DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Application
Claims 1-20 remain pending in this application. Acknowledgement is made of the amendment received 09/29/2025. Claims 1, 11, 16, 18, and 20 are amended.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4-8, 11, 12, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al (WO 2020017718 A1, English translation provided in prior office action, hereafter Li) in view of Kim et al (US 20200013766 A1, hereafter Kim-766), Kim et al (US 20200119237 A1, hereafter Kim), and Lum et al (US 20210364861 A1, hereafter Lum).
Regarding claim 1, Li teaches: A display device (Li fig 4) comprising:
a first sub-bank (Li PW1, fig 4, under a broadest reasonable interpretation (BRI), bank meaning “a mound, pile, or ridge raised above the surrounding level”) disposed on a first surface (top of SUB, fig 4) of a substrate (Li SUB, fig 4)(Li fig 4);
a second sub-bank (Li PW2, fig 4, under BRI of bank) disposed on the first surface (Li top of SUB, fig 4) of the substrate (Li SUB, fig 4)(Li fig 4) and spaced apart from the first sub-bank (Li PW1)(Li fig 4);
a first electrode (Li REL1_1) disposed on the first sub-bank (Li PW1)(Li fig 4);
a second electrode (Li REL2) disposed on the second sub-bank (Li PW2)(Li fig 4), the first electrode (Li REL1_1) and the second electrode (Li REL2) being spaced apart from each other (Li fig 4);
a first insulating layer (Li INS1) disposed on the first electrode (Li REL1_1), the second electrode (Li REL2), the first sub-bank (Li PW1), and the second sub-bank (Li PW2)(Li fig 4);
at least one light-emitting element (Li LD1) on the first insulating layer (Li fig 4) and disposed between the first electrode (Li REL1_1) and the second electrode (Li REL2)(Li fig 4);
a first contact electrode (Li CNE1_1) on the first insulating layer (Li fig 4) and connected to the first electrode (Li REL1_1)(Li fig 4), the first contact electrode being in direct contact with the at least one light-emitting element (Li LD1)(Li fig 4);
a second contact electrode (Li CNE2) on the first insulating layer (Li fig 4) and connected to the second electrode (Li REL2)(Li fig 4), the second contact electrode being in direct contact with the at least one light-emitting element (Li LD1)(Li fig 4).
Li does not teach: a second bank disposed on the first surface of the substrate and including an opening,
wherein the light-emitting element is positioned laterally between two portions of the second bank along a horizontal direction perpendicular to a thickness direction of the display device.
Kim-766, in the same field of endeavor of semiconductor device manufacturing, teaches: a second bank (Kim-766 PW, RPW, under BRI of bank) disposed on a first surface (a top surface of INS5, Kim-766 fig 11) of a substrate (Kim-766 SUB) and including an opening (Kim-766, any of SPX1-3),
wherein a light-emitting element (Kim-766 LD) is positioned laterally between two portions of the second bank along a horizontal direction (Kim-766 DR2, fig 6) perpendicular to a thickness direction (Kim-766 DR3, fig 6) of a display device (Kim-766 100)(Kim-766 fig 11).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Li to include the second bank and opening of Kim-766 on a first surface of the substrate of Li, and such that “the light-emitting element is positioned laterally between two portions of the second bank along a horizontal direction perpendicular to a thickness direction of the display device”, in order to act as a dam for a color conversion layer, thereby allowing easy formation by inkjet printing method (Kim-766 ¶0180), and/or in order to prevent adjacent colors from mixing (Kim-766 ¶0181).
Li in view of Kim-766 does not explicitly teach: both the first sub-bank and the second sub-bank being disposed in the opening.
Kim-766 further teaches: a first sub-bank (Kim BNK1) and a second sub-bank (Kim BNK2) being disposed in an opening (Kim-766 SPX1)(Kim-766 fig 7).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Li in view of Kim-766 to include the first sub-bank and second sub-bank within the opening, in order to improve the efficiency of light emitted from the light emitting element (Kim-766 ¶0156).
Li in view of Kim-766 does not teach: wherein a length of the light-emitting element is larger than a distance between the first and second electrodes.
Kim, in the same field of endeavor of semiconductor device manufacturing, teaches: a first electrode (Kim E1) disposed on a first sub-bank (Kim BR1, under a BRI of bank)(Kim fig 4);
a second electrode (Kim E2) disposed on a second sub-bank (Kim BR1, under a BRI of bank)(Kim fig 4), the first electrode and the second electrode being spaced apart from each other (Kim fig 4);
at least one light-emitting element (Kim ED) on a first insulating layer (Kim L5)(Kim fig 4) and disposed between the first electrode (Kim E1) and the second electrode (Kim E2)(Kim fig 4);
wherein a length of the light-emitting element is larger than a distance between the first and second electrodes (Kim fig 4, Kim ED is at least larger in DR2 than the spacing between RFE1 and RFE2 of the respective first and second electrodes, E1 and E2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the first and/or second electrodes of Li in view of Kim-766, such that the electrodes are disposed below the light-emitting element, and therefore such that “a length of the light-emitting element is larger than a distance between the first and second electrodes”, in order to reflect light emitted by the light-emitting element towards the substrate (Kim ¶0140), thereby reducing light loss and/or improving brightness (Kim ¶0198).
