Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Applicant's amendment/arguments filed on 5/19/25 as being acknowledged and entered. By this amendment claims 1-20 are pending and claims 11-20 are withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang et al. (US PGPub 2021/0320150) in view of Maegawa et al. (US PGPub 20200287103) and Kimura et al. (US PGPub 2005/0260335).
Claim 1: Yang teaches a display apparatus comprising: a substrate (SUB2); a first display element (PX1 in DA) disposed under a face of the substrate; a first bank (IBK1); a first functional layer (WLC1) overlapping the first display element, confined by at least the first bank, and comprising a first base resin (BS1), first quantum dots (WLS1), and first scatterers (SC1) [0128-0132]; a first color filter (CF1) overlapping the first functional layer; and a dummy unit (WLC1 in NDA) overlapping no display elements of the display apparatus in a direction perpendicular to the face of the substrate and comprising a first wall (IBK2), a dummy-unit base resin (BS1), and dummy-unit scatterers (SC1), wherein the dummy-unit base resin and the dummy-unit scatterers are confined by at least the first wall. It is noted that the DPX1 units are in the non-display area and therefore are not display elements. Yang does not teach wherein no color filter of the display apparatus is disposed between the dummy unit and the substrate or a concentration of the dummy-unit scatterers in the dummy-unit base resin is greater than a concentration of the first scatterers in the first base resin. Maegawa teaches no color filter of the display apparatus is disposed above the dummy unit in line with the color filters in the display region and is replaced with a different resin to secure surface planarity of the image display device as well as shield other circuit sections [0046-0047]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the way the dummy unit overlaps with the color filters to provide product planarity and shielding of other circuit components as taught by Maegawa. Yang and Maegawa do not teach or a concentration of the dummy-unit scatterers in the dummy-unit base resin is greater than a concentration of the first scatterers in the first base resin. Kimura teaches making the dummy regions being larger, therefore containing more functional material and its components to account for uniform coverage during the manufacturing process [0213-0218]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the concentration levels to account for uniform coverage during the manufacturing process [0213-0218] as taught by Kimura.
Claim 2: Yang teaches comprising an internal partition wall (IBK) that divides the dummy unit into sub-dummy units.
Claim 3: Yang teaches [0174] (Fig. 15) a shape and an area of at least one of the sub-dummy units are same as a shape and an area of the first functional layer in a plan view of the display device.
Claim 4: Yang teaches (Fig. 15) the dummy unit has a rectangular shape in a plan view of the display apparatus.
Claim 5: Yang teaches (Fig. 17) first functional layer is disposed between the first display element and the substrate, wherein the dummy unit comprises an opening, and wherein the opening is positioned at an edge of the substrate.
Claim 6: Yang teaches (Fig. 15-17) a second display element (PX2); a third display element (PX3); a second functional layer overlapping the second display element and comprising a second base resin, second quantum dots, and second scatterers; and a third functional layer overlapping the third display element and comprising a third base resin and third scatterers, wherein the concentration of the dummy-unit scatterers in the dummy-unit base resin is greater than at least one of a concentration of the second scatterers in the second base resin and a concentration of the third scatterers in the third base resin. Yang does not teach a concentration of the dummy-unit scatterers in the dummy-unit base resin is greater than a concentration of the first scatterers in the first base resin. Kimura teaches making the dummy regions being larger, therefore containing more functional material and its components to account for uniform coverage during the manufacturing process [0213-0218]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the concentration levels to account for uniform coverage during the manufacturing process [0213-0218] as taught by Kimura.
Claim 7: Kimura teaches dummy unit comprises dummy-unit quantum dots, and wherein a concentration of the dummy-unit quantum dots in the dummy-unit base resin is greater than a concentration of the first quantum dots in the first base resin [0213-0218].
Claim 8: Yang teaches [0070] a second display element, wherein no intervening display elements are positioned between the first display element and the second display element, wherein the second display element emits light of a same color as the first display element.
Claim 9: Yang teaches comprising a first cover layer (BF) disposed between the substrate and the first functional layer and between the substrate and the dummy unit, wherein the first function layer is disposed between the first display element and the substrate.
Claim 10: Yang teaches a second cover layer disposed directly on each of the first functional layer and the dummy unit.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-10 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/SARAH K SALERNO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2814