DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment/Argument
Applicant’s arguments, see remarks, filed 01/20/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-15 and 21-25 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of an updated prior art search.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 21-22 and 24-25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goh et al. (US-20220181289-A1 – hereinafter Goh) in view of Topacio et al. (US-20080169555-A1 – hereinafter Topacio), and further in view of Huang et al. (US-20190067249-A1 – hereinafter Huang).
Regarding claim 21, Goh teaches a bonded assembly (Fig.3 100; ¶0033) comprising:
a first interconnect-containing structure (Fig.3 110; ¶0036) including first interconnects (Fig.3 118; ¶0037) formed within first dielectric layers (substrates have a dielectric core; ¶0016) which have a first horizontal surface located within a first horizontal plane (top surface of 110), wherein the first-interconnect structure (110) comprises recesses (Fig.3 136; ¶0045) located in corner regions (Fig.5 trenches 136 are in corner regions); and
first bump structures (Fig.3 116; ¶0034) located directly on a subset of the first interconnects (118), wherein bottom peripheries of the first bump structures (116) are located within the first horizontal plane (top surface of 110);
at least one second interconnect-containing structure (Fig.3 120; ¶0041) including second interconnects (Fig.3 178; ¶0042) and attached to the first interconnect-containing structure (110) through a respective array of solder material portions (Fig.3 130; ¶0023, ¶0035) that are bonded a respective one of the first bump structures (116), wherein the bottom peripheries of the first bump structures (116) are more distal from the at least one second interconnect-containing structure (120) than top peripheries of the first bump structures (116) are from the at least one second interconnect-containing structure (120); and
an underfill material portion (Fig.3 132; ¶0039) laterally surrounding each of the solder material portions (130) and comprising downward-protruding anchor portions (Fig.3 portions of 132 that fill 136) that protrude downward from a horizontally-extending portion (Fig.3 interface between 132 and 110) of the underfill material portion (132).
Goh does not teach wherein the sidewalls containing first surfaces of the first dielectric layers and having recessed surfaces containing second surfaces of the first dielectric layers located within a second horizontal plane that is vertically spaced from, and recessed relative to, the first horizontal plane; and
wherein the bottommost surfaces of the downward-protruding anchor portions are in direct contact with the recessed surfaces of the first dielectric layers within the second horizontal plane and are vertically spaced from the bottom peripheries of sidewalls of the first bump structures which are located within the first horizontal plane; and
wherein the recessed surfaces are located at a depth which is in a range from 5% to 99.9% of a thickness of the first interconnect-containing structure such that the recessed surfaces are located below a horizontal plane containing bottommost surfaces of the first bump structures, wherein:
the first surfaces of the first dielectric layers comprise concave surface segments having a concave vertical cross-sectional profile;
the downward-protruding anchor portions comprise convex surface segments in direct contact with the concave surface segments; and
the recesses and the downward-protruding anchor portions received therein constitute a mechanical interlock structure having a non-planar interface between the first interconnect-containing structure and the underfill material portion, reducing a stress on the underfill material portion at corner segments of the underfill material portion, and reducing delamination or cracking of the underfill material portion.
Topacio teaches a bonded assembly (Fig.2 100; ¶0039 of Topacio) having recesses (Fig.2 118; ¶0040 of Topacio) within a dielectric layer (Fig.2 104; ¶0040 of Topacio).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to implement the recesses of Topacio (118 of Topacio) that penetrate a dielectric layer (104 of Topacio) with the dielectric core (110 of Goh), constituting a mechanical interlock structure having a non-planar interface between the first interconnect-containing structure (120 of Goh) and the underfill material portion (132 of Goh) to arrive at the claimed invention.
A practitioner would be motivated to make this combination for the benefit of reducing delamination (¶0022 of Topacio).
Goh in view of Topacio does not teach wherein:
the first surfaces of the first dielectric layers comprise concave surface segments having a concave vertical cross-sectional profile; and
the downward-protruding anchor portions comprise convex surface segments in direct contact with the concave surface segments.