Li in view of Kim-766 and Kim does not teach: a functional layer disposed on a second surface of the substrate opposing the first surface of the substrate; and
a reflective layer disposed between the functional layer and the second surface of the substrate, the reflective layer overlapping the at least one light-emitting element in a plan view.
Lum, in the same field of endeavor of semiconductor device manufacturing, teaches:
a functional layer (Lum 164, ¶0113, providing a heat spreading function) disposed on a second surface (bottom of Lum 84) of a substrate (Lum 84)(Lum fig 19) opposing a first surface (top of Lum 84) of the substrate (Lum 84)(Lum fig 19); and
a reflective layer (Lum 176) disposed between the functional layer (Lum 164) and the second surface (bottom of Lum 84) of the substrate (Lum 84)(Lum fig 19), the reflective layer (Lum 176) overlapping at least one light-emitting element (Lum 38, fig 19) in a plan view.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Li in view of Kim-766 and Kim to include the layers as taught by Lum, such that “a functional layer disposed on a second surface of the substrate opposing the first surface of the substrate; and a reflective layer disposed between the functional layer and the second surface of the substrate, the reflective layer overlapping the at least one light-emitting element in a plan view”, in order to increase the efficiency of a light emitting element by reflecting light toward a viewer (Lum ¶0123, 0124, fig 18) and/or to dissipate or distribute heat generated by light-emitting elements (Lum ¶0113, 0114).
Regarding claim 4, Li in view of Kim-766, Kim, and Lum teaches: The display device of claim 1, wherein the reflective layer (Li in view of Kim-766 and Kim as modified to include Lum 176) includes at least one of a reflective sheet and a reflective film (Lum 176, Lum discloses a reflective layer, which under BRI includes both “reflective sheet” and “reflective film”), the at least one of the reflective sheet and the reflective film including a reflective material (Lum ¶0125).
Regarding claim 5, Li in view of Kim-766, Kim, and Lum teaches: The display device of claim 1, wherein the first electrode and the second electrode do not overlap each other in a plan view (Li fig 5d), and
the second bank (Li as modified to include Kim-766 PW, RPW) overlaps the first insulating layer (Li INS1, similar to Kim-766 INS5 and Kim L5) in the plan view (Kim-766 fig 11).
Regarding claim 6, Li in view of Kim-766, Kim, and Lum teaches: The display device of claim 5, wherein at least part of the at least one light-emitting element (Li LD1) overlaps a region where the first electrode (Li REL1_1 as modified by Kim E1) and the second electrode (Li REL2 as modified by Kim E2) are spaced apart from each other and face each other in the plan view (Li fig 4, 5d).
Regarding claim 7, Li in view of Kim-766, Kim, and Lum teaches: The display device of claim 1, wherein the reflective layer (Li in view of Kim-766 and Kim as modified to include Lum 176) overlaps a region where the first electrode (Li REL1_1, similar to Lum 154) and the second electrode (Li REL2, similar to Lum 154) are spaced apart from each other and face each other (Lum fig 19) in the plan view.
Regarding claim 8, Li in view of Kim-766, Kim, and Lum teaches: The display device of claim 1 further comprising:
an emission area (Li 100, fig 5d, similar to Kim-766, “emission region”, ¶0116); and
a light-blocking area (area inclusive of Kim-766 PW, RPW, RFL, RPW, Kim-766 fig 6, wherein the structure is at least being capable of reflecting incident light, therefore under a BRI, also able to block light from leaking between adjacent sub-pixels SPX, ¶0181) surrounding an emission area (Kim-766 ¶0116), wherein
the second bank (Li as modified to include Kim-766 PW, RPW) forms a light-blocking member (Li as modified to include Kim-766 PW, RPW, under BRI, RPW is at least capable of blocking incident light by reflection, ¶0181) disposed in the light-blocking area and surrounds the emission area in the plan view (Kim-766 fig 6, ¶0119), and
the at least one light-emitting element (Li LD1, similar to Kim-766 LD) is disposed in the emission area (Li 100)(Li fig 5d, similar to Kim-766 LD within SPX, fig 6).
