Detailed Action
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Invention I in the reply filed on 01/06/2022 is acknowledged.
Claims 10-16 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 01/06/2022.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-9 and 17-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 of U.S. Patent No. 11367695 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because
Regarding claim 1, Claim 1 of 11367695 teaches an interposer, comprising: a first conductive layer comprising a first signal line and a second signal line; a second conductive layer comprising a third signal line and a fourth signal line; a plurality of capacitors positioned between the first conductive layer and the second conductive layer, each of the plurality of capacitors comprising a first conductive plate and a second conductive plate; a plurality of first connectors, a respective first connector of the plurality of first connectors connecting the first conductive plate of a respective capacitor of the plurality of capacitors to the first signal line in the first conductive layer; a plurality of second connectors, a respective second connector of the plurality of second connectors connecting the second conductive plate of the respective capacitor of the plurality capacitors to the second signal line in the first conductive layer wherein: the plurality of first connectors are arranged to overlap and alternate with the plurality of second connectors along a first dimension of the interposer, wherein the first dimension extends perpendicular to a thickness direction of the interposer; each of the plurality of first connectors extend out from the first signal line along a second dimension of the interposer towards the second signal line, wherein the second dimension extends perpendicular to the first dimension and the thickness direction; and each of the plurality of second connectors extend out from the second signal line along the second dimension of the interposer towards the first signal line.
Regarding claim 2, Claim 1 of 11367695 teaches one or more third connectors spaced apart from the first and the second conductive plates, a respective third connector of the one or more third connectors connecting the first signal line in the first conductive layer to the third signal line in the second conductive layer; and one or more fourth connectors spaced apart from the first and the second conductive plates, a respective fourth connector of the one or more fourth connectors connecting the second signal line in the first conductive layer to the fourth signal line in the second conductive layer.
Regarding claim 3, Claim 2 of 11367695 teaches a portion of a third dimension of each first connector overlaps a portion of the third dimension of an adjacent second connector.
Regarding claim 4, Claim 3 of 11367695 teaches the second dimension of the interposer is less than the first dimension
Regarding claim 5, Claims 4 and 5 of 11367695 teaches he first conductive plate comprises a capacitor top metal plate, and wherein the second conductive plate comprises a capacitor bottom metal plate
Regarding claim 6, Claim 6 of 11367695 teaches in a first area of the interposer, each of the plurality of first connectors extends out from the first signal line along the second dimension of the interposer towards the second signal line and each of the plurality of second connectors extends out from the second signal line along the second dimension of the interposer towards the first signal line; in a second area of the interposer, each of the plurality of first connectors extends out from the first signal line along a third dimension of the interposer towards another second signal line and each of the plurality of second connectors extends out from the another second signal line along the third dimension of the interposer; and a portion of a fourth dimension of each of the plurality of first connectors overlaps a portion of the fourth dimension of an adjacent second connector.
Regarding claim 7, Claim 7 of 11367695 teaches each of the plurality of first connectors the plurality of second connectors comprise a set of one or more connectors.
Regarding claim 8, Claim 21 of 11367695 teaches a via formed in the first conductive plate, wherein the respective second connector is positioned in the via to connect the second conductive plate of the respective capacitor to the second signal line in the first conductive layer.
Regarding claim 9, Claim 22 of 11367695 teaches a through-silicon via formed in the interposer for routing a signal line.
Regarding claim 17, Claim 30 of 11367695 teaches an interposer, comprising: a first conductive layer comprising a first signal line and a second signal line; a second conductive layer comprising a third signal line and a fourth signal line; a plurality of capacitors positioned between the first conductive layer and the second conductive layer, each of the plurality of capacitors comprising a first conductive plate and a second conductive plate parallel to the first conductive plate; a plurality of first connectors, a respective first connector of the plurality of first connectors connecting the first conductive plate of a respective capacitor of the plurality of capacitors to the first signal line in the first conductive layer; a plurality of second connectors, a respective second connector of the plurality of second connectors connecting the second conductive plate of the respective capacitor of the plurality of capacitors to the second signal line in the first conductive layer, and wherein: the plurality of first connectors are arranged to overlap and alternate with the plurality of second connectors along a first dimension of the interposer, wherein the first dimension extends perpendicular to a thickness direction of the interposer, each of the plurality of first connectors extend out from the first signal line along a second dimension of the interposer towards the second signal line, wherein the second dimension extends perpendicular to the first dimension and the thickness direction, and each of the plurality of second connectors extends out from the second signal line along the second dimension of the interposer towards the first signal line
Regarding claim 18, Claim 31 of 11367695 teaches each of the plurality of capacitors comprises a metal-insulator-metal capacitor.