Huang teaches a recess (Fig.2C 28; ¶0022 of Huang) comprising concave side surfaces (Fig.2C 28 of Huang clearly depicts concave surfaces), where an underfill (Fig.2C 38; ¶0030 of Huang) fills the recess (28 of Huang) to form downward protruding anchor portions (Fig.2C 38a/b; ¶0030 of Huang) that have a convex surface (Fig.2C 38a/b of Huang clearly depicts convex surfaces) contacting the concave surface.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to employ the recess shape taught by Huang (28 of Huang) instead of the recess shape taught by Topacio (118 of Topacio) as a reasonable alternative for reducing delamination (¶0039 of Huang).
Regarding claim 22, the aforementioned combination of Goh in view of Topacio, and further in view of Huang from claim 21 teaches the bonded assembly of Claim 21, wherein a first downward-protruding anchor portion (Fig.3 of Goh any one of the underfill 132 inside 136, modified by Topacio) selected from the downward-protruding anchor portions (Fig.3 136 of Goh, modified by Topacio) is located within an area of the at least one second interconnect-containing structure in a plan view (Fig.3 136 of Goh sits in the footprint of 120).
Regarding claim 24, the aforementioned combination of Goh in view of Topacio, and further in view of Huang from claim 21 teaches the bonded assembly of Claim 21, wherein:
the first interconnects (118 of Goh) comprise first redistribution wiring interconnects (Substrate interconnects being redistribution wiring (RDL) is a common feature in the art); and
the second horizontal plane (bottom surface of 136 of Goh, modified by Topacio) is located entirely below a first subset of the first redistribution wiring interconnects (118 of Goh), and is located entirely above a second subset of the first redistribution wiring interconnects (118 of Goh). (some interconnects are above plane d and others below)
Regarding claim 25, the aforementioned combination of Goh in view of Topacio, and further in view of Huang from claim 1 teaches the bonded assembly of Claim 1, wherein one of the recesses (136 of Goh, modified by Topacio) has a vertical sidewall (Fig.3 of Goh component 136 has vertical sidewalls) that vertically extends from the first horizontal plane (top surface of 110 of Goh) to a recessed horizontal surface (bottom surface of modified recesses 136 of Goh) located within second horizontal plane, the recessed horizontal surface (top surface of 110 of Goh) being a surface of a polymer material (structure 110 of Goh is often made from polymer materials, ¶0036).
Claim(s) 1-3, 6-8, 26 and 29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goh in view of Topacio, and further in view of Chen et al. (US-20200343197-A1 – hereinafter Chen), and further in view of Huang.
Regarding claim 1, Goh teaches a bonded assembly (Fig.3 100; ¶0033) comprising:
a first interconnect-containing structure (Fig.3 110; ¶0036) including first interconnects (Fig.3 118; ¶0037 ) formed within first dielectric layers (substrates have a dielectric core; ¶0016) which have a first horizontal surface located within a first horizontal plane (top surface of 110), wherein the first-interconnect structure (110) comprises recesses (Fig.3 136; ¶0045) located in corner regions (Fig.5 trenches 136 are in corner regions);
first bump structures (Fig.3 116; ¶0034) located directly on a subset of the first interconnects (118), wherein bottom peripheries of the first bump structures (116) are located within the first horizontal plane (top surface of 110);
at least one second interconnect-containing structure (Fig.3 120; ¶0041) including second interconnects (Fig.3 178; ¶0042 ) and attached to the first interconnect-containing structure (110) through a respective array of solder material portions (Fig.3 130; ¶0023, ¶0035) that are bonded a respective one of the first bump structures (116), wherein the bottom peripheries of the first bump structures (116) are more distal from the at least one second interconnect-containing structure (120) than top peripheries of the first bump structures (116) are from the at least one second interconnect-containing structure (120); and
an underfill material portion (Fig.3 132; ¶0039) comprising a horizontally-extending portion (Fig.3 132 horizontally extends between both substrates) that is located between the first interconnect-containing structure (110) and the at least one second interconnect-containing structure (120) and laterally surrounds each respective array of solder material portions (130), further comprising downward-protruding anchor portions (Fig.3 portions of 132 that fill 136) that protrude downward from a horizontally-extending portion (Fig.3 interface between 132 and 110) of the underfill material portion (132) that laterally surrounds each respective array of solder material portions (130) into the recesses (136).
