DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-9 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on the combination of references/or references applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Specifically, the Applicant has amended the claims to add “wherein the nozzle is provided on an upper surface of the bottom plate, and the gas is blown toward the adjustment member from below the adjustment member”, such that the scope of the claims has changed, thus requiring further search and consideration. The resulting rejection, based on United States Patent Application No. 2009/0314207 to Endoh et al in view of United States Patent Application No. 2999735 to Konrad and alternatively United States Patent Application No. 2011/0126761 to Lee in view of United States Patent Application No. 2009/0241838 to Endoh is presented below.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
Adjustment member, in claims 1-9, interpreted as an adapter or the like, as supported by [0035].
Cooling member, in claims 1-9, which in interpreted as a nozzle, as supported by claims 2, 3, a heat dissipation insulating member, as supported by claim 4, and a flow path, as supported in claim 5, and also in [0041-0055].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1, 3 and 6-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over United States Patent Application No. 2011/0126761 to Lee in view of United States Patent Application No. 2009/0241838 to Endoh.
In regards to Claim 1, Lee teaches an apparatus for manufacturing a polysilicon rod 100 Fig. 2 comprising: a core wire 34 on which polysilicon 36 is deposited; a core wire 38 electrode provided to penetrate a bottom plate 40; an adjustment member 37, 39 provided between the silicon core wire and the core wire electrode; and a cooling part (nozzle 42 that sources gas through the base plate that has a coolant of 48a, 48b circulating through, the gas being implicitly cooling as per the claimed structure and as it is passing through the cooled base before entering the reaction chamber) capable of cooling the adjustment member (as it blow gas towards the adjustment member), wherein the cooling part comprises a nozzle that blows gas toward the adjustment member (bas broadly recited, as the nozzle is placed close to it) wherein the nozzle is provided on an upper surface of the bottom plate, and the gas is blown toward the adjustment member, as shown in Fig. 2, 3, 4) [0050-0090].
Lee does not expressly teach that the gas comes from below the adjustment member or that the adjustment member is movable with respect to the bottom plate.
Endoh teaches an apparatus for manufacturing a polysilicon rod Fig. 1-3 comprising: a core wire 4 on which polysilicon is deposited [seed rod 4, 0024]; a core wire electrode 31 [0029] provided to penetrate a bottom plate 2 (as shown in Fig. 1); an adjustment member (27, 32, 33) provided between the silicon core wire (silicon seed wire 4 [0024]) and the core wire electrode 31, and movable with respect to the bottom plate (as it is fastened with a nut and screw portion of 4 structure and is thus implicitly moveable with the loosening of the screw portion of 34 from the bottom plate of 2); and a plurality of raw gas ejection nozzles 6 [0023-0024] are installed in the bottom surface of the bottom plate portion 2 and eject raw material gas of silane of hydrogen gas into the furnace [0021-0040].
Endoh teaches the adjustment member connects the core wire electrode and the silicon core wire so that a central axis of the core wire electrode is different from a central axis of the silicon core wire, as 4 is laterally or horizontally shifted from 31 in Fig. 1.
Endoh teaches the adjustment member has a resistivity lower than a resistivity of the core wire electrode (as 27 which is part of the adjustment member is made out of carbon, which has a thermal resistivity, as broadly recited.
Endoh teaches a heat dissipation insulating member provided between the bottom plate and the adjustment member and configured to cool the adjustment member via the bottom plate (in the form of an annular insulating material 37 formed between the bottom plate 2 and the adjustment member 33, 32, the insulating material implicitly insulating heat as it is an insulating material), and a flow path 40 that is provided in the core wire electrode and through which a coolant flows [0031, 0036].
The Examiner notes that the adjustment members of Endoh are elevated above the base/bottom plate of 2 whileas the cooling gas nozzle of Lee is close to the base/bottom plate, such that the nozzle of Lee is supplying the gas from below the adjustment member.
