DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) filed on November 21, 2022 and IDS filed on January 29, 2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the IDSs are considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claims 4-6 and 10-12 are objected to because of the following informality:
In claim 4, lines 2-3, “at least one of the first pattern of electrically-conductive formations or the second pattern of electrically-conductive formations” should read --at least one of the first pattern of electrically-conductive structures or the second pattern of electrically-conductive structures--.
In claim 5, lines 1-2, “at least one of the first or second patterns of electrically-conductive formations” should read --at least one of the first or second patterns of electrically-conductive structures--.
In claim 5, line 2, “an array of electrically-conductive formations” should read --an array of electrically-conductive structures--.
In claim 5, line 3, “the periphery of the substrate” should read --a periphery of the substrate--.
In claim 6, line 1, “the array of electrically-conductive formations” should read --the array of electrically-conductive structures--.
In claim 6, line 2, “electrically-conductive formations” should read --electrically-conductive structures--.
In claim 6, lines 2-3, “from the die-mounting area and towards the periphery of the substrate” should read --from the die-mounting area of the substrate and towards the periphery of the substrate--.
In claim 10, lines 2-3, “at least one of the first pattern of electrically-conductive formations or the second pattern of electrically-conductive formations” should read --at least one of the first pattern of electrically-conductive structures or the second pattern of electrically-conductive structures--.
In claim 11, lines 1-2, “at least one of the first or second patterns of electrically-conductive formations” should read --at least one of the first or second patterns of electrically-conductive structures--.
In claim 11, lines 2-3, “an array of electrically-conductive formations” should read --an array of electrically-conductive structures--.
In claim 11, line 3, “the periphery of the substrate” should read --a periphery of the substrate--.
In claim 12, line 1, “the array of electrically-conductive formations should read --the array of electrically-conductive structures--.
In claim 12, line 2, “electrically-conductive formations” should read --electrically-conductive structures--.
In claim 12, line 3, “from the die-mounting area and towards the periphery of the substrate” should read --from the die-mounting area of the substrate and towards the periphery of the substrate--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 7-11 and 13-17 are rejected are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Roh et al. US 9,171,739 in view of Dunbar et al. US 2009/0263639.
Regarding claim 1, Roh teaches a leadframe for semiconductor devices (e.g., Figs. 1-2 and the description thereof, col. 1, lines 24-31; also see Fig. 31 that is the structure of Fig. 10 (Fig, 2) having the device 102 mounted thereon, and the description thereof col. 15, lines 7-39; also see Figs. 3-10 that are the manufacturing method steps for Fig. 2, and the description thereof), the leadframe comprising:
a laminar substrate (e.g., 202, Fig. 2, col. 6, lines 44-49) of laser direct structuring material, the laminar substrate having first and second opposed surfaces (e.g., first surface of 202 on which 208 are disposed; second surface of 202 on which 206 are disposed; Fig. 2);
a first pattern of electrically-conductive structures (e.g., 208, Fig. 2; Fig. 6) at the first surface of the substrate, the first pattern of electrically-conductive structures formed by laser beam processing (e.g., Fig. 6, col. 6, lines 50-67);
a second pattern of electrically-conductive structures (e.g., 206, Fig. 2; Fig. 4) at the second surface of the substrate; and
electrically-conductive vias (e.g., 210, Fig. 2) extending through the substrate between the first surface of the substrate and the second surface of the substrate, the electrically-conductive vias coupled to at least one of the electrically-conductive structures in the first pattern of electrically-conductive structures and in the second pattern of electrically-conductive structures (e.g., Fig. 2).
Roh does not explicitly teach the second pattern of electrically-conductive structures formed by laser beam processing.
Dunbar teaches a pattern of electrically-conductive structures formed by laser beam processing (e.g., Abstract, [26]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the leadframe of Roh to include a pattern of electrically-conductive structures formed by laser beam processing as suggested by Dunbar for the purpose of producing fine conductive patterns on the substate for example (e.g., Dunbar, [82]). In this case, Roh in view of Dunbar thus teaches the second pattern of electrically-conductive structures formed by laser beam processing.
Regarding claim 2, Roh in view of Dunbar teaches the leadframe of claim 1, comprising an electrically-conductive material (e.g., Roh, 3102, Fig. 31) on the first pattern of electrically-conductive structures, the second pattern of electrically-conductive structures, and the electrically-conductive vias.
Regarding claim 3, Roh in view of Dunbar teaches the leadframe of claim 2 as discussed above.
Roh recognizes that the first pattern of electrically-conductive structures, the second pattern of electrically-conductive structures, and the electrically-conductive vias include copper (col. 5, lines 34-42).
Dunbar further teaches wherein the electrically-conductive material includes copper (e.g., [85], [81]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the leadframe of Roh in view of Dunbar to include wherein the electrically-conductive material (on the first pattern of electrically-conductive structures, the second pattern of electrically-conductive structures, and the electrically-conductive via) includes copper as suggested by Dunbar for the purpose of enhancing the contact strength between the conductive material and structures thereunder, thereby improving the device performance for example.
