DETAILED ACTION
Claim 1 is withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as
being drawn to a nonelected group I, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 04/20/23. Applicant's election
without traverse of group Il in the reply filed on 07/23/24 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 9, 11, 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kyung Won et al (U. S. Patent Application: 2015/0221507, here after Won), further in view of Oreste Madia et al (U.S. Patent Application: 2021/0118672, here after Madia).
Claims 9, 11 are rejected. Won teaches a method of forming a layer comprising
indium gallium zinc oxide (IGZO) [430 in fig. 6], by providing a process module
comprising first, second, third and fourth reaction chamber [fig. 2] and performing a pre-
deposition treatment (passivating pretreatment) on the substrate [fig. 5], in any chamber
(for example, in fourth chamber) wherein the pre-deposition treatment consisting of
exposing the substrate to reducing gas(hydrogen) with plasma [0070] which in fact
generates excited species of the reducing agent gas(hydrogen), and removes carbon
contamination(organic) from the surface [0069, 0070]. Won teaches step of lithographic patterning [0027] prior to depositing IGZO (104) [fig. 1], which in fact require depositing resist material and removing it (results in small residual carbon contamination) therefore it is obvious surface of substrate has small amount of carbon contamination prior to depositing IGZO which in fact by pre-deposition treatment would be clean. Won teaches depositing IGZO layers, but does not teach the details of deposition process. Madia teaches a method of forming a layer comprising indium gallium zinc oxide, wherein the layer comprising InO, GaO, and ZnO [abstract], the method comprising the steps of: forming a layer comprising InO on a surface of a substrate; forming a layer comprising GaO on a surface of a substrate; and
forming a layer comprising ZnO on a surface of a substrate [0048]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was made to have a method of Won when the IGZO is deposited by method of Madia,
because it is suitable method of depositing IGZO for transistors. Madia as well as Won
teaches using a cluster tool for deposition process [0042], which in fact each of the
reaction space(chamber) is dedicated to one type of process wherein the temperature
of the reaction space in each module can be kept constant [0045]. Madia teaches
processing system comprising processing chambers [0041, fig. 2], where a processing
chamber comprising a susceptor (338) [0044, 0046, fig. 3]. Madia also teaches a
temperature of susceptor is controlled independently [0045] which in fact control the
growth rate as well. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the
art at the time of the invention was made to have a method of Won and Media when
each of the chambers in Media is a PECVD as chamber 300, because it is suitable to
deposit each layer in each chamber and reduce contamination. Therefore InO, GaO,
and ZnO each can be deposited in a separate chamber, where the first chamber is for
depositing InO, the second chamber is for depositing GaO and the third chamber is for
depositing ZnO [0048]. Won teaches forming an additional metal oxide (650, top layer,
or a dielectric layer 107), wherein the additional metal oxide comprises aluminum
[0095]. It is to skill of an ordinary skill in art to deposit aluminum oxide in a separate
fourth reaction chamber in absence of criticality. Won also teaches after forming IGZO,
performing a post deposition treatment of the layer (repeating ozone treatment for
making aluminum oxide top coat layer to desire thickness) [0095], where the indium
gallium zinc oxide exposed to ozone. Alternatively Won teaches treating (post-
treatment, step 440) on IGZO oxide layer [0064] similarly to pre-treatment [0083] by
exposing the layer to oxygen containing gas [0069]. They do not teach the gallium
precursor is Ga (CpMe5). Mizutani teaches using pentamethylcyclopentadieny. gallium
precursor for making gallium oxide film [abstract]. Therefore, it would have been
obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was made to have a
method of Won and Media when gallium precursor for depositing gallium oxide layer is
pentamethylcyclopentadieny. gallium, because it is suitable precursor for depositing
gallium oxide film from vapor phase.
Claim 14 is rejected. Won teaches forming IGZO in CVD chamber, and Madia teaches the first, the second and the third reaction chamber are CVD chambers[abstract], and Madia teaches forming the first, the second and the third layer each comprising a CVD process [0031].
Claim 15 is rejected as Won teaches reducing gas consists of ammonia [claim 8],
and wherein the pre-deposition treatment comprises forming excited or reactive
species(radicals) of the reducing gas [claim 8], wherein the pre- deposition treatment
and the post-deposition treatment are performed in the fourth chamber (see claim 14
rejection above).
Claims 12-13, 28, and 34-35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kyung Won et al (U. S. Patent Application: 2015/0221507, here after Won), Oreste Madia et al (U.S. Patent Application: 2021/0118672, here after Madia), further in view of Eric A Burgett (U. S. Patent Application: 2017/0253992, here after Burgett).
