DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Claim(s) 8, 17 is/are cancelled; claim(s) 19-20 was/were withdrawn.
Claim(s) 1, 12 is/are amended.
Applicant’s arguments regarding amendments, see pp. 13-15, filed 01/30/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1, 4-6, 20, 12, 15 under 102 (a)(1)/(a)(2) have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of US 20220384144 to Long.
Regarding the objections to the drawings, specifically the first set of ducts, second set of ducts—Applicant states in the response to arguments (p. 13) that they are channels 422 and channels through connection elements 406. Examiner requests that Applicant use their own “already recited” lexicography from the specification, in the claims, for clarity. The drawings objections are hereby maintained.
Due to the explanations above, Applicant’s remaining arguments are rendered not persuasive.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the first set of ducts, second set of ducts, boundaries must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
Support structure (holding structure, para. [0048]) in at least claims 1-18.
Plasma generation cells (stems, plasma generating structures, para. [0050]) in at least claims 1-18.
Sealing structure (connection structure (para. [0055]) in at least claim 7.
Boundary structure (walls, para. [0069]) in at least claim 1, 12.
Plasma generating elements (electrodes, base structure, dielectric layer, electrical leads, para. [0063, 0065]) in at least claims 12-18.
This application includes one or more claim limitations that use the word “means” or “step” but are nonetheless not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph because the claim limitation(s) recite(s) sufficient structure, materials, or acts to entirely perform the recited function. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
Cover structure (connection structure, para. [0052]) in at least claim 4.
Boundaries (walls, para. 0054]) in at least claim 17.
If applicant intends to have this/these limitation(s) interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, applicant may: (1) amend the claim limitation(s) to remove the structure, materials, or acts that performs the claimed function; or (2) present a sufficient showing that the claim limitation(s) does/do not recite sufficient structure, materials, or acts to perform the claimed function.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4-6, 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20220384144 to Long in view of US 20180002203 to Yokoyama.
Claim 1: Long discloses a plasma processing system, comprising: a processing chamber (110/130, Fig. 1) configured to house a substrate (114 [workpiece]) within a first region of the processing chamber (inside 110 of 110/130); a support structure (136 [base plate], Fig. 2) disposed within the processing chamber (110/130), the support structure (136) forming a first set of ducts (140 [apertures], Fig. 4), the support structure (136) comprising a set of boundary structures (walls around 140) extending from the support structure (136) towards the first region of the processing chamber (inside 110 of 110/130), wherein each of the set of boundary structures (walls around 140) is disposed between proximately positioned plasma generation cells (133 [hybrid plasma sourcelets]) of a plurality of plasma generation cells (133, para. [0040]);
the plurality of plasma generation cells (133) each disposed on a corresponding duct (140) of the first set of ducts (140), wherein each of the plurality of plasma generation cells (133) is configured to be selectively activated or deactivated (para. [0041]), wherein, responsive to being activated, the plasma generation cell (133) is considered capable to supply plasma related fluxes to the first region of the processing chamber (110/130, para. [0030]); and
a network of electrical connectors (184 [RF feed], Fig. 8A) coupled to each of the plurality of plasma generating cells (133, para. [0043]), wherein the network of electrical connectors (184) are configured to supply electrical signals that selectively activate or deactivate individual plasma generation cells (133, para. [0043]).
However Long does not disclose the cells disposed within a corresponding duct.
Yokoyama teaches that plasma electrodes (12A, Fig. 1-5) can be either embedded within or disposed on a ceramic structural body (18) for the purpose of improving the energy efficiency of plasma generation (para. [0011]).
Additionally, the courts have held that the mere rearrangement of parts which does not modify the operation of a device is prima facie obvious. MPEP 2144.04 VI (C).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the options of arrangement as taught by Yokoyama with motivation to improve the energy efficiency of plasma generation.
Claim 4: The apparatus of Long in view of Yokoyama discloses further comprising a cover structure (142 [brackets], Fig. 8A, Long) forming a second set of ducts (144 of 146), wherein the plurality of plasma generation cells (133) are further disposed within a corresponding duct of the second set of ducts (144 of 146).
Claim 5: The apparatus of Long in view of Yokoyama discloses wherein the support structure (136, Fig. 2-7, Long) and the cover structure (142) form a second region (130) of the processing chamber (110/130), wherein the processing chamber (110/130) further comprises a gas inlet (151 [gas distribution channel]) configured to supply a process gas to the second region of the processing chamber (130 of 110/130, para. [0030]).
