Response to Amendment
The amendment filed 02/26/2026 has been entered. Applicant’s amendments to the claims have overcome each and every objection and 112(a) rejection previously set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed 11/26/2025.
Claim Status
Claims 1-26 are pending.
Claims 1, 13, 18-20, 22, 24, and 26 are currently amended.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, and 4-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Morioka (US 20090159588 A1), and further in view of Koiwa (US 20170092472 A1), Leeser (US 20170236733 A1), and Kanno (US 20030168439 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Morioka teaches a substrate support that supports a substrate ([0010], a heating apparatus has a heating surface on which a substrate is set), comprising:
a substrate attraction part including an attraction electrode for holding the substrate (Fig. 1, [0035], electrostatic electrode 16 in ceramic base 11);
an RF electrode part to which RF power is supplied (Fig. 1, [0034], heat conductive member 14 becomes usable as a high frequency electrode when high frequency power from outside is supplied via electrode terminal 15); and
a substrate temperature adjuster including a heater electrode for adjusting a temperature of the substrate (Fig. 1, [0017], resistance heating body 12 heats wafer on heating surface 11a),
wherein the substrate attraction part and the substrate temperature adjuster are stacked with the RF electrode part interposed therebetween (Fig. 1, high frequency electrode 14 is sandwiched between electrostatic electrode 16 and resistance heating body 12), and
wherein a diameter of the RF electrode part is the same as a diameter of the substrate temperature adjuster (Fig. 1, [0020], resistance heating body 12 has a plate shape approximately the same shape and diameter of heating surface 11a, and where member 14 also has approximately the same shape and size as heating surface 11a, [0027]).
Morioka fails to explicitly teach wherein a diameter of the RF electrode part is larger than a diameter of the substrate attraction part. Morioka also fails to teach a first heater electrode and a second heater electrode, and
wherein the first heater electrode is disposed on a central side of the substrate temperature adjuster with respect to the second heater electrode, and
wherein the second heater electrode is arranged to extend to an outer edge of the substrate temperature adjuster to control a temperature of an outer peripheral side of the RF electrode part and a temperature of a central side of the RF electrode part uniformly.
However, Koiwa teaches wherein a diameter of the RF electrode part is larger than a diameter of the substrate attraction part (Koiwa, Fig. 2, [0069]-[0071], base 50 has peripheral portion 50b which extends further laterally than attraction unit 52 of electrostatic chuck 36, where base 50 is separated from RF-powered cooling table 34 by elastic member 68, [0075]).
Koiwa is considered analogous art to the claimed invention because it is in the same field of semiconductor processing. It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art at the time of filing to have incorporated the peripheral portion and associated O-ring mating surface of Koiwa into the RF electrode assembly of Morioka as doing so would allow for an elastic member to be present between the peripheral portion and the annular clamping member, thereby helping to prevent friction between the surfaces and suppress particle formation (Koiwa, [0082]).
Modified Morioka fails to teach a first heater electrode and a second heater electrode, and
wherein the first heater electrode is disposed on a central side of the substrate temperature adjuster with respect to the second heater electrode, and
wherein the second heater electrode is arranged to extend to an outer edge of the substrate temperature adjuster to control a temperature of an outer peripheral side of the RF electrode part and a temperature of a central side of the RF electrode part uniformly.
However, Leeser teaches a first heater electrode and a second heater electrode (Leeser, Figs. 3A – 5, [0054]-[0063], inner heater and outer heater), and
wherein the first heater electrode is disposed on a central side of the substrate temperature adjuster with respect to the second heater electrode (Leeser, Figs. 3A – 5, [0054]-[0063], inner heater is located centrally within pedestal 240, and the outer heater is disposed peripherally to the inner heater), and
wherein the second heater electrode is arranged to extend outwardly of the substrate temperature adjuster (Leeser, Figs. 3A – 5, [0054]-[0063], inner heater is located centrally within pedestal 240, and the outer heater is disposed peripherally to the inner heater) to control a temperature of an outer peripheral side of the RF electrode part and a temperature of a central side of the RF electrode part uniformly (Leeser, Figs. 3A – 5, [0054]-[0063], controller 270 controls the inner and outer heaters to support a desired temperature uniformity).
Leeser is considered analogous art to the claimed invention because it is in the same field of semiconductor processing. It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art at the time of filing to have incorporated the inner and outer heater design and control function as taught by Leeser into the apparatus of modified Morioka as doing so would enable precise control of the surface in contact with the substrate during processing (Leeser, [0004]), allowing measurement and adjustment of the surface in support of achieving a desired temperature uniformity (Leeser, [0062]).
Modified Morioka fails to explicitly teach wherein the second heater electrode is arranged to extend to an outer edge of the substrate temperature adjuster.
However, Kanno teaches wherein the second heater electrode is arranged to extend to an outer edge of the substrate temperature adjuster (Kanno, Figs. 5A – 5B, [0038], outer diameter of heater 16 extends to the outer diameter of the ceramic plate’s protrusion).
Kanno is considered analogous art to the claimed invention because it is in the same field of semiconductor processing. It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art at the time of filing to have extended the outer heater of modified Morioka in the manner taught by Kanno as doing so would allow the possibility to uniformly heat up almost the entire surface of the ceramics plate in a situation where the ceramic plate has an outer protrusion (Kanno, [0038]).
