DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Prior objections to the specification in relation to minor informalities have been overcome by applicant’s amendments received 2 December 2025 and are therefore withdrawn.
Claims 1 and 10 have been amended by applicant’s amendments received 2 December 2025. No new matter is introduced.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 2 December 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
On page 8 of remarks, applicant indicates that Keilaf et al. (hereinafter Keilaf, US 20190271767 A1) does not disclose a system where a plurality of light reception pixel groups correspond to a portion of a field of view (FOV), where the FOV is defined by a total angular scanning range which is divided into a plurality of angles, which is a limitation introduced in the amendments filed 2 December 2025. Examiner respectfully disagrees, and has cited references within Keilaf below, found in the rejections under Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102. Additionally, Applicant claims that the rejection of the limitation “the reflected light reception pixel groups and the visible light reception pixel groups are arranged adjacently to a direction corresponding to a scanning direction”, previously presented as part of claim 3, is not taught by Keilaf but does not include further explanation of how the previously referenced portions of Keilaf either do not teach, or teach away from, the cited limitation. As such, the rejection is maintained.
Claim Objections
Claims 2 and 3 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claim 2, line 3: “corresponding to a scanning direction” should read “corresponding to the scanning direction”, as a scanning direction is now introduced in claim 1.
Regarding claim 3, line 3: “adjacently to a direction” and “corresponding to a scanning direction” should read “adjacently to the direction” and “corresponding to the scanning direction”, respectively, as both a direction corresponding to a scanning direction are now introduced in claim 1.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Due to amendments to claim 1, claim 1 now includes the limitation “wherein the reflected light reception pixel group and the one or more visible light reception pixel groups are arranged adjacently to a direction corresponding to a scanning direction.” As it is understood that the pixel groups are arranged adjacent to one another, and this arrangement is corresponding to a scanning direction, the previously presented limitation within claim 2 where “the plurality of visible light reception pixel groups are arranged in a direction corresponding to a scanning direction” now fails to further limit claim 1, which claim 2 is dependent upon.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by Keilaf et al. (hereinafter Keilaf, US 20190271767 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Keilaf anticipates an object detection apparatus that scans a detection range to detect an object, the object detection apparatus comprising:
a light emission unit that emits a pulse detection light ([0077], [0108]; Fig. 4B emitter (112) may emit pulses of light in a predefined scanning pattern);
and a light reception unit having a plurality of light reception pixel groups ([0108] - [0110]; Fig. 4B sensor (116) includes an array of individual detection elements grouped into pixels (410)),
wherein the plurality of light reception pixel groups include, corresponding to a scanning angle unit in which a scanning angle range is divided into a plurality of angles ([0054] - [0058], [0067], [0108] - [0114]; Fig. 4B where scanning mirror (114) directs emitted light (204) to environment/ first FOV (412), where emitted light for each scan segment covers a smaller angular portion, the second FOV (414), where second FOV may be between .05 and 1 degree, which is a fraction of first FOV),
a reflected light reception pixel group that receives, at each scanning unit in a scanning operation, reflected light in response to an emission of the pulse detection light, and one or more visible light reception pixel groups corresponding to visible light components, receiving a visible light at each scanning unit in a scanning operation ([0073], [0111], [0114], where during each scanning cycle, a different portion of the FOV may be associated to a subset of detectors which receive incident light, the incident light including reflected emitted light and ambient light),
wherein the reflected light reception pixel group and the one or more visible light reception pixel groups are arranged adjacently to a direction corresponding to a scanning direction ([0111] - [0114], [0188], [0196]; Figs. 4B, 7M, where pixel allocation may be scanning direction dependent, groups (792) and (794) are allocated at subsequent times in a scan and the reflections from a single portion of field of view (120) collected by one or more detectors within the sensor may reference a single portion of field of view (120)).
