DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Amendment
Acknowledgement is made of Amendment filed 12-23-24.
Claims 1, 3 and 15 are amended.
Claims 2, 17 and 27-41 are canceled.
Claims 1, 3-16, 18-26 and 42-44 are pending (in the amendment of 12-23-24, the statement of “claims 1, 3-15, 17-26 and 42-44 are pending”, which is a typographic error).
Response to Arguments
Examiner responded arguments of the amendment of 12-23-24 in an adversary action of 01-06-25.
The newly amended claims 1, 3 and 15 are still under the disclosure of Yang et al. See detailed rejection below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3, 9-12, 15-16, 21-26 and 42-43 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yang (US20140160664).
Re Claim 1, Yang show and disclose
A modular platform comprising:
a mother board (motherboard 200, fig. 1);
at least one daughter board (daughter board 10 of device 100, fig. 1);
the at least one daughter board comprises at least one active device (11, 12 and 18, fig. 1) and the at least one active device comprises at least one power device (of power circuit 18, fig. 1); and
the at least one daughter board comprises measurement circuitry (The temperature sensor 14 measures a temperature of the device 100 and outputs the measured temperature to the motherboard, [0013], fig. 1),
wherein the mother board is configured to operate with a plurality of different implementations of the at least one daughter board (controller 25 and switching circuit are operate with output of daughter circuit board 10 in different modes, fig. 1-2); and
wherein the plurality of different implementations of the at least one daughter board comprising different configurations and/or types of the at least one active device (outputs the measured temperature from the daughter circuit board 10, through switch 240 and controller 250, and perform varied controlled speeds for fan 260 to dissipate heat for device 100 according to the measured temperature, [0013], fig. 1-2);
wherein the measurement circuitry is configured to measure electrical parameters of the at least one active device (the temperature sensor measures and monitors temperature change due to working current change of the at least active device; e.g. if the at least active device is over-current, the temperature sensor were detect temperature over normal range and send signal to the controller to protect the at least one active device);
wherein the measurement circuitry comprises: one or more current sensors configured to measure current in the at least one active device and/or the at least one daughter board, one or more voltage sensors configured to measure voltage in the at least one active device and/or the at least one daughter board, and/or one or more temperature sensors (14, fig. 1) configured to measure temperature in the at least one active device (The temperature sensor 14 measures a temperature of the device 100 and outputs the measured temperature to the motherboard, [0013]).
Re Claim 3, Yang show and disclose
A modular platform comprising:
a mother board (motherboard 200, fig. 1);
at least one daughter board (daughter board 10 of device 100, fig. 1);
the at least one daughter board comprises at least one active device (11, 12 and 18, fig. 1) and the at least one active device comprises at least one power device (of power circuit 18, fig. 1); and
the at least one daughter board comprises measurement circuitry (The temperature sensor 14 measures a temperature of the device 100 and outputs the measured temperature to the motherboard, [0013], fig. 1),
wherein the mother board is configured to operate with a plurality of different implementations of the at least one daughter board (controller 25 and switching circuit are operate with output of daughter circuit board 10 in different modes, fig. 1-2); and
wherein the plurality of different implementations of the at least one daughter board comprising different configurations and/or types of the at least one active device (outputs the measured temperature from the daughter circuit board 10, through switch 240 and controller 250, and perform varied controlled speeds for fan 260 to dissipate heat for device 100 according to the measured temperature, [0013], fig. 1-2);
wherein the at least one active device comprises at least one transistor, at least one diode, and/or at least one power module that comprises at least one transistor and/or at least one diode (at least one of the SATA DIMM memory chips 12, the control chip 11, and the power circuit 18 comprises at least one transistors and/or diodes).
Re Claim 9, Yang show and disclose
The modular platform according to claim 1, wherein the mother board comprises power connections configured to connect to a high-power power source (SATA DIMM devices have high-power consumption when operated, [0004], and for operating in the high-power must have a power supply or a battery of high-power source); and wherein the mother board is configured to operate with a plurality of different types of implementations of the high-power power source (for the high-power operation).
