface of the substrate, on the second surface of the substrate, and on the first and second conductive layers.
Karim teaches a dielectric layer (Fig. 6, 22 and Paragraph 21) on the first surface of the substrate, on the second surface of the substrate, and on the first and second conductive layers.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to provide a dielectric layer as taught by Karim in order to protect the conductive layers (Paragraph 21).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hsiao, Chen, Dehe, and Karim, in view of Vos et al (U.S. Pub #2013/0193533).
With respect to claim 6, Hsiao does not teach a second contact through the dielectric layer on the second surface of the substrate, the second contact being part of the second conductive layer.
Vos teaches a second contact (Fig. 1, 116) through the dielectric layer (Fig. 1, 113) on the second surface of the substrate, the second contact being part of a second conductive layer. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to provide a dielectric layer on the conductive layer of Hsiao as taught by Vos in order to allow access to the conductive layer (Paragraph 22).
Claims 25-28, and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hsiao et al (U.S. Pub #2018/0213312), in view of Chen et al (U.S. Pub #2016/0368760), in view of Karim et al (U.S. Pub #2010/0127376), in view of Brioschi et al (U.S. Pub #2017/0006368).
With respect to claim 25, Hsiao teaches a device, comprising:
a substrate (Fig. 2, 2) having a first surface opposite to a second surface;
a first die (Fig. 2, 4 and Paragraph 24) on the substrate;
an opening (Fig. 2, 203) through the substrate;
a first contact (Fig. 2, bump contacts) on the first die;
a first trace (Fig. 2, 24 and Paragraph 32) that is coupled to the first contact and extends from the first surface through the opening to the second surface of the substrate;
Hsiao does not teach that the first die is in the substrate; the first contact having a fifth surface coplanar with the fourth surface of the die.
Chen teaches a first die (Fig. 1, 120) that is in a substrate (Fig. 1, 110), and a first contact (Fig. 1, 122, 124, or 126) having a fifth surface coplanar with the fourth surface of the die (Fig. 1, top surface of 120). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to provide the first die of Hsiao in the substrate as taught by Chen in order to protect the die (Paragraph 33);
and to form a first contact having a fifth surface coplanar with the fourth surface of the die as taught by Chen in order to achieve the predictable result of making electrical connections to the die (Paragraph 28-29).
Hsiao does not teach a second trace that extends from the first surface through the opening to the second surface of the substrate.
Karim teaches multiple conductive layers on a first surface of the substrate, on a sidewall of an opening, and on a second surface of the substrate (Paragraph 21-23).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to provide a second conductive trace on the substrate/opening of Hsiao as taught by Karim in order to achieve the predictable result of providing grounding and/or shielding (Paragraph 21-23).
Hsaio and Chen do not teach that the third surface of the first die is coplanar with the second surface of the substrate.
Brioschi teaches that a third/bottom surface of a first die (Fig. 20, 106) is coplanar with a second/bottom surface of the substrate (Fig. 20, 7).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to form the first die and substrate of Hsaio and Chen such that the third surface is coplanar with the second surface as taught by Brioschi in order to fix and embed the first die within the substrate (Paragraph 173, Fig. 18-20).
With respect to claim 26, Karim teaches the first trace is spaced apart from the second trace (Paragraph 21).
With respect to claim 27, Hsiao teaches a second die (Fig. 2, 3 and Paragraph 23) on the substrate and configured to interact with the opening.
With respect to claim 28, Karim teaches that the second die is coupled to the second trace (Paragraph 17). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to connect the second die of Hsiao to a second trace as taught by Karim in order to achieve the predictable result of forming electrical connections to the second die (Paragraph 17).
With respect to claim 30, Hsiao does not teach a second trace that extends from the first surface through the opening to the second surface of the substrate.
Karim teaches multiple conductive layers on a first surface of the substrate, on a sidewall of an opening, and on a second surface of the substrate (Paragraph 21-23).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to provide a second conductive trace on the substrate/opening of Hsiao as taught by Karim in order to achieve the predictable result of providing grounding and/or shielding (Paragraph 21-23).
Claims 29 and 34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hsiao et al (U.S. Pub #2018/0213312), in view of Chen et al (U.S. Pub #2016/0368760), in view of Karim et al (U.S. Pub #2010/0127376), in view of Brioschi et al (U.S. Pub #2017/0006368).