Goh does not teach wherein the recesses have sidewalls containing first surfaces of the first dielectric layers and having recessed surfaces containing second surfaces of the first dielectric layers located within a second horizontal plane that is vertically spaced from, and recessed relative to, the first horizontal plane; and
wherein the underfill material portion fills the recesses in the first interconnect-containing structure such that bottommost surfaces of the downward-protruding anchor portions are in direct contact with the recessed surfaces of the first dielectric layers within the second horizontal plane and are vertically spaced from the bottom peripheries of sidewalls of the first bump structures which are located within the first horizontal plane; and
an upward protruding portion that protrudes upward from the horizontally-extending portion laterally surrounds sidewalls of the second interconnect-containing structure, wherein:
the first surfaces of the first dielectric layers comprise concave surface segments having a concave vertical cross-sectional profile;
the downward-protruding anchor portions comprise convex surface segments in direct contact with the concave surface segments; and
the recesses and the downward-protruding anchor portions received therein constitute a mechanical interlock structure having a non-planar interface between the first interconnect-containing structure and the underfill material portion, reducing a stress on the underfill material portion at corner segments of the underfill material portion, and reducing delamination or cracking of the underfill material portion.
Topacio teaches a bonded assembly (Fig.2 100; ¶0039 of Topacio) having recesses (Fig.2 118; ¶0040 of Topacio) within a dielectric layer (Fig.2 104; ¶0040 of Topacio).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to implement the recesses of Topacio (118 of Topacio) that penetrate a dielectric layer (104 of Topacio) with the dielectric core (110 of Goh), constituting a mechanical interlock structure having a non-planar interface between the first interconnect-containing structure (120 of Goh) and the underfill material portion (132 of Goh) to arrive at the claimed invention.
A practitioner would be motivated to make this combination for the benefit of reducing delamination (¶0022 of Topacio).
Goh in view of Topacio does not teach an upward protruding portion that protrudes upward from the horizontally-extending portion laterally surrounds sidewalls of the second interconnect-containing structure, wherein:
the first surfaces of the first dielectric layers comprise concave surface segments having a concave vertical cross-sectional profile; and
the downward-protruding anchor portions comprise convex surface segments in direct contact with the concave surface segments.
Chen teaches a bonded assembly (Fig.1A; ¶0033 of Chen) with an underfill (Fig.1A 150; ¶0043 of Chen) that comprises an upward protruding portion (Fig.1A 152; ¶0043 of Chen) that laterally surrounds semiconductor components (Fig.1A 120; ¶0034 of Chen) that are bonded to an interposer (Fig.1A 114; ¶0032 of Chen).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to laterally surround the second interconnect structure (120 of Goh) of Goh in view of Topacio with the underfill material (132 of Goh) as taught by Chen for the benefit of having the underfill material function as a protective layer (¶0042 of Chen).
Goh in view of Topacio, and further in view of Chen does not teach wherein:
the first surfaces of the first dielectric layers comprise concave surface segments having a concave vertical cross-sectional profile; and
the downward-protruding anchor portions comprise convex surface segments in direct contact with the concave surface segments.
Huang teaches a recess (Fig.2C 28; ¶0022 of Huang) comprising concave side surfaces (Fig.2C 28 of Huang clearly depicts concave surfaces), where an underfill (Fig.2C 38; ¶0030 of Huang) fills the recess (28 of Huang) to form downward protruding anchor portions (Fig.2C 38a/b; ¶0030 of Huang) that have a convex surface (Fig.2C 38a/b of Huang clearly depicts convex surfaces) contacting the concave surface.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to employ the recess shape taught by Huang (28 of Huang) instead of the recess shape taught by Topacio (118 of Topacio) as a reasonable alternative for reducing delamination (¶0039 of Huang).