Re Claim 10, Yang show and disclose
The modular platform according to claim 1, wherein the mother board comprises a data connector (SATA connector, fig. 1) that is configured to connect and exchange electrical signals and/or data with a separate device (fig. 1); and wherein the electrical signals and/or the data comprises at least sensor information from the measurement circuitry (The temperature sensor 14 measures a temperature of the device 100 and outputs the measured temperature to the motherboard, [0013], fig. 1).
Re Claim 11, Yang show and disclose
The modular platform according to claim 1 further comprising at least one support structure (210 and 211, fig. 1-2) configured to hold the at least one daughter board and the at least one support structure (212, fig. 1-2) further configured to allow the at least one daughter board to be removed from the mother board (fig. 1),
wherein the at least one active device comprises at least one transistor, at least one diode, and/or at least one power module that comprises at least one transistor and/or at least one diode (at least one of the SATA DIMM memory chips 12, the control chip 11, and the power circuit 18 comprises at least one transistors and/or diodes).
Re Claim 12, Yang show and disclose
The modular platform according to claim 1 further comprising: a secondary component (230, 240, 250 and 260, fig. 1) that comprises a gate driver circuit, a controller, and/or a control board (controller 250, fig. 1), wherein the mother board is configured to operate with a plurality of different types of implementations of the secondary component (switching and controlling for different speeds of the colling fan 260, see claim 1 above); wherein the plurality of different types of implementations of the secondary component comprising different configurations or types of the gate driver circuit, the controller, and/or the control board (for the controller 250, fig. 1); and wherein the mother board is configured to operate with a plurality of different types of implementations of a high-power power source (SATA DIMM devices have high power consumption when operated, [0004]; and for operating in the high-power must have a power supply or a battery of high-power source).
Re Claim 15, Yang show and disclose
A method of implementing a modular platform comprising:
providing a mother board (motherboard 200, fig. 1);
providing at least one daughter board (memory module 10, fig. 1);
configuring the at least one daughter board with at least one active device (11, 12, 14 and 18, fig. 1) and the at least one active device comprises at least one power device (of power circuit 18, fig. 1); and
configuring the at least one daughter board with measurement circuitry (The temperature sensor 14 measures a temperature of the device 100 and outputs the measured temperature to the motherboard, [0013], fig. 1); and
configuring the mother board to operate with a plurality of different implementations of the at least one daughter board (controller 25 and switching circuit are operate with output of daughter circuit board 10 in different modes, fig. 1-2),
wherein the plurality of different implementations of the at least one daughter board comprising different configurations and/or types of the at least one active device (outputs the measured temperature through controller 250 and switch 240, and would have varied controlled speeds for fan 260 to dissipate heat for device 100 according to the measured temperature, [0013], fig. 1-2), and
wherein the at least one active device comprises at least one transistor, at least one diode, and/or at least one power module that comprises at least one transistor and/or at least one diode (at least one of the SATA DIMM memory chips 12, the control chip 11, and the power circuit 18 comprises at least one transistors and/or diodes).
Re Claim 16, Yang show and disclose
The method of implementing the modular platform according to claim 15 further comprising: measuring electrical parameters (resistance changes of the sensor 14, fig. 1) of the at least one active device with the measurement circuitry, wherein the measurement circuitry comprises one or more current sensors configured to measure current in the at least one active device and/or the at least one daughter board, one or more voltage sensors configured to measure voltage in the at least one active device and/or the at least one daughter board, and/or one or more temperature sensors configured to measure temperature in the at least one active device (temperature sensor 14, fig. 1).
Re Claim 21, Yang show and disclose
The method of implementing the modular platform according to claim 15 further comprising: providing a secondary component (230, 240, 250 and 260, fig. 1) that comprises a gate driver circuit, a controller, and/or a control board (controller 250, fig. 1); and configuring wherein the secondary component and the at least one daughter board are configured to connect through an interconnect (between edge connector 18 of the memory board 10 and memory socket 210 of motherboard, fig. 1) and exchange electrical signals, data, and/or electrical power.
