DETAILED ACTION
first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the
statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art
relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Status of Claims
Claims 1-24 are pending
Claims 10-11 and 22-23 have been withdrawn
Claims 1, 3, and 13 have been amended
Continued Examination
37 CFR 1.17(e), was filed in this application after final rejection. Since this application is
eligible for continued examination under 37 CFR 1.114, and the fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(e)
has been timely paid, the finality of the previous Office action has been withdrawn pursuant to
37 CFR 1.114. Applicant's submission filed on 09/25/2025 has been entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-9 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chiba et al. (WO 2019244631) in view of Kawakami et al. (US 5542559), Chen et al. (US 20090145553), Anada et al. (US 20160276198 ), Samir et al. (US 20090086401), and Nozawa et al. (US 5290381), with Pilgrim (US 20200105568) and Prouty et al. (US 20200373184) as evidentiary references. Chiba et al. (US 20200335384) is an English language equivalent and is herein used as a translation for Chiba et al. (WO 2019244631).
Regarding Claim 1:
Chiba teaches a plasma processing apparatus (substrate processing apparatus 100) comprising: a plasma processing container (processing container 1); and a substrate support (mounting table 2) disposed in the plasma processing container and having a support surface (mounting surface 21) on an upper portion of a base (base 2a), wherein the substrate support includes [Fig. 1, 2 & 0015, 0033]: a heat transfer gas supply hole (through hole 210a) configured to supply a heat transfer gas from the base side to the support surface (a heat transfer gas such as helium gas is supplied to the back surface of the wafer W from the through hole 210a) [Fig. 4a & 0020, 0034].
Chiba does not specifically disclose a first member (i) disposed in an opening of a ceramic plate provided on the support surface and in the heat transfer gas supply hole (ii), a second member disposed under the first member in the heat transfer gas supply hole in contact with the first member so as not to have a gap between the second member and the first member and (ii) made of a porous resin, and a third member disposed under the second member in the heat transfer gas supply hole and made of polytetrafluoroethylene (PTFE).
Kawakami teaches a first member (the flowpath member 6 shown in the annotated drawings below) disposed in an opening of a ceramic plate (insulating member 4) provided on the support surface (upper surface of insulating member 4; it is noted that the flowpath members 6, 7 and 8 can be provided at not only the position shown within the gas supply conduit 5 but also a position closer to the electrostatic chuck. For instance, they may be positioned in the region of the accumulator space 53) and in the heat transfer gas supply hole (ii), a second member (the flow path member 7 highlighted in the drawings below) disposed under the first member in the heat transfer gas supply hole in contact with the first member so as not to have a gap between the second member and the first member (as evidenced by Fig. 2 and the annotated drawings below, the second member contacts the first member. Furthermore, the second member can comprise of a porous plug, as shown in Fig. 7. The porous plug shown in Fig. 7 has no recess, and would therefore not have a gap between it and the first member) and made of a porous resin (the members 6 and 7 may each be made of Teflon; a porous body may be used such as the body shown in Fig. 7) [Fig. 2, 7 & Col. 5 lines 40-54, Col. 9 lines 1-14], and a third member (the flow path member 6 highlighted in the drawings below) disposed under the second member in the heat transfer gas supply hole and made of polytetrafluoroethylene (PTFE) (the members 6 and 7 may each be made of Teflon) [Fig. 2-7 & Col. 8 lines 35-49, Col. 9 lines 1-9].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify member of Chiba to comprise of three separate members, as in Kawakami, since utilizing a plurality of flow path members allows for more convenient control over conductance by changing the combination thereof [Kawakami - Col. 8 lines 57-65].
Modified Chiba does not specifically disclose a first member made of silicon carbide.
Chen teaches a first member made of silicon carbide (member 176 may be composed of PTFE or silicon carbide) [Fig. 3 & 0042].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the members of Modified Chiba to be made of silicon carbide or Teflon, since Chen discloses that such are suitable materials for insertable members in a gas flow path [Chen - 0042]. It has been held that selecting a known material on the basis of suitability for the intended use involves only routine skill in the art [MPEP 2144.07]. It's also noted that Chiba states that its member 220 can be made of silicon carbide or Teflon [Chiba - 0039].