It has been held that an express suggestion to substitute one equivalent component or process for another is not necessary to render such substitution obvious. In re Fout, 675 F.2d 297, 213 USPQ 532 (CCPA 1982). See MPEP 2144.06 II. As the adjustment member of Endoh is analogous to the adjustment members of Lee, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified the apparatus of Lee with the adjustment members of Endoh. The resulting apparatus would result in an adjustment member that is elevated above the bottom plate and the nozzle that is close and contacting with the bottom plate, such that the nozzle is provided on the upper surface of the bottom plate and the gas is blown toward the adjustment member from below the adjustment member. See MPEP 2143 Motivation A.
The resulting apparatus fulfills the limitations of the claim.
In regards to Claim 3, Lee teaches wherein the gas is a silane source gas (claims 1-4; [0003-0005]).
In regards to Claim 6, Lee in view of Endoh teaches the adjustment member connects the core wire electrode and the silicon core wire so that a central axis of the core wire electrode is different from a central axis of the silicon core wire, as shown in the adjustment member of Endoh, as per the rejection of Claim 1 above.
In regards to Claim 7, Lee in view of Endoh teaches the adjustment member is made of a material different from a material of the core wire electrode, as part of the adjustment member is 27 and made out of carbon [0031] and the core wire electrode is made of stainless steel [0029], as shown in the adjustment member of Endoh, as per the rejection of Claim 1 above.
In regards to Claim 8, Lee in view of Endoh teaches the adjustment member has a resistivity lower than a resistivity of the core wire electrode (as 27 which is part of the adjustment member is made out of carbon, which has a thermal resistivity, as broadly recited, as shown in the adjustment member of Endoh, as per the rejection of Claim 1 above.
In regards to Claim 9, Lee in view of Endoh teaches a heat dissipation insulating member provided between the bottom plate and the adjustment member and configured to cool the adjustment member via the bottom plate (in the form of an annular insulating material 37 formed between the bottom plate 2 and the adjustment member 33, 32, the insulating material implicitly insulating heat as it is an insulating material), and a flow path 40 that is provided in the core wire electrode and through which a coolant flows [0031, 0036], as shown in the adjustment member of Endoh, as per the rejection of Claim 1 above.
Claims 1 and 4-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over United States Patent Application No. 2009/0314207 to Endoh et al in view of United States Patent Application No. 2999735 to Konrad.
In regards to Claim 1, Endoh teaches an apparatus for manufacturing a polysilicon rod Fig. 1-4 comprising: a core wire 4 on which polysilicon is deposited [seed rod 4, 0024-0025]; a core wire electrode 5B, 22, 23 [0028-29] provided to penetrate a bottom plate 2 (as shown in Fig. 1-2); an adjustment member (44, 47, 46 Fig. 4) provided between the silicon core wire (silicon seed wire 4 [0024]) and the core wire electrode 31, and movable with respect to the bottom plate (as it is fastened with a nut and screw portion of 4 structure and is thus implicitly moveable with the loosening of the screw portion of 34 from the bottom plate of 2); and a plurality of raw gas ejection nozzles 6 [0023-0024] are installed in the bottom surface of the bottom plate portion 2 and eject raw material gas of silane of hydrogen gas into the furnace [0024-0040].
Endoh also teaches a cooling part capable of cooling the adjustment member in the form of cooling passageway 40 that flows a cooling medium through the nozzle of 27 that is provided through the bottom plate and thus also an upper surface of the bottom plate (as shown in Fig. 4), and the medium is blown toward the adjustment 44, 46 from below the adjustment member [0024-0064].
Endoh does not expressly teach the cooling medium is a gas.
Konrad teaches a cooling medium for the adjustment member is a cooling gas (Col. 3 lines 25-37) and that it is sealed within using an electrically insulating seal 12 (see claims 1-4; Columns 1-6).
It has been held that the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supports a prima facie obviousness determination. See MPEP 2144.07. Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945). Therefore, because it is known to make a cooling medium analogous to that of the cooling medium in Endoh out of a cooling gas, as taught by Konrad, it would be prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to do so. The resulting apparatus would fulfill the limitations of Claim 1.
In regards to Claim 4, Endoh teaches the cooling part 27 has a heat dissipation insulating member (in the form of an annular insulating material 34 [0038] formed between the bottom plate 2 and the adjustment member 46, 44, the insulating material implicitly insulating heat as it is an insulating material) provided between the bottom plate and the adjustment member and configured to cool the adjustment member via the bottom plate, as shown in Fig. 1).