Regarding claim 19, Claim 32 of 11367695 teaches a through-silicon via formed in the interposer for routing a signal line.
Regarding claim 20, Claim 33 of 11367695 teaches a via formed in the first conductive plate, wherein the respective second connector is positioned in the via to connect the second conductive plate of the respective capacitor to the second signal line in the first conductive layer.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the interposer wherein “each of the plurality of second connectors extend out from the second signal line along the second dimension of the interposer towards the first signal line” and “each of the plurality of second connectors extends out from the another second signal line along the third dimension of the interposer” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 6, the claim recites “each of the plurality of first connectors extends out from the first signal line along a third dimension of the interposer towards another second signal line and each of the plurality of second connectors extends out from the another second signal line along the third dimension of the interposer” in lines 6-9 however this is unclear as no embodiment is described in which both the above statement is true and “each of the plurality of second connectors extend out from the second signal line along the second dimension of the interposer towards the first signal line” as required by claim 1 on which claim 6 depends so that it is unclear if this limitation is meant to require such a structure or if applicant meant --each of another plurality of first connectors extends out from the first signal line along a third dimension of the interposer towards another second signal line and each of another plurality of second connectors extends out from the another second signal line along the third dimension of the interposer--, for the purpose of examination the latter interpretation will be taken.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3-5, 7, 17-18 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Yen et. Al. (US 20140264742 A1 hereinafter Yen).
Regarding claims 1 and 17, Yen teaches in Figs. 6-9 with associated text an interposer, comprising:
a first conductive layer 60 comprising a first signal line 600 and a second signal line 610 Fig. 6, [0034[);
a second conductive layer (layer comprising 652 and 642 for example) comprising a third signal line 652 and a fourth signal line 642 (Figs. 8-9, [0039]);
a plurality of capacitors (capacitors made up of 702-704 and 711-713) positioned between the first conductive layer and the second conductive layer, each of the plurality of capacitors comprising a first conductive plate (711-713) and a second conductive plate (702-704 or 622 along with similar interconnected electrodes in the same plane) (Fig; 7, [0038]) regarding claim 17 parallel to the first conductive plate (Fig; 7, [0038]),
a plurality of first connectors (601-604), a respective first connector of the plurality of first connectors connecting the first conductive plate of a respective capacitor of the plurality of capacitors to the first signal line in the first conductive layer (Figs. 6 and 8, [0038]);
a plurality of second connectors (611-614), a respective second connector of the plurality of second connectors connecting the second conductive plate of the respective capacitor of the plurality capacitors to the second signal line in the first conductive layer (Figs. 7 and 9, [0038])
wherein:
the plurality of first connectors are arranged to overlap and alternate with the plurality of second connectors along a first dimension (x direction) of the interposer, wherein the first dimension extends perpendicular to a thickness direction of the interposer (Fig. 6);
each of the plurality of first connectors extend out from the first signal line along a second dimension (y direction) of the interposer towards the second signal line, wherein the second dimension extends perpendicular to the first dimension and the thickness direction (Fig. 6); and
each of the plurality of second connectors extend out from the second signal line along the second dimension of the interposer towards the first signal line (Fig. 6).
Regarding claim 3, Yen teaches a portion of a third dimension of each first connector overlaps a portion of the third dimension of an adjacent second connector (Fig. 6 and 8-9).
Regarding claim 4, Yen teaches the second dimension of the interposer is less than the first dimension (here the first dimension is interpreted to be the length of 600 and 610 in the x direction and the second dimension is interpreted to be the length of 600 and 610 in the y direction Fig. 6).
