DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 5-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(A1) as being anticipated by Lee et al. (KR 20200085977 A, Published 07/16/2020; hereinafter, for clarity, all figure and paragraph references are taken from US equivalent application US 2022/0069003 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Lee (Fig. 7, 10-12, 14) discloses a display device comprising:
a first electrode (ET1) and a second electrode (ET2), spaced apart from each other;
light emitting elements (LD) disposed between the first electrode (ET1) and the second electrode (ET2);
a first connection electrode (CE1) electrically contacting the first electrode (ET1) and a first end portions portion of a light emitting element (LD1) from among the light emitting elements (LD);
a second connection electrode (CE2) electrically contacting the first (CE1) and second electrodes (CE2) and a second end portions portion of the light emitting element (LD1) from among the light emitting elements (LD); and
a conductive pattern (SCE1-2) disposed between the first connection electrode (CE1) and the second connection electrode (CE2), wherein
a first end portion of the conductive pattern (SCE1-2) electrically contacts the first connection electrode (CE1), and a second end portion of the conductive pattern electrically contacts the second connection electrode (CE2). (See Fig. 10-14) [0147]
Regarding Claim 2, Lee (Fig. 10-14) discloses the display device of claim 1, wherein
a length of the conductive pattern (SCE1-2) is greater than or equal to lengths of the light emitting elements. (LD)
Regarding Claim 5, Lee (Fig. 10-14) discloses the display device of claim 1, further comprising:
a first insulating layer (INS1) disposed over the first electrode and the second electrode; and
a second insulating layer (INS2) disposed on the light emitting elements, wherein
the second insulating layer (INP) exposes the first and second end portions of the light emitting elements. (Fig. 11, 12, 14).
The Examiner notes that the first and second end portions of the light emitting elements are exposed to CE1 and CE2
Regarding Claim 6, Lee (Fig. 10-14) discloses the display device of claim 5, wherein
the conductive pattern (SCE1-2) is disposed between the first insulating layer (INS1) and the second insulating layer. (INS2)
Regarding Claim 7, Lee (Fig. 10-14) discloses the display device of claim 6, wherein
the second insulating layer (INS2) exposes the first and second end portions of the conductive pattern. (SCE 1-2)
The Examiner notes that end portions of SCE 1-2 directly connected to CE1 and CE2 and thereby exposed by (INS2).
Regarding Claim 8, Lee (Fig. 10-14) discloses the display device of claim 7, wherein the first connection electrode (CE1) electrically contacts the first end portion of the conductive pattern (SCE 1-2) which is exposed by the second insulating layer (INS2).
Regarding Claim 9, Lee (Fig. 10-14) discloses the display device of claim 8, further comprising:
a third insulating layer (INS3) disposed on the first connection electrode (CE1), wherein
the third insulating layer (INS3) exposes the second end portion of the conductive pattern (SCE 1-2). (See Fig. 12, 14)
Regarding Claim 10, Lee (Fig. 10-14) discloses the display device of claim 9, wherein
the second connection electrode (CE2) electrically contacts the second end portion of the conductive pattern (SCE 1-2) which is exposed by the third insulating layer. (INS3) (See Fig. 12, 14).
Regarding Claim 11, Lee (Fig. 7, 10-14, 16B) discloses a display device comprising: pixels (PXL);
first light emitting elements (LD1 left) and second light emitting elements (LD1 right) disposed in each of the pixels;
a first connection electrode (CE11 right) electrically contacting a first end portions portion of a light emitting element (LD1) from among the first light emitting elements (LD1 left) (See Fig. 14);
a second connection electrode (CE21 left) electrically contacting a second end portions portion of a first light emitting element (LD1) from among the first light emitting elements (LD1 left) and a first end portions portion of a second light emitting element (LD2) from among the second light emitting elements (LD1 right);(See connections through SCE1-2 in Fig. 14, 16B)
a third connection electrode (CE22, SCE2-3, CE13, CE22) electrically contacting second end portions of the second light emitting elements (LD2);
a first conductive pattern (SCE1-2 left) electrically contacting the first connection electrode (CE21) and the second connection electrode (CE2); and
a second conductive pattern (SCE1-2 right and connection between ALE2 in SAR1 and SAR2 regions) electrically contacting the second connection electrode (CE21) and the third connection electrode (CE22, SCE2-3, CE13, CE22), wherein
the third connection electrode has a U-shape in a plan view. (See CE22, SCE2-3, CE13, CE22 in Fig. 16 creating “U-shape).
Regarding Claim 12, Lee (Fig. 7, 10-14, 16B) discloses the display device of claim 11, wherein
the first light emitting elements and the second light emitting elements are electrically connected in series to each other. (Fig. 16B)
Regarding Claim 13, Lee (Fig. 7, 10-14, 16B) discloses the display device of claim 11, wherein
the first conductive pattern and the second conductive pattern include a same material. [0218-0220]
Regarding Claim 14, Lee (Fig. 7, 10-14, 16B) discloses the display device of claim 11, wherein the first connection electrode and the third connection electrode are disposed on a same layer. (The Examiner notes that all electrodes are on PSV)
Regarding Claim 15, Lee (Fig. 7, 10-14, 16B) discloses the display device of claim 11, further comprising:
third light emitting elements (LDrv left) and fourth light emitting elements disposed (LDrv right) in each of the pixels;
a fourth connection electrode (CE13) electrically contacting second end portions of the third light emitting elements (LDrv left) and first end portions of the fourth light emitting elements (LcRv right); and
a fifth connection electrode (CE23) electrically contacting second end portions of the fourth light emitting elements (LDrv).
Regarding Claim 16, Lee (Fig. 7, 10-14, 16B) discloses the display device of claim 15, further comprising:
a third conductive pattern (SCE 2-3) electrically contacting the third connection electrode (CE22, SCE2-3, CE13, CE22) and the fourth connection electrode. (CE13)
Regarding Claim 17, Lee (Fig. 7, 10-14, 16B) discloses the display device of claim 15, further comprising:
a fourth conductive pattern ( electrically contacting the fourth connection electrode (CE13) and the fifth connection electrode. (CE23)
Regarding Claim 18, Lee (Fig. 7, 10-14, 16B) discloses the display device of claim 15, wherein
the first to fourth light emitting elements are electrically connected in series to each other. (Fig. 16B)
Regarding Claim 19, Lee (Fig. 7, 10-14, 16B) discloses the display device of claim 15, wherein the second connection electrode and the fourth connection electrode are disposed on a same layer. (The Examiner notes that all electrodes are on PSV)
Regarding Claim 20, Lee (Fig. 7, 10-14, 16B) discloses the display device of claim 15, wherein the fifth connection electrode, the first connection electrode, and the third connection electrode are disposed on a same layer. (The Examiner notes that all electrodes are on PSV).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (KR 20200085977 A, Published 07/16/2020; hereinafter, for clarity, all figure and paragraph references are taken from US equivalent application US 2022/0069003 A1) in view of Hosono et al. (US 2017/0186989 A1).
Regarding Claim 3, Lee (Fig. 10-14) discloses the display device of claim 1, Lee does not explicitly disclose the conductive pattern has a resistance higher than resistances of the light emitting elements.
Hosono discloses a conductive pattern has a resistance (bridge layer is formed of a material having a resistance that falls within a range of 100 kΩ to 100 MΩ) higher than resistances of a light emitting elements. (91.4 kΩ) [0039-0040, 0177, 0115]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the display device in Lee in view of Hosono such that the conductive pattern has a resistance higher than resistances of the light emitting elements in order to e prevented from being significantly damaged by electrostatic discharge [0061].
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (KR 20200085977 A, Published 07/16/2020; hereinafter, for clarity, all figure and paragraph references are taken from US equivalent application US 2022/0069003 A1) in view of Kashiwabara et al. (US 2015/0144914 A1).
Regarding Claim 4, Lee (Fig. 10-14) discloses the display device of claim 1.
Lee does not explicitly disclose the conductive pattern has a resistance of about 100 kΩ or more.
Kashiwabara discloses a conductive pattern (connection) has a resistance of about 100 kΩ or more. (“the electrical resistance of the connection between the auxiliary wiring part 200 and the upper electrode 500 may be about 200 k.Ω. or less, and the voltage drop at the connection between the auxiliary wiring part 200 and the upper electrode 500 may be controlled to 2 V or less.”) [0061]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the display device in Lee in view of Kashiwabara such that the conductive pattern has a resistance of about 100 kΩ or more in order to have uniform brightness of the display device and reduce power consumption of the display device [0041].
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Pages 6-7, filed 9/15/2025, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-3 and 5-20 under 35 U.S.C. 102(A1) as being anticipated by Oh et al. (US 2021/0288220 A) have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made under 35 U.S.C. 102(A1) as being anticipated by Lee et al. (KR 20200085977 A, Published 07/16/2020)
Conclusion
/DMITRIY YEMELYANOV/Examiner, Art Unit 2891