Regarding claim 2, the aforementioned combination of Goh in view of Topacio, and further in view of Chen, and further in view of Huang from claim 1 teaches the bonded assembly of Claim 1, wherein a first downward-protruding anchor portion (Fig.3 of Goh any one of the underfill 132 inside 136, modified by Topacio) selected from the downward-protruding anchor portions (Fig.3 of Goh underfill 132 inside 136, modified by Topacio) is located within an area of the at least one second interconnect-containing structure (Fig.3 of Goh 136 sits in the footprint of 120) in a plan view.
Regarding claim 3, the aforementioned combination of Goh in view of Topacio, and further in view of Chen, and further in view of Huang from claim 2 teaches the bonded assembly of Claim 2, wherein:
one of the at least one second interconnect-containing structure (Fig.3 120 of Goh) is attached to the first interconnect-containing structure (Fig.3 110 of Goh) through a first array of solder material portions (Fig.3 130 of Goh);
and the first downward-protruding anchor portion (Fig.3 of Goh any one of the underfill 132 inside 136, modified by Topacio) is more proximal to sidewalls of the one of the at least one second interconnect-containing structure (120 of Goh) than any solder material portion within the first array of solder material portions (130 of Goh) is to the sidewalls of the one of the at least one second interconnect-containing structure (Fig.3 of Goh 136 is closer to outside of the footprint of 120 than 130).
Regarding claim 6, the aforementioned combination of Goh in view of Topacio, and further in view of Chen, and further in view of Huang from claim 1 teaches the bonded assembly of Claim 1, wherein the recesses (136 of Goh, modified by Topacio) comprise an array of recesses having a first periodicity along a first horizontal direction and having a second periodicity along a second horizontal direction and located in one of the comer regions. (See Figure 5 of Goh)
Regarding claim 7, the aforementioned combination of Goh in view of Topacio, and further in view of Chen, and further in view of Huang from claim 1 teaches the bonded assembly of Claim 1, wherein one of the recesses (136 of Goh, modified by Topacio) has a vertical sidewall that vertically extends from the first horizontal plane to the second horizontal plane.
Regarding claim 8, the aforementioned combination of Goh in view of Topacio, and further in view of Chen, and further in view of Huang from claim 1 teaches the bonded assembly of Claim 1.
Goh does teach wherein recesses (136 of Goh, modified by Topacio) have vertical sidewalls (Fig.3 of Goh component 136 has vertical sidewalls) adjoined to a recessed horizontal surface (bottom surface of modified 136 of Goh) located within the first interconnect-containing structure (110 of Goh) within the second horizontal plane, the recessed horizontal surface (bottom surface of modified 136 of Goh) being a surface of a polymer material (structure 110 is often made from polymer materials, ¶0036 and ¶0016).
Goh does not teach wherein one of the recesses has a concave surface segment that is adjoined to a recessed horizontal surface located within the first interconnect-containing structure within the second horizontal plane, the recessed horizontal surface being a surface of a polymer material.
Shape differences are considered obvious design choices and are not patentable unless unobvious or unexpected results are obtained from these changes. Additionally, the Applicant has presented no discussion in the specification which convinces the Examiner that the particular shape of the concave surface segment that is adjoined to a recessed horizontal surface is anything more than one of numerous shapes a person of ordinary skill in the art would find obvious for the purpose of forming a recess (In re Dailey, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1976)). It appears that these changes produce no functional differences and therefore would have been obvious.
Regarding claim 26, the aforementioned combination of Goh in view of Topacio, and further in view of Chen, and further in view of Huang from claim 1 teaches the bonded assembly of Claim 1, wherein the second surfaces of the first dielectric layers have peripheries that coincide with bottom peripheries of the concave surface segments (the fully modified recess of Topacio having concave sides modified by Huang meets this claim).
Regarding claim 29, the aforementioned combination of Goh in view of Topacio, and further in view of Chen, and further in view of Huang from claim 1 teaches the bonded assembly of Claim 1, wherein top peripheries of the concave surface segments are located within the first horizontal plane (the fully modified recess of Topacio having concave sides modified by Huang meets this claim).
Claim(s) 4-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goh in view of Topacio, and further in view of Chen, and further in view of Huang, and further in view of Hou et al. (US-20190237454-A1 – hereinafter Hou).