Regarding claim 11, Li teaches: A display device (Li fig 4, 5f) comprising:
an emission area (Li 100);
a first electrode (Li REL1_1) and a second electrode (Li REL2) disposed on a first surface (top of Li SUB, fig 4) of a substrate (Li SUB)(Li fig 4) in the emission area (Li 100)(Li fig 4, 5d), the first electrode and the second electrode extending in a first direction (Li DR2, fig 5d) and being spaced apart from each other in a second direction (Li DR1)(Li fig 5d) transverse (Li DR1 and DR2 are perpendicular to each other, fig 5b) to the first direction;
a first insulating layer (Li INS1) disposed on the first electrode (Li REL1_1) and the second electrode (Li REL2)(Li fig 4);
at least one light-emitting element (Li LD1, fig 5f shows a plurality of elements) disposed on the first insulating layer (Li fig 4) and between the first electrode (Li REL1_1) and the second electrode (Li REL2) in the emission area (Li 100)(Li fig 5d);
respective first ends (left ends of the plurality of LD1 with regard to Li fig 5f, similar to EP2) of the at least one light-emitting element and respective second ends (right ends of the plurality of LD1 with regard to Li fig 5f, similar to EP1);
a first contact electrode (Li CNE1_1) on the first insulating layer (Li fig 4) and connected to the first electrode (Li REL1_1)(Li fig 4), the first contact electrode being in direct contact with the at least one light-emitting element (Li LD1)(Li fig 4);
a second contact electrode (Li CNE2) on the first insulating layer (Li fig 4) and connected to the second electrode (Li REL2)(Li fig 4), the second contact electrode being in direct contact with the at least one light-emitting element (Li LD1)(Li fig 4).
Li does not teach: a light-blocking area surrounding the emission area in a plan view;
a light-blocking member disposed on the first surface of the substrate in the light-blocking area, the light-blocking member surrounding the emission area in the plan view,
wherein the light-emitting element is positioned laterally between two portions of the light-blocking member along a horizontal direction perpendicular to a thickness direction of the display device.
Kim-766, in the same field of endeavor of semiconductor device manufacturing, teaches: an emission area (Kim-766, “emission region”, ¶0116);
a light-blocking area (area inclusive of Kim-766 PW, RPW, RFL, RPW, Kim-766 fig 6, wherein the structure is at least being capable of reflecting incident light, therefore under a BRI, also able to block light from leaking between adjacent sub-pixels SPX, ¶0181) surrounding an emission area (Kim-766 ¶0116) in a plan view (Kim-766 fig 6, ¶0119);
a light-blocking member (Kim-766 PW, RPW, under BRI, RPW is at least capable of blocking incident light by reflection, ¶0181) disposed on a first surface (a top surface of INS5, Kim-766 fig 11) of a substrate (Kim-766 SUB) and including an opening (Kim-766, any of SPX1-3),
wherein a light-emitting element (Kim-766 LD) is positioned laterally between two portions of the second bank along a horizontal direction (Kim-766 DR2, fig 6) perpendicular to a thickness direction (Kim-766 DR3, fig 6) of a display device (Kim-766 100)(Kim-766 fig 11).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Li to include the light-blocking member of Kim-766 outside of and surrounding the emission area of Li, and such that “the light-emitting element is positioned laterally between two portions of the light-blocking member along a horizontal direction perpendicular to a thickness direction of the display device”, in order to act as a dam for a color conversion layer, thereby allowing easy formation by inkjet printing method (Kim-766 ¶0180), and/or in order to prevent adjacent colors from mixing (Kim-766 ¶0181).
Li in view of Kim-766 does not teach: respective first ends of the at least one light-emitting element overlapping the first electrode in the plan view and respective second ends of the at least one light-emitting element overlapping the second electrode in the plan view, the respective first ends opposing the respective second ends in the second direction;
wherein a length of a light-emitting element of the at least one light-emitting element is larger than a distance between the first and second electrodes,
Kim, in the same field of endeavor of semiconductor device manufacturing, teaches: a first electrode (Kim E1) disposed on the first sub-bank (Kim BR1)(Kim fig 4);
a second electrode (Kim E2) disposed on the second sub-bank (Kim BR1)(Kim fig 4), the first electrode and the second electrode being spaced apart from each other (Kim fig 4);
light-emitting elements (Kim ED, ¶0138, 0140) disposed on the first insulating layer (Kim L5)(Kim fig 4) and between the first electrode (Kim E1) and the second electrode (Kim E2)(Kim fig 4) in an emission area (Kim PXA, at least an area where light is emitted from, ¶0140)(Kim fig 2, 4);
respective first ends of the light-emitting elements (left ends of ED with regard to Kim fig 4) overlapping the first electrode (Kim E1) in the plan view and respective second ends of the light-emitting elements (right ends of ED with regard to Kim fig 4) overlapping the second electrode (Kim E2), the respective first ends opposing the respective second ends in a second direction (Kim fig 4);
wherein a length of the light-emitting element is larger than a distance between the first and second electrodes (Kim fig 4, Kim ED is at least larger in DR2 than the spacing between RFE1 and RFE2 of the respective first and second electrodes, E1 and E2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the first and/or second electrodes of Li in view of Kim-766, such that the electrodes are disposed below the light-emitting element, and therefore such that “respective first ends of the light-emitting elements overlapping the first electrode in the plan view and respective second ends of the light-emitting elements overlapping the second electrode in the plan view, the respective first ends opposing the respective second ends in the second direction” and “wherein a length of a light-emitting element of the at least one light-emitting element is larger than a distance between the first and second electrodes”, in order to reflect light emitted by the light-emitting element towards the substrate (Kim ¶0140), thereby reducing light loss and/or improving brightness (Kim ¶0198).
