DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendments/Arguments
Applicant’s amendments, see Pg. 8-11, filed 02/06/2026, with respect to claims 1-20 have been fully considered and are sufficient to overcome the rejection of the claims under 35 USC 103. Therefore, the rejection of claims 1-20 has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Gopalan et al. (US 20210159060 A1 – hereinafter “Gopalan/R1”) in view of Gopalan et al. (US 20180342377 A1 – hereinafter “Gopalan/R2”) further in view of Sui et al. (US 2013/0309785 A1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-5, 8-11, 15-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gopalan et al. (US 20210159060 A1 – hereinafter “Gopalan/R1”) in view of Gopalan et al. (US 20180342377 A1 – hereinafter “Gopalan/R2”) further in view of Sui et al. (US 2013/0309785 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Gopalan/R1 discloses a semiconductor processing tool (Fig. 2B, 4), comprising:
a chamber (202) having a lateral width between opposite sidewalls (Fig. 2B, 4; [0041], lines 1-3);
a pedestal (241) in the chamber configured to secure a substrate, the pedestal laterally between the opposite sidewalls of the chamber, and the pedestal having a lateral width less than the lateral width of the chamber (Fig. 2B, 4; [0043] – where Fig. 4 shows pedestal 241 positioned within the processing chamber 202);
a plasma source (204) above the pedestal (Fig. 2B, 4; [0041], lines 1-3);
a light source (420) coupled to a conduit (208) (Fig. 4; [0048], lines 1-8); and
a detector (440) coupled to the conduit across from the light source (Fig. 4; [0048], lines 1-8 – reference to “detector 445” is believed to be a typographical error and should read “detector 440”).
Gopalan/R1 does not explicitly disclose
a showerhead above the pedestal;
a laser source coupled to the chamber; and
a detector coupled to the chamber across from the laser source;
wherein the detector is configured to be optically coupled to the laser source, wherein the laser source and the detector are coupled to the opposite sidewalls of the chamber, respectively, and
wherein the laser source and the detector have a laser path vertically between the pedestal and the showerhead.
However, Gopalan/R2, in the same field of endeavor of plasma processing systems and methods including close-loop control of plasma sources, discloses
a laser source (703) coupled to a chamber (720) (Fig. 6; [0036], lines 1-6; [0037]; [0065]-[0066]); and
a detector (711) coupled to the chamber across from the laser source (Fig. 6; [0065]-[0066]);
wherein the detector is configured to be optically coupled to the laser source, wherein the laser source and the detector are coupled to the opposite sidewalls of the chamber, respectively (Fig. 6; [0065], [0067] – via optical viewports 721, 722 and optical guides 706, 708).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Gopalan/R1 such that the light source and detector are optically coupled to each other through the process chamber instead of the conduit leading to the process chamber, reducing loss of the reactive species and increasing the signal-to-noise ratio of the measurement process.
Gopalan/R1 in view of Gopalan/R2 does not explicitly disclose a showerhead above the pedestal and a laser source coupled to the chamber; and a detector coupled to the chamber across from the laser source, wherein the laser source and the detector have a laser path vertically between the pedestal and the showerhead.
However, Sui, in the same field of endeavor of plasma processing systems and methods, discloses a substrate processing system (100) comprising a showerhead (140) above a pedestal (114) (Fig. 1; [0020]; [0022]) and a radiation source (128 – interpreted as the laser source) coupled to a chamber (102); and a detector (130) coupled to the chamber across from the laser source (Fig. 1; [0020]; [0025]-[0026]), wherein the laser source and the detector have a laser path vertically between the pedestal and the showerhead (see Fig. 1; [0027], lines 1-15; [0030]-[0031]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Gopalan/R1 in view of Gopalan/R2 with a processing system comprising a showerhead above a pedestal wherein a laser source and a detector have a laser path vertically between the pedestal and the showerhead, where the motivation would be to provide a sufficient characterization of the contents in the chamber, improving control over the processes being performed (Sui: [0030]-[0031]).
