DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 3, 4, 8, and 12-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 02/16/2025.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 7-9, filed 12/07/2025, with respect to the rejection(s) of claims 1-2, 5-7 and 9-11 under 102 and 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Duqi et al. (US 20190210868 A1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 6, and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tseng et al. (US 20190062153 A1).
Claims 1, 2, 5, 6, and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tseng et al. (US 20190062153 A1) in view of Duqi et al. (US 20190210868 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Tseng discloses a micro-electro-mechanical system (MEMS) device, comprising:
a first substrate (106); ([0017], Fig.1A/2A)
an interconnect layer (108) disposed on the first substrate (106), wherein
the interconnect layer (104 and 118) comprises a plurality of conductive layers (110) and a plurality of dielectric layers (112), and the plurality of conductive layers (110) and the plurality of dielectric layers are (112) stacked alternately ([0017], Fig. 1A/2A)
a MEMS device layer (124) bonded on the interconnect layer (108), wherein the MEMS device layer (124) comprises a proof mass (122); ([0018], Fig. 1A/2A)
a stopper (annotated below) disposed directly under the proof mass (122) and spaced apart from the proof mass (122), wherein the stopper(annotated below) is formed as an integrated body and surrounded by a portion of the interconnect layer (annotated below), and the stopper (annotated below) comprises:
a bottom portion (128/202) constructed of one of the plurality of conductive layers (per [0020]); and
a second substrate (126) including a cavity (120) and bonded on the MEMS device layer (124). (Fig.1A/2A)
Tseng does not disclose:
a silicon-based layer disposed on and electrically coupled to the bottom portion;
However, Duqi discloses:
a silicon-based layer (312) disposed on and electrically coupled to the bottom portion (311); ([0120], Fig. 16D)
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date to combine the teachings of Tseng and Duqi to have a silicon-based layer disposed on and electrically coupled to the bottom portion in order to “allow the sensitive portion 212, 512 of the MEMS device 260, 560 to be protected against mechanical shocks, thus increasing the robustness of the device itself.” (Duqi, [0130])
Regarding claim 2, Tseng discloses the MEMS device of claim 1, wherein
the interconnect layer (108) comprises a concave portion (118) surrounded by the portion of the interconnect layer (annotated above), and the stopper (annotated above) is disposed in the concave portion (118).(Fig. 2A)
Regarding claims 5, Duqi discloses the MEMS device of claim 1, wherein
the silicon-based layer comprises polysilicon (per [0120]), amorphous silicon or single crystal silicon. (Fig. 16D)
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date for the silicon-based layer comprises polysilicon for similar reasons stated above.
Regarding claim 6, Tseng discloses the MEMS device of claim 1, wherein
the MEMS device layer (124) further comprises a protruding portion (annotated below) towards the interconnect layer (108) and a conductive layer (annotated below) on the protruding portion (annotated below), and the MEMS device layer (124) is bonded with a top conductive layer (topmost 110) of the interconnect layer (108) through the conductive layer (topmost 110) and the protruding portion (annotated below). (Fig.1A/2A)
Regarding claim 9, Tseng discloses the MEMS device of claim 1, wherein
the bottom portion of the stopper (128/202) is constructed of a portion of a top conductive layer (topmost 110) of the interconnect layer (108). (Fig. 1A/2A)
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tseng et al. (US 20190062153 A1) in view of Duqi et al. (US 20190210868 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Wang et al. (US 20210087055 A1)
Regarding claim 7, Tseng in view of Duqi disclose the MEMS device of claim 1. Tseng in view of Duqi do not disclose wherein
the MEMS device layer further comprises a suspension beam adjacent to the proof mass, and the suspension beam and the proof mass are disposed corresponding to the cavity of the second substrate.
However, Wang discloses:
the MEMS device layer (124) further comprises a suspension beam (inside 138, annotated below) adjacent to the proof mass (inside 138, annotated below), and the suspension beam (inside 138, annotated below), and the proof mass (inside 138, annotated below), are disposed corresponding to the cavity (140) of the second substrate (128). (Fig.1)
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date to combine the teachings of Tseng, Duqi and Wang for the MEMS device layer further comprises a suspension beam adjacent to the proof mass, and the suspension beam and the proof mass are disposed corresponding to the cavity of the second substrate in order “to prevent the one or more first and/or second moveable elements 134, 138 from becoming stuck to the passivation structure 118” (Wang, [0018]).
Claims 10 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tseng et al. (US 20190062153 A1) in view of Duqi et al. (US 20190210868 A1) as applied to claim 9 above, and further in view of Cheng (US 20170203962 A1) and Wang et al. (US 20210087055 A1).
Regarding claim 10, Tseng discloses the MEMS device of claim 9. Tseng does not disclose wherein
the interconnect layer further comprises a top dielectric layer disposed on the top conductive layer and a passivation layer disposed on the top dielectric layer, and the stopper further comprises a portion of the top dielectric layer and a portion of the passivation layer stacked in sequence on the bottom portion, and a through hole in the portion of the top dielectric layer and the portion of the passivation layer, wherein the silicon-based layer is conformally disposed on the portion of the passivation layer and in the through hole.
However, Cheng discloses:
the interconnect layer (102) further comprises a top dielectric layer (114) disposed on the top conductive layer (138) and a passivation layer (140) disposed on the top dielectric layer (114), and the stopper (110) further comprises a portion of the top dielectric layer (114) and a portion of the passivation layer (140) stacked in sequence on the bottom portion (138), and a through hole (annotated below) in the portion of the top dielectric layer (114) and the portion of the passivation layer (140), ([0019]-[0020], Fig. 2)
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date to combine the teachings of Tseng and Cheng for the interconnect layer further comprises a top dielectric layer disposed on the top conductive layer and a passivation layer disposed on the top dielectric layer, and the stopper further comprises a portion of the top dielectric layer and a portion of the passivation layer stacked in sequence on the bottom portion, and a through hole in the portion of the top dielectric layer and the portion of the passivation layer in order to protect underlying layers from damage during formation of the MEMS package. (Cheng, [0019])
Tseng in view of Cheng do not disclose:
wherein the silicon-based layer is conformally disposed on the portion of the passivation layer and in the through hole.
However, Wang discloses:
the silicon-based layer (122) is conformally disposed on the portion of the passivation layer (118) and in the through hole (annotated below). (Fig. 1)
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date to combine the teachings of Tseng, Cheng and Wang for the silicon-based layer is conformally disposed on the portion of the passivation layer and in the through hole in order “to prevent the one or more first and/or second moveable elements 134, 138 from becoming stuck to the passivation structure 118” (Wang, [0018]).
Regarding claim 11, Wang discloses the MEMS device of claim 10, wherein
the stopper (132) further comprises a barrier layer (132a) conformally disposed between the silicon-based layer (122) and the portion of the passivation layer (118), and between the silicon-based layer (122) and the bottom portion (116a), and the barrier layer (132a) comprises Ti (Wang, per [0020], “116a may be or comprise a reactive material (e.g., titanium)” and per [0030], “ 132a may, for example, be or comprise titanium,” and hence the examiner has met the limitation), TiN or a combination thereof.
Conclusion
/ASHLEY NICOLE BLACKWELL/Examiner, Art Unit 2897
/JACOB Y CHOI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2897