Modified Chiba (Chiba modified by Kawakami and Chen) does not specifically disclose a second member disposed under the first member in the heat transfer gas supply hole in contact with the first member and a lower surface of the ceramic plate.
Although Anada does not specifically disclose "a second member disposed under the first member in the heat transfer gas supply hole in contact with the first member and a lower surface of the ceramic plate so as not to have a gap between the second member the lower surface of the ceramic plate," Anada does disclose that the diameter and length of a porous member are result effective variables. Specifically, the length and diameter of a porous member change the member's insulation breakdown voltage (wherein a higher insulation breakdown voltage reduces the likelihood of arcing) [Anada - 0005, 0011, 0129, 0183, 0233]. As such, It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to find a desired diameter and length for a porous member to obtain desired insulation breakdown voltages. It has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result-effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. See MPEP 2144.05. Furthermore, Pilgrim (US 20200105568) and Prouty et al. (US 20200373184) also disclose that having a porous member be in contact with other surfaces helps ensure a porous member is secure [Pilgrim - 0050; Prouty - 0046].
Samir further discloses that conduit and channel lengths are result effective variables. Specifically, channel length can be adjusted to adjust gas flow rate, and that conduit length can be adjusted to obtain a desired electric field permeation [Samir - 0017, 0074]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to find a desired length for a gas insert to obtain a desired permeability and flow rate [Samir - 0017, 0074]. It is noted that adjusting gas member lengths and diameters could result in the porous body contacting a lower surface of an upper body, such as in Fig. 3F of Pilgrim [Pilgrim - Fig. 3B-3F & 0042-0043, 0050]. An example of this modification is outlined in the annotated drawings of Pilgrim below.
Additionally/alternatively, Nozawa discloses that having members in a processing chamber be in contact without gaps can help improve thermal conduction [Nozawa - Col. 2 lines 20-30]. As such, it would be obvious to modify any of the members of Kawakami to have no gaps therebetween to improve heat transfer.
Regarding Claim 2:
Chiba does not specifically disclose wherein the second member is disposed so as not to have a gap between the second member and an inner wall of the heat transfer gas supply hole.
Kawakami teaches wherein the second member is disposed so as not to have a gap between the second member and an inner wall of the heat transfer gas supply hole (as evidenced by the annotated drawings above and Fig. 2, the member 7 does not have a gap between it and the inner wall of conduit 5) [Fig. 2 & Col. 5 lines 40-54].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify member of Chiba to comprise of three separate members, as in Kawakami, since utilizing a plurality of flow path members allows for more convenient control over conductance by changing the combination thereof [Kawakami - Col. 8 lines 57-65].
Regarding Claim 3:
Modified Chiba (Chiba modified by Kawakami, Chen, and Anada) does not specifically disclose wherein a length of the first member is at least a length corresponding to a thickness of the ceramic plate.
Although Samir does not specifically disclose " wherein a length of the first member is at least a length corresponding to a thickness of the ceramic plate." Samir does disclose that conduit and channel lengths are result effective variables. Specifically, channel length can be adjusted to adjust gas flow rate, and that conduit length can be adjusted to obtain a desired electric field permeation [Samir - 0017, 0074]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to find a desired length for a gas insert to obtain a desired permeability and flow rate [Samir - 0017, 0074]. It has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result-effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. See MPEP 2144.05.
Regarding Claim 4:
Chiba teaches wherein the ceramic plate is an electrostatic chuck having an electrode therein (the electrostatic chuck 6 includes an electrode 6a inserted in an insulator 6b, and a DC power supply 12 is connected to the electrode 6a) [Fig. 2, 4B & 0018].
Regarding Claim 5:
Chiba teaches wherein the heat transfer gas supply hole is configured so that an inner diameter in the ceramic plate is smaller than an inner diameter in the base (as evidenced by Fig. 4a, through hole 210a has a smaller diameter in chuck 6 than in stage 2) [Chiba - Fig. 2, 4A & 0020].