Re Claim 22, Yang show and disclose
The method of implementing the modular platform according to claim 15 wherein the mother board is configured to operate with a plurality of different types of implementations (switching and controlling for different speeds of the colling fan 260, see claim 15 above) of a high-power power source (SATA DIMM devices have high power consumption when operated, [0004]; and the power connector must have a power supply or battery of a power source).
Re Claim 23, Yang show and disclose
The method of implementing the modular platform according to claim 15 further comprising configuring the mother board with a data connector (SATA connector, fig. 1) to connect and exchange electrical signals and/or data with a separate device (fig. 1), wherein the electrical signals and/or the data comprises at least sensor information from the measurement circuitry (The temperature sensor 14 measures a temperature of the device 100 and outputs the measured temperature to the motherboard, [0013], fig. 1).
Re Claim 24, Yang show and disclose
The method of implementing the modular platform according to claim 15 further comprising configuring at least one support structure (210 and 211, fig. 1-2) configured to hold the at least one daughter board and the at least one support structure (212, fig. 1-2) further configured to allow the at least one daughter board to be removed from the mother board (fig. 1-2), wherein the at least one active device comprises at least one transistor, at least one diode, and/or at least one power module that comprises at least one transistor and/or at least one diode (at least one of the SATA DIMM memory chips 12, the control chip 11, and the power circuit 18 comprises at least one transistors and/or diodes).
Re Claim 25, Yang show and disclose
The method of implementing the modular platform according to claim 15 further comprising: implementing a secondary component (230, 240, 250 and 260, fig. 1) that comprises a gate driver circuit, a controller, and/or a control board (controller 250, fig. 1), wherein the mother board is configured to operate with a plurality of different types of implementations (for controlling fan and switch, fig. 1) of the secondary component; wherein the plurality of different types of implementations of the secondary component comprising different configurations or types of the gate driver circuit, the controller, and/or the control board (controller 250, fig. 1); and wherein the mother board is configured to operate with a plurality of different types of implementations (switching and controlling for different speeds of the colling fan 260, see claim 15 above) of a high-power power source (SATA DIMM devices have high power consumption when operated, [0004]; and operating in high-power must have a power supply or battery of a power source).
Re Claim 26, Yang show and disclose
The method of implementing the modular platform according to claim 25 further comprising: configuring the secondary component (230, 240, 250 and 260, fig. 1) with a secondary component electrical connector (bus signal connector 163, fig. 1); configuring the mother board with a secondary component electrical connector (231, fig. 1); and connecting the secondary component electrical connector of the mother board and the secondary component electrical connector of the secondary component (fig. 1) to and exchange electrical signals, data, and/or electrical power (transfer electrical signal and/or data, fig. 1).
Re Claim 42, Yang show and disclose
The modular platform according to claim 1, wherein the modular platform is configured to facilitate high-power density (SATA DIMM devices have high power consumption when operated, [0004]) by placing the at least one active device (11, 12, 14 and 18, fig. 1) on or in the at least one daughter board such that a surface of the at least one daughter board is perpendicular to a surface of the mother board (fig. 1),
wherein the at least one active device comprises at least one transistor, at least one diode, and/or at least one power module that comprises at least one transistor and/or at least one diode (at least one of the SATA DIMM memory chips 12, the control chip 11, and the power circuit 18 comprises at least one transistors and/or diodes).