Regarding claim 2, Morioka teaches wherein the substrate attraction part is arranged on an upper surface side of the RF electrode part (Fig. 1, electrostatic electrode 16 sits atop high frequency electrode 14), and wherein the substrate temperature adjuster is arranged on a lower surface side of the RF electrode part (Fig. 1, resistance heating body 12 sits below high frequency electrode 14).
Regarding claim 4, Morioka teaches wherein the substrate attraction part has a first base layer that incorporates the attraction electrode and is made of a dielectric ([0015], Fig. 1, electrostatic electrode 16 is incorporated into ceramic base 11, which is composed of an alumina-based ceramic).
Regarding claim 5, Morioka teaches wherein the first base layer is made of metal oxide, and wherein the substrate attraction part generates a Coulomb force to hold the substrate (Fig. 1, [0035], when ceramic base 11 is composed of alumina (Al2O3), Coulombic force is generated on surface 11a).
Regarding claim 6, Morioka teaches wherein the first base layer is made of ceramics having a volume resistivity of 1x1015 Ωcm or more ([0032], upper portion of ceramic base 11 preferably has volume resistivity of 1x1015 Ωcm or more to generate Coulomb force).
Regarding claim 7, Morioka teaches wherein the first base layer is made of metal nitride ([0015], ceramic base 11 can be an aluminum nitride-based ceramic), and wherein the substrate attraction part generates a Johnson-Rahbeck force to hold the substrate ([0026], when ceramic base 11 is composed of aluminum nitride, it is suitable for generating an electrostatic force using Johnson-Rahbeck force).
Regarding claim 8, Morioka teaches wherein the first base layer is made of an aluminum nitride ([0015], ceramic base 11 can be an aluminum nitride-based ceramic).
Regarding claim 9, Morioka teaches wherein the RF electrode part is made of a conductor (Fig. 1, [0024], high frequency electrode 14 can be made of aluminum), and wherein a difference in coefficient of thermal expansion between the RF electrode part and the first base layer is 1 ppm/°C or less.
While Morioka does not explicitly teach wherein a difference in coefficient of thermal expansion between the RF electrode part and the first base layer is 1 ppm/°C or less, Morioka teaches wherein choosing the materials of the RF electrode part and first base layer with respect to coefficients of thermal expansion is a result effective variable. Particularly, Morioka teaches that when the upper and lower portions of the ceramic base are two separate portions (Morioka, Fig. 1, upper potion 11a and lower portion 11b), a difference in thermal expansion coefficients of the ceramics is preferably 0.2x10-6 or less, otherwise warpage of the ceramic base may occur (Morioka, [0031]). Examples 1-13 in Tables 1 and 2 of Morioka teach examples of varying materials that were selected for the upper base, lower base, and middle member, based on their respective thermal properties.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, as of the effective filing date of the instant application, to achieve a difference in the coefficient of thermal expansion between the RF electrode part and first base layer of 1 ppm/°C or less through routine experimentation in order to prevent warpage of the combined electrode part layers, preventing the need for rework such as a flattening operation (Morioka, [0031]). It has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. See MPEP 2144.05.
Regarding claim 10, Morioka teaches wherein the substrate temperature adjuster has a second base layer that incorporates the heater electrode and is made of a dielectric (Fig. 1, [0022], heating body 12 is embedded in lower ceramic base 11, which is composed of an alumina-containing ceramic).
Morioka fails to teach a first heater electrode and a second heater electrode.
However, Leeser teaches a first heater electrode and a second heater electrode (Leeser, Figs. 3A – 5, [0054]-[0063], inner heater and outer heater).
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art at the time of filing to have incorporated the inner and outer heater design and control function as taught by Leeser into the apparatus of modified Morioka as doing so would enable precise control of the surface in contact with the substrate during processing (Leeser, [0004]), allowing measurement and adjustment of the surface in support of achieving a desired temperature uniformity (Leeser, [0062]).
Regarding claim 11, Morioka teaches wherein the RF electrode part is made of a conductor (Morioka, Fig. 1, [0024], high frequency electrode 14 can be made of aluminum), and wherein a difference in coefficient of thermal expansion between the RF electrode part and the second base layer is 1 ppm/°C or less.
While Morioka does not explicitly teach wherein a difference in coefficient of thermal expansion between the RF electrode part and the second base layer is 1 ppm/°C or less, Morioka teaches wherein choosing the materials of the RF electrode part and second base layer with respect to coefficients of thermal expansion is a result effective variable. Particularly, Morioka teaches that when the upper and lower portions of the ceramic base are two separate portions (Morioka, Fig. 1, upper potion 11a and lower portion 11b), a difference in thermal expansion coefficients of the ceramics is preferably 0.2x10-6 or less, otherwise warpage of the ceramic base may occur (Morioka, [0031]). Examples 1-13 in Tables 1 and 2 of Morioka teach examples of varying materials that were selected for the upper base, lower base, and middle member, based on their respective thermal properties.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, as of the effective filing date of the instant application, to achieve a difference in the coefficient of thermal expansion between the RF electrode part and second base layer of 1 ppm/°C or less through routine experimentation in order to prevent warpage of the combined electrode part layers, preventing the need for rework such as a flattening operation (Morioka, [0031]). It has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. See MPEP 2144.05.