Regarding claim 4, the aforementioned combination of Goh in view of Topacio, and further in view of Chen, and further in view of Huang from claim 1 teaches the bonded assembly of Claim 1.
The aforementioned combination does not teach wherein the horizontally-extending portion of the underfill material portion is located above the first horizontal plane and directly contacts all sidewalls of the first bump structures.
Hou teaches a bonded assembly (Fig.19 1700; ¶0046 of Hou) with connectors (Fig.19 1605; ¶0044 of Hou) that clearly comprise bump structures for supporting a solder ball, said connectors surrounded by an underfill layer (Fig.19 1901; ¶0048 of Hou) contacting the sidewalls of the bumps.
Whether or not this claimed limitation is met depends on if the bump structures are embedded into the overall substrate (such as Goh, where a solder resist layer Fig.3 142; ¶0045 surrounds each bump structure) or not embedded, as depicted in Hou. This difference does not patentably distinguish claim 4 over the art of record and is a matter of design choice.
Regarding claim 5, the aforementioned combination of Goh in view of Topacio, and further in view of Chen, and further in view of Huang from claim 1 teaches the bonded assembly of Claim 1.
The aforementioned combination does not teach wherein an entirety of an interface between the horizontally-extending portion of the underfill material portion is located within the first horizontal plane.
Hou teaches a bonded assembly (Fig.19 1700; ¶0046 of Hou) with connectors (Fig.19 1605; ¶0044 of Hou) that clearly comprise bump structures for supporting a solder ball, said connectors surrounded by an underfill layer (Fig.19 1901; ¶0048 of Hou) contacting the sidewalls of the bumps. Fig.19 of Hou clearly depicts an embodiment where an interface between the horizontally-extending portion of the underfill material portion is located within the first horizontal plane.
Whether or not this claimed limitation is met depends on if the bump structures are embedded into the overall substrate (such as Goh, where a solder resist layer Fig.3 142; ¶0045 surrounds each bump structure) or not embedded, as depicted in Hou, as this determines where the first horizontal plane is located/defined. This difference does not patentably distinguish claim 5 over the art of record and is a matter of design choice.
Claim(s) 11-12 and 14-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goh in view of Topacio, and further in view of Newlin (US-20220351901-A1), and further in view of Huang.
Regarding claim 11, Goh teaches a bonded assembly (Fig.3 100; ¶0033) comprising a fan-out package, the fan-out package comprising:
an interposer (Fig.3 110; ¶0036) comprising first interconnects (Fig.3 118; ¶0037) embedded in first dielectric layers (substrates have a dielectric core; ¶0016) which
have a first horizontal surface located within a first horizontal plane (top surface of 110) and further comprising on-interposer bump structures (Fig.3 116; ¶0034) overlying the first horizontal plane (top surface of 110), and comprising and having sidewalls of which bottom peripheries (bottoms of 116) are located within the first horizontal plane (top surface of 110), wherein the interposer (110) comprises recesses (Fig.3 136; ¶0045) located in corner regions of the interposer (Fig.5 trenches 136 are in corner regions); and
at least one semiconductor die (Fig.3 120; ¶0041) attached to the interposer (110) through a respective array of solder material portions (Fig.3 130; ¶0023 and ¶0035) that are bonded a respective one of the first bump structures (116), wherein the bottom peripheries of the sidewalls of the on-interposer bump structures (116) are more distal from the at least one semiconductor die (120) than top peripheries of the sidewalls of the on-interposer bump structures (116) are from the at least one semiconductor die (120);
an underfill material (Fig.3 132; ¶0039) portion located between the interposer (110) and the at least one semiconductor die (120) and comprising downward-protruding anchor portions (Fig.3 portions of 132 that fill 136) that fill the recesses (136) in the interposer (110).
