Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 15, 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by Bosch; William Frederick (US 6890861 B1) in view of Srikantaiah; Deepak Doddabelavangala et al. (US 10811232 B2). Bosch teaches a shower head (lower 52-”lower baffle”; Figure 7; column 12; lines 1-11- “the lower baffle is directly behind the showerhead”; SiC-“baffle plate”; column 9; lines 41-56)1 for plasma processing, comprising: a body part (lower 52-”lower baffle”; Figure 7; column 12; lines 1-11- “the lower baffle is directly behind the showerhead”; SiC-“baffle plate”; column 9; lines 41-56) comprised of silicon carbide (column 5; line 54-column 6; line 18; column 9; lines 41-56), the body part (lower 52-”lower baffle”; Figure 7; column 12; lines 1-11- “the lower baffle is directly behind the showerhead”; SiC-“baffle plate”; column 9; lines 41-56) including: a first surface (“surface exposed”, bottom of “lower baffle” ; column 3; lines 1-9; column 12; lines 1-11-Applicant’s BD1; Figure 6) configured to face an internal space of a plasma processing chamber (column 3; lines 1-9; 2; Figure 6); a second surface (top of “lower baffle”; column 12; lines 1-11-Applicant’s BD2; Figure 6) opposite to the first surface (“surface exposed”, bottom of “lower baffle” ; column 3; lines 1-9; column 12; lines 1-11-Applicant’s BD1; Figure 6), the second surface (top of “lower baffle”; column 12; lines 1-11-Applicant’s BD2; Figure 6) being disposed in a gap (between “lower baffle” and baffle above “lower baffle”; column 12; lines 1-11-Applicant’s GP; Figure 6) defined by the body part (lower 52-”lower baffle”; Figure 7; column 12; lines 1-11- “the lower baffle is directly behind the showerhead”; SiC-“baffle plate”; column 9; lines 41-56) and a support body (42; Figure 7-Applicant’s 36; Figure 3) of an upper electrode (40 “showerhead electrode”; Figure 7; column 10; line 58-column 11; line 15 - Applicant’s 30; Figure 3), a natural oxide film (“surface oxide layer” of SiC; column 5; line 54 - column 6; line 2) disposed on the second surface (top of “lower baffle”; column 12; lines 1-11-Applicant’s BD2; Figure 6), the natural oxide film (“surface oxide layer” of SiC; column 5; line 54 - column 6; line 2) being made of a first corrosion-resistant material (“surface oxide layer” of SiC; column 5; line 54 - column 6; line 2), the natural oxide film (“surface oxide layer” of SiC; column 5; line 54 - column 6; line 2) is formed from the silicon carbide (column 5; line 54-column 6; line 18; column 9; lines 41-56) of the body part (lower 52-”lower baffle”; Figure 7; column 12; lines 1-11- “the lower baffle is directly behind the showerhead”; SiC-“baffle plate”; column 9; lines 41-56), ****and the first corrosion-resistant material (“surface oxide layer” of SiC; column 5; line 54 - column 6; line 2) has a higher corrosion resistance to gas including at least one selected from a group consisting of F2, XeF2, WF6, MoF6, IF7, HF, and ClF3 than the first surface (“surface exposed”, bottom of “lower baffle” ; column 3; lines 1-9; column 12; lines 1-11-Applicant’s BD1; Figure 6) of the body part (lower 52-”lower baffle”; Figure 7; column 12; lines 1-11- “the lower baffle is directly behind the showerhead”; SiC-“baffle plate”; column 9; lines 41-56) - claim 1. The Examiner believes Bosch’s silicon carbide part “heat treatment” treats all surfaces of Bosch’s non-oxide ceramic part as discussed by Bosch in column 5; lines 54-65. With respect to the implied chemistry for the listed gases and corrosion resistance, because Bosch’s materials are the same as the claimed materials, then properties, such as corrosion resistance, are presumed to be identical. When the structure recited in the reference is substantially identical to that of the claims, claimed properties or functions are presumed to be inherent. The Examiner notes MPEP 2112 which states the express, implicit, and inherent disclosures of a prior art reference may be relied upon in the rejection of claims under 35 U.S.C. 102 or 103. "The inherent teaching of a prior art reference, a question of fact, arises both in the context of anticipation and obviousness." In re Napier, 55 F.3d 610, 613, 34 USPQ2d 1782, 1784 (Fed. Cir. 1995) (affirmed a 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection based in part on inherent disclosure in one of the references). See also In re Grasselli, 713 F.2d 731, 739, 218 USPQ 769, 775 (Fed. Cir. 1983).