Claim 6: The apparatus of Long in view of Yokoyama discloses wherein the support structure (136, Fig. 2-7, Long) forms one or more gas injection sites (252/254, Fig. 11) configured to deliver the process gas to a corresponding plasma generating element (133) of each of the plurality of plasma generation cells (133, para. [0048]).
Claim 10: The apparatus of Long in view of Yokoyama discloses wherein each plasma generation cell (133, Fig. 2-7, Long) comprises an individual electrical connector (electrical connector connected to 134, Fig. 1) coupled to the network of electrical connectors (184) at a position outside the processing chamber (outside of 110/130, para. [0030]).
Claim(s) 2, 3, 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Long in view of Yokoyama as applied to claims 1, 4-6, 10 above, and further in view of US 20030007910 to Diamant Lazarovich.
Claims 2-3, 9: The apparatus of Long in view of Yokoyama does not explicitly disclose (claim 2) wherein the network of electrical connectors is configured to selectively activate or deactivate one of the plurality of plasma generation cells independently from other plasma generation cells of the plurality of plasma generation cells; (claim 3) wherein the network of electrical connectors is configured to selectively activate or deactivate each of the plurality of plasma generation cells independently from other plasma generation cells of the plurality of plasma generation cells; (claim 9) wherein the network of electrical connectors is configured to: selectively activate or deactivate a first set of the plurality of plasma generation cells together, wherein each cell of the first set are only activated or deactivated together; and selectively activate or deactivate a second set of the plurality of plasma generation cells together and independent from the first set of the plurality of plasma generation cells, wherein each cell of the second set are only activated or deactivated together.
Diamant Lazarovich discloses a plurality of plasma generation cells (“DBD cells”, Fig. 19-20) which are connected to electrical connectors (1018-1028 [electrical connectors]) which their own power supplies (1012-1016, para. [0071-0072]); wherein the plurality of plasma generation cells (1018-1028) can be selectively activated or deactivated independently or in groups (para. [0073-0076]) for the purpose of providing less thermal stress on the equipment and less waste heat (para. [0074]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the electrical connectors power requirements as taught by Diamant Lazarovich with motivation to provide less thermal stress on the equipment and less waste heat.
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Long in view of Yokoyama as applied to claims 1, 4-6, 10, and further in view of US 20080308409 to Brcka.
Claim 7: The apparatus of Long in view of Yokoyama does not explicitly disclose wherein the cover structure comprises a sealing structure configured to form a seal between the cover structure and each of the plurality of plasma generation cells.
However Brcka teaches that regarding the microcells, vacuum sealing can be done by methods known in the art for the purpose of forming a simplified assembly of a plasma source (para. [0060]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the sealing option(s) as taught by Brcka with motivation to form a simplified assembly of a plasma source.
Claim 8: (Cancelled).
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Long in view of Yokoyama as applied to claims 1, 4-6, 10 above, and further in view of US 20200258717 to Gandhiraman.
Claim 11: The apparatus of Long in view of Yokoyama does not explicitly disclose wherein each of the plurality of plasma generation cells is selectively removable from and selectively replaceable in the support structure.
Gandhiraman discloses wherein each of a plurality of plasma cells (“modules”) is selectively removable from and selectively replaceable in the support structure (modular assembly, para. [0212]) for the purpose of allowing for deposition and treatment of surfaces in many different applications (abstract).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the limitations above as taught by Gandhiraman with motivation to allow for deposition and treatment of surfaces in many different applications.
Claim(s) 12, 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20220384144 to Long in view of US 20180002203 to Yokoyama.