Modified Chiba (Chiba modified by Kawakami and Chen) does not specifically disclose an upper surface of the second member is in contact with a lower surface of the ceramic plate to surround an outer peripheral portion of the heat transfer gas supply hole in the lower surface of the ceramic plate.
Although Anada does not specifically disclose "an upper surface of the second member is in contact with a lower surface of the ceramic plate to surround an outer peripheral portion of the heat transfer gas supply hole in the lower surface of the ceramic plate," Anada does disclose that the diameter and length of a porous member are result effective variables. Specifically, the length and diameter of a porous member change the member's insulation breakdown voltage (wherein a higher insulation breakdown voltage reduces the likelihood of arcing) [Anada - 0005, 0011, 0129, 0183, 0233]. As such, It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to find a desired diameter and length for a porous member to obtain desired insulation breakdown voltages. It has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result-effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. See MPEP 2144.05. Furthermore, Pilgrim (US 20200105568) and Prouty et al. (US 20200373184) also disclose that having a porous member be in contact with other surfaces helps ensure a porous member is secure [Pilgrim - 0050; Prouty - 0046].
Samir further discloses that conduit and channel lengths are result effective variables. Specifically, channel length can be adjusted to adjust gas flow rate, and that conduit length can be adjusted to obtain a desired electric field permeation [Samir - 0017, 0074]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to find a desired length for a gas insert to obtain a desired permeability and flow rate [Samir - 0017, 0074]. It is noted that adjusting gas member lengths and diameters could result in the porous body contacting a lower surface of an upper body, such as in Fig. 3F of Pilgrim [Pilgrim - Fig. 3B-3F & 0042-0043, 0050]. An example of this modification is outlined in the annotated drawings of Pilgrim above.
Additionally/alternatively, Nozawa discloses that having members in a processing chamber be in contact without gaps can help improve thermal conduction [Nozawa - Col. 2 lines 20-30]. As such, it would be obvious to modify any of the members of Kawakami to have no gaps therebetween to improve heat transfer.
Regarding Claim 6:
Modified Chiba (Chiba modified by Kawakami, Chen, and Anada) does not specifically disclose wherein the first member is disposed to have a gap between the first member and an inner wall of the heat transfer gas supply hole.
Samir teaches wherein the first member is disposed to have a gap between the first member and an inner wall of the heat transfer gas supply hole (as evidenced by Figs. 12-14, each plug has exterior channels, such as channels 407, that are disposed between an outer surface of each plug and an inner surface of dielectric member 417) [Fig. 12-14 & 0076].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify any of the members of Modified Chiba to comprise of outer flow paths, as in Samir, to minimize arcing [Samir - 0066, 0075, 0080].
Regarding Claim 7:
Modified Chiba (Chiba modified by Kawakami, Chen, and Anada) does not specifically disclose wherein the third member is disposed to have a gap between the third member and an inner wall of the heat transfer gas supply hole.
Samir teaches wherein the third member is disposed to have a gap between the third member and an inner wall of the heat transfer gas supply hole (as evidenced by Figs. 12-14, each plug has exterior channels, such as channels 407, that are disposed between an outer surface of each plug and an inner surface of dielectric member 417) [Fig. 12-14 & 0076].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify any of the members of Modified Chiba to comprise of outer flow paths, as in Samir, to minimize arcing [Samir - 0066, 0075, 0080].
Regarding Claim 8:
Chiba does not specifically disclose wherein the heat transfer gas is supplied to the support surface through an inside of the second member.
Kawakami teaches wherein the heat transfer gas is supplied to the support surface through an inside of the second member (conduction holes 62 and 72 accommodate a gas flow path) [Kawakami - Fig. 2 & Col. 8 lines 12-20].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify member of Chiba to comprise of three separate members, as in Kawakami, since utilizing a plurality of flow path members allows for more convenient control over conductance by changing the combination thereof [Kawakami - Col. 8 lines 57-65].
