Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “first through holes”, “first arc shape”, “second arc shape”, “first one of the plurality of first through holes”, “first and a second ones of the plurality of second through holes”, “first one of the plurality of recesses”, “second one of the plurality of first through holes”, “third and a fourth ones of the plurality of second through holes”, “first recess”, “second recess” must be shown or the features canceled from the claims. No new matter should be entered.
Specification
The specification is objected to as failing to provide proper antecedent basis for the claimed subject matter. See 37 CFR 1.75(d)(1) and MPEP § 608.01(o). Correction of the following is required: See above drawing objections.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 6, 8, 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nagakubo; Keiichi et al. (US 20110024044 A1) in view of Choi; Soo Young et al. (US 20080302303 A1). Nagakubo teaches a shower head (16; Figure 1; [0026]) through which a processing gas is supplied into an inside of a processing chamber (1; Figure 1), comprising: a cooling plate (18a; Figure 1; [0027]) having a gas diffusion chamber (“ The upper electrode 18 and the cooling plate 18a are provided with gas discharge holes (not shown in FIG. 1)”; [0028]), and a plurality of first through holes (holes in 18a; not shown; [0028]-not shown by Applicants) passing through from the gas diffusion chamber (“ The upper electrode 18 and the cooling plate 18a are provided with gas discharge holes (not shown in FIG. 1)”; [0028]) to a first surface (bottom of 18a) on a processing chamber (1; Figure 1) side and through which the processing gas flows; an upper electrode (18; Figure 1-3; [0028]) having a second surface (top of 18) in contact with the first surface (bottom of 18a) of the cooling plate (18a; Figure 1; [0027]), a third surface (inner surface of chamber 1; Figure 1) configured to form an inner surface of the processing chamber (1; Figure 1), and a plurality of second through holes (186,184; Figure 2-Applicant’s 13xxy; Figure 3) passing through from the second surface (top of 18) to the third surface (inner surface of chamber 1; Figure 1); and a plurality of recesses (185; Figure 2,3-Applicant’s 13Bg; Figure 2,3) formed in the first surface (bottom of 18a) or the second surface (top of 18) and provided apart from each other, wherein a first one of the plurality of first through holes (holes in 18a; not shown; [0028]-not shown by Applicants) is connected to at least a first and a second ones of the plurality of second through holes (186,184; Figure 2-Applicant’s 13xxy; Figure 3) via a first one of the plurality of recesses (185; Figure 2,3-Applicant’s 13Bg; Figure 2,3), a second one of the plurality of first through holes (holes in 18a; not shown; [0028]-not shown by Applicants) is connected to at least a third and a fourth ones of the plurality of second through holes (186,184; Figure 2-Applicant’s 13xxy; Figure 3) via a second one of the plurality of recesses (185; Figure 2,3-Applicant’s 13Bg; Figure 2,3), from a top view (Figure 2) of the cooling plate (18a; Figure 1; [0027]) and the upper electrode (18; Figure 1-3; [0028]), the first one of the plurality of second through holes (186,184; Figure 2-Applicant’s 13xxy; Figure 3), the first one of the plurality of first through holes (holes in 18a; not shown; [0028]-not shown by Applicants), and the second one of the plurality of second through holes (186,184; Figure 2-Applicant’s 13xxy; Figure 3) are located with this order to have a first arc shape, from the top view (Figure 2) of the cooling plate (18a; Figure 1; [0027]) and the upper electrode (18; Figure 1-3; [0028]), the third one of the plurality of second through holes (186,184; Figure 2-Applicant’s 13xxy; Figure 3), the second one of the plurality of first through holes (holes in 18a; not shown; [0028]-not shown by Applicants), and the fourth one of the plurality of second through holes (186,184; Figure 2-Applicant’s 13xxy; Figure 3) are located