DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-10, in the reply filed on 7 August 2023 is acknowledged. Claim 4 has since been cancelled. Claim 21 is added.
Claims 11-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to nonelected inventions, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the aforementioned reply.
Applicant is reminded that upon the cancelation of claims to a non-elected invention, the inventorship must be corrected in compliance with 37 CFR 1.48(a) if one or more of the currently named inventors is no longer an inventor of at least one claim remaining in the application. A request to correct inventorship under 37 CFR 1.48(a) must be accompanied by an application data sheet in accordance with 37 CFR 1.76 that identifies each inventor by his or her legal name and by the processing fee required under 37 CFR 1.17(i).
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: a control unit in claims 8 and 9 which has been interpreted as storage and software programmed and configured to control operation of the coating process performed in the system, as set forth in the disclosure at for example paras. 37-39.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5, 8-10 and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2022/0112594 to Allison et al. in view of U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2009/0050058 to Ovshinsky et al.
Regarding claims 1 and 10: Allison et al. disclose a system capable of chemical vapor deposition coating on fiber tows substantially as claimed and comprising: a coater (Fi. 1, 100) comprising a housing (e.g., 110, 120 and 130) having a tow entrance (150 between 110 and 120), a reactor (120), and a tow exit (150 between 120 and 130) defining an inner space, the reactor further comprising a process gas inlet (162, see, e.g., para. 28), a reactor tow inlet (right 350 in Fig. 3 in left 150 of Figs. 1, 2A) and a reactor tow outlet (left 350 in Fig. 3 in right 150 of Figs. 1, 2A), the tow entrance further comprising a tow entrance inlet (left 350 in Fig. 3 in left 150 of Figs. 1, 2A), and the tow exit further comprising a tow exit outlet (right 350 in Fig. 3 in right 150 of Figs. 1, 2A); at least one marker gas inlet (e.g., 324 in either/both 150) and at least one marker gas detection probe (Fig. 7, 772) both positioned at at least one of the tow entrance and the tow exit; a source of marker gas (734) communicated with the at least one marker gas inlet; wherein the at least one marker gas inlet is positioned between the at least one marker gas detection probe both the reactor tow inlet and the reactor tow outlet, whereby (during an intended use of the apparatus) marker gas flowing from the at least one marker gas inlet away from the coater may be detected by the at least one marker gas detection probe. Regarding intended use, Examiner notes that the courts have ruled a claim containing a “recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus” if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987).
Additionally, it is noted that in Allison et al., the at least marker gas inlet is positioned between the at least one marker gas detection probe and at least one of the tow entrance inlet and the tow exit outlet, whereby marker gas flowing from the at least one marker gas inlet away from the reactor is capable of being detected by the at least one marker gas detection probe.
Allison et al. disclose the apparatus/system substantially as claimed and as described above.
However, Allison et al. fail to explicitly disclose a process gas outlet for the reactor.
Ovshinsky et al. disclose a reactor having a process gas outlet (Fig. 2, 20) adapted for connection to a vacuum pump for the purposes of (1) exhausting depleted reaction products; and (2) maintaining the interior of the reactor at an appropriate sub-atmospheric background pressure (see, e.g., para. 41).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before Applicant’s invention was effectively filed to have provided the reactor in Allison et al. comprising a process gas outlet in order (1) exhaust depleted reaction products; and (2) maintain the interior of the reactor at an appropriate sub-atmospheric background pressure as taught by Ovshinsky et al.
With respect to claim 2, in modified Allison et al., Allison et al. may further comprise a pump (735) communicated with the interior space of the coater whereby operation of the pump can be adjusted to adjust pressure in the interior space.
With respect to claim 3, in modified Allison et al., Allison et al. may further comprise a take-off spool (114) capable of feeding fiber tow to the tow entrance, and a take-up spool (134) capable of receiving coated fiber tow from the tow exit.
With respect to claim 5, in modified Allison et al., Allison et al. teach the source of marker gas inert carrier gas containing a detectable fraction of detectible gas (i.e. argon).
Regarding claims 8-9, modified Allison et al. disclose the system substantially as claimed and as described above.
However, modified Allison et al. fail to explicitly disclose a control unit configured to receive input from the at least one marker gas detection probe, and upon receiving input indicating no marker gas detected, configured to operate the coater at a higher pressure in the interior space and/or change operation of the pump to operate the coater at a higher pressure in the interior space.