Regarding claim 12, Morioka teaches a substrate support assembly (Fig. 1, [0042], heating apparatus 10) including a substrate support of Claim 1, comprising: a base disposed on a lower surface side of the substrate support and has a flow path for a temperature control medium (Fig. 1, [0050], temperature adjusting member 21 has fluid holes 21a through which a cooling medium flows); a power feeding body connected to the base and transmits the RF power to the RF electrode part via the base (Fig. 1, [0034], hole 11c is formed in ceramic base 11, through which high frequency electrode terminal 15 is connected to heat conductive member 14 and high frequency power can be applied); a first elastic member disposed between the base and the substrate support and separates the substrate support from the base (Fig. 1, [0043], O-ring 33 separates ceramic base 11 and temperature adjusting member 21); and a fastening member sandwiching the first elastic member between the base and the substrate support (Fig. 1, [0018], fixture 23 sandwiches O-ring 33 between the ceramic base 11 and temperature adjusting member 21 via bolt 24).
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Morioka (US 20090159588 A1) in view of Koiwa (US 20170092472 A1), Leeser (US 20170236733 A1), and Kanno (US 20030168439 A1), as applied to claims 1, 2, and 4-12 above, and further in view of Taga (US 20190013230 A1).
The limitations of claims 1, 2, and 4-12 are set forth above.
Regarding claim 3, Morioka fails to teach wherein a thickness of the substrate attraction part is 2mm or less.
However, Taga teaches wherein a thickness of the substrate attraction part is 2mm or less (Taga, Fig. 2C, [0063], thickness of electrostatic chuck may be less than 1mm).
Further, Taga teaches that the thickness of the substrate attraction part is a result effective variable. Taga teaches that the electrostatic capacity C of the electrostatic chuck is calculated from C=ε0×ε×(S/d) using the relative dielectric constant c of the dielectric layer and the thickness d of the dielectric layer (Taga, [0064]). For example, to achieve the same dielectric breakdown voltage of polyimide, the alumina layer used would have to be 21 times thicker vs polyimide (Taga, [0066]).
Taga is considered analogous art to the claimed invention because it is in the same field of semiconductor processing. It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art as of the effective filing date to have optimized the thickness of the substrate attraction part of Morioka to be 2mm or less through routine experimentation of material selection in order to achieve the thinnest possible substrate attraction layer while maintaining the desired electrostatic chucking capacity (Taga, [0063]-[0066]).
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Morioka (US 20090159588 A1) in view of Koiwa (US 20170092472 A1), Leeser (US 20170236733 A1), and Kanno (US 20030168439 A1), as applied to claims 1, 2, and 4-12 above, and further in view of Hayashi (JP 2019220497 A, using attached English machine translation).
The limitations of claims 1, 2, and 4-12 are set forth above.
Regarding claim 13, Morioka fails to teach an edge ring arranged so as to surround the substrate placed on the substrate support; an edge ring attraction part disposed on an upper surface side of the fastening member and includes a second attraction electrode for holding the edge ring; and an edge ring temperature adjuster including a third heater electrode for adjusting a temperature of the edge ring, wherein the edge ring attraction part and the edge ring temperature adjuster are stacked.
However, Hayashi teaches an edge ring arranged so as to surround the substrate placed on the substrate support (Fig. 7, [0023], focus ring 13 surrounds wafer W); an edge ring attraction part disposed on an upper surface side of the fastening member and includes a second attraction electrode for holding the edge ring (Fig. 7, [0023]-[0024], electrode 15e in ring holding portion 12c attracts focus ring 13 electrostatically); and an edge ring temperature adjuster including a third heater electrode for adjusting a temperature of the edge ring (Fig. 7, [0087], heater 450b heats focus ring 13), wherein the edge ring attraction part and the edge ring temperature adjuster are stacked (Fig. 7, [0087], heater 450b is provided below electrode 15e).
Hayashi is considered analogous art to the claimed invention because it is in the same field of semiconductor processing. It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art as of the effective filing date to have incorporated the focus ring attraction and heating assembly of Hayashi into the fastening member of Morioka because doing so makes it possible to reduce the adhesion of deposition to the peripheral portion of the sidewall of the substrate support by controlling the temperature of the focus ring (Hayashi, [0006]).
Claims 14 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Morioka (US 20090159588 A1) in view of Koiwa (US 20170092472 A1), Leeser (US 20170236733 A1), and Kanno (US 20030168439 A1), as applied to claims 1, 2, and 4-12 above, and further in view of Onishi (US 20080223400 A1).
The limitations of claims 1, 2, and 4-12 are set forth above.
Regarding claim 14, Morioka fails to teach a heat insulating member between the first elastic member and the substrate support.
However, Onishi teaches a heat insulating member between the first elastic member and the substrate support (Fig. 6, [0042], upper gasket 65, heat insulating member 66, and lower gasket 67 are between O-ring 68 and face plate 47).