Li in view of Kim-766 and Kim does not teach: a heat dissipation layer disposed on a second surface of the substrate; and
a functional layer disposed between the heat dissipation layer and the substrate, the functional layer overlapping the emission area in the plan view.
Lum, in the same field of endeavor of semiconductor device manufacturing, teaches:
a heat dissipation layer (Lum 164, ¶0113) disposed on a second surface (bottom of Lum 84) of a substrate (Lum 84)(Lum fig 19); and
a functional layer (Lum 176, I) disposed between the heat dissipation layer and the substrate (Lum fig 19), the functional layer overlapping at least one light-emitting element (Lum 38, fig 19).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Li in view of Kim-766 and Kim to include the layers as taught by Lum, such that “a heat dissipation layer disposed on a second surface of the substrate; and a functional layer disposed between the heat dissipation layer and the substrate, the functional layer overlapping the emission area in the plan view”, in order to increase the efficiency of a light emitting element by reflecting light toward a viewer (Lum ¶0123, 0124, fig 18) and/or to dissipate or distribute heat generated by light-emitting elements (Lum ¶0113, 0114).
Regarding claim 12, Li in view of Kim-766, Kim, and Lum teaches: The display device of claim 11, wherein the functional layer (Li in view of Kim-766 and Kim as modified to include Lum 176) includes a reflective layer (Lum 176, “reflective layer”, ¶0123).
Regarding claim 16, Li in view of Kim-766, Kim, and Lum teaches: The display device of claim 11, wherein at least intermediate parts (Li left end of LD1, similar to left end of Kim ED, and Li right end of LD1, similar to right end of Kim ED) of each of the at least one light-emitting element (Li LD1) overlap a region (a region below LD1 between REL1_1 and REL2, Li fig 4, 5f, similar to a region between E1 and E2 of Kim fig 4 below ED) where the first electrode (Li REL1_1 as modified by Kim E1) and the second electrode (Li REL2 as modified by Kim E2) are spaced apart from each other (Kim fig 4, similar to Li fig 4, REL1_1 and REL2 being spaced apart in DR1, Li fig 4, 5f) and face each other in the plan view (at least in DR2, Kim fig 4, similar to Li fig 4, 5f).
Claims 2, 3 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al (WO 2020017718 A1, English translation provided in prior office action, hereafter Li) in view of Kim et al (US 20200013766 A1, hereafter Kim-766), Kim et al (US 20200119237 A1, hereafter Kim), and Lum et al (US 20210364861 A1, hereafter Lum), as applied to claims 1 or 12 above, and further in view of Wang et al (US 20090059404 A1, hereafter Wang).
Regarding claim 2, Li in view of Kim-766, Kim, and Lum teaches: The display device of claim 1, wherein the reflective layer (Li in view of Kim-766 and Kim as modified to include Lum 176) includes at least one optical layer (Lum 176, I).
Li in view of Kim-766, Kim, and Lum does not teach: each of the at least one optical layer includes: a first inorganic film having a first refractive index; and
a second inorganic film disposed on the first inorganic film and having a second refractive index, and
a value of the second refractive index is different from a value of the first refractive index.
Wang, in the same field of endeavor of semiconductor device manufacturing, teaches: at least one optical layer (Wang 30, ¶0080, I) includes: a first inorganic film (Wang 34, ¶0082, “inorganic material”) having a first refractive index (Wang ¶0087, “Si3N4”, ¶0085 “refractive indices … 2.0 for Si3N4”); and
a second inorganic film (Wang 32, ¶0082, “inorganic material”) disposed on the first inorganic film (Wang fig 3) and having a second refractive index (Wang ¶0086, “SiO2”, ¶0085 “refractive indices … 1.5 for SiO2”), and
a value of the second refractive index is different from a value of the first refractive index (SiO2 and Si3N4 refractive indices of 1.5 and 2.0 respectively).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the reflective layer of Li in view of Kim-766, Kim, and Lum to use an inorganic film stack as taught by Wang in order to improve the performance of a light emitting element (Wang ¶0126), and/or to reflect a specific spectrum of light (Wang ¶0065, Li “LD may emit light of any one of color”), and/or to reduce an intensity of another spectrum of light (Wang ¶0068).