Ovshinsky teach providing a control unit (i.e., feedback control element is considered to be an equivalent thereto) configured to receive input from at least one probe (diagnostic element [including chemical and elemental sensors (see, e.g., paras. 74-82) at various points of a coater for the purpose of providing real-time optimization of processing conditions during processing (including pressure differentials) so that process conditions may be adjusted (i.e. changed) as necessary to ensure optimal conditions are maintained in real time. Note: “no marker gas detected” is considered to be a processing condition clearly recognizable to one of ordinary skill in the art to relate to the capability to maintain a desired pressure differential.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before Applicant’s invention was effectively filed to have provided in modified Fujioka et al. a control unit configured to receive input from the at least one marker gas probe and or other probes provided at various points the coater in order to provide real-time optimization of processing conditions during processing (including pressure differentials by adjusting pumping operation) so that process conditions may be adjusted as necessary to insure optimal conditions are maintained in real time as taught by Ovshinsky.
With respect to claim 21, in Allison et al., the tow entrance inlet, the tow exit outlet, reactor tow inlet, reactor tow outlet are separate from the process gas inlet and the process gas outlet.
Claim(s) 6-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over modified Allison et al. as applied to claims 1-3, 5, 8-10 and 21 in view of U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2011/018906 to Cao et al.
Modified Allison et al. disclose the system substantially as claimed and as described above.
However, Allison et al. fail to disclose the source of marker gas comprises a source of nitrogen gas dosed with helium, such that the at least one marker gas detection probe is provided to detect (i.e. capable of detecting) helium.
Cao et al. teaches providing a sweep gas (commensurate to marker gas) for a gas gate configured to admit any sweep gas, such as, e.g., one or more of H2, N2, He, Ne and Ar (see, e.g., para. 54). Additionally, the courts have ruled that the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use is prima facie obviousness. Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before Applicant’s invention was effectively filed to have provided the source of marker gas comprises a source of nitrogen gas dosed with helium as a known marker/sweep gas composition as taught by Cao et al.
With respect to claim 7, in modified Allison et al., one of ordinary skill in the art exercising ordinary creativity, common sense and logic would find it obvious to provide the at least one marker gas detection probe comprises a probe configured to detect helium when the marker gas comprises the same as set forth above.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments and accompanying amendments with respect to the drawings, specification and 35 USC 112 have been fully considered and are. Thus, they have been withdrawn. However, Applicant’s arguments with respect to the previously and presently relied upon prior art are not persuasive. See below explanations.
Applicant has argued that the process gas inlet in Allison et al. should not be considered a process gas inlet under BRI. Examiner disagrees and notes that Allison et al. in particular discloses that the evaporation source provides evaporated materials in a gaseous phase into the coater (see, e.g., paras. 27-27) and thus can serve as a process gas inlet under BRI. Notably, Applicant has not pointed to any specific deficiency with respect to the interpretation under BRI.
Regarding the relative positioning of the at least one marker gas inlet, the at least one marker gas detection and the tow entrance inlet relative to one another, Examiner disagrees that the positioning fails to meet the claim limitations. See above annotated rejections regarding the relative positioning of the features at issue. Examiner also notes that the configuration of Fig. 3 is provided in a mirror-like configuration on the outlet side of the vacuum chamber/coater as taught by Allison.
Applicant has also argued that Allison fails to disclose a marker gas inlet and detection probe as claimed. Examiner also disagrees with this statement. In claim 1, the function of the claimed marker gas detection probe is to “wherein …the at least one marker gas detection probe…, whereby marker gas flowing from the marker gas inlet away from the coater is detected by the marker gas detection probe”. Examiner submits that a pressure gauge positioned as claimed would be capable of at least generically detecting marker gas based on pressure indicated the presence thereof, and potentially more specifically, depending on the manner in which the apparatus is being used or a more specific type of pressure gauge (e.g., knowing the expected pressure and/or using a pressure gauge/apparatus making use of partial pressures). However, the claimed apparatus is not drawn to a manner of using or a method of using the claimed apparatus. It is drawn to the apparatus. In response to Applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., a specific method of using the claimed apparatus) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
As previously mentioned, in order to advance examination, Examiner suggests incorporating claim 8 into independent claim 1 and further clarifying the control unit configured to receive the input in-situ during chemical vapor deposition on the tow in the reactor. Alternatively, a separate application drawn to a method may be fruitful.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. U.S. Pat. Pub. No. 2021/0348268 discloses a deposition chamber with probes/sensors for optimizing processing therein.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KARLA A MOORE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1716