Regarding claim 2, Keilaf anticipates the object detection apparatus according to claim 1, wherein
the plurality of visible light reception pixel groups are arranged in a direction corresponding to a scanning direction ([0188], [0196]; Fig. 7M, where pixel allocation may be scanning direction dependent, and pixels (792) and (794) are allocated at subsequent times in a scan).
Regarding claim 3, Keilaf anticipates the object detection apparatus according to claim 1, wherein
the reflected light reception pixel groups and the visible light reception pixel groups are arranged adjacently to a direction corresponding to a scanning direction to form a column group ([0188], [0196]; Fig. 7M, where pixel allocation may be scanning direction dependent, and pixels (792) and (794), grouped into columns, are allocated at subsequent times in a scan);
and the light reception unit is configured to execute a light reception process of the reflected light reception pixel group and a light reception process of the visible light reception pixel group ([0201], Fig. 9A where system initiates a process of collection and allocation).
Regarding claim 4, Keilaf anticipates the object detection apparatus according to claim 1, wherein
the reflected light reception pixel groups and the visible light reception pixel groups have corresponding light reception area depending on a light reception sensitivity ([0159], where more or less pixels and/or detection elements may be allocated based on sensitivity to reflected light).
Regarding claim 5, Keilaf anticipates the object detection apparatus according to claim 1, wherein
the light reception unit is configured to control a light reception time of the reflected light reception pixel groups and the visible light reception pixel groups, depending on a light reception sensitivity ([0244], where differing ToF/object distance time windows may have different amplification due to sensitivity levels, to avoid overloading sensors or lowering signal-to-noise ratios).
Regarding claim 6, Keilaf anticipates the object detection apparatus according to claim 1, wherein
the light reception unit is configured to control a voltage applied to the reflected light reception pixel groups and the visible light reception pixel groups, depending on a light reception sensitivity ([0252]; Fig. 11 (1104) detector bias may be changed for pixel groups depending on signals, the pixel group or returned light intensity).
Regarding claim 10, Keilaf anticipates a method for controlling an object detection apparatus that scans a detection range to detect an object, the method comprising steps of:
emitting pulse detection light to scan the detection range ([0077], [0207]; Fig. 9B where method (910) for imaging includes activation of at least one source (911), where the source may be a pulsed source);
receiving, at each scanning unit in a scanning operation ([0111], [0114]), a reflected light in response to an emission of the pulse detection light, with a reflected light reception pixel group included in a light reception unit ([0073], [0207]; Fig. 9B where method (910) for imaging includes detection of reflection signals from the field of view (912), where the incident light includes reflected emitted light);
and receiving, at each scanning unit in the scanning operation ([0111], [0114]), a visible light, with one or more visible light reception pixel groups corresponding to visible light components included in the light reception unit ([0073], [0207]; Fig. 9B where method (910) for imaging includes detection of reflection signals from the field of view (912), where the incident light includes ambient light),
wherein the reflected light reception pixel group and the one or more visible light reception pixel groups correspond to a scanning angle unit in which a scanning angle range is divided into a plurality of angles ([0054] - [0058], [0067], [0108] - [0114]; Fig. 4B where scanning mirror (114) directs emitted light (204) to environment/ first FOV (412), where emitted light for each scan segment covers a smaller angular portion, the second FOV (414), where second FOV may be between .05 and 1 degree, which is a fraction of first FOV) and are arranged adjacently to a direction corresponding to a scanning direction ([0111] - [0114], [0188], [0196]; Figs. 4B, 7M, where pixel allocation may be scanning direction dependent, groups (792) and (794) are allocated at subsequent times in a scan and the reflections from a single portion of field of view (120) collected by one or more detectors within the sensor may reference a single portion of field of view (120)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Keilaf et al. (hereinafter Keilaf, US 20190271767 A1), and in view of Price et al. (hereinafter Price, US 20180164156 A1).
Regarding claim 7, Keilaf teaches the object detection apparatus according to claim 1.
Keilaf does not explicitly teach pixel groups where specific detector elements receive a red, green, and/or blue component.