Modified Chiba (Chiba modified by Kawakami, Chen, and Anada) does not specifically disclose wherein the heat transfer gas is supplied to the support surface through the gap between the third member and the inner wall of the heat transfer gas supply hole, and a gap between the first member and the inner wall of the heat transfer gas supply hole.
Samir teaches wherein the heat transfer gas is supplied to the support surface through the gap (exterior channels 407) between the third member and the inner wall of the heat transfer gas supply hole and a gap between the first member and the inner wall of the heat transfer gas supply hole (heat transfer gas travels through exterior channels 407) [Fig. 12 & 0079].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective fling date of the invention, to modify any of the members of Modified Chiba to have members with outside channels for gas flow, as in Samir, because such is a suitable block used to accommodate heat transfer gas flow [Samir - 0073]. It is noted that the plugs of Kawakami is capable of utilizing multiple different combinations of plugs since it discloses two different types of plugs [Kawakami - Col. 9 lines 1-14].
Regarding Claim 9:
Chiba does not specifically disclose wherein a lower surface of the first member is in contact with an upper surface of the second member, and a lower surface of the second member is in contact with an upper surface of the third member.
Kawakami teaches wherein a lower surface of the first member is in contact with an upper surface of the second member, and a lower surface of the second member is in contact with an upper surface of the third member (as evidenced by Fig.2 and the annotated drawings above, the members 6 and 7 are in contact with each other via lower surfaces) [Fig. 2-7 & Col. 8 lines 35-49, Col. 9 lines 1-9].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify member of Chiba to comprise of three separate members, as in Kawakami, since utilizing a plurality of flow path members allows for more convenient control over conductance by changing the combination thereof [Kawakami - Col. 8 lines 57-65].
Regarding Claim 12:
Modified Chiba does not specifically disclose wherein the porous resin is polyimide (PI),PTFE, polychlorotrifluoroethylene (PCTFE), perfluoroalkoxyalkane resin (PFA), polyetheretherketone (PEEK), polyetherimide (PEI), POM (polyoxymethylene, polyacetal, polyformaldehyde), methyl cellulose (MC) , polycarbonate (PC) , or polyphenylene sulfone (PPS).
Kawakami teaches wherein the porous resin is polyimide (PI),PTFE, polychlorotrifluoroethylene (PCTFE), perfluoroalkoxyalkane resin (PFA), polyetheretherketone (PEEK), polyetherimide (PEI), POM (polyoxymethylene, polyacetal, polyformaldehyde), methyl cellulose (MC) , polycarbonate (PC) , or polyphenylene sulfone (PPS) (the members 6 and 7 may each be made of Teflon; a porous body may be used) [Fig. 2-7 & Col. 8 lines 35-49, Col. 9 lines 1-9].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify member of Chiba to comprise of three separate members, as in Kawakami, since utilizing a plurality of flow path members allows for more convenient control over conductance by changing the combination thereof [Kawakami - Col. 8 lines 57-65].
Claim(s) 13-21 and 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chiba et al. (WO 2019244631) in view of Kawakami et al. (US 5542559), Chen et al. (US 20090145553), Anada et al. (US 20160276198 ), Samir et al. (US 20090086401), and Nozawa et al. (US 5290381), with Pilgrim (US 20200105568) and Prouty et al. (US 20200373184) as evidentiary references. Chiba et al. (US 20200335384) is an English language equivalent and is herein used as a translation for Chiba et al. (WO 2019244631).
Regarding Claim 13:
Chiba teaches a substrate support (mounting table 2) which disposed in the plasma processing container (process container 1) and has a support surface (mounting surface 21) on an upper portion of a base, wherein the substrate support includes [Fig. 1, 2 & 0015, 0033]:
a heat transfer gas supply hole (through hole 210a) configured to supply a heat transfer gas from the base side to the support surface (a heat transfer gas such as helium gas is supplied to the back surface of the wafer W from the through hole 210a) [Fig. 4a & 0020, 0034].
