DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
The amendment to the specification renders the previous objection moot.
The applicant argues on pages 12 and 13 of the response that “Mi discloses connection line 26 and that the first direction may be a column direction of the pixel units in the display area, and the second direction may be a row direction of the pixel units in the display area (paragraph [0032] and FIG. 5). However, Mi does not disclose that the main segment does not overlap with the openings. Mi does not refer to the position of the opening of the pixel definition layer at all. FIG. 6 of the present application. In addition, none of Shin, Zhao, Park, Zou Wan, and Cho refer to the above difference a) of the amended claim 1.”
There was a combination of references that was applied for claim 13 previously. Mi was relied on for the main line and branches, and not overlapping the opening is disclosed by Li. Thus the claimed elements were addressed in the previous rejection. The applicant has not here argued that the combination of references is incorrect, or that otherwise that the rejection was insufficient. Arguing one reference that were not relied on for a given claim element do not show that element, when another reference does, does not address the rejection.
Mi only modifies Li by creating a new branch at the side of the driving circuit to connect the line at a particular location to the driving circuit. The other elements, such as the location of the line relative to the pixel openings, would remain unchanged in the combination of references.
The rejection is maintained.
The examiner is willing to discuss how the claims could potentially be amended to overcome the rejections.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 14, 16-18, and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li, CN 114171574, in view of Shin, US 2020/0348573, Cho, US 2016/0181349, and Mi, US 2023/0352391.
Claim 1: Li discloses a display panel, wherein the display panel has a display area (AA) and a non-display area (NA); and wherein the display panel comprises:
data lines (Da) arranged in the display area and each extending in a first direction (vertical, FIG. 1);
connecting lines (S1) arranged in the display area;
a substrate (10), wherein the data lines and the connecting lines are located at a same side of the substrate;
and a light-shielding structure (Z) located in the display area, and located at a side of the connecting lines away from the substrate, wherein, in a direction perpendicular to a plane of the substrate, the light-shielding structure overlaps with at least one of line segments of at least one of the connecting lines (FIG. 5);
a pixel definition layer (301) comprising openings located in the display area;
and light-emitting elements located in the display area,
and wherein at least one of the light-emitting elements comprises a first electrode (302), a light-emitting layer (303), and a second electrode (304), at least one of the openings expose the first electrode, and the at least one of the openings are located in a light-emitting area of the at least one of the light-emitting elements, and in the direction perpendicular to the plane of the substrate, the light-shielding structure does not overlap with the openings (FIG. 5).
Li does not appear to explicitly disclose the claimed two branches. Mi discloses that each of the at least one first connecting line (26) comprises a main line segment and at least two branches, and one end of each of the at least two branches is coupled with the main line segment:
It would have been obvious to have used such a connection structure in Li as known in the art for the purpose of connecting pads to data lines at the proper location.
Lin discloses that “in order to achieve better signal shielding effect, the shielding wiring B can be set along the positive projection of the driving wiring S1 on the shielding layer, and the covering range of the shielding wiring B on the shielding layer can be greater than the positive projection of the driving wiring S1 on the shielding layer, so as to completely shield the signal of the driving wiring S1”; thus the light-shielding structure overlaps with at least a part of the main line segment, as it overlaps with the entire connecting line. As seen in Lin FIG. 5,
the main line segment does not overlap with the openings, because the connection line does not overlap with the openings.
Claim 1 also recites pads arranged in the non-display area, wherein each of the connecting lines comprises an end coupled with one of the data lines, and another end coupled with one of the pads. This is not illustrated, as the driving chip IC is schematically illustrated only as a box. However, this was known in the art. See e.g. Shin, which illustrates connecting lines PL1 connected to pads PA1. It would have been obvious to have had such pads in the common use case in which the driver is a separate unit bonded to the display, such as printed circuit board 500 disclosed by Shin.
Claim 1 also recites that the first electrode is a reflective electrode, the second electrode is a transmissive electrode. Li does not disclose the optical properties of the electrodes, but the claimed properties were well known in the art. See e.g. Cho, [0132], “When the OLED display is a top emission type, the pixel electrode 211 is formed of a reflecting layer and the common electrode 214 is formed of a transparent layer or a translucent layer.” This was very common and would have been obvious as one of two common configurations that would commonly be implemented.