Price teaches a detector where visible light reception pixel groups receive at least one of visible light components of a R component, a G component and a B component ([0029], [0058] - [0060]; Fig. 7. where hybrid sensor (102) has red (R), green (G), blue (B) and IR photoreceptive elements).
Therefore, to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious prima facie to modify Keilaf to incorporate the teachings of Price to utilize an array of detector elements where specific groups of detector elements within the array are specialized for detection of red, green, blue, and/or infrared light with a reasonable expectation of success. The camera system of Price employees an infrared laser, that emits pulsed light for time-of-flight measurements ([0049]) where a hybrid sensor detects incident light which may have multiple wavelength components. Integration of the detector array of Price into the system of Keilaf would be a simple substitution of elements (the detector arrays) with a predictable result of utilizing an array of detector elements with specific wavelength responses (red, green, blue) grouped in the system of dynamic pixel group allocation of Keilaf.
Regarding claim 8, Keilaf as modified above teaches the object detection apparatus according to claim 7.
Keilaf does not explicitly teach pixel groups where specific detector elements receive a red component.
Price teaches a detector where visible light reception pixel groups receive the visible light component of the R component ([0029], [0058] - [0060]; Fig. 7. where hybrid sensor (102) has red (R), green (G), blue (B) and IR photoreceptive elements).
Therefore, to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious prima facie to modify Keilaf to incorporate the teachings of Price to utilize an array of detector elements where specific groups of detector elements within the array are specialized for detection of red and/or infrared light with a reasonable expectation of success. The camera system of Price employees an infrared laser, that emits pulsed light for time-of-flight measurements ([0049]) where a hybrid sensor detects incident light which may have multiple wavelength components. Integration of the detector array of Price into the system of Keilaf would be a simple substitution of elements (the detector arrays) with a predictable result of utilizing an array of detector elements with specific wavelength responses (red, green, blue) grouped in the system of dynamic pixel group allocation of Keilaf.
Regarding claim 9, Keilaf teaches the object detection apparatus according to claim 1.
Keilaf does not explicitly teach pixel groups having filters over detection elements, specifically filters for different visible light wavelength ranges.
Price teaches a detector where visible light reception pixel groups have filters on light reception pixels ([0031] - [0032]; Fig. 1. where hybrid sensor (102) is a photoreceptive sensor array (106) overlaid by a color filter array (108)).
Therefore, to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious prima facie to modify Keilaf to incorporate the teachings of Price to utilize a filter array over a photoreceptive sensor array with a reasonable expectation of success. Use of filters with detectors or detector arrays within object detection systems is well-known in the art, as noted by Keilaf where filters or filtering windows may allow specific wavelength ranges to enter sensing units while attenuating other wavelengths ([0100]). Integration of the filter array of Price into the system of Keilaf would have a predictable result of utilizing an array of filters over detector elements which allows for controlled wavelength responses (red, green, blue) of specific detection elements within pixel groups.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Curatu (US 20180284285 A1) teaches a lidar system which generates images utilizing multiple sensors, each of which includes a scanner configured to scan an environmental (field of view) FoV, where specific areas of the environmental FoV map to specific, relative receiver FoVs, and can align with the scan direction of the scanner.
Okamoto (US 20200344405 A1) teaches a time-of-flight distance imaging apparatus which includes a receiver where neighboring pixels/detector elements have different specific spectral sensitivity in wavelength bands.
Kirillov (US 20200150209 A1) teaches a lidar system where the detector may have differing sensitivities, may employ specific filters on detectors, where the sensitivity of the detector may correlate to range of objects and strength of reflected signal.
Ishii et al. (US 20180246214 A1) teaches a light receiving circuit includes a light receiving element which performs photoelectric conversion and can adjust exposure time based on background light detection periods within the distance measurement periods as well as background detection periods.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/K.M.R./Examiner, Art Unit 3645
/ROBERT W HODGE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3645