DETAILED ACTION
This application, 17/813,592, attorney docket 8017-939-DIV, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . This application is assigned Samsung Display Co, and claims foreign priority to 10-2019-0003450, filed 01/10/2019. Claims 1, 2 and 4-7 are pending and are considered below. Note that examiner will use numbers in parentheses to indicate numbered elements in prior art figures, and brackets to point to paragraph numbers where quoted material or specific teachings can be found.
Response to Arguments
Applicant, in his response filed 4/21/26, has amended claims 1 and 5 to clarify the language, and correctly argues that the amendment overcomes the §112a, which is withdrawn, and the drawing objection that addressed the same language is withdrawn.
Applicant has amended claims 2 and 7 and correctly argues that the amendments overcome the §112b rejection of those claims for improper antecedent. Applicant has further amended claims 1, 4 ,5 and 7 to address the §112b rejections for indefiniteness which are withdrawn.
Applicant has further amended claims 1 and 5 to include the limitation that the first display area and the second display area are configured to display an image, and correctly argues that the first display area in Ota is a dummy area which does not produce an image, so the §102 rejection of claims 1 and 5 and their dependents based on Ota is withdrawn, and a new rejection is issued below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 5 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ota et al. (U.S. 2016/8/0064467) in view of Chen et al. (U.S. 2020/0006448).
As for claim 1,
Ota teaches a display device comprising:
a second display area (16) including a plurality of pixel electrodes (E1, figure 4),
the second display area further including a plurality of second pixels (Pd) in each of which a pixel circuit (lower layers of figure 4 including transistors Tcmp, Tsl Tdr and Tel) and a pixel electrode (E1) of the plurality of pixel electrodes are disposed,
wherein the pixel circuit of each of the second pixels includes a plurality of transistors, wherein the plurality of transistors includes:
a first transistor including ((Tdr)) a channel region (10a), a gate electrode (GDr) overlapping the channel region (inherent for a functional transistor), a first source or drain electrode and a second source or drain electrode at opposing sides of the channel region (above and below the gate figure 8),
a second transistor (Tsl) connected between the first source or drain electrode of the first transistor, and a data line, and a third transistor (Tel) connected to the second source or drain electrode of the first transistor, (connections shown in figure 3),
wherein each of the plurality of pixel electrodes comprises a part overlapping the third transistor within a corresponding pixel circuit of each of the plurality of second pixels, in a plan view (shown in cross section figure 4, plan view, overlay figure 8 with figure 13), and
wherein a conductive layer in which the plurality of pixel electrodes is formed does not include a conductive line other than the plurality of pixel electrodes. (Figure 4 shows the pixel electrodes in a dedicated layer (46).
Ota does not teach a first display area configured to display images, or a second display area with a plurality of first regions adjacent to the second pixels, wherein none of the plurality of pixel electrodes are disposed in the first regions.
However, Chen teaches in figure 5 a first display area (12) configured to display images [0011-0012], and a second display area (11) with a plurality of first regions (30) adjacent to the second pixels, wherein none of the plurality of pixel electrodes are disposed in the first regions. Shown not overlapping in figures 5 and 6.
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the effective filing date of this application add the first regions to the inner portion of the device of Oto to allow the incorporation of a fingerprint sensor. Because fingers are smaller than the display, the sensor does not extend into the first display area. One skilled in the art would have combined these elements with a reasonable expectation of success.
As for claim 2,
Ota in view of Chan makes obvious the display device of claim 1, wherein none of the plurality of pixel electrodes overlap the first regions. (They are offset to not overlap in figure 6 of Chen, which allows a clear viewing region of the finger between the pixels without a shadow).
As for Claim 5,
Ota teaches an electronic device comprising:
a second display area (16) including a plurality of pixel electrodes (E1 fig. 4), the second display area including a plurality of second pixels in each of which a pixel circuit (lower layers of figure 4 including transistors Tcmp, Tsl Tdr and Tel) and a pixel electrode (E1) of the plurality of pixel electrodes are disposed,
the second display area being configured to display images,
wherein the pixel circuit of each of the second pixels includes a plurality of transistors, wherein the plurality of transistors includes:
a first transistor including ((Tdr)) a channel region (10a), a gate electrode (GDr) overlapping the channel region (inherent for a functional transistor), a first source or drain electrode and a second source or drain electrode at opposing sides of the channel region (above and below the gate figure 8),
a second transistor (Tsl) connected between the first source or drain electrode of the first transistor, and a data line, and a third transistor (Tel) connected to the second source or drain electrode of the first transistor, (connections shown in figure 3),
and wherein
and wherein a conductive layer in which the plurality of pixel electrodes is formed does not include a conductive line other than the plurality of pixel electrodes. (Figure 4 shows the pixel electrodes in a dedicated layer (46).
Ota does not teach a first display area including a plurality of first pixels configured to display images, or a second display area with a plurality of first regions adjacent to the second pixels, wherein none of the plurality of pixel electrodes are disposed in the first regions.
However, Chen teaches in figure 5 a first display area (12) configured to display images [0011-0012], and a second display area (11) with a plurality of first regions (30) adjacent to the second pixels, wherein none of the plurality of pixel electrodes are disposed in the first regions. Shown not overlapping in figures 5 and 6.
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the effective filing date of this application add the first regions to the inner portion of the device of Oto to allow the incorporation of a fingerprint sensor. Because fingers are smaller than the display, the sensor does not extend into the first display area. One skilled in the art would have combined these elements with a reasonable expectation of success.
As for claim 6,
Ota in view of Chen makes obvious the electronic device of claim 5, wherein none of the plurality of pixel electrodes overlap the first regions. (They are offset to not overlap in figure 1).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4 and 7 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims and if rewritten or amended to overcome the rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) set forth in this Office action.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
As for claim 4 and 7,
the prior art does not teach or make obvious the display of the parent claim the further includes a pixel circuit of the second pixel is connected to a first scan line, a second scan line, and a control line, which are disposed side by side in a first direction, the first pixel electrode and the third pixel electrode have a planar shape having a maximum width in the first direction between the first scan line and the control line, and the second pixel electrode has a planar shape having a maximum width in the first direction in a region overlapping the second scan line.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JOHN A BODNAR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2893