Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102/103
Claims 1-2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Lee; Jun-soo et al. (US 20170330734 A1) in view of, if necessary, Funakubo; Takao et al. (US 20190218663 A1) and Ramamurthy; Sundar et al. (US 20140003800 A1). Lee teaches a film forming apparatus, comprising: a stage (130; Figure 1) on which a substrate (W; Figure 1) is mounted; a first container (101; Figure 1) configured to accommodate the stage (130; Figure 1); a gas supply (120,121,125; Figure 1) configured to supply gases containing two types of monomers into the first container (101; Figure 1) to form a polymer film (“polymer”; [0036],[0045]-[0046], throughout) on the substrate (W; Figure 1) mounted on the stage (130; Figure 1); a porous member (150; Figure 1; [0035]-SiC, [0046]-Applicant’s 250; Figure 1) arranged radially outward from a processing space (above W; Figure 1), which is a space above the substrate (W; Figure 1), and configured to draw in polymers formed by the gases containing two types of monomers exhausted from the first container (101; Figure 1); and a heater (170,180; Figure 1; [0046]) configured to heat the porous member (150; Figure 1; [0035]-SiC, [0046]-Applicant’s 250; Figure 1) to a first temperature ([0046]) when the polymer film (“polymer”; [0036],[0045]-[0046], throughout) is formed on the substrate (W; Figure 1), wherein the porous member (150; Figure 1; [0035]-SiC, [0046]-Applicant’s 250; Figure 1) includes a plurality of pores, and the polymers (“polymer”; [0036],[0045]-[0046], throughout) are introduced into the plurality of pores, and wherein the polymers (“polymer”; [0036],[0045]-[0046], throughout) reach the plurality of pores inside the porous member (150; Figure 1; [0035]-SiC, [0046]-Applicant’s 250; Figure 1) by heating (170,180; Figure 1; [0046]) the porous member (150; Figure 1; [0035]-SiC, [0046]-Applicant’s 250; Figure 1) to the first temperature ([0046]), as claimed by claim 1. With respect to Applicant’s claimed “…configured to supply gases containing two types of monomers into the first container to form a polymer film on the substrate ..”, “…configured to draw in polymers formed by the gases containing two types of monomers…”, “porous”, and “”, it is noted that throughout Lee’s specification Lee discusses “polymer deposit”. It is also a chemical fact that polymers are derived from monomers which have to be the gas sources (120,125) that Lee is supplying. Further, that Lee discusses Lee’s focus ring as receiving polymer deposits is evidenced by Lee teaching the use of Lee’s focus ring/porous member to mask/shield polymer deposits to Lee’s lower electrode 130 – “The focus ring 150 may cover at least a part of an edge of the lower electrode 130 so as to prevent penetration of a polymer compound, which may be generated in a process, into the lower electrode 130.” ([0036]). As a result, Applicant has not provided sufficient distinguishing structural characteristics of Applicant's claimed invention to contrast the Examiner's cited prior art. When the structure recited in the reference is substantially identical to that of the claims, claimed properties or functions are presumed to be inherent.
Further, the Examiner believes that the newly added limitation of “wherein the polymers reach the plurality of pores inside the porous member by heating the porous member to the first temperature” is considered an intended use claim limitation that depends on the physical properties of the polymers used in the pending apparatus claims. Further, it has been held that claim language that simply specifies an intended use or field of use for the invention generally will not limit the scope of a claim (Walter , 618 F.2d at 769, 205 USPQ at 409; MPEP 2106). Additionally, in apparatus claims, intended use must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim (In re Casey,152 USPQ 235 (CCPA 1967); In re Otto , 136 USPQ 458, 459 (CCPA 1963); MPEP2115).
Lee further teaches:
The apparatus of Claim 1, wherein the porous member (150; Figure 1; [0035]-SiC, [0046]-Applicant’s 250; Figure 1) is provided between the stage (130; Figure 1) in the first container (101; Figure 1) and an exhaust port (102; Figure 1) formed in the first container (101; Figure 1), as claimed by claim 2
In the event that the Examiner’s grounds of anticipation are not accepted then Funakubo also teaches a capacitive plasma polymerization using monomers of amine and isocyanate ([0058], abstract), further, Ramamurthy also demonstrates a “porous” edge ring member (20; Figure 3; [0052]) also made from SiC ([0052]) as is Lee’s edge ring member ([0035]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for Lee to use Tabata’s precursor gases as taught by Tabata and Ramamurthy’s “porous” sintered SiC.