Regarding claim 2, Gopalan/R1 in view of Gopalan/R2 and Sui discloses the semiconductor processing tool of claim 1, as outlined above, and further discloses
a first optical window (721) through the chamber (720) adjacent to the laser source (703) (Gopalan/R2: Fig. 6; [0065]); and
a second optical window (722) through the chamber adjacent to the detector (711) (Gopalan/R2: Fig. 6; [0065]).
Regarding claim 4, Gopalan/R1 in view of Gopalan/R2 and Sui discloses the semiconductor processing tool of claim 1, as outlined above, and further discloses wherein the plasma source (204) is a remote plasma source (Gopalan/R1: Fig. 2B; [0041], lines 1-3).
Regarding claim 5, Gopalan/R1 in view of Gopalan/R2 and Sui discloses the semiconductor processing tool of claim 4, as outlined above, and further discloses wherein the chamber (202) comprises a pipe (208) that couples the plasma source (204) to a lower portion of the chamber (Gopalan/R1: Fig. 2A-B; [0039], lines 8-12).
Regarding claim 8, Gopalan/R1 in view of Gopalan/R2 and Sui discloses the semiconductor processing tool of claim 1, as outlined above, and further discloses wherein the laser source (420) and the detector (440) are configured to provide laser absorption spectroscopy (Gopalan/R1: Fig. 4; [0048]).
Regarding claim 9, Gopalan/R1 in view of Gopalan/R2 and Sui discloses the semiconductor processing tool of claim 8, as outlined above, and further discloses wherein the laser absorption spectroscopy is configured to monitor species including one or more of HF, O, Ar, N, F, He, H, H2, F2, NF, NF2, NF3, Cl, and Si (Gopalan/R1: [0048]).
Regarding claim 10, Gopalan/R1 in view of Gopalan/R2 and Sui discloses the semiconductor processing tool of claim 1, as outlined above, and further discloses wherein the semiconductor processing tool is a deposition tool or an etching tool (Gopalan/R2: [0063], last seven lines).
Regarding claim 11, Gopalan/R1 discloses a method of processing a substrate in a semiconductor processing tool (Fig. 6), comprising:
striking a plasma in an RPS (104) (Fig. 1 and Fig. 6 – step 610; [0058]);
a pedestal (241) configured to secure a substrate, the pedestal laterally between the opposite sidewalls of the processing chamber, and the pedestal having a lateral width less than the lateral width of the processing chamber (Fig. 2B, 4; [0043] – where Fig. 4 shows pedestal 241 positioned within the processing chamber 202);
using a light source (420) to propagate a light through the conduit (208) (Fig. 4 and Fig. 6 – step 620; [0048], lines 1-8; [0058]; [0059]);
detecting the light with a detector (340) after the light passes through the conduit (Fig. 1, 3 and Fig. 6 – step 630; [0048], lines 1-8; [0060]);
detecting an absorption of the light with the detector after the light passes through the conduit (Fig. 6 – step 640; [0048], lines 1-8; [0061]); and
controlling the plasma in the processing chamber in response to the detected absorption of the light (Fig. 6 – step 650; [0062]).
Gopalan/R1 discloses a processing chamber (202) having a lateral width between opposite sidewalls (Fig. 2B, 4; [0041], lines 1-3) but does not explicitly disclose performing the method steps in the processing chamber;
a showerhead above the pedestal;
using a laser source as the light source; and
wherein the laser source and the detector have a laser path vertically between the pedestal and the showerhead.