Claim 12: Long discloses a plasma generation assembly, comprising: a support structure (136 [base plate], Fig. 2) configured to be disposed within a processing chamber (110/130), the support structure (136) forming a first set of ducts (140 [apertures], Fig. 4), the support structure (136) comprising a set of boundary structures (walls around 140) extending from the support structure (136) towards the first region of the processing chamber (inside 110 of 110/130), wherein each of the set of boundary structures (walls around 140) is disposed between proximately positioned plasma generation cells (133 [hybrid plasma sourcelets]) of a plurality of plasma generation cells (133, para. [0040]);
the plurality of plasma generation cells (133) each disposed on a corresponding duct (140) of the first set of ducts (140), wherein each of the plurality of plasma generation cells (133) comprises:
a plasma generating element (133) configured to be selectively activated or deactivated (para. [0041]), wherein, responsive to being activated, the plasma generating element (133) is considered capable to supply plasma related fluxes to the first region of the processing chamber (110/130, para. [0030]); and
a network of electrical connectors (184 [RF feed], Fig. 8A) coupled to the plasma generating element (133, para. [0043]), wherein the network of electrical connectors (184) are configured to supply electrical signals that selectively activate or deactivate the plasma generating element (133, para. [0043]).
However Long does not disclose the cells disposed within a corresponding duct.
Yokoyama teaches that plasma electrodes (12A, Fig. 1-5) can be either embedded within or disposed on a ceramic structural body (18) for the purpose of improving the energy efficiency of plasma generation (para. [0011]).
Additionally, the courts have held that the mere rearrangement of parts which does not modify the operation of a device is prima facie obvious. MPEP 2144.04 VI (C).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the options of arrangement as taught by Yokoyama with motivation to improve the energy efficiency of plasma generation.
Claim 15: The apparatus of Long in view of Yokoyama discloses wherein the support structure (136, Fig. 2-7, Long) forms one or more gas injection sites (252/254, Fig. 11) configured to deliver the process gas to a corresponding plasma generating element (133) of each of the plurality of plasma generation cells (133, para. [0048]).
Claim(s) 13, 14, 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Long in view of Yokoyama as applied to claims 12, 15 above, and further in view of US 20030007910 to Diamant Lazarovich.
Claims 13-14, 16: The apparatus of Long in view of Yokoyama does not explicitly disclose (claim 13) where the network of electrical connectors is configured to selectively activate or deactivate one of the plurality of plasma generation cells independently from other plasma generation cell of the plurality of plasma generation cells; (claim 14) where the network of electrical connectors is configured to selectively activate or deactivate each of the plurality of plasma generation cells independently from other plasma generation cells of the plurality of plasma generation cells; (claim 16) wherein a first set of the plurality of plasma generation cells are configured to be selectively activated or deactivated together; and a second set of the plurality of plasma generation cells are configured to be selectively activated or deactivated together and independent from the first set of the plurality of plasma generation cells.
Diamant Lazarovich discloses a plurality of plasma generation cells (“DBD cells”, Fig. 19-20) which are connected to electrical connectors (1018-1028 [electrical connectors]) which their own power supplies (1012-1016, para. [0071-0072]); wherein the plurality of plasma generation cells (1018-1028) can be selectively activated or deactivated independently or in groups (para. [0073-0076]) for the purpose of providing less thermal stress on the equipment and less waste heat (para. [0074]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the electrical connectors power requirements as taught by Diamant Lazarovich with motivation to provide less thermal stress on the equipment and less waste heat.
Claim 17: (Cancelled).
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Long in view of Yokoyama as applied to claims 12, 15 above, and further in view of US 20200258717 to Gandhiraman.
Claim 18: The apparatus of Long in view of Yokoyama does not explicitly disclose, wherein each of the plurality of plasma generation cells is selectively removable from and selectively replaceable in the support structure.
Gandhiraman discloses wherein each of a plurality of plasma cells (“modules”) is selectively removable from and selectively replaceable in the support structure (modular assembly, para. [0212]) for the purpose of allowing for deposition and treatment of surfaces in many different applications (abstract).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the limitations above as taught by Gandhiraman with motivation to allow for deposition and treatment of surfaces in many different applications.
19-20. (Withdrawn)
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 20240170261 discloses a dielectric barrier discharge (DBD) edge plasma generator (709, Fig. 7) including a plurality of electrodes (705), and plasma source (138, para. [0046]). US 11466366 discloses a plurality of discharge cells (70, Fig. 1) includes first electrode portions (1 and 2) and second electrode portions (5, 31, and 3), with openings (102) is formed so as to penetrate the first dielectric (2) and the low voltage electrode (1). US 20220384144 discloses a plasma source array (130, Fig. 3) coupled to an RF power generator (134, Fig. 1) having a dielectric tube (170) and inductively coil (180) surrounding the tube (para. [0042-0044], Fig. 8A-8D).
/Charlee J. C. Bennett/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1718