Regarding claim 5, Yen teaches the first conductive plate comprises a capacitor top metal plate, and wherein the second conductive plate comprises a capacitor bottom metal plate (here 622 along with similar interconnected electrodes in the same plane are interpreted to be the second conductive plates Fig. 7 metal is used .[0047]).
Regarding claim 7, Yen teaches each of the plurality of first connectors the plurality of second connectors comprise a set of one or more connectors (vias each connector include a plurality of vias Figs. 8-9).
Regarding claim 18, Yen teaches each of the plurality of capacitors comprises a metal-insulator-metal capacitor (Fig. 7, insulator [0036] and metal [0047[ materials are used for the capacitor).
Regarding claim 20, Yen teaches a via formed in the first conductive plate, wherein the respective second connector is positioned in the via to connect the second conductive plate of the respective capacitor to the second signal line in the first conductive layer.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yen as applied to claim 1.
Regarding claim 6, Yen teaches The interposer of claim 1, wherein: in a first area of the interposer, each of the plurality of first connectors extends out from the first signal line along the second dimension of the interposer towards the second signal line and each of the plurality of second connectors extends out from the second signal line along the second dimension of the interposer towards the first signal line Fig. 6.
Yen does not specify in a second area of the interposer, each of another plurality of first connectors extends out from the first signal line along a third dimension of the interposer towards another second signal line and each of another plurality of second connectors extends out from the another second signal line along the third dimension of the interposer; and a portion of a fourth dimension of each of the plurality of first connectors overlaps a portion of the fourth dimension of an adjacent second connector.
Yen discloses in the embodiment of Figs. 1 with associated text however a first area (area between 131 and 101) similar to that of the embodiment of Figs 6-9 and a second area (area between 101 and 121) in a second area of an interposer, each of the plurality of first connectors (102-103) extends out from the first signal line 101 along a third dimension (length of second area in the y direction Fig. 1) of the interposer towards another second signal line 121 and each of the plurality of second connectors (124-125) extends out from the another second signal line along the third dimension of the interposer (Fig. 1); and a portion of a fourth dimension of each of the plurality of first connectors overlaps a portion of the fourth dimension of an adjacent second connector
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use and arrangement similar to that of Yen Fig. 1 to include further connectors in the embodiment of Yen shown in Figs. 6-9 because doing so would improve at least parasitic performance (e.g., parasitic resistance and inductance) of the integrated capacitor while maintaining high capacitor density (capacitance/area) [0013].
Claims 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yen as applied to claim 1 and further in view of Inagaki et. Al. (US 20050157478 A1 hereinafter Inagaki).
Regarding claim 8, Yen teaches the interposer of claim 1.
Yen does not specify a via formed in the first conductive plate, wherein the respective second connector is positioned in the via to connect the second conductive plate of the respective capacitor to the second signal line in the first conductive layer.
Inagaki discloses in Figs. 18(D) and 69 with associated text a via (opening in 24 for 22 Figs. 18(D) and 69) formed in the first conductive plate, wherein a respective second connector is positioned in the via to connect the second conductive plate of the respective capacitor to the second signal line in the first conductive layer (Fig. 69).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a capacitor plate with via structure similar to that of Inagaki for the capacitor plates of Yen because according to Yen by doing so a capacitor having a large capacity can be formed [0598].
Claims 9 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yen as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of Kuo et. Al. (US 20160071805 A1 hereinafter Kuo).
Regarding claims 9 and 19, Yen teaches the interposer of claim 1 and 17.
Yen does not specify a through-silicon via formed in the interposer for routing a signal line.
Kuo discloses in Figs. 3A with associated text a through-silicon via 44 formed in an interposer similar to that of Yen for routing a signal line 38 (paragraph [0022], Fig. 3A).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a through-silicon via in the interposer of Yen for routing a signal line as taught by Kuo because according to Kuo such a through-silicon via is useful for coupling to further components (Kuo paragraph [0022]) furthermore using such a through-silicon via in an interposer was very well known in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Conclusion
/AARON J GRAY/Examiner, Art Unit 2897