However, Gopalan/R2, in the same field of endeavor of plasma processing systems and methods including close-loop control of plasma sources, discloses striking a plasma in a processing chamber (720), the processing chamber having a lateral width between opposite sidewalls (Fig. 6; [0026]; [0064]); and
using a laser source (703) to propagate a laser through the chamber (Fig. 6; [0036], lines 1-6; [0037]; [0065]);
detecting the laser with a detector (711) after the laser passes through the chamber, wherein the laser source and the detector are coupled to the opposite sidewalls of the chamber, respectively (Fig. 6; [0065]-[0067]);
detecting an absorption of the laser with the detector after the laser passes through the chamber (Fig. 6; [0065]-[0067]; [0068], lines 1-3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Gopalan/R1 method such that the measurement steps are performed in the process chamber instead of the conduit leading to the process chamber, reducing loss of the reactive species and increasing the signal-to-noise ratio of the measurement process.
Gopalan/R1 in view of Gopalan/R2 does not explicitly disclose a showerhead above the pedestal and a laser source coupled to the chamber; and a detector coupled to the chamber across from the laser source, wherein the laser source and the detector have a laser path vertically between the pedestal and the showerhead.
However, Sui, in the same field of endeavor of plasma processing systems and methods, discloses a substrate processing system (100) comprising a showerhead (140) above a pedestal (114) (Fig. 1; [0020]; [0022]) and a radiation source (128 – interpreted as the laser source) coupled to a chamber (102); and a detector (130) coupled to the chamber across from the laser source (Fig. 1; [0020]; [0025]-[0026]), wherein the laser source and the detector have a laser path vertically between the pedestal and the showerhead (see Fig. 1; [0027], lines 1-15; [0030]-[0031]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Gopalan/R1 in view of Gopalan/R2 with a processing system comprising a showerhead above a pedestal wherein a laser source and a detector have a laser path vertically between the pedestal and the showerhead, where the motivation would be to provide a sufficient characterization of the contents in the chamber, improving control over the processes being performed (Sui: [0030]-[0031]).
Regarding claim 15, Gopalan/R1 in view of Gopalan/R2 and Sui discloses the method of claim 11, as outlined above and further discloses wherein the absorption of the laser is used to determine a species concentration in the processing chamber (Gopalan/R1: [0048]).
Regarding claim 16, Gopalan/R1 in view of Gopalan/R2 and Sui discloses the method of claim 15, as outlined above, and further discloses wherein the species concentration includes a concentration of one or more of HF, O, Ar, N, F, He, H, H2. F2. NF, NF2, NF3, Cl, and Si (Gopalan/R1: [0048]).
Regarding claim 17, Gopalan/R1 in view of Gopalan/R2 and Sui discloses the method of claim 11, as outlined above, and further discloses wherein controlling the plasma includes changes to one or more of a gas flow rate, a power supplied to the plasma, a frequency of the plasma, a pressure in the processing chamber, and a temperature of the processing chamber (Gopalan/R1: Fig. 5 and Fig. 6 – block 650; [0038]; [0050], lines 1-5; [0062]).
Regarding claim 18, Gopalan/R1 discloses a semiconductor processing tool, comprising:
a remote plasma chamber (204) (Fig. 2B, 4; [0041], lines 1-3);
a processing chamber (202), wherein the remote plasma chamber is coupled to the processing chamber by a pipe (208), the processing chamber having a lateral width between opposite sidewalls (Fig. 2B, 4; [0041], lines 1-3; [0048], lines 1-8);
a pedestal (241) in the processing chamber configured to support a substrate, the pedestal laterally between the opposite sidewalls of the chamber, and the pedestal having a lateral width less than the lateral width of the processing chamber (Fig. 2B, 4; [0043] – where Fig. 4 shows pedestal 241 positioned within the processing chamber 202);
a light source (420) coupled to a first window (430) in the semiconductor processing tool (Fig. 4; [0048], lines 1-8); and
a detector (440) coupled to a second window (431) in the semiconductor processing tool (Fig. 4; [0048], lines 1-8 – reference to “detector 445” is believed to be a typographical error and should read “detector 440”),
Gopalan/R1 does not explicitly disclose a showerhead above the pedestal;
wherein a laser source and a detector are configured to be optically coupled with each other, and wherein the laser source and the detector are coupled to the opposite sidewalls of the chamber, respectively, and
wherein the laser source and the detector have a laser path vertically between the pedestal and the showerhead.
