DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed 8/25/26 has been considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 22, 25, 29, 32-33, 35, 39, 42-45 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by MISAKI (U.S. Patent Publication No. 2019/0385960).
Referring to figures 3A, MISAKI teaches a power semiconductor device, comprising:
a substrate (1);
an insulating layer (2/4) disposed over the substrate;
a metal layer (SL/7S/7D, see paragraph# 126) disposed over the insulating layer and including a first portion (SL) and a second portion (7s/7d), the first portion having a first thickness and the second portion having a second thickness greater than the first thickness (see figure 3a);
a coating layer (11) disposed over the metal layer and having a portion with a third thickness greater than the second thickness, the first portion of the metal layer being disposed between the portion of the coating layer and the second portion of the metal layer, the coating layer including an insulating material (see figure 3a); and
a protective layer (17) covering the substrate, the insulating layer, the metal layer, and the coating layer (see figure 3a).
Regarding to claim 25, the first thickness is a distance between an upper surface of the first portion and a lower surface of the first portion at an outer edge of the first portion, and the second thickness is a distance between an upper surface of the second portion and a lower surface of the second portion at an outer edge of the second portion (see figure 3a).
Regarding to claim 29, the metal layer includes Al, Cu, and W (see paragraph# 150).
Regarding to claim 32, the coating layer has a honeycomb structure (11, see figure 3a).
Regarding to claim 33, the third thickness of the coating layer is at least 2 times greater than the second thickness of the second portion.
Regarding to claim 34, the protective layer has a coefficient of thermal expansion (CTE) in a range from 3.4*10-6/oC to 8.0*10-6/C, and the substrate has a CTE in a range from 4.2*10-6/oC to 4.4*10-6/oC.
Regarding to claim 35, the insulating layer is a first insulating layer (4), the power semiconductor device comprising: a second insulating layer (2) disposed between the substrate (1) and the first insulating layer (4); and a passivation layer (17, the first portion that coplanar with layer 15 (protective layer), the second the portion of layer is the portion on top of first portion) disposed over the first insulating layer and the metal layer (see figure 3a).
Regarding to claim 39, a power semiconductor device, comprising:
a substrate (1);
an insulating layer (2/4) disposed over the substrate;
a metal layer (SL/7S/7D) disposed over the insulating layer and including a first portion (SL) and a second portion (7S/7D), the first portion having a first thickness and the second portion having a second thickness greater than the first thickness, the second portion being spaced apart from the first portion (see figure 3a);
a coating layer (11) disposed over the metal layer and having a portion with a third thickness greater than the second thickness, the first portion of the metal layer being disposed between the portion of the coating layer and the second portion of the metal layer the coating layer including an insulating material (see figure 3a); and
a protective layer (17) covering the substrate, the insulating layer, the metal layer, and the coating layer (see figures 3a).
Regarding to claim 42, wherein the portion of the coating layer (11) is a first portion of the coating layer (SL), the coating layer has a second portion (7S/7D) over the first portion of the metal layer or over the second portion of the metal layer of the second portion of the coating layer has a thickness less than the third thickness (see figures 3a).
Regarding to claim 43, the portion of the coating layer (11) having the third thickness is disposed over and in direct contact with a portion of the passivation layer.
Regarding claim 44, no metal layer is disposed under the portion of the coating layer (11) have the third thickness (see figure 3a).
Regarding to claim 45, an upper surface of the first portion is at a level different than that of an upper surface of the second portion (see figure 3a).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 23-24, 27-28, 33, 40-41 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MISAKI (U.S. Patent Publication No. 2019/0385960) as applied in claims 22, 22, 25, 29, 32-33, 35, 39, 42-45 above.
Referring to figures 3A, MISAKI teaches a power semiconductor device, comprising:
a substrate (1);
an insulating layer (2/4) disposed over the substrate;
a metal layer (SL/7S/7D, see paragraph# 126) disposed over the insulating layer and including a first portion (SL) and a second portion (7s/7d), the first portion having a first thickness and the second portion having a second thickness greater than the first thickness (see figure 3a);
a coating layer (11) disposed over the metal layer and having a portion with a third thickness greater than the second thickness, the first portion of the metal layer being disposed between the portion of the coating layer and the second portion of the metal layer, the coating layer including an insulating material (see figure 3a); and
a protective layer (17) covering the substrate, the insulating layer, the metal layer, and the coating layer (see figure 3a).
However, the reference does not clearly teach the specific dimensions of the layers in claims 23-24, 27-28, 33, 38, 40-41.
In re claims 23-24, 27-28, 33, 40-41, the selection of the thickness is obvious because it is a matter of determining optimum process condition by routine experimentation with a limited number of species. In re Jones, 162 USPQ 224 (CCPA 1955)(the selection of optimum ranges within prior art general conditions is obvious) and In re Boesch, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980)(discovery of optimum value of result effective variable in a known process is obvious). In such a situation, applicant must show that the particular range is critical, generally by showing that the claimed range achieves unexpected results relative to prior art range. See M.P.E.P 2144.05 III. In particular, Wu et al suggest that the thickness (figures 13). The specification contains no disclosure of either the critical nature of the claimed dimensions or any unexpected results arising therefrom. Where patentability is said to be based upon particular chosen limitations or upon another variable recited in a claim, the applicant must show that the chosen limitations are critical. In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 1578 (FED. Cir. 1990).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was filed would to form layers with specific dimension in MISAKI because choosing an optimum dimension for a layer is known in the semiconductor art to form a desired device.
Claim(s) 36 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MISAKI (U.S. Patent Publication No. 2019/0385960) as applied in claims 22, 25, 29, 32-33, 35, 39, 42-45 above in view of Koezuka et al. (U.S. Patent Publication No. 2020/0052100).
Referring to figures 3A, MISAKI teaches a power semiconductor device, comprising:
a substrate (1);
an insulating layer (2/4) disposed over the substrate;
a metal layer (SL/7S/7D, see paragraph# 126) disposed over the insulating layer and including a first portion (SL) and a second portion (7s/7d), the first portion having a first thickness and the second portion having a second thickness greater than the first thickness (see figure 3a);
a coating layer (11) disposed over the metal layer and having a portion with a third thickness greater than the second thickness, the first portion of the metal layer being disposed between the portion of the coating layer and the second portion of the metal layer, the coating layer including an insulating material (see figure 3a); and
a protective layer (17) covering the substrate, the insulating layer, the metal layer, and the coating layer (see figure 3a).
However, the reference does not clearly teach the silicon carbide (SiC) substrate, Gallium nitride (GaN) substrate, or Gallium arsenide (GaAs) substrate (in claim 36).
Koezuka et al. teaches a semiconductor device having a silicon carbide substrate (see paragraph# 119, figure 1).Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was filed would to form the silicon carbide (SiC) substrate, Gallium nitride (GaN) substrate, or Gallium arsenide (GaAs) substrate in MISAKI as taught by Koezuka et al. because choosing an optimum material for a layer is known in the semiconductor art to support for the device.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 37-38 are allowed. None of the prior art teaches/suggest a power semiconductor device, comprising: a passivation layer disposed over the second insulating layer and the metal layer; a coating layer disposed over the passivation layer and having a portion with a third thickness greater than the second thickness, the first portion of the metal layer being disposed between the portion of the coating layer and the second portion of the metal layer; and
a protective layer covering the substrate, the first insulating layer, the second insulating layer, the metal layer, the passivation layer, and the coating layer.
Claim 34 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/THANH T NGUYEN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2893