with this order to have a second arc shape, the first arc shape and the second arc shape are segments of a circumference of a same circle, and each of the plurality of second through holes (186,184; Figure 2-Applicant’s 13xxy; Figure 3) has a throttle portion (186; Figure 2,3-Applicant’s 13Bj1,2; Figure 3) at a connection portion with each of the plurality of recesses (185; Figure 2,3-Applicant’s 13Bg; Figure 2,3), the throttle portion (186; Figure 2,3-Applicant’s 13Bj1,2; Figure 3) extending vertically from each of the plurality of recesses (185; Figure 2,3-Applicant’s 13Bg; Figure 2,3) to each of the plurality of second through holes (186,184; Figure 2-Applicant’s 13xxy; Figure 3) – claim 1
Nagakubo further teaches:
A plasma processing apparatus comprising the shower head (16; Figure 1; [0026]) of claim 1, as claimed by claim 6
The shower head (16; Figure 1; [0026]) of claim 1, wherein from the top view (Figure 2) of the cooling plate (18a; Figure 1; [0027]) and the upper electrode (18; Figure 1-3; [0028]), a third one of the at least two of the second through holes (186,184; Figure 2-Applicant’s 13xxy; Figure 3), the one of the plurality of first through holes (holes in 18a; not shown; [0028]-not shown by Applicants), and a fourth one of the at least two of the second through holes (186,184; Figure 2-Applicant’s 13xxy; Figure 3) are located with this order to a linear shape, and the arc shape and the linear shape intersect each other with the one of the plurality of first through holes (holes in 18a; not shown; [0028]-not shown by Applicants) being an intersection of the arc shape and the linear shape intersect to have a cross shape, as claimed by claim 8
Nagakubo is believed to teach:
The shower head (16; Figure 1; [0026]) of claim 1, wherein from the top view (Figure 2) of the cooling plate (18a; Figure 1; [0027]) and the upper electrode (18; Figure 1-3; [0028]), the first one of the plurality of second through holes (186,184; Figure 2-Applicant’s 13xxy; Figure 3), the first one of the plurality of first through holes (holes in 18a; not shown; [0028]-not shown by Applicants), the second one of the plurality of second through holes (186,184; Figure 2-Applicant’s 13xxy; Figure 3), the third one of the plurality of second through holes (186,184; Figure 2-Applicant’s 13xxy; Figure 3), the second one of the plurality of first through holes (holes in 18a; not shown; [0028]-not shown by Applicants), and the fourth one of the plurality of second through holes (186,184; Figure 2-Applicant’s 13xxy; Figure 3) are located with this order on the same circle, as claimed by claim 13
Nagakubo does not teach the throttle portion (186; Figure 2,3-Applicant’s 13Bj1,2; Figure 3) having a flow path narrower than a flow path of each of the plurality of second through holes (186,184; Figure 2-Applicant’s 13xxy; Figure 3) – claim 1.
Choi also teaches a showerhead (110; Figure 1; 902; Figure 9C) in a plasma processing system (Figure 1) with through-hole distributions as claimed – four chords of a circle, forming a square within the circle, with a hole at each corner of the square. Choi also teaches throttle portions or “chokes” (smaller diameter upstream of 1710; Figure 17A-Applicant’s 13Bj1,2; Figure 3) having a flow path narrower than a flow path of each of the downstream through hole (1710; Figure 17A-Applicant’s 13xxy; Figure 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for Nagakubo to add Choi’s throttle portions or “chokes” to Nagakubo’s upper electrode (18; Figure 1-3) lower member (181; Figure 3). Further, for Nagakubo to optimize Nagakubo’s hole distribution as taught by Choi.
Motivation for Nagakubo to add Choi’s throttle portions or “chokes” to Nagakubo’s upper electrode (18; Figure 1-3) lower member (181; Figure 3) and for optimize Nagakubo’s hole distribution as taught by Choi is at leas for controlling gas flow resistance across showerheads for flow gradient benefits such as “adjusting the deposited film profile, properties, uniformity of the film properties, and thickness..” as taught by Choi ([0049]).