Claims 12-13 are rejected. Won teaches treating (post-treatment, step 440) on IGZO oxide layer [0064] similarly to pre-treatment [0083], therefor it is obvious to do treating(post-treatment) in the same chamber of pre-treatment of the fourth chamber as well. Won teaches preheat treatment and expose the substrate to oxygen containing gas [0069] and then pretreat the substrate and expose the substrate to reducing agent hydrogen (reactive species, plasma) [0070], but does not teach pre- treatment(reducing) gas consist of hydrazine. Burgett teaches prior to depositing, cleaning surface of substrate with hydrogen or hydrazine to remove extra oxygen [0060]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was made to have a method of Won and Media when cleaning is done with hydrazine, because it is suitable way to clean substrate and remove extra oxygen prior to depositing another layer.
Claim 28 is rejected. Won teaches a method of forming a layer comprising
indium gallium zinc oxide (IGZO) [430 in fig. 6], by providing a process module
comprising first, second, third and fourth reaction chamber [fig. 2] and performing a
treating (post-deposition treatment) (440, and similar to 420) on the substrate (IGZO) [fig. 4, 0083], in any chamber (for example in fourth chamber) wherein the post-deposition treatment comprising exposing the substrate to oxygen containing gas and nitrogen containing gas [0083, 0069] to tune the properties of the layer [0013]. Won teaches depositing IGZO layers, but does not teach the details of deposition process. Madia teaches a method of forming a layer comprising indium gallium zinc oxide, wherein the layer comprising InO, GaO, and ZnO [abstract], the method comprising the steps of:
forming an indium oxide layer on a substrate by providing an indium precursor and a first oxidant to a first reaction chamber;
forming a gallium oxide layer on the substrate by providing a gallium precursor and a second oxidant to a second reaction chamber;
forming a zinc oxide layer on the substrate by providing a zinc precursor and a third oxidant to a third reaction chamber wherein the layer comprising indium gallium zinc oxide comprises the indium oxide layer, the gallium oxide layer, and the zinc oxide
layer [0048]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at
the time of the invention was made to have a method of Won when the IGZO is
deposited by method of Madia, because it is suitable method of depositing IGZO for
transistors. Won teaches a post treatment similar to preheat treatment process and expose the substrate to oxygen containing gas [0083, 0069] and then pretreat the substrate and expose the substrate to reducing gas such as hydrogen (reactive species, plasma) [0070], but does not teach reducing gas consist of hydrazine. Burgett teaches prior to depositing, cleaning surface of substrate with hydrogen or hydrazine to remove extra oxygen [0060]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was made to have a method of Won and Media when cleaning is done with hydrazine, because it is suitable way to clean substrate and remove extra oxygen prior to depositing another layer.
Claim 34 is rejected as Won teaches the post deposition treatment consists of plasma treatment [0068, 0069, 0083].
Claim 35 is rejected. Won teaches a method of forming a layer comprising
indium gallium zinc oxide (IGZO) [430 in fig. 6], by providing a process module
comprising first, second, third and fourth reaction chamber [fig. 2] and performing a
treating (post-deposition treatment or pre-treatment deposition) (440, and similar to 420)
on the substrate [fig. 4, 0083], in any chamber (for example in fourth chamber). Won
teaches performing a pre-deposition treatment on the substrate before forming the
indium oxide layer, the gallium oxide layer, and the zinc oxide layer, wherein the pre-
deposition treatment comprises a thermal treatment (preheating, 410), and exposing the substrate to a reducing gas (hydrogen or ammonia) [0069] which in fact the pre-deposition treatment comprises removing carbon contaminants from the surface.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over rejected
under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kyung Won et al (U. S. Patent
Application: 2015/0221507, here after Won), Oreste Madia et al (U.S. Patent
Application: 2021/0118672, here after Madia), further in view of Chia-Fu Hsu (U. S.
Patent Application: 2016/0268311, here after Hsu).
Claim 16 is rejected. Won does not teach the IGZO layer comprising
aluminum. Hsu teaches making a TFT where dielectric layer is IGZO or IAGZO [0023].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the
invention was made to have a method of Won and Media and dielectric layer comprising
IAGZO, because it is suitable dielectric layer for making TFT devices. Won teaches
depositing layer precursors of indium, gallium, zinc and oxidation. Madia teaches
depositing indium precursor layer oxidizing, depositing gallium precursor layer, oxidizing
and depositing zinc precursor layer and oxidizing.
Claims 19-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kyung Won et al (U. S. Patent
Application: 2015/0221507, here after Won), further in view of Oreste Madia et al (U.S.
Patent Application: 2021/0118672, here after Madia), Chia-Fu Hsu (U. S.
Patent Application: 2016/0268311, here after Hsu), and Christophe Lachaud et al (FR 2998582, here after Lachaud).