Examiner’s Note: Regarding I, given a broadest reasonable interpretation, the examiner interprets “optical layer” as any layer capable of reflecting or refracting light within the visible spectrum of the electromagnetic spectrum.
Regarding claim 3, Li in view of Kim-766, Kim, Lum, and Wang teaches: The display device of claim 2, wherein
the first inorganic film (Wang 34) includes silicon nitride (SiNx)(Wang ¶0087, “Si3N4”), and
the second inorganic film (Wang 32) includes silicon oxide (SiOx)(Wang ¶0086, “SiO2”).
Regarding claim 13, Li in view of Kim-766, Kim, and Lum teaches: The display device of claim 12, wherein the functional layer (Li in view of Kim-766 and Kim as modified to include Lum 176) includes at least one optical layer (Lum 176, I).
Li in view of Kim-766, Kim, and Lum does not teach: each of the at least one optical layer includes: a first inorganic film having a first refractive index; and
a second inorganic film disposed on the first inorganic film and having a second refractive index, and
a value of the second refractive index is different from a value of the first refractive index.
Wang, in the same field of endeavor of semiconductor device manufacturing, teaches: at least one optical layer (Wang 30, ¶0080, I) includes: a first inorganic film (Wang 34, ¶0082, “inorganic material”) having a first refractive index (Wang ¶0087, “Si3N4”, ¶0085 “refractive indices … 2.0 for Si3N4”); and
a second inorganic film (Wang 32, ¶0082, “inorganic material”) disposed on the first inorganic film (Wang fig 3) and having a second refractive index (Wang ¶0086, “SiO2”, ¶0085 “refractive indices … 1.5 for SiO2”), and
a value of the second refractive index is different from a value of the first refractive index (SiO2 and Si3N4 refractive indices of 1.5 and 2.0 respectively).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the functional layer of Li in view of Kim-766, Kim, and Lum to use a Bragg reflector as taught by Wang in order to reflect a specific wavelength of light (Wang ¶0065) and/or to reduce an intensity of another spectrum of light (Wang ¶0068), such as infrared.
Examiner’s Note: Regarding I, given a broadest reasonable interpretation, the examiner interprets “optical layer” as any layer capable of reflecting or refracting light within the visible spectrum of the electromagnetic spectrum.
Claims 9, 10 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al (WO 2020017718 A1, English translation provided in prior office action, hereafter Li) in view of Kim et al (US 20200013766 A1, hereafter Kim-766), Kim et al (US 20200119237 A1, hereafter Kim), and Lum et al (US 20210364861 A1, hereafter Lum), as applied to claims 8 or 12 above, and further in view of Lee et al (US 20130221383 A1, hereafter Lee).
Regarding claim 9, Li in view of Kim-766, Kim, and Lum teaches: The display device of claim 8.
Li in view of Kim-766, Kim, and Lum does not explicitly teach: wherein the reflective layer overlaps the emission area in a plan view, and
a size of the reflective layer is greater than or equal to a size of the emission area.
Lee, in the same field of endeavor of semiconductor device manufacturing, and in at least on embodiment, teaches: a reflective layer (Lee 240) overlaps an emission area (Lee 220, “LED”) in a plan view (Lee ¶0045, “disposed over the entire opposing surface”), and
a size of the reflective layer is greater than or equal to a size of the emission area (Lee fig 2, 3).
Lee, in at least one embodiment, further teaches: a reflective layer (Lee 240) overlaps an entire surface of a substrate (Lee 210)(Lee ¶0045, “disposed over the entire opposing surface”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the reflective layer of Li in view of Kim-766, Kim, and Lum to cover the entire surface of the substrate, as taught by Lee, and such that “the reflective layer overlaps the emission area in a plan view, and a size of the reflective layer is greater than or equal to a size of the emission area”, in order to optimize the reflective effects of the layer (Lee ¶0045).
Regarding claim 10, Li in view of Kim-766, Kim, and Lum teaches: The display device of claim 9, wherein the reflective layer (Li as modified to include Lum 176, and further covering the entire substrate as modified by Lee) overlaps the light-blocking member (Li as modified to include Kim-766 PW) in a plan view.
Regarding claim 14, Li in view of Kim-766, Kim, and Lum teaches: The display device of claim 12.
Li in view of Kim-766, Kim, and Lum does not explicitly teach: wherein at least part of the light-blocking member does not overlap the functional layer in the plan view.