Claims 2, 11, 14, 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nagakubo; Keiichi et al. (US 20110024044 A1) in view of Choi; Soo Young et al. (US 20080302303 A1) and Je; Sung-Tae et al. (US 20160289831 A1). Nagakubo is discussed above and further teaches only circular recess such that he shower head (16; Figure 1; [0026]) of claim 1, wherein from the top view (Figure 2) of the cooling plate (18a; Figure 1; [0027]) and the upper electrode (18; Figure 1-3; [0028]), the first one of the plurality of second through holes (186,184; Figure 2-Applicant’s 13xxy; Figure 3), the first one of the plurality of first through holes (holes in 18a; not shown; [0028]-not shown by Applicants), and the second one of the plurality of second through holes (186,184; Figure 2-Applicant’s 13xxy; Figure 3) are located in a first recess (first 185; Figure 2,3-not shown by Applicant) of the plurality of recesses (185; Figure 2,3-Applicant’s 13Bg; Figure 2,3) with this order, the first recess (first 185; Figure 2,3-not shown by Applicant) having a first circular shape (not claimed), the first one of the plurality of second through holes (186,184; Figure 2-Applicant’s 13xxy; Figure 3) and the second one of the plurality of second through holes (186,184; Figure 2-Applicant’s 13xxy; Figure 3) being located at opposite end portions of the first recess (first 185; Figure 2,3-not shown by Applicant), from the top view (Figure 2) of the cooling plate (18a; Figure 1; [0027]) and the upper electrode (18; Figure 1-3; [0028]), the third one of the plurality of second through holes (186,184; Figure 2-Applicant’s 13xxy; Figure 3), the second one of the plurality of first through holes (holes in 18a; not shown; [0028]-not shown by Applicants), and the fourth one of the plurality of second through holes (186,184; Figure 2-Applicant’s 13xxy; Figure 3) are located in a second recess (second 185; Figure 2,3-not shown by Applicant) of the plurality of recesses (185; Figure 2,3-Applicant’s 13Bg; Figure 2,3) with this order, the second recess (second 185; Figure 2,3-not shown by Applicant) having a second circular shape (not claimed), the third one of the plurality of second through holes (186,184; Figure 2-Applicant’s 13xxy; Figure 3) and the fourth one of the plurality of second through holes (186,184; Figure 2-Applicant’s 13xxy; Figure 3) being located at opposite end portions of the second recess (second 185; Figure 2,3-not shown by Applicant) - claim 14
Nagakubo further teaches the shower head (16; Figure 1; [0026]) of claim 1, wherein the first recess (first 185; Figure 2,3-not shown by Applicant) and the second recess (second 185; Figure 2,3-not shown by Applicant) are segments of the circumference of the same circle, and the first recess (first 185; Figure 2,3-not shown by Applicant) and the second recess (second 185; Figure 2,3-not shown by Applicant) are located on opposite sides of the same circle, as claimed by claim 15
Nagakubo and Choi are discussed above. Nagakubo and Choi do not teach:
The shower head (16; Figure 1; [0026]) of claim 1, wherein at least one of the plurality of recesses (185; Figure 2,3-Applicant’s 13Bg; Figure 2,3) is formed to have an arc shape, as claimed by claim 2
The shower head (16; Figure 1; [0026]) of claim 2, wherein the plurality of recesses (185; Figure 2,3-Applicant’s 13Bg; Figure 2,3) are formed to have a plurality of arc shapes in a concentric circle, as claimed by claim 11
Arc shaped recess (185; Figure 2,3-not shown by Applicant) – claim 14
Je was discussed in the prior office action. Je teaches wherein at least one of the plurality of recesses is formed to have an arc shape (Je, Fig. 6 and Fig. 7, [0052], plurality of recessed regions 75b are in an arc shape and extend concentrically from center, embodied by recessed regions 75c). Je is considered analogous art to the claimed invention because it is in the same field of semiconductor processing.
However, Je teaches wherein the plurality of recesses are formed to have a plurality of arc shapes in a concentric circle (Je, Fig. 6 and Fig. 7, [0052], plurality of recessed regions 75b are in an arc shape and extend concentrically from center, embodied by recessed regions 75c).
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art as of the effective filing date to have modified the arrangement of the recessed regions of Nagakubo in the arc shape of Je. Motivation for doing so would prevent reaction gas supplied from one region to diffuse to another region (Je, [0054]).
