DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to Applicant’s Reply filed 2/17/2026.
Claim Status
Claims 1-3 and 5-20 are pending.
Claims 3, 6, 13-14, and 16 are withdrawn.
Claim 4 is cancelled.
Claims 1, 5, 11, and 18 are currently amended.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 5, 7, 9-12, 15, and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wi (US Pub. 2005/0000655) in view of Kim (US Pub. 2016/0020070).
Regarding claims 1 and 11, Wi teaches a plasma source, comprising: an input to a plenum ([0059] and Figs. 17-18, inlet #214 to plenum for head #212) for dividing gas into a plurality of parallel fluidic paths (Figs. 17-18, openings #213 for a plurality of paths); a plurality of plasma zones, wherein each plasma zone is along one of the plurality of parallel fluidic paths ([0057] and Figs. 17-18, zones within discharge bridges #216); a plurality of magnetic cores, wherein individual ones of the plurality of magnetic cores surround a corresponding one of the plurality of plasma zones ([0058] and Figs. 17-18, ferrite cores #218 surrounding tube bridges #216), wherein the plurality of magnetic cores comprises four or more peripheral magnetic cores (see Fig. 19), and wherein each magnetic core is in contact with an adjacent magnetic core (see Figs. 17-18, at least thermal contact with each other); an RF coil wrapping around the plurality of magnetic cores ([0058] and Figs. 17-19, inductive coil #220); and a manifold at a bottom of the plurality of plasma zones, wherein the manifold merges the plurality of fluidic paths into a single output (Fig. 18, volume of upper portion of the chamber combines outputs #225 to a single volume).
Wi does not appear to teach, as part of a single embodiment, wherein the plurality of magnetic cores comprises a central magnetic core.
However, Wi teaches an embodiment that comprises a central magnetic core and six peripheral magnetic cores (Wi – Fig. 5, #17b is central discharge tube bridge with ferrite #17, surrounded by six other tubes/cores).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the instant application, to modify the Wi apparatus of Figs. 17-19 to comprise the 1-central/6-peripheral discharge tube bridge/magnetic core arrangement of Fig. 5 as a matter of obvious substitution of one known element for another to obtain predicable results. See MPEP 2143(I)(B).
The above paragraphs detail the Examiner’s resolution of the first and second Graham factors.
For the third, the Examiner notes that Wi contains a number of embodiments whose characteristics are not mutually exclusive. In considering the apparatus of Figs. 17-19, the Examiner notes that the tube bridge/core structure depicted is the same as shown in Fig. 4 (four peripheral cores, no central core). Wi explicitly states in par. [0041] that the structure depicted in Fig. 5 (six peripheral cores, no central core) is an alternative to that shown in Fig. 4. As such, Wi would reasonably convey to a PHOSITA that such a substitution would be obvious.
Both embodiments are explicitly stated as alternatives that provide a symmetric structure for processing (par. [0041]), and neither embodiment is described as preferable over the other or incapable of performing the stated purpose. As such, Wi would reasonably convey to a PHOSITA where such a substitution would also be predictable.
The Examiner notes a PHOSITA in the PECVD arts is a highly educated, highly skilled, highly trained engineer with a breath of experience spanning multiple technical disciplines. In accordance, making the modification as proposed by the Examiner would be merely routine based exclusively on the Wi reference.
Wi does not appear to teach wherein each magnetic core is in direct physical contact with an adjacent magnetic core.
However, Kim teaches the above ([0076] and Fig. 4, cores #3411 and #3412 in direct physical contact).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the instant application, to modify the magnetic cores of Wi to comprise those of Kim in order to increase process yield by uniformly generating plasma (Kim – [0005]) or by creating a desired plasma density (Kim – [0148]).
Alternatively/additionally, Kim teaches wherein the cores may be in direct contact or spaced apart from each other (Kim – [0093]). As such, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the instant application, to simply modify the magnetic cores of Wi to be in contact as a matter of simple substitution (in contact versus not) to obtain a predictable result (ability to perform the required function while achieving stated advantages – Kim [0005], [0148]).
Regarding claims 2 and 12, Wi teaches wherein the RF coil is a single RF coil that wraps around all of the plurality of magnetic cores ([0058] and Fig. 19).
Regarding claim 5, Wi does not teach the added limitations of the claim.
However, Kim teaches wherein the central magnetic core is square shaped (Fig. 4, #3411).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the instant application, to modify the magnetic cores of Wi to comprise those of Kim in order to increase process yield by uniformly generating plasma (Kim – [0005]) or by creating a desired plasma density (Kim – [0148]).
Regarding claim 7, Wi does not teach the added limitations of the claim.
However, Kim teaches wherein the RF coil wraps around the central magnetic core (Kim – [0090] and Fig. 4, coil #3413).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the instant application, to modify the magnetic cores of Wi to comprise those of Kim in order to increase process yield by uniformly generating plasma (Kim – [0005]) or by creating a desired plasma density (Kim – [0148]).
Regarding claim 9, Wi teaches wherein the output is fluidically coupled to a plasma processing chamber (Fig. 18, upper conical volume connected to main cylindrical volume).
Regarding claims 10 and 17, Wi teaches wherein the magnetic cores are ferrite ([0058]: ferritic cores #218).
Regarding claim 15, Wi teaches wherein the plurality of plasma zones is four plasma zones (Figs. 17-19, four zones).
Regarding claim 18, Wi teaches a semiconductor processing tool, comprising: a remote plasma source with an upstream end and a downstream end (Figs. 17-19, #214 is upper end and conical volume around #234 is downstream end), wherein the remote plasma source comprises: a plenum at the upstream end (Fig. 18, plenum within #212), wherein the plenum feeds gas to a plurality of plasma zones (Fig. 18, chambers #216), wherein individual ones of the plurality of plasma zones is surrounded by a corresponding magnetic core ([0058] and Fig. 18, ferrite core #218) of a plurality of magnetic cores (see Figs. 17-19), wherein the plurality of magnetic cores comprises four or more peripheral magnetic cores (see Figs. 17-19), and wherein each magnetic core is in contact with an adjacent magnetic core (see Figs. 17-18, at least thermal contact with each other); and a manifold at the downstream end wherein the manifold merges gas to an output (Fig. 18, conical volume around #234 merges each output #225); and a chamber fluidically coupled to the outlet of the remote plasma (Fig. 18, conical volume of chamber #230).
Wi does not appear to teach, as part of a single embodiment, wherein the plurality of magnetic cores comprises a central magnetic core.
However, Wi teaches an embodiment that comprises a central magnetic core and six peripheral magnetic cores (Wi – Fig. 5, #17b is central discharge tube bridge with ferrite #17, surrounded by six other tubes/cores).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the instant application, to modify the Wi apparatus of Figs. 17-19 to comprise the 1-central/6-peripheral discharge tube bridge/magnetic core arrangement of Fig. 5 as a matter of obvious substitution of one known element for another to obtain predicable results. See MPEP 2143(I)(B).
The above paragraphs detail the Examiner’s resolution of the first and second Graham factors.
For the third, the Examiner notes that Wi contains a number of embodiments whose characteristics are not mutually exclusive. In considering the apparatus of Figs. 17-19, the Examiner notes that the tube bridge/core structure depicted is the same as shown in Fig. 4 (four peripheral cores, no central core). Wi explicitly states in par. [0041] that the structure depicted in Fig. 5 (six peripheral cores, no central core) is an alternative to that shown in Fig. 4. As such, Wi would reasonably convey to a PHOSITA that such a substitution would be obvious.
Both embodiments are explicitly stated as alternatives that provide a symmetric structure for processing (par. [0041]), and neither embodiment is described as preferable over the other or incapable of performing the stated purpose. As such, Wi would reasonably convey to a PHOSITA where such a substitution would also be predictable.
The Examiner notes a PHOSITA in the PECVD arts is a highly educated, highly skilled, highly trained engineer with a breath of experience spanning multiple technical disciplines. In accordance, making the modification as proposed by the Examiner would be merely routine based exclusively on the Wi reference.
Wi does not appear to teach wherein each magnetic core is in direct physical contact with an adjacent magnetic core.
However, Kim teaches the above ([0076] and Fig. 4, cores #3411 and #3412 in direct physical contact).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the instant application, to modify the magnetic cores of Wi to comprise those of Kim in order to increase process yield by uniformly generating plasma (Kim – [0005]) or by creating a desired plasma density (Kim – [0148]).
Alternatively/additionally, Kim teaches wherein the cores may be in direct contact or spaced apart from each other (Kim – [0093]). As such, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the instant application, to simply modify the magnetic cores of Wi to be in contact as a matter of simple substitution (in contact versus not) to obtain a predictable result (ability to perform the required function while achieving stated advantages – Kim [0005], [0148]).
Regarding claim 19, Wi teaches an RF coil wrapping around the magnetic cores ([0058] and Fig. 19).
Regarding claim 20, Wi teaches wherein the plurality of plasma zones is four plasma zones (Figs. 17-19, four zones).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wi (US Pub. 2005/0000655) and Kim (US Pub. 2016/0020070), as applied to claims 1-2, 5, 7, 9-12, 15, and 17-20 above, and further in view of Hu (US Pub. 2013/0118589).
The limitations of claims 1-2, 5, 7, 9-12, 15, and 17-20 are set forth above.
Regarding claim 8, modified Wi does not teach the added limitations of the claim.
However, Hu teaches wherein individual ones of the plurality of plasma zones comprise a conductive shell (Hu – [0035]: plasma channels comprise aluminum), a first limiter on an upstream side of the plasma zone, and a second limiter on a downstream side of the plasma zone (Fig. 4E, constructors at either end of A and B).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the instant application, to further modify the modified Wi apparatus to include the plasma zone limiters of Hu in order to accomplish a desired plasma flow pattern (Hu – [0041]), to optimize energy efficiency, and to control gas chemistries (Hu – [0040]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments concerning the §103 rejections have been carefully considered but are moot in light of the new grounds of rejection as presented herein. The Examiner respectfully submits that the alternative embodiment depicted in Fig. 5 of Wi remedies any alleged deficiencies of the other embodiments of Wi previously/currently relied upon.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Kurt Sweely/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1718