Onishi is considered analogous art to the claimed invention because it is in the same field of semiconductor processing. It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art as of the effective filing date to have incorporated the heat insulating member of Onishi into the substrate support of Morioka because doing so allows for greater thermal isolation between the substrate support and base by using a compatible material such as VESPEL (registered trademark) versus just the O-ring being disposed between the substrate support and the base (Onishi, [0042]).
Regarding claim 15, Morioka fails to teach wherein the heat insulating member has: an upper annular portion in contact with the substrate support; a lower annular portion in contact with the first elastic member; and a cylindrical portion connecting the upper annular portion and the lower annular portion and having a sectional area smaller than that of the upper annular portion.
However, Onishi teaches wherein the heat insulating member has: an upper annular portion in contact with the substrate support (Fig. 6, [0042], upper gasket 65 is a ring shape in contact with face plate 47), a lower annular portion in contact with the first elastic member (Fig. 6, [0042], lower gasket 67 is a ring shape in contact with O-ring 68); and a cylindrical portion connecting the upper annular portion and the lower annular portion and having a sectional area smaller than that of the upper annular portion (Fig. 6, heat insulating member 66 is in a ring shape, connecting gaskets 65 and 67, and has a smaller cross-sectional area than upper gasket 65).
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art as of the effective filing date to have incorporated the heat insulating member of Onishi into the substrate support of Morioka because doing so allows for greater thermal isolation between the substrate support and base by using a compatible material such as VESPEL (registered trademark) versus just the O-ring being disposed between the substrate support and the base (Onishi, [0042]).
Claims 18 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Morioka (US 20090159588 A1) in view of Koiwa (US 20170092472 A1), Leeser (US 20170236733 A1), and Kanno (US 20030168439 A1), as applied to claims 1, 2, and 4-12 above, and further in view of Sato (US 9384946 B2).
The limitations of claims 1, 2, and 4-12 are set forth above.
Regarding claim 18, Morioka fails to teach a heat insulating terminal configured to connect the first heater electrode and the power feeder line that applies a voltage to the first heater electrode; an insulating member that is internally fitted in a through-hole formed in the base and defines a power feeding space for connecting the first heater electrode and a power feeding line via the heat insulating terminal; and a second elastic member sandwiched between the heat insulating terminal and the insulating member.
However, Sato teaches a heat insulating terminal (Fig. 5, C11, L61, power-feeding socket 502) configured to connect the heater electrode and the power feeder line that applies a voltage to the heater electrode (Fig. 5, C12, L15-32, voltage is run through pin 506, and pin 506 mates with socket 502, which is coupled to electrode 402); an insulating member that is internally fitted in a through-hole formed in the base and defines a power feeding space for connecting the heater electrode and a power feeding line via the heat insulating terminal (Fig. 5, C13, L6-15, insulating sleeve 501 is fitted in the through-hole of base 404, and the contact pin 506 and power-feeding socket 502 are provided inside the insulating sleeve 501); and a second elastic member sandwiched between the heat insulating terminal and the insulating member (Fig. 5, C14, L60-66, O-ring 504 is sandwiched between power-feeding socket 502 and insulating sleeve 501). It is to be noted that while the teachings exhibited in Fig. 5 of Sato detail an example of the attraction electrode, the same explanation can be used for a heater electrode (Sato, C11, L48-51).
Sato is considered analogous art to the claimed invention because it is in the same field of semiconductor processing. It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art as of the effective filing date to have substituted the heater power connection assembly of Sato into the apparatus of Morioka. Doing so would allow for ease of disassembly during maintenance, whereby one could replace the stage and heater electrode without having to disassemble the heater power connections (Sato, Fig. 6, C16, L6-14).
Regarding claim 19, Morioka fails to teach wherein the heat insulating terminal includes: an inner cylindrical portion connecting the first heater electrode and the power feeder line; an outer cylindrical portion arranged so as to surround the inner cylindrical portion and being in contact with the second elastic member; and an annular portion connecting the inner cylindrical portion and the outer cylindrical portion.
However, Sato teaches an inner cylindrical portion connecting the heater electrode and the power feeder line (Fig. 7, C16, L45-53, power-feeding socket 702 vertical inner portion is connected to electrode 402 and power-feeding contact pint 506); an outer cylindrical portion arranged so as to surround the inner cylindrical portion and being in contact with the second elastic member (Fig. 7 C16, L50-54, power-feeding socket 702 horizontal outer portion surrounds vertical inner cylindrical portion and is in contact with O-ring 704); and an annular portion connecting the inner cylindrical portion and the outer cylindrical portion (Fig. 7 C16, L50-54, power-feeding socket 702 horizontal outer portions at top and bottom create annular portion connected to vertical inner cylindrical portion of socket 702).
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art as of the effective filing date to have substituted the heater power connection assembly of Sato into the apparatus of Morioka. Doing so would allow for ease of disassembly during maintenance, whereby one could replace the stage and heater electrode without having to disassemble the heater power connections (Sato, Fig. 6, C16, L6-14).
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Morioka (US 20090159588 A1), in view of Koiwa (US 20170092472 A1), Leeser (US 20170236733 A1), Kanno (US 20030168439 A1), and Sato (US 9384946 B2), as applied to claims 18-19 above, and further in view of Kitagawa (US 20150373783 A1).