Chiba does not specifically disclose a first member (i) disposed in an opening of a ceramic plate provided on the support surface and in the heat transfer gas supply hole (ii), a second member disposed under the first member in the heat transfer gas supply hole in contact with the first member so as not to have a gap between the second member and the first member and (ii) made of a porous resin and a third member disposed under the second member in the heat transfer gas supply hole and made of polytetrafluoroethylene (PTFE).
Kawakami teaches a first member (the flowpath member 6 shown in the annotated drawings above) disposed in an opening of a ceramic plate (insulating member 4) provided on the support surface (upper surface of insulating member 4; it is noted that the flowpath members 6, 7 and 8 can be provided at not only the position shown within the gas supply conduit 5 but also a position closer to the electrostatic chuck. For instance, they may be positioned in the region of the accumulator space 53) and in the heat transfer gas supply hole (ii), a second member (the flow path member 7 highlighted in the drawings above) disposed under the first member in the heat transfer gas supply hole in contact with the first member so as not to have a gap between the second member and the first member (as evidenced by Fig. 2 and the annotated drawings above, the second member contacts the first member. Furthermore, the second member can comprise of a porous plug, as shown in Fig. 7. The porous plug shown in Fig. 7 has no recess, and would therefore not have a gap between it and the first member) and made of a porous resin (the members 6 and 7 may each be made of Teflon; a porous body may be used such as the body shown in Fig. 7) [Fig. 2, 7 & Col. 5 lines 40-54, Col. 9 lines 1-14], and a third member (the flow path member 6 highlighted in the drawings above) disposed under the second member in the heat transfer gas supply hole and made of polytetrafluoroethylene (PTFE) (the members 6 and 7 may each be made of Teflon) [Fig. 2-7 & Col. 8 lines 35-49, Col. 9 lines 1-9].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify member of Chiba to comprise of three separate members, as in Kawakami, since utilizing a plurality of flow path members allows for more convenient control over conductance by changing the combination thereof [Kawakami - Col. 8 lines 57-65].
Modified Chiba does not specifically disclose a first member made of silicon carbide.
Chen teaches a first member made of silicon carbide (member 176 may be composed of PTFE or silicon carbide) [Fig. 3 & 0042].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the members of Modified Chiba to be made of silicon carbide or Teflon, since Chen discloses that such are suitable materials for insertable members in a gas flow path [Chen - 0042]. It has been held that selecting a known material on the basis of suitability for the intended use involves only routine skill in the art [MPEP 2144.07]. It's also noted that Chiba states that its member 220 can be made of silicon carbide or Teflon [Chiba - 0039].
Modified Chiba (Chiba modified by Kawakami and Chen) does not specifically disclose a second member disposed under the first member in the heat transfer gas supply hole in contact with the first member and a lower surface of the ceramic plate.
Although Anada does not specifically disclose "a second member disposed under the first member in the heat transfer gas supply hole in contact with the first member and a lower surface of the ceramic plate so as not to have a gap between the second member the lower surface of the ceramic plate," Anada does disclose that the diameter and length of a porous member are result effective variables. Specifically, the length and diameter of a porous member change the member's insulation breakdown voltage (wherein a higher insulation breakdown voltage reduces the likelihood of arcing) [Anada - 0005, 0011, 0129, 0183, 0233]. As such, It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to find a desired diameter and length for a porous member to obtain desired insulation breakdown voltages. It has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result-effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. See MPEP 2144.05. Furthermore, Pilgrim (US 20200105568) and Prouty et al. (US 20200373184) also disclose that having a porous member be in contact with other surfaces helps ensure a porous member is secure [Pilgrim - 0050; Prouty - 0046].
Samir further discloses that conduit and channel lengths are result effective variables. Specifically, channel length can be adjusted to adjust gas flow rate, and that conduit length can be adjusted to obtain a desired electric field permeation [Samir - 0017, 0074]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to find a desired length for a gas insert to obtain a desired permeability and flow rate [Samir - 0017, 0074]. It is noted that adjusting gas member lengths and diameters could result in the porous body contacting a lower surface of an upper body, such as in Fig. 3F of Pilgrim [Pilgrim - Fig. 3B-3F & 0042-0043, 0050]. An example of this modification is outlined in the annotated drawings of Pilgrim above.
