DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 9-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hsu et al (US Patent No. 12261086), in view of Kang et al (US Pub No. 20170053806).
With respect to claim 9, Hsu et al discloses a first trench isolation (32 left,Fig.11); a second trench isolation (32 right,Fig.11) opposite to the first trench isolation (Fig.11); a gate region (the trench where 42 is formed in) disposed between the first trench isolation and the second trench isolation (Fig.11); and a gate oxide (76) disposed over the gate region, wherein the gate oxide protrudes from the first trench isolation and the second trench isolation (Fig.11). However, Hsu et al does not explicitly disclose a bottom corner of the gate oxide is rounded or tapered away from one of the first trench isolation and the second trench isolation. On the other hand, Kang et al discloses a bottom corner of the gate oxide (Para 51,12,Fig.6H) is rounded or tapered away (Fig.6H) from one of the first trench isolation (11a) and the second trench isolation. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to modify Hsu et al according to the teachings of Kang et al such that the gate oxide layer is tapered away from the isolation structure, in order to build a cost effective high voltage device.
With respect to claim 10, Hsu et al discloses wherein the gate oxide has a first lateral surface adjacent to the first trench isolation (portion of the 76 (specifically it’s right side) vertically protruding from the first trench) and a second lateral surface adjacent to the second trench isolation (portion of the 76 (specifically it’s left side) vertically protruding from the second trench) , wherein a portion of the first lateral surface is exposed from the first trench isolation (Fig.11), and a portion of the second lateral surface is exposed from the second trench isolation (Fig.11).
With respect to claim 11, Hsu et al discloses wherein an upper portion of the first lateral surface (portion of the 76 in left above 42) exposed from the first trench isolation (Fig.11), a lower portion of the first lateral surface is in contact with the first trench isolation (Fig.11), an upper portion of the second lateral surface(portion of the 76 in right above 42) is exposed from the second trench isolation (Fig.11), and a lower portion of the second lateral surface is in contact with the second trench isolation (Fig.11).
With respect to claim 12, Hsu et al does not explicitly disclose wherein in a cross-sectional view, a length of the lower portion of the first lateral surface is greater than one half of a thickness of the gate oxide. "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to modify Hsu et al such that in a cross-sectional view, a length of the lower portion of the first lateral surface is greater than one half of a thickness of the gate oxide, in order to decrease the size of the device, thereby the cost is decreased.
With respect to claim 13, wherein the gate region (78,80) has a top surface contacting the gate oxide (on the corner), and the top surface of the gate region is a substantially flat surface (Fig.11).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 21-33 are allowed.
The following is the reason for allowance of the claim 21, pertinent arts do not alone or in combination disclose: a first trench isolation; a second trench isolation opposite to the first trench isolation; a gate region disposed between the first trench isolation and the second trench isolation; a gate oxide disposed over the gate region, wherein top surfaces of the first trench isolation and the second trench isolation are lower than a top surface of the gate oxide; and an oxide layer covering the top surface of the gate oxide, a portion of a lateral surface of the gate oxide, and portions of the top surfaces of the first trench isolation and the second trench isolation; and a metal gate disposed over the oxide layer and covers a topmost surface of the oxide layer.
The following is the reason for allowance of the claim 26, pertinent arts do not alone or in combination disclose: a first trench isolation; a second trench isolation opposite to the first trench isolation; a gate region disposed between the first trench isolation and the second trench isolation; and a gate oxide disposed over the gate region, wherein a top surface of the gate oxide is higher than uppermost surfaces of the first trench isolation and the second trench isolation, there is an interface between a top surface of the gate region and a bottom surface of the gate oxide, and the gate region has a peripheral protrusion located at a periphery of the top surface of the gate region.
Claims 14-15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 9-15,21-33 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ALI NARAGHI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2817