Bosch further teaches:
The shower head (lower 52-”lower baffle”; Figure 7; column 12; lines 1-11- “the lower baffle is directly behind the showerhead”; SiC-“baffle plate”; column 9; lines 41-56) according to claim 1, wherein the first corrosion-resistant material (“surface oxide layer” of SiC; column 5; line 54 - column 6; line 2) has a higher corrosion resistance to hydrogen fluoride gas than the body part (lower 52-”lower baffle”; Figure 7; column 12; lines 1-11- “the lower baffle is directly behind the showerhead”; SiC-“baffle plate”; column 9; lines 41-56), as claimed by claim 3. See the above rationale under §112 and §102
The shower head (lower 52-”lower baffle”; Figure 7; column 12; lines 1-11- “the lower baffle is directly behind the showerhead”; SiC-“baffle plate”; column 9; lines 41-56) according to claim 1, wherein the body part (lower 52-”lower baffle”; Figure 7; column 12; lines 1-11- “the lower baffle is directly behind the showerhead”; SiC-“baffle plate”; column 9; lines 41-56) has a substantially disk shape, the first surface (“surface exposed”, bottom of “lower baffle” ; column 3; lines 1-9; column 12; lines 1-11-Applicant’s BD1; Figure 6) constitutes one surface of the disk, and the second surface (top of “lower baffle”; column 12; lines 1-11-Applicant’s BD2; Figure 6) constitutes the other surface of the disk, as claimed by claim 15. Refer to GDP/showerhead of Figure 7
A gas supply for plasma processing, comprising: an annular body part (lower 52-”lower baffle”; Figure 7; column 12; lines 1-11- “the lower baffle is directly behind the showerhead”; SiC-“baffle plate”; column 9; lines 41-56) comprised of silicon carbide (column 5; line 54-column 6; line 18; column 9; lines 41-56), the body part (lower 52-”lower baffle”; Figure 7; column 12; lines 1-11- “the lower baffle is directly behind the showerhead”; SiC-“baffle plate”; column 9; lines 41-56) including: a first surface (“surface exposed”, bottom of “lower baffle” ; column 3; lines 1-9; column 12; lines 1-11-Applicant’s BD1; Figure 6) configured to face an internal space of a plasma processing chamber (column 3; lines 1-9; 2; Figure 6);a second surface (top of “lower baffle”; column 12; lines 1-11-Applicant’s BD2; Figure 6) opposite to the first surface (“surface exposed”, bottom of “lower baffle” ; column 3; lines 1-9; column 12; lines 1-11-Applicant’s BD1; Figure 6) , the second surface (top of “lower baffle”; column 12; lines 1-11-Applicant’s BD2; Figure 6) being disposed in a gap (between “lower baffle” and baffle above “lower baffle”; column 12; lines 1-11-Applicant’s GP; Figure 6) defined by the body part (lower 52-”lower baffle”; Figure 7; column 12; lines 1-11- “the lower baffle is directly behind the showerhead”; SiC-“baffle plate”; column 9; lines 41-56) and a support body (42; Figure 7-Applicant’s 36; Figure 3) of an upper electrode (40 “showerhead electrode”; Figure 7; column 10; line 58-column 11; line 15 - Applicant’s 30; Figure 3); a natural oxide film (“surface oxide layer” of SiC; column 5; line 54 - column 6; line 2) disposed on the second surface (top of “lower baffle”; column 12; lines 1-11-Applicant’s BD2; Figure 6), the natural oxide film (“surface oxide layer” of SiC; column 5; line 54 - column 6; line 2) being made of a first corrosion-resistant material (“surface oxide layer” of SiC; column 5; line 54 - column 6; line 2), wherein the natural oxide film (“surface oxide layer” of SiC; column 5; line 54 - column 6; line 2) is formed from the silicon carbide (column 5; line 54-column 6; line 18; column 9; lines 41-56) of the body part (lower 52-”lower baffle”; Figure 7; column 12; lines 1-11- “the lower baffle is directly behind the showerhead”; SiC-“baffle plate”; column 9; lines 41-56), and the first corrosion-resistant material (“surface oxide layer” of SiC; column 5; line 54 - column 6; line 2) has a higher corrosion resistance to gas including at least one selected from a group consisting of F2, XeF2, WF6, MoF6, IF7, HF, and ClF3 than the first surface (“surface exposed”, bottom of “lower baffle” ; column 3; lines 1-9; column 12; lines 1-11-Applicant’s BD1; Figure 6) of the body part (lower 52-”lower baffle”; Figure 7; column 12; lines 1-11- “the lower baffle is directly behind the showerhead”; SiC-“baffle plate”; column 9; lines 41-56) - claim 19. The Examiner believes Bosch’s silicon carbide part “heat treatment” treats all surfaces of Bosch’s non-oxide ceramic part as discussed by Bosch in column 5; lines 54-65. With respect to the implied chemistry for the listed gases and corrosion resistance, because Bosch’s materials are the same as the claimed materials, then properties, such as corrosion resistance, are presumed to be identical. When the structure recited in the reference is substantially identical to that of the claims, claimed properties or functions are presumed to be inherent. The Examiner notes MPEP 2112 which states the express, implicit, and inherent disclosures of a prior art reference may be relied upon in the rejection of claims under 35 U.S.C. 102 or 103. "The inherent teaching of a prior art reference, a question of fact, arises both in the context of anticipation and obviousness." In re Napier, 55 F.3d 610, 613, 34 USPQ2d 1782, 1784 (Fed. Cir. 1995) (affirmed a 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection based in part on inherent disclosure in one of the references). See also In re Grasselli, 713 F.2d 731, 739, 218 USPQ 769, 775 (Fed. Cir. 1983).