Additionally/alternatively, Nozawa discloses that having members in a processing chamber be in contact without gaps can help improve thermal conduction [Nozawa - Col. 2 lines 20-30]. As such, it would be obvious to modify any of the members of Kawakami to have no gaps therebetween to improve heat transfer.
Regarding Claim 14:
Chiba does not specifically disclose wherein the second member is disposed so as not to have a gap between the second member and an inner wall of the heat transfer gas supply hole.
Kawakami teaches wherein the second member is disposed so as not to have a gap between the second member and an inner wall of the heat transfer gas supply hole (as evidenced by the annotated drawings above and Fig. 2, the member 7 does not have a gap between it and the inner wall of conduit 5) [Fig. 2 & Col. 5 lines 40-54].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify member of Chiba to comprise of three separate members, as in Kawakami, since utilizing a plurality of flow path members allows for more convenient control over conductance by changing the combination thereof [Kawakami - Col. 8 lines 57-65].
Regarding Claim 15:
Modified Chiba (Chiba modified by Kawakami, Chen, and Anada) does not specifically disclose wherein a length of the first member is at least a length corresponding to a thickness of a ceramic plate provided on the support surface in the heat transfer gas supply hole.
Although Samir does not specifically disclose " wherein a length of the first member is at least a length corresponding to a thickness of a ceramic plate provided on the support surface in the heat transfer gas supply hole,” Samir does disclose that conduit and channel lengths are result effective variables. Specifically, channel length can be adjusted to adjust gas flow rate, and that conduit length can be adjusted to obtain a desired electric field permeation [Samir - 0017, 0074]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to find a desired length for a gas insert to obtain a desired permeability and flow rate [Samir - 0017, 0074]. It has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result-effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. See MPEP 2144.05.
Regarding Claim 16:
Chiba teaches wherein the ceramic plate is an electrostatic chuck having an electrode therein (the electrostatic chuck 6 includes an electrode 6a inserted in an insulator 6b, and a DC power supply 12 is connected to the electrode 6a) [Chiba - Fig. 2, 4B & 0018].
Regarding Claim 17:
Chiba teaches wherein the heat transfer gas supply hole is configured so that an inner diameter in the ceramic plate is smaller than an inner diameter in the base (as evidenced by Fig. 4a, through hole 210a has a smaller diameter in chuck 6 than in stage 2) [Fig. 2, 4A & 0020].
Modified Chiba (Chiba modified by Kawakami and Chen) does not specifically disclose and an upper surface of the second member is in contact with a lower surface of the ceramic plate to surround an outer peripheral portion of the heat transfer gas supply hole in the lower surface of the ceramic plate.
Although Anada does not specifically disclose "an upper surface of the second member is in contact with a lower surface of the ceramic plate to surround an outer peripheral portion of the heat transfer gas supply hole in the lower surface of the ceramic plate," Anada does disclose that the diameter and length of a porous member are result effective variables. Specifically, the length and diameter of a porous member change the member's insulation breakdown voltage (wherein a higher insulation breakdown voltage reduces the likelihood of arcing) [Anada - 0005, 0011, 0129, 0183, 0233]. As such, It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to find a desired diameter and length for a porous member to obtain desired insulation breakdown voltages. It has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result-effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. See MPEP 2144.05. Furthermore, Pilgrim (US 20200105568) and Prouty et al. (US 20200373184) also disclose that having a porous member be in contact with other surfaces helps ensure a porous member is secure [Pilgrim - 0050; Prouty - 0046]. Samir further discloses that conduit and channel lengths are result effective variables. Specifically, channel length can be adjusted to adjust gas flow rate, and that conduit length can be adjusted to obtain a desired electric field permeation [Samir - 0017, 0074]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to find a desired length for a gas insert to obtain a desired permeability and flow rate [Samir - 0017, 0074]. It is noted that adjusting gas member lengths and diameters could result in the porous body contacting a lower surface of an upper body, such as in Fig. 3F of Pilgrim [Pilgrim - Fig. 3B-3F & 0042-0043, 0050]. An example of this modification is outlined in the annotated drawings of Pilgrim above.