Re Claim 43, Yang show and disclose
The method of implementing the modular platform according to claim 15 further comprising configuring the modular platform to facilitate high-power density (SATA DIMM devices have high power consumption when operated, [0004]) by placing the at least one active device (11, 12, 14 and 18, fig. 1) on or in the at least one daughter board (fig. 1) such that a surface of the at least one daughter board is perpendicular to a surface of the mother board (fig. 1),
wherein the at least one active device comprises at least one transistor, at least one diode, and/or at least one power module that comprises at least one transistor and/or at least one diode (at least one of the SATA DIMM memory chips 12, the control chip 11, and the power circuit 18 comprises at least one transistors and/or diodes).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4-5 and 18-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang in view of Kuzmenka (US20040125635).
Re Claim 4, Yang show and disclose
The modular platform according to claim 1 wherein: the mother board comprises at least one mother board electrical connector (memory slot connector 210, fig. 1) and the at least one daughter board comprises at least one daughter board electrical connector (An edge connector 18 is arranged on a bottom side 16 of the circuit board 10, [0010], fig. 1); and the at least one mother board electrical connector and the at least one daughter board electrical connector are configured to connect and exchange electrical signals, data, and/or electrical power (power pins 161, ground pins 162, and data pins 163 of the edge connector 18, [0010], fig. 1);
Yang does not disclose
the mother board comprises a multilayer structure; and the at least one mother board electrical connector having connections extending through at least one layer of the multilayer structure.
Kuzmenka teaches a device wherein
the mother board (100, fig. 1-2) comprises a multilayer structure; and the at least one mother board electrical connector (memory slot connector 104, fig. 1-2) having connections extending through at least one layer of the multilayer structure (fig. 1-2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to use the multilayer motherboard and the connector pins through at least one layer of the motherboard as taught by Kuzmenka in the motherboard of Yang, in order to increase functionary of the motherboard and make more secure connection between the connector and the motherboard for the electronic device, and since a motherboard with multilayer structure and a connector mounted on the motherboard having connections extending through at least one layer of the motherboard are well-known and very common in the art.
Re Claim 5, Yang show and disclose
The modular platform according to claim 4 wherein: the mother board comprises power connections (power connector 220, fig. 1; SATA DIMM devices have high power consumption when operated, [0004]) configured to connect to a high-power power source (the power connector must have a power supply or battery of a power source); and the mother board comprises connections between the power connections and the at least one mother board electrical connector (by power connections of power pins 221 and 161, fig. 1);
Yang does not disclose
the mother board comprises at least one capacitor.
Kuzmenka teaches a device wherein
the mother board comprises at least one capacitor (for example, a capacitor 224 can be connected between the data bus portion on the motherboard and ground at the half of the length of that data bus portion, [0057]; fig. 1-2 and 5).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to use a capacitor in a motherboard as taught by Kuzmenka in the motherboard of Yang, in order to make the frequency characteristic of the whole system a little more liner ([0057] of Kuzmenka), and to compensating or filtering the electrical circuit for the electronic device, and since using a capacitor in a motherboard is well-known and very common in the art.
Re Claim 18, Yang show and disclose
The method of implementing the modular platform according to claim 15 further comprising: configuring the mother board with at least one mother board electrical connector (210, fig. 1); configuring the at least one daughter board with at least one daughter board electrical connector (An edge connector 18 is arranged on a bottom side 16 of the circuit board 10, [0010], fig. 1); and connecting the at least one mother board electrical connector and the at least one daughter board electrical connector to exchange electrical signals, data, and/or electrical power (power pins 161, ground pins 162, and data pins 163 of the edge connector 18, [0010], fig. 1).
Yang does not disclose
the mother board comprises a multilayer structure; and the at least one mother board electrical connector having connections extending through at least one layer of the multilayer structure.
Kuzmenka teaches a device wherein
the mother board (100, fig. 1-2) comprises a multilayer structure; and the at least one mother board electrical connector (memory slot connector 104, fig. 1-2) having connections extending through at least one layer of the multilayer structure (fig. 1-2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to use the multilayer motherboard and the connector pins through at least one layer of the motherboard as taught by Kuzmenka in the motherboard of Yang, in order to increase functionary of the motherboard and make more secure connection between the connector and the motherboard for the electronic device, and since a motherboard with multilayer structure and a connector mounted on the motherboard having connections extending through at least one layer of the motherboard are well-known and very common in the art.