Motivation for Lee to use Tabata’s precursor gases as taught by Funakubo is for forming Funakubo’s polymerized film ([0058]).
Motivation for Lee to use Ramamurthy’s “porous” sintered SiC is for “more uniform heat transfer” as taught by Ramamurthy ([0052]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee; Jun-soo et al. (US 20170330734 A1) in view of Funakubo; Takao et al. (US 20190218663 A1) and Ramamurthy; Sundar et al. (US 20140003800 A1). Lee, Funakubo, and Ramamurthy are discussed above.
Lee further teaches:
an RF power source (115; Figure 1) configured to, when the substrate (W; Figure 1) is not mounted on the stage (130; Figure 1), supply RF (Radio Frequency) power into the first container (101; Figure 1) to turn the cleaning gas into plasma and remove the polymer film (“polymer”; [0036],[0045]-[0046], throughout) drawn into the porous member (150; Figure 1; [0035]-SiC, [0046]-Applicant’s 250; Figure 1) by active species contained in the plasma – claim 3. The above and below italicized text is considered intended use claim recitations for the pending apparatus claims. Further, it has been held that claim language that simply specifies an intended use or field of use for the invention generally will not limit the scope of a claim (Walter , 618 F.2d at 769, 205 USPQ at 409; MPEP 2106). Additionally, in apparatus claims, intended use must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim (In re Casey,152 USPQ 235 (CCPA 1967); In re Otto , 136 USPQ 458, 459 (CCPA 1963); MPEP2115).
The apparatus of Claim 4, wherein the heater (170,180; Figure 1; [0046]) is configured to heat the porous member (150; Figure 1; [0035]-SiC, [0046]-Applicant’s 250; Figure 1) to a second temperature ([0042], [0046]) higher than the first temperature ([0042], [0046]) while the cleaning gas is being supplied, as claimed by claim 5
The apparatus of Claim 3, wherein the heater (170,180; Figure 1; [0046]) is configured to heat the porous member (150; Figure 1; [0035]-SiC, [0046]-Applicant’s 250; Figure 1) to a second temperature ([0046]) higher than the first temperature ([0046]) while the cleaning gas is being supplied, as claimed by claim 11
Lee does not teach:
The apparatus of Claim 2, wherein the gas supply (120,121,125; Figure 1) is configured to supply a cleaning gas into the first container (101; Figure 1) when the substrate (W; Figure 1) is not mounted on the stage (130; Figure 1) – claim 3
The apparatus of Claim 3, wherein the cleaning gas is a gas having molecules containing oxygen atoms or fluorine atoms, as claimed by claim 4
The apparatus of Claim 5, wherein the first temperature ([0046]) is a temperature ([0046]) at which an adsorption time of the monomers is in a range of 0.00001 ms or more and 0.01 ms or less, as claimed by claim 6
The apparatus of Claim 6, wherein the surface area of the porous member (150; Figure 1; [0035]-SiC, [0046]-Applicant’s 250; Figure 1) is 50,000,000 cm2 or more, as claimed by claim 7
The apparatus of Claim 7, wherein the gas supply (120,121,125; Figure 1) is configured to supply an amine gas and an isocyanate gas as the gases containing two types of monomers into the first container (101; Figure 1) to thereby form the polymer film (“polymer”; [0036],[0045]-[0046], throughout) having a urea bond on the substrate (W; Figure 1) mounted on the stage (130; Figure 1), as claimed by claim 8
The apparatus of Claim 1, wherein the first temperature ([0046]) is a temperature ([0046]) at which an adsorption time of the monomers is in a range of 0.00001 ms or more and 0.01 ms or less, as claimed by claim 12
The apparatus of Claim 1, wherein the first temperature ([0046]) is a temperature ([0046]) in a range of 130 degrees C to 170 degrees C, as claimed by claim 13
The apparatus of Claim 1, wherein a surface area of the porous member (150; Figure 1; [0035]-SiC, [0046]-Applicant’s 250; Figure 1) is 50,000,000 cm2 or more, as claimed by claim 14