The limitations of claims 18-19 are set forth above.
Regarding claim 20, modified Morioka teaches a connecting member connected to the heater first electrode (Sato, Fig. 5, C12, L15-32, power-feeding socket 502 is coupled to electrode 402); and a main body portion connected to the power feeder line (Sato, Fig. 5, C12, L15-32, voltage is run through pin 506, and pin 506 mates with socket 502).
Modified Morioka fails to teach a flexible member connecting the connecting member and the main body portion.
However, Kitagawa teaches a flexible member connecting the connecting member and the main body portion (Fig. 3, [0055], portion 26a is flexible and connects section portion 26b with contact element 25).
Kitagawa is considered analogous art to the claimed invention because it is in the same field of semiconductor processing. It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art as of the effective filing date to have substituted the heater power connection of modified Morioka to incorporate that flexible power feeder line of Kitagawa as the bent portions of the flexible line are capable of absorbing deformation of the elements due to temperature variation during a plasma process (Kitagawa, [0055]).
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hayashi (JP 2019220497, using attached English machine translation), in view of Morioka (US 20090159588 A1), Leeser (US 20170236733 A1), and Kanno (US 20030168439 A1).
Regarding claim 21, Hayashi teaches a plasma processing apparatus (Fig. 1, [0016], plasma processing apparatus 1) comprising: a chamber accommodating the substrate support assembly (Fig. 1, [0017], placement table 11 is accommodated in processing container 10); and a plasma source generating plasma in the chamber (Fig. 1, [0028]-[0029], RF power supply 23 generates plasma and is applied to placing table 11).
Hayashi does not teach a substrate support that supports a substrate, comprising:
a substrate support that supports a substrate, comprising:
a substrate attraction part including an attraction electrode for holding the substrate;
an RF electrode part to which RF power is supplied; and
a substrate temperature adjuster including a heater electrode for adjusting a temperature of the substrate,
wherein the substrate attraction part and the substrate temperature adjuster are stacked with the RF electrode part interposed therebetween, and
wherein a diameter of the RF electrode part is the same as a diameter of the substrate temperature adjuster;
a base disposed on a lower surface side of the substrate support and has a flow path for a temperature control medium;
a power feeding body connected to the base and transmits the RF power to the RF electrode part via the base;
a first elastic member disposed between the base and the substrate support and separates the substrate support from the base; and
a fastening member sandwiching the first elastic member between the base and the substrate support.
However, Morioka teaches teach a substrate support that supports a substrate ([0010], a heating apparatus has a heating surface on which a substrate is set), comprising:
a substrate support that supports a substrate ([0010], a heating apparatus has a heating surface on which a substrate is set), comprising:
a substrate attraction part including an attraction electrode for holding the substrate (Fig. 1, [0035], electrostatic electrode 16 in ceramic base 11);
an RF electrode part to which RF power is supplied (Fig. 1, [0034], heat conductive member 14 becomes usable as a high frequency electrode when high frequency power from outside is supplied via electrode terminal 15); and
a substrate temperature adjuster including a heater electrode for adjusting a temperature of the substrate (Fig. 1, [0017], resistance heating body 12 heats wafer on heating surface 11a),
wherein the substrate attraction part and the substrate temperature adjuster are stacked with the RF electrode part interposed therebetween (Fig. 1, high frequency electrode 14 is sandwiched between electrostatic electrode 16 and resistance heating body 12), and
wherein a diameter of the RF electrode part is the same as a diameter of the substrate temperature adjuster (Fig. 1, [0020], resistance heating body 12 has a plate shape approximately the same shape and diameter of heating surface 11a, and where member 14 also has approximately the same shape and size as heating surface 11a, [0027]);
a base disposed on a lower surface side of the substrate support and has a flow path for a temperature control medium (Fig. 1, [0050], temperature adjusting member 21 has fluid holes 21a through which a cooling medium flows);
a power feeding body connected to the base and transmits the RF power to the RF electrode part via the base (Fig. 1, [0034], hole 11c is formed in ceramic base 11, through which high frequency electrode terminal 15 is connected to heat conductive member 14 and high frequency power can be applied);
a first elastic member disposed between the base and the substrate support and separates the substrate support from the base (Fig. 1, [0043], O-ring 33 separates ceramic base 11 and temperature adjusting member 21); and
a fastening member sandwiching the first elastic member between the base and the substrate support (Fig. 1, [0018], fixture 23 sandwiches O-ring 33 between the ceramic base 11 and temperature adjusting member 21 via bolt 24).
Morioka is considered analogous art to the claimed invention because it is in the same field of semiconductor processing. It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art as of the effective filing date to have substituted the substrate support assembly of Hayashi with the substrate support assembly of Morioka. Doing so creates an air gap between the cooling base and processing surface, through which enhanced temperature control can be achieved by flowing and controlling the pressure of a cooling gas medium (Morioka, [0010]).
Modified Hayashi fails to teach a first heater electrode and a second heater electrode, and
wherein the first heater electrode is disposed on a central side of the substrate temperature adjuster with respect to the second heater electrode, and
wherein the second heater electrode is arranged to extend to an outer edge of the substrate temperature adjuster to control a temperature of an outer peripheral side of the RF electrode part and a temperature of a central side of the RF electrode part uniformly.