Re Claim 19, Yang show and disclose
The method of implementing the modular platform according to claim 18 further comprising: configuring the mother board with power connections to connect to a high-power power source (power connector 220, fig. 1; SATA DIMM devices have high power consumption when operated, [0004]; and the power connector must have a power supply or battery of a power source); and configuring connections in the mother board between the power connections and the at least one mother board electrical connector (by power connections of power pins 221 and 161, fig. 1);
Yang does not disclose
the mother board comprises at least one capacitor.
Kuzmenka teaches a device wherein
the mother board comprises at least one capacitor (for example, a capacitor 224 can be connected between the data bus portion on the motherboard and ground at the half of the length of that data bus portion, [0057]; fig. 1-2 and 5).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to use a capacitor in a motherboard as taught by Kuzmenka in the motherboard of Yang, in order to make the frequency characteristic of the whole system a little more liner ([0057] of Kuzmenka), and to compensating or filtering the electrical circuit for the electronic device, and since using a capacitor in a motherboard is well-known and very common in the art.
Claims 6-8 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang in view of Dlugosch (US6789146).
Re Claims 6-7, Yang show and disclose
The modular platform according to claim 1,
Yang does not disclose
a secondary component that comprises a gate driver circuit, a controller, and/or a control board; and support structures configured to support the secondary component in relation to the mother board, wherein the mother board is configured to operate with a plurality of different types of implementations of the secondary component; and wherein the plurality of different types of implementations of the secondary component comprising different configurations or types of the gate driver circuit, the controller, and/or the control board; the secondary component comprises a secondary component electrical connector and the mother board comprises a secondary component electrical connector; and the secondary component electrical connector of the mother board and the secondary component electrical connector of the secondary component are configured to connect through an interconnect and exchange electrical signals, data, and/or electrical power.
Dlugosch teaches a device wherein
a secondary component that comprises a gate driver circuit, a controller, and/or a control board (a card containing the video controller circuitry and associated memory into a card socket provided on the motherboard, [col. 1, line 22], or adding a separate plug-in video controller circuitry to an available PCI bus socket, [col. 1, line 44]); and support structures (support structures of the socket on the motherboard) configured to support the secondary component in relation to the mother board, wherein the mother board is configured to operate with a plurality of different types of implementations (for video controlling) of the secondary component; and wherein the plurality of different types of implementations of the secondary component comprising different configurations or types of the gate driver circuit, the controller, and/or the control board (the video control board); the secondary component comprises a secondary component electrical connector (connector on the video control card) and the mother board comprises a secondary component electrical connector (the socket for the video card); and the secondary component electrical connector of the mother board and the secondary component electrical connector of the secondary component are configured to connect through an interconnect (through the connector on video card and the socket on motherboard) and exchange electrical signals, data, and/or electrical power (between video card and the motherboard).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to add a plug-in video card and a socket on motherboard as taught by Dlugosch in the motherboard of Yang, in order to increase the video control function for the electronic device.
Re Claim 8, Yang show and disclose
The modular platform according to claim 1,
Yang does not disclose
a secondary component that comprises a gate driver circuit, a controller, and/or a control board, wherein the secondary component and the at least one daughter board are configured to connect through an interconnect and exchange electrical signals, data, and/or electrical power; wherein the mother board is configured to operate with a plurality of different types of implementations of the secondary component; and wherein the plurality of different types of implementations of the secondary component comprising different configurations or types of the gate driver circuit, the controller, and/or the control board.