With respect to claim 29, Hsiao teaches a device, comprising:
a substrate (Fig. 2, 2) having a first surface opposite to a second surface;
a first die (Fig. 2, 4 and Paragraph 24) on the substrate;
an opening (Fig. 2, 203) through the substrate;
a first contact (Fig. 2, bump contacts) on the first die;
a second contact on the second surface of the substrate;
a first trace (Fig. 2, 24 and Paragraph 32) that is electrically coupled to the first contact and extends from the first surface through the opening to the second contact on the second surface of the substrate.
Hsiao does not teach that the first die is in the substrate; the first contact having a fifth surface coplanar with the fourth surface of the die.
Chen teaches a first die (Fig. 1, 120) that is in a substrate (Fig. 1, 110), and a first contact (Fig. 1, 122, 124, or 126) having a fifth surface coplanar with the fourth surface of the die (Fig. 1, top surface of 120). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to provide the first die of Hsiao in the substrate as taught by Chen in order to protect the die (Paragraph 33);
and to form a first contact having a fifth surface coplanar with the fourth surface of the die as taught by Chen in order to achieve the predictable result of making electrical connections to the die (Paragraph 28-29).
Hsaio and Chen do not teach that the third surface of the first die is coplanar with the second surface of the substrate.
Brioschi teaches that a third/bottom surface of a first die (Fig. 20, 106) is coplanar with a second/bottom surface of the substrate (Fig. 20, 7).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to form the first die and substrate of Hsaio and Chen such that the third surface is coplanar with the second surface as taught by Brioschi in order to fix and embed the first die within the substrate (Paragraph 173, Fig. 18-20).
With respect to claim 34, Hsiao teaches a lid (Fig. 2, 52/58) coupled to the second contact (Fig. 2, 24) by a through via (Fig. 2, either 56 or unlabeled through via in 20).
Claims 31-33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hsiao, Chen, and Brioschi, in view of Dehe (U.S. Pub #2015/0014796).
With respect to claim 31, Hsiao teaches a second die (Fig. 2, 3 and Paragraph 23) on the first surface of the substrate, but does not teach that the second die having a though opening in fluid communication with the opening.
Dehe teaches a second die (Fig. 12, 1201) has a first through opening (for example, opening 1208, Paragraph 114, and/or perforation in backplate 1221, Paragraph 111);
the first through opening of the second die in fluid communication with the second through opening of the substrate (Fig. 12, 1207).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to provide a first through opening in the second die of Hsiao, in fluid communication with second opening of the substrate, as taught by Dehe in order to mitigate damping (Paragraph 45) and/or adjust pressure levels in the structure (Paragraph 114).
With respect to claim 32, Hsiao teaches a third contact on the second die (Fig. 2, contact point between die 3 and bump).
With respect to claim 33, Hsiao does not teach a third trace on the first surface of the substrate, the third trace coupled to the third contact via a wire.
Chen teaches a third trace (Fig. 1B, 112) on the first surface of the substrate, the third trace coupled to the third contact (Fig. 1B, contact pad on upper surface of 130) via a wire (Fig. 1B, 150).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to configure the second die of Hsiao such that a third trace is coupled to the third contact via a wire as taught by Chen in order to achieve the predictable result of mounting and connecting the second die on the substrate (Paragraph 35).
Claim 35 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hsiao, Chen, Karim, and Brioschi, in view of Dehe (U.S. Pub #2015/0014796).
With respect to claim 35, Hsiao teaches a second die (Fig. 2, 3 and Paragraph 23) on the first surface of the substrate, but does not teach that the second die having a though opening in fluid communication with the opening.
Dehe teaches a second die (Fig. 12, 1201) has a first through opening (for example, opening 1208, Paragraph 114, and/or perforation in backplate 1221, Paragraph 111);
the first through opening of the second die in fluid communication with the second through opening of the substrate (Fig. 12, 1207).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to provide a first through opening in the second die of Hsiao, in fluid communication with second opening of the substrate, as taught by Dehe in order to mitigate damping (Paragraph 45) and/or adjust pressure levels in the structure (Paragraph 114).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BENJAMIN P SANDVIK/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2812