However, Leeser teaches a first heater electrode and a second heater electrode (Leeser, Figs. 3A – 5, [0054]-[0063], inner heater and outer heater), and
wherein the first heater electrode is disposed on a central side of the substrate temperature adjuster with respect to the second heater electrode (Leeser, Figs. 3A – 5, [0054]-[0063], inner heater is located centrally within pedestal 240, and the outer heater is disposed peripherally to the inner heater), and
wherein the second heater electrode is arranged to extend outwardly of the substrate temperature adjuster (Leeser, Figs. 3A – 5, [0054]-[0063], inner heater is located centrally within pedestal 240, and the outer heater is disposed peripherally to the inner heater) to control a temperature of an outer peripheral side of the RF electrode part and a temperature of a central side of the RF electrode part uniformly (Leeser, Figs. 3A – 5, [0054]-[0063], controller 270 controls the inner and outer heaters to support a desired temperature uniformity).
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art at the time of filing to have incorporated the inner and outer heater design and control function as taught by Leeser into the apparatus of modified Hayashi as doing so would enable precise control of the surface in contact with the substrate during processing (Leeser, [0004]), allowing measurement and adjustment of the surface in support of achieving a desired temperature uniformity (Leeser, [0062]).
Modified Hayashi fails to explicitly teach wherein the second heater electrode is arranged to extend to an outer edge of the substrate temperature adjuster.
However, Kanno teaches wherein the second heater electrode is arranged to extend to an outer edge of the substrate temperature adjuster (Kanno, Figs. 5A – 5B, [0038], outer diameter of heater 16 extends to the outer diameter of the ceramic plate’s protrusion).
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art at the time of filing to have extended the outer heater of modified Hayashi in the manner taught by Kanno as doing so would allow the possibility to uniformly heat up almost the entire surface of the ceramics plate in a situation where the ceramic plate has an outer protrusion (Kanno, [0038]).
Claims 22 and 25-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Morioka (US 20090159588 A1), further in view of Takebayashi (US 20180108556 A1), Leeser (US 20170236733 A1), and Kanno (US 20030168439 A1).
Regarding claim 22, Morioka teaches a substrate support that supports a substrate ([0010], a heating apparatus has a heating surface on which a substrate is set), comprising:
a substrate attraction part including an attraction electrode for holding the substrate (Fig. 1, [0035], electrostatic electrode 16 in ceramic base 11);
an RF electrode part to which RF power is supplied (Fig. 1, [0034], heat conductive member 14 becomes usable as a high frequency electrode when high frequency power from outside is supplied via electrode terminal 15); and
a substrate temperature adjuster including a heater electrode for adjusting a temperature of the substrate (Fig. 1, [0017], resistance heating body 12 heats wafer on heating surface 11a),
wherein the substrate attraction part and the substrate temperature adjuster are stacked with the RF electrode part interposed therebetween (Fig. 1, high frequency electrode 14 is sandwiched between electrostatic electrode 16 and resistance heating body 12),
wherein the substrate attraction part has a first base layer that incorporates the attraction electrode and is made of a dielectric ([0015], Fig. 1, electrostatic electrode 16 is incorporated into ceramic base 11, which is composed of an alumina-based ceramic), and
wherein the RF electrode part is made of a conductor (Fig. 1, [0024], high frequency electrode 14 can be made of aluminum).
Morioka fails to teach a first heater electrode and a second heater electrode;
a bonding part,
wherein a difference in coefficient of thermal expansion between the RF electrode part and the first base layer is 1ppm/degrees C or less,
wherein the first heater electrode is disposed on a central side of the substrate temperature adjuster with respect to the second heater electrode; and
wherein the second heater electrode is arranged to extend to an outer edge of the substrate temperature adjuster to control a temperature of an outer peripheral side of the RF electrode part and a temperature of a central side of the RF electrode part uniformly.
While Morioka does not explicitly teach wherein a difference in coefficient of thermal expansion between the RF electrode part and the first base layer is 1 ppm/°C or less, Morioka teaches wherein choosing the materials of the RF electrode part and first base layer with respect to coefficients of thermal expansion is a result effective variable. Particularly, Morioka teaches that when the upper and lower portions of the ceramic base are two separate portions (Morioka, Fig. 1, upper potion 11a and lower portion 11b), a difference in thermal expansion coefficients of the ceramics is preferably 0.2x10-6 or less, otherwise warpage of the ceramic base may occur (Morioka, [0031]). Examples 1-13 in Tables 1 and 2 of Morioka teach examples of varying materials that were selected for the upper base, lower base, and middle member, based on their respective thermal properties.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, as of the effective filing date of the instant application, to achieve a difference in the coefficient of thermal expansion between the RF electrode part and first base layer of 1 ppm/°C or less through routine experimentation in order to prevent warpage of the combined electrode part layers, preventing the need for rework such as a flattening operation (Morioka, [0031]). It has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. See MPEP 2144.05.