Dlugosch teaches a device wherein
a secondary component that comprises a gate driver circuit, a controller, and/or a control board (a card containing the video controller circuitry and associated memory into a card socket provided on the motherboard, [col. 1, line 22], or adding a separate plug-in video controller circuitry to an available PCI bus socket, [col. 1, line 44]), wherein the secondary component and the at least one daughter board are configured to connect through an interconnect (through the connector on video card and the socket on motherboard) and exchange electrical signals, data, and/or electrical power (between video card and the motherboard); wherein the mother board is configured to operate with a plurality of different types of implementations (for video controlling) of the secondary component; and wherein the plurality of different types of implementations of the secondary component comprising different configurations or types of the gate driver circuit, the controller, and/or the control board (the video control board).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to add a plug-in video card and a socket on motherboard as taught by Dlugosch in the motherboard of Yang, in order to increase the video control function for the electronic device.
Re Claim 20, Yang show and disclose
The method of implementing the modular platform according to claim 15,
Yang does not disclose
providing a secondary component that comprises a gate driver circuit, a controller, and/or a control board; configuring support structures to support the secondary component in relation to the mother board; and configuring the mother board to operate with a plurality of different types of implementations of the secondary component, wherein the plurality of different types of implementations of the secondary component comprising different configurations or types of the gate driver circuit, the controller, and/or the control board.
Dlugosch teaches a device
providing a secondary component that comprises a gate driver circuit, a controller, and/or a control board (a card containing the video controller circuitry and associated memory into a card socket provided on the motherboard, [col. 1, line 22], or adding a separate plug-in video controller circuitry to an available PCI bus socket, [col. 1, line 44]); configuring support structures (support structures of the socket on the motherboard) to support the secondary component in relation to the mother board; and configuring the mother board to operate with a plurality of different types of implementations (for video controlling) of the secondary component, wherein the plurality of different types of implementations of the secondary component comprising different configurations or types of the gate driver circuit, the controller, and/or the control board (the video control board).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to add a plug-in video card and a socket on motherboard as taught by Dlugosch in the motherboard of Yang, in order to increase the video control function for the electronic device.
Claims 13-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang.
Re Claim 13, Yang show and disclose
Yang disclosed claimed invention, except for an evaluation platform comprising the modular platform according to claim 1; since Yang disclosed all the structure and limitations of the electronic device of claim 1, and since the electronic device of claim 1 is capable of be used in an evaluation platform, Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to use the electronic device in an evaluation platform, in order to have variety usage for the electronic device, furthermore, it has been held that a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the claimed structural limitations. Ex parte Masham, 2 UAPQ2d 1647 (1987)).
Re Claim 14, Yang show and disclose
Yang disclosed claimed invention, except for an application system comprising the modular platform according to claim 1, wherein the application system comprising one of a power system, a motor system, an automotive motor system, a charging system, an automotive charging system, a vehicle system, an industrial motor drive system, an embedded motor drive system, an uninterruptible power supply system, an AC-DC power supply system, a welder power supply system, a military system, an inverter system, an inverter for a wind turbine system, a solar power panel system, tidal power plant system, an electric vehicle (EVs) system, and/or a converter; since Yang disclosed all the structure and limitations of the electronic device of claim 1, and since the electronic device of claim 1 is capable of be used with an application system, Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to use the electronic device with an application system, e.g. an external power supply system, in order to have extra options to use variety power supply for the electronic device, furthermore, it has been held that a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the claimed structural limitations. Ex parte Masham, 2 UAPQ2d 1647 (1987)).
Claim 44 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang in view of Rose et al. (US20220190844).
Re Claim 44, Yang show and disclose
The modular platform according to claim 1,
Yang does not disclose
configured to test the at least one active device under a range of conditions with different power sources, different voltages, different currents, different time periods, and/or different delays.
Rose teaches a device wherein
configured to test the at least one active device under a range of conditions with different power sources, different voltages, different currents, different time periods, and/or different delays (iterative operation to test different settings, which can include voltage settings, timing settings, or other settings, or a combination, [0042]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to test the active devices of the electronic device with different settings, in order to apply of different settings to determine a setting that provides improved signaling quality ([0042] of Rose) for the electronic device.
Conclusion
/XIAOLIANG CHEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2848