Claim 19 is rejected. Won teaches a method of forming a layer comprising indium gallium zinc oxide (IGZO) [430 in fig. 6], by CVD and a process module comprising first, second, third and fourth reaction chamber [abstract, fig. 2]. Won teaches depositing IGZO layers, but does not teach the details of deposition process. Madia teaches a method of forming a layer comprising indium gallium zinc oxide in CVD chamber, wherein the layer comprising InO, GaO, and ZnO [abstract], the method comprising the steps of: forming a layer comprising InO on a surface of a substrate; forming a layer comprising GaO on a surface of a substrate; and
forming a layer comprising ZnO on a surface of a substrate [0048]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was made to have a method of Won when the IGZO is deposited by method of Madia,
because it is suitable method of depositing IGZO for transistors. Madia as well as Won
teaches using a cluster tool for deposition process [0042], which in fact each of the
reaction space(chamber) is dedicated to one type of process wherein the temperature
of the reaction space in each module can be kept constant [0045]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was made to have a method of Won and Media when each of the chambers in Media is a CVD(PECDV) as chamber 300, because it is suitable to deposit each layer in each chamber and reduce contamination. Therefore InO, GaO, and ZnO each can be deposited in a separate chamber, where the first chamber is for depositing InO, the second chamber is for depositing GaO and the third chamber is for
depositing ZnO [0048]. Won teaches forming an additional metal oxide (650, top layer,
or a dielectric layer 107), wherein the additional metal oxide comprises aluminum
[0095]. It is to skill of an ordinary skill in art to deposit aluminum oxide in a separate
fourth reaction chamber in absence of criticality. Won also teaches after forming IGZO,
performing a post deposition treatment of the layer (repeating ozone treatment for
making aluminum oxide top coat layer to desire thickness) [0095], where the indium
gallium zinc oxide exposed to ozone. Alternatively Won teaches treating (post-
treatment, step 440) on IGZO oxide layer [0064] similarly to pre-treatment [0083] by
exposing the layer to oxygen containing gas [0069]. Won does not teach the IGZO layer comprising aluminum. Hsu teaches making a TFT where dielectric layer is IGZO or IAGZO [0023]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was made to have a method of Won and Media and dielectric layer comprising IAGZO, because it is suitable dielectric layer for making TFT devices. Won teaches depositing layer precursors of indium, gallium, zinc and oxidation. Madia teaches depositing indium precursor layer oxidizing, depositing gallium precursor layer, oxidizing and depositing zinc precursor layer and oxidizing. Won also teaches depositing additional aluminum oxide (protective layer 107) [0033-0034] on IGZO film [fig. 1], which in fact deposited by metal precursor (CVD) and can be
done in fourth chamber [0034]. Won also teaches post plasma treatment (similar to pre-
treatment) consists essentially of forming a plasma, wherein a gas used to form the
plasma consists of a gas selected from the group consisting of nitrogen, hydrogen,
ammonia, wherein at least two of the first oxidant, the second oxidant, and the third
oxidant differ [0069, 0070, 0083, 0097]. Madia teaches forming zinc oxide film by diethyl
zinc and water (as an oxidant) [0096-0097], but does not teach using tert-butanol during
growth. Lachaud teaches depositing zinc oxide film from diethyl zinc and water, and
also teaches alcohol such as tert-butanol as oxidant [abstract]. It is prima facie obvious
to combine two compositions each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the
same purpose, in order to form this composition to be used for the very same
purpose [T]he idea of combining them flows logically from there having been
individually taught in the prior art. In re Kerkhoven, 626 F.2d 846, 850, 205 USPQ 1069
1072. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time
of the invention was made to have a method of Won and Madia when oxidant reactant
is water and alcohol (tert- butanol), because the combination of alcohol and water are
also suitable as oxidant for diethyl zinc and form zinc oxide film from vapor phase. using
paraformaldehyde during the growth as co-reactant, because it suitable to have co-
reactant by deposition of indium oxide on dielectric substrate. Tetr-butyl is in fact growth
inhibitor.
Claim 20 is rejected as Won teaches formation of a tin oxide layer [0033].
Claim 21 is rejected as Won also teaches forming layer comprising forming tin oxide later [0033], and aluminum oxide layer [ 0034].
Claim 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over rejected
under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kyung Won et al (U. S. Patent
Application: 2015/0221507, here after Won), Oreste Madia et al (U.S. Patent
Application: 2021/0118672, here after Madia), further in view of Chia-Fu Hsu (U. S.
Patent Application: 2016/0268311, here after Hsu), Christophe Lachaud et al (FR 2998582, here after Lachaud), further in view of W. Chen et al (Taiwanese Patent: 201421696, here after Chen).