In regards to Claim 5, Endoh teaches the cooling part is provided in the core wire electrode (through lines 27/40) and has a flow path 40 through which a coolant flows [0024-0064].
In regards to Claim 6, Endoh teaches the adjustment member connects the core wire electrode and the silicon core wire so that a central axis of the core wire electrode is different from a central axis of the silicon core wire, as 4 is laterally or horizontally shifted from 31 in Fig. 1-4.
In regards to Claim 7, Endoh teaches the adjustment member is made of a material different from a material of the core wire electrode, as part of the electrode is 23 and made out of carbon [0031] and the core wire electrode is made of stainless steel [0034].
In regards to Claim 8, Endoh teaches the adjustment member has a resistivity lower than a resistivity of the core wire electrode (as 23 which is part of the adjustment member is made out of carbon, which has a thermal resistivity, as broadly recited and the adjustment member 34 is made of stainless steel).
In regards to Claim 9, Endoh teaches a heat dissipation insulating member 34 provided between the bottom plate and the adjustment member and configured to cool the adjustment member via the bottom plate (in the form of an annular insulating material 37 formed between the bottom plate 2 and the adjustment member 22, the insulating material implicitly insulating heat as it is an insulating material), and a flow path 27,40 that is provided in the core wire electrode and through which a coolant flows [0024-0064].
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over United States Patent Application No. 2009/0314207 to Endoh et al in view of United States Patent Application No. 2999735 to Konrad, as per the rejection of Claim 1 above, and in further view of United States Patent Application No. 2018/0223432 to Park et al.
The teachings of Endoh in view of Konrad are relied upon as set forth in the above 103 rejection of Claim 1 above.
In regards to Claim 3, Endoh in view of Konrad do not expressly teach that the cooling gas can be a silane source gas.
Park teaches that cooling gas in a Siemens reactor can be hydrogen gas (analogous to the teachings of Endoh in view of Konrad) or a gas that has a silane compound [0018; 0008-0023].
It has been held that the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supports a prima facie obviousness determination. See MPEP 2144.07. Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945). Therefore, because it is known to make a cooling gas analogous to that of Endoh in view of Konrad out of silane, as taught by Park, it would be prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to do so. The resulting apparatus would fulfill the limitations of Claim 3.
Double Patenting
Claim 1 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 of U.S. Patent No. 11673809 to Okada et al in view of United States Patent Application No. 2011/0274926 to Oda et al.
Specifically, both claim an apparatus for manufacturing a polysilicon rod comprising a core wire, a core wire electrode, an adjustment member/holding body, but Okada et al does not expressly claim a cooling part.
Oda teaches an apparatus for manufacturing a polysilicon rod Fig. 6 comprising: a core wire 9 on which polysilicon X is deposited; a core wire electrode 4 [0029] provided to penetrate a bottom plate 3 (as shown in Fig. 6); and a raw gas ejection nozzles 20 installed in the bottom surface of the bottom plate portion and eject raw material gas of silane of hydrogen gas into the furnace via side ejection ports that are directed to the bottom ends of the wire (where an adjustment member would be) [0059-0067], the temperature of the gas being set to room temperature to 700°C, wherein the raw material gas is fed without a particular limitation of the reaction gas temperature, such that it can cool [0066; 0029-0103]. Oda teaches the raw material/ejection nozzle locally cools the surfaces rod at the lower end to cool that portion, which is close to the adjustment member in Endoh, so that it lowers the rate of silicon deposition at the portions where the reaction gas is blown to form recessed portions [0060] which are necessary for transfer [0014].
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to have modified the apparatus of Okada and its raw material gas sources/nozzles with the raw material nozzles of Oda, which supplies cooled raw material gas to the rods at the base, which is where the adjustment members are located. One would be motivated to do so for the predictable result of apply cooling gas to create an indentation for the transfer of the rods later. See MPEP 2143 Motivation A.
The resulting apparatus fulfills the limitations of the claim.
Conclusion
/TIFFANY Z NUCKOLS/Examiner, Art Unit 1716
/Jeffrie R Lund/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1716