Regarding claim 4, Roh in view of Dunbar teaches the leadframe of claim 1, comprising contact formations (e.g., Roh, 3102, Fig. 31) over at least one of the first pattern of electrically-conductive formations or the second pattern of electrically-conductive formations.
Dunbar further teaches plated contact formations (e.g., [85], [81]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the leadframe of Roh in view of Dunbar to include plated contact formations as suggested by Dunbar because it has been well known in the art that contact formations/pads are formed by electroplating, vapor deposition, thermal/cold spray and the like, and selecting electroplating for its conventional use would have been a common sense choice by one skilled in the semiconductor art. MPEP §2143.
Regarding claim 5, Roh in view of Dunbar teaches the leadframe of claim 1 wherein at least one of the first or second patterns of electrically-conductive formations includes an array of electrically-conductive formations between a die-mounting area of the substrate and the periphery of the substrate (e.g., Roh, array of 206, Fig. 2; Fig. 31).
Regarding claim 7, Roh teaches a semiconductor device (e.g., Fig. 31 that is the structure of Fig. 10 (Fig, 2) having the device 102 mounted thereon, and the description thereof, col. 15, lines 7-39; also see Figs. 1-2 and the description thereof, col. 1, lines 24-31; also see Figs. 3-10 that is the manufacturing method steps for Fig. 2, and the description thereof), comprising:
a leadframe (e.g., Figs. 1-2 and the description thereof, col. 1, lines 24-31; also see Fig. 31 that is the structure of Fig. 10 (Fig, 2) having the device 102 mounted thereon, and the description thereof; also see Figs. 3-10 that is the manufacturing method steps for Fig. 2, and the description thereof), including:
a laminar substrate (e.g., 202, Fig. 2, col. 6, lines 44-49) of laser direct structuring material, the laminar substrate having first and second opposed surfaces (e.g., first surface of 202 on which 208 are disposed; second surface of 202 on which 206 are disposed; Fig. 2);
a first pattern of electrically-conductive structures (e.g., 208, Fig. 2; Fig. 6) at the first surface of the substrate, the first pattern of electrically-conductive structures formed by laser beam processing (e.g., Fig. 6, col. 6, lines 50-67);
a second pattern of electrically-conductive structures (e.g., 206, Fig. 2; Fig. 4) at the second surface of the substrate; and
electrically-conductive vias (e.g., 210, Fig. 2) extending through the substrate between the first surface of the substrate and the second surface of the substrate, the electrically-conductive vias coupled to at least one of the electrically-conductive structures in the first pattern of electrically- conductive structures and in the second pattern of electrically-conductive structures (e.g., Fig. 2); and
at least one semiconductor chip or die (e.g., 102, Fig. 31) attached to the leadframe, the at least one semiconductor chip or die electrically coupled to the first pattern of electrically-conductive formations at the first surface of the substrate, the second pattern of electrically-conductive formations at the second surface of the substrate and the electrically-conductive vias (e.g., Fig. 31).
Roh does not explicitly teach the second pattern of electrically-conductive structures formed by laser beam processing.
Dunbar teaches a pattern of electrically-conductive structures formed by laser beam processing (e.g., Abstract, [26]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Roh to include a pattern of electrically-conductive structures formed by laser beam processing as suggested by Dunbar for the purpose of producing fine conductive patterns on the substate for example (e.g., Dunbar, [82]). In this case, Roh in view of Dunbar thus teaches the second pattern of electrically-conductive structures formed by laser beam processing.
Regarding claim 8, Roh in view of Dunbar teaches the semiconductor device of claim 7, comprising an electrically-conductive material (e.g., Roh, 3102, Fig. 31) on the first pattern of electrically-conductive structures, the second pattern of electrically-conductive structures, and the electrically-conductive vias.
Regarding claim 9, Roh in view of Dunbar teaches the semiconductor device of claim 8 as discussed above.
Roh recognizes that the first pattern of electrically-conductive structures, the second pattern of electrically-conductive structures, and the electrically-conductive vias include copper (col. 5, lines 34-42).
Dunbar further teaches wherein the electrically-conductive material includes copper (e.g., [85], [81]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the device of Roh in view of Dunbar to include wherein the electrically-conductive material (on the first pattern of electrically-conductive structures, the second pattern of electrically-conductive structures, and the electrically-conductive via) includes copper as suggested by Dunbar for the purpose of enhancing the contact strength between the conductive material and structures thereunder, thereby improving the device performance for example.
Regarding claim 10, Roh in view of Dunbar teaches the semiconductor device of claim 7, comprising contact formations (e.g., Roh, 3102, Fig. 31) over at least one of the first pattern of electrically-conductive formations or the second pattern of electrically-conductive formations.
Dunbar further teaches plated contact formations (e.g., [85], [81]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the device of Roh in view of Dunbar to include plated contact formations as suggested by Dunbar because it has been well known in the art that contact formations/pads are formed by electroplating, vapor deposition, thermal/cold spray and the like, and selecting electroplating for its conventional use would have been a common sense choice by one skilled in the semiconductor art. MPEP §2143.