Claim 2: Li discloses that in the direction perpendicular to the plane of the substrate, the at least one of the line segments of the at least one of the connecting lines does not overlap with the openings (FIG. 5).
Claim 14: each of at least two connecting lines of the connecting lines comprises a first line segment extending in the first direction (vertical portion of S1, FIG. 1), wherein the first line segment extends from a boundary between the display area and the non-display area to the display area (FIG. 1); and wherein the light-shielding structure comprises a first light-shielding portion extending in the first direction, wherein, in the direction perpendicular to the plane of the substrate, the first light-shielding portion overlaps with the first line segments of the at least two connecting lines (FIGS. 5, 10, and 11).
Claim 16: Li discloses
the display area has an axis of symmetry (vertical middle line) extending in the first direction (D1);
wherein each of the connecting lines comprises a first line segment extending in the first direction, the first line segment extending from a boundary between the display area and the non-display area to the display area;
and wherein at the same side of the axis of symmetry, the connecting lines comprise a fourth connecting line and a fifth connecting line, and the data lines comprise a first data line and a second data line, wherein a distance between the first line segment of the fourth connecting line and the axis of symmetry is greater than a distance between the first line segment of the fifth connecting line and the axis of symmetry;
a distance between the first data line and the axis of symmetry is greater than a distance between the second data line and the axis of symmetry;
and the fourth connecting line is coupled with the first data line, and the fifth connecting line is coupled with the second data line.
Claim 17: Li discloses
the display area comprises a first display area and two second display areas, wherein, in a second (horizontal) direction, the two second display areas are respectively located at two sides of the first display area, and the second direction intersects with the first direction;
the display area has an axis of symmetry extending in the first direction, the axis of symmetry being located in the first display area;
wherein the data lines comprise intermediate data lines and edge data lines, wherein the intermediate data lines are located in the first display area, and the edge data lines are located in the two second display areas;
and fan-out lines are provided in the non-display area, and the intermediate data lines are coupled with the pads through the fan-out lines;
and wherein the connecting lines are located in the two second display areas, and the connecting lines are coupled with the edge data lines.
The lines in the central part can be considered fan out lines because they allow connections that fan out, i.e., the spread of data lines connected to is wider than the spread of the connected pads connected to.
Claim 18: Li discloses
the connecting lines comprise a first line segment extending in the first direction (D1) and a second line segment extending in a second direction (D2), the first line segment extending from a boundary between the display area and the non-display area to the display area, and the second direction intersecting with the first direction (FIG. 10);
and wherein the second line segment has an end coupled with the first line segment and another end coupled with one of the data lines (FIG. 10);
and wherein, in the direction perpendicular to the plane of the substrate, at least a part of the first line segment overlaps with the light-shielding structure, and at least a part of the second line segment overlaps with the light-shielding structure (FIG. 10).
Claim 22: Li discloses a display panel, wherein the display panel has a display area (AA) and a non-display area (NA); and wherein the display panel comprises:
data lines (Da) arranged in the display area and each extending in a first direction (vertical, FIG. 1);
connecting lines (S1) arranged in the display area;
a substrate (10), wherein the data lines and the connecting lines are located at a same side of the substrate;
and a light-shielding structure (Z) located in the display area, and located at a side of the connecting lines away from the substrate, wherein, in a direction perpendicular to a plane of the substrate, the light-shielding structure overlaps with at least one of line segments of at least one of the connecting lines (FIG. 5);
a pixel definition layer (301) comprising openings located in the display area;
and light-emitting elements located in the display area,
and wherein at least one of the light-emitting elements comprises a first electrode (302), a light-emitting layer (303), and a second electrode (304), at least one of the openings expose the first electrode, and the at least one of the openings are located in a light-emitting area of the at least one of the light-emitting elements, and in the direction perpendicular to the plane of the substrate, the light-shielding structure does not overlap with the openings (FIG. 5).
Li does not appear to explicitly disclose the claimed two branches. Mi discloses that each of the at least one first connecting line (26) comprises a main line segment and at least two branches, and an end of each of the at least two branches is coupled with the main line segment:
It would have been obvious to have used such a connection structure in Li as known in the art for the purpose of connecting pads to data lines at the proper location.