The apparatus of Claim 1, wherein the gas supply (120,121,125; Figure 1) is configured to supply an amine gas and an isocyanate gas as the gases containing two types of monomers into the first container (101; Figure 1) to thereby form the polymer film (“polymer”; [0036],[0045]-[0046], throughout) having a urea bond on the substrate (W; Figure 1) mounted on the stage (130; Figure 1), as claimed by claim 15
Funakubo further teaches:
The apparatus of Claim 2, wherein the gas supply (40s,42s; Figure 1) is configured to supply a cleaning gas into the first container (12; Figure 1) when the substrate (W; Figure 1) is not mounted on the stage (16; Figure 1) – claim 3. See [0006]
The apparatus of Claim 3, wherein the cleaning gas is a gas having molecules containing oxygen atoms ([0072]) or fluorine atoms, as claimed by claim 4
wherein the gas supply (40s,42s; Figure 1) is configured to supply an amine gas ([0058]) and an isocyanate gas ([0058]) as the gases containing two types of monomers into the first container (101; Figure 1) to thereby form the polymer film (“polymer”; [0036],[0045]-[0046], throughout) having a urea bond on the substrate (W; Figure 1) mounted on the stage (130; Figure 1), as claimed by claim 8, 15
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for Lee to use Funakubo’s gas sources and for Lee to optimize Lee’s processing temperature and apparatus dimensions.
Motivation for Lee to use Funakubo’s gas sources is for forming Funakubo’s polymerized film ([0058]).
Motivation for Lee to optimize Lee’s processing temperature is for meeting the polymerization temperatures for the specific monomers used as taught by Funakubo ([0058]).
Motivation for Lee to Lee’s apparatus dimensions is for scaling large area substrates.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed December 18, 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant states:
“
Applicant respectfully submits that regarding amended Claim 1, a non-limiting embodiment of the present application (e.g., paragraphs [0038] and [0062] in the specification) describes that the porous member 250 is heated to the first temperature (i.e., the temperature range of 130 degrees C to 170 degrees C), and as a result, the pores on the surface of the porous member 250 are not blocked by the polymers, and the polymers reach the pores inside the porous member 250, whereby the polymers are drawn into the entire porous member 250. Accordingly, the polymers formed on the surface and pores of the porous member 250 are decomposed by the active species contained in the plasma, are converted into a substance having no deposition property, and are discharged to the downstream side of the exhaust pipe 206 at which the porous member 250 is arranged. Therefore, it is possible to prevent a deposit from adhering to the exhaust path. In connection with the above description, amended Claim 1 recites the feature "the polymers reach the plurality of pores inside the porous member by heating the porous member to the first temperature." (hereinafter the "Feature")
“
In response, as noted above, the Examiner believes that the newly added limitation of “wherein the polymers reach the plurality of pores inside the porous member by heating the porous member to the first temperature” is considered an intended use claim limitation that depends on the physical properties of the polymers (i.e. melting point, viscosity) used in the pending apparatus claims. Further, it has been held that claim language that simply specifies an intended use or field of use for the invention generally will not limit the scope of a claim (Walter , 618 F.2d at 769, 205 USPQ at 409; MPEP 2106). Additionally, in apparatus claims, intended use must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim (In re Casey,152 USPQ 235 (CCPA 1967); In re Otto , 136 USPQ 458, 459 (CCPA 1963); MPEP2115).