However, Gopalan/R2, in the same field of endeavor of plasma processing systems and methods including close-loop control of plasma sources, discloses wherein a laser source (703) and a detector (711) are configured to be optically coupled with each other, and wherein the laser source and the detector are coupled to the opposite sidewalls of a chamber (723), respectively (Fig. 6; ; [0036], lines 1-6; [0037]; [0065], [0067] – via optical viewports 721, 722 and optical guides 706, 708).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Gopalan/R1 such that the light source and detector are optically coupled to each other through the process chamber instead of the conduit leading to the process chamber, reducing loss of the reactive species and increasing the signal-to-noise ratio of the measurement process.
Gopalan/R1 in view of Gopalan/R2 does not explicitly disclose a showerhead above the pedestal and a laser source coupled to the chamber; and a detector coupled to the chamber across from the laser source, wherein the laser source and the detector have a laser path vertically between the pedestal and the showerhead.
However, Sui, in the same field of endeavor of plasma processing systems and methods, discloses a substrate processing system (100) comprising a showerhead (140) above a pedestal (114) (Fig. 1; [0020]; [0022]) and a radiation source (128 – interpreted as the laser source) coupled to a chamber (102); and a detector (130) coupled to the chamber across from the laser source (Fig. 1; [0020]; [0025]-[0026]), wherein the laser source and the detector have a laser path vertically between the pedestal and the showerhead (see Fig. 1; [0027], lines 1-15; [0030]-[0031]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Gopalan/R1 in view of Gopalan/R2 with a processing system comprising a showerhead above a pedestal wherein a laser source and a detector have a laser path vertically between the pedestal and the showerhead, where the motivation would be to provide a sufficient characterization of the contents in the chamber, improving control over the processes being performed (Sui: [0030]-[0031]).
Regarding claim 19, Gopalan/R1 in view of Gopalan/R2 and Sui the semiconductor processing tool of claim 18, as outlined above, and further discloses wherein the first window (430) and the second window (431) are provided through sidewalls of the pipe (208) (Gopalan/R1; Fig. 4; [0048], lines 1-8).
Regarding claim 20, Gopalan/R1 in view of Gopalan/R2 and Sui discloses the semiconductor processing tool of claim 18, as outlined above, and further discloses wherein the first window (721) and the second window (722) are provided through sidewalls of the processing chamber (720) (Gopalan/R2: Fig. 6; [0065]).
Claim(s) 3, 6-7, 12-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gopalan et al. (US 2021/0159060 A1 – hereinafter “Gopalan/R1”) in view of Gopalan et al. (US 2018/0342377 A1 – hereinafter “Gopalan/R1”) in view of Sui et al. (US 2013/0309785 A1) further in view of Ludviksson et al. (WO 03/081216).
Regarding claim 3, Gopalan/R1 in view of Gopalan/R2 and Sui discloses the semiconductor processing tool of claim 1, as outlined above, but does not explicitly disclose wherein the light source and the detector are positioned so that a light propagating from the light source to the detector is approximately 10mm or less away from the pedestal.
However, Ludviksson, in the same field of endeavor of in-situ monitoring and control of semiconductor manufacturing processes and systems, discloses that an optical monitoring system may be configured such that radiation (155) from a light source (165) travels through a processing chamber (100) above a substrate (110) and to a detector (150) (Fig. 1B; [0035]; [0042]). Ludviksson also describes alternative embodiments where the light source and/or the detector may be moved to several alternative locations in order to measure and characterize the plasma in multiple dimensions/planes ([0060]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Gopalan/R1 in view of Gopalan/R2 and Sui by varying the position of the light source and detector relative to the pedestal and substrate, where optimization of the position through routine experimentation would result in improved characterization of the plasma and improved sensitivity of the measurement apparatus
Regarding claim 6, Gopalan/R1 in view of Gopalan/R2, Sui and Ludviksson discloses the semiconductor process tool of claim 5, as outlined above, but does not explicitly disclose wherein a distance between the light source and the detector and the plasma source is smaller than a distance between the light source and the detector and the lower portion of the chamber.