Goh does not teach wherein the recesses are vertically extending from the first horizontal plane toward a backside horizontal surface of the interposer such that recessed surfaces of the first dielectric layers are located within a second horizontal plane that is located at a depth which is in a range from 5% to 99.9% of a thickness of the interposer such that the recessed surfaces are located below a horizontal plane containing bottommost surfaces of the on-interposer bump structures and is more proximal to the backside horizontal surface than the first horizontal plane is to the backside horizontal surface; and
wherein bottommost surfaces of the downward-protruding anchor portions are in direct contact with the recessed surfaces of the first dielectric layers within the second horizontal plane and are vertically spaced from the bottom peripheries of the sidewalls of the on-interposer bump structures which are located within the first horizontal plane, wherein:
the first surfaces of the first dielectric layers comprise concave surface segments having a concave vertical cross-sectional profile;
the downward-protruding anchor portions comprise convex surface segments in direct contact with the concave surface segments; and
the recesses and the downward-protruding anchor portions received therein constitute a mechanical interlock structure having a non-planar interface between the first interconnect-containing structure and the underfill material portion, reducing a stress on the underfill material portion at corner segments of the underfill material portion, and reducing delamination or cracking of the underfill material portion.
Topacio teaches a bonded assembly (Fig.2 100; ¶0039 of Topacio) having recesses (Fig.2 118; ¶0040 of Topacio) within a dielectric layer (Fig.2 104; ¶0040 of Topacio).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to implement the recesses of Topacio (118 of Topacio) that penetrate a dielectric layer (104 of Topacio) with the dielectric core (110 of Goh), constituting a mechanical interlock structure having a non-planar interface between the first interconnect-containing structure (120 of Goh) and the underfill material portion (132 of Goh).
A practitioner would be motivated to make this combination for the benefit of reducing delamination (¶0022 of Topacio).
Goh in view of Topacio does not teach a molding compound die frame laterally surrounding the at least one semiconductor die, wherein:
the first surfaces of the first dielectric layers comprise concave surface segments having a concave vertical cross-sectional profile; and
the downward-protruding anchor portions comprise convex surface segments in direct contact with the concave surface segments.
Newlin teaches a semiconductor device having a mold compound (Fig.6 61 of Newlin) encapsulating a semiconductor die (Fig.6 41 of Newlin), a substrate (Fig.6 21 of Newlin), a lead frame (Fig.1 10B of Newlin), and a plurality of conductive bumps/pillars (Fig.6 31-36 of Newlin).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to add the mold compound encapsulant of Newlin (61 of Newlin) to the existing structure taught by Figure 3 of Goh to protect the components against physical damage (¶0021 of Newlin). This encapsulant (61 of Newlin), if implemented, would be laterally spaced from the recesses (136 of Goh) because the previously disclosed underfill material (132 of Goh) fully fills and covers each recess (136 of Goh).
Goh in view of Topacio, and further in view of Newlin does not teach wherein:
the first surfaces of the first dielectric layers comprise concave surface segments having a concave vertical cross-sectional profile; and
the downward-protruding anchor portions comprise convex surface segments in direct contact with the concave surface segments.
Huang teaches a recess (Fig.2C 28; ¶0022 of Huang) comprising concave side surfaces (Fig.2C 28 of Huang clearly depicts concave surfaces), where an underfill (Fig.2C 38; ¶0030 of Huang) fills the recess (28 of Huang) to form downward protruding anchor portions (Fig.2C 38a/b; ¶0030 of Huang) that have a convex surface (Fig.2C 38a/b of Huang clearly depicts convex surfaces) contacting the concave surface.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to employ the recess shape taught by Huang (28 of Huang) instead of the recess shape taught by Topacio (118 of Topacio) as a reasonable alternative for reducing delamination (¶0039 of Huang).