Applicant states:
“
Specifically, Lee discloses a configuration opposite to the Feature of amended Claim 1. Referring to paragraph [0076] of Lee, it is disclosed that an amount of polymer accumulated at an area may increase in which a temperature of the focus ring 150 locally decreases, and a reduced amount of polymer may accumulate at an area in which a temperature of the focus ring 150 locally increases. By contrast, amended Claim 1 requires heating a porous member to a first temperature to allow the polymers to reach the plurality of pores in the porous member. In other words, in the claimed invention, the temperature of the porous member is raised to maximize polymer uptake by the porous structure, which is opposite to the disclosure of Lee teaching that a higher temperature at the focus ring results in less polymer accumulation. Under MPEP @ 2145, a prior art reference that criticizes, discredits, or otherwise discourages the solution claimed constitutes "teaching away," which undermines any motivation to modify the reference toward the claimed configuration; here, Lee expressly indicates that increasing the temperature of the ring reduces polymer accumulation, thereby discouraging the claimed heating condition for maximizing polymer adsorption in a porous member. Accordingly, Lee does not render the claimed Feature obvious and, in fact, teaches away from it; the rejection should be withdrawn in view of contrary teaching of Lee, relative to the claimed heating of a porous member to enhance polymer adsorption.
“
In response Further, a prior art reference must be considered in its entirety, i.e., as a whole, including portions that would lead away from the claimed invention. W.L. Gore & Associates, Inc. v. Garlock, Inc., 721 F.2d 1540, 220 USPQ 303 (Fed. Cir. 1983), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 851 (1984). MPEP 2141.02. In particular, Lee’s provided example is only with respect to Lee’s used polymers/monomers which exhibit the noted melting point and viscosity per Lee’s processing conditions. The claimed features are believed to be intended use recitations that are a function of Applicant’s used polymers/monomers which exhibit Applicant’s noted melting point and Applicant’s viscosity per Applicant’s processing conditions. None of polymers/monomers melting point or polymers/monomers viscosity or Applicant’s processing conditions are considered limiting structural components for the pending apparatus claims.
Applicant states:
“
Further, the film forming apparatus of amended Claim 1 is intended to prevent the formation of an organic film (deposit) in the exhaust path, which may occur when monomers that do not participate in the polymerization reaction are exhausted and undergo polymerization with each other, resulting in fluctuations in the internal pressure of the processing container. To address this, the film forming apparatus of amended Claim 1 introduces the polymer into a heated porous member before the polymer reaches the exhaust path, thereby preventing the formation of a deposit in the exhaust path. In contrast, Lee is directed to improving distribution faults (non-uniformity) occurring during the substrate etching process (refer to paragraphs [0031]-[0033] of Lee). Specifically, when a polymer deposited on the inner wall of the process chamber or on components within the process chamber falls and accumulates on a specific portion of the substrate, it can inhibit etching at that location. That is, the invention of Lee aims to uniformly control the etching rate at the edge of the substrate (W) by locally adjusting the temperature of a focus ring (150), which is temperature-controlled according to the location of polymer accumulation on the substrate. Therefore, the process principles of the apparatus of amended Claim 1 and Lee are fundamentally different. Even if Lee addresses polymer deposit as an issue to be solved, there is no basis in Lee from which a person skilled in the art could derive the Feature of amended Claim 1 of the present application.
“
In response to applicant's argument, the fact that the inventor has recognized another advantage which would flow naturally from following the suggestion of the prior art cannot be the basis for patentability when the differences would otherwise be obvious. See Ex parte Obiaya, 227 USPQ 58, 60 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1985).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Capacitive plasma apparatus with focus ring temperature control includes:
US 20080261074 A1
US 20060207502 A1
US 20080006207 A1
US 20210082713 A1
US 20190198350 A1
US 20240282613 A1
US 20190326104 A1
US 6464794 B1
All claims are identical to or patentably indistinct from, or have unity of invention with claims in the application prior to the entry of the submission under 37 CFR 1.114 (that is, restriction (including a lack of unity of invention) would not be proper) and all claims could have been finally rejected on the grounds and art of record in the next Office action if they had been entered in the application prior to entry under 37 CFR 1.114. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL even though it is a first action after the filing of a request for continued examination and the submission under 37 CFR 1.114. See MPEP § 706.07(b). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Examiner Rudy Zervigon whose telephone number is (571) 272- 1442. The examiner can normally be reached on a Monday through Thursday schedule from 8am through 6pm EST. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Any Inquiry of a general nature or relating to the status of this application or proceeding should be directed to the Chemical and Materials Engineering art unit receptionist at (571) 272-1700. If the examiner cannot be reached please contact the examiner's supervisor, Parviz Hassanzadeh, at (571) 272- 1435.
/Rudy Zervigon/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1716