DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 1-22 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected group, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 07/10/25.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 23-25 and 27-29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20210359081 (Kong et al) in view of US 20210126227 (Choi et al) and US 20160133880 (Lee et al).
Concerning claim 23, Kong discloses a method for fabricating a display panel comprising (Figs. 6, and 8-13C): disposing an emitting array on a first side of a support substrate (SUB1), the emitting array including a plurality of emitting devices (LA1, LA2, and LA3) corresponding to a plurality of pixel areas for displaying an image (Fig. 6), and the support substrate including a display area (DA) having the plurality of pixel areas arranged therein and a non-display area (NDA) disposed around the display area (Fig. 6); . . .disposing a sealing layer (600) on a first side of an encapsulation substrate including at least the display area overlapping the support substrate (Fig. 6), the sealing layer surrounding a periphery of the display area (Fig. 6); disposing a protection pattern (PR) covering the sealing layer (Fig. 11); disposing a black matrix layer (BK1) on the first side of the encapsulation substrate ([0122] and Fig. 6), the black matrix layer corresponding to non-emission areas that are boundaries between the plurality of pixel areas in the display area (Fig. 6); disposing a reflection adjusting layer (CF3) on the first side of the encapsulation substrate, the reflection adjusting layer covering the black matrix layer and absorbing at least a portion of outside light incident from the encapsulation substrate ([0118] and Fig. 6); removing at least a portion of the protection pattern (Figs. 11-12 and [0187]-[0190], note that the protection layer is irradiated with light and portion of the protection dissolves); aligning the support substrate and the encapsulation substrate with each other so that the first side of the support substrate and the first side of the encapsulation substrate face each other (Fig. 6); and bonding the support substrate and the encapsulation substrate to each other through the sealing layer ([0067]).
Kong does not disclose disposing a phase adjusting layer on the emitting array, the phase adjusting layer changing a phase of light; disposing a reflected light absorbing layer on the phase adjusting layer, the reflected light absorbing layer absorbing at least a portion of light reflected from the emitting array. However, Choi discloses a display device in which a phase adjusting layer (RPP) is formed over a plurality of pixels (PXA-B, PXA-G, PXA-R) with the phase adjusting layer changing a phase of light ([0112]). Additionally, Lee discloses a display device in which a reflected light absorbing layer (140/640) that includes ytterbium (Yb) ([0048]-[0049]) is formed over a light emitting array (Fig. 6) and that such configuration is capable of reducing reflection of external light ([0003]). Similarly, Choi discloses that the phase adjusting layer may reduce reflectance of an external light that is incident from an outer space ([0112]). Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the phase adjusting layer of Choi and the reflected light absorbing layer of Lee over the light emitting array of Kong in order combine the effects of these layer and reduce reflectance of an external light.
Continuing to claim 24, Kong in view of Choi and Lee discloses wherein: in the disposing of the protection pattern, the protection pattern is formed of a positive photoresist (Kong [0190]); and the removing of at least a portion of the protection pattern includes entirely irradiating the first side of the encapsulation substrate with light and developing the protection pattern (Kong [0189]).
Considering claim 25, Kong in view of Choi and Lee discloses wherein: the removing of at least a portion of the protection pattern further includes, before entirely irradiating the first side of the encapsulation substrate with the light (Kong Fig. 11), disposing a light shield mask (MSK) including a light blocking area corresponding to a portion of a flank side of the sealing layer exposed to the outside (Kong Fig. 11); and in the developing of the protection pattern, a portion of the protection pattern corresponding to the light shield mask remains to form an auxiliary sealing pattern disposed on the portion of the flank side of the sealing layer exposed to the outside (Kong Figs. 11-13A).
Referring to claim 27, Kong in view of Choi and Lee discloses wherein in the disposing of the reflected light absorbing layer, the reflected light absorbing layer is composed of an inorganic material having a refractive index greater than or equal to about 1 and an absorption coefficient greater than or equal to about 0.5 (Lee [0048]).
Regarding claim 28, Kong in view of Choi and Lee discloses wherein the reflected light absorbing layer is composed of at least one compound selected from bismuth (Bi) and ytterbium (Yb) (Lee [0049]).
Pertaining to claim 29, Kong in view of Choi and Lee discloses wherein: in the disposing of the reflection adjusting layer, the reflection adjusting layer is composed of an organic material including a dye or a pigment; and a minimum absorption wavelength region of the dye or the pigment is a wavelength region in a range of about 490 nm to about 505 nm or a wavelength region in a range of about 585 nm to about 600 nm (Lee [0048]).
Claim(s) 26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20210359081 (Kong et al) in view of US 20210126227 (Choi et al) and US 20160133880 (Lee et al) as applied to claim 23 above, and further in view of US 20060061255 (Mizuta et al).
As to claim 26, Kong in view of Choi and Lee discloses wherein the disposing of the sealing layer includes: patterning a sealing material on the first side of the encapsulation substrate (Kong [0152]).
Kong in view of Choi and Lee discloses that the sealing layer is formed in a pattern surrounding the display area of an epoxy-based resin material, but does not explicitly disclose firing the sealing material in a high temperature environment greater than or equal to about 370°C to prepare the sealing layer. However, Mizuta discloses a process in forming a display device in which a sealant layer (5) is applied to the sealing surfaces, drying or pre-firing is carried out at a relatively low temperature (150 to 200.degree. C.), and then the sealing surfaces are put together and fired at a temperature higher than the above temperature, specifically at a temperature within a range of at least 300.degree. C. and lower than 400.degree. C. for from 10 to 500 minutes, more preferably at a temperature within a range of at least 330.degree. C. and lower than 400.degree. C. for from 10 to 300 minutes, more preferably for 10 to 60 minutes, whereby the envelope-constituting members are sealed to produce a vacuum envelope for an image display device ([0157]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to fire the sealant layer at a temperature greater than 370 °C in order to seal the display and produce a vacuum.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 20170179386 discloses a protection layer (PR) formed on a substrate and bonded to another substrate (Fig. 3A).
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/VALERIE N NEWTON/ Examiner, Art Unit 2897 03/18/26
/CHAD M DICKE/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2897