Bosch does not described Bosch’s baffles (52; Figure 7) as having holes. As a result, Bosch does not teach:
a plurality of inner side surfaces (Applicant’s BD3; Figure 6); and, a natural oxide film (“surface oxide layer” of SiC; column 5; line 54 - column 6; line 2) disposed on the plurality of inner side surfaces (Applicant’s BD3; Figure 6), wherein the plurality of inner side surfaces (Applicant’s BD3; Figure 6) are configured to define a plurality of gas holes penetrating through the body part (lower 52-”lower baffle”; Figure 7; column 12; lines 1-11- “the lower baffle is directly behind the showerhead”; SiC-“baffle plate”; column 9; lines 41-56) from the first surface (“surface exposed”, bottom of “lower baffle” ; column 3; lines 1-9; column 12; lines 1-11-Applicant’s BD1; Figure 6) to the second surface (top of “lower baffle”; column 12; lines 1-11-Applicant’s BD2; Figure 6) – claim 1
a plurality of inner side surfaces (Applicant’s BD3; Figure 6); and a natural oxide film (“surface oxide layer” of SiC; column 5; line 54 - column 6; line 2) disposed on the plurality of inner side surfaces (Applicant’s BD3; Figure 6),wherein the plurality of inner side surfaces (Applicant’s BD3; Figure 6) are configured to define a plurality of gas holes penetrating through the body part (lower 52-”lower baffle”; Figure 7; column 12; lines 1-11- “the lower baffle is directly behind the showerhead”; SiC-“baffle plate”; column 9; lines 41-56) from the first surface (“surface exposed”, bottom of “lower baffle” ; column 3; lines 1-9; column 12; lines 1-11-Applicant’s BD1; Figure 6) to the second surface (top of “lower baffle”; column 12; lines 1-11-Applicant’s BD2; Figure 6); and a gas supply path (Figure 7) disposed inside of the body part (lower 52-”lower baffle”; Figure 7; column 12; lines 1-11- “the lower baffle is directly behind the showerhead”; SiC-“baffle plate”; column 9; lines 41-56) and communicating with the plurality of gas holes - claim 19
Srikantaiah also teaches an showerhead (110,160; Figure 1-4) including a plurality of inner side surfaces (310,330,250; Figure 2-4-Applicant’s BD3; Figure 6); and a natural oxide film (column 4; lines 1-8) disposed on the plurality of inner side surfaces (310,330,250; Figure 3-Applicant’s BD3; Figure 6),wherein the plurality of inner side surfaces (310,330,250; Figure 3-Applicant’s BD3; Figure 6) are configured to define a plurality of gas holes (310,330,250; Figure 3) penetrating through the body part (110,160; Figure 1-4) from the first surface (top of 110; Figure 2-4-Applicant’s BD1; Figure 6) to the second surface (bottom of 160; Figure 2-4-Applicant’s BD2; Figure 6); and a gas supply path (330; Figure 1-4) disposed inside of the body part (110,160; Figure 1-4) and communicating with the plurality of gas holes (310,330,250; Figure 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for Bosch to have coated holes in Bosch’s baffles (52; Figure 7) as taught Srikantaiah.
Motivation for Bosch to have coated holes in Bosch’s baffles (52; Figure 7) as taught Srikantaiah is for protecting plasma exposed surfaces as taught by both Bosch () and Srikantaiah (column 3; line 63-column 4; line 14).