Regarding claim 11, Roh in view of Dunbar teaches the semiconductor device of claim 7 wherein at least one of the first or second patterns of electrically-conductive formations includes an array of electrically-conductive formations between a die-mounting area of the substrate and the periphery of the substrate (e.g., Roh, array of 206. Fi. 2; Fig. 31).
Regarding claim 13, Roh teaches a device (e.g., Figs. 1-2 and the description thereof, col. 1, lines 24-31; also see Fig. 31 that is the structure of Fig. 10 (Fig, 2) having the device 102 mounted thereon, and the description thereof, col. 15, lines 7-39; also see Figs. 3-10 that is the manufacturing method steps for Fig. 2, and the description thereof), comprising:
a substrate (e.g., 202, Fig. 2, col. 6, lines 44-49);
a first pattern of laser direct structuring electrically-conductive structures (e.g., 208, Fig. 2; Fig. 6, col. 6, lines 50-67) on a first side of the substrate (e.g., first side of 202 on which 208 are disposed, Fig. 2);
a second pattern of electrically-conductive structures (e.g., 206, Fig. 2; Fig. 4) on a second side of the substrate (e.g., second side of 202 on which 206 are disposed; Fig. 2);
a plurality of vias coupled (e.g., 210, Fig. 2) between the first and second patterns of electrically-conductive structures.
Roh does not explicitly teach a second pattern of laser direct structuring electrically-conductive structures.
Dunbar teaches a pattern of laser direct electrically-conductive structures (e.g., Abstract, [26]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Roh to include a pattern of laser direct electrically-conductive structures as suggested by Dunbar for the purpose of producing fine conductive patterns on the substate for example (e.g., Dunbar, [82]). In this case, Roh in view of Dunbar thus teaches a second pattern of laser direct structuring electrically-conductive structures.
Regarding claim 14, Roh in view of Dunbar teaches the device of claim 13 wherein the substrate is a laminate core (e.g., Roh, the substrate 202 is a core that has been laminated on the carrier 300, Figs. 5-8).
Regarding claim 15, Roh in view of Dunbar teaches the device of claim 13 wherein the substrate is a laser direct structuring material (e.g., Roh, col. 6, lines 44-49).
Regarding claim 16, Roh in view of Dunbar teaches the device of claim 13 wherein the first pattern (e.g., Roh, 208, Fig. 2; Fig. 6) is a first plurality of contact pads around a die pad area (e.g., portion under the device 102, Fig. 2, Fig. 31).
Regarding claim 17, Roh in view of Dunbar teaches the device of claim 16 wherein the second pattern (e.g., 206, Fig. 2; Fig. 6) is a second plurality of contact pads that corresponds and is aligned with the first plurality of contact pads (e.g., Fig. 2, Fig. 6).
Claims 6 and 12 are rejected are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Roh in view of Dunbar as applied to claim 5 above, and further in view of Iwase US 4,797,530.
Regarding claim 6, Roh in view of Dunbar teaches the leadframe of claim 5 as discussed above.
Roh in view of Dunbar does not explicitly teach wherein the array of electrically-conductive formations includes electrically-conductive formations having an increasing width away from the die- mounting area and towards the periphery of the substrate.
Iwase teaches wherein the array of electrically-conductive formations includes electrically-conductive formations having an increasing width away from the die-mounting area and towards the periphery of the substrate (e.g., 43, Fig. 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the leadframe of Roh in view of Dunbar to include wherein the array of electrically-conductive formations includes electrically-conductive formations having an increasing width away from the die-mounting area and towards the periphery of the substrate as suggested by Iwase because it has been well known in the art that contact formations/pads may be formed in a configuration having an increasing width away from the die-mounting area and towards the periphery of the substrate as suggested by Iwase, and selecting this configuration for its conventional use would have been a common sense choice by one skilled in the semiconductor art. MPEP §2143.
Regarding claim 12, Roh in view of Dunbar teaches the device of claim 11 as discussed above.
Roh in view of Dunbar does not explicitly teach wherein the array of electrically- conductive formations includes electrically-conductive formations having an increasing width away from the die-mounting area and towards the periphery of the substrate.
Iwase teaches wherein the array of electrically-conductive formations includes electrically-conductive formations having an increasing width away from the die-mounting area and towards the periphery of the substrate (e.g., 43, Fig. 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the device of Roh in view of Dunbar to include wherein the array of electrically-conductive formations includes electrically-conductive formations having an increasing width away from the die-mounting area and towards the periphery of the substrate as suggested by Iwase because it has been well known in the art that contact formations/pads may be formed in a configuration having an increasing width away from the die- mounting area and towards the periphery of the substrate as suggested by Iwase, and selecting this configuration for its conventional use would have been a common sense choice by one skilled in the semiconductor art. MPEP §2143.
Conclusion
/BO B JANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2818 December 24, 2025