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art as of the effective filing date to have modified the arrangement of the recessed regions of Nagakubo in the arc shape of Je. Doing so would prevent reaction gas supplied from one region to diffuse to another region (Je, [0054]).
Claims 4, 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nagakubo; Keiichi et al. (US 20110024044 A1) in view of Choi; Soo Young et al. (US 20080302303 A1) and Hirayama; Masaki et al. (US 20110180213 A1). Nagakubo and Choi are discussed above. Nagakubo and Choi do not teach:
The shower head (16; Figure 1; [0026]) of claim 8, wherein at least one of the plurality of recesses (185; Figure 2,3-Applicant’s 13Bg; Figure 2,3) is formed to have the cross shape, as claimed by claim 4
The shower head (16; Figure 1; [0026]) of claim 4, wherein the plurality of recesses (185; Figure 2,3-Applicant’s 13Bg; Figure 2,3) are formed to have a plurality of cross shapes in a concentric circle, as claimed by claim 12
However, Hirayama teaches wherein at least one of the plurality of recesses is formed to have a cross shape (Hirayama Fig. 11, [0191], third gas pipe 370c has gas discharging holes 370c1 and 345c, which are formed in a cross shape). Hirayama is considered analogous art to the claimed invention because it is in the same field of semiconductor processing. It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art as of the effective filing date to have modified the recessed regions of Nagakubo in the cross shape of Hirayama. Doing so allows for throttling of the gas flow path, allowing for control of laminar flow, which helps generate uniform plasma (Hirayama, [0071]).
However, Hirayama teaches wherein the plurality of recesses is formed to have a cross shape (Hirayama Fig. 11, [0191], third gas pipe 370c has gas discharging holes 370c1 and 345c, which are formed in a cross shape). It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art as of the effective filing date to have modified the recessed regions of Nagakubo in the cross shape of Hirayama. Doing so allows for throttling of the gas flow path, allowing for control of laminar flow, which helps generate uniform plasma (Hirayama, [0071]).
Claim 5 is are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nagakubo; Keiichi et al. (US 20110024044 A1) in view of Choi; Soo Young et al. (US 20080302303 A1) and Kholodenko (TW-200809007-A). Nagakuboand and Choi are discussed above. Nagakuboand and Choi do not teach the shower head (16; Figure 1; [0026]) of claim 1, wherein the cooling plate (18a; Figure 1; [0027]) is made of aluminum, and the upper electrode (18; Figure 1-3; [0028]) is made of silicon.
However, Kholodenko teaches wherein the cooling plate is made of aluminum (Kholodenko, line 164, aluminum is commonly used for cooling plate 208). Kholodenko is considered analogous art to the claimed invention because it is in the same field of semiconductor processing. It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art as of the effective filing date to have constructed the cooling plate of Nagakubo from aluminum, as the courts have held that the selection of a known material (aluminum) based on its suitability for its intended purpose (use in a cooling plate) is supportive of prima facie obviousness. See MPEP 2144.07.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 6-11, filed April 24, 2026, with respect to the rejections of claims 1, 2, 4-6, 8, 11-15 under §102 - Nagakubo; Keiichi et al. (US 20110024044 A1) have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new grounds of rejection is made in view of §103 - Nagakubo; Keiichi et al. (US 20110024044 A1) in view of Choi; Soo Young et al. (US 20080302303 A1).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Showerheads with similar gas hole attributes include US 20080141941 A1; US 7481886 B2; US 20030209323 A1; US 6786175 B2; US 6024799 A
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new grounds of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Examiner Rudy Zervigon whose telephone number is (571) 272- 1442. The examiner can normally be reached on a Monday through Thursday schedule from 8am through 6pm EST. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Any Inquiry of a general nature or relating to the status of this application or proceeding should be directed to the Chemical and Materials Engineering art unit receptionist at (571) 272-1700. If the examiner cannot be reached please contact the examiner's supervisor, Parviz Hassanzadeh, at (571) 272- 1435.
/Rudy Zervigon/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1716