Additionally/alternatively, Nozawa discloses that having members in a processing chamber be in contact without gaps can help improve thermal conduction [Nozawa - Col. 2 lines 20-30]. As such, it would be obvious to modify any of the members of Kawakami to have no gaps therebetween to improve heat transfer.
Regarding Claim 18:
Modified Chiba (Chiba modified by Kawakami, Chen, and Anada) does not specifically disclose wherein the first member is disposed to have a gap between the first member and an inner wall of the heat transfer gas supply hole.
Samir teaches wherein the first member is disposed to have a gap between the first member and an inner wall of the heat transfer gas supply hole (as evidenced by Figs. 12-14, each plug has exterior channels, such as channels 407, that are disposed between an outer surface of each plug and an inner surface of dielectric member 417) [Fig. 12-14 & 0076].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify any of the members of Modified Chiba to comprise of outer flow paths, as in Samir, to minimize arcing [Samir - 0066, 0075, 0080].
Regarding Claim 19:
Modified Chiba (Chiba modified by Kawakami, Chen, and Anada) does not specifically disclose wherein the third member is disposed to have a gap between the third member and an inner wall of the heat transfer gas supply hole.
Samir teaches wherein the third member is disposed to have a gap between the third member and an inner wall of the heat transfer gas supply hole (as evidenced by Figs. 12-14, each plug has exterior channels, such as channels 407, that are disposed between an outer surface of each plug and an inner surface of dielectric member 417) [Fig. 12-14 & 0076].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify any of the members of Modified Chiba to comprise of outer flow paths, as in Samir, to minimize arcing [Samir - 0066, 0075, 0080].
Regarding Claim 20:
Chiba does not specifically disclose wherein the heat transfer gas is supplied to the support surface through an inside of the second member.
Kawakami teaches wherein the heat transfer gas is supplied to the support surface through an inside of the second member (conduction holes 62 and 72 accommodate a gas flow path) [Kawakami - Fig. 2 & Col. 8 lines 12-20].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify member of Chiba to comprise of three separate members, as in Kawakami, since utilizing a plurality of flow path members allows for more convenient control over conductance by changing the combination thereof [Kawakami - Col. 8 lines 57-65].
Modified Chiba (Chiba modified by Kawakami, Chen, and Anada) does not specifically disclose w herein the heat transfer gas is supplied to the support surface through the gap between the third member and the inner wall of the heat transfer gas supply hole, and a gap between the first member and the inner wall of the heat transfer gas supply hole.
Samir teaches wherein the heat transfer gas is supplied to the support surface through the gap (exterior channels 407) between the third member and the inner wall of the heat transfer gas supply hole and a gap between the first member and the inner wall of the heat transfer gas supply hole (heat transfer gas travels through exterior channels 407) [Fig. 12 & 0079].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective fling date of the invention, to modify any of the members of Modified Chiba to have members with outside channels for gas flow, as in Samir, because such is a suitable block used to accommodate heat transfer gas flow [Samir - 0073]. It is noted that the plugs of Kawakami is capable of utilizing multiple different combinations of plugs since it discloses two different types of plugs [Kawakami - Col. 9 lines 1-14].
Regarding Claim 21:
Chiba does not specifically disclose wherein a lower surface of the first member is in contact with an upper surface of the second member, and a lower surface of the second member is in contact with an upper surface of the third member.
Kawakami teaches wherein a lower surface of the first member is in contact with an upper surface of the second member, and a lower surface of the second member is in contact with an upper surface of the third member (as evidenced by Fig.2 and the annotated drawings above, the members 6 and 7 are in contact with each other via lower surfaces) [Fig. 2-7 & Col. 8 lines 35-49, Col. 9 lines 1-9].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify member of Chiba to comprise of three separate members, as in Kawakami, since utilizing a plurality of flow path members allows for more convenient control over conductance by changing the combination thereof [Kawakami - Col. 8 lines 57-65].