Modified Morioka fails to teach a first heater electrode and a second heater electrode;
a bonding part,
wherein the first heater electrode is disposed on a central side of the substrate temperature adjuster with respect to the second heater electrode; and
wherein the second heater electrode is arranged to extend to an outer edge of the substrate temperature adjuster to control a temperature of an outer peripheral side of the RF electrode part and a temperature of a central side of the RF electrode part uniformly.
However, Takebayashi teaches a bonding part (Takebayashi, Fig. 5A-5D, [0028]-[0030], bonding layer 40 bonds face of electrostatic chuck 20 and supporting substrate 30 via thermal compression bonding, where a substrate of aluminum or aluminum alloy may be present on face 23 of supporting substrate 30, where chuck 20 is can be made from alumina).
Takebayashi is considered analogous art to the claimed invention because it is in the same field of semiconductor processing. It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art as of the effective filing date to have included the bonding layer of Takebayashi between the RF electrode part made of aluminum and the substrate attracting part/substrate adjuster made of alumina prior to thermal compression bonding as doing so would help ensure bonding with very little distortion caused by linear thermal expansion coefficients and/or differences in overall shape between the two parts (Takebayashi, [0037]).
Modified Morioka fails to teach a first heater electrode and a second heater electrode;
wherein the first heater electrode is disposed on a central side of the substrate temperature adjuster with respect to the second heater electrode; and
wherein the second heater electrode is arranged to extend to an outer edge of the substrate temperature adjuster to control a temperature of an outer peripheral side of the RF electrode part and a temperature of a central side of the RF electrode part uniformly.
However, Leeser teaches a first heater electrode and a second heater electrode (Leeser, Figs. 3A – 5, [0054]-[0063], inner heater and outer heater), and
wherein the first heater electrode is disposed on a central side of the substrate temperature adjuster with respect to the second heater electrode (Leeser, Figs. 3A – 5, [0054]-[0063], inner heater is located centrally within pedestal 240, and the outer heater is disposed peripherally to the inner heater), and
wherein the second heater electrode is arranged to extend outwardly of the substrate temperature adjuster (Leeser, Figs. 3A – 5, [0054]-[0063], inner heater is located centrally within pedestal 240, and the outer heater is disposed peripherally to the inner heater) to control a temperature of an outer peripheral side of the RF electrode part and a temperature of a central side of the RF electrode part uniformly (Leeser, Figs. 3A – 5, [0054]-[0063], controller 270 controls the inner and outer heaters to support a desired temperature uniformity).
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art at the time of filing to have incorporated the inner and outer heater design and control function as taught by Leeser into the apparatus of modified Morioka as doing so would enable precise control of the surface in contact with the substrate during processing (Leeser, [0004]), allowing measurement and adjustment of the surface in support of achieving a desired temperature uniformity (Leeser, [0062]).
Modified Morioka fails to explicitly teach wherein the second heater electrode is arranged to extend to an outer edge of the substrate temperature adjuster.
However, Kanno teaches wherein the second heater electrode is arranged to extend to an outer edge of the substrate temperature adjuster (Kanno, Figs. 5A – 5B, [0038], outer diameter of heater 16 extends to the outer diameter of the ceramic plate’s protrusion).
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art at the time of filing to have extended the outer heater of modified Morioka in the manner taught by Kanno as doing so would allow the possibility to uniformly heat up almost the entire surface of the ceramics plate in a situation where the ceramic plate has an outer protrusion (Kanno, [0038]).
Regarding claim 25, Morioka teaches the substrate attraction part (Fig. 1, [0035], electrostatic electrode 16 in ceramic base 11) and the RF electrode part
(Fig. 1, [0034], heat conductive member 14 becomes usable as a high frequency electrode when high frequency power from outside is supplied via electrode terminal 15).
Morioka fails to teach the bonding part including the first bonding layer.
However, Takebayashi teaches the bonding part (Takebayashi, Fig. 5A-5D, [0028]-[0030], bonding layer 40 bonds face of electrostatic chuck 20 and supporting substrate 30 via thermal compression bonding, where a substrate of aluminum or aluminum alloy may be present on face 23 of supporting substrate 30, where chuck 20 is can be made from alumina).
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art as of the effective filing date to have included the bonding layer of Takebayashi between the RF electrode part made of aluminum and the substrate attracting part/substrate adjuster made of alumina prior to thermal compression bonding as doing so would help ensure bonding with very little distortion caused by linear thermal expansion coefficients and/or differences in overall shape between the two parts (Takebayashi, [0037]).
Regarding claim 26, Morioka teaches the substrate temperature adjuster (Fig. 1, [0017], resistance heating body 12 heats wafer on heating surface 11a) and the RF electrode part (Fig. 1, [0034], heat conductive member 14 becomes usable as a high frequency electrode when high frequency power from outside is supplied via electrode terminal 15).
Morioka fails to teach a bonding layer between the parts.
However, Takebayashi teaches the bonding part (Takebayashi, Fig. 5A-5D, [0028]-[0030], bonding layer 40 bonds face of electrostatic chuck 20 and supporting substrate 30 via thermal compression bonding, where a substrate of aluminum or aluminum alloy may be present on face 23 of supporting substrate 30, where chuck 20 is can be made from alumina).