Lin discloses that “in order to achieve better signal shielding effect, the shielding wiring B can be set along the positive projection of the driving wiring S1 on the shielding layer, and the covering range of the shielding wiring B on the shielding layer can be greater than the positive projection of the driving wiring S1 on the shielding layer, so as to completely shield the signal of the driving wiring S1”; thus the light-shielding structure overlaps with at least a part of the main line segment, as it overlaps with the entire connecting line. As seen in Lin FIG. 5,
the main line segment does not overlap with the openings, because the connection line does not overlap with the openings.
Claim 22 also recites pads arranged in the non-display area, wherein each of the connecting lines comprises an end coupled with one of the data lines, and another end coupled with one of the pads. This is not illustrated, as the driving chip IC is schematically illustrated only as a box. However, this was known in the art. See e.g. Shin, which illustrates connecting lines PL1 connected to pads PA1. It would have been obvious to have had such pads in the common use case in which the driver is a separate unit bonded to the display, such as printed circuit board 500 disclosed by Shin.
Claim 22 also recites that the first electrode is a reflective electrode, the second electrode is a transmissive electrode. Li does not disclose the optical properties of the electrodes, but the claimed properties were well known in the art. See e.g. Cho, [0132], “When the OLED display is a top emission type, the pixel electrode 211 is formed of a reflecting layer and the common electrode 214 is formed of a transparent layer or a translucent layer.” This was very common and would have been obvious as one of two common configurations that would commonly be implemented.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li in view of Shin, Cho, Mi, and Zhao, CN 111584500. Li discloses various connecting lines of different lengths, but not of different widths. Zhao discloses having larger widths for longer connection lines. This allows for an equalization of impedance of the connection lines (Zhao, abstract). It would have been obvious to have used wider lines for longer connections in Li to equalize impedance and thus to allow for better signal distribution. (Note that while the connection lines in Zhao do no to connect to data lines, the driving signal in both Zhao and Li is an electrical signal which will benefit from reducing the different in the impedance between different lines.)
Claims 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li in view of Shin, Cho, Mi, and Park, US 2022/0102463.
Claim 19: Li discloses a pixel definition layer (301) having openings located in the display area (FIG. 5), wherein the connecting lines comprise a sixth connecting line (any of the connecting lines). Li does not disclose that the connecting line overlaps with the openings. However, as the connecting lines of Li are covered by the light shielding layer, there would not be any optical interference with the device. Further, it was known to have conductive lines cross the optical opening in a pixel. See e.g. Park, FIGS. 3 and 4, showing the pixel openings corresponding to the blue light emitting area B (compare FIG. 11), which overlaps with signal line 171B. It would have been within ordinary skill in the art to determine the proper placement of the connecting lines, including overlapping the opening.
Claim 20: Lin discloses
one of the light-emitting elements corresponds to one of the openings (FIG. 5);
and the light-emitting elements comprise a red light-emitting element, a green light-emitting element and a blue light-emitting element (“red sub-pixel, green sub-pixel; blue sub-pixel” [0042]).
Claim 20 also recites that, in the direction perpendicular to the plane of the substrate, at least one of the line segments of the sixth connecting line overlaps with one of the openings that corresponds to the red light-emitting element, and/or at least one of the line segments of the sixth connecting line overlaps with one of the openings that corresponds to the blue light-emitting element. It would have been obvious to have crossed any of the openings, as it would not interfere with the emission of the pixels. See Park, FIGS. 3 and 4, to show that it was known to have conductive lines cross the opening of a blue pixel.
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li in view of Shin, Cho, Mi, and Zou US 2014/0353691, in evidence of Wan, US 2022/0045306. Zou discloses a filter layer, wherein the filter layer comprises filter units (30), wherein the light-shielding structure (40) is provided between adjacent filter units of the filter units ([0036], FIG. 4):
It was thus known in the art to use a light shield between color filters (typically a black matrix) for a light shield of underlying conductive lines. It would have been obvious to have used it in this way in Li. Also, as the black matrix is located in between the emission areas, as are the connection lines in Li (see FIG. 10), so the black matrix of Li in view of would also cover the connection lines.
Note that while Zou discloses an LCD with color filters and a black matrix, this was also known for OLEDs, Li being an OLED. See Wan, FIG. 1. Thus it would have been obvious to have such structures in OLEDs as known in the art.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure Yuan, US 2023/0043145 A1, which shows data lines that do not overlap with the pixel openings (FIGS. 8 and 9).
/PETER BRADFORD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2897