Claim 22 is rejected. Won teaches the additional metal oxide layer comprising
aluminum oxide (protective layer) [0031], but does not teach the protective layer is
titanium oxide. Chen teaches a method of making TFT, when the protective layer is
aluminum oxide or titanium oxide [page 4 paragraph 4, Fig. 1B]. Therefore, it would
have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was
made to have a method of Won, Madia, Hsu and Lachaud when the protective
layer is aluminum oxide and titanium oxide, because it is suitable protective layer for TFT.
Claim 29 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kyung Won et al (U. S. Patent Application: 2015/0221507, here after Won), Oreste Madia et al (U.S. Patent Application: 2021/0118672, here after Madia), Eric A Burgett (U. S. Patent Application: 2017/0253992, here after Burgett), further in view of Jun Chen (Chinese Patent: 105609564, here after Cheng).
Claim 29 is rejected. Won teaches the oxygen-containing gases comprise ozone and nitrous oxide [0069], but does not teach it is hydrogen peroxide. Cheng teaches treating oxide layer comprising indium gallium zinc oxide with peroxide as well as ozone or nitrous oxide [page 3 last paragraph]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was made to have a method of Won, Media, and Burgett where IAGZO is post-treat with oxidizing such as peroxide, because it is suitable oxidizer for post treatment of OGZO films.
Claim 33 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kyung Won et al (U. S. Patent Application: 2015/0221507, here after Won), Oreste Madia et al (U.S. Patent Application: 2021/0118672, here after Madia), Eric A Burgett (U. S. Patent Application: 2017/0253992, here after Burgett), further in view of O Madia et al (Chinese Patent: 112687521, here after Madia).
Claim 33 is rejected. Won does not teach the aspect ratio of features. Madia teaches a method of depositing IGZO, and teaches the IGZO deposited on feature with aspect ratio of 80[page 16 last paragraph]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was made to have a method of Won, Media, and Burgett where aspect ratio of deposited film is more than 80, because it is suitable aspect ratio for making semiconductive devices.
Claims 30-32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kyung Won et al (U. S. Patent Application: 2015/0221507, here after Won), Oreste Madia et al (U.S. Patent Application: 2021/0118672, here after Madia), Eric A Burgett (U. S. Patent Application: 2017/0253992, here after Burgett), further in view of Sang Hee Park et al (Korean Patent: 100857455, here after Park).
Claim 30 is rejected. Won teaches oxidizer is ozone water or oxygen [0069, 0083], but does not teach is alcohol. However, alcohol is used as an oxidizer in forming TFT comprising IGZO as Park teaches [page 5 paragraph 1 last 2 lines]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was made to have a method of Won, Media, and Burgett where oxygen precursor is an alcohol, because it is an oxidizer for making IGZO films.
Claim 31 is rejected. Won teaches a post treatment similar to preheat treatment process and expose the substrate to oxygen containing gas [0083, 0069] and then pretreat the substrate and expose the substrate to reducing gas such as hydrogen (reactive species, plasma) [0070], but does not teach reducing gas consist of hydrazine. Burgett teaches prior to depositing, cleaning surface of substrate with hydrogen or hydrazine to remove extra oxygen [0060]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was made to have a method of Won and Media when cleaning is done with hydrazine, because it is suitable way to clean substrate and remove extra oxygen prior to depositing another layer. The examiner takes official notice that the nitrous oxide gas and oxygen radicals react to form NO and O2 therefore the amount of nitrogen-containing gas (NO2) provided varied during the post-deposition treatment.
Claim 32 is rejected as Won teaches the post-deposition treatment (similar to
pre-deposition) comprises a direct or remote plasma process [0068, 0069-0071, 0083,
0053].
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks, filed 06/18/26, with respect to 35 U.S.C 112(a) have been fully considered and are persuasive. The 35 U.S.C 112(a) of claim 19 has been withdrawn as the applicant amended the claim.
Applicant's arguments filed 06/18/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The applicant argues for claim 9 rejections Won does not teach pre-deposition treatment. The examiner disagrees, Won clearly teaches using plasma which in fact generate reactive species [0069] and this process can be done in for example fourth chamber.
The applicant argument regarding rejection of claim 18 is not persuasive as Won teaches redeposit process same as post deposit and Burgett teaches using hydrazine for treatment [see claim rejection above].
The applicant argument regarding claims 12-13 is not persuasive, Won teaches plasma treatment which is in fact comprising oxidant and reducing(hydrogen) and Burgett teaches reducing such as hydrogen or hydrazine.
Regarding claim 16 as the applicant amended the claims, Yokoi is not a part of rejection anymore.
Regarding claims 30-32 as the applicant amended the claims, Saly is not a part of rejection anymore.
Regarding claim 29, Cheng et al teach using peroxide as oxidizer agent (see claim rejection above).
The applicant argument regrading claim 19 is not convincing, Won teaches using CVD for depositing the films (see claim rejection above).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TABASSOM TADAYYON ESLAMI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1718