Regarding Claim 24:
Modified Chiba does not specifically disclose wherein the porous resin is polyimide (PI),PTFE, polychlorotrifluoroethylene (PCTFE), perfluoroalkoxyalkane resin (PFA), polyetheretherketone (PEEK), polyetherimide (PEI), POM (polyoxymethylene, polyacetal, polyformaldehyde), methyl cellulose (MC) , polycarbonate (PC) , or polyphenylene sulfone (PPS).
Kawakami teaches wherein the porous resin is polyimide (PI),PTFE, polychlorotrifluoroethylene (PCTFE), perfluoroalkoxyalkane resin (PFA), polyetheretherketone (PEEK), polyetherimide (PEI), POM (polyoxymethylene, polyacetal, polyformaldehyde), methyl cellulose (MC) , polycarbonate (PC) , or polyphenylene sulfone (PPS) (the members 6 and 7 may each be made of Teflon; a porous body may be used) [Fig. 2-7 & Col. 8 lines 35-49, Col. 9 lines 1-9].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify member of Chiba to comprise of three separate members, as in Kawakami, since utilizing a plurality of flow path members allows for more convenient control over conductance by changing the combination thereof [Kawakami - Col. 8 lines 57-65].
Response to Arguments
Applicant' s arguments, see Remarks, filed 09/29/2025, with respect to the objection of claims 10-11, 22-23, and 24-26 under 35 USC 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The objection of claims 10-11, 22-23, and 24-26 has been withdrawn.
Applicant' s arguments, see Remarks, filed 09/29/2025, with respect to the rejection of claims 1-9, 12-21, and 24 under 35 USC 103 have been fully considered but are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that the combination of references does not specifically disclose “a second member disposed under the first member in the heat transfer gas supply hole in contact with the first member so as not to have a gap between the second member and the first member,” because Kawakami et al. (US 5542559) discloses gaps between members. In response, the examiner would like to note that the second member of Kawakami can comprise of a porous plug, as shown in Fig. 7. The porous plug shown in Fig. 7 has no recess, and would therefore not have a gap between it and the first member [Kawakami - Fig. 2, 7 & Col. 5 lines 40-54, Col. 9 lines 1-14]. Therefore, Kawakami would disclose the aforementioned limitation. The examiner has also utilized the teachings of Nozawa et al. (US 5290381) to further disclose this limitation.
Applicant further argues that the gas members of Kawakami are not in the opening of gas flow 52 of the support 32. In response, while the examiner acknowledges that the members are not explicitly shown in the opening of gas flow 52, Kawakami does disclose that the flowpath members 6, 7 and 8 can be provided at not only the position shown within the gas supply conduit 5 but also a position closer to the electrostatic chuck. For instance, they may be positioned in the region of the accumulator space 53 [Kawakami – Col. 9 lines 10-15]. Furthermore, even if Kawakami did not disclose this, the combination of references would disclose gas members in the location the applicant has disclosed. The gas members of Kawakami are being used to modify the gas member 220 of Chiba et al. (WO 2019244631). As such, modification of the gas member 220 of Chiba with the plurality of gas members of Kawakami would result in an apparatus wherein the gas members are positioned in the location the applicant has disclosed (see below for an annotated example).
Applicant argues that that the combination of references does not specifically disclose “a second member disposed under the first member in the heat transfer gas supply hole in contact with the first member and a lower surface of the ceramic plate so as not to have a gap between the second member the lower surface of the ceramic plate.” However, this argument is now moot because the arguments do not apply to the combination of references being used in the current rejection. The teachings of Anada et al. (US 20160276198) and Prouty et al. (US 20200373184) remedy anything lacking in the combination of references as applied above the top amended claims. The teachings of Pilgrim (US 20200105568) and Samir et al. (US 20090086401) have also been utilized in claim 1 in light of the amendments.
Conclusion
/J.R./Examiner, Art Unit 1718 /GORDON BALDWIN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1718