Lee, in the same field of endeavor of semiconductor device manufacturing, and in at least one embodiment, teaches: a reflective layer (Lee 240) that does not cover the entire surface of a substrate (Lee ¶0045).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to adjust the function layer of Li in view of Kim-766, Kim, and Lum to not overlap the light-blocking layer, and such that “at least part of the light-blocking member does not overlap the functional layer in the plan view”, in order to reduce manufacturing costs (Lee ¶0045).
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al (WO 2020017718 A1, English translation provided in prior office action, hereafter Li) in view of Kim et al (US 20200013766 A1, hereafter Kim-766), Kim et al (US 20200119237 A1, hereafter Kim), and Lum et al (US 20210364861 A1, hereafter Lum), and Lee et al (US 20130221383 A1, hereafter Lee), as applied to claim 14 above, and further in view of Oh et al (US 20220375894 A1, hereafter Oh).
Regarding claim 15, Li in view of Kim-766, Kim, Lum, and Lee teaches: The display device of claim 14.
Li in view of Kim-766, Kim, Lum, and Lee does not explicitly teach: an adhesive layer surrounding the functional layer in the plan view, wherein the adhesive layer overlaps the light-blocking member in the plan view.
Oh, in the same field of endeavor of semiconductor device manufacturing, teaches: an adhesive layer (303) surrounding a reflective layer (Oh 302, ¶0063), wherein the adhesive layer overlaps a light-blocking member (Oh 360, “capable of absorbing light” ¶0387)(Oh fig 31).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to include the adhesive layer of Oh over a whole surface of Li in view of Kim-766, Kim, Lum, and Lee, such that “an adhesive layer surrounding the functional layer in the plan view, wherein the adhesive layer overlaps the light-blocking member in the plan view”, in order to bond and/or transfer subsequent layers or structures to the device (Oh ¶0231).
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al (WO 2020017718 A1, English translation provided in prior office action, hereafter Li) in view of Kim et al (US 20200013766 A1, hereafter Kim-766), Kim et al (US 20200119237 A1, hereafter Kim), and Lum et al (US 20210364861 A1, hereafter Lum), as applied to claim 11 above, and further in view of Lee et al (US 20110127549 A1, hereafter Lee-549).
Regarding claim 17, Li in view of Kim-766, Kim, and Lum teaches: The display device of claim 11, wherein the functional layer (Li in view of Kim-766 and Kim as modified to include Lum 176) includes:
a reflective coating layer (Lum 176, under BRI the examiner interprets “coating” to include “layer” and “film”) disposed on the second surface (Li in view of Kim-766 and Kim as modified to include Lum 176 on the bottom of Li SUB, similar to bottom of Lum 176) of the substrate (Li SUB, similar to Lum 176), and
the heat dissipation layer is disposed between the first passivation layer and the second passivation layer.
Li in view of Kim-766, Kim, and Lum does not teach: a first passivation layer; and
a reflective coating layer disposed on a surface of the first passivation layer, the reflective coating layer being disposed closer to the second surface of the substrate than the first passivation layer, and
the surface of the first passivation layer faces the second surface of the substrate.
Lee-549, in the same field of endeavor of semiconductor device manufacturing, teaches: a first passivation layer (Lee-549 53, ¶0035 “protective layer 53”, under BRI, I),
a reflective coating layer (Lee-549 51, under BRI, II) disposed on a surface (top of Lee-549 53, fig 3) of the first passivation layer (Lee-549 53)(Lee-549 fig 3), the reflective coating layer being disposed closer to a second surface (bottom of Lee-549 21, fig 3) of a substrate (Lee-549 21) than the first passivation layer (Lee-549 51 is closer to the bottom of 21 than 53), and
the surface of the first passivation layer (top of Lee-549 53, fig 3) faces the second surface (bottom of Lee-549 21) of the substrate (Lee-549 21)(Lee-549 fig 3, the top of 53 faces the bottom of 21).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to include the first passivation layer of Lee-549, in between the reflective coating layer and the heat dissipation layer, and such that “a reflective coating layer disposed on a surface of the first passivation layer, the reflective coating layer being disposed closer to the second surface of the substrate than the first passivation layer, and the surface of the first passivation layer faces the second surface of the substrate”, to the device of Li in view of Kim-766, Kim, and Lum, as taught by Lee-549, in order to provide protection to the substrate and/or the functional layer and/or other layers (Lee-549 ¶0046).
Li in view of Kim-766, Kim, Lum, and Lee-549 does not explicitly teach: the display device further comprises a second passivation layer, and
the heat dissipation layer is disposed between the first passivation layer and the second passivation layer.