Regarding claim 12, the aforementioned combination of Goh in view of Topacio, and further in view of Newlin, and further in view of Huang from claim 11 teaches the bonded assembly of Claim 11, wherein each of the downward-protruding anchor portions (Fig.3 of Goh, underfill 132 fills trenches 136 to produce the downward anchor portions, the trenches modified by Topacio) of the underfill material portion (132 of Goh) is located entirely within an area of a respective one of the at least one semiconductor die (120 of Goh) in a plan view (Fig.3 of Goh 136 sits in the footprint of 120); and
the recesses (118 of Topacio) in the interposer (110 of Goh) and the downward-protruding anchor portions (Fig.3 of Goh, underfill 132 fills trenches 136 to produce the downward anchor portions, the trenches modified by Topacio) of underfill material (132 of Goh) received constitute a mechanical interlock structure (Fig.2 of Topacio depicts a mechanical interlock) between the interposer (110 of Goh) and the underfill material (132 of Goh) portion that mitigates against delamination (¶0022 of Topacio) or cracking in a vicinity of comers of the at least one semiconductor die (120 of Goh) that is located on an opposite side of the interposer (110 of Goh) relative to the underfill material (132 of Goh) portions by reducing thermal and mechanical stress on the underfill material portion (132 of Goh).
Regarding claim 14, the aforementioned combination of Goh in view of Topacio, and further in view of Newlin, and further in view of Huang from claim 11 teaches the bonded assembly of Claim 11, wherein:
a first semiconductor die (Fig.3 120 of Goh) selected from the at least one semiconductor die (120 of Goh) comprises first sidewalls laterally extending along a first horizontal direction and second sidewalls laterally extending along a second horizontal direction (Fig.3 120 of Goh comprises sidewalls);
the first semiconductor die (120 of Goh) is attached to the interposer (110 of Goh) through a first array of solder material portions (Fig.3 130; ¶0023 and ¶0035 of Goh) and has areal overlap with a first downward-protruding anchor portion (Fig.3 of Goh, underfill 132 fills trenches 136 to produce the downward anchor portions) selected from the downward-protruding anchor portions (Fig.3 of Goh 136 sits in the footprint of 120);
the first downward-protruding anchor portion (Fig.3 of Goh, underfill 132 fills trenches 136 to produce the downward anchor portions) is more proximal to a proximal one of the first sidewalls than any solder material portion within the first array of solder material portions is to the first sidewalls (Fig.3 of Goh 136 is closer to outside of the footprint of 120 than 130); and
the first downward-protruding anchor portion (Fig.3 of Goh, underfill 132 fills trenches 136 to produce the downward anchor portions) is more proximal to a proximal one of the second sidewalls than any solder material portion within the first array of solder material portions is to the second sidewalls (Fig.3 of Goh 136 is closer to outside of the footprint of 120 than 130).
Regarding claim 15, the aforementioned combination of Goh in view of Topacio, and further in view of Newlin, and further in view of Huang from claim 11 teaches the bonded assembly of Claim 11, wherein the recesses (136 of Goh) comprise an array of recesses having a first periodicity along a first horizontal direction and having a second periodicity along a second horizontal direction and located in one of the corner regions (See Figure 5 of Goh).
Claim(s) 28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goh in view of Topacio, and further in view of Chen, and further in view of Huang, and further in view of Noh et al. (US-20220301969-A1 – hereinafter Noh).
Regarding claim 28, the aforementioned combination of Goh in view of Topacio, and further in view of Chen, and further in view of Huang from claim 1 teaches the bonded assembly of Claim 1.
The aforementioned combination does not teach wherein the recesses comprise additional sidewalls connecting top peripheries of the concave surface segments and peripheries of openings in the first horizontal surface located within the first horizontal plane and having cylindrical configurations.
Noh teaches a recess (Fig.7 TR; ¶0035 and Fig.10 HL ¶0051 of Noh) comprising concave surfaces (clearly depicted in Fig.7 of Noh) with vertical sidewalls above the concave surfaces (clearly depicted in Fig.7 of Noh).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to employ the recess shape taught by Noh (TR and HL of Noh) instead of the recess shape taught by Topacio (118 of Topacio) or Huang (28 of Huang) as a reasonable alternative for reducing stress (¶0040 of No).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 27 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 27, the most relevant prior art reference US-20220181289-A1 to Goh et al. teaches most of the limitations of claim 27, but not the limitations of “wherein the recesses comprise additional sidewalls connecting bottom peripheries of the concave surface segments and peripheries of the second surfaces and having cylindrical configurations” as recited. Therefore, claim 27 is deemed patentable over the prior art.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/T.J.K./ Examiner, Art Unit 2817
/ELISEO RAMOS FELICIANO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2817