Claims 6, 21, 24, and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bosch; William Frederick (US 6890861 B1) and Srikantaiah; Deepak Doddabelavangala et al. (US 10811232 B2) in view of Qian; Jun et al. (US 20160090650 A1). Bosch and Srikantaiah are discussed above. Bosch further teaches a substrate processing apparatus (Figure 6), comprising: a chamber (2; Figure 6) for plasma processing; a substrate support (8) disposed in the chamber (2; Figure 6); the gas supply (Figure 9) installed along an inner wall of the chamber (column 3; lines 1-9; 2; Figure 6) - claim 21
Bosch and Srikantaiah do not teach:
The shower head (lower 52-”lower baffle”; Figure 7; column 12; lines 1-11- “the lower baffle is directly behind the showerhead”; SiC-“baffle plate”; column 9; lines 41-56) according to claim 1, wherein the first surface (“surface exposed”, bottom of “lower baffle” ; column 3; lines 1-9; column 12; lines 1-11-Applicant’s BD1; Figure 6) does not have the natural oxide film (“surface oxide layer” of SiC; column 5; line 54 - column 6; line 2), as claimed by claim 6
a power supply; and a controller having a processor and a memory with a computer readable program stored therein - claim 21
The shower head (“parts” throughout; “GDP”, “showerhead”, “electrode”, “baffle plate”; throughout; column 9; lines 41-56) according to claim 1, wherein the natural oxide film (“surface oxide layer” of SiC; column 5; line 54 - column 6; line 2) is not formed on the first surface (“surface exposed”, bottom of “lower baffle” ; column 3; lines 1-9; column 12; lines 1-11-Applicant’s BD1; Figure 6), as claimed by claim 24
The gas supply according to claim 19, wherein the natural oxide film (“surface oxide layer” of SiC; column 5; line 54 - column 6; line 2) is not formed on the first surface (“surface exposed”, bottom of “lower baffle” ; column 3; lines 1-9; column 12; lines 1-11-Applicant’s BD1; Figure 6), as claimed by claim 25
Qian also teaches a plasma processing apparatus (Figure 9-11) including a chamber (902; Figure 9; 1000; Figure 10; 1118; Figure 11) for plasma processing; a substrate support (908; Figure 9) disposed in the chamber (902; Figure 9; 1000; Figure 10; 1118; Figure 11); a gas supply (906; Figure 9; 1002; Figure 10) installed along an inner wall of the chamber (902; Figure 9; 1000; Figure 10; 1118; Figure 11); a power supply (914; Figure9); and a controller (1150; Figure 11; [0079]) having a processor (1152; Figure 11; [0079]) and a memory (1156; Figure 11; [0079]) with a computer readable program (1158; Figure 11; [0080]) stored therein. Qian also teaches selective coatings of chamber components ([0075]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made for Bosch to add Qian’s controller (1150; Figure 11; [0079]), power supply (914; Figure 9) with optimized chamber protection.
Motivation for Bosch to add Qian’s controller (1150; Figure 11; [0079]), power supply (914; Figure 9) is for process control in plasma reactors as taught by Qian ([0080]). Motivation for Bosch to optimize chamber protection is for improving particle performance of parts as taught by Bosch (column 4; line 63-column 5; line 5).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed October 17, 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant states:
“
Independent claim(s) 1 and 19 to recite "the second surface being disposed in a gap defined by the body part and a support body of an upper electrode," which is supported by FIG. 6 and the corresponding description. The cited references fail to disclose this feature, including Bosch which fails to provide any details of its "gas distribution plate" aside from being "prepared by C02 blasting" (Bosch column 6, lines 34-38).
That is, Bosch fails to teach or suggest "a second surface opposite to the first surface, the second surface being disposed in a gap defined by the body part and a support body of an upper electrode and the first corrosion-resistant material has a higher corrosion resistance to gas including at least one selected from a group consisting of F2, XeF2, WF6, MoF6, IF7, HF, and ClF3 than the first surface of the body part," of independent claims 1 and 9.
“
In response, the Examiner’s new grounds of rejection provide additional citations in Bosch to support the majority of Applicant’s claimed invention which is now made under §103 in view of Srikantaiah; Deepak Doddabelavangala et al. (US 10811232 B2). Attention is drawn to the Examiner’s examination of Bosch with respect to Bosch’s “baffle plates 42” (column 11; lines 16-21) however plural “42” are not shown in Figure 7. The Examiner believes plural elements “52” are the intended “baffle plates” as they are the only elements shown in multiplicity. Srikantaiah teaches an common art showerhead (110,160; Figure 1-4) that supports the Examiner’s rejection under §103.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The following references represent a state of the art in plasma facing corrosion-resistant surfaces –
US 20140116338 A1
US 20150147482 A1
US 20140117120 A1
US 20230038880 A1
US 20160090650 A1
US 20190218663 A1
US 11164726 B2
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Examiner Rudy Zervigon whose telephone number is (571) 272- 1442. The examiner can normally be reached on a Monday through Thursday schedule from 8am through 6pm EST. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Any Inquiry of a general nature or relating to the status of this application or proceeding should be directed to the Chemical and Materials Engineering art unit receptionist at (571) 272-1700. If the examiner cannot be reached please contact the examiner's supervisor, Parviz Hassanzadeh, at (571) 272- 1435.
/Rudy Zervigon/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1716
1 The specification discusses “baffle plates 42” (column 11; lines 16-21) however plural “42” are not shown in Figure 7. The Examiner believes plural elements “52” are the intended “baffle plates” as they are the only elements shown in multiplicity.