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art as of the effective filing date to have included the bonding layer of Takebayashi between the RF electrode part made of aluminum and the substrate attracting part/substrate adjuster made of alumina prior to thermal compression bonding as doing so would help ensure bonding with very little distortion caused by linear thermal expansion coefficients and/or differences in overall shape between the two parts (Takebayashi, [0037]).
Claims 23-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Morioka (US 20090159588 A1) in view of Koiwa (US 20170092472 A1), Leeser (US 20170236733 A1), and Kanno (US 20030168439 A1), as applied to claims 1, 2, and 4-12 above, and further in view of Takebayashi (US 20180108556 A1).
The limitations of claims 1, 2, and 4-12 are set forth above.
Regarding claim 23, Morioka teaches the substrate attraction part (Fig. 1, [0035], electrostatic electrode 16 in ceramic base 11) and the RF electrode part
(Fig. 1, [0034], heat conductive member 14 becomes usable as a high frequency electrode when high frequency power from outside is supplied via electrode terminal 15).
Morioka fails to teach a first bonding layer.
However, Takebayashi teaches a first bonding layer (Takebayashi, Fig. 5A-5D, [0028]-[0030], bonding layer 40 bonds face of electrostatic chuck 20 and supporting substrate 30 via thermal compression bonding, where a substrate of aluminum or aluminum alloy may be present on face 23 of supporting substrate 30, where chuck 20 is can be made from alumina).
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art as of the effective filing date to have included the bonding layer of Takebayashi between the RF electrode part made of aluminum and the substrate attracting part/substrate adjuster made of alumina prior to thermal compression bonding as doing so would help ensure bonding with very little distortion caused by linear thermal expansion coefficients and/or differences in overall shape between the two parts (Takebayashi, [0037]).
Regarding claim 24, Morioka teaches the substrate temperature adjuster (Fig. 1, [0017], resistance heating body 12 heats wafer on heating surface 11a) and the RF electrode part (Fig. 1, [0034], heat conductive member 14 becomes usable as a high frequency electrode when high frequency power from outside is supplied via electrode terminal 15).
Morioka fails to teach a bonding layer between the parts.
However, Takebayashi teaches the bonding part (Takebayashi, Fig. 5A-5D, [0028]-[0030], bonding layer 40 bonds face of electrostatic chuck 20 and supporting substrate 30 via thermal compression bonding, where a substrate of aluminum or aluminum alloy may be present on face 23 of supporting substrate 30, where chuck 20 is can be made from alumina).
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art as of the effective filing date to have included the bonding layer of Takebayashi between the RF electrode part made of aluminum and the substrate attracting part/substrate adjuster made of alumina prior to thermal compression bonding as doing so would help ensure bonding with very little distortion caused by linear thermal expansion coefficients and/or differences in overall shape between the two parts (Takebayashi, [0037]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 16 and 17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 16, the prior art of record, whether alone or in combination, fails to teach or fairly suggest the limitation “wherein the substrate support has a third attraction electrode for holding the heat insulating member” in the context of the other limitations of the claim.
With respect to claim 15, Morioka (US 20090159588 A1) in view of Onishi (US 20080223400 A1) teaches a heat insulating member between the first elastic member and the substrate support (Onishi, Fig. 6, [0042], upper gasket 65, heat insulating member 66, and lower gasket 67 are between O-ring 68 and face plate 47), an upper annular portion in contact with the substrate support (Onishi, Fig. 6, [0042], upper gasket 65 is a ring shape in contact with face plate 47), a lower annular portion in contact with the first elastic member (Onishi, Fig. 6, [0042], lower gasket 67 is a ring shape in contact with O-ring 68); and a cylindrical portion connecting the upper annular portion and the lower annular portion and having a sectional area smaller than that of the upper annular portion (Onishi, Fig. 6, heat insulating member 66 is in a ring shape, connecting gaskets 65 and 67, and has a smaller cross-sectional area than upper gasket 65).
However, the heat insulating member of Onishi is merely mechanically constrained and is not electrostatically clamped. Morioka teaches heat resistant spacers (Fig. 1, [0042], spacer 32) that are mechanically constrained, but not electrostatically clamped. Takasaki (US 9438140 B2) similarly teaches spacers that are only mechanically constrained.
Search of prior relevant art did not identify any teachings of electrostatically clamping heat insulating members/spacers via a back side attraction electrode. Therefore, the combination of features is considered to be allowable.
Claim 17 would be allowable because it is dependent on claim 16.
Response to Arguments
In the Applicant’s response filed 2/26/2026, the Applicant asserts that none of the cited prior art, particularly Morioka, teaches the limitations "a substrate temperature adjuster including a first heater electrode and a second heater electrode, each of which is configured to adjust a temperature of the substrate, …, wherein the first heater electrode is disposed on a central side of the substrate temperature adjuster with respect to the second heater electrode, and wherein the second heater electrode is arranged to extend to an outer edge of the substrate temperature adjuster to control a temperature of an outer peripheral side of the RF electrode part and a temperature of a central side of the RF electrode part uniformly" of claim 1 (and similarly claim 22) as newly amended. In response to the amendments, the Examiner has newly rejected the claims in the “Claims Rejections” sections above, thereby rendering the arguments moot.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TODD M SEOANE/Examiner, Art Unit 1718 /GORDON BALDWIN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1718