Lee-549 further teaches: A first passivation layer to protect another layer (Lee-549 ¶0046).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to duplicate the first passivation layer of Li in view of Kim-766, Kim, Lum and Lee-549, below the heat dissipation layer, such that “the display device further comprises a second passivation layer, and the heat dissipation layer is disposed between the first passivation layer and the second passivation layer”, in order to provide protection to the heat dissipation layer, and/or further protecting the substrate and/or the functional layer and/or other layers (Lee-549 ¶0046).
Further, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to duplicate the first passivation layer of Lee-549, since mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art (see MPEP 2144.04 VI).
Examiner’s Note: Regarding I, given a broadest reasonable interpretation, the examiner interprets “passivation layer” as a protective or shielding layer.
Examiner’s Note: Regarding II, under BRI the examiner interprets “coating” to include “layer” and “film”.
Claims 18 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al (WO 2020017718 A1, English translation provided in prior office action, hereafter Li) in view of Kim et al (US 20200013766 A1, hereafter Kim-766), Lum et al (US 20210364861 A1, hereafter Lum), Oh et al (US 20220375894 A1, hereafter Oh), and Watanabe et al (US 20200343406 A1, hereafter Watanabe).
Regarding claim 18, Li teaches: A display device (Li fig 4, 5f, 9) comprising:
arrays (plurality of Li PXL, arranged in an array containing SP1/2/3, fig 7) of light-emitting elements (Li LD1, LD2, within SP, fig 5f, 9) disposed on a first surface (top of Li SUB, fig 4) of a substrate (Li SUB)(Li fig 4) in openings (the space between Li PW1 and PW2 in D1, fig 4) corresponding to emission areas (Li 100)(openings between Li PW1 and PW2 in D1 are within 100, fig 5f); and
a second surface (bottom of Li SUB, fig 4) of the substrate opposing the first surface of the substrate (Li fig 4); and
a first passivation layer (Li PSV).
Li does not teach: a bank pattern disposed on a first surface of a substrate, the bank pattern including openings corresponding to emission areas and forming light-blocking areas surrounding the emission areas in a plan view,
wherein a light-emitting element of the arrays of light-emitting elements is positioned laterally between two portions of the bank pattern along a horizontal direction perpendicular to a thickness direction of the display device.
Kim-766, in the same field of endeavor of semiconductor device manufacturing, teaches:
a bank pattern (Kim-766 PW, RPW, under BRI of bank) disposed on a first surface (a top surface of INS5, Kim-766 fig 11) of a substrate (Kim-766 SUB), the bank pattern including openings (Kim-766, any of SPX1-3) corresponding to emission areas (Kim-766, “emission region”, ¶0116) and forming light-blocking areas (area inclusive of PW, RFL, RPW, Kim-766 fig 6, wherein the structure is at least being capable of reflecting incident light, therefore under a BRI, also able to block light from leaking between adjacent sub-pixels SPX, ¶0181) surrounding the emission areas in a plan view (Kim-766 fig 6, ¶0119),
wherein a light-emitting element (Kim-766 LD, LD1-3) of an arrays of light-emitting elements (plurality of Kim-766 PXL, arranged in an array containing SPX1-3, fig 2, 6) is positioned laterally between two portions of the bank pattern along a horizontal direction (Kim-766 DR2, fig 6) perpendicular to a thickness direction (Kim-766 DR3, fig 6) of a display device (Kim-766 100)(Kim-766 fig 11).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Li to include the bank pattern and openings of Kim-766 on a first surface of the substrate and outside of and surrounding the emission area of Li to form light-blocking areas, and such that “a light-emitting element of the arrays of light-emitting elements is positioned laterally between two portions of the bank pattern along a horizontal direction perpendicular to a thickness direction of the display device”, in order to act as a dam for a color conversion layer, thereby allowing easy formation by inkjet printing method (Kim-766 ¶0180), and/or in order to prevent adjacent colors from mixing (Kim-766 ¶0181).
Li in view of Kim-766 does not teach: reflective patterns disposed on a second surface of the substrate opposing the first surface of the substrate.
Lum, in the same field of endeavor of semiconductor device manufacturing, teaches: a reflective layer (Lum 176) disposed on a second surface (bottom of Lum 84) of a substrate (Lum 84)(Lum fig 19) opposing a first surface (top of Lum 84) of the substrate, the reflective layer (Lum 176) overlapping at least one light-emitting element (Lum 38, fig 19) in a plan view.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Li in view of Kim-766 to include the reflective layer as taught by Lum, disposed on the second surface of the substrate, in order to increase the efficiency of a light emitting element by reflecting light toward a viewer (Lum ¶0123, 0124, fig 18).
Li in view of Kim-766 and Lum does not teach: reflective patterns, wherein the reflective patterns are spaced apart from each other in the plan view, and
an adhesive layer is disposed on the second surface of the substrate to surround the reflective patterns.
Oh, in the same field of endeavor of semiconductor device manufacturing, teaches: reflective patterns (Oh 302, ¶0065, 0217) wherein the reflective patterns are spaced apart from each other (Oh fig 31), and
an adhesive layer (Oh 303, ¶0057) is disposed on a second surface (top of Oh 301, fig 31) of a substrate (Oh 301) to surround the reflective patterns (Oh fig 31).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the reflective layer of Li in view of Kim-766 and Lum to include the adhesive layer of Oh, such that “an adhesive layer is disposed on the second surface of the substrate to surround the reflective patterns”, in order to bond and/or transfer subsequent layers or structures to the device (Oh ¶0231).
Li in view of Kim, Lum, and Oh does not explicitly teach: the reflective patterns being disposed between a first passivation layer and a first adhesive member.
Watanabe, in the same field of endeavor of semiconductor device manufacturing, teaches: a first passivation layer (Watanabe 8, ¶0050, at least is comprised of PET, as cited as a suitable material for a passivation layer, spec ¶0244) and a first adhesive member (Watanabe 7).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to include the adhesive layer of Watanabe of Li in view of Kim-766, Lum, and Oh, such that it is below the reflective patterns, and thereby such that “the reflective patterns being disposed between a first passivation layer and a first adhesive member”, in order to increase the luminous efficiency of light-emitting elements (Watanabe ¶0050), and/or in order to bond and/or transfer subsequent layers or structures to the device (Oh ¶0231).
Regarding claim 19, Li in view of Kim-766, Lum, Oh, and Watanabe teaches: The display device of claim 18.
Li in view of Kim-766, Lum, Oh, and Watanabe does not explicitly teach: wherein the openings in the bank pattern respectively overlap corresponding central parts of the reflective patterns in the plan view.
Oh, in at least one embodiment, further teaches: openings (regions between Oh 302, fig 31) in a bank pattern (Oh 302, ¶0063, 0065, 0217 under BRI of bank) respectively overlap corresponding central parts of a reflective pattern (Oh 341)(Oh fig 31, ¶0377, 0378).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the bank patterns of Li in view of Kim-766, Lum, Oh, and Watanabe, such that “the openings in the bank pattern respectively overlap corresponding central parts of the reflective patterns in the plan view”, in order to improve the luminance of the device (Oh ¶0063, 0379), and/or prevent color mixing (Oh ¶0064).
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al (WO 2020017718 A1, English translation provided in prior office action, hereafter Li) in view of Kim et al (US 20200013766 A1, hereafter Kim-766), Lum et al (US 20210364861 A1, hereafter Lum), Oh et al (US 20220375894 A1, hereafter Oh), and Watanabe et al (US 20200343406 A1, hereafter Watanabe), as applied to claim 18, and further in view of Kim et al Kim et al (US 20200119237 A1, hereafter Kim).
Regarding claim 20, Li in view of Kim-766, Lum, Oh, and Watanabe teaches: The display device of claim 18, the bank pattern overlaps corresponding peripheral parts of the reflective patterns (Li as modified by Lum 176 and Oh 302 and Oh 341) outside corresponding central parts of the reflective patterns in the plan view (Oh fig 31, peripheral parts being opposite of the central parts of Oh 341, fig 31), and
the bank pattern overlaps the adhesive layer (Li as modified by Lum 176 and Oh 303) disposed between the adjacent reflective patterns among the reflective patterns (Oh fig 31, Oh 303 disposed between 302) such that the bank pattern includes portions not overlapping any corresponding parts of the reflective patterns in the plan view (Oh fig 31, Oh 302 does not overlap 341).
Li in view of Kim-766, Lum, Oh, and Watanabe does not teach: wherein the bank pattern comprises a light-blocking material.
Kim, in the same field of endeavor of semiconductor device manufacturing, teaches: a bank pattern (Kim BRm1/2, BM, under BRI of bank) comprises a light-blocking material (Kim ¶0059).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the bank patterns of Li in view of Kim-766, Lum, Oh, and Watanabe to include light-blocking material, in order to prevent color mixing between adjacent pixels (Kim ¶0082, 0198).
Li in view of Kim-766, Lum, Oh, Watanabe, and Kim does not explicitly teach: the bank pattern completely overlaps the adhesive layer.
Kim further teaches: adjusting as width of the bank pattern (Kim ¶0080, 0155).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to adjust a width of the bank pattern of Li in view of Kim, Lum, Oh, Watanabe, and Kim, such that “the bank pattern completely overlaps the adhesive layer” in order to optimize the aperture ratio of a pixel (Kim ¶0082), and/or to ensure that light is totally reflected by the bank pattern or reflective patterns (Kim ¶0082).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 11, and 18 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NICHOLAS B. MICHAUD/
EXAMINER
Art Unit 2818
/Mounir S Amer/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2818