However, Ludviksson further discloses that an optical monitoring system may be configured such that radiation (155) from a light source (165) travels through a processing chamber (100) above a substrate (110) and to a detector (150) (Fig. 1B; [0035]; [0042]). Ludviksson also describes alternative embodiments where the light source and/or the detector may be moved to several alternative locations in order to measure and characterize the plasma in multiple dimensions/planes ([0060]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Gopalan/R1 in view of Gopalan/R2, Sui and Ludviksson by varying the position of the light source and detector relative to the pedestal and substrate, where optimization of the position through routine experimentation would result in improved characterization of the plasma and improved sensitivity of the measurement apparatus
Regarding claim 7, Gopalan/R1 in view of Gopalan/R2, Sui and Ludviksson discloses the semiconductor process tool of claim 5, as outlined above, but does not explicitly disclose wherein a distance between the light source and the detector and the plasma source is greater than a distance between the light source and the detector and the lower portion of the chamber.
However, Ludviksson further discloses that an optical monitoring system may be configured such that radiation (155) from a light source (165) travels through a processing chamber (100) above a substrate (110) and to a detector (150) (Fig. 1B; [0035]; [0042]). Ludviksson also describes alternative embodiments where the light source and/or the detector may be moved to several alternative locations in order to measure and characterize the plasma in multiple dimensions/planes ([0060]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Gopalan/R1 in view of Gopalan/R2, Sui and Ludviksson by varying the position of the light source and detector relative to the pedestal and substrate, where optimization of the position through routine experimentation would result in improved characterization of the plasma and improved sensitivity of the measurement apparatus
Regarding claim 12, Gopalan/R1 in view of Gopalan/R2 and Sui discloses the method of claim 11, as outlined above, but does not explicitly disclose wherein the processing chamber is a remote plasma source (RPS) processing chamber.
However, Ludviksson, in the same field of endeavor of in-situ monitoring and control of semiconductor manufacturing processes and systems, discloses a processing chamber (100) which acts as a remote plasma source (RPS) processing chamber (Fig. 1A; [0024]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Gopalan/R1 in view Gopalan/R2 and Sui with a remote plasma source processing chamber, where plasma is introduced directly into the processing chamber, and not first propagated through a conduit, reducing loss of the reactive species and increasing the signal-to-noise ratio of the measurement process.
Regarding claim 13, Gopalan/R1 in view Gopalan/R2, Sui and Ludviksson discloses the method of claim 12, as outlined above, and further discloses wherein the laser source and the detector are provided along a pipe (208) between the remote plasma chamber (204) and a processing chamber (202) (Gopalan/R1: Fig. 2A-B, 4; [0039], lines 8-12).
Regarding claim 14, Gopalan/R1 in view of Gopalan/R2 and Sui discloses the method of claim 11, as outlined above, but does not explicitly disclose wherein a distance between the laser source and the detector and a substrate in the chamber is approximately 10mm or less.
However, Ludviksson, in the same field of endeavor of in-situ monitoring and control of semiconductor manufacturing processes and systems, discloses that an optical monitoring system may be configured such that radiation (155) from a light source (165) travels through a processing chamber (100) above a substrate (110) and to a detector (150) (Fig. 1B; [0035]; [0042]). Ludviksson also describes alternative embodiments where the light source and/or the detector may be moved to several alternative locations in order to measure and characterize the plasma in multiple dimensions/planes ([0060]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Gopalan/R1 in view of Gopalan/R2 and Sui by varying the position of the light source and detector relative to the pedestal and substrate, where optimization of the position through routine experimentation would result in improved characterization of the plasma and improved sensitivity of the measurement apparatus.
Conclusion
/MAHER YAZBACK/Examiner, Art Unit 